User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 213 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 213

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    Extremely solid game based on exploration and story that uses the Wii-mote expertly. Shattered memories best feature is its cellphone that lets you capture clues and call ghosts in an alternate reality. The game is not a parody of real life, but designed to make you think about your relationship with the game, or with your real life. It is not a shoot-em up or survival horror likeExtremely solid game based on exploration and story that uses the Wii-mote expertly. Shattered memories best feature is its cellphone that lets you capture clues and call ghosts in an alternate reality. The game is not a parody of real life, but designed to make you think about your relationship with the game, or with your real life. It is not a shoot-em up or survival horror like Resident Evil or older silent hill games, but it is a must have wii title. Combat is non-extistant, where you must and complete mazes. It is still spooky and full of scares. The drive to keep going and find a new area is always there. The length of the game is just about right considering it can have multiple endings. An interactive story makes this game awesome. The best modern Silent Hill game since the ones on the ps2. Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    I can understand how this game will polarize Silent Hill fans, it is quite different, especially since fighting has been removed entirely. Using the Wiimote as the flashlight feels amazing! Puzzles are ridiculously easy, but I think the purpose of them is to force you to interact with objects using the Wiimote so you feel more immersed, rather than challenge you mentally. The nightmarishI can understand how this game will polarize Silent Hill fans, it is quite different, especially since fighting has been removed entirely. Using the Wiimote as the flashlight feels amazing! Puzzles are ridiculously easy, but I think the purpose of them is to force you to interact with objects using the Wiimote so you feel more immersed, rather than challenge you mentally. The nightmarish chase scenes will stump you enough to satisfy your need to use brain power. The story is really great once you piece it all together, and when you do, it's not so much of a mystery why they chose to reinvent the original and use its characters in a new context. The graphics are astonishing for the Wii. There is some frame-skipping at times, especially when running through doors during chase scenes, but I would rather deal with frame loss than slowdown. Expand
  3. May 3, 2012
    9
    Amazing story, totally breathtaking, Nice gameplay control. I love the psychological turn that the game offered me. U wont regret. Yea maybe as the "Silent Hill" series this can be a parallel view, but we aren't discussing about the series are we?, we are discussing this game-play experience, and is unforgettable!.
  4. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    A classic. Excellent music score. Exceptional programming. Excellent gameplay. Excellent story; multiple endings; things that happen in the game actually and effectively depend on what you do (ex. what you look at). Terrifying. I think of this game almost as a perfect game -- the only thing I could complain about is that maybe the system used to track how the player plays the game has someA classic. Excellent music score. Exceptional programming. Excellent gameplay. Excellent story; multiple endings; things that happen in the game actually and effectively depend on what you do (ex. what you look at). Terrifying. I think of this game almost as a perfect game -- the only thing I could complain about is that maybe the system used to track how the player plays the game has some minor flaws: I would look at all items (ex. posters) to get my character to react to them (say something), but I found out that the game took this as interest in the items, rather my actual intention, and stored these as valid statistics to use. Expand
  5. May 30, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best games, I've ever played on the Nintendo Wii. I played the other versions, too (PS2, PSP) and I have to say, that the wii-version actually is the best. I like the controls and also the story. And for the Wii it has amazing graphics, too.
    Buy it. You won't regret it!
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    When I first played this game I was like "wow, this looks really good". Really good to the point that I had to pause to make sure I was holding a Wiimote. I was. Then I kept playing and was just blown away by the lighting and snow effects. I paused again to make sure my Wiimote had not interfaced with an 360 or PS3 or PC in order to trick me into thinking Wii games could look like this. ItWhen I first played this game I was like "wow, this looks really good". Really good to the point that I had to pause to make sure I was holding a Wiimote. I was. Then I kept playing and was just blown away by the lighting and snow effects. I paused again to make sure my Wiimote had not interfaced with an 360 or PS3 or PC in order to trick me into thinking Wii games could look like this. It had not. Finally I had to stop the game a third time. This time because I was afraid. Very afraid. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Shattered Memories is the kind of game that won't resonate very strongly with many people, but for others like myself, it will definitely hit home in a way that will never be forgotten. To me, it was an emotional journey among the ranks of games as varied as The Walking Dead and Journey, and it far exceeded that of the emotions which were elicited from Heavy Rain. Everyone's experience isShattered Memories is the kind of game that won't resonate very strongly with many people, but for others like myself, it will definitely hit home in a way that will never be forgotten. To me, it was an emotional journey among the ranks of games as varied as The Walking Dead and Journey, and it far exceeded that of the emotions which were elicited from Heavy Rain. Everyone's experience is going to be different, however, and so I should add that the reason why I felt personally connected to this game (moreso than any other I've played) is because the central theme revolves around the concept of "reimagining" or fantasizing about life in the way that it could have been, if only something or other was "different" about it. The ending of the game was incredibly emotionally charged and struck out in my mind for many months afterwards. Climax has done amazingly well at retaining the spirit of the Silent Hill series with its reimagining of the original game, while simultaneously improving upon the execution and doing a far better job in terms of gameplay. This game is a seriously underrated work of art that's superior to the original game in many ways, and even on par with Silent Hill 2 in terms of story. Expand
  8. FedericoT
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a game made whit passion, and Climax made a great job, creating a game unique, never seen before. The graphic is very good for Wii and the lights effects are simply fantastic. The game didn't scary me, but it has a great atmosphere. The puzzles are not very hard, but they're very funny. The story is something excellent. In fact this is a great Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a game made whit passion, and Climax made a great job, creating a game unique, never seen before. The graphic is very good for Wii and the lights effects are simply fantastic. The game didn't scary me, but it has a great atmosphere. The puzzles are not very hard, but they're very funny. The story is something excellent. In fact this is a great game for Wii, and anyone should have it! Expand
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    My absolute favorite survival horror game of all time. Mind blowing graphics and effects and a truly involved, dark story with many twists depending on how you play and answer the psych profiles. A melancholy game for those with true "mature" tastes.
