• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, SonicAn extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, Sonic discovers he is able to use these mysterious alien forces to help the Wisps escape! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colors is a fantastic game. Its greatest achievement is that one does not have to be a super-tolerant dyed-in-the-wool Sonic super fan to enjoy it or to forgive a laundry list of flaws.
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    88
    Sonic Colours is a worthy successor of the saga we have learned to love in the 90's. Quick and easy to master, the game brings a lot of fun and it's really enjoyable by all kind of players.
  3. Nov 15, 2010
    85
    After many years of average games, Sega finally gets back on the tracks with Sonic Colors: everything the fans were hoping for is here, packed with gorgeous graphics and solid new game mechanics.
  4. Nov 9, 2010
    80
    A long overdue return to form, with a focus on what made Sonic fun in the first place. He's always been fast, but it's good to finally see him speeding in the right direction.
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    80
    Perfect for old-school Sonic fans.
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    The latest game featuring Sonic is a mixed experience. It's the best Sonic-game since the 2D Sonic games and it's a fast, beautiful game with a lot of great levels that you can play many times over and over. But the controls can cause quite some problems and the multiplayer part isn't as good as it could have been.
  7. Nov 13, 2010
    45
    Sonic Colors feels like a step right back into the same crap this series has drowned in for the past decade. If I had to pick a color for this game, it would be brown, for very obvious reasons.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 85
  2. Negative: 2 out of 85
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    It's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this gameIt's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this game would be the right choice for any Sonic fan. Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    I think this game is not great as Sonic Unleashed HD because of story and music, but Sonic Colors is fun, fast, and a great reason to buy Wii.I think this game is not great as Sonic Unleashed HD because of story and music, but Sonic Colors is fun, fast, and a great reason to buy Wii. With great graphics for Wii, good level design, this game is awesome. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Easily breaks the "Sonic Cycle" Let me start by saying that there are many who are just trying to find any small detail to fully crucify thisEasily breaks the "Sonic Cycle" Let me start by saying that there are many who are just trying to find any small detail to fully crucify this title. It breaks the cycle! It actually does not suffer from bad level design flaws that punish the player unfairly like the ones found in (insert most popular plumbers name here) the highest ranking Wii plat-former known. Idiots don't understand that just because you can run at full speed does not mean that you should always do so. The game is practically flawless in its design and punishment is only at the players fault. The game can be played casually and offers more challenging routes for those who wished to be challenged. After completing the game and going for speed runs the game shines more and more, and its a sad thing that many still think that this is on the same plateau as Sega's past Sonic garbage.

    I know this game has been out for some time but after seeing the UNDESERVING reviews it really pisses me off and lets me know some people choose to still be butt-hurt over past. Let me make this easy!

    1=It has great level design and does not punish the player. Deaths is mainly the players fault 99.9% of the time in this game, unlike the chubby plumbers most recent titles on the WII.

    2=Tight responsive controls, easy to pick up, hard to master!

    3=Seamless 2D to 3D transition with shifting control layouts to EFFECTIVELY convey feel and movement!

    4= Whisps are not really gimmicks! whisps are no different then powers obtained in past Sonic games, such as Fire, electric or water shields. Its just switching out an item box for ability icon!

    5=Music and presentation are the best ever seen in ANY mascot plat-former game to date! Yes it can be a subjective statement but the game looks like a Ps3 or 360 game, not to mention, but the design is amazing and surreal like Genesis era Sonic games. Great MUSIC!

    If you are curious about this game RENT IT, and I m sure you will fork over if you like plat-formers and have left your bios feelings at the door. I read some of the reviews and really, some like Destructoid.com is really badly composed and analyzed and is what has led me to this opinion.
    Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    To start off, I got this game thinking that I need to play more platformers. Also, this is the first Sonic The Hedgehog game I have played.To start off, I got this game thinking that I need to play more platformers. Also, this is the first Sonic The Hedgehog game I have played.

    In this game, You are Sonic The Hedgehog, running at high speeds through each level. You will speed through 3D sections and traditional 2D sections. The wisps are a nice addition, and collecting them allows you to use them as a power-up. some early wisps you will encounter will be the cyan wisp (turns Sonic into a high speed laser) and yellow wisp (turns Sonic into a drill to explore underground). This whole purpose is executed very well, and it's fast and fun. The graphics are very nice. The backgrounds are bold and colorful. each planet has it's own theme, as you will be seeing a food themed planet with popcorn pits, an alien planet that Eggman has been to recently, a Tropical resort, and others. Cut scenes are usually interaction between Sonic and his two-tailed fox friend Tails, and I got a few laughs from these nicely animates cuts. One of my major complaints about the game was that I think it kind of feels short. Maybe it's because I didn't have a lot to do on the summer holidays, but this game is still HOURS of fun, as you will go back to levels to grab those hidden red rings or after you discovered a new wisp. The multiplayer isn't great, if any one of the two Sonics speed ahead then DEATH WILL HAPPEN *dun dun dun*

    I really enjoyed this game. I highly recommend it to any owner of a Wii.
    Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Sonic Colors is the first Sonic game I've come to enjoy since Sonic Adventure 2. So we're a decade later, or so, and we've had nothing butSonic Colors is the first Sonic game I've come to enjoy since Sonic Adventure 2. So we're a decade later, or so, and we've had nothing but mediocre to crap titles. Now Colors is here to prove to us Sonic isn't dead, he's just been in a coma and Sonic Team didn't know the best way to bring him back. Story wise, the game is targeted for a younger audience. I fee like I'm watching something on the same level of humor and intelligence as Spongebob. And while that annoys me, it doesn't outright stop me from playing. But there were some incredible opportunities that this game missed. For example, near the end, I thought the wisps were going to turn on me because the cut scene gave me the tension that they would and that the game would suddenly take a darker, less kid-friendly tone. Nope. Turns out that the wisps are all about awkward pauses or something. But I do like how ROBOTNIK stayed in the villain's chair the whole time and didn't get punked out by giant lizards, water gods, robots, or anything else for once. Aesthetics are the best in a long time. I thought that Sonic Unleashed looked really good (admit it, the game wasn't perfect but the visuals were good). But every level looks good. Every cutscene is... eh... okay. I think they focused more on gameplay this time around over anything else. So, gameplay! Finally, a game that works like it probably should. No major gameplay bugs to cripple it. No stupid gimmicks to hate. It's classic platforming at its finest. I honestly couldn't ask for more... except a chocolate mountain. In short, if you like Sonic, even after all these years of mediocrity, then give this game a chance. It is worth the price and time. It only makes me look forward to Sonic Generations that much more. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    The first Sonic game since Sonic Heroes that I really enjoyed, I really liked the wisps and the game is beautiful every planet you go too isThe first Sonic game since Sonic Heroes that I really enjoyed, I really liked the wisps and the game is beautiful every planet you go too is very unique and is always fun. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Sonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game fromSonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game from truly deserving a 10. In many instances you will find that Sonic "controls himself" which deprives you from a true challenging experience. This game definetely has its fair share of nice eye candy, but that doesn't cut it if you wan't to be engaged with intuitive gameplay. And if you take into consideration the price of this product. At around $50 this is definetly worth a rental at best. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews