Sonic and the Secret Rings Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2007
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 165
  2. Negative: 41 out of 165
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TommyH.
    Dec 8, 2007
    6
    The gameplay is OK, but there's a problem that the story doesn't show "the real sonic adventure" for the Sonic fans.
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    7
    Meh...this game has it's ups and downs. The gameplay makes sense, but again, another look into a crossover. Aladdin and the Arabian Nights..yep...Sega went there. Well...no matter...the perspective of it seems great and all...but...ehhhhh. You find yourself constantly dying, but keep trying T: Nonetheless...let's get to the point...the controls...OH GOSH, THE CONTROLS...they burn my eyes.Meh...this game has it's ups and downs. The gameplay makes sense, but again, another look into a crossover. Aladdin and the Arabian Nights..yep...Sega went there. Well...no matter...the perspective of it seems great and all...but...ehhhhh. You find yourself constantly dying, but keep trying T: Nonetheless...let's get to the point...the controls...OH GOSH, THE CONTROLS...they burn my eyes. One little nudge and you go so fast, you can't stop. It's basically like a Sonic Adventure game. It's no Sonic 06, but I'll take this game over that. Still...in my thoughts, a good game.. Expand
  3. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    7
    It's critical score is 69. That's a great start....
    Well, this game is good, not great, but good. We've got a very long campaign, with a good story, the presentation is sweet, and the gameplay worked very well. But of course, every good thing MUST have it's haters, for the sake of hating. Ugh.
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    5
    Decent, but weird plot. The level design is good, but that's where the appeal stops. While playing it, at first I enjoyed it. However, its when I put my controller down and the game kept on going when I realized the game plays itself. The multiplayer mode is like Mario Party's unsuccessful brother.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    5
    While it works on some degree, this is still a frustrating mess that only the most forgiving Sonic fan could have fun with, before I get to the bad of this game, I'll start with the few good things that this game has, there are some fun missions in the story mode, the graphics are decent, some of the mini games are fun and actually work, and the controls work some times, but the bad farWhile it works on some degree, this is still a frustrating mess that only the most forgiving Sonic fan could have fun with, before I get to the bad of this game, I'll start with the few good things that this game has, there are some fun missions in the story mode, the graphics are decent, some of the mini games are fun and actually work, and the controls work some times, but the bad far out ways the good, most of the story mode is a frustrating mess do to poor design choices and the controls which don't always work, and some of the mini games aren't fun and don't work like they should do to the controls, and the story is stupid and unenjoyable, honestly I can't recommend this to anyone other than die hard Sonic fans. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    5
    If I had to change my opinion on this game, I'd say it a few words: It is trash. The end. If you're looking for a good Sonic Platformer, Try out either the Sonic Adventure Series, Sonic Colors or Generations. Heck even Shadow the Hedgehog is a much better game than this!
  7. Oct 6, 2013
    5
    really bad controls but i got used to it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ya
  8. Feb 19, 2014
    5
    I've played all of the sonic games and I say this game deserves to be in the dark age of sonic. I'm giving a deserving rating trhat this game isn't a bad sonic game. but its hell not a good one, If i rank sonic the hedgehog 06 at a 1 and sonic adventure 2 or battle a 10 this deserves a 5 its the inbetween of a bad game and an ok game. its a solid entry but not good enough to spark my interest
  9. JamesH.
    Mar 5, 2007
    6
    Gameplay wise, its on to something, but as an individual who hasn't played a sonic game since the genesis I've come to find how much sonic has changed for the worse. More enjoyable with the sound off unless your still of the "Saturday morning cartoon" age. Maybe I missed something but does every Wii game have to have difficult controls? The worse part is that the controls Gameplay wise, its on to something, but as an individual who hasn't played a sonic game since the genesis I've come to find how much sonic has changed for the worse. More enjoyable with the sound off unless your still of the "Saturday morning cartoon" age. Maybe I missed something but does every Wii game have to have difficult controls? The worse part is that the controls aren't even interesting, they could easily be implemented on a normal controller. Why is backing up so hard for you sonic? If your over 15, your probably too old for this game. Nintendo really should try make their games more bearable for the "hit puberty and older" crowd. Expand
  10. SamP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    5
    The idea and graphics were good. The execution wasn't. You feel as if you have no control over what you do. The controls are bad and unresponsive, and it's another game made that's too easy to appeal to children.
  11. VinceS.
    Feb 24, 2007
    6
    Overall a great game. The story is pretty good (especially for a Sonic game), the levels are cool, and the different skill combinations is a really nice addition. However, I've docked a few points because of how frustrating the controls can be time and time again.
