• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, SonicAn extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, Sonic discovers he is able to use these mysterious alien forces to help the Wisps escape! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colors is a fantastic game. Its greatest achievement is that one does not have to be a super-tolerant dyed-in-the-wool Sonic super fan to enjoy it or to forgive a laundry list of flaws.
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    88
    Sonic Colours is a worthy successor of the saga we have learned to love in the 90's. Quick and easy to master, the game brings a lot of fun and it's really enjoyable by all kind of players.
  3. Nov 15, 2010
    85
    After many years of average games, Sega finally gets back on the tracks with Sonic Colors: everything the fans were hoping for is here, packed with gorgeous graphics and solid new game mechanics.
  4. Nov 9, 2010
    80
    A long overdue return to form, with a focus on what made Sonic fun in the first place. He's always been fast, but it's good to finally see him speeding in the right direction.
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    80
    Perfect for old-school Sonic fans.
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    The latest game featuring Sonic is a mixed experience. It's the best Sonic-game since the 2D Sonic games and it's a fast, beautiful game with a lot of great levels that you can play many times over and over. But the controls can cause quite some problems and the multiplayer part isn't as good as it could have been.
  7. Nov 13, 2010
    45
    Sonic Colors feels like a step right back into the same crap this series has drowned in for the past decade. If I had to pick a color for this game, it would be brown, for very obvious reasons.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 93
  2. Negative: 3 out of 93
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    It's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this gameIt's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this game would be the right choice for any Sonic fan. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2015
    10
    Sonic Colors is a magical Sonic game, a game i got charmed by, my sons got charmed by, and is the perfect training ground for noviceSonic Colors is a magical Sonic game, a game i got charmed by, my sons got charmed by, and is the perfect training ground for novice platformers, all the while satisfying veteran Sonic fans. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Easily breaks the "Sonic Cycle" Let me start by saying that there are many who are just trying to find any small detail to fully crucify thisEasily breaks the "Sonic Cycle" Let me start by saying that there are many who are just trying to find any small detail to fully crucify this title. It breaks the cycle! It actually does not suffer from bad level design flaws that punish the player unfairly like the ones found in (insert most popular plumbers name here) the highest ranking Wii plat-former known. Idiots don't understand that just because you can run at full speed does not mean that you should always do so. The game is practically flawless in its design and punishment is only at the players fault. The game can be played casually and offers more challenging routes for those who wished to be challenged. After completing the game and going for speed runs the game shines more and more, and its a sad thing that many still think that this is on the same plateau as Sega's past Sonic garbage.

    I know this game has been out for some time but after seeing the UNDESERVING reviews it really pisses me off and lets me know some people choose to still be butt-hurt over past. Let me make this easy!

    1=It has great level design and does not punish the player. Deaths is mainly the players fault 99.9% of the time in this game, unlike the chubby plumbers most recent titles on the WII.

    2=Tight responsive controls, easy to pick up, hard to master!

    3=Seamless 2D to 3D transition with shifting control layouts to EFFECTIVELY convey feel and movement!

    4= Whisps are not really gimmicks! whisps are no different then powers obtained in past Sonic games, such as Fire, electric or water shields. Its just switching out an item box for ability icon!

    5=Music and presentation are the best ever seen in ANY mascot plat-former game to date! Yes it can be a subjective statement but the game looks like a Ps3 or 360 game, not to mention, but the design is amazing and surreal like Genesis era Sonic games. Great MUSIC!

    If you are curious about this game RENT IT, and I m sure you will fork over if you like plat-formers and have left your bios feelings at the door. I read some of the reviews and really, some like Destructoid.com is really badly composed and analyzed and is what has led me to this opinion.
    Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    This is definitely one of, if not the best 3D Sonic game out there. Everything from the level design to the graphics to the voice acting isThis is definitely one of, if not the best 3D Sonic game out there. Everything from the level design to the graphics to the voice acting is spot on. Special props goes to the story, which is fairly normal and not full monsters or outer space dinosaur battles (which were admittedly pretty awesome).
    The soundtrack alone makes this game worth a purchase, as it is one of the best soundtracks I've heard from the Blue Hedgehog.
    All in all, this is an excellent 3D Sonic game that's worthy of any Wii owner's attention.
    Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Sonic has always been my favorite video game mascot of all time, and so far there has only been two bad games, Sonic R and Sonic and the blackSonic has always been my favorite video game mascot of all time, and so far there has only been two bad games, Sonic R and Sonic and the black knight, and this is one of his greatest games of all time. Fantastic graphics, great gameplay, good voice acting, and great boss battles. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    8
    As someone who has had a rough relationship with Sonic games over the years, it's nice to see the blue-blur star in great platformer gamesAs someone who has had a rough relationship with Sonic games over the years, it's nice to see the blue-blur star in great platformer games like this and Lost World. "Colors" is a nice combination between platforming and speed sections. It also switches up the gameplay by having both 2D and 3D sections. The graphics are some of the best on the Wii, if not the best, and the soundtrack is amazing. Controls are somewhat lose feeling, but they never really caused me trouble outside of a few section where I had to make precise jumps on small platforms.

    Overall I really enjoyed this Sonic game. A real sense of speed and (mostly) great level designs really made it hard for me to put this game down. There were a few irritating sections, but the game makes up for this by making the levels not overstay their welcome. I've got to say that my biggest problem with this game is length. Some levels can be completed in under a minute and it only took me 5 and a half hours to beat the game. More skilled players could probably beat the game in about 3 hours. Still, the high replay value does do a lot to help make up for the short length.

    In closing this a great game for Sonic and Sonic fans. After years of games that have disappointed fans it's clear that Sonic Team is ready to make one of gaming's most loved characters great again. It's not perfect but the good does outweigh the bad. If you are, or have ever considered yourself, a Sonic fan then this is a must play.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Sonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game fromSonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game from truly deserving a 10. In many instances you will find that Sonic "controls himself" which deprives you from a true challenging experience. This game definetely has its fair share of nice eye candy, but that doesn't cut it if you wan't to be engaged with intuitive gameplay. And if you take into consideration the price of this product. At around $50 this is definetly worth a rental at best. Expand

See all 93 User Reviews