Sonic and the Black Knight Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic and the Black Knight Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 197 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the Black Knight is a Wii-exclusive adventure. Part of the storybook series of games that began with Sonic and the Secret Rings, this title brings Sonic into the world of Arthurian legend and offers the world's most famous blue hedgehog the chance to become a knight. Using theSonic and the Black Knight is a Wii-exclusive adventure. Part of the storybook series of games that began with Sonic and the Secret Rings, this title brings Sonic into the world of Arthurian legend and offers the world's most famous blue hedgehog the chance to become a knight. Using the unique Wii control system, this game takes advantage of both the Wii Remote and the Nunchuk to offer an interactive experience that Sonic fans will love. Created by Sonic Team in Japan, this innovative game takes Sonic into a medieval world and arms him with a sword to aid in his effort to save the day. Sonic and the Black Knight hosts an irresistible cast of characters and teaches Sonic fans what it takes to be a true hero and the ultimate knight. With a series of missions set in stunning Arthurian-inspired locations, Sonic and the Black Knight promises a fast-paced adventure. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    If you're looking for an engaging, unique, well-polished take on the world's most famous hedgehog, Sonic and the Black Knight delivers. [Mar 2009, p.88]
  2. Sonic visits the Camelot's Kingdom in a game with a strange sense of contrast. The power of a sword and the speed of the blue hedgehog are actually incompatible in a product which, however, shows the secret talent of the Sonic Team. Gorgeous visuals and impressive sound shocks in the player due to a poor gameplay.
  3. There are enough levels and missions included in the Story mode, and the Battle mode could be fun with friends. However, the game is not very challenging. The dullness and occasional frustration are tough to overcome.
  4. Nintendo Gamer
    56
    Much like a value supermarket sausage, this is 18% Sonic and 82% sawdust. Avoid it. [May 2009, p.56]
  5. Even if you accept that the Sonic games aren't built for hardcore gamers, that they're now designed to appeal to the mainstream, that's no reason to accept shoddy gameplay. Back in the 90s the Sonic versus Mario debate raged across the planet's playgrounds. Nowadays, there is no argument, and it's because of games like Sonic and the Black Knight.
  6. Sonic finds shallow, frustrating gameplay awaiting him in the legendary realm of King Arthur.
  7. Sonic speeds ever further away from his roots and into one of his most ineptly-designed games so far.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 57
  2. Negative: 17 out of 57
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonici really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonic sega lovers Expand
  2. CodyDupuis
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Of course I give it a ten, who wouldn't? I mean, I miss the old Sonic adventures with the ring collecting and all that, but I mean, lookOf course I give it a ten, who wouldn't? I mean, I miss the old Sonic adventures with the ring collecting and all that, but I mean, look at how amazing it has become. If you ask me, I think Sonic and the Black Knight stepped up the speedy hedgehog's rep Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. OrThe only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  4. JordanB
    Mar 12, 2009
    7
    Sonic and the Black Knight has loads of replay value and feels like a solid, fleshed-out game. Time-attack records to beat, an upgradable Sonic and the Black Knight has loads of replay value and feels like a solid, fleshed-out game. Time-attack records to beat, an upgradable Sonic who gains abilities over time, special Wi-Fi missions that earn you an online ranking, a multiplayer battle mode for goofing off with friends, and enough unlockable bonus content to give you Brawl flashbacks...all aspects of this game seem to cater to OCD gamers that enjoy massive timesinks which they can practice at relentlessly for days, and that makes it more worth a buy than a rental. (It also puts the game years ahead of its predecessor, the comparatively-shallow Sonic Unleashed on the Wii.) Unfortunately, the Wii remote is not a precise enough instrument to live up to the game's applications of it. Black Knight's swordfighting system uses a variety of different techniques that are all activated the same way, by swinging the Wiimote, so it is likely that you will flail your arm around wildly trying to use one particular attack while Sonic decides to do an entirely different one onscreen. (If the developers had delegated some of these attacks to the many unused buttons on the Wiimote and Nunchuck, this particular problem would not exist.) Quick-time events that require expertly-timed Wiimote swings are also next to impossible simply due to the remote's difficulty discerning one swing from another or detecting swings that aren't performed with wrist-snapping force. This makes the game near-impossible to play beyond its midway point when the difficulty curve takes a sharp spike upwards, preventing all but the most dedicated from seeing the true ending. Perhaps with Wii Motion Plus, this game could be more lenient. (Speaking of the midway point; anyone wanting to review this game should play beyond it, as there are quite a few features of the game you cannot access until then and which then become unlocked all at once. It truly is a shame that most reviewers won't do or haven't done this - speaking as someone who has, the game doesn't feel complete without the unlockable features, and any player who misses them won't be witnessing all that Sonic and the Black Knight has to offer.) Graphics are lush and detailed, with a surprising amount of quality for a Wii game not made by Nintendo. Blur effects are abundant and help the game feel faster during times when it actually isn't. Cutscenes are done in a storyboard style, and their art is reminiscent of a storybook; colors rarely stay within their lines and fluctuate like rippling liquids. The music is an excellent mixture of Crush 40-brand rock with more traditional Celtic themes; you may find a familiar character theme or two be re-arranged with orchestral instruments. As for the gameplay itself, the game's occasional platforming segments can be frustrating due to Sonic's inability to strafe and his reluctance to turn around and run backwards (all levels are "on-rails"), which can be considered a step back from the more free-roaming Daytime segments in Sonic Unleashed. Sonic's Soul Gauge/Tension Meter/Energy Gauge/Whatever You Want To Call It is a familiar gameplay element that has appeared in every major Sonic game since Sonic Heroes and allows the hedgehog to perform supernatural feats when it is filled up. In this game, it lets Sonic target enemies in sequence and fly between them using his Homing Attack, defeating them with a single sword slash each. Well-timed slashes prevent the meter from dropping quickly during its use, allowing Sonic to chain together long combos of attacks. The level-up system from Sonic and the Secret Rings also returns, allowing our blue hedgehog to accumulate a list of gameplay-enhancing abilities over time, but the abilities are granted automatically now and cannot be chosen at will by the player; even worse, it is now impossible to turn off these abilities once they are gained. The game tries to compensate for this lack of customization by providing three â??Swordfighting Stylesâ? Expand
  5. jordans.l
    Apr 5, 2009
    6
    hi i was very excited for sonic and the black knight to come out. i got it on the first day it came out and tryed it out the storylinehi i was very excited for sonic and the black knight to come out. i got it on the first day it came out and tryed it out the storyline and missions are really easy i compleated it in no less than 2 hours all missions compleate and so on i wouldn't recomend buying it Expand
  6. May 14, 2011
    4
    Even more gimmicky than Sonic Unleashed, but even more unoriginal. Pros: Excellent production value, including beautiful graphics, cutscenes,Even more gimmicky than Sonic Unleashed, but even more unoriginal. Pros: Excellent production value, including beautiful graphics, cutscenes, and level designs. Cons: Boring and repetitious gameplay that lacks any kind of speed or originality; often quirky control and camera; imbalanced battle arena mode. Expand
  7. lolhaxawdawd
    Mar 5, 2009
    0
    Holy fuck... Words to describe this game fails me. It's slow, controls seem to do whatever the fuck they like most the time and when youHoly fuck... Words to describe this game fails me. It's slow, controls seem to do whatever the fuck they like most the time and when you need to actually do something of any importance, it takes far too fucking long to respond. I'm on the mission "Finish using the Soul Surge on the ground"... Nice and informative mission there... I take it I hit the goal sign with a Soul Surge... But there's an enemy right before it. Attack the enemy and you'll never have enough time to press B to use the special attack. Don't attack the enemy, you have to dodge... Not enough time. Do soul surge on the enemy and across the goal... FAILED. What? You're not telling me what to fucking do! Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#3 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009