User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 197

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    My absolute favorite survival horror game of all time. Mind blowing graphics and effects and a truly involved, dark story with many twists depending on how you play and answer the psych profiles. A melancholy game for those with true "mature" tastes.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    The Silent Hill franchise has gathered a cult following over the last decade from the series take on psychological and survival horror games, the newer installments have been meet with oh hum reviews. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the first installment of the Silent Hill franchise on a Nintendo console and a reimagining of the first game in the series. This being my only gaming experience with the franchise (I have seen the movie, one of my favorite video game based movies), Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the best horror game I've played since Resident Evil 4. During the game there's 2 different perspectives: the first is a psychological therapy session with a pretty blunt psychologist which has you fill out a few.. tests. The other part of the game has you in control of Harry Mason who wakes up from a car crash and is searching for his daughter during a cold winter's night in Silent Hill. Harry's mission takes him all over the town while the tests from the therapy session alter the town in slight ways. The therapy sessions are short, so you spend most of your time as Harry. Shattered Memories plays a lot like an adventure game (such as Hotel Dusk or Myst), you go around the town and search for keys when you hit a locked door. Thankfully the keys are never far to find, no expansive backtracking like in Metroid games. During times in the game the world shifts from normal to a frozen nightmare with creatures that look like meat skeletons that will chase you down. Harry's only option is to run and this creates some of the most intense chases I've played in recent times. Climax Studios, developer of the game, clearly made this game for the Wii. While a PS2 and PSP version are available the Wii version seems to be tailored made for the flash light controls. Controls in general are extremely well done. Climax clearly learnt a lot from their previous Wii title Overlord: Dark Legend and Silent Hill: Shattered Memories controls better, looks better and sounds better. That being said, the game has a few faults to it. The game is very liner, only one way to go. During the chase sequences you will end up running in circles a couple of times because it's too dangerous to stop, whip out your in game phone and check the map to see the next goal. Minor really, but the game does an amazing job at crafting a wonderful and creepy experience and will have you excited all the way to the end credits when your psychological evaluation is given..
    I will be looking forward to the next Silent Hill game to grace a Nintendo console.
    Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    Extremely solid game based on exploration and story that uses the Wii-mote expertly. Shattered memories best feature is its cellphone that lets you capture clues and call ghosts in an alternate reality. The game is not a parody of real life, but designed to make you think about your relationship with the game, or with your real life. It is not a shoot-em up or survival horror like Resident Evil or older silent hill games, but it is a must have wii title. Combat is non-extistant, where you must and complete mazes. It is still spooky and full of scares. The drive to keep going and find a new area is always there. The length of the game is just about right considering it can have multiple endings. An interactive story makes this game awesome. The best modern Silent Hill game since the ones on the ps2. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    I can understand how this game will polarize Silent Hill fans, it is quite different, especially since fighting has been removed entirely. Using the Wiimote as the flashlight feels amazing! Puzzles are ridiculously easy, but I think the purpose of them is to force you to interact with objects using the Wiimote so you feel more immersed, rather than challenge you mentally. The nightmarish chase scenes will stump you enough to satisfy your need to use brain power. The story is really great once you piece it all together, and when you do, it's not so much of a mystery why they chose to reinvent the original and use its characters in a new context. The graphics are astonishing for the Wii. There is some frame-skipping at times, especially when running through doors during chase scenes, but I would rather deal with frame loss than slowdown. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is a distinct departure from the standard silent hill formula. Made by the same team that presented us with Silent Hill: Origins, Climax, makes the game accessible to fans and newcomers alike. In shattered memories, you play as Harry Mason in what has been dubbed a "reimagining" of the first silent hill game. Your daughter Cheryl has gone missing after a car crash and entrusted with only a flashlight, you must go out into the snowy town to find her. This is one of the first major departures from the franchise the game presents and in my opinion its one of the best changes. It really makes the game a survival horror game because the main character isn't loaded with a tremendous armory like the recent resident evil games. All you have is a flashlight, you don't even have combat skills of any description. Now, there aren't many instances where you'll actually be in danger and that's one of my small criticisms for this game. On repeat playthroughs you know the only sequences where you'll be in any actual danger are in the chase sequences where everything turns to ice (a nice change from the constant rust theme that permeates the rest of the franchise). Despite this, the chase sequences are often fairly tense since all you can do is run and often you will have to stop to frantically scan the map so you know where to run to. Another minor criticism here though is the fact that the controls can be a little spotty when you try to chuck monsters off of yourself with the motion controls. The flashlight on the other hand, is fairly fluid and offers an innovative game mechanic for exploring the universe the game presents. And what a beautiful universe it is, especially for the Wii. Snow drifts gently down through the darkness and locales are made especially creepy by the unsettling stillness of the ice and snow surrounding it. As always, Akira Yamaoka's music lends to the incredible atmosphere with harsh industrial tones and sharp screeches. The lighter melodies Yamaoka offers are fine as well, in particular his rendition of "Always on my Mind" perfectly summarizes the plot and atmosphere of the game on the whole. Speaking of which the plot offers some colorful twists and turns along the way breaking up the action with some interesting sessions with a psychologist who is essentially grilling you just as much he is the protagonist. Though the game won't actually change as much as advertised through multiple playthroughs, what it does do will perhaps provide amusing insights into yourself. The game on the whole focuses more on the psychological side of the silent hill franchise, almost entirely in my opinion. The scares might intimidate some, but it doesn't reach quite the same level as the others in the series. What it does present on the psychological level though, through sound, plot, characters, and atmosphere is more than enough to live up to the Silent Hill name. Expand
  6. May 3, 2012
    9
    Amazing story, totally breathtaking, Nice gameplay control. I love the psychological turn that the game offered me. U wont regret. Yea maybe as the "Silent Hill" series this can be a parallel view, but we aren't discussing about the series are we?, we are discussing this game-play experience, and is unforgettable!.
