Sonic and the Black Knight Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 3, 2009
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 167
  2. Negative: 45 out of 167

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    In my honest I'll say this Sonic and the Black Knight is a decent Game in the Sonic Franchise. I consider it better than both Sonic Next Gen For the PS3 and 360, Sonic Drift 1 & 2 for the Game Gear, Sonic Labyrinth for the Game Gear, and Sonic's Schoolhouse for the PC. My tip is get Sonic and the Secret Rings or Sonic Colors instead. They are better.
  2. jordans.l
    Apr 5, 2009
    6
    hi i was very excited for sonic and the black knight to come out. i got it on the first day it came out and tryed it out the storyline and missions are really easy i compleated it in no less than 2 hours all missions compleate and so on i wouldn't recomend buying it
  3. MattW
    Jul 6, 2009
    6
    To josiah h: I agree that many people do buy sonic games for the feeling of nostalgia. However, sonic games are made with anything but low budgets. The graphics for this game are some of the best to date, and the CGI films are just enticing. Not only in this game but in other sonic games like unleashed as well. Though Sonic may be getting battered with gimmick after gimmick of unnecessary To josiah h: I agree that many people do buy sonic games for the feeling of nostalgia. However, sonic games are made with anything but low budgets. The graphics for this game are some of the best to date, and the CGI films are just enticing. Not only in this game but in other sonic games like unleashed as well. Though Sonic may be getting battered with gimmick after gimmick of unnecessary gameplay, I'm looking at you werehog, the production values are quite high. Expand
  4. WallidK
    Mar 5, 2009
    7
    All in all, this game is good, whether its graphics or music, but thats expected from a sonic game by now. The sword playing is cool but in the end you're just shaking your hand and its not too deep despite the 3 different methods. When is sega gonna learn we just want sonic adventure 3?
  5. Oct 18, 2010
    5
    This game is a trap. The graphics, music, and overall aesthetics and visual experience is astounding, especially for a Wii game! However, then you actually play the game. The overall game just isn't very fun. There is no depth to the controls, and there are a lot of frustrating parts in the levels to break up the fast paced action.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    ...We find our furry friend in a bit of a yet, another crossover. We take a look into a deep tale of King Arthur and his ''other'' companions. Most disturbing controls..it's basically a S&TSR rip-off. The gameplay is just sad...I mean..grinding on a rail with carts coming your way (Molten Mine). Just saaaaaaad. Honestly, I kinda hate this game...I want to give this game away...sadly, I...We find our furry friend in a bit of a yet, another crossover. We take a look into a deep tale of King Arthur and his ''other'' companions. Most disturbing controls..it's basically a S&TSR rip-off. The gameplay is just sad...I mean..grinding on a rail with carts coming your way (Molten Mine). Just saaaaaaad. Honestly, I kinda hate this game...I want to give this game away...sadly, I cannot. But...one good thing about this game is that Sonic has a flippin' sword. Well...yeah...we finally get to see some sword-swinging action..oh but, the outline of it all.. Creature blood. But, the other good thing is...you can hit the villagers...so, knock yourself out...and turn down the volume because, the sword will shout at you and ruin your fun. Expand
  7. JordanB
    Mar 12, 2009
    7
    Sonic and the Black Knight has loads of replay value and feels like a solid, fleshed-out game. Time-attack records to beat, an upgradable Sonic who gains abilities over time, special Wi-Fi missions that earn you an online ranking, a multiplayer battle mode for goofing off with friends, and enough unlockable bonus content to give you Brawl flashbacks...all aspects of this game seem to Sonic and the Black Knight has loads of replay value and feels like a solid, fleshed-out game. Time-attack records to beat, an upgradable Sonic who gains abilities over time, special Wi-Fi missions that earn you an online ranking, a multiplayer battle mode for goofing off with friends, and enough unlockable bonus content to give you Brawl flashbacks...all aspects of this game seem to cater to OCD gamers that enjoy massive timesinks which they can practice at relentlessly for days, and that makes it more worth a buy than a rental. (It also puts the game years ahead of its predecessor, the comparatively-shallow Sonic Unleashed on the Wii.) Unfortunately, the Wii remote is not a precise enough instrument to live up to the game's applications of it. Black Knight's swordfighting system uses a variety of different techniques that are all activated the same way, by swinging the Wiimote, so it is likely that you will flail your arm around wildly trying to use one particular attack while Sonic decides to do an entirely different one onscreen. (If the developers had delegated some of these attacks to the many unused buttons on the Wiimote and Nunchuck, this particular problem would not exist.) Quick-time events that require expertly-timed Wiimote swings are also next to impossible simply due to the remote's difficulty discerning one swing from another or detecting swings that aren't performed with wrist-snapping force. This makes the game near-impossible to play beyond its midway point when the difficulty curve takes a sharp spike upwards, preventing all but the most dedicated from seeing the true ending. Perhaps with Wii Motion Plus, this game could be more lenient. (Speaking of the midway point; anyone wanting to review this game should play beyond it, as there are quite a few features of the game you cannot access until then and which then become unlocked all at once. It truly is a shame that most reviewers won't do or haven't done this - speaking as someone who has, the game doesn't feel complete without the unlockable features, and any player who misses them won't be witnessing all that Sonic and the Black Knight has to offer.) Graphics are lush and detailed, with a surprising amount of quality for a Wii game not made by Nintendo. Blur effects are abundant and help the game feel faster during times when it actually isn't. Cutscenes are done in a storyboard style, and their art is reminiscent of a storybook; colors rarely stay within their lines and fluctuate like rippling liquids. The music is an excellent mixture of Crush 40-brand rock with more traditional Celtic themes; you may find a familiar character theme or two be re-arranged with orchestral instruments. As for the gameplay itself, the game's occasional platforming segments can be frustrating due to Sonic's inability to strafe and his reluctance to turn around and run backwards (all levels are "on-rails"), which can be considered a step back from the more free-roaming Daytime segments in Sonic Unleashed. Sonic's Soul Gauge/Tension Meter/Energy Gauge/Whatever You Want To Call It is a familiar gameplay element that has appeared in every major Sonic game since Sonic Heroes and allows the hedgehog to perform supernatural feats when it is filled up. In this game, it lets Sonic target enemies in sequence and fly between them using his Homing Attack, defeating them with a single sword slash each. Well-timed slashes prevent the meter from dropping quickly during its use, allowing Sonic to chain together long combos of attacks. The level-up system from Sonic and the Secret Rings also returns, allowing our blue hedgehog to accumulate a list of gameplay-enhancing abilities over time, but the abilities are granted automatically now and cannot be chosen at will by the player; even worse, it is now impossible to turn off these abilities once they are gained. The game tries to compensate for this lack of customization by providing three â??Swordfighting Stylesâ? Expand
  8. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    Sonic and the black knight was a game I went into cautiously knowing full well of it's mixed reviews. However I was pleasantly surprised as I found the game to be an enjoyable sonic game. The main problem is the swordplay, but I didn't find it nearly as annoying as most reviewers. It did slow the game a little and introduce annoying waggle controls but it's alot better than guns in shadowSonic and the black knight was a game I went into cautiously knowing full well of it's mixed reviews. However I was pleasantly surprised as I found the game to be an enjoyable sonic game. The main problem is the swordplay, but I didn't find it nearly as annoying as most reviewers. It did slow the game a little and introduce annoying waggle controls but it's alot better than guns in shadow the hedgehog. The environments are extremely memorable and different from other sonic games. The other playable characters are alright and not required except for 3 levels. The actual gameplay in my opinion is better than shadow the hedgehog and sonic heroes and the game is worth a shot if your a fan. Expand
  9. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    This game is certainly a mixed bag. The production values, graphics, and music are all top notch, and are absolutely gorgeous. However, the controls and overall design in this game leave alot to be desired. I definitely prefer being able to control sonic with the analog stick, a much needed improvment over sonic and the secret rings. However, the sword play is quite shallow, and takesThis game is certainly a mixed bag. The production values, graphics, and music are all top notch, and are absolutely gorgeous. However, the controls and overall design in this game leave alot to be desired. I definitely prefer being able to control sonic with the analog stick, a much needed improvment over sonic and the secret rings. However, the sword play is quite shallow, and takes nothing more than waggling the remote, which ofcourse becomes tiring. The soul surge technique is quite fun to use, but cant be used often. The design of this game as well is flawed. Give or take some pretty cool moments (like putting the sword into the wall and using it so slow your decent, sparks and all) most of the gameplay is just run, jump over this, kill this group of enemies, keep running, rinse an repeat. The story is actually not bad, and has some decent twists etc. plus the ability to play through the game with more than one character (the levels stay the same, but each character has different moves to re run through the levels). I wont spoil the extras, but there are 3 other characters to play with. As well, the cutscenes are all stylishly drawn as well. the voiceacting isnt horrible either, definitely a step up from some of the other sonic games. The graphics and production values are amazing as well. its a darn shame that they didnt put the same amount of effort in varying the controls, or this would have been a great game, rather than just being, ok. I read in a nintendo power magazine, that the developers were planning on making the controls distinct and unique. however i think that the developers spent all of their time working on the production values, and ran out of time to make the controls more intuitive, and went with a simple wii waggle itself. One of the main reasons why people dont like this game, is because its not like sonics previous games. I think thats a stupid excuse, the game isnt trying to hard to be classic, and sega is trying new things, that, while flawed, i absolutely applaud them for doing. Id prefer to try somethign new, flawed or not, than play something thats reashing the past over and over. Back to the game however, one thing thats amazing as well as the graphics, is the music. Crush 40 is back, and the title theme, plus 3 other songs (making 4 new crush 40songs in total) really make this game sound great, and Jun Senoue (lead guitar and keyboards for crush 40) comes back to make the soundtrack, and the soundtrack is incredible, and is definitely one of the high points of this game. If it wasnt for the controls and overall design beign lackluster, this would be a pretty great game, with an interesting story, creative hand drawn cutscene and medieval graphics, great graphics, amazing sound. But the overall design and controls hold this game back from being really great. I recommend this to sonic fans who want to try something new, but to hardcore oldschool sonic fans, stay away. To the general gamer, i recommend this more for young kids. I definitely had some good memories playing this game, but my parents friends son (around 8) had a blast playing this game and couldnt put it down. I respect this game, that it tries something new, but it didnt work, and as long as this is a one of a kind style (other than sonic and the secret rings) everyhting is fine. A decent game, but could have been much better. Expand
  10. May 8, 2013
    6
    It's a decent game. It excels in it's graphics and soundtrack, The graphics are some of the nicest on the Wii, And the soundtrack is amazing. The gameplay is incredibly flawed. The game uses the Wii remote for the sword. There are so many enemy's it will hurt your wrist. The control in general is not that great. The story is very good for a sonic game though. I would only recommend playingIt's a decent game. It excels in it's graphics and soundtrack, The graphics are some of the nicest on the Wii, And the soundtrack is amazing. The gameplay is incredibly flawed. The game uses the Wii remote for the sword. There are so many enemy's it will hurt your wrist. The control in general is not that great. The story is very good for a sonic game though. I would only recommend playing the game only if your a sonic fan Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2014
    6
    This is a review I can make without Endless rants and long explanations.
    Positives:
    -Sword play (for those that are interested in it) -A moderate lesson for medieval weaponry (trophies/items you collect with a description) -Good voice acting... compared to most other Sonic games nowadays -Beautiful audio and graphics Negatives: -Speed is a minimal contributing factor and usually
    This is a review I can make without Endless rants and long explanations.
    Positives:
    -Sword play (for those that are interested in it)
    -A moderate lesson for medieval weaponry (trophies/items you collect with a description)
    -Good voice acting... compared to most other Sonic games nowadays
    -Beautiful audio and graphics
    Negatives:
    -Speed is a minimal contributing factor and usually factors to danger more than beneficiaries.
    -Few alternate paths to grant variation to the levels
    -Very repetitive game play so it gets boring quick
    -Stupidly easy fights, only challenge you get is from the bosses and those can be cheesed easily... even their hard-mode variants
    Expand
  12. Aug 22, 2014
    7
    hmm why does everyone think this is bad sure it's not perfect but it's good none teh less the story is good the characters are nice to listen to and the swordplay is fun
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. If you're looking for an engaging, unique, well-polished take on the world's most famous hedgehog, Sonic and the Black Knight delivers. [Mar 2009, p.88]
  2. 39
    This is a Sonic game that craps all over everything that has ever made the series interesting and then adds pointless waggle.
  3. Mindlessly shaking the remote gets old and the easy missions pose little challenge, but the storybook presentation, well-animated cut scenes and wealth of hidden items make Sonic and the Black Knight worth a rental.