  10. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    The Silent Hill franchise has gathered a cult following over the last decade from the series take on psychological and survival horror games, the newer installments have been meet with oh hum reviews. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the first installment of the Silent Hill franchise on a Nintendo console and a reimagining of the first game in the series. This being my only gamingThe Silent Hill franchise has gathered a cult following over the last decade from the series take on psychological and survival horror games, the newer installments have been meet with oh hum reviews. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the first installment of the Silent Hill franchise on a Nintendo console and a reimagining of the first game in the series. This being my only gaming experience with the franchise (I have seen the movie, one of my favorite video game based movies), Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the best horror game I've played since Resident Evil 4. During the game there's 2 different perspectives: the first is a psychological therapy session with a pretty blunt psychologist which has you fill out a few.. tests. The other part of the game has you in control of Harry Mason who wakes up from a car crash and is searching for his daughter during a cold winter's night in Silent Hill. Harry's mission takes him all over the town while the tests from the therapy session alter the town in slight ways. The therapy sessions are short, so you spend most of your time as Harry. Shattered Memories plays a lot like an adventure game (such as Hotel Dusk or Myst), you go around the town and search for keys when you hit a locked door. Thankfully the keys are never far to find, no expansive backtracking like in Metroid games. During times in the game the world shifts from normal to a frozen nightmare with creatures that look like meat skeletons that will chase you down. Harry's only option is to run and this creates some of the most intense chases I've played in recent times. Climax Studios, developer of the game, clearly made this game for the Wii. While a PS2 and PSP version are available the Wii version seems to be tailored made for the flash light controls. Controls in general are extremely well done. Climax clearly learnt a lot from their previous Wii title Overlord: Dark Legend and Silent Hill: Shattered Memories controls better, looks better and sounds better. That being said, the game has a few faults to it. The game is very liner, only one way to go. During the chase sequences you will end up running in circles a couple of times because it's too dangerous to stop, whip out your in game phone and check the map to see the next goal. Minor really, but the game does an amazing job at crafting a wonderful and creepy experience and will have you excited all the way to the end credits when your psychological evaluation is given..
    I will be looking forward to the next Silent Hill game to grace a Nintendo console.
    Expand
  11. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    The best game I played. The ending is a MASTERPIECE. Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a game made whit passion, and Climax made a great job, creating a game unique, never seen before.
  12. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is a distinct departure from the standard silent hill formula. Made by the same team that presented us with Silent Hill: Origins, Climax, makes the game accessible to fans and newcomers alike. In shattered memories, you play as Harry Mason in what has been dubbed a "reimagining" of the first silent hill game. Your daughter Cheryl has gone missing after aSilent Hill: Shattered Memories is a distinct departure from the standard silent hill formula. Made by the same team that presented us with Silent Hill: Origins, Climax, makes the game accessible to fans and newcomers alike. In shattered memories, you play as Harry Mason in what has been dubbed a "reimagining" of the first silent hill game. Your daughter Cheryl has gone missing after a car crash and entrusted with only a flashlight, you must go out into the snowy town to find her. This is one of the first major departures from the franchise the game presents and in my opinion its one of the best changes. It really makes the game a survival horror game because the main character isn't loaded with a tremendous armory like the recent resident evil games. All you have is a flashlight, you don't even have combat skills of any description. Now, there aren't many instances where you'll actually be in danger and that's one of my small criticisms for this game. On repeat playthroughs you know the only sequences where you'll be in any actual danger are in the chase sequences where everything turns to ice (a nice change from the constant rust theme that permeates the rest of the franchise). Despite this, the chase sequences are often fairly tense since all you can do is run and often you will have to stop to frantically scan the map so you know where to run to. Another minor criticism here though is the fact that the controls can be a little spotty when you try to chuck monsters off of yourself with the motion controls. The flashlight on the other hand, is fairly fluid and offers an innovative game mechanic for exploring the universe the game presents. And what a beautiful universe it is, especially for the Wii. Snow drifts gently down through the darkness and locales are made especially creepy by the unsettling stillness of the ice and snow surrounding it. As always, Akira Yamaoka's music lends to the incredible atmosphere with harsh industrial tones and sharp screeches. The lighter melodies Yamaoka offers are fine as well, in particular his rendition of "Always on my Mind" perfectly summarizes the plot and atmosphere of the game on the whole. Speaking of which the plot offers some colorful twists and turns along the way breaking up the action with some interesting sessions with a psychologist who is essentially grilling you just as much he is the protagonist. Though the game won't actually change as much as advertised through multiple playthroughs, what it does do will perhaps provide amusing insights into yourself. The game on the whole focuses more on the psychological side of the silent hill franchise, almost entirely in my opinion. The scares might intimidate some, but it doesn't reach quite the same level as the others in the series. What it does present on the psychological level though, through sound, plot, characters, and atmosphere is more than enough to live up to the Silent Hill name. Expand
  13. ScottS
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Very happy with the direction they went with this game. The chase scenes are intense!
  14. HarryT
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    The best Silent Hill ever. And perhaps the beste survival horror game of all time. I really enjoyed playing it.
  15. JoyT
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, from start to finish it kept me entertained to no end. It must have some incredibly talented developers!
  16. DC
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    A compelling adventure with some awesome set-pieces. The voice acting is bang on and the atmosphere is amped up to the max. A great return to form from a great horror franchise.
  17. MarkB
    Dec 12, 2009
    4
    This game could have been so much better. Instead, we, the players, are given a half finished and thoroughly unpolished game that lacks any cohesion whatsoever.The only redeeming material in this game lies in the few good characters the game has to offer and the solid sountrack provided by the only person on this project who has been there from the beginning, and even he has officially This game could have been so much better. Instead, we, the players, are given a half finished and thoroughly unpolished game that lacks any cohesion whatsoever.The only redeeming material in this game lies in the few good characters the game has to offer and the solid sountrack provided by the only person on this project who has been there from the beginning, and even he has officially jumped ship. The mian character is, by all means, an unispired, souless shell, whose only purpose is to move the story along. Dr K however is an excellent character. As a matter of fact, I didnt really enjoy any part of the game outside of the visits with the mad doctor. Aside from this issue, the game froze up on me on multiple occasions. All in all, I am very disappointed in this game. It has no right to claim "Silent Hill" in its title, as this is far from what I would expect from the storied franchise. Expand
  18. FabianJo
    Dec 12, 2009
    2
    Terrible! The graphics are worse than SH3 of Ps2 and the story was messed up. Furthermore the game is tiny! just 5 hours and is gone! HORRIBLE NOT IN A GOOD "HORRORGAME" WAY!!!
