• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 3, 2009
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 147
  2. Negative: 40 out of 147

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This is a game that has been taken the wrong way due to the fact of being quite a bit in terms of its gameplay style to other Sonic titles. If you liked the changes done to sonic in Sonic and the Secret Rings then you should give this title at least a rent and it's also for those looking for a game focused on fast paced action, particularly one that involves a sword. It's not a disaster game as many thought it would be when they heard Sonic was going to have a sword, it's a great title to spent some time with but one that may not last you as long than expected. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2010
    4
    I am sad to report that Black knight took almost everything that was fun about Secret Rings and destroyed it completely. There is no point in controlling your character on such a strict linear gameplay path. The story which I will not spoil is Among the worst in the franchise, and possibly the industry. The battles with the other knights are not Cinematic or even exciting, they are more like a wagglefest you have to engage in, lose a couple of times, and then win. Not to mention Knuckles gameplay segments are COMPLETELY broken, I could not complete his origin level more than once because he wouldn't stop attacking when I so much as tilted the directional stick on the NUNCHUK forward.

    The game should be avoided pure and simple, save your money for something else like the upcoming colors.
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2011
    4
    Even more gimmicky than Sonic Unleashed, but even more unoriginal. Pros: Excellent production value, including beautiful graphics, cutscenes, and level designs. Cons: Boring and repetitious gameplay that lacks any kind of speed or originality; often quirky control and camera; imbalanced battle arena mode.
  5. May 20, 2011
    4
    The once-beloved Sonic series continues its mediocrity with another gimmicky and unoriginal game, but worse. Pros: Some of the best graphics ever seen on the Wii; engrossing cutscenes. Cons: No loops, no corkscrews, no originality; poor controls; repetitious enemies; awful mini-games.
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    3
    I think Sonic Team has just thrown in the towel at this point. They've turned Sonic into the prince of persia (Secret Rings), a werewolf (Unleashed) and a Pokemon Trainer (Colours). Now he's a knight, although a schizophrenic knight with Multiple Sclerosis.
    Awful controls, awful camera control, awful gameplay, the most nonsensical half-assed plot since the NES days and a boss fight that is
    literally two quick-time events..
    To be fair, sonic team did include a large amount of extras as an apology for the laughably short campaign, but with no real desire or motivation to do so, I doubt anyone will bother to get 5-stars in the tedious 'tilt forward and waggle the remote till your arm is numb' level design
    Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    In my honest I'll say this Sonic and the Black Knight is a decent Game in the Sonic Franchise. I consider it better than both Sonic Next Gen For the PS3 and 360, Sonic Drift 1 & 2 for the Game Gear, Sonic Labyrinth for the Game Gear, and Sonic's Schoolhouse for the PC. My tip is get Sonic and the Secret Rings or Sonic Colors instead. They are better.
  8. Dec 1, 2011
    0
    This game is quite honestly disgusting. It is not even worth five dollars. I ended up beating it in 2 hours max. Everything was gimmicky, and slow as hell. The levels never really felt like it was tailored for sonic, and they encourage you to rapidly wave the wii mote to swing the sword. You wave the wii mote, and two seconds later you get a sword slash. Its freaking sonic with a sword, he should be blazing fast with that thing. Instead he just feels encumbered by it. There iss no real story, no real conclusion. The game is like a half thought out idea. "Hey! Lets make sonic collect fairies instead of rings! Dress up his friends as knights and make them fight!" Thats about how far they got before they shipped the game really. The only cool part was him eating his chili dogs that he so freaking loves. Honestly, this game is terrible. Do not buy it. Borrow it if you must but I guarantee this is a waste of money. Expand
  9. Oct 18, 2010
    5
    This game is a trap. The graphics, music, and overall aesthetics and visual experience is astounding, especially for a Wii game! However, then you actually play the game. The overall game just isn't very fun. There is no depth to the controls, and there are a lot of frustrating parts in the levels to break up the fast paced action.
  10. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    this is a great game, of course everyone is saying this game sucks, i hate it, it's awful, but you know think of this imagine thats NOT sonic if it wasn't this game would be amazing everyone is saying sonic should go back to his roots but if the game has fun gameplay great graphics and a nice flow then why complain? don't listen to anyone this game is great.
