Silent Hill: Shattered Memories Wii

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 226
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatthewC
    Dec 12, 2009
    6
    Sadly, this is NOT one of the best Silent Hill games. In fact, I would argue that it shouldn't even be considered one. SH:SM is a "reimagining" of Silent Hill, sure, but it has about as little to do with the first game as it possibly could. There are some aspects of the plot that are reminiscent of Silent Hill, but the game doesn't even have the same feel. Now some may consider Sadly, this is NOT one of the best Silent Hill games. In fact, I would argue that it shouldn't even be considered one. SH:SM is a "reimagining" of Silent Hill, sure, but it has about as little to do with the first game as it possibly could. There are some aspects of the plot that are reminiscent of Silent Hill, but the game doesn't even have the same feel. Now some may consider that a good thing, but I for one love map-based exploration and puzzle solving, as opposed to completely linear progression with keys all in the same room as the doors they unlock. Not to mention, Climax once again felt it necessary to replace the "poor combat" of previous titles with worse, non-combat running away sequences which are tedious, frustrating, and more annoying than scary. Which brings up another point: Silent Hill games are, traditionally, scary. I always considered SH:4-TR to be a low-point in scariness for the series. Shattered Memories makes The Room look like an absolute nightmare from Hell. Knowing that you're completely safe from harm until the ice creeps over the world makes exploring the "normal" side of Silent Hill a romp in the park. Even when they throw creepy ghost girls at you, you know, "Oh, this room must have a creepy ghost girl somewhere. How unexciting." Finally, what truly gets my goat about SH:SM, and about all Silent Hill games since the famed and elusive "Team Silent" went by the wayside, is that they feel the need to clone Silent Hill 2 and go back to the series psychological roots. Now don't get me wrong, I love, and am fact are obsessed with Silent Hill 2. It is my favorite game, and I truly believe it's one of the best games ever made. However, does it need to be remade time and time again? If something has been done perfectly, for God's sake leave it alone. Team Silent recognized this, and made two other games that were stylistically and thematically completely different, but still interesting. There is a point in the game where Harry reluctantly approaches a hole in the ground, before jumping into the abyss. Are you kidding me? I will not spoil what the twist of this game is, but the fact that SH games now include an obligatory twist is unfortunate. At least with SH:O and SH:H the twist represented was a sort of grace note on an otherwise interesting story built up through the course of the game and previous titles. But Shattered Memories' twist almost seems to have been the first thing the developers came up with, deciding then to build an entire game around it. This makes for a game that feels largely unnecessary. I will only briefly mention that while some people seem to be impressed with the graphics, I found that other than some character face animations they were worse than Silent Hill 2's, which was eight years ago now? Now, I did give the game a 6, which might seem high after all of the bellyaching I just did, but I suppose most of that was a backlash against high praise. If this game weren't a Silent Hill title, I probably would have less to complain about it, other than frustrating controls and a still pretty lame "twist." However, the game's therapy-based alteration of the world around Harry made it quite interesting, and the breakdown of your personality profile I found to be eerily accurate. Plus, music from Yamaoka is always welcome in my house. In the end, Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is not a bad game by any means, although it is marred with some poor gameplay during "combat" phases, and some repetitive gameplay during the non. What it attempts to do with psychological profiling, and changing the characters and setting based on it, it does well. What it fails to do is create a compelling new addition to the Silent Hill story. And sadly, that's what I play Silent Hill for. One more thing: At LEAST it didn't have Pyramid Head in it. I love the man to death but, thank God. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    I SUCK AT PLAYING THIS ON THE WII! I do not have the space to waggle and my god does it piss me off. I would rate this higher because it has a brilliant story and the game play is somewhat unique but if I struggle to play a game due to controls I'm docking it's score down severely, also there's a hand full of bugs in this release.
  3. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    Como juego de terror cumple muy bien las espectativas, además de hacer un uso fabuloso e interactivo del mando de Wii. Aunque a veces se hace escalofriante, no llega a esa atmósfera tan personal y macabra que tuvieron los dos primeros juegos de la saga, y aún siendo un pseudo remake, no están tan aprovechados los personajes como debiera, siendo a veces un poco extraños o sin gracia. EnComo juego de terror cumple muy bien las espectativas, además de hacer un uso fabuloso e interactivo del mando de Wii. Aunque a veces se hace escalofriante, no llega a esa atmósfera tan personal y macabra que tuvieron los dos primeros juegos de la saga, y aún siendo un pseudo remake, no están tan aprovechados los personajes como debiera, siendo a veces un poco extraños o sin gracia. En definitiva un gran juego de terror, pero otro intento fallido de rescatar la estética de los dos primeros y únicos grandes títulos de esta maltrecha saga. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2014
    7
    This game is a surprise. When the Silent Hill series was given to american developers, they created the "meh" Silent Hill Origins and the horrendous Silent Hill Homecoming. However, there is one thing this team did right....mostly: Silent Hill Shattered Memories. This game is an incredibly overlooked Wii game and if you were going to play one american Silent Hill game, play this one!!! TheThis game is a surprise. When the Silent Hill series was given to american developers, they created the "meh" Silent Hill Origins and the horrendous Silent Hill Homecoming. However, there is one thing this team did right....mostly: Silent Hill Shattered Memories. This game is an incredibly overlooked Wii game and if you were going to play one american Silent Hill game, play this one!!! The game's world is very unique, has very clever and varied puzzles, a psychological profile system that is built to tap into the player's fears (though the scares are rather lacking compared to the originals), and an interesting Clock Tower-esque lack of combat where the player must hide from pursuers, though the hiding places are limited usually to closets and such; I'll call this "chase mode". The "chase mode" has gain mixed reception from fans, but while I still prefer the combat of the original, I enjoyed this addition. Another very interesting aspect is how different multiple play-throughs can be. Taking from the original Clock Tower's randomness factor and bringing it to a new level, the player may end up going through very different routes and buildings in one game than another, as well as completely different puzzles in places, too, meaning you'll hardly ever play the same game twice in a row; these turnout of these events also depend on the psych profiling at the beginning and throughout the game. The phone is also a nice new feature, as well. It works as a GPS (active map), a camera (useful for specific puzzles and such), and obviously a phone with which you can call various numbers in the game, as well as other uses I will not get too into. Like I said before, the game is not nearly as disturbing and scary as the originals, but the world and atmosphere is so beautiful and twisted and uniquely unsettling that it can be overlooked... However, there is one glaring problem with this otherwise wonderful game, and it's not even the game's fault. For whatever reason, whether it had be to trick fans into buying it or whatnot, this game claims to be a "reimagining" of the original Silent Hill, which just happens to be my favourite game of all time. Honestly, upon start up and past the therapist's office in the beginning, the game essential starts similar to the first game: Harry mason and his daughter Cheryl crash their car on the outskirts of Silent Hill. Harry is knocked out, when he comes to, Cheryl is nowhere to be found. Sounds just like the first, right? Well, that's where the similarities in plot end and an entirely new story is built around characters who bear no resemblance to their SH1 counterparts and it just comes of as confusing, especially to newcomers unaware of the differences. The false claim of being a reimagining was the worst thing the developers could have done to this game (you know, in terms of advertising.Given their previous failure, they could have easily "Homecominged" this one too, and THANKFULLY they didn't), as the characters in this are their own and only bear resemblance in their names (and loosely occupations). However, this does not make it a bad game, in fact, it's great! The story itself is very good despite the name confusion. If you can remember that these ARE new, very different characters and the plot is unique and again, it's own, this is a very good Silent Hill game, a great Wii game, a great horror game, and just a great game in general. It's just not the game the developer's claimed it to be. Here's my advice, if you are a horror fan, a Silent Hill fan, a Wii owner, and a fan of unique twisted worlds, DON'T PASS THIS GAME UP!!! Just forget about the developers' claims and enjoy this fantastic game!!! Expand
  5. TimothyK
    Jan 6, 2010
    7
    This is a tough came to rate in my opinion. The use of the Wii remotes as a telephone is innovative and the psych sessions are an interesting and fun break from the main part of the game (which also determines how certain visuals and plots will turn out) . However... this is the biggest however.... its just not scary; At all. The nightmare parts of the game (which consist of you running This is a tough came to rate in my opinion. The use of the Wii remotes as a telephone is innovative and the psych sessions are an interesting and fun break from the main part of the game (which also determines how certain visuals and plots will turn out) . However... this is the biggest however.... its just not scary; At all. The nightmare parts of the game (which consist of you running through a quasi-maze trying to avoid these faceless monsters that trying to tackle you) are only the parts where you have any kind of danger. Unlike Silent Hill 3 *my favorite* you never felt safe, in this one you always feel safe unless you are in the very apparent nightmare part of the game. The story is nice and kind of reminds me a little of Jacob's Ladder in a way, you will understand if you get to the end. This shouldn't really be considered a real game but more of a playable story that kind of wraps up Silent Hill original and Silent Hill 3. If you are a fan of the series I suggest checking it out without high hopes however if you are just looking for a scary game look elsewhere. Expand