  19. MatthewC
    Dec 12, 2009
    6
    Sadly, this is NOT one of the best Silent Hill games. In fact, I would argue that it shouldn't even be considered one. SH:SM is a "reimagining" of Silent Hill, sure, but it has about as little to do with the first game as it possibly could. There are some aspects of the plot that are reminiscent of Silent Hill, but the game doesn't even have the same feel. Now some may consider Sadly, this is NOT one of the best Silent Hill games. In fact, I would argue that it shouldn't even be considered one. SH:SM is a "reimagining" of Silent Hill, sure, but it has about as little to do with the first game as it possibly could. There are some aspects of the plot that are reminiscent of Silent Hill, but the game doesn't even have the same feel. Now some may consider that a good thing, but I for one love map-based exploration and puzzle solving, as opposed to completely linear progression with keys all in the same room as the doors they unlock. Not to mention, Climax once again felt it necessary to replace the "poor combat" of previous titles with worse, non-combat running away sequences which are tedious, frustrating, and more annoying than scary. Which brings up another point: Silent Hill games are, traditionally, scary. I always considered SH:4-TR to be a low-point in scariness for the series. Shattered Memories makes The Room look like an absolute nightmare from Hell. Knowing that you're completely safe from harm until the ice creeps over the world makes exploring the "normal" side of Silent Hill a romp in the park. Even when they throw creepy ghost girls at you, you know, "Oh, this room must have a creepy ghost girl somewhere. How unexciting." Finally, what truly gets my goat about SH:SM, and about all Silent Hill games since the famed and elusive "Team Silent" went by the wayside, is that they feel the need to clone Silent Hill 2 and go back to the series psychological roots. Now don't get me wrong, I love, and am fact are obsessed with Silent Hill 2. It is my favorite game, and I truly believe it's one of the best games ever made. However, does it need to be remade time and time again? If something has been done perfectly, for God's sake leave it alone. Team Silent recognized this, and made two other games that were stylistically and thematically completely different, but still interesting. There is a point in the game where Harry reluctantly approaches a hole in the ground, before jumping into the abyss. Are you kidding me? I will not spoil what the twist of this game is, but the fact that SH games now include an obligatory twist is unfortunate. At least with SH:O and SH:H the twist represented was a sort of grace note on an otherwise interesting story built up through the course of the game and previous titles. But Shattered Memories' twist almost seems to have been the first thing the developers came up with, deciding then to build an entire game around it. This makes for a game that feels largely unnecessary. I will only briefly mention that while some people seem to be impressed with the graphics, I found that other than some character face animations they were worse than Silent Hill 2's, which was eight years ago now? Now, I did give the game a 6, which might seem high after all of the bellyaching I just did, but I suppose most of that was a backlash against high praise. If this game weren't a Silent Hill title, I probably would have less to complain about it, other than frustrating controls and a still pretty lame "twist." However, the game's therapy-based alteration of the world around Harry made it quite interesting, and the breakdown of your personality profile I found to be eerily accurate. Plus, music from Yamaoka is always welcome in my house. In the end, Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is not a bad game by any means, although it is marred with some poor gameplay during "combat" phases, and some repetitive gameplay during the non. What it attempts to do with psychological profiling, and changing the characters and setting based on it, it does well. What it fails to do is create a compelling new addition to the Silent Hill story. And sadly, that's what I play Silent Hill for. One more thing: At LEAST it didn't have Pyramid Head in it. I love the man to death but, thank God. Expand
  20. JosephN
    Dec 16, 2009
    0
    I actually think this is a 5 or a 6. However, seeing "voice acting is bang on" makes me think that the developers are playing up the rating here. The game isn't even out in Europe and "bang on" is not an expression that is commonly used in America. Just rent the game and see if you want to buy it.. Graphics are decent but its not scary enough to warrant multiple playthroughs.
  21. Gekidami
    Dec 19, 2009
    4
    Shattered Memories misses Silent Hill's main feature: Horror. The game isnt at all scary because you know when and when you arent going to be in danger (you only ever get attacked in icey Silent Hill, in the normal world you're as safe as houses). And even when you are being attacked its just a lame chase from cookie cutter enemies around a rather big area WHERE YOU CANT STOP Shattered Memories misses Silent Hill's main feature: Horror. The game isnt at all scary because you know when and when you arent going to be in danger (you only ever get attacked in icey Silent Hill, in the normal world you're as safe as houses). And even when you are being attacked its just a lame chase from cookie cutter enemies around a rather big area WHERE YOU CANT STOP AND LOOK AT YOUR MAP! And when you do get taken down (probably because the game decided not to understand you're movements to shake off the enemies properly) YOU HAVE TO START THE WHOLE DAMN CHASE AGAIN! I wont be going back to the game ever again and that suits me just fine. I got one of the endings and based off what i've heard the others dont change anything either way (apart from the UFO ending). For the next game they can keep all of this psychologist stuff if they want, it was quite amusing. But please PLEASE let us attack enemies and have them constantly in the game rather then in single bits. Also how about putting it on a console that'll make it look better then the 6 year old Silent Hill 3? To sum it up: unresponsive controls, frustrating gameplay elements, and its not only strayed away from the old SH gameplay but the very thing Silent Hill is meant to be about. If you really must play it then rent it. Otherwise save your money. Expand
  22. JamesT
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    I bought the game because I was anticipating a scary game and....it wasn't scary at all. Silent Hill has gone downhill.....
  23. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    The game sucks much. Its okay on Wii, but in other consoles it just fall flat on its face. It lacks many things that make the Silent Hill special, mostly the combat is missing. After finishing the game I personally felt less enjoyment. This is a complete waste of money for the PS3 and Xbox 360.
  24. May 7, 2012
    8
    An interesting change from the usual Silent Hill formula. There's lots of things to complain about at first glance, but somehow it adds up to a fantastically engaging and cohesive Silent Hill experience.
    The division of 'exploration' and 'monster' segments isn't particularly positive, and the monster chase segments I can frankly do without entirely. Luckily they're not too long, and the
    An interesting change from the usual Silent Hill formula. There's lots of things to complain about at first glance, but somehow it adds up to a fantastically engaging and cohesive Silent Hill experience.
    The division of 'exploration' and 'monster' segments isn't particularly positive, and the monster chase segments I can frankly do without entirely. Luckily they're not too long, and the exploration parts are nicely done, with well developed locations and scenery, and plenty of little puzzles to solve and nooks to explore, with that awesomely gloomy SH style splashed throughout. The soundtrack has been done by Mr. Yamaoka again, but isn't his strongest outing, and is fairly minimal- though not ineffective.
    With the lights off and the volume up I had a pretty scary experience- but the main draw card here really is the story. A plot that's genuinely unpredictable, with pretty much no (videogame-style) pointless exposition, and which kept me hooked all the way to the end. Silent Hill games usually have some great characters and weird plotlines anyway, but this one unfolds at the perfect pace, and definitely rivals the previous ones, especially in execution and delivery.
    In summation: Was skeptical about most of the changes to the standard SH formula, lots didn't pay off, but somehow this game was awesome anyway, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. And that's what's important, after all.
    Expand
  25. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    I SUCK AT PLAYING THIS ON THE WII! I do not have the space to waggle and my god does it piss me off. I would rate this higher because it has a brilliant story and the game play is somewhat unique but if I struggle to play a game due to controls I'm docking it's score down severely, also there's a hand full of bugs in this release.
  26. Jun 28, 2012
    4
    This really didn't do it for me. I'm such a huge fan of the original and SH3. This game felt like a step backwards. It was a interesting twist over the original, but average at best. It has a creepy feel to it, but the maze like chase sequences get old fast. The game has no weapons. Graphically is inferior to Silent Hill 3. I would have preferred a remake done in the same vein as REmakeThis really didn't do it for me. I'm such a huge fan of the original and SH3. This game felt like a step backwards. It was a interesting twist over the original, but average at best. It has a creepy feel to it, but the maze like chase sequences get old fast. The game has no weapons. Graphically is inferior to Silent Hill 3. I would have preferred a remake done in the same vein as REmake with the same gameplay as SH3. That's just wishful thinking. Expand
  27. Jun 17, 2014
    7
    This game is a surprise. When the Silent Hill series was given to american developers, they created the "meh" Silent Hill Origins and the horrendous Silent Hill Homecoming. However, there is one thing this team did right....mostly: Silent Hill Shattered Memories. This game is an incredibly overlooked Wii game and if you were going to play one american Silent Hill game, play this one!!! TheThis game is a surprise. When the Silent Hill series was given to american developers, they created the "meh" Silent Hill Origins and the horrendous Silent Hill Homecoming. However, there is one thing this team did right....mostly: Silent Hill Shattered Memories. This game is an incredibly overlooked Wii game and if you were going to play one american Silent Hill game, play this one!!! The game's world is very unique, has very clever and varied puzzles, a psychological profile system that is built to tap into the player's fears (though the scares are rather lacking compared to the originals), and an interesting Clock Tower-esque lack of combat where the player must hide from pursuers, though the hiding places are limited usually to closets and such; I'll call this "chase mode". The "chase mode" has gain mixed reception from fans, but while I still prefer the combat of the original, I enjoyed this addition. Another very interesting aspect is how different multiple play-throughs can be. Taking from the original Clock Tower's randomness factor and bringing it to a new level, the player may end up going through very different routes and buildings in one game than another, as well as completely different puzzles in places, too, meaning you'll hardly ever play the same game twice in a row; these turnout of these events also depend on the psych profiling at the beginning and throughout the game. The phone is also a nice new feature, as well. It works as a GPS (active map), a camera (useful for specific puzzles and such), and obviously a phone with which you can call various numbers in the game, as well as other uses I will not get too into. Like I said before, the game is not nearly as disturbing and scary as the originals, but the world and atmosphere is so beautiful and twisted and uniquely unsettling that it can be overlooked... However, there is one glaring problem with this otherwise wonderful game, and it's not even the game's fault. For whatever reason, whether it had be to trick fans into buying it or whatnot, this game claims to be a "reimagining" of the original Silent Hill, which just happens to be my favourite game of all time. Honestly, upon start up and past the therapist's office in the beginning, the game essential starts similar to the first game: Harry mason and his daughter Cheryl crash their car on the outskirts of Silent Hill. Harry is knocked out, when he comes to, Cheryl is nowhere to be found. Sounds just like the first, right? Well, that's where the similarities in plot end and an entirely new story is built around characters who bear no resemblance to their SH1 counterparts and it just comes of as confusing, especially to newcomers unaware of the differences. The false claim of being a reimagining was the worst thing the developers could have done to this game (you know, in terms of advertising.Given their previous failure, they could have easily "Homecominged" this one too, and THANKFULLY they didn't), as the characters in this are their own and only bear resemblance in their names (and loosely occupations). However, this does not make it a bad game, in fact, it's great! The story itself is very good despite the name confusion. If you can remember that these ARE new, very different characters and the plot is unique and again, it's own, this is a very good Silent Hill game, a great Wii game, a great horror game, and just a great game in general. It's just not the game the developer's claimed it to be. Here's my advice, if you are a horror fan, a Silent Hill fan, a Wii owner, and a fan of unique twisted worlds, DON'T PASS THIS GAME UP!!! Just forget about the developers' claims and enjoy this fantastic game!!! Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    Como juego de terror cumple muy bien las espectativas, además de hacer un uso fabuloso e interactivo del mando de Wii. Aunque a veces se hace escalofriante, no llega a esa atmósfera tan personal y macabra que tuvieron los dos primeros juegos de la saga, y aún siendo un pseudo remake, no están tan aprovechados los personajes como debiera, siendo a veces un poco extraños o sin gracia. EnComo juego de terror cumple muy bien las espectativas, además de hacer un uso fabuloso e interactivo del mando de Wii. Aunque a veces se hace escalofriante, no llega a esa atmósfera tan personal y macabra que tuvieron los dos primeros juegos de la saga, y aún siendo un pseudo remake, no están tan aprovechados los personajes como debiera, siendo a veces un poco extraños o sin gracia. En definitiva un gran juego de terror, pero otro intento fallido de rescatar la estética de los dos primeros y únicos grandes títulos de esta maltrecha saga. Expand
  29. MovieQueen
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Quite scary, super athmospheric and Interesting game, that is PERFECT in any way. It's only "flaw" is that it is a little short, but still it is longer than CoD MW2, and this is replayable game with alternatinging story. And for once: the psychological horror means psychological horror. You feel like you are being watched. Beautiful game and good quality voice acting.
  30. anonymous
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Played this for several hours and I am really enjoying this game. It has some scary moments and using the Wii Remote as a phone is a great idea.
  31. StuS
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    So long as you're a Wii owner, and intrigued by the concept of having no way to truly fight back against the monsters that pursue you, this game is *easily* worth a rental, if not a full buy - though due to the 4-7 hour gameplay mark, this may be more appropriate for a 20-30 dollar pricetag. However, this is also redeemed by a wealth of replay value, as I've played through 3 So long as you're a Wii owner, and intrigued by the concept of having no way to truly fight back against the monsters that pursue you, this game is *easily* worth a rental, if not a full buy - though due to the 4-7 hour gameplay mark, this may be more appropriate for a 20-30 dollar pricetag. However, this is also redeemed by a wealth of replay value, as I've played through 3 times thus far, and enjoyed myself every time. And pay little attention to any criticism of the graphics, as the game looks *amazing*, particularly with the shadow, particle, and flashlight effects. Expand
  32. RajF
    Dec 10, 2009
    6
    I am a huge fan of the Silent Hill series and I hoped that this installment would bring back the atmosphere of 1 and 2 while updating the gameplay mechanics. It sort of delivers on both but lets itself down in other areas. The first thing you will notice is the flashlight mechanic works perfectly with the wii remote and the graphics and lighting work remarkably well for the hardware I am a huge fan of the Silent Hill series and I hoped that this installment would bring back the atmosphere of 1 and 2 while updating the gameplay mechanics. It sort of delivers on both but lets itself down in other areas. The first thing you will notice is the flashlight mechanic works perfectly with the wii remote and the graphics and lighting work remarkably well for the hardware constraints. The level design is pretty poor though. You'll find the layout and look of silent hill is not nearly as creative as previous installments. Gone are the misty suburban lawns and dark alleys for a very blocky, concrete setting that looks the same throughout. There's hardly any puzzle solving throughout the game instead the items you collect are merely mementos which have no purpose. There's no sense of free roaming as the game path is so linear it basically walks you through from start to finish which can be done in one night. Congrats goes to climax though for bringing back the creepy atmosphere and psyhcological tension. Yamaoka's soundtrack is quite disappointing compared to previous installments and you'll be hearing the same repeating screams from monsters which is quite irratating. It's a step back in the right direction from Homecoming and I'd like to see them make a sequel with refined level design and gameplay. Expand
  33. Ellie
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    The story is beautiful, and outright disturbing. I'd say one of the best of the series. The gameplay is fun, possibly better than the stiff handling of the original trilogy. This game is definitely better than SH4, SH0, and SH:H put together. It all depends on taste, really. Hardcore fans of the original will hate it because it's so innovative.
  34. AnonymousMC
    Dec 11, 2009
    8
    Very immersive and technically impressive. Keeps you engaged and eager to find out what happens next. Ends rather abruptly, and never really offers too much challenge. Mazes are a little confusing at times, and throwing off enemies can be a little unresponsive at times, but it never ruins the game's flow or becomes overly frustrating. Couldve used more danger outside of the ice Very immersive and technically impressive. Keeps you engaged and eager to find out what happens next. Ends rather abruptly, and never really offers too much challenge. Mazes are a little confusing at times, and throwing off enemies can be a little unresponsive at times, but it never ruins the game's flow or becomes overly frustrating. Couldve used more danger outside of the ice mazes. Ending doesn't (as always) offer enough clarity or closure for the story. Silent Hill games usually have more blood and disturbing images; something this title is surprisingly lackinh. Overall a great game worthy of Silent HIll fans or Wii owners looking for a mature title. Expand
  35. LewisHiigel
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    I just finished this game and have nothing but good things to say about it. The voice acting is phenomenal, the graphics are easily the best on the Wii, the motion controls are slick and the pacing is perfect. The story is perfectly told without a trace of ancient mystical cults to ruin it. It's a short game, but merits multiple playthroughs. In a word, perfect.
  36. StevenS
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    This is way far one of the most intense experiences of I've ever play in any game. The chase scenes work so well. You're defiantly running for your life in those. The atmosphere feels really good. I'll even compare it to Bioshock and Metroid Prime when it comes to that. Some people may get turned off by not having any weapons but this game is down right amazing. The ending This is way far one of the most intense experiences of I've ever play in any game. The chase scenes work so well. You're defiantly running for your life in those. The atmosphere feels really good. I'll even compare it to Bioshock and Metroid Prime when it comes to that. Some people may get turned off by not having any weapons but this game is down right amazing. The ending left me with such a shock, I couldn't believe my eyes and ears. This is a game that people must play with an open mind. Good job Climax studios. PS Why would that person give a well deserving game a zero? Expand
  37. JamesK
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    It may be short, but after the first play through you will be absolutely compelled to begin a second... and if you do things a bit differently, the possibilities really open up. It's far from perfect, but it does so many fresh things that work so well for it that the little annoyances here and there become downright petty. As an industry, we need more games like this.
  38. FlorianB
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him play the action sequences in a blockbuster hollywood movie, a game that uses all it's assets to tell that story and not just dialogue and guns, deserves nothing but praise. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories might not be what you expect from a Silent Hill game, and it's actual scaryness can be disputed. But it is the best story told interactively since portal, or since Silent Hill 2 if you limit yourself to the genre. If you're even remotely interested in the medium of games as storytelling medium, you owe yourself to play Silent Hill: Shattered Memories. Expand
  39. FlorianB
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him play the action sequences in a blockbuster hollywood movie, a game that uses all it's assets to tell that story and not just dialogue and guns, deserves nothing but praise. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories might not be what you expect from a Silent Hill game, and it's actual scaryness can be disputed. But it is the best story told interactively since portal, or since Silent Hill 2 if you limit yourself to the genre. If you're even remotely interested in the medium of games as storytelling medium, you owe yourself to play Silent Hill: Shattered Memories. Expand
  40. MattR
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    The best Silent hill since SH2. Haunting, Psychological and brilliant. Gone are silly plots relating to cults and any mention of Silent Hill existing anywhere outside of the character's minds and in is a deep, compelling story that adapts its telling to fit the gamer's psyche profile. congratulations Climax, you have done very well indeed.
  41. KevinP
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    Great game, really messed with my head. Nightmare sequences are frustrating but worth struggling through. No one said Silent Hill was easy. Great use of Wii motion controls, great graphics for a Wii game, amazing story, sound, etc.
  42. WesleyA
    Dec 18, 2009
    8
    I found it to be a great game with a few flaws. The atmosphere and feeling of isolation is great. The Wiimote and Flashlight really help to immerse you in the game. I don't think the game will be the same at all without it on the PS2/PSP. The graphics are great for the Wii as well. Good shadows and you can actually read signs. Lots of detail. For example, any phone number you find in I found it to be a great game with a few flaws. The atmosphere and feeling of isolation is great. The Wiimote and Flashlight really help to immerse you in the game. I don't think the game will be the same at all without it on the PS2/PSP. The graphics are great for the Wii as well. Good shadows and you can actually read signs. Lots of detail. For example, any phone number you find in the game can be dialed. The voice acting is what it is, and the story is pretty sweet. The psychologist himself is amazing. I also like the change to ice. You can only do rust so many times. The psychological scare thing is also good. Blood and gore is fine sometimes but it really doesn't phase alot of people anymore. Especially if its just there for shock value. I think it was well implemented into this game. Also the story is great. I played through a second time and you can really notice all the little details they put into it. And there are the Nightmare Sequences. Intense, yes, but it can get annoying and frustrating. I think if we were allowed to run while looking at our map it would've been fine. It is a fair amount of trial and error. The wiimote gestures to throw off monsters was annoying at first, but once you learn you have to use precise movements it gets alot better. Flailing around does nothing. Also the puzzles. WAY too easy. A 1st grader could have solved them. I want some riddles. Oh well. Also the division between the nightmares and daytime does lessen the scare factor greatly. You are at no danger outside the ice. It makes sense at the end but I think there must have been some way to fix it. Overall good fun game. I fairly enjoyed it. Not as good as SH2 of course, but it's a breath of fresh air the series needed. But it could be scarier. I look forward to what they do next. Hopefully it's a step forward and not two steps back. Expand
  43. FrankP
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    A truly engaging interactive experience. SM takes the most engaging elements of past Silent Hills -- the psychological horror and externalized personal hells -- and takes them in exciting new directions. The much-hyped psychological profiling the game performs behind the scenes changes the game in subtle, yet meaningful ways, and the end result is a gaming experience that truly makes you A truly engaging interactive experience. SM takes the most engaging elements of past Silent Hills -- the psychological horror and externalized personal hells -- and takes them in exciting new directions. The much-hyped psychological profiling the game performs behind the scenes changes the game in subtle, yet meaningful ways, and the end result is a gaming experience that truly makes you feel like you're being watched. Add to that an affecting, well paced story, and sky high production values, with an imppressive lighting system, convincing facial animations, and professional voice-acting, and you have one of the very best titles of the year across any platform. Expand
  44. CarlosL
    Dec 21, 2009
    8
    It's a nice game. May be not as scary as I expected but it has a lot more to offer. Plus, I loved the end, all fits perfectly!
