• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 3, 2009
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 154
  2. Negative: 42 out of 154

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, thisThe only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    this is a great game, of course everyone is saying this game sucks, i hate it, it's awful, but you know think of this imagine thats NOT sonic if it wasn't this game would be amazing everyone is saying sonic should go back to his roots but if the game has fun gameplay great graphics and a nice flow then why complain? don't listen to anyone this game is great.
  3. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonic sega lovers
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I agree with "Hynda", this game is AMAZING. There is no reason for bad score: Nice Graphics, nice musics, nice gameplay (yeah, when you learn how to play, it is very good to play! And is easy to learn), nice story (the ending and the plot twist are amazing). The only reason I don´t give a "10" is the main game is too short, in 5 hours you can beat the last boss, but to do 100% youI agree with "Hynda", this game is AMAZING. There is no reason for bad score: Nice Graphics, nice musics, nice gameplay (yeah, when you learn how to play, it is very good to play! And is easy to learn), nice story (the ending and the plot twist are amazing). The only reason I don´t give a "10" is the main game is too short, in 5 hours you can beat the last boss, but to do 100% you need a lot of time. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    this game does not suck, the gameplay is fluent and responsive, jason griffith has really stepped us his game since sonic 06. the graphics are gorgeous are beautiful, not as good as unleashed because of less powerful hardware, the music is just amazing, seriously while i'm writing this review, i am listening to the crush 40 version of with me. i really enjoy the king arthur historythis game does not suck, the gameplay is fluent and responsive, jason griffith has really stepped us his game since sonic 06. the graphics are gorgeous are beautiful, not as good as unleashed because of less powerful hardware, the music is just amazing, seriously while i'm writing this review, i am listening to the crush 40 version of with me. i really enjoy the king arthur history considering that i am british
    so everyone, STOP HATING ON THIS GAME, JUST LIKE SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG, 06, RIDERS, HEROES, YES I LIKE ALL OF THOSE GAMES, HELL I LIKE ALL OF THE SONIC, INCLUDING R, SO COME GET ME IF YOU WANT!
    Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    This game deserves more than it gets. It's SONIC THE HEDGEHOG WITH A SWORD. Explain to me how that concept alone is not awesome. The controls are a little wierd, yeah, but you get used to them pretty soon. Everything else is pretty much a godsend. The music, the level design, the artwork, the story, the voice acting, the loyalty to the Arthurian legend source material, PERFECT. Anyone whoThis game deserves more than it gets. It's SONIC THE HEDGEHOG WITH A SWORD. Explain to me how that concept alone is not awesome. The controls are a little wierd, yeah, but you get used to them pretty soon. Everything else is pretty much a godsend. The music, the level design, the artwork, the story, the voice acting, the loyalty to the Arthurian legend source material, PERFECT. Anyone who says this game is bad without playing it or only played it for five minutes then gave up have no valuable criticisms to share at all. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. If you're looking for an engaging, unique, well-polished take on the world's most famous hedgehog, Sonic and the Black Knight delivers. [Mar 2009, p.88]
  2. 39
    This is a Sonic game that craps all over everything that has ever made the series interesting and then adds pointless waggle.
  3. Mindlessly shaking the remote gets old and the easy missions pose little challenge, but the storybook presentation, well-animated cut scenes and wealth of hidden items make Sonic and the Black Knight worth a rental.