  12. MaxG.
    Mar 15, 2007
    5
    I was so excited to discover that Sonic had appeared on the Wii that I didn't bother reading any reviews before I bought it. I really wish I had. While it retains the fast and furious level-racing that we all love about the franchise, a horribly annoying story and soundtrack ruin it. On top of that, you are returned to the menu screen after every level, which really detracts from I was so excited to discover that Sonic had appeared on the Wii that I didn't bother reading any reviews before I bought it. I really wish I had. While it retains the fast and furious level-racing that we all love about the franchise, a horribly annoying story and soundtrack ruin it. On top of that, you are returned to the menu screen after every level, which really detracts from gameplay, and the levels are built from the same pieces so you feel like you are racing through the same boring tracks the whole time. The multiplayer is so terrible I won't let my friends suggest it when we're playing on my Wii. I am going to trade it in for Rayman. Expand
  13. DustinB.
    Apr 6, 2007
    7
    When it's good it's very good, and when it's bad you may want to snap the disk in half. There are moments and levels where you're racing through at breakneck speed bouncing of enemies and bumbers and it's a blast. Then there will be the levels where you're spending all your time walking backwards and fighting to the controls. Many of the levels are FAR to When it's good it's very good, and when it's bad you may want to snap the disk in half. There are moments and levels where you're racing through at breakneck speed bouncing of enemies and bumbers and it's a blast. Then there will be the levels where you're spending all your time walking backwards and fighting to the controls. Many of the levels are FAR to unforgiving, one tiny misstep and you've lost. It seems that some of the level designers didn't know what game they were making. Still, if you give the game a chance and power through some of the awful bits, there's a lot of fun to be had. It is a deeply flawed game, but also one with a lot of potential. Expand
  14. JoelF.
    Feb 22, 2007
    5
    Poor level design, janky controls, keep this game from being all that was promised. In the end, this game shows once and for all that Sonic was never meant to be in 3D.
  15. RobG.
    Mar 10, 2007
    5
    This game creates moments of elation, like using Speed break to rush through a level, but also far too many moments of despair. The camera is dismal and the artsy angles and inability to manually change lead you to tear your hair out, especially when you need to go back wards. The levels are unrewarding, with little imagination; Try repeating the same level 10 times because you don't This game creates moments of elation, like using Speed break to rush through a level, but also far too many moments of despair. The camera is dismal and the artsy angles and inability to manually change lead you to tear your hair out, especially when you need to go back wards. The levels are unrewarding, with little imagination; Try repeating the same level 10 times because you don't know where to go. Controlling Sonic is also a nightmare too. To reverse you need to tilt the Wiimote on its back, which leaves all the buttons out of reach. Definitely try before you buy. Expand
  16. SteveM.
    Mar 31, 2007
    5
    Sonic is ok. The story is poorly written, the controls are ok. The graphics are the best yet seen on the Wii. The mini games are mediocre. The worst part of the whole game is the fact it's an 80's on rails game updated. In this day and age I would have expected Sonic to be free roaming. Think on developers! I would rent this game only.
  17. KevinG.
    Mar 7, 2007
    6
    Sonic needs to veer away from the "total 3-D" environment he's gotten dropped into and revert to what he does best: blazingly fast, side-scrolling action. The Secret Rings improves upon what has been done before on next-gen systems, but there's not enough refinement. It's just too hard to have speed and control when the camera is behind Sonic. Sonic hasn't been able to Sonic needs to veer away from the "total 3-D" environment he's gotten dropped into and revert to what he does best: blazingly fast, side-scrolling action. The Secret Rings improves upon what has been done before on next-gen systems, but there's not enough refinement. It's just too hard to have speed and control when the camera is behind Sonic. Sonic hasn't been able to move in all directions without the player losing track of where he/she is. Secret Rings tries to repair this problem by preventing you from turning around and keeping you on a track. The track thing I'm ok with, but WTF about not being able to turn around?! Especially when you fly past stuff you need! If that happens, you need to literally put the hedgehog in reverse and hope that you don't walk or jump into something. It's annoying, and it slows the game to a crawl. Sonic, go back to 2-D. SOON. Expand
  18. joes
    Oct 5, 2009
    7
    horrible story but what i like about this game is it's so cheesy that it's so FUNNY! the game is easy and that makes it a little fun.
  19. JamesH
    Nov 18, 2007
    5
    Wow, where do I begin. I own and love every other 3-d sonic game invented so far, but this one seems like just another attempt to include the wii's "innovative" control design into an already loved game that results in failure. Even the story is no good. During the opening cut scene I pretty much sat there with my mouth wishing it would end. And also, half the levels don'tWow, where do I begin. I own and love every other 3-d sonic game invented so far, but this one seems like just another attempt to include the wii's "innovative" control design into an already loved game that results in failure. Even the story is no good. During the opening cut scene I pretty much sat there with my mouth wishing it would end. And also, half the levels don't even pertain to the stupid story! Why do I have to go back through the same level and break 5 jars? and more importantly why do I have to go back through the level AGAIN but this time without breaking any jars??? Controls are clunky, and personally when I play wii games with the wii remote held sideways I usually hold facing towards me slightly, so in this game half the time I'm going backwards. Bottom line: 2 hours in, I quit playing and went and did my pre-calc homework. The one thing I do admire is the visuals, and it does occupy your time if you're bored. Expand
  20. ClayA.
    Feb 26, 2007
    7
    Sonic and the Secret Rings has yet again served little more than to disappoint. The cons of the game? Most importantly, there are factors that seem to continually hinder the main selling point of the game - the speed. The entire catylitic concept of the whole Sonic series is the speed. I find it frustrating that I have too little control over it, and its almost impossible to maintain a Sonic and the Secret Rings has yet again served little more than to disappoint. The cons of the game? Most importantly, there are factors that seem to continually hinder the main selling point of the game - the speed. The entire catylitic concept of the whole Sonic series is the speed. I find it frustrating that I have too little control over it, and its almost impossible to maintain a consistent, ever-increasing speed throughout a given stage. Add that to the minimal interaction and linear gameplay of the Adventure mode, throw in the repetitive, sometimes boring maps that get old quickly... and you have a tough recipe to make a great game out of. The pros of Sonic & TSR are by far the music, graphics and innovation. The gameplay can be a bit clunky at times, but the controls are fun. Great graphics for the most part, as comparable to the rest of the Sonic series. The music was a surprise as well, making it a fresh highlight. Those elements intertwined well with the unique level designs, and made it more interesting. All in all, a cool game to check out, but readily forgettable. Its only saving grace are the many minigames and unlockables, which may boost the replay value and offer a bit of a respite from the main mode's repetition and frustration. Expand
  21. JustinG.
    Mar 11, 2007
    7
    Ok, first thing you should do is go read IGN's review cause they hit it dead on the head. This game looks good, has a good idea with game play, and is really amazing when it works. However, when it doesn't work, you feel like punching whoever designed the game. When you start out Sonic plays horrible. The learning curve for the controls is hard and even when you get good at it, Ok, first thing you should do is go read IGN's review cause they hit it dead on the head. This game looks good, has a good idea with game play, and is really amazing when it works. However, when it doesn't work, you feel like punching whoever designed the game. When you start out Sonic plays horrible. The learning curve for the controls is hard and even when you get good at it, you will often be thwarted by the developers stupidity. For instance, you will be racing. Then suddenly Sonic is locked into a room and forced to fight enemies which he has already passed by. Does sonic turn around and race back to deal with them...no, instead sonic has to backstep alllllll the way back (without a camera change so you can see what he's backstepping towards mind you) Provided that your lucky and don't back up into an enemy with a sword, then you can kill your enemies and proceed. This is probably the one major flaw of the game - you will find in some places the developers didn't either polish the camera angles up or make the controls actually intuitive. I felt writing a letter to the developers cause sometimes I was so angered by what an AMAZING game they could have had. Instead they get an often enjoyable one that is more than occasionally frustrating. This game reeks of "omg, we're spending too much money on this game. Lets just finish it up for deadline and see if we get enough money to make a better sequel" - that said, if there is a predecessor (where they actually polish it up and take some pride in thier product) then I am SO going to buy that game. Cause although it was annoying, when this game is working, it is one addictive game. Expand
  22. MaxM.
    Apr 29, 2007
    6
    Good game but the start is too slow and boring, does get better towards the end but there are better games out there.
