• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the Black Knight is a Wii-exclusive adventure. Part of the storybook series of games that began with Sonic and the Secret Rings, this title brings Sonic into the world of Arthurian legend and offers the world's most famous blue hedgehog the chance to become a knight. Using theSonic and the Black Knight is a Wii-exclusive adventure. Part of the storybook series of games that began with Sonic and the Secret Rings, this title brings Sonic into the world of Arthurian legend and offers the world's most famous blue hedgehog the chance to become a knight. Using the unique Wii control system, this game takes advantage of both the Wii Remote and the Nunchuk to offer an interactive experience that Sonic fans will love. Created by Sonic Team in Japan, this innovative game takes Sonic into a medieval world and arms him with a sword to aid in his effort to save the day. Sonic and the Black Knight hosts an irresistible cast of characters and teaches Sonic fans what it takes to be a true hero and the ultimate knight. With a series of missions set in stunning Arthurian-inspired locations, Sonic and the Black Knight promises a fast-paced adventure. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. There are no nasty surprises, no ill-considered gameplay changes and no sense that Sonic Team is ever confused about what the game is supposed to be. It’s a game that is totally comfortable with itself. And it has every right to be. [Apr 2009, p.106]
  2. In his new adventure the blue hedgehog gain the usual speed very slowly, but when he gathered momentum Sonic and the Black Knight provides despite of all its faults a few hours of nice amusement.
  3. There are enough levels and missions included in the Story mode, and the Battle mode could be fun with friends. However, the game is not very challenging. The dullness and occasional frustration are tough to overcome.
  4. Much like a value supermarket sausage, this is 18% Sonic and 82% sawdust. Avoid it. [May 2009, p.56]
  5. Even if you accept that the Sonic games aren't built for hardcore gamers, that they're now designed to appeal to the mainstream, that's no reason to accept shoddy gameplay. Back in the 90s the Sonic versus Mario debate raged across the planet's playgrounds. Nowadays, there is no argument, and it's because of games like Sonic and the Black Knight.
  6. Sonic finds shallow, frustrating gameplay awaiting him in the legendary realm of King Arthur.
  7. Sonic speeds ever further away from his roots and into one of his most ineptly-designed games so far.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 50
  2. Negative: 17 out of 50
  1. JakeWoloszczuk
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    ignore all the trash talk about this game, it is simply very well made. the layout, graphics, story and controls all work very well. also ifignore all the trash talk about this game, it is simply very well made. the layout, graphics, story and controls all work very well. also if the fact that you play as sonic bothers you then think of it as a knight kind of game, take it for what the game plays like, not for who you play as Expand
  2. KeithP
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    I like Sonic and the Black Knight. I always wondered what Sonic would be like if he had a sword with him. I don't know why people think I like Sonic and the Black Knight. I always wondered what Sonic would be like if he had a sword with him. I don't know why people think it's a horrible game. I guess some people aren't even trying to play the game. Games are supposed to be challenging. You can't say you don't like the game if you haven't even given it a chance. Not all of the new Sonic games have to be similar to the old Sonic games. I'm glad there are some changes to the Sonic games. I don't think Sonic and the Black Knight is horrible at all. Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. OrThe only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    In my honest I'll say this Sonic and the Black Knight is a decent Game in the Sonic Franchise. I consider it better than both Sonic Next GenIn my honest I'll say this Sonic and the Black Knight is a decent Game in the Sonic Franchise. I consider it better than both Sonic Next Gen For the PS3 and 360, Sonic Drift 1 & 2 for the Game Gear, Sonic Labyrinth for the Game Gear, and Sonic's Schoolhouse for the PC. My tip is get Sonic and the Secret Rings or Sonic Colors instead. They are better. Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    ...We find our furry friend in a bit of a yet, another crossover. We take a look into a deep tale of King Arthur and his ''other'' companions....We find our furry friend in a bit of a yet, another crossover. We take a look into a deep tale of King Arthur and his ''other'' companions. Most disturbing controls..it's basically a S&TSR rip-off. The gameplay is just sad...I mean..grinding on a rail with carts coming your way (Molten Mine). Just saaaaaaad. Honestly, I kinda hate this game...I want to give this game away...sadly, I cannot. But...one good thing about this game is that Sonic has a flippin' sword. Well...yeah...we finally get to see some sword-swinging action..oh but, the outline of it all.. Creature blood. But, the other good thing is...you can hit the villagers...so, knock yourself out...and turn down the volume because, the sword will shout at you and ruin your fun. Expand
  6. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    4
    Sonic and the Black Night is nothing more then another storybook ripoff, just with sonic in it makes it the B3S7 7h1ng 3v3r, the story is Sonic and the Black Night is nothing more then another storybook ripoff, just with sonic in it makes it the B3S7 7h1ng 3v3r, the story is like what i just said. Gameplay: all you have to do is run to the end, swing your sword, jump and OMG I BEAT T3H L3V3L. Controls: you move with the Nunchuck and swing with using the wiimote, A is to jump. This would sound fine, if not that to use the sword all you have to do is fling the wiimote. Graphics, Mehh. its ok. Overall: 4 out of 10. Want to know something sad, This is the best next gen sonic game not on handhelds and not a racer that i've played, SEGA, you betrayed sonic fans, i will NEVER buy anything from you again. >:( Expand
  7. lolhaxawdawd
    Mar 5, 2009
    0
    Holy fuck... Words to describe this game fails me. It's slow, controls seem to do whatever the fuck they like most the time and when youHoly fuck... Words to describe this game fails me. It's slow, controls seem to do whatever the fuck they like most the time and when you need to actually do something of any importance, it takes far too fucking long to respond. I'm on the mission "Finish using the Soul Surge on the ground"... Nice and informative mission there... I take it I hit the goal sign with a Soul Surge... But there's an enemy right before it. Attack the enemy and you'll never have enough time to press B to use the special attack. Don't attack the enemy, you have to dodge... Not enough time. Do soul surge on the enemy and across the goal... FAILED. What? You're not telling me what to fucking do! Expand

See all 50 User Reviews