• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2007
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 150
  2. Negative: 36 out of 150

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    Has a sonic lover, I thought the game in general was a nice fun spin off experience of the blue hedgehog. Yet, it never convinces you that this is the best gameplay for a sonic game, the sonic adventure formula remains being the better formula. This is mainly because the controls are not always responsive, that occasionally you will fail a stage because of the controls, not because youHas a sonic lover, I thought the game in general was a nice fun spin off experience of the blue hedgehog. Yet, it never convinces you that this is the best gameplay for a sonic game, the sonic adventure formula remains being the better formula. This is mainly because the controls are not always responsive, that occasionally you will fail a stage because of the controls, not because you were doing things wrong. Yet, it's still playable and it offers great opportunity to start very close to where you fall. It's definitely fast at times, and its definitely a thrilling ride all the way through that sonic fans should check out. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    5
    While it works on some degree, this is still a frustrating mess that only the most forgiving Sonic fan could have fun with, before I get to the bad of this game, I'll start with the few good things that this game has, there are some fun missions in the story mode, the graphics are decent, some of the mini games are fun and actually work, and the controls work some times, but the bad farWhile it works on some degree, this is still a frustrating mess that only the most forgiving Sonic fan could have fun with, before I get to the bad of this game, I'll start with the few good things that this game has, there are some fun missions in the story mode, the graphics are decent, some of the mini games are fun and actually work, and the controls work some times, but the bad far out ways the good, most of the story mode is a frustrating mess do to poor design choices and the controls which don't always work, and some of the mini games aren't fun and don't work like they should do to the controls, and the story is stupid and unenjoyable, honestly I can't recommend this to anyone other than die hard Sonic fans. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    4
    History is really no big deal. Not terrible, but more bad than good. Gameplay is bad compared to other good Sonic games. It's quite repetitive and boring. If the game had cutscenes, it would be a little bit more involving, but no, they decided to make it with pictures, and that sucks. Resuming: The game has a bad history, it's quite repetitive and not involving.
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    Most unplayable glitchy failure of a sonic game. I can't stand the controls. Graphically it looks horrible, and the physics don't work... Oh yeah, and its something that would've been made 10 years ago. Another disaster from sega. What a pity.
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    This game is great. Sure the controls aren't that responsive but it is a brilliant game. The first exclusive Sonic game for the wii has paid off and has put sonic back to his roots. The game has many missions and stages. The game also has storybook cutscenes and CGI cutscenes too. Sonic and the Secret rings also has an RPG element to it which works quite well. This game will keep youThis game is great. Sure the controls aren't that responsive but it is a brilliant game. The first exclusive Sonic game for the wii has paid off and has put sonic back to his roots. The game has many missions and stages. The game also has storybook cutscenes and CGI cutscenes too. Sonic and the Secret rings also has an RPG element to it which works quite well. This game will keep you playing for hours on end for it's missions, stages and the multiplayer which is all-right.The Soundtrack is very good and has a rock style to it which Sonic will love. Overall: Sonic and the Secret Rings is worth getting if your a sonic fan but it you don't like using the wii remote you won't like the game.A brilliant Package. Gameplay:7.5/10 Music:8.5/10 Graphics:8.5/10 Story:9/10 Replay Value:8.5/10 Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    4
    THE GOOD: The soundtrack is fantastic. Some level designs look great. The mini-games are fun, have different modes, and actually make good use of the motion controls.

    THE BAD: The Main story mode is not very fun. The motion controls are unreponsive and awkward. The story is meh. The villain is forgettable. The mini-games are more enjoyable than the actual story mode. Very linear
    THE GOOD: The soundtrack is fantastic. Some level designs look great. The mini-games are fun, have different modes, and actually make good use of the motion controls.

    THE BAD: The Main story mode is not very fun. The motion controls are unreponsive and awkward. The story is meh. The villain is forgettable. The mini-games are more enjoyable than the actual story mode. Very linear gameplay. It feels like the game plays itself.

    One of the worst Sonic games I have ever played. Not recommended. Skip it.
    Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2014
    5
    Decent, but weird plot. The level design is good, but that's where the appeal stops. While playing it, at first I enjoyed it. However, its when I put my controller down and the game kept on going when I realized the game plays itself. The multiplayer mode is like Mario Party's unsuccessful brother.
  8. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    By Far my favorite sonic game this generation, it took many aspects of SEGA as a whole to create a wonderful experience. For Once in a sonic game, The Cast of Characters was insignificant allowing room for more focus on the gameplay of the one playable character, Sonic, to be frank who hasn't had such a game since Sonic 3D blast over 10 years ago. The StoryBook team seemed to take aBy Far my favorite sonic game this generation, it took many aspects of SEGA as a whole to create a wonderful experience. For Once in a sonic game, The Cast of Characters was insignificant allowing room for more focus on the gameplay of the one playable character, Sonic, to be frank who hasn't had such a game since Sonic 3D blast over 10 years ago. The StoryBook team seemed to take a radically different approach here; choosing to use corporate history rather than mascot history in it's development. The On-rails arcade action was in my eyes a vast improvement for the sonic series considering many of the 3D games coming before it. The Added RPG element however was a bit of a hindrance, although finally achieving that sonic speed is an effort well earned while playing through the game. Another plus in it's lineup were the visuals in which for the time, were stellar from a 3rd party company. The cut-scenes although not CGI, added to the story element of the game, which for me was for all the better. The one MAJOR roadblock in the game for many players was the bi-polar difficulty encountered progressively through the game. If your looking for a better than average sonic game, with a bit of challenge, this is your game. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    5
    If I had to change my opinion on this game, I'd say it a few words: It is trash. The end. If you're looking for a good Sonic Platformer, Try out either the Sonic Adventure Series, Sonic Colors or Generations. Heck even Shadow the Hedgehog is a much better game than this!
  10. Jun 7, 2011
    4
    This is a HORRIBLE DISTURBANCE OF THE SONIC STORY LINE! Why would sonic READ anyway....(sigh) what the heck happened to get the freaking Chaos Emeralds???? Not a good game for die hard sonic fans...But good graphics!...
  11. May 4, 2013
    4
    I've played almost all the sonic games, and I have to say this is probably the worst. It's the controls that kill it. In what could have been seen as a brave move by the developers the player controls sonic by holding the wi-mote horizontally and steering sonic like a car. Sounds good in theory, but unfortunately it's like steering an old car with broken steering and no reverse gear.I've played almost all the sonic games, and I have to say this is probably the worst. It's the controls that kill it. In what could have been seen as a brave move by the developers the player controls sonic by holding the wi-mote horizontally and steering sonic like a car. Sounds good in theory, but unfortunately it's like steering an old car with broken steering and no reverse gear. Controls aren't nearly responsive enough, and the hit-and-miss homing attack will have you tearing your hair out in frustration and you fall to your death time after time. For the life of my I can't understand why the devs didn't allow alternative control schemes, such as the classic control or even steering sonic with the nun-chuck. Mario Kart does this, Sonic and the secret rings doesn't. Some good ideas here but at the end of the day the controls are virtually a game-breaker. Expand
  12. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    If it wasn't so damn hard to control it would be a great game.
  13. Oct 6, 2013
    5
    really bad controls but i got used to it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ya
  14. Feb 21, 2013
    4
    this game is ok, but i personally do not like it. I dont like the controls, as well as i dont generally care for the way the game is designed. I definitely wouldnt call this a bad sonic game, I would probobly give it a 7/10 as a game, but i personaly did not enjoy this game. i liked the level up concept, alot actually. And the graphics and music were pretty good as well. But i really dontthis game is ok, but i personally do not like it. I dont like the controls, as well as i dont generally care for the way the game is designed. I definitely wouldnt call this a bad sonic game, I would probobly give it a 7/10 as a game, but i personaly did not enjoy this game. i liked the level up concept, alot actually. And the graphics and music were pretty good as well. But i really dont care for the on rail mechanic, as well as the controls. if this game had controls similair to sonic and the black knight (you know, minus the swordplay) i think this game would actually be decent. but the controls are too akward and unresponive. Not a bad game, but one of my personal least favorite sonic games. Expand
  15. Apr 9, 2013
    1
    This game was poorly done by Sega:

    1. It's on rails last time I checked with this game all you do is moving the Wii remote left or right that is it they is nothing to it, nothing to the game too. 2. It does the game for you, it ends so easy. We all loved the old games Sega did back in Mega drive so why did you stop of making them and make them into this new game? It's a
    This game was poorly done by Sega:

    1. It's on rails last time I checked with this game all you do is moving the Wii remote left or right that is it they is nothing to it, nothing to the game too.

    2. It does the game for you, it ends so easy.

    We all loved the old games Sega did back in Mega drive so why did you stop of making them and make them into this new game?

    It's a shambles of a game next time I hope Sega does put more thought into their Sonic games as I won't be buying anymore if they like this on rails.

    Waste of time of any ones, sorry Sega fans but this game is a complete disaster to say the least they is no fun using Sonic this lame way, don't buy it!
    Expand
  16. May 26, 2013
    2
    I've had my share of bad Sonic games: Sonic 06, Shadow the Hedgehog, even Sonic Heroes wasn't that good to me. But none of them come as close as this abomination of a Sonic game. The plot for the game is very far out there: I've seen pretty crazy concepts for plots before, but nothing like Sonic going into a story book to save the Arabian Nights. The new characters in here are just as bad.I've had my share of bad Sonic games: Sonic 06, Shadow the Hedgehog, even Sonic Heroes wasn't that good to me. But none of them come as close as this abomination of a Sonic game. The plot for the game is very far out there: I've seen pretty crazy concepts for plots before, but nothing like Sonic going into a story book to save the Arabian Nights. The new characters in here are just as bad. Shahra is very poorly developed, and Erazor is one of the worst villains I've ever seen in a video game. the gameplay doesn't help either. It gets very repetitive when all Sonic can do is go constantly forward, and go left and right in a straight pattern, and the control use of turning the wiimote forward and sideways to move around feels extremely unnatural. The graphics, even for an early wii game, aren't that great at all. the characters look like plastic, and the environments look very bland. Another thing I absolutely hate is party mode. the party mode in this game tries so hard to be a Mario party clone, and it fails terribly at that. Even with all these things, however, there is one thing I can say is fairly decent about the game: the soundtrack. Most Sonic games have soundtracks ranging from good to amazing, and this one is no exception. I don't really like the main theme of the game, but everything else about the game is pretty catchy. But even with a good soundtrack, Sonic and the Secret Rings manages to fail terribly on story, gameplay, and control. this is by far the worst Sonic game I've ever played, and I highly recommend staying away from it. Expand
  17. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When nintendo anouced the wii, SEGA made one of the most underrated sonic games ever, Sonic And the secret rings. I really enjoyed this game In fact I read a bunch of reviews before buying it and saw some people comparing it to sonic 06, REALLY? anyway, let's get to the game, first off the story, this game is not your average sonic game instead of being in the regular sonic universe sonic is in an Arabian knights based setting, this game started what was known as the sonic storybook series which were two storybook based games on the wii. All of the characters like tails, knuckles, eggman, etc, are Arabian knights lookalikes and are referred to as names of characters from the legendary story. this is a sonic game where eggman is not the villain, the villian is an evil genie named Erazer who wants to erase the Arabian knights world forever. I really like this story and think that it's a great spinoff for the sonic series, this game is about as simular to sonic games, as super mario sunshine is to mario games, it's a completely new environment and the only thing remaining from the series are rings, that's it. Now moving on to the gamplay, This game uses the wii remote sideways and you tilt the wii remote left and right to steer sonic, it's like playing a racing game on the wii with just the wii remote. you jump by pressing the 2 button, and do a homing attack by thrusting the wii remote forward. yes I admit that these are not the best controls in any sonic game ever, but they are at least decent and fully playable. This game has some of the best level design in a sonic game, levels like sand oasis, and levitated ruin are all great, the graphics are some of the best on the wii and this was the best looking game on the wii at the time of it's release. and the music is great, I love seven rings in hand It's one of my favorite songs in a sonic game. now here's some things that I don't like in the game, sometimes it can get really frustrating, I mean one mission in pirate storm took me over 3 days to complete with about 80 attempts, And I really did not like that mission at all. and you don't just play stages like in the other sonic games, there are about 10 missions and you have to complete about 7 of them before you can unlock the next world, The first mission is run to the goal like a basic sonic stage, but after that, their will be some frustrating and horrible missions where you have to make it to the goal without defeating any enemies, or don't break any jars, or defeat a set number of enemies. And then there are the bosses which are okay, they're basic bosses in 3d sonic games, you just hit the weak spot a couple of times then you're done. and then there's party mode, it's basically a Mario party game but with sonic characters in it, it's like sonic shuffle all over again, only this time it was fun, yes it's not as good as the mario party series, but it's very close. Sonic and the secret rings is one of my favorite sonic games, and one of the most underrated sonic games ever, just because it came after sonic 06 doesn't mean that it's anything like sonic 06. I highly recommend this to all sonic fans. Expand
  18. May 6, 2014
    1
    This game was an absolute recipe for disaster from the very start. Not even SMB Banana Blitz can top this. Sonic and the Secret Ring has to be the WORST game I have ever played in my entire life. And no, I haven't played Sonic 360/Sonic 06.

    The story was ripped STRAIGHT from the Arabian Nights stories, the characters are kind of forgettable, and the cutscenes are jarring at best, and
    This game was an absolute recipe for disaster from the very start. Not even SMB Banana Blitz can top this. Sonic and the Secret Ring has to be the WORST game I have ever played in my entire life. And no, I haven't played Sonic 360/Sonic 06.

    The story was ripped STRAIGHT from the Arabian Nights stories, the characters are kind of forgettable, and the cutscenes are jarring at best, and lazy at worst.

    Now to the real reason why I gave this a 1/10: The control is TERRIBLE. Sure, I didn't mind it in Mario Kart Wii, but it's so awkward here, jumping included. You have to press B to stop and charge the jump. You STOP to charge a jump. This is Sonic the Hedgehog. But then I found out that you have to do missions to progress, which is just the same stages, with a different objective.

    Also, there's a party mode that I don't care for.
    Expand
  19. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This was my first Sonic Wii game ever. I had tons of fun, playing multiplayer with my youngest brother and going through the eight levels and fighting the bosses. The upgrading process is cool. I love this game and I always will. Go Sonic.
  20. Nov 7, 2013
    7
    Meh...this game has it's ups and downs. The gameplay makes sense, but again, another look into a crossover. Aladdin and the Arabian Nights..yep...Sega went there. Well...no matter...the perspective of it seems great and all...but...ehhhhh. You find yourself constantly dying, but keep trying T: Nonetheless...let's get to the point...the controls...OH GOSH, THE CONTROLS...they burn my eyes.Meh...this game has it's ups and downs. The gameplay makes sense, but again, another look into a crossover. Aladdin and the Arabian Nights..yep...Sega went there. Well...no matter...the perspective of it seems great and all...but...ehhhhh. You find yourself constantly dying, but keep trying T: Nonetheless...let's get to the point...the controls...OH GOSH, THE CONTROLS...they burn my eyes. One little nudge and you go so fast, you can't stop. It's basically like a Sonic Adventure game. It's no Sonic 06, but I'll take this game over that. Still...in my thoughts, a good game.. Expand
  21. Feb 19, 2014
    5
    I've played all of the sonic games and I say this game deserves to be in the dark age of sonic. I'm giving a deserving rating trhat this game isn't a bad sonic game. but its hell not a good one, If i rank sonic the hedgehog 06 at a 1 and sonic adventure 2 or battle a 10 this deserves a 5 its the inbetween of a bad game and an ok game. its a solid entry but not good enough to spark my interest
  22. Apr 8, 2014
    3
    A modern Sonic game has enough going against it without starting it off with a long series or mind numbing tutorial tasks that can zap the fun out of even the biggest Sonic supporter.

