Sonic and the Secret Rings Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2007
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
Buy On
  1. 69
    Sonic and the Secret Rings offers moments of greatness where I find myself caught up in the intensity of the experience and, oppositely, moments where I want to pull my hair out or throw the Wii remote down because of imprecise control or insulting design choices.
  2. The control scheme is poor. While it “works” on a basic level, steering Sonic through levels like an Excite Truck vehicle while flicking the remote to attack enemies is, more often than not, a mess.
  3. The camera system remains unchanged and continues to show the action from the same focal point, even as you have to attempt to guide Sonic backwards. This becomes increasingly difficult and frustrating.
  4. 60
    One of the first fun Sonic experiences in some time. The overall experience of navigating through Sonic and the Secret Rings doesn't manage to bring the series back to glory, but at least it gives it some life.
  5. games(TM)
    70
    Despite the backtracking issues, Secret Rings remains an altogether more satisfying platform game than many of its peers. [Apr 2007, p.116]
  6. Edge Magazine
    50
    There’s a fine-line between rote-learning frustration and seat-of-the-pants glee in on-rails arcade games, and Secret Rings wobbles either side of it perceptibly, but seldom stays on the wrong side for too long. [Apr 2007, p.81]
  7. For every good moment there's a handful of annoying ones, with everything from the Wii-mote controls to the game structure causing problems at some point or another.
  8. Play Magazine
    70
    It's time to either do the right thing or say goodbye. [Apr 2007, p.43]
  9. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    65
    While Secret Rings does a decent job at stopping the bleeding caused by the recent 360/PS3/PSP Sonics, it's not quite there yet. [Apr 2007, p.76]
  10. Using the Wii remote just feels natural, too, and although it's not a monumental success, this is a Sonic console game you can feel proud to own. It's been a while since we could make that statement.
  11. The missions provide plenty of challenge with a steep learning curve and little forgiveness. Even the multiplayer provides a decent demonstration of what the WiiMote can do. The only truly awful aspects come with the horrendously crafted controls and camera.
  12. Where Secret Rings really falls apart is in level design. Replicating the main mistake of Shadow the Hedgehog, Sonic Team has put too many obstacles in the way of Sonic as he attempts to zoom through a level at high speed.
  13. We really do believe it’s a step in the right direction for the much-maligned franchise, and contains a lot of elements that feel like real ‘Sonic’ moments. However, it proves to be as frustrating as it is fun, with several flaws that interfere with one’s enjoyment of the game.
  14. Sega delivers inaccurate Wii controls, ridiculous objectives and a bad guy named Erazor. On top of that, it somehow screws up fixed camera angles while attempting to convince the gaming public that a group of rampaging triceratops runs faster than Sonic.
  15. 70
    With a variety of missions and many distinct worlds, Secret Rings provides the fairly solid Sonic game for which fans have been clamoring.
  16. It uses the Wii’s main advantage, the controller, to decent effect – there needs to be a good bit of tightening up Sonic’s response, though.
  17. Because of their speedy nature, Sonic games really necessitate fresh surroundings, and especially in an on-rails game, different locales help to give the feeling that you’re actually progressing. Unfortunately, because of that these forced challenge levels work against the game, and that’s a shame, because otherwise Sonic and the Secret Rings may have very well been that comeback game Sonic has desperately needed.
  18. The control scheme could be improved upon, but as it stands, the motions are fairly intuitive and you won’t have a major problem with steering sensitivity.
  19. A few dozen mediocre party games let up to four friends compete in unimaginative tasks such as paddling boats or shooting balloons but add little depth to the package.

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#55 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 67
  2. Negative: 22 out of 67
  1. Christa
    Oct 12, 2007
    2
    I couldn't play this for more than an hour before I had to beg blockbuster to take it back, pretending it was damaged. It's so monotonous.
  2. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    7
    It's critical score is 69. That's a great start....
    Well, this game is good, not great, but good. We've got a very long campaign, with a good
    It's critical score is 69. That's a great start....
    Well, this game is good, not great, but good. We've got a very long campaign, with a good story, the presentation is sweet, and the gameplay worked very well. But of course, every good thing MUST have it's haters, for the sake of hating. Ugh.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    5
    Decent, but weird plot. The level design is good, but that's where the appeal stops. While playing it, at first I enjoyed it. However, itsDecent, but weird plot. The level design is good, but that's where the appeal stops. While playing it, at first I enjoyed it. However, its when I put my controller down and the game kept on going when I realized the game plays itself. The multiplayer mode is like Mario Party's unsuccessful brother. Full Review »