  45. RandyM
    Dec 24, 2009
    8
    Great game. Not scary, but it sure does mess with you psychologically. The chase scenes can be either really exciting or really frustrating, which is the most disappointing aspect of this game...besides the short length. The graphics, for a Wii game, are outstanding and the story is superb. The voice acting is great and it has some replayability to it. Not the best Silent Hill game, but Great game. Not scary, but it sure does mess with you psychologically. The chase scenes can be either really exciting or really frustrating, which is the most disappointing aspect of this game...besides the short length. The graphics, for a Wii game, are outstanding and the story is superb. The voice acting is great and it has some replayability to it. Not the best Silent Hill game, but sure as hell better than that Homecoming bullcrap. Expand
  46. TimothyK
    Jan 6, 2010
    7
    This is a tough came to rate in my opinion. The use of the Wii remotes as a telephone is innovative and the psych sessions are an interesting and fun break from the main part of the game (which also determines how certain visuals and plots will turn out) . However... this is the biggest however.... its just not scary; At all. The nightmare parts of the game (which consist of you running This is a tough came to rate in my opinion. The use of the Wii remotes as a telephone is innovative and the psych sessions are an interesting and fun break from the main part of the game (which also determines how certain visuals and plots will turn out) . However... this is the biggest however.... its just not scary; At all. The nightmare parts of the game (which consist of you running through a quasi-maze trying to avoid these faceless monsters that trying to tackle you) are only the parts where you have any kind of danger. Unlike Silent Hill 3 *my favorite* you never felt safe, in this one you always feel safe unless you are in the very apparent nightmare part of the game. The story is nice and kind of reminds me a little of Jacob's Ladder in a way, you will understand if you get to the end. This shouldn't really be considered a real game but more of a playable story that kind of wraps up Silent Hill original and Silent Hill 3. If you are a fan of the series I suggest checking it out without high hopes however if you are just looking for a scary game look elsewhere. Expand
  47. BryS
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Probably the best graphics I've ever seen on Wii. No difference I can see from most Xbox and Playstation games. The lighting effects are the most creepy and best I've ever seen in any game, ever. The flashlight is AMAZING. You'll spend hours just staring and moving the light around to see the gorgeous world. It's amazing, truly. The psychology elements are insane, it Probably the best graphics I've ever seen on Wii. No difference I can see from most Xbox and Playstation games. The lighting effects are the most creepy and best I've ever seen in any game, ever. The flashlight is AMAZING. You'll spend hours just staring and moving the light around to see the gorgeous world. It's amazing, truly. The psychology elements are insane, it changes EVERYTHING and you'll play through the game MANY times before you even see half of what changes. It's nice to see Silent Hill on Nintendo, where it belongs with Resident Evil. The best game of 2009 for me BY FAR, and I buy a frick load of games every month. Expand
  48. DanH
    Jan 8, 2010
    8
    This was my first silent hill game I've played, so I'm saved from having expectations. I thought that the game was pretty good, since I'm not good at combat in gaming, running was a good choice :). I play games for the story lines behind them (with the exeption of NCAA football and madden), and I felt like the story still could have been more developed (I didn't get This was my first silent hill game I've played, so I'm saved from having expectations. I thought that the game was pretty good, since I'm not good at combat in gaming, running was a good choice :). I play games for the story lines behind them (with the exeption of NCAA football and madden), and I felt like the story still could have been more developed (I didn't get into it as much as the metroid prime games), but it did keep me interested and resulted in the quickest game I've ever completed. In summary: good to play if you don't have any silent hill pre-conceived notions. Expand
  49. GaryW
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Amazing game. Story,sound, Gameplay and everything else is perfect IMO. Must have for all Silent Hill fans.
  50. BrettT
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    This here is hands down the best Silent Hill game in years. It's also one of the rare 3rd party efforts on the Wii that truly exploits all the Wii is capable of. The flashlight works beautifully mapped to the Wii IR pointer, the motions feel natural and help enhance the tension and Wiimote speaker is used to great effect here as well. Also of note, this game is one of the better This here is hands down the best Silent Hill game in years. It's also one of the rare 3rd party efforts on the Wii that truly exploits all the Wii is capable of. The flashlight works beautifully mapped to the Wii IR pointer, the motions feel natural and help enhance the tension and Wiimote speaker is used to great effect here as well. Also of note, this game is one of the better visual efforts on the Wii with a lot of attention to detail in every environment. It took me around 8-9 hours to finish the story (I explored every nook and cranny for more echos and such). The story here is top notch and with the psychological profiling it lends itself to multiple replays (aside from the fact that every SH title has multiple endings). This is the type 3rd party title that I want to see more of on the Wii: one with effort for once! This game is absolutely worth the purchase. Expand
  51. VichoP
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    this game have amazing graphics, a dynamical gameplay (a really good use of the wiimote) and really scare me a lot (more than any wii game) even if you can't shoot here, you'll have a great time playing this.
  52. ACreature!!
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    This is my favorite in the franchise. Seriously, it's as good as the second one. It is also a rare game that gives me the "YEAH, I'M PLAYING THE WII" feeling that no other game but No More Heroes and the New Super Mario Bros gave me. The way the scrachy radio sound comes from the Wii remote is a perfectly immersive, brilliant touch. It saves the sound in the tv from being as This is my favorite in the franchise. Seriously, it's as good as the second one. It is also a rare game that gives me the "YEAH, I'M PLAYING THE WII" feeling that no other game but No More Heroes and the New Super Mario Bros gave me. The way the scrachy radio sound comes from the Wii remote is a perfectly immersive, brilliant touch. It saves the sound in the tv from being as clustered as in previouse games. The graphics look extremely good, and it can even stack up pretty well against 360 and PS3 games. Another cool thing is that it utilizes the cellphone as much as Grand Theift Auto 4. There are some bad points. First, the chase scenes are random trial and error frantic running. You can't really check your GPS while being chased which can lead to getting lost often in more complicated stages like the school one. Also, the enemies. First, they change often, however they still have the same figure so it really doesn't feel like there is any variety, and to top it off are so UGLY!! They are not the "interesting" kind of ugly like in previouse SH games and other survival horror ones. They look all scaley and if they have some sort of skin diseases. That's reason enough to run away from them. The story takes time to fall into place, and I mean a LOT of time. Also, I don't understand why this is a "reimagining" of the first one instead of with completely new characters. I've never played the first one, but this still sounds completely different. That's like if there was a "reimagining" of Modern Warfare 2, but it took place in space. The puzzles are rarely good, their usually either too obviouse or too obscure. Lastly, though it's entertaining, it's not scary. There are a few scares and eerie moments, but the way you discover things by walking towards an object until it explodes or something and then get a text message afterwards every time is very repetitive. There is also no stalker character like pyrimid head from SH2, but that works in my favor because I like to sleep at night without having to check my closet for monsters. I feel like I'm leaving out some things, but I cant remember them, so in conclusion it's a good game~! Expand
  53. JustinZ
