• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the Black Knight is a Wii-exclusive adventure. Part of the storybook series of games that began with Sonic and the Secret Rings, this title brings Sonic into the world of Arthurian legend and offers the world's most famous blue hedgehog the chance to become a knight. Using the unique Wii control system, this game takes advantage of both the Wii Remote and the Nunchuk to offer an interactive experience that Sonic fans will love. Created by Sonic Team in Japan, this innovative game takes Sonic into a medieval world and arms him with a sword to aid in his effort to save the day. Sonic and the Black Knight hosts an irresistible cast of characters and teaches Sonic fans what it takes to be a true hero and the ultimate knight. With a series of missions set in stunning Arthurian-inspired locations, Sonic and the Black Knight promises a fast-paced adventure. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. There are no nasty surprises, no ill-considered gameplay changes and no sense that Sonic Team is ever confused about what the game is supposed to be. It’s a game that is totally comfortable with itself. And it has every right to be. [Apr 2009, p.106]
  2. In his new adventure the blue hedgehog gain the usual speed very slowly, but when he gathered momentum Sonic and the Black Knight provides despite of all its faults a few hours of nice amusement.
  3. There are enough levels and missions included in the Story mode, and the Battle mode could be fun with friends. However, the game is not very challenging. The dullness and occasional frustration are tough to overcome.
  4. Much like a value supermarket sausage, this is 18% Sonic and 82% sawdust. Avoid it. [May 2009, p.56]
  5. Even if you accept that the Sonic games aren't built for hardcore gamers, that they're now designed to appeal to the mainstream, that's no reason to accept shoddy gameplay. Back in the 90s the Sonic versus Mario debate raged across the planet's playgrounds. Nowadays, there is no argument, and it's because of games like Sonic and the Black Knight.
  6. Sonic finds shallow, frustrating gameplay awaiting him in the legendary realm of King Arthur.
  7. Sonic speeds ever further away from his roots and into one of his most ineptly-designed games so far.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 15 out of 47
  1. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    this is a great game, of course everyone is saying this game sucks, i hate it, it's awful, but you know think of this imagine thats NOT sonic if it wasn't this game would be amazing everyone is saying sonic should go back to his roots but if the game has fun gameplay great graphics and a nice flow then why complain? don't listen to anyone this game is great. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    this game does not suck, the gameplay is fluent and responsive, jason griffith has really stepped us his game since sonic 06. the graphics are gorgeous are beautiful, not as good as unleashed because of less powerful hardware, the music is just amazing, seriously while i'm writing this review, i am listening to the crush 40 version of with me. i really enjoy the king arthur history considering that i am british
    so everyone, STOP HATING ON THIS GAME, JUST LIKE SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG, 06, RIDERS, HEROES, YES I LIKE ALL OF THOSE GAMES, HELL I LIKE ALL OF THE SONIC, INCLUDING R, SO COME GET ME IF YOU WANT!
    Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  4. May 8, 2013
    6
    It's a decent game. It excels in it's graphics and soundtrack, The graphics are some of the nicest on the Wii, And the soundtrack is amazing. The gameplay is incredibly flawed. The game uses the Wii remote for the sword. There are so many enemy's it will hurt your wrist. The control in general is not that great. The story is very good for a sonic game though. I would only recommend playing the game only if your a sonic fan Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    ...We find our furry friend in a bit of a yet, another crossover. We take a look into a deep tale of King Arthur and his ''other'' companions. Most disturbing controls..it's basically a S&TSR rip-off. The gameplay is just sad...I mean..grinding on a rail with carts coming your way (Molten Mine). Just saaaaaaad. Honestly, I kinda hate this game...I want to give this game away...sadly, I cannot. But...one good thing about this game is that Sonic has a flippin' sword. Well...yeah...we finally get to see some sword-swinging action..oh but, the outline of it all.. Creature blood. But, the other good thing is...you can hit the villagers...so, knock yourself out...and turn down the volume because, the sword will shout at you and ruin your fun. Expand
  6. May 20, 2011
    4
    The once-beloved Sonic series continues its mediocrity with another gimmicky and unoriginal game, but worse. Pros: Some of the best graphics ever seen on the Wii; engrossing cutscenes. Cons: No loops, no corkscrews, no originality; poor controls; repetitious enemies; awful mini-games. Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    Sonic and the Black Night was fun at first, but the levels became annoying after a while, the graphics were in a storybook format that I didn't enjoy, and once I beat the game, i didn't really want to go back and try for higher scores. On the other hand, the swordplay was an intresting aspect and the levels were somewhat satisfying. I would recommend renting this game before buying it, simply because when you complete all the levels, you might very well put the disk back in its case and leave it in a pile of discards, never to be played by you again. Overall not the worst sonic game but a far cry from the best. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews