Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The small purple dragon returns, bringing with him new friends in this peripheral-based adventure.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    90
    Skylanders signifies a new start for the franchise – a step back to Spyro's roots, yet a step into the future.
  2. 90
    An extremely well-designed game that is perfect for kids. Unfortunately for parents, this game is wonderful and addictive, meaning that most kids who get their hands on this will crave more characters to collect them all.
  3. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    In the end, Skylanders knows exactly what it trying to be – a family friendly affair featuring cool creatures.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    A near-perfect conceptual marriage of toys and video games. While wallets may shudder at the thought of throwing down potentially lots and lots of money for the complete experience, what you get out of the box is a well-crafted adventure and world that kids of all ages can be excited about.
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    It's an awesome game, the only caveat being that it has more hidden fees than most airlines.
  6. Dec 7, 2011
    80
    A fun, silly, occasionally challenging romp. [Dec 2011, p.67]
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    The overall package is one that only fairly young players with generous parents are going to really enjoy. [Nov 2011, p.76]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    My children received this game from a relative who lives far away for Christmas only to get it home and find that it doesn't work. TheMy children received this game from a relative who lives far away for Christmas only to get it home and find that it doesn't work. The "portal" will only recognize the character if it's held about 6 inches over the portal. Once it's placed on the portal a alert comes up on the game asking you to place the character on the portal. After looking online for a way to solve this problem I see that many people are having similar problems with the "portal", including dead spots, not registering characters, not working at all, etc.

    Now the idea behind this game is obviously all about selling packs of additional characters to add to your arsenal. That being said, you should be able to toss this portal off a building and have it still work. Once the portal is broken, which seems incredibly easy considering the age group this game is aimed at, the sales of additional characters comes to a halt.

    I have tried to contact Activision for 3 days and have had no luck. The phone line brings you to automated answers to questions that any person who read the directions already knows and then hangs up on you. The website, after filling out all the information, returned me to a screen that stated "you cannot create an account at this time" NICE!

    I would recommend staying away from Activision products (see MW3 review) until they realize that ripping people off is NOT an acceptable business practice.
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    a very addicting franchise, i only intended to collect a few of the toys, but once i started, i couldnt stop! now im only missing two figures,a very addicting franchise, i only intended to collect a few of the toys, but once i started, i couldnt stop! now im only missing two figures, not including the legendary figures, i want more boomer and wham shells in stock, along with the rest of the skylanders, they are in too low stock country-wide (U.S.A) and i think they aren't working hard enough to make them more available even though they said they were, but its a very innovative game style and i like the colorful figures and how they interact with the portal of power and how Richard Horvitz (voice of invader zim, my favorite tv show) voices the main villian, Kaos! FEAR HIS GIANT FLOATING HEAD! :DDDDD Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    When I got this game, I wasn't expecting too much (good few hours of fun) but this game is addictive! It is great to be able to swapWhen I got this game, I wasn't expecting too much (good few hours of fun) but this game is addictive! It is great to be able to swap characters on the fly, the environments and music are great. I would recommend this game for any parents who have kids (I even found myself playing co-op with my son!) Collapse
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    I think the negative reviews for this game are way too harsh... As soon as my 7 year old saw the commercials for this game he was on meI think the negative reviews for this game are way too harsh... As soon as my 7 year old saw the commercials for this game he was on me non-stop for WEEKS to get it - you can avoid the $70 new price by picking it up on Amazon, I got it for about $45... as for the game itself it's pretty much exactly what parents look for in a game - keeping the kid(s) occupied FOR HOURS at a time.... graphics are awesome, and I especially liked the fact the hints are actually spoken by the characters, so you don't have to spend a lot of time reading screen after screen, this can be especially tedious for the little ones who aren't real good at reading yet... the kids love the interaction with the Portal of Power and changing out the characters which is really simple and fun. When considering this game just be ready to be hounded to death by your kid(s) wanting to keep getting new Skylanders, at $8 a pop it can get expensive. Game is really pretty easy (almost too easy) but that can be good for the younger kids who are easily frustrated. The biggest problem I had was enforcing the rule that we're not gonna KEEP going back to buy more interactive characters, 5 was about my limit and once they understood that they played it all the way through... Definitely not a disappointment! Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2012
    7
    Skylander's Spyros Adventure is like a family friendly Skyrim. This is a must for kids of all ages, even if they are not fans of Spyro (noteSkylander's Spyros Adventure is like a family friendly Skyrim. This is a must for kids of all ages, even if they are not fans of Spyro (note that I am not a Spyro fan). And if you and/or your kids are Spyro fans, this is something you NEED. This game features a revolutionary game play that allows you to use the Skylanders figures to choose which characters to play as. The game also features and original storyline, the best graphics you can get on the Wii. This is a nice family friendly game that even teenagers will probably enjoy. And the game is easy enough for kids, but not too easy. I think anyone who likes fantasy should get this game. This is also good because of it's use of co-op multiplayer, and competitive multiplayer. Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2012
    6
    A fun multiplayer game that is aimed at all audiences. You don't half to be a hardcore gamer to play this game with a family member. It's funA fun multiplayer game that is aimed at all audiences. You don't half to be a hardcore gamer to play this game with a family member. It's fun leveling up your characters and they are all very interesting since they each have their own elemental type as well as moves. Although this game is fun at first it is very simple to beat and honestly doesn't have a whole lot of replay value. Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    Once again Activision has paid all critics. The truth is that this game sucks almost as much than mw3 (that got really bad reviews from users)Once again Activision has paid all critics. The truth is that this game sucks almost as much than mw3 (that got really bad reviews from users) I you liked old spyro dont get this crap (even legend series was better) Expand

See all 16 User Reviews