Sonic and the Black Knight Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 3, 2009
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 185
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CampbellC
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    I think that this is a good stupendous game! Just because it has a few flaws doesn't mean it isn't worth buying. It's not SEGA's fault there all so many good games lately. Give Sonic and Sega time to land and get running on their feet again like the old days!!!!!1
  2. CodyDupuis
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Of course I give it a ten, who wouldn't? I mean, I miss the old Sonic adventures with the ring collecting and all that, but I mean, look at how amazing it has become. If you ask me, I think Sonic and the Black Knight stepped up the speedy hedgehog's rep
  3. KeithP
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    I like Sonic and the Black Knight. I always wondered what Sonic would be like if he had a sword with him. I don't know why people think it's a horrible game. I guess some people aren't even trying to play the game. Games are supposed to be challenging. You can't say you don't like the game if you haven't even given it a chance. Not all of the new Sonic games I like Sonic and the Black Knight. I always wondered what Sonic would be like if he had a sword with him. I don't know why people think it's a horrible game. I guess some people aren't even trying to play the game. Games are supposed to be challenging. You can't say you don't like the game if you haven't even given it a chance. Not all of the new Sonic games have to be similar to the old Sonic games. I'm glad there are some changes to the Sonic games. I don't think Sonic and the Black Knight is horrible at all. Expand
  4. JoeyR
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Sonic and the Black Knight is an amazing game with a great story and fun gameplay. Honestly most of the people that rated it badly probably haven't actually played it, because what they complain about doesn't exist in the actual game. I can't see why any gamer (sonic fan or otherwise) wouldn't like this game!
  5. DannyG
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    I love this game. It's great, fun, and it's wifi mission with ranking, thats my favourite part. Oh. And if you need gameplay advice for Sonic ATBK you can email me. If you like adveture/action/speed/good-graphics/and like sonic Sonic ATBK is a game you should absolutely buy. My hm: granath_95@hotmail.com
  6. SamJ
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome speed, plus a sword = win excellent graphics and it's funny! Brilliant game Too bad it's going to be mindlessly attacked because it's a sonic with new gameplay elements and not 100% like the really old, out dated stuff.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    I liked Chris' Comment, so I agree fully ... by the way: Most of the Magazines played through the normal campaign but didnt take themselves the time to face the later-on levels, which get really extremely hard and challenging. These levels are really well done. Make a rental, try yourself and realize, that this is a Top 10 Wii Game this year. Somehow sad, but true.
  8. evanc
    May 23, 2009
    10
    I think this game is a great game to have i dont know why this game has been rated bad the gameplay is great sure the voice acting pretty bad but still a great game to have.
  9. AdamF
    Mar 12, 2009
    8
    Okay, before I start this review, I want to make things clear. 1. People like this game, and other 3D Sonic games. Deal with it. 2. People hate this game, and other 3D Sonic games. Deal with it. 3. Sonic Cycle 2005-2006. It's 2009 and I'm sure that Sonic games have had mixed reactions every since. Okay, on to the review. Sonic and the Black Knight. Here we go! If there's Okay, before I start this review, I want to make things clear. 1. People like this game, and other 3D Sonic games. Deal with it. 2. People hate this game, and other 3D Sonic games. Deal with it. 3. Sonic Cycle 2005-2006. It's 2009 and I'm sure that Sonic games have had mixed reactions every since. Okay, on to the review. Sonic and the Black Knight. Here we go! If there's one franchise that has suffered form opinion wars and trust issues, it's the Sonic series. With every game that was released, the opinion of them being good or bad is extremely mixed, often resulting into very violent results. No one can post their opinion without someone waiting to tear it apart these days. You have to enter at your own risk or not give a crap about it. This is where I step in. I have been playing Sonic games for years, and I have the same opinion for most of them. I like them. I think that they were blast to play and never question the reason to why I like them. Because at the end of the day, it comes down to one fact and one fact only: if you are having fun. Well I am proud to say that I enjoyed Sonic and the Black Knight. It fun, fast and provides more challenge than the famous belief of, 'Go forward to win.' This game is apart of the newly named SPIN-OFF series, the Sonic Storybook Series. In this SPIN-OFF series, Sonic ventures into classic stories, remade with a surprising twist involved. The mixed bag of love and hate, Sonic and the Secret Rings, had Sonic traveling through the world of the Arabian Nights. Sonic and the Black Knight send Sonic into the realm of King Arthur. He teams up with a young wizard named Merlina, granddaughter of Merlin, to stop the once noble now evil King, now known as the Black Knight. The twist is that he was corrupted by the scabbard of Excalibur, which made him immortal to any normal being. The only thing that could vanquish him is the witty-legendary sword, Cailburn, who takes the role as Sonic's tutor to become the knight skilled enough to take down him down. It's a different spin form the same King Arthur tale that has retold a million times. It an intriguing and simple story than anyone can understand. Not to mention that the quality in the voice acting is very well done, but the script can be cliché at times. Delivering one-liners like "Did you see my true power?". These do not take the majority of the game so it should not bother people much. Unless you want Sonic games sound like Macbeth and Oliver Twist. Much like Secret Rings, some familiar Sonic characters return as different alter-egos. Shadow takes the role of Sir Lancelot, Knuckles takes the role of Sir Gawain, Tails serves as the local blacksmith and then some. Everyone plays their part without overshadowing the star of the show. They help, play their roles, just as they should. Not just appearing for a sing and dance just to please fans. One thing that should please the fans is the quality of music. SatBK's musical score contains a mixed Celtic orchestral and classic Sonic rock. All weaved together to make an impressive sounding game. I will give props to Crush 40, Tommy Tallerico and everyone else for a job well done. Are you tired of Wii games that look like PS2 leftovers? Sonic and the Black Knight deliver very impressive Wii visuals with impressive lighting and texture detail. There is some sight to behold once you run across the field seeing ruins immerse in a large lake, fortress-like campsite or fungi infested forest; giving a more imaginative experience than just running into castles and war zone a millions times. Plus the story is told with very impressive woodcut sketchbook cutscenes. Okay, here is part that matters the most, the gameplay. It is fast pace in movement and combat. Sonic and companions are constantly on the move, slaughtering any foe that gets in the way. Like I said earlier, people usually say that Sonic games these days feel like your just moving in one direction to win. While it's true that the game is more guided than Unleashed, you're not just moving as fast as you can just by foot or jumping. This is where the game shines over the "Shadow the Hedgehog 2" theory. You will use the sword to slide down or scale walls, work as a rudder to help you slide down steep slopes and to save your blue butt when you come short on certain platforms. Yeah, loops and corkscrews are M.I.A., and would have been appreciated, but they would not contribute to making you feel more involved than running all day. So I did not see it as a huge deal that they were gone, considering that each level delivers its on share of acrobatic platforming action. Now the swordplay, don't stab me bro, worked well when I used it. Yes, it is waggle, but I have a belief to why waggle works better for some than others. You can wave the wii-mote with an exaggerated arm motion, steadily with the flick of the wrist, or like you're jacking off. One of these motions will react better than the other, so choose how you wield your weapon because I use the second choice. Waggle is like a button input, you have to know when to use it instead of just flinging your arm everywhere since the motion registers at the start of the move. Enemies are plenty and they come at you in great numbers. They will all go down with one hit, expect for the giants. Luckily, there are dumb as turkeys so slash them a couple of times and you're on your way. Now while slashing multiple bad guys is satisfying, how they operate can grain on the nerves. Sometime they will bunch up into a pile of attacking hitboxes, so you will hit one bad guy and possibly leave yourself open to another attack that you can not see. Also when you run into an enemy, they will push you back repeatedly, which can be annoying on cliffs, or knock you down and leave you wide open. Sure Sonic does have moves that can aid him before running into a pit of bad guys, but this could have been left out. Now here is one of Sonic and the Black Knight's best parts. While you are expected to fight enemies and talk to townspeople, you not required to do so unless it is the attended mission. You can skip pass them, expect the giants, and be one your way. The combat and interacting will help you gain more EXP points, but it is not needed to complete the story. The story only spans three to four hours. The missions themselves feel more different, instead of just chopped pieces of the "Race to the Goal' mission. Even though some of those missions still exist. Now if you want to go fast and rip through enemies like christmas presents. You