• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic Colors Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, SonicAn extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, Sonic discovers he is able to use these mysterious alien forces to help the Wisps escape! Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sonic Colors Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colors is a fantastic game. Its greatest achievement is that one does not have to be a super-tolerant dyed-in-the-wool Sonic super fan to enjoy it or to forgive a laundry list of flaws.
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    88
    Sonic Colours is a worthy successor of the saga we have learned to love in the 90's. Quick and easy to master, the game brings a lot of fun and it's really enjoyable by all kind of players.
  3. Nov 15, 2010
    85
    After many years of average games, Sega finally gets back on the tracks with Sonic Colors: everything the fans were hoping for is here, packed with gorgeous graphics and solid new game mechanics.
  4. Nov 9, 2010
    80
    A long overdue return to form, with a focus on what made Sonic fun in the first place. He's always been fast, but it's good to finally see him speeding in the right direction.
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    80
    Perfect for old-school Sonic fans.
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    The latest game featuring Sonic is a mixed experience. It's the best Sonic-game since the 2D Sonic games and it's a fast, beautiful game with a lot of great levels that you can play many times over and over. But the controls can cause quite some problems and the multiplayer part isn't as good as it could have been.
  7. Nov 13, 2010
    45
    Sonic Colors feels like a step right back into the same crap this series has drowned in for the past decade. If I had to pick a color for this game, it would be brown, for very obvious reasons.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 121
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    It's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this gameIt's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this game would be the right choice for any Sonic fan. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    This game is super spectacular!! The game has PS3 graphics , good story , amazing level design, good speed.My sister who despises sonic evenThis game is super spectacular!! The game has PS3 graphics , good story , amazing level design, good speed.My sister who despises sonic even likes the game but I love this game. It has issues but there minor . 1: I would like it if sonic was a bit faster and sonic was being a bit cocky. 2:make the game a bit more serious.that's all. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This what a 3D Sonic title should have been so many years ago. Sega, please do not have Sonic with a sword again.. All things aside, I haveThis what a 3D Sonic title should have been so many years ago. Sega, please do not have Sonic with a sword again.. All things aside, I have been loving the levels in the game; some of them are some what lengthy and others are speeds bursts of fun. The music is also good, yet it can remind me of Super Mario Galaxy sometimes. Get this Sonic game, you'll have loads of fun! Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Easily my favorite Sonic game ever. The story was a good time, gameplay was good. I loved the powerups, and Sonic was his classic and humorousEasily my favorite Sonic game ever. The story was a good time, gameplay was good. I loved the powerups, and Sonic was his classic and humorous self. Simply put a must have for Wii Owners. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Sonic Colors is a really fun game, and I had a great time playing it. It's a great mixture of 3D and 2D playing environments, and the additionSonic Colors is a really fun game, and I had a great time playing it. It's a great mixture of 3D and 2D playing environments, and the addition of new powers in the form of Wisps is highly original. The level design is amazing, controls are easy to learn and highly responsive, and there is something new everywhere. And for once, voice acting in a Sonic game is actually good! I recommend this game far more than Sonic 4. I did have a few issues, though. While I liked Game Land in general, the cooperative mode is just bad. I also wish that Super Sonic could be unlocked before the game is 100% completed. Honestly, I had to look at a guide to figure out how to unlock Super Sonic. But, those minor flaws do not stop Sonic Colors from being a great game. What I like best about Sonic Colors is the super-cool powers. FRENZY! It's hilarious. Sonic & Eggman are also quite comical themselves. Overall, this game is good, great, awesome, outstanding, and amazing. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2016
    8
    Sonic Colors was a pretty solid Sonic game. It's not my favorite Sonic game, but it did a lot of things right. It does kind of feel like justSonic Colors was a pretty solid Sonic game. It's not my favorite Sonic game, but it did a lot of things right. It does kind of feel like just Sonic Unleashed with a little more to daytime Sonic and no Were-Sonic. But it has a lot of cool things going for it. To me, this wasn't a "Sonic is back" type of game, Sonic never went into a real "dark age", but this was still a pretty good game. Sonic controls pretty smoothly, though he looks a bit weird when leaning left or right. The Wisp moves are Ok, but they work. The humor is actually humorous at times. Overall, it's Sonic Unleashed without Were-Sonic and that's not a bad thing. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Sonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game fromSonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game from truly deserving a 10. In many instances you will find that Sonic "controls himself" which deprives you from a true challenging experience. This game definetely has its fair share of nice eye candy, but that doesn't cut it if you wan't to be engaged with intuitive gameplay. And if you take into consideration the price of this product. At around $50 this is definetly worth a rental at best. Expand

See all 121 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

30
3
#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
4
#4 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010