  6. RajF
    Dec 10, 2009
    6
    I am a huge fan of the Silent Hill series and I hoped that this installment would bring back the atmosphere of 1 and 2 while updating the gameplay mechanics. It sort of delivers on both but lets itself down in other areas. The first thing you will notice is the flashlight mechanic works perfectly with the wii remote and the graphics and lighting work remarkably well for the hardware I am a huge fan of the Silent Hill series and I hoped that this installment would bring back the atmosphere of 1 and 2 while updating the gameplay mechanics. It sort of delivers on both but lets itself down in other areas. The first thing you will notice is the flashlight mechanic works perfectly with the wii remote and the graphics and lighting work remarkably well for the hardware constraints. The level design is pretty poor though. You'll find the layout and look of silent hill is not nearly as creative as previous installments. Gone are the misty suburban lawns and dark alleys for a very blocky, concrete setting that looks the same throughout. There's hardly any puzzle solving throughout the game instead the items you collect are merely mementos which have no purpose. There's no sense of free roaming as the game path is so linear it basically walks you through from start to finish which can be done in one night. Congrats goes to climax though for bringing back the creepy atmosphere and psyhcological tension. Yamaoka's soundtrack is quite disappointing compared to previous installments and you'll be hearing the same repeating screams from monsters which is quite irratating. It's a step back in the right direction from Homecoming and I'd like to see them make a sequel with refined level design and gameplay. Expand
  7. DarkBlood
    Feb 23, 2010
    7
    Look...This one its the REAL REAL REAL critic. The gameplay Its Really awesome, like the controls. The graphics are lovely for wii. But... They change completly the silent hill... It isn't scary, and that's a real problem speaking about Sh. And the storyline, sucks. Whoever the Psichoanalistic part of the game its really original and great.
  8. Sep 14, 2016
    5
    Let's be honest: this game consisted of running, and a convoluted plot that turned the original Silent Hill plot into borrowed mush. Not creative, jagged, annoying gameplay, and lots of running. There was no combat. The only cool part of the game was the psychological aspect, but it could have been way more expansive.
  9. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    The Silent Hill franchise has gathered a cult following over the last decade from the series take on psychological and survival horror games, the newer installments have been meet with oh hum reviews. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the first installment of the Silent Hill franchise on a Nintendo console and a reimagining of the first game in the series. This being my only gamingThe Silent Hill franchise has gathered a cult following over the last decade from the series take on psychological and survival horror games, the newer installments have been meet with oh hum reviews. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the first installment of the Silent Hill franchise on a Nintendo console and a reimagining of the first game in the series. This being my only gaming experience with the franchise (I have seen the movie, one of my favorite video game based movies), Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the best horror game I've played since Resident Evil 4. During the game there's 2 different perspectives: the first is a psychological therapy session with a pretty blunt psychologist which has you fill out a few.. tests. The other part of the game has you in control of Harry Mason who wakes up from a car crash and is searching for his daughter during a cold winter's night in Silent Hill. Harry's mission takes him all over the town while the tests from the therapy session alter the town in slight ways. The therapy sessions are short, so you spend most of your time as Harry. Shattered Memories plays a lot like an adventure game (such as Hotel Dusk or Myst), you go around the town and search for keys when you hit a locked door. Thankfully the keys are never far to find, no expansive backtracking like in Metroid games. During times in the game the world shifts from normal to a frozen nightmare with creatures that look like meat skeletons that will chase you down. Harry's only option is to run and this creates some of the most intense chases I've played in recent times. Climax Studios, developer of the game, clearly made this game for the Wii. While a PS2 and PSP version are available the Wii version seems to be tailored made for the flash light controls. Controls in general are extremely well done. Climax clearly learnt a lot from their previous Wii title Overlord: Dark Legend and Silent Hill: Shattered Memories controls better, looks better and sounds better. That being said, the game has a few faults to it. The game is very liner, only one way to go. During the chase sequences you will end up running in circles a couple of times because it's too dangerous to stop, whip out your in game phone and check the map to see the next goal. Minor really, but the game does an amazing job at crafting a wonderful and creepy experience and will have you excited all the way to the end credits when your psychological evaluation is given..
    I will be looking forward to the next Silent Hill game to grace a Nintendo console.
    Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#16 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is without a doubt one of the year’s finest games, and is another example of a well made third-party game for the Wii.
  2. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories takes some bold, unpredictable risks with this venerated franchise, and the result is a heck of a lot more interesting than yet another survival horror game with motion-assisted aiming might have been.
  3. Shattered Memories is in some ways a true return to form for the series, although with recent news of Akira Yamaoka—whose music and vision has consistently defined the series—leaving Konami, it may be the last true Silent Hill game, period.