might want to either learn the ropes of the game or use the Soul Surge. The Soul Surge is the mechanism that allows Sonic to dash through the level at high speed. If he encounters an enemy, flick the Wii-mote with good timing, to slash through them like butter and keep on running. The only downfall is that you must be careful when using it, or you might run right off of a cliff! After every mission, Sonic will level up, allowing him to move faster, strafe quicker, and fight better. And this works better than Secret Rings since Sonic Team did not break Sonic's legs at the start. So he runs at a comfortable speed at the start, and the level ups will not ruin any of his moves. You will be given a choice on what aspect of Sonic's moveset you want to improve. Knight style is the basic style, providing a balance between speed and attack; Paladin style focus more on attack strength and range, and Cavalier style is visa versa. Each style provided you with the same upgrade of attack moves. These attacks will take some time more time to get use to than the basic swordplay, and I would not recommend using them out of nowhere. If you are going to use these attacks, make sure you prepared to put it into action, or you will not be prepare to string them together. The bosses provide a challenge as well, but they are not as varied as Secret Rings. They are mostly sword duels, and that's it. Providing more moves to watch out for overtime. I will not lie that each one still feels engaging and requires you to be more on your toes as each fight passes. The game offers plenty of fan service. From Sonic swallowing down a chilidog to him reminiscing past events when certain obstacles are presented in front of him. There's one of those little touches that are always welcomed in a Sonic game. Not to mention the impressive number in unlockables, mission count, and gorgeous fan art gallery make the gamer fell more welcome, adding more replay value. You can also exchange items and weapons over wi-fi to get that special cleaver that you always wanted but were to lazy to get. Now thing that I can not support by any means is the multi-player. I know the Wii can be a fun multi-player device. Seriously, it is nothing more than an awkward battle arena where Sonic and his friends battle against each other or other enemies. The controls are different from the single-player, as character control in a weird tank motion. Moving pretty slow, making it feel tedious. Not to mention that you need a friend to join you because bots are non-existence. Honestly, this aspect should had been left out altogether, allowing more focus on the single-player. That could have made a fun game epic. HayMaker/DealBreaker This is the Haymaker/Dealbreaker part of the review. In this section, I will point out a couple of points that may be taken as hit or miss. This does not cover fanboy whining, music complaints or anything that affects all games in general. 1. Secret Rings or Unleashed Gameplay. I heard this case plenty of times. People were concern of which gameplay style Sonic and the Black Knight relates to more. I am here to say it is a mixture of both, sacrificing some of both as well. It's has more boundaries and is guided than Unleashed, but has better and more responsive controls than Secret Rings. Have an idea on what gameplay aspect you liked the most before you purchase this game. Not being able to drift or holding the wii-mote on its side can leave you disappointed. 2. The Length of the Game. This is one of the conflicting points of the game. Sonic games, expect for Chronicles, were never punish for being short and reasonably so. But if you enjoy the story mode, you might feel like more should be added; however, this is also a positive for Sonic Team, not trying to rely on making the story long to make the entire game better. 3. Waggle Swordplay. Like I said, waggle is used differently with people. Now it can be said that some people expect more than waggle, some people see waggle as lazy and hate it all together. So it depends on your stance on waggle, and if you're willing to try it out and work with it. Closing Comments. Sonic and the Black Knight is a great game. It is fast pace, adding a new tool that many did not expect to work so well, but it does. There's an interesting story, replay value galore, and a load of fan service. It's funny that a Spin-off offers more of this than some of main series Sonic games. It's a simple game, but do not expect yourself to run right through it. You will die at times, speed-runner. I just wish for better enemy placement, and more focus on the single player instead of just adding a half-bake multi-player in the mix. But for the most part, you can skip right pass both and enjoy yourself. Expand
  10. JamieMitchell
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    When I Heard Of IGN And Gamespot's Reviews For This Game, I Just Thought, "WHY THE HELL?!" Well, To Be Precise, "Sonic and The Black Knight" Was Very Good And I Think IGN And Gamespot Should've Given This A Higher Score! The Missions May Be Short, But At Least The Gameplay Pulls Off Well! Worth Buying If You Are A Hardcore Sonic Fan, But Anyone With Concern Should Rent It!
