• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the Black Knight is a Wii-exclusive adventure. Part of the storybook series of games that began with Sonic and the Secret Rings, this title brings Sonic into the world of Arthurian legend and offers the world's most famous blue hedgehog the chance to become a knight. Using the unique Wii control system, this game takes advantage of both the Wii Remote and the Nunchuk to offer an interactive experience that Sonic fans will love. Created by Sonic Team in Japan, this innovative game takes Sonic into a medieval world and arms him with a sword to aid in his effort to save the day. Sonic and the Black Knight hosts an irresistible cast of characters and teaches Sonic fans what it takes to be a true hero and the ultimate knight. With a series of missions set in stunning Arthurian-inspired locations, Sonic and the Black Knight promises a fast-paced adventure. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. There are no nasty surprises, no ill-considered gameplay changes and no sense that Sonic Team is ever confused about what the game is supposed to be. It’s a game that is totally comfortable with itself. And it has every right to be. [Apr 2009, p.106]
  2. In his new adventure the blue hedgehog gain the usual speed very slowly, but when he gathered momentum Sonic and the Black Knight provides despite of all its faults a few hours of nice amusement.
  3. There are enough levels and missions included in the Story mode, and the Battle mode could be fun with friends. However, the game is not very challenging. The dullness and occasional frustration are tough to overcome.
  4. Much like a value supermarket sausage, this is 18% Sonic and 82% sawdust. Avoid it. [May 2009, p.56]
  5. Even if you accept that the Sonic games aren't built for hardcore gamers, that they're now designed to appeal to the mainstream, that's no reason to accept shoddy gameplay. Back in the 90s the Sonic versus Mario debate raged across the planet's playgrounds. Nowadays, there is no argument, and it's because of games like Sonic and the Black Knight.
  6. Sonic finds shallow, frustrating gameplay awaiting him in the legendary realm of King Arthur.
  7. Sonic speeds ever further away from his roots and into one of his most ineptly-designed games so far.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 15 out of 48
  1. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonic sega lovers Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This is a game that has been taken the wrong way due to the fact of being quite a bit in terms of its gameplay style to other Sonic titles. If you liked the changes done to sonic in Sonic and the Secret Rings then you should give this title at least a rent and it's also for those looking for a game focused on fast paced action, particularly one that involves a sword. It's not a disaster game as many thought it would be when they heard Sonic was going to have a sword, it's a great title to spent some time with but one that may not last you as long than expected. Collapse
  4. May 8, 2013
    6
    It's a decent game. It excels in it's graphics and soundtrack, The graphics are some of the nicest on the Wii, And the soundtrack is amazing. The gameplay is incredibly flawed. The game uses the Wii remote for the sword. There are so many enemy's it will hurt your wrist. The control in general is not that great. The story is very good for a sonic game though. I would only recommend playing the game only if your a sonic fan Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2010
    5
    This game is a trap. The graphics, music, and overall aesthetics and visual experience is astounding, especially for a Wii game! However, then you actually play the game. The overall game just isn't very fun. There is no depth to the controls, and there are a lot of frustrating parts in the levels to break up the fast paced action. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2010
    4
    I am sad to report that Black knight took almost everything that was fun about Secret Rings and destroyed it completely. There is no point in controlling your character on such a strict linear gameplay path. The story which I will not spoil is Among the worst in the franchise, and possibly the industry. The battles with the other knights are not Cinematic or even exciting, they are more like a wagglefest you have to engage in, lose a couple of times, and then win. Not to mention Knuckles gameplay segments are COMPLETELY broken, I could not complete his origin level more than once because he wouldn't stop attacking when I so much as tilted the directional stick on the NUNCHUK forward.

    The game should be avoided pure and simple, save your money for something else like the upcoming colors.
    Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    Sonic and the Black Night was fun at first, but the levels became annoying after a while, the graphics were in a storybook format that I didn't enjoy, and once I beat the game, i didn't really want to go back and try for higher scores. On the other hand, the swordplay was an intresting aspect and the levels were somewhat satisfying. I would recommend renting this game before buying it, simply because when you complete all the levels, you might very well put the disk back in its case and leave it in a pile of discards, never to be played by you again. Overall not the worst sonic game but a far cry from the best. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews