Sonic Colors Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic Colors Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 315 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, SonicAn extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, Sonic discovers he is able to use these mysterious alien forces to help the Wisps escape! Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colors is a fantastic game. Its greatest achievement is that one does not have to be a super-tolerant dyed-in-the-wool Sonic super fan to enjoy it or to forgive a laundry list of flaws.
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    88
    Sonic Colours is a worthy successor of the saga we have learned to love in the 90's. Quick and easy to master, the game brings a lot of fun and it's really enjoyable by all kind of players.
  3. Nov 15, 2010
    85
    After many years of average games, Sega finally gets back on the tracks with Sonic Colors: everything the fans were hoping for is here, packed with gorgeous graphics and solid new game mechanics.
  4. Nov 9, 2010
    80
    A long overdue return to form, with a focus on what made Sonic fun in the first place. He's always been fast, but it's good to finally see him speeding in the right direction.
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    80
    Perfect for old-school Sonic fans.
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    The latest game featuring Sonic is a mixed experience. It's the best Sonic-game since the 2D Sonic games and it's a fast, beautiful game with a lot of great levels that you can play many times over and over. But the controls can cause quite some problems and the multiplayer part isn't as good as it could have been.
  7. Nov 13, 2010
    45
    Sonic Colors feels like a step right back into the same crap this series has drowned in for the past decade. If I had to pick a color for this game, it would be brown, for very obvious reasons.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 113
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    It's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this gameIt's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this game would be the right choice for any Sonic fan. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    This game is super spectacular!! The game has PS3 graphics , good story , amazing level design, good speed.My sister who despises sonic evenThis game is super spectacular!! The game has PS3 graphics , good story , amazing level design, good speed.My sister who despises sonic even likes the game but I love this game. It has issues but there minor . 1: I would like it if sonic was a bit faster and sonic was being a bit cocky. 2:make the game a bit more serious.that's all. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    The day-stages are just like Sonic Unleashed, but even more exotic and graphically pleasing. As for the gameplay, the mix of 3D "race as fastThe day-stages are just like Sonic Unleashed, but even more exotic and graphically pleasing. As for the gameplay, the mix of 3D "race as fast as you can" boosting sections are well balanced with traditional, sophisticated 2D (2.5D) platforming. As for music...just wow....

    The Red Rings give the game huge replay value, unlocking new stages and a certain special something at the end....(no spoilers)
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    One of my all time favorite Sonic games. Sega definitely got the right formula with this one. I have very few complaints, and I'll go over theOne of my all time favorite Sonic games. Sega definitely got the right formula with this one. I have very few complaints, and I'll go over the games details briefly.

    The graphics are very nice looking for a Wii game. At several points, specifically the opening level of the second world, I was almost blown away by all the bright lights and colors all around. The game doesn't have many lag or framerate issues either, so another major plus.

    The gameplay is very fun. Sonic has plenty of speed, and most stages can be speedran if skilled enough. The wisps are a gimmick, but pulled off remarkable well. Most bosses are relatively easy and repetitive which was a disappointment. The game takes roughly three hours to beat, but I spent almost ten collecting the chaos emeralds and unlocking Super Sonic.

    The music is stellar, per the norm for Sonic games. "Reach for the Stars" is a solid main theme, and when played as orchestra at the end was beautiful. The Aquarium Park theme was also wonderful, one of my favorites.

    The story is simple. It follows a clear and simplistic path. Children may enjoy the storyline, but adults may lose interest.

    In conclusion, this is a very good game and one of my favorite Sonic games. I would definitely recommend this game, and immensely enjoyed it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Sonic Colors is the first Sonic game I've come to enjoy since Sonic Adventure 2. So we're a decade later, or so, and we've had nothing butSonic Colors is the first Sonic game I've come to enjoy since Sonic Adventure 2. So we're a decade later, or so, and we've had nothing but mediocre to crap titles. Now Colors is here to prove to us Sonic isn't dead, he's just been in a coma and Sonic Team didn't know the best way to bring him back. Story wise, the game is targeted for a younger audience. I fee like I'm watching something on the same level of humor and intelligence as Spongebob. And while that annoys me, it doesn't outright stop me from playing. But there were some incredible opportunities that this game missed. For example, near the end, I thought the wisps were going to turn on me because the cut scene gave me the tension that they would and that the game would suddenly take a darker, less kid-friendly tone. Nope. Turns out that the wisps are all about awkward pauses or something. But I do like how ROBOTNIK stayed in the villain's chair the whole time and didn't get punked out by giant lizards, water gods, robots, or anything else for once. Aesthetics are the best in a long time. I thought that Sonic Unleashed looked really good (admit it, the game wasn't perfect but the visuals were good). But every level looks good. Every cutscene is... eh... okay. I think they focused more on gameplay this time around over anything else. So, gameplay! Finally, a game that works like it probably should. No major gameplay bugs to cripple it. No stupid gimmicks to hate. It's classic platforming at its finest. I honestly couldn't ask for more... except a chocolate mountain. In short, if you like Sonic, even after all these years of mediocrity, then give this game a chance. It is worth the price and time. It only makes me look forward to Sonic Generations that much more. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2016
    8
    Sonic Colours is a very strong entry into the Sonic series taking everything back to the basics while building on the strengths of SonicSonic Colours is a very strong entry into the Sonic series taking everything back to the basics while building on the strengths of Sonic Unleashed's Day Stages. Sonic Colours has more of a focus on 2D block platforming and use of power up aliens called Wisps. Sonic is up against Eggman who has constructed an outer space amusement park using the power of these aliens and once again, transforming them into robots. Sonic Colours may be a reminder of what Sonic is supposed to be, it's sadly a less memorable instalment to the series than it's predecessor with it's short story and lack of hubworlds to explore as well as unfortunately having a much stronger priority for the 2D gameplay. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Sonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game fromSonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game from truly deserving a 10. In many instances you will find that Sonic "controls himself" which deprives you from a true challenging experience. This game definetely has its fair share of nice eye candy, but that doesn't cut it if you wan't to be engaged with intuitive gameplay. And if you take into consideration the price of this product. At around $50 this is definetly worth a rental at best. Expand

See all 113 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#5 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010