  11. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonic sega lovers
  12. Feb 23, 2012
    4
    To be honest, I do not own this game. Nor have I completed it. I did, however, rent it in order to give it a fair chance. Thank God I did not waste my money on buying it! There is something to be said for simplicity, but some games like this one take this concept to a negative extreme. The gameplay (if one can even call it that) in Sonic and the Black Knight consists little more of holding up the control stick on the nunchuck and constantly swinging the Wii remote back and forth. Sound dull, shallow, and frustrating? It is; it also leaves you with a sore arm. To be fair, maybe the game gets better at a certain point, but based off of what I have seen and read in various reviews, I highly doubt it. Even if Sonic and the Black Knight does get gradually better as time goes on, it would not be worth the high levels of frustration and boredom at the beginning of the game. The only pros about this game are that it looks great (especially by Wii standards) and that putting Sonic characters into an Arthurian world and plot actually works surprisingly well. These two characteristics, however, are the only good things to be found here. If you really want a Sonic game, get Sonic Colors, Sonic Unleashed, or even Sonic and the Secret Rings. All are much better picks; just avoid this game at all costs. Final score: 4.5. Expand
  13. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    Sonic and the Black Night was fun at first, but the levels became annoying after a while, the graphics were in a storybook format that I didn't enjoy, and once I beat the game, i didn't really want to go back and try for higher scores. On the other hand, the swordplay was an intresting aspect and the levels were somewhat satisfying. I would recommend renting this game before buying it, simply because when you complete all the levels, you might very well put the disk back in its case and leave it in a pile of discards, never to be played by you again. Overall not the worst sonic game but a far cry from the best. Expand
  14. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I agree with "Hynda", this game is AMAZING. There is no reason for bad score: Nice Graphics, nice musics, nice gameplay (yeah, when you learn how to play, it is very good to play! And is easy to learn), nice story (the ending and the plot twist are amazing). The only reason I don´t give a "10" is the main game is too short, in 5 hours you can beat the last boss, but to do 100% you need a lot of time. Expand
  15. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    Sonic and the black knight was a game I went into cautiously knowing full well of it's mixed reviews. However I was pleasantly surprised as I found the game to be an enjoyable sonic game. The main problem is the swordplay, but I didn't find it nearly as annoying as most reviewers. It did slow the game a little and introduce annoying waggle controls but it's alot better than guns in shadow the hedgehog. The environments are extremely memorable and different from other sonic games. The other playable characters are alright and not required except for 3 levels. The actual gameplay in my opinion is better than shadow the hedgehog and sonic heroes and the game is worth a shot if your a fan. Expand
  16. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    This game is certainly a mixed bag. The production values, graphics, and music are all top notch, and are absolutely gorgeous. However, the controls and overall design in this game leave alot to be desired. I definitely prefer being able to control sonic with the analog stick, a much needed improvment over sonic and the secret rings. However, the sword play is quite shallow, and takes nothing more than waggling the remote, which ofcourse becomes tiring. The soul surge technique is quite fun to use, but cant be used often. The design of this game as well is flawed. Give or take some pretty cool moments (like putting the sword into the wall and using it so slow your decent, sparks and all) most of the gameplay is just run, jump over this, kill this group of enemies, keep running, rinse an repeat. The story is actually not bad, and has some decent twists etc. plus the ability to play through the game with more than one character (the levels stay the same, but each character has different moves to re run through the levels). I wont spoil the extras, but there are 3 other characters to play with. As well, the cutscenes are all stylishly drawn as well. the voiceacting isnt horrible either, definitely a step up from some of the other sonic games. The graphics and production values are amazing as well. its a darn shame that they didnt put the same amount of effort in varying the controls, or this would have been a great game, rather than just being, ok. I read in a nintendo power magazine, that the developers were planning on making the controls distinct and unique. however i think that the developers spent all of their time working on the production values, and ran out of time to make the controls more intuitive, and went with a simple wii waggle itself. One of the main reasons why people dont like this game, is because its not like sonics previous games. I think thats a stupid excuse, the game isnt trying to hard to be classic, and sega is trying new things, that, while flawed, i absolutely applaud them for doing. Id prefer to try somethign new, flawed or not, than play something thats reashing the past over and over. Back to the game however, one thing thats amazing as well as the graphics, is the music. Crush 40 is back, and the title theme, plus 3 other songs (making 4 new crush 40songs in total) really make this game sound great, and Jun Senoue (lead