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    The game sucks much. Its okay on Wii, but in other consoles it just fall flat on its face. It lacks many things that make the Silent Hill special, mostly the combat is missing. After finishing the game I personally felt less enjoyment. This is a complete waste of money for the PS3 and Xbox 360.
  8. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    The best game I played. The ending is a MASTERPIECE. Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a game made whit passion, and Climax made a great job, creating a game unique, never seen before.
  9. May 7, 2012
    8
    An interesting change from the usual Silent Hill formula. There's lots of things to complain about at first glance, but somehow it adds up to a fantastically engaging and cohesive Silent Hill experience.
    The division of 'exploration' and 'monster' segments isn't particularly positive, and the monster chase segments I can frankly do without entirely. Luckily they're not too long, and the
    exploration parts are nicely done, with well developed locations and scenery, and plenty of little puzzles to solve and nooks to explore, with that awesomely gloomy SH style splashed throughout. The soundtrack has been done by Mr. Yamaoka again, but isn't his strongest outing, and is fairly minimal- though not ineffective.
    With the lights off and the volume up I had a pretty scary experience- but the main draw card here really is the story. A plot that's genuinely unpredictable, with pretty much no (videogame-style) pointless exposition, and which kept me hooked all the way to the end. Silent Hill games usually have some great characters and weird plotlines anyway, but this one unfolds at the perfect pace, and definitely rivals the previous ones, especially in execution and delivery.
    In summation: Was skeptical about most of the changes to the standard SH formula, lots didn't pay off, but somehow this game was awesome anyway, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. And that's what's important, after all.
    Expand
  10. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    I SUCK AT PLAYING THIS ON THE WII! I do not have the space to waggle and my god does it piss me off. I would rate this higher because it has a brilliant story and the game play is somewhat unique but if I struggle to play a game due to controls I'm docking it's score down severely, also there's a hand full of bugs in this release.
  11. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    A classic. Excellent music score. Exceptional programming. Excellent gameplay. Excellent story; multiple endings; things that happen in the game actually and effectively depend on what you do (ex. what you look at). Terrifying. I think of this game almost as a perfect game -- the only thing I could complain about is that maybe the system used to track how the player plays the game has some minor flaws: I would look at all items (ex. posters) to get my character to react to them (say something), but I found out that the game took this as interest in the items, rather my actual intention, and stored these as valid statistics to use. Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2012
    4
    This really didn't do it for me. I'm such a huge fan of the original and SH3. This game felt like a step backwards. It was a interesting twist over the original, but average at best. It has a creepy feel to it, but the maze like chase sequences get old fast. The game has no weapons. Graphically is inferior to Silent Hill 3. I would have preferred a remake done in the same vein as REmake with the same gameplay as SH3. That's just wishful thinking. Expand
  13. May 30, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best games, I've ever played on the Nintendo Wii. I played the other versions, too (PS2, PSP) and I have to say, that the wii-version actually is the best. I like the controls and also the story. And for the Wii it has amazing graphics, too.
    Buy it. You won't regret it!
  14. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    When I first played this game I was like "wow, this looks really good". Really good to the point that I had to pause to make sure I was holding a Wiimote. I was. Then I kept playing and was just blown away by the lighting and snow effects. I paused again to make sure my Wiimote had not interfaced with an 360 or PS3 or PC in order to trick me into thinking Wii games could look like this. It had not. Finally I had to stop the game a third time. This time because I was afraid. Very afraid. Expand
  15. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Shattered Memories is the kind of game that won't resonate very strongly with many people, but for others like myself, it will definitely hit home in a way that will never be forgotten. To me, it was an emotional journey among the ranks of games as varied as The Walking Dead and Journey, and it far exceeded that of the emotions which were elicited from Heavy Rain. Everyone's experience is going to be different, however, and so I should add that the reason why I felt personally connected to this game (moreso than any other I've played) is because the central theme revolves around the concept of "reimagining" or fantasizing about life in the way that it could have been, if only something or other was "different" about it. The ending of the game was incredibly emotionally charged and struck out in my mind for many months afterwards. Climax has done amazingly well at retaining the spirit of the Silent Hill series with its reimagining of the original game, while simultaneously improving upon the execution and doing a far better job in terms of gameplay. This game is a seriously underrated work of art that's superior to the original game in many ways, and even on par with Silent Hill 2 in terms of story. Expand
  16. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Dark, creepy, unique, fun are just a few things too describe this game, I adore this game for giving the main character only a flashlight instead of a gun, the game will require you to use your brain and the cutscenes were fantastic.
  17. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    This is an absolute awesome game. It's more of a psychological thriller than a horror game, because it focuses more on psychological plot points rather than lots of blood, guts and horror.

    The main character is just an ordinary dad looking for his missing daughter after their car crashed, so it makes perfect sense why he haven't got a single weapon to defend himself with. He does what
    most of us would do in a similar situation, we would run!

    A really enjoying and entertaining game, you'll likely never play a similar one again.
    Expand
  18. Jun 17, 2014
    7
    This game is a surprise. When the Silent Hill series was given to american developers, they created the "meh" Silent Hill Origins and the horrendous Silent Hill Homecoming. However, there is one thing this team did right....mostly: Silent Hill Shattered Memories. This game is an incredibly overlooked Wii game and if you were going to play one american Silent Hill game, play this one!!! The game's world is very unique, has very clever and varied puzzles, a psychological profile system that is built to tap into the player's fears (though the scares are rather lacking compared to the originals), and an interesting Clock Tower-esque lack of combat where the player must hide from pursuers, though the hiding places are limited usually to closets and such; I'll call this "chase mode". The "chase mode" has gain mixed reception from fans, but while I still prefer the combat of the original, I enjoyed this addition. Another very interesting aspect is how different multiple play-throughs can be. Taking from the original Clock Tower's randomness factor and bringing it to a new level, the player may end up going through very different routes and buildings in one game than another, as well as completely different puzzles in places, too, meaning you'll hardly ever play the same game twice in a row; these turnout of these events also depend on the psych profiling at the beginning and throughout the game. The phone is also a nice new feature, as well. It works as a GPS (active map), a camera (useful for specific puzzles and such), and obviously a phone with which you can call various numbers in the game, as well as other uses I will not get too into. Like I said before, the game is not nearly as disturbing and scary as the originals, but the world and atmosphere is so beautiful and twisted and uniquely unsettling that it can be overlooked... However, there is one glaring problem with this otherwise wonderful game, and it's not even the game's fault. For whatever reason, whether it had be to trick fans into buying it or whatnot, this game claims to be a "reimagining" of the original Silent Hill, which just happens to be my favourite game of all time. Honestly, upon start up and past the therapist's office in the beginning, the game essential starts similar to the first game: Harry mason and his daughter Cheryl crash their car on the outskirts of Silent Hill. Harry is knocked out, when he comes to, Cheryl is nowhere to be found. Sounds just like the first, right? Well, that's where the similarities in plot end and an entirely new story is built around characters who bear no resemblance to their SH1 counterparts and it just comes of as confusing, especially to newcomers unaware of the differences. The false claim of being a reimagining was the worst thing the developers could have done to this game (you know, in terms of advertising.Given their previous failure, they could have easily "Homecominged" this one too, and THANKFULLY they didn't), as the characters in this are their own and only bear resemblance in their names (and loosely occupations). However, this does not make it a bad game, in fact, it's great! The story itself is very good despite the name confusion. If you can remember that these ARE new, very different characters and the plot is unique and again, it's own, this is a very good Silent Hill game, a great Wii game, a great horror game, and just a great game in general. It's just not the game the developer's claimed it to be. Here's my advice, if you are a horror fan, a Silent Hill fan, a Wii owner, and a fan of unique twisted worlds, DON'T PASS THIS GAME UP!!! Just forget about the developers' claims and enjoy this fantastic game!!! Expand
  19. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    Como juego de terror cumple muy bien las espectativas, además de hacer un uso fabuloso e interactivo del mando de Wii. Aunque a veces se hace escalofriante, no llega a esa atmósfera tan personal y macabra que tuvieron los dos primeros juegos de la saga, y aún siendo un pseudo remake, no están tan aprovechados los personajes como debiera, siendo a veces un poco extraños o sin gracia. En definitiva un gran juego de terror, pero otro intento fallido de rescatar la estética de los dos primeros y únicos grandes títulos de esta maltrecha saga. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is without a doubt one of the year’s finest games, and is another example of a well made third-party game for the Wii.
  2. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories takes some bold, unpredictable risks with this venerated franchise, and the result is a heck of a lot more interesting than yet another survival horror game with motion-assisted aiming might have been.
  3. Shattered Memories is in some ways a true return to form for the series, although with recent news of Akira Yamaoka—whose music and vision has consistently defined the series—leaving Konami, it may be the last true Silent Hill game, period.