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    This is by far the second best Silent Hill game I have ever played. Silent Hill 2 is still my favorite just because I enjoyed the story more and found it be a bit scarier but regardless, Shattered Memories blows SH1 out of the water. First of all, Climax did a fantastic job with the graphics. it runs at a constant framerate with slight drops when you're outside, but generally if you This is by far the second best Silent Hill game I have ever played. Silent Hill 2 is still my favorite just because I enjoyed the story more and found it be a bit scarier but regardless, Shattered Memories blows SH1 out of the water. First of all, Climax did a fantastic job with the graphics. it runs at a constant framerate with slight drops when you're outside, but generally if you turn off your flashlight, it stays at a constant framerate. Ooh, the flash light! Wow, best video game flashlight EVER. The shadows! How it controls with the Wii Remote! It's phenomenal. Shattered Memories uses the Wii Remote very well with its puzzles and flashlight mechanics. Also, the motion control added is realistic and not gimmicky. You don't need to flail your arms around like an idiot, just a simple swing in the correct direction. What really sealed the deal for this game was the plot. Wow! I don't want to spoil anything, but, with the profiling and such, I've played it four times with different interactions, puzzles, and endings. You get more replay value out of this than any other Silent Hill game. Granted, SH2 also profiled you, but, you had NO IDEA what you were being profiled on so it's not as customizable. Your first ending was completely random. Overall, I was very pleased with this game. The ending blew me away and I suggest it to any Silent Hill, Survival Horror, or Adventure fan. Good show Climax, Good show! :D Expand
  54. UlissesD'Á
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    The Wii is lacking good third-party horror and adventure games and the Silent Hill franchise has been left in the dark for too long. Both these gaps are filled with this new, innovative and inventive entry in the series. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories tells the story of Harry Mason, and the game begins with his car, him and his daughter, Cheryl, inside, crashing in the snowy Silent Hill, The Wii is lacking good third-party horror and adventure games and the Silent Hill franchise has been left in the dark for too long. Both these gaps are filled with this new, innovative and inventive entry in the series. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories tells the story of Harry Mason, and the game begins with his car, him and his daughter, Cheryl, inside, crashing in the snowy Silent Hill, a small city. When Harry wakes up after the crash, he notices his daughter, Cheryl, is missing and go look for her. The main quest starts from there. You play as Harry and moves throughout Silent Hill looking for Cheryl. In this journey, you get to visit schools, pumping stations, forests, shoppings, boats and many other places and get to know some very interesting and compelling characters that interact with Harry in his mission. But what really sucks the player in the game is the way it profiles psychologically the player and changes itself to fill the game with moments according to the behavior of the player. The base to this whole thing is the psychiatrist sessions you have between one "chapter" of the game and another. The doctor will ask Harry some questions and play some games with him that are decisive to how the game will be in the next moments. It may sound a little too much mechanical (it sounded to me like that before I played the game), but when you take control of Harry, it all seems very natural. Also, the game has a few endings that will fit your personality and blow you away. Another great achievement of the developer is to have made an amazing control scheme that fits the whole game. Use the control stick the move Harry around, the Z-button to run, A to interact with stuff and B to zoom where the flashlight is pointing. Things change a bit when you go through the nightmare sequences, so let's talk a little about it. In these sequences, the world freezes completely and some very awkward creatures start chasing Harry. They are fast and smart, and they'll use their incredible AI to get him and grab him. If Harry gets grabbed and can't get free for enough time, he will "die" and return to the beginning of the sequence to try again. You can get free of the creatures by using smartly implemented motion controls to shake them off. It feels very natural, but it takes some getting used to. Harry's goal in these sequences is to get to the end of it by using the labyrinth of doors to get there. There is a map, but if you try to lose some time to understand, you'll probably get killed very soon. By making the player completely lost most of times, these scenes can make one completely desperate. The only things that are there to help Harry are some marks to tell him the possible way to get to the end and some flares that will keep the monsters away for some time. Between the cutscenes and the nightmares, there are some puzzling and exploration sequences in which the player is supposed to get to somewhere by unlocking doors and jumping around to find the way. To unlock those doors, there may be some very simple and intuitive puzzles in which all you have to do is interact with them. Others, by using the same mechanic of grabbing things, make for complex, Zelda-like, oh-snap-i'm-a-genius situations. All the game runs in a steady framerate with absolutely amazing graphics, both technical and artistic. Although the water effects might be disappointing, the particle and, especially, the lighting ones are surely unparalleled on the Wii. The loading screens are hardly noticeable because they're few and far between, and can't even start to bother the experience. The sound effects and soundtrack are excellent also and go in the same way of the visuals to create one of the best atmospheres I've ever experienced in gaming. Summing up, this is a Wii game that should be experienced by any hardcore owner of the console. It is technically accomplished, thrilling and ultimately fun in its own way. The only major complaint about it is the short length of the campaign, which can be fixed if you look for all the mementos, messages, logs, phone numbers and endings. Oh, the ending... It's just freaking awesome. Expand
  55. DarkBlood
    Feb 23, 2010
    7
    Look...This one its the REAL REAL REAL critic. The gameplay Its Really awesome, like the controls. The graphics are lovely for wii. But... They change completly the silent hill... It isn't scary, and that's a real problem speaking about Sh. And the storyline, sucks. Whoever the Psichoanalistic part of the game its really original and great.
  56. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Dark, creepy, unique, fun are just a few things too describe this game, I adore this game for giving the main character only a flashlight instead of a gun, the game will require you to use your brain and the cutscenes were fantastic.
  57. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    This is an absolute awesome game. It's more of a psychological thriller than a horror game, because it focuses more on psychological plot points rather than lots of blood, guts and horror.

    The main character is just an ordinary dad looking for his missing daughter after their car crashed, so it makes perfect sense why he haven't got a single weapon to defend himself with. He does what
    This is an absolute awesome game. It's more of a psychological thriller than a horror game, because it focuses more on psychological plot points rather than lots of blood, guts and horror.

    The main character is just an ordinary dad looking for his missing daughter after their car crashed, so it makes perfect sense why he haven't got a single weapon to defend himself with. He does what most of us would do in a similar situation, we would run!

    A really enjoying and entertaining game, you'll likely never play a similar one again.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is without a doubt one of the year’s finest games, and is another example of a well made third-party game for the Wii.
  2. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories takes some bold, unpredictable risks with this venerated franchise, and the result is a heck of a lot more interesting than yet another survival horror game with motion-assisted aiming might have been.
  3. Shattered Memories is in some ways a true return to form for the series, although with recent news of Akira Yamaoka—whose music and vision has consistently defined the series—leaving Konami, it may be the last true Silent Hill game, period.