• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 3, 2009
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 161

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CampbellC
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    I think that this is a good stupendous game! Just because it has a few flaws doesn't mean it isn't worth buying. It's not SEGA's fault there all so many good games lately. Give Sonic and Sega time to land and get running on their feet again like the old days!!!!!1
  2. CodyDupuis
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Of course I give it a ten, who wouldn't? I mean, I miss the old Sonic adventures with the ring collecting and all that, but I mean, look at how amazing it has become. If you ask me, I think Sonic and the Black Knight stepped up the speedy hedgehog's rep
  3. SamJ
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome speed, plus a sword = win excellent graphics and it's funny! Brilliant game Too bad it's going to be mindlessly attacked because it's a sonic with new gameplay elements and not 100% like the really old, out dated stuff.
  4. KeithP
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    I like Sonic and the Black Knight. I always wondered what Sonic would be like if he had a sword with him. I don't know why people think it's a horrible game. I guess some people aren't even trying to play the game. Games are supposed to be challenging. You can't say you don't like the game if you haven't even given it a chance. Not all of the new Sonic games I like Sonic and the Black Knight. I always wondered what Sonic would be like if he had a sword with him. I don't know why people think it's a horrible game. I guess some people aren't even trying to play the game. Games are supposed to be challenging. You can't say you don't like the game if you haven't even given it a chance. Not all of the new Sonic games have to be similar to the old Sonic games. I'm glad there are some changes to the Sonic games. I don't think Sonic and the Black Knight is horrible at all. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    I liked Chris' Comment, so I agree fully ... by the way: Most of the Magazines played through the normal campaign but didnt take themselves the time to face the later-on levels, which get really extremely hard and challenging. These levels are really well done. Make a rental, try yourself and realize, that this is a Top 10 Wii Game this year. Somehow sad, but true.
  6. evanc
    May 23, 2009
    10
    I think this game is a great game to have i dont know why this game has been rated bad the gameplay is great sure the voice acting pretty bad but still a great game to have.
  7. JoeyR
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Sonic and the Black Knight is an amazing game with a great story and fun gameplay. Honestly most of the people that rated it badly probably haven't actually played it, because what they complain about doesn't exist in the actual game. I can't see why any gamer (sonic fan or otherwise) wouldn't like this game!
  8. DannyG
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    I love this game. It's great, fun, and it's wifi mission with ranking, thats my favourite part. Oh. And if you need gameplay advice for Sonic ATBK you can email me. If you like adveture/action/speed/good-graphics/and like sonic Sonic ATBK is a game you should absolutely buy. My hm: granath_95@hotmail.com
  9. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, thisThe only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  10. JakeWoloszczuk
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    ignore all the trash talk about this game, it is simply very well made. the layout, graphics, story and controls all work very well. also if the fact that you play as sonic bothers you then think of it as a knight kind of game, take it for what the game plays like, not for who you play as
  11. ChrisC
    Mar 5, 2009
    9
    It's REALLY not that bad. People keep bitching about how Sonic is not how it was back then. Stop and think what it was like back then. Just because Sonic is a speedy character doesn't mean that his past games were not stop-n-go. I enjoyed the old Sonic because I found his speedy style of platforming fun. Sonic Unleashed daytime levels is just him running really fast dodging It's REALLY not that bad. People keep bitching about how Sonic is not how it was back then. Stop and think what it was like back then. Just because Sonic is a speedy character doesn't mean that his past games were not stop-n-go. I enjoyed the old Sonic because I found his speedy style of platforming fun. Sonic Unleashed daytime levels is just him running really fast dodging things. And it too is on rails. My point is, this game is another twist to it, but stop crying. Because Sonic will never be the same as the old days again. Face it. Take this game for what its worth, and you'll see that its actually very fun. And if you even complain there's too much waggle, then go do some exercises and get active. Its really not bad. The game is very well put together and is extremely solid. Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    this is a great game, of course everyone is saying this game sucks, i hate it, it's awful, but you know think of this imagine thats NOT sonic if it wasn't this game would be amazing everyone is saying sonic should go back to his roots but if the game has fun gameplay great graphics and a nice flow then why complain? don't listen to anyone this game is great.
  13. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonic sega lovers
  14. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I agree with "Hynda", this game is AMAZING. There is no reason for bad score: Nice Graphics, nice musics, nice gameplay (yeah, when you learn how to play, it is very good to play! And is easy to learn), nice story (the ending and the plot twist are amazing). The only reason I don´t give a "10" is the main game is too short, in 5 hours you can beat the last boss, but to do 100% youI agree with "Hynda", this game is AMAZING. There is no reason for bad score: Nice Graphics, nice musics, nice gameplay (yeah, when you learn how to play, it is very good to play! And is easy to learn), nice story (the ending and the plot twist are amazing). The only reason I don´t give a "10" is the main game is too short, in 5 hours you can beat the last boss, but to do 100% you need a lot of time. Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    this game does not suck, the gameplay is fluent and responsive, jason griffith has really stepped us his game since sonic 06. the graphics are gorgeous are beautiful, not as good as unleashed because of less powerful hardware, the music is just amazing, seriously while i'm writing this review, i am listening to the crush 40 version of with me. i really enjoy the king arthur historythis game does not suck, the gameplay is fluent and responsive, jason griffith has really stepped us his game since sonic 06. the graphics are gorgeous are beautiful, not as good as unleashed because of less powerful hardware, the music is just amazing, seriously while i'm writing this review, i am listening to the crush 40 version of with me. i really enjoy the king arthur history considering that i am british
    so everyone, STOP HATING ON THIS GAME, JUST LIKE SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG, 06, RIDERS, HEROES, YES I LIKE ALL OF THOSE GAMES, HELL I LIKE ALL OF THE SONIC, INCLUDING R, SO COME GET ME IF YOU WANT!
    Expand
  16. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    This game deserves more than it gets. It's SONIC THE HEDGEHOG WITH A SWORD. Explain to me how that concept alone is not awesome. The controls are a little wierd, yeah, but you get used to them pretty soon. Everything else is pretty much a godsend. The music, the level design, the artwork, the story, the voice acting, the loyalty to the Arthurian legend source material, PERFECT. Anyone whoThis game deserves more than it gets. It's SONIC THE HEDGEHOG WITH A SWORD. Explain to me how that concept alone is not awesome. The controls are a little wierd, yeah, but you get used to them pretty soon. Everything else is pretty much a godsend. The music, the level design, the artwork, the story, the voice acting, the loyalty to the Arthurian legend source material, PERFECT. Anyone who says this game is bad without playing it or only played it for five minutes then gave up have no valuable criticisms to share at all. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. If you're looking for an engaging, unique, well-polished take on the world's most famous hedgehog, Sonic and the Black Knight delivers. [Mar 2009, p.88]
  2. 39
    This is a Sonic game that craps all over everything that has ever made the series interesting and then adds pointless waggle.
  3. Mindlessly shaking the remote gets old and the easy missions pose little challenge, but the storybook presentation, well-animated cut scenes and wealth of hidden items make Sonic and the Black Knight worth a rental.