Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I Wii

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 84
  2. Negative: 19 out of 84

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    6
    Sonic 4 is very fun to play, but it is just plain short. I beat the final boss in about 3 hours. Sonic games need to be far longer. This is also the main reason why I prefer Sonic Colors over Sonic 4. And not only is Sonic 4 short, but it's also EASY. Mad Gear Zone needs more difficulty. The only part of the game that was actually hard was the final boss, which was just a remake of a SonicSonic 4 is very fun to play, but it is just plain short. I beat the final boss in about 3 hours. Sonic games need to be far longer. This is also the main reason why I prefer Sonic Colors over Sonic 4. And not only is Sonic 4 short, but it's also EASY. Mad Gear Zone needs more difficulty. The only part of the game that was actually hard was the final boss, which was just a remake of a Sonic 2 boss. There's no multiplayer mode either. On the plus side, Sonic 4 does a pretty good job of bringing back the old Sonic charm from the Genesis games, and the game has great frame rate. The Homing Attack is also a nice addition. But in the end, Sonic 4 feels more like a sequel to the original Sonic the Hedgehog than a sequel to Sonic 3 & Knuckles. It's just not up-to-date with today's video game standards. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    After several 3D sub-par console games which have all received much criticism from much critics and the overall sense that the series is going downhill, SEGA decided to go back the original formula that made the series great and made Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1. While the gameplay is as good as it was decades ago, the game runs into some problems. First, the game is very short, muchAfter several 3D sub-par console games which have all received much criticism from much critics and the overall sense that the series is going downhill, SEGA decided to go back the original formula that made the series great and made Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1. While the gameplay is as good as it was decades ago, the game runs into some problems. First, the game is very short, much shorter than Sonic 1, 2, and 3. Second, it costs $15 dollars (I would say it is worth $10), which is too high of a price. Purists and ardent fans of the original SEGA will complain that there has been too much change to the series. If so, they should just go and play the original games if they want no change. But my complaint is that it is too similar to the original games. After 20-odd years, there should be more depth. Or at the very least, more length. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2010
    5
    Sonic 4 doesn't know what it wants to be. On one hand the gameplay seems to flow smoothly just like it's predecessors, and on the other it becomes some weird hybrid fest that doesn't really involve much input. The physics as much as I tried, did become a problem one way or another, and the added difficulty spikes combined with some mediocre level design only serves to slap players in theSonic 4 doesn't know what it wants to be. On one hand the gameplay seems to flow smoothly just like it's predecessors, and on the other it becomes some weird hybrid fest that doesn't really involve much input. The physics as much as I tried, did become a problem one way or another, and the added difficulty spikes combined with some mediocre level design only serves to slap players in the face. The art style was fantastic and simple for it's use, but games aren't meant to be looked at now are they? Soundtrack wise the game's musical tracks although more repetitive are catchy and enjoyable, however the boss music considering the mood establish by clashing with eggman in the 90's doesn't cut it. All in all I'll give Dimps and ST some slack considering that this is just really a refresher; but I expect much better from episode 2. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    It's ok. It's a solid game but there's just no momentum. If you're expecting a classic game this is not for you, try Sonic Colors instead. Hopefully episode 2 will improve on momentum
  5. Dec 28, 2010
    7
    I grew up with Sonic. I remember the ongoing battles of SEGA v. Nintendo. Sonic was the mascot of speed. He was the pure embodiment of what was bigger, better, and badder about SEGA. Nintendo was pictured as the old, slow, broken down milk truck with SEGA as the Mach 6 with Sonic at the helm. So irony comes into play when 20 years later Iâ
  6. May 22, 2011
    7
    It's not terribly fun. However, Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 does have some unique gameplay that's both nostalgic and fresh. Pros: Excellent new design and gameplay features; new moves; fantastic level design. Cons: Too easy, too short, including the final boss battle; awkward control; cheesy soundtrack.
  7. Jun 26, 2011
    7
    It looks like a flash game, and that makes it hard to believe that you are playing it on the wii. It is a good game but it doesn't feel like you should buy it. It is more like a free download on your pc
  8. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    after a bunch of disappointments like sonic 06,and sonic and the black knight, sega finally made a game that is a very late sequel to sonic 3 and knuckles sonic 4 ep 1. sonic 4 ep 1 is set right after sonic 3 and knuckles. in this game, you can only play as sonic, no tails, no knuckles. but this feels like sonic 1. it's great that sega is going back to their roots and making a 2D game.after a bunch of disappointments like sonic 06,and sonic and the black knight, sega finally made a game that is a very late sequel to sonic 3 and knuckles sonic 4 ep 1. sonic 4 ep 1 is set right after sonic 3 and knuckles. in this game, you can only play as sonic, no tails, no knuckles. but this feels like sonic 1. it's great that sega is going back to their roots and making a 2D game. everything looks great in graphics and all of the zones are based off zones from the classic sonic games. the zones are, splash hill zone, casino street zone, lost labyrinth zone, and mad gear zone. and the bosses are just remakes of bosses from the classic games, like the boss of green hill zone returning as the boss of splash hill zone. sonic also has a homing attack in this game now this is not as bad as you might think but sometimes it just feels too easy to get a lot of speed going. but this really does feel like a late sequel to sonic 3 and knuckles and that's basically what it is. and the graphics have been updated to fit today's standards. now there are some problems with this game, for one thing it's extremely short and easy but i still loved every second of it second, all of the bosses are ridiculously easy, with the homing attack you can beat them all in less than a minute. also the homing attack is not optional there are some areas where you have to use it like when you see a line of enemies over a bottomless pit. this sometimes does not feel like a classic sonic game, but it's at least the best sonic game until sonic colors came along. after all of the rough time sega had with 3D sonic games after sonic heroes, they really needed to make something like this, and this game is a great continuation of sonic 3 and knuckles, but the question is where is knuckles, where is tails, why is sonic just alