Sonic and the Black Knight Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic and the Black Knight Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the Black Knight is a Wii-exclusive adventure. Part of the storybook series of games that began with Sonic and the Secret Rings, this title brings Sonic into the world of Arthurian legend and offers the world's most famous blue hedgehog the chance to become a knight. Using theSonic and the Black Knight is a Wii-exclusive adventure. Part of the storybook series of games that began with Sonic and the Secret Rings, this title brings Sonic into the world of Arthurian legend and offers the world's most famous blue hedgehog the chance to become a knight. Using the unique Wii control system, this game takes advantage of both the Wii Remote and the Nunchuk to offer an interactive experience that Sonic fans will love. Created by Sonic Team in Japan, this innovative game takes Sonic into a medieval world and arms him with a sword to aid in his effort to save the day. Sonic and the Black Knight hosts an irresistible cast of characters and teaches Sonic fans what it takes to be a true hero and the ultimate knight. With a series of missions set in stunning Arthurian-inspired locations, Sonic and the Black Knight promises a fast-paced adventure. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    If you're looking for an engaging, unique, well-polished take on the world's most famous hedgehog, Sonic and the Black Knight delivers. [Mar 2009, p.88]
  2. Sonic visits the Camelot's Kingdom in a game with a strange sense of contrast. The power of a sword and the speed of the blue hedgehog are actually incompatible in a product which, however, shows the secret talent of the Sonic Team. Gorgeous visuals and impressive sound shocks in the player due to a poor gameplay.
  3. There are enough levels and missions included in the Story mode, and the Battle mode could be fun with friends. However, the game is not very challenging. The dullness and occasional frustration are tough to overcome.
  4. Nintendo Gamer
    56
    Much like a value supermarket sausage, this is 18% Sonic and 82% sawdust. Avoid it. [May 2009, p.56]
  5. Even if you accept that the Sonic games aren't built for hardcore gamers, that they're now designed to appeal to the mainstream, that's no reason to accept shoddy gameplay. Back in the 90s the Sonic versus Mario debate raged across the planet's playgrounds. Nowadays, there is no argument, and it's because of games like Sonic and the Black Knight.
  6. Sonic finds shallow, frustrating gameplay awaiting him in the legendary realm of King Arthur.
  7. Sonic speeds ever further away from his roots and into one of his most ineptly-designed games so far.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 59
  2. Negative: 17 out of 59
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonici really enjoyed this game. i love playing it. but some tasks are hard and pointless. other wise i loved it. i recomend this game to all sonic sega lovers Expand
  2. CodyDupuis
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Of course I give it a ten, who wouldn't? I mean, I miss the old Sonic adventures with the ring collecting and all that, but I mean, lookOf course I give it a ten, who wouldn't? I mean, I miss the old Sonic adventures with the ring collecting and all that, but I mean, look at how amazing it has become. If you ask me, I think Sonic and the Black Knight stepped up the speedy hedgehog's rep Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. OrThe only reason this game got a bad score its because its main character is sonic, imagine for a second this game main character is Kratos. Or lets say... Solid Snake. It would get tons of high scores everywhere, that is what have become of our industry, creative and unique games are seen as garbage because all this industry wants is graphics and gore, this game is more than that, this game gots magic, speed, and yes, Knights. The graphics of this game are very well if you consider its a wii game, the gameplay is intuitive, you always feel like if you was a hedgehog with a sword in your hand. Also the battles agaisnt Knuckles and Shadows are the best battles in videogame history. There are people who says Uncharted 2 got the most epic moments in any videogame ever, but they are all casual gamers who just started playing this console generation, I am a veteran, and I can tell you, this game is pure gameplay, this game is more deep than any Gears of war or God of War or any Gay war thing. So I give it a high score of course. Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    Sonic and the black knight was a game I went into cautiously knowing full well of it's mixed reviews. However I was pleasantly surprised as ISonic and the black knight was a game I went into cautiously knowing full well of it's mixed reviews. However I was pleasantly surprised as I found the game to be an enjoyable sonic game. The main problem is the swordplay, but I didn't find it nearly as annoying as most reviewers. It did slow the game a little and introduce annoying waggle controls but it's alot better than guns in shadow the hedgehog. The environments are extremely memorable and different from other sonic games. The other playable characters are alright and not required except for 3 levels. The actual gameplay in my opinion is better than shadow the hedgehog and sonic heroes and the game is worth a shot if your a fan. Expand
  5. MattW
    Jul 6, 2009
    6
    To josiah h: I agree that many people do buy sonic games for the feeling of nostalgia. However, sonic games are made with anything but low To josiah h: I agree that many people do buy sonic games for the feeling of nostalgia. However, sonic games are made with anything but low budgets. The graphics for this game are some of the best to date, and the CGI films are just enticing. Not only in this game but in other sonic games like unleashed as well. Though Sonic may be getting battered with gimmick after gimmick of unnecessary gameplay, I'm looking at you werehog, the production values are quite high. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2010
    4
    I am sad to report that Black knight took almost everything that was fun about Secret Rings and destroyed it completely. There is no point inI am sad to report that Black knight took almost everything that was fun about Secret Rings and destroyed it completely. There is no point in controlling your character on such a strict linear gameplay path. The story which I will not spoil is Among the worst in the franchise, and possibly the industry. The battles with the other knights are not Cinematic or even exciting, they are more like a wagglefest you have to engage in, lose a couple of times, and then win. Not to mention Knuckles gameplay segments are COMPLETELY broken, I could not complete his origin level more than once because he wouldn't stop attacking when I so much as tilted the directional stick on the NUNCHUK forward.

    The game should be avoided pure and simple, save your money for something else like the upcoming colors.
    Expand
  7. lolhaxawdawd
    Mar 5, 2009
    0
    Holy fuck... Words to describe this game fails me. It's slow, controls seem to do whatever the fuck they like most the time and when youHoly fuck... Words to describe this game fails me. It's slow, controls seem to do whatever the fuck they like most the time and when you need to actually do something of any importance, it takes far too fucking long to respond. I'm on the mission "Finish using the Soul Surge on the ground"... Nice and informative mission there... I take it I hit the goal sign with a Soul Surge... But there's an enemy right before it. Attack the enemy and you'll never have enough time to press B to use the special attack. Don't attack the enemy, you have to dodge... Not enough time. Do soul surge on the enemy and across the goal... FAILED. What? You're not telling me what to fucking do! Collapse

See all 59 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#3 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009