guitar and keyboards for crush 40) comes back to make the soundtrack, and the soundtrack is incredible, and is definitely one of the high points of this game. If it wasnt for the controls and overall design beign lackluster, this would be a pretty great game, with an interesting story, creative hand drawn cutscene and medieval graphics, great graphics, amazing sound. But the overall design and controls hold this game back from being really great. I recommend this to sonic fans who want to try something new, but to hardcore oldschool sonic fans, stay away. To the general gamer, i recommend this more for young kids. I definitely had some good memories playing this game, but my parents friends son (around 8) had a blast playing this game and couldnt put it down. I respect this game, that it tries something new, but it didnt work, and as long as this is a one of a kind style (other than sonic and the secret rings) everyhting is fine. A decent game, but could have been much better. Expand
  17. May 8, 2013
    6
    It's a decent game. It excels in it's graphics and soundtrack, The graphics are some of the nicest on the Wii, And the soundtrack is amazing. The gameplay is incredibly flawed. The game uses the Wii remote for the sword. There are so many enemy's it will hurt your wrist. The control in general is not that great. The story is very good for a sonic game though. I would only recommend playing the game only if your a sonic fan Expand
  18. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    ...We find our furry friend in a bit of a yet, another crossover. We take a look into a deep tale of King Arthur and his ''other'' companions. Most disturbing controls..it's basically a S&TSR rip-off. The gameplay is just sad...I mean..grinding on a rail with carts coming your way (Molten Mine). Just saaaaaaad. Honestly, I kinda hate this game...I want to give this game away...sadly, I cannot. But...one good thing about this game is that Sonic has a flippin' sword. Well...yeah...we finally get to see some sword-swinging action..oh but, the outline of it all.. Creature blood. But, the other good thing is...you can hit the villagers...so, knock yourself out...and turn down the volume because, the sword will shout at you and ruin your fun. Expand
  19. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    this game does not suck, the gameplay is fluent and responsive, jason griffith has really stepped us his game since sonic 06. the graphics are gorgeous are beautiful, not as good as unleashed because of less powerful hardware, the music is just amazing, seriously while i'm writing this review, i am listening to the crush 40 version of with me. i really enjoy the king arthur history considering that i am british
    so everyone, STOP HATING ON THIS GAME, JUST LIKE SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG, 06, RIDERS, HEROES, YES I LIKE ALL OF THOSE GAMES, HELL I LIKE ALL OF THE SONIC, INCLUDING R, SO COME GET ME IF YOU WANT!
    Expand
  20. Mar 21, 2014
    6
    This is a review I can make without Endless rants and long explanations. Positives: -Sword play (for those that are interested in it) -A moderate lesson for medieval weaponry (trophies/items you collect with a description) -Good voice acting... compared to most other Sonic games nowadays -Beautiful audio and graphics Negatives: -Speed is a minimal contributing factor and usually factors to danger more than beneficiaries.
    -Few alternate paths to grant variation to the levels
    -Very repetitive game play so it gets boring quick
    -Stupidly easy fights, only challenge you get is from the bosses and those can be cheesed easily... even their hard-mode variants
    Expand
  21. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    I think this is a great game. Great graphics, fun gameplay, good story good voice acting, and the multiplayer can be fun. The only bad thing about this game is that it is short
  22. Jun 5, 2014
    1
    Really glad I got this from the clearance section instead of new. I was a bit concerned at how simple and unengaging the gameplay was at first, but I figured it was a tutorial. It never got better. The game was very short, finishing in about two hours, the new characters were forgettable, and the mechanics were atrocious. I like the idea of reimagining familiar characters in a new context, and many of them do look good here, but the ball was dropped on this one. Expand
  23. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    This game deserves more than it gets. It's SONIC THE HEDGEHOG WITH A SWORD. Explain to me how that concept alone is not awesome. The controls are a little wierd, yeah, but you get used to them pretty soon. Everything else is pretty much a godsend. The music, the level design, the artwork, the story, the voice acting, the loyalty to the Arthurian legend source material, PERFECT. Anyone who says this game is bad without playing it or only played it for five minutes then gave up have no valuable criticisms to share at all. Expand
  24. Aug 22, 2014
    7
    hmm why does everyone think this is bad sure it's not perfect but it's good none teh less the story is good the characters are nice to listen to and the swordplay is fun
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. If you're looking for an engaging, unique, well-polished take on the world's most famous hedgehog, Sonic and the Black Knight delivers. [Mar 2009, p.88]
  2. 39
    This is a Sonic game that craps all over everything that has ever made the series interesting and then adds pointless waggle.
  3. Mindlessly shaking the remote gets old and the easy missions pose little challenge, but the storybook presentation, well-animated cut scenes and wealth of hidden items make Sonic and the Black Knight worth a rental.