  11. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I agree with "Hynda", this game is AMAZING. There is no reason for bad score: Nice Graphics, nice musics, nice gameplay (yeah, when you learn how to play, it is very good to play! And is easy to learn), nice story (the ending and the plot twist are amazing). The only reason I don´t give a "10" is the main game is too short, in 5 hours you can beat the last boss, but to do 100% youI agree with "Hynda", this game is AMAZING. There is no reason for bad score: Nice Graphics, nice musics, nice gameplay (yeah, when you learn how to play, it is very good to play! And is easy to learn), nice story (the ending and the plot twist are amazing). The only reason I don´t give a "10" is the main game is too short, in 5 hours you can beat the last boss, but to do 100% you need a lot of time. Expand
  12. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    This game deserves more than it gets. It's SONIC THE HEDGEHOG WITH A SWORD. Explain to me how that concept alone is not awesome. The controls are a little wierd, yeah, but you get used to them pretty soon. Everything else is pretty much a godsend. The music, the level design, the artwork, the story, the voice acting, the loyalty to the Arthurian legend source material, PERFECT. Anyone whoThis game deserves more than it gets. It's SONIC THE HEDGEHOG WITH A SWORD. Explain to me how that concept alone is not awesome. The controls are a little wierd, yeah, but you get used to them pretty soon. Everything else is pretty much a godsend. The music, the level design, the artwork, the story, the voice acting, the loyalty to the Arthurian legend source material, PERFECT. Anyone who says this game is bad without playing it or only played it for five minutes then gave up have no valuable criticisms to share at all. Expand
  13. Feb 3, 2016
    9
    JESUS CHRIST!!! The bad reviews are bogging this game's actual credibility. Now i am going to tell all of you haters what this game is actualy like. Yes it plays a lot like SaTSR, but thats because its the sequel of it, they wanted to make a secret rings game, but make it better, thats what they did. Second off the sword was implimented amazingly, yes you swing to kill, but when it comesJESUS CHRIST!!! The bad reviews are bogging this game's actual credibility. Now i am going to tell all of you haters what this game is actualy like. Yes it plays a lot like SaTSR, but thats because its the sequel of it, they wanted to make a secret rings game, but make it better, thats what they did. Second off the sword was implimented amazingly, yes you swing to kill, but when it comes to the soul burst you need to time your hits to keep the soul burst going, also you cant just slash wildly and hope to god you win with the bosses (im guilty of that but i know better now) . And then the story, its really good, even the plot twist suprised me, but because of all the other reviews you possably think its horable Expand
  14. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This is a game that has been taken the wrong way due to the fact of being quite a bit in terms of its gameplay style to other Sonic titles. If you liked the changes done to sonic in Sonic and the Secret Rings then you should give this title at least a rent and it's also for those looking for a game focused on fast paced action, particularly one that involves a sword. It's not a disasterThis is a game that has been taken the wrong way due to the fact of being quite a bit in terms of its gameplay style to other Sonic titles. If you liked the changes done to sonic in Sonic and the Secret Rings then you should give this title at least a rent and it's also for those looking for a game focused on fast paced action, particularly one that involves a sword. It's not a disaster game as many thought it would be when they heard Sonic was going to have a sword, it's a great title to spent some time with but one that may not last you as long than expected. Expand
  15. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, thisThe only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  16. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    this game does not suck, the gameplay is fluent and responsive, jason griffith has really stepped us his game since sonic 06. the graphics are gorgeous are beautiful, not as good as unleashed because of less powerful hardware, the music is just amazing, seriously while i'm writing this review, i am listening to the crush 40 version of with me. i really enjoy the king arthur historythis game does not suck, the gameplay is fluent and responsive, jason griffith has really stepped us his game since sonic 06. the graphics are gorgeous are beautiful, not as good as unleashed because of less powerful hardware, the music is just amazing, seriously while i'm writing this review, i am listening to the crush 40 version of with me. i really enjoy the king arthur history considering that i am british
    so everyone, STOP HATING ON THIS GAME, JUST LIKE SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG, 06, RIDERS, HEROES, YES I LIKE ALL OF THOSE GAMES, HELL I LIKE ALL OF THE SONIC, INCLUDING R, SO COME GET ME IF YOU WANT!
    Expand
  17. ChrisC
    Mar 5, 2009
    9
    It's REALLY not that bad. People keep bitching about how Sonic is not how it was back then. Stop and think what it was like back then. Just because Sonic is a speedy character doesn't mean that his past games were not stop-n-go. I enjoyed the old Sonic because I found his speedy style of platforming fun. Sonic Unleashed daytime levels is just him running really fast dodging It's REALLY not that bad. People keep bitching about how Sonic is not how it was back then. Stop and think what it was like back then. Just because Sonic is a speedy character doesn't mean that his past games were not stop-n-go. I enjoyed the old Sonic because I found his speedy style of platforming fun. Sonic Unleashed daytime levels is just him running really fast dodging things. And it too is on rails. My point is, this game is another twist to it, but stop crying. Because Sonic will never be the same as the old days again. Face it. Take this game for what its worth, and you'll see that its actually very fun. And if you even complain there's too much waggle, then go do some exercises and get active. Its really not bad. The game is very well put together and is extremely solid. Expand
  18. ThomasJ
    Mar 5, 2009
    8
    It's a great game. Gameplay has some minor issues, but works great. Good storyline, great level design, excellent options that include selecting characters without being forced to play with them, deep weapon costumization and several items to collect. Multiplayer mode is a downside, but nothing too critical. It's nice to see other characters in this mode who doesn't belong It's a great game. Gameplay has some minor issues, but works great. Good storyline, great level design, excellent options that include selecting characters without being forced to play with them, deep weapon costumization and several items to collect. Multiplayer mode is a downside, but nothing too critical. It's nice to see other characters in this mode who doesn't belong in the main single player mode. Online could be better, but leaderboard system is a really nice touch, and trading items is also nice to have around. A good Sonic game, overall, and picked up the best you had in Secret Rings. It has everything, from speed (that gradually improoves as you get to play better), platform action, a good fighting mechanism and plenty of replay value. Expand
  19. JakeWoloszczuk
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    ignore all the trash talk about this game, it is simply very well made. the layout, graphics, story and controls all work very well. also if the fact that you play as sonic bothers you then think of it as a knight kind of game, take it for what the game plays like, not for who you play as
  20. Jan 21, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is nothing to say............................................................................................................................... Expand
  21. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonic sega lovers
  22. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    I think this is a great game. Great graphics, fun gameplay, good story good voice acting, and the multiplayer can be fun. The only bad thing about this game is that it is short
  23. Jul 2, 2016
    10
    Pretty good it was enjoyble but it really does not deserve the hate it wasnt really a walk in the park either it was greatly more enjoyble if you gave it a chance
  24. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    In this game you are the blue man himself, but this time with a sword! A SWORD! SONIC HAS SWORD IN THIS GAME LADIES AND GENTLEMEN. YOU CANNOT BEAT THAT. THE SWORD MAKES THE GAME, FOLKS.
    In summary, it's like Sonic 06, but better!

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#10 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    If you're looking for an engaging, unique, well-polished take on the world's most famous hedgehog, Sonic and the Black Knight delivers. [Mar 2009, p.88]
  2. 39
    This is a Sonic game that craps all over everything that has ever made the series interesting and then adds pointless waggle.
  3. Mindlessly shaking the remote gets old and the easy missions pose little challenge, but the storybook presentation, well-animated cut scenes and wealth of hidden items make Sonic and the Black Knight worth a rental.