    While Sonic and the secret rings looks nice on the wii, It's hard to get past the ridiculousness of the strict tutorial that proceeds to make you relearn every game mechanic the has been created in the
    A modern Sonic game has enough going against it without starting it off with a long series or mind numbing tutorial tasks that can zap the fun out of even the biggest Sonic supporter.

    While Sonic and the secret rings looks nice on the wii, It's hard to get past the ridiculousness of the strict tutorial that proceeds to make you relearn every game mechanic the has been created in the last 20 years. Combined that with a cumbersome menu system in the tutorial which instead of just automatically bumping you to the next lesson made you troll back and forward through unnecessary obstacles just to reach your next boring objective.

    Secret Rings could have been something somewhat decent if it wasn't for pure interface design choices that just drains any enjoyment to be had.
    Expand
  23. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    This is a good game. it isn't great but it is still a good game. I would recommend it but note that the controls are kinda crappy. Overall it is an alright game.
  24. Aug 22, 2014
    2
    I really hate this game it's boring to play or watch i'd rather play shadow the hedgehog than this steaming pile of poop. The story sucks the controls suck and the one good thing is party mode
  25. Nov 12, 2014
    1
    This abomination of a 3D Sonic game is not worth the effort of even a freaking penny. If you get this game on your Wii/Wii U collection by paying any price that's above Free, Then your ripping yourself off dude. The game has a Terrible Story/ Terrible Music/ Terrible Levels and Controls that make Sonic Heroes controls look like Super Mario Sunshines controls. They only positive that I canThis abomination of a 3D Sonic game is not worth the effort of even a freaking penny. If you get this game on your Wii/Wii U collection by paying any price that's above Free, Then your ripping yourself off dude. The game has a Terrible Story/ Terrible Music/ Terrible Levels and Controls that make Sonic Heroes controls look like Super Mario Sunshines controls. They only positive that I can think of is that the Multiplayer is decent to play for friends and family. Other then that, It's pure garbage. Expand
  26. Dec 20, 2014
    1
    I really am stumped as to why Secret Rings in the only console game in the series between SA2 and Colors that's considered "At least playable" since it's the only one that I considered unplayable, yes even more so then Sonic 06. It all boils down to control, in Sonic 06, I can at least control my speed and what I'm doing, Secret Rings on the other hand, it's controls are gimmicky andI really am stumped as to why Secret Rings in the only console game in the series between SA2 and Colors that's considered "At least playable" since it's the only one that I considered unplayable, yes even more so then Sonic 06. It all boils down to control, in Sonic 06, I can at least control my speed and what I'm doing, Secret Rings on the other hand, it's controls are gimmicky and mangled as hell; this in turn makes the game unplayable to me. It is the single worst 3D Sonic game and one of the worst Sonic games I have ever played. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. An encouraging sign that good Sonic games can still be made. I had a tremendous time exploring the different stages and the skill points add a bit of depth to an otherwise straightforward game.
  2. 75
    Although Sega deserves praise for Secret Rings' innovative single-player adventure, the less said about the four-player party mode, the better. It's another low-budget "Mario Party" rip-off that stretches out a few weak gameplay concepts into multiple multiplayer contests.
  3. By no means perfect, but it's still a fantastic game that finally gives the blue blazer the sort of fast-paced, slick action he deserves. It's tricky to master but once you do it really shines. [Mar 2007, p.62]