  23. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When nintendo anouced the wii, SEGA made one of the most underrated sonic games ever, Sonic And the secret rings. I really enjoyed this game In fact I read a bunch of reviews before buying it and saw some people comparing it to sonic 06, REALLY? anyway, let's get to the game, first off the story, this game is not your average sonic game instead of being in the regular sonic universe sonic is in an Arabian knights based setting, this game started what was known as the sonic storybook series which were two storybook based games on the wii. All of the characters like tails, knuckles, eggman, etc, are Arabian knights lookalikes and are referred to as names of characters from the legendary story. this is a sonic game where eggman is not the villain, the villian is an evil genie named Erazer who wants to erase the Arabian knights world forever. I really like this story and think that it's a great spinoff for the sonic series, this game is about as simular to sonic games, as super mario sunshine is to mario games, it's a completely new environment and the only thing remaining from the series are rings, that's it. Now moving on to the gamplay, This game uses the wii remote sideways and you tilt the wii remote left and right to steer sonic, it's like playing a racing game on the wii with just the wii remote. you jump by pressing the 2 button, and do a homing attack by thrusting the wii remote forward. yes I admit that these are not the best controls in any sonic game ever, but they are at least decent and fully playable. This game has some of the best level design in a sonic game, levels like sand oasis, and levitated ruin are all great, the graphics are some of the best on the wii and this was the best looking game on the wii at the time of it's release. and the music is great, I love seven rings in hand It's one of my favorite songs in a sonic game. now here's some things that I don't like in the game, sometimes it can get really frustrating, I mean one mission in pirate storm took me over 3 days to complete with about 80 attempts, And I really did not like that mission at all. and you don't just play stages like in the other sonic games, there are about 10 missions and you have to complete about 7 of them before you can unlock the next world, The first mission is run to the goal like a basic sonic stage, but after that, their will be some frustrating and horrible missions where you have to make it to the goal without defeating any enemies, or don't break any jars, or defeat a set number of enemies. And then there are the bosses which are okay, they're basic bosses in 3d sonic games, you just hit the weak spot a couple of times then you're done. and then there's party mode, it's basically a Mario party game but with sonic characters in it, it's like sonic shuffle all over again, only this time it was fun, yes it's not as good as the mario party series, but it's very close. Sonic and the secret rings is one of my favorite sonic games, and one of the most underrated sonic games ever, just because it came after sonic 06 doesn't mean that it's anything like sonic 06. I highly recommend this to all sonic fans. Expand
  24. May 7, 2015
    5
    This one is... Interesting! The unusual controls are something that can be adapted too with enough time, even if I feel this is an over-emphasis on this motion controls. Being on the rails in a platformer has worked in the past, and could've worked here, what's the problem? 1. Making me backtrack to continue in a stage where moving backwards is a trial, and the camera doesn't turn aroundThis one is... Interesting! The unusual controls are something that can be adapted too with enough time, even if I feel this is an over-emphasis on this motion controls. Being on the rails in a platformer has worked in the past, and could've worked here, what's the problem? 1. Making me backtrack to continue in a stage where moving backwards is a trial, and the camera doesn't turn around so I'm constantly running into things I couldn't have possibly seen coming. 2. Trapping me in tiny rooms where I must homing attack annoying enemies to leave, and all Sonic wants to do is run into the wall, if Sonic controlled more like the usual 3D Sonic game with a bit of motion control here and there, than this game would be much more fun, but as it can get extremely frustrating in the later levels, I won't be coming back in a hurry. Great Visuals and Soundtrack though. Expand
  25. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    Yes this may not be a classic sonic game, but it is very enjoyable and you really should play it if you like sonic game. I really enjoy this game, but there are a few missions that can be a little boring like the dinosuar mission. This also may sound weird but use a wii wheel. Trust me it is MUCH better.
  26. Mar 10, 2016
    7
    A well made Sonic game with great level design, responsive controls, and plausible presentation that is sadly gimped by terrible progression, tedious missions, and an onslaught of bland boss fights. Still, it's worth checking out if you can brave the inconsistent storms of near game-breaking design choices.
  27. Feb 21, 2013
    0
    this game is ok, but i personally do not like it. I dont like the controls, as well as i dont generally care for the way the game is designed. I definitely wouldnt call this a bad sonic game, I would probobly give it a 7/10 as a game, but i personaly did not enjoy this game. i liked the level up concept, alot actually. And the graphics and music were pretty good as well. But i really dontthis game is ok, but i personally do not like it. I dont like the controls, as well as i dont generally care for the way the game is designed. I definitely wouldnt call this a bad sonic game, I would probobly give it a 7/10 as a game, but i personaly did not enjoy this game. i liked the level up concept, alot actually. And the graphics and music were pretty good as well. But i really dont care for the on rail mechanic, as well as the controls. if this game had controls similair to sonic and the black knight (you know, minus the swordplay) i think this game would actually be decent. but the controls are too akward and unresponive. Not a bad game, but one of my personal least favorite sonic games. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#56 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. An encouraging sign that good Sonic games can still be made. I had a tremendous time exploring the different stages and the skill points add a bit of depth to an otherwise straightforward game.
  2. 75
    Although Sega deserves praise for Secret Rings' innovative single-player adventure, the less said about the four-player party mode, the better. It's another low-budget "Mario Party" rip-off that stretches out a few weak gameplay concepts into multiple multiplayer contests.
  3. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    81
    By no means perfect, but it's still a fantastic game that finally gives the blue blazer the sort of fast-paced, slick action he deserves. It's tricky to master but once you do it really shines. [Mar 2007, p.62]