Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles Wii

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 119
  2. Negative: 10 out of 119

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LelandJ.
    Dec 9, 2007
    5
    Think Chicken Shoot but with the obnoxious camerawork of an episode of the TV show E.R. If you want a rail shooter on the Wii, wait for Time Crisis -- if it's ever ported over, that is. If you want a new Resident Evil game, this isn't what you want. The key aspect that makes the RE series so unnerving is that you have to suck it up and advance into the abyss -- peek around that Think Chicken Shoot but with the obnoxious camerawork of an episode of the TV show E.R. If you want a rail shooter on the Wii, wait for Time Crisis -- if it's ever ported over, that is. If you want a new Resident Evil game, this isn't what you want. The key aspect that makes the RE series so unnerving is that you have to suck it up and advance into the abyss -- peek around that corner, open the next door, or try to creep into a village. Somehow, being in control of your movements creates a feeling of fear & dread. That aspect is completely missing from this game, because instead of trying to creep around, you're just riding along and aiming at stuff. All that's left, then, is a so-so rail shooter with slow firing rates and sloppy camerawork. If it weren't for co-op, there'd be no reason at all to recommend this game. Sorry, Capcom. Expand
  2. SYC
    Jan 23, 2008
    6
    The 'lightgun' style action is fun and exciting in the rich RE world for a while and the representations of RE0 and RE1 are great. The 3rd act starts to drop off the rails though and goes progressively further downhill until the awful 'new' chapter that both plays badly and adds nothing to the series whatsoever. The replay value that goes with this type of game is also The 'lightgun' style action is fun and exciting in the rich RE world for a while and the representations of RE0 and RE1 are great. The 3rd act starts to drop off the rails though and goes progressively further downhill until the awful 'new' chapter that both plays badly and adds nothing to the series whatsoever. The replay value that goes with this type of game is also strangely absent. Try it first. Expand
  3. KevinG.
    Feb 1, 2008
    7
    I am a resident evil newbie, so this game was a great refresher on how the whole series started out. I never did play the single play mode of this game, I only rented it to shoot zombies with a friend. I believe the game served its purpose, I did find it a bit short though. My friend and I played through the co-op part in 2 hours. I thought the graphics could have been better. I give it a I am a resident evil newbie, so this game was a great refresher on how the whole series started out. I never did play the single play mode of this game, I only rented it to shoot zombies with a friend. I believe the game served its purpose, I did find it a bit short though. My friend and I played through the co-op part in 2 hours. I thought the graphics could have been better. I give it a 7 because I think it serves it purpose as a quality rail gun shooter. Expand
  4. OlegO.
    Nov 15, 2007
    7
    The game is an OK rail shooter - nothing new or exciting. It gets a bit slow at times, and slashing at the little worms can get annoying. Would be much cooler if they did an expansion to RE4 instead of this game.
  5. VolkanM
    Dec 16, 2008
    5
    My first resident evil game with friends that played it before in PS. Although it was OK I also must say that it is the first time I felt sorry for not buying a PS instead of a Nintendo Wii.. With wii remote capabilities I would expect it to be much better. It is 18+ just because of the content not because of the difficulty of it. With puppies instead of zombies it would be 3+.
  6. KyleT.
    Jan 28, 2008
    5
    I don't have any idea why Wii scores are so inflated in the user area. This is the most disappointing addition to the Resident Evil franchise ever. Overlooking the inherent flaws of the "on-rails" shooter genre, there's still really nothing to look forward to in this game other than finding a bit about the backstory of Resident evil. I know it's something that we're I don't have any idea why Wii scores are so inflated in the user area. This is the most disappointing addition to the Resident Evil franchise ever. Overlooking the inherent flaws of the "on-rails" shooter genre, there's still really nothing to look forward to in this game other than finding a bit about the backstory of Resident evil. I know it's something that we're not supposed to do with the Wii, but I have no idea what went wrong in the graphics sector of this game. Even on 480p, the actual action sequences look absolutely horrible. Some of it looked as bad as PS1. It confused me because the non-action sequences popped back to looking fine almost as quickly as it degraded. The gameplay felt very repetitive to me. I guess that's due to the whole "on-rails" format. There just wasn't enough to entertain me (and I'm QUITE easily entertained). I admit, it's fun playing with the wiimote like a light gun, and I love zombies, but this game let me down a lot. I'd say if anything, hardcore RE fans MIGHT enjoy it as a rent, but otherwise just skip this one and wait until RE5 comes out. Expand
  7. GrimMonkey
    Nov 23, 2007
    5
    Umbrella Chronicles is very repetitive and if you're not a dedicated fan of Resident Evil it's not worth your time. There is little to no replay value in this game, it's short and fairly easy especially with 2 players.
  8. Plan9fromOuterSpace
    Nov 29, 2007
    5
    Dissapointed with this, completely ditching everything that made 4, REmake and 0 so good on the Cube platform, Capcom has bestowed upon us a lame entry into the series. It was looking heads up for a bit. I find the gameplay to be very boring, I grow tired of the 'bang bang bang' of the gun to become abrasive and irritating. The fights are not that much fun and furthermore as far Dissapointed with this, completely ditching everything that made 4, REmake and 0 so good on the Cube platform, Capcom has bestowed upon us a lame entry into the series. It was looking heads up for a bit. I find the gameplay to be very boring, I grow tired of the 'bang bang bang' of the gun to become abrasive and irritating. The fights are not that much fun and furthermore as far as filling in the gaps....why would I want to fight the same boss fights I've already fought in better iterations of the series? Graphics, sub-par compared even to REmake, colours are very dull. It doesn't look as good as RE4 or REmake, not even close. On rails. Star Fox on rails = great fun. Resident Evil on rails = lame. Ligth gun style games just got a generational ban from getting into my Wii. I guess if you liked playing House of the Dead in the arcade, you'd enjoy this....but why not wait until House of the Dead 2 / 3 come out on the Wii? If you're a RE purist...I say wait until this thing is $20- shouldn't be more than 6 months off from that price point. Not really worth adding to the RE collection available to date onthe Nintendo side of things. Expand
  9. May 3, 2014
    6
    here are some things you have to keep in mind. If you don't like rail shooters, you will not like this game, but for the most part, we don't see a lot of rail shooters coming to consoles at all and the wii is the perfect one to do it on. It kind of brings back memories of arcade shooters when I was a kid, but way more polished and way more content. it tells the story of resident evil,here are some things you have to keep in mind. If you don't like rail shooters, you will not like this game, but for the most part, we don't see a lot of rail shooters coming to consoles at all and the wii is the perfect one to do it on. It kind of brings back memories of arcade shooters when I was a kid, but way more polished and way more content. it tells the story of resident evil, resident evil nemesis, and resident evil 0, and I know 0 wasn't that great, but its still a resident evil game guys and is kind of fun. anyways, it tells the story through first person perspective and it actually gives it a nice touch. now of course gameplay is very simple, point and shoot, its not very scary either,and you cant move on your own because your on rails. Playing with a friend is a blast though, and like I said it brings back arcade memories for me. Expand
  10. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#33 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. A superb entry in the genre with a ton of great missions and reasons to play again and again. Anyone that enjoys the macabre, or going nose-to-nose with zombies should check it out. Fans will absolutely love it as it's basically a love letter from Capcom to them.
  2. 85
    The Umbrella Chronicles does a lot of things right. It combines the atmospheric charm of the ResEvil series with awesome light-gun gameplay, then throws in a wealth of bonus material to unlock and discover. It's the perfect way to prepare yourself for the upcoming "Resident Evil 5."
  3. 75
    While Umbrella Chronicles doesn't accomplish much of note besides solidifying the Resident Evil story thus far, it provides plenty of point-and-pull-the-trigger satisfaction for your buck (especially with a friend in tow).