Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Skylanders Giants is an all-new adventure for existing Skylanders toys that will also add 20 new characters--including eight giant ones--to the roster.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 95
    Skylanders Giants is a fantastic game regardless of your desire to shell out money for additional characters. Whether you have three figures or 48, this well-designed game is worth the time of kids and adults alike. Don't scoff at its concept; you shouldn't miss one of the best Gauntlet-esque games in years.
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    86
    Activision does almost everything right and delivers a nearly perfect sequel. Skylanders Giants offers an enormous amount of content while all the great things the predecessors offered are imbued or originally found again.
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    For parents, this is a sure-fire hit. For Gamers, keep an open mind. There is something under the cuddly hood. For Gamer parents, don't pass this up.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Skylanders Giants is, at its core, a child-friendly dungeon crawler with simplistic smash-everything gameplay, but what elevates it is its understanding of its market. There's plenty of variety to keep kids entertained and loads of things to collect, all wrapped in an appealing package – and the toy aspect is still a stroke of genius, an undeniably cool idea that speaks directly to kids and big kids alike. If you or a younger member of your family is a fan of the series, this could be another expensive Christmas.
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    70
    Skylanders Giants is essentially more of the same. Developer Toys for Bob has added more characters, collectibles, and mini games to the already solid offering of the original title, but if you were expecting the giants themselves to make a significant impact on the gameplay, you might be a little disappointed. Still, the lengthy campaign is fun while it lasts, and gathering Soul Gems, leveling up your figures, and grabbing hats is as addictive as ever.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    67
    Ultimately, Skylanders: Giants isn't going to convert many gamers my age as I think we might be a little too cynical for a game that's so blatant in its "pay-to-play" model.
  7. The gotta buy 'em all mentality is as ferociously addictive as ever, but the delightful characters deserve a more imaginative, better made game. [Christmas 2012, p.108]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    i really wish i could rate this game above a 10! it was amazingly fun and awesome! about 5 months ago, i had 6 skylanders, now that number is rapidly approaching 60 figures! its so addicting and original that kids and adults will still be infatuated with it!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    6
    Les Giants sont beaux mais parfois pas aussi fort qu'on pourrait l'imaginer. Comparé au premier Skylanders celui ci est beaucoup trop facile, y compris le boss final qu'on bat du premier coup. Collapse
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    6
    This is an interesting mix between collecting toys and game. The levels and puzzles are not particularly challenging, even for my 8 year old, but the kids enjoy the combat element of the game. If it weren't for the need to buy new toys to further the game, the novelty factor would wear off quickly. While it's fun for them to spend their pocket money on the next Skylander toy, in terms of hours of gameplay Mario Kart Wii is much better value for money. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2014
    5
    Fun and addictive, but I find myself not willing to re do levels. The only thing I can do over and over is the pvp battle mode, which adds a fun competitive air to the game. The levels should be more realistic with less stupid humor. Another thing i noticed was that the quality of the figurines PLUMMETED in Skylanders Giants. In Spyro's Adventure, the figurines are fairly well made and painted. All I can sat for Giants is landfill fodder. Levels got way too easy in this game. In Spyro's Adventure, defeating Kaos was a huge challenge. Even me and my brother working to gather could not defeat him, we must have tried some twenty times, until my brother died, and i finally "killed" Kaos by myself. In Giants, defeating Kaos takes twenty minutes tops in one try; if you were trying to play during a HURRICANE!! I would say five to ten minutes.

    Now on to some things I do like about it. The extra five levels on each character are a great addition, because leveling up is something a lot of people like to do. In my case, only for the pvp battle's sake, but whatever. The new characters are okay.

    Over all, it is a slightly entertaining, if not decent game. I would only recommend it for those who like pvp, or puzzles so easy you could do them in your sleep.
    Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    4
    Different toys and characters but otherwise more of the same. Fun, but very easy and somewhat disappointing. There are less levels and very easy puzzles, compared to the first Skylanders game, so much so that my 7yo (not a big gamer at all) completed it with his cousins over 3 days and asked 'was that it?'. Pales in comparison to Lego Batman 2 for depth of play and lasting enjoyment - which we both still enjoy playing together months later. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    1
    Well I bought this game thinking that it could be fun. While the game is somewhat decent, it really bothers me that Activision keeps pushing people to buy a whole bunch of plastic junk. It's essentially "physical dlc" and ends up costing you even more. So to get the full package, you have to spend hundreds of dollars on this single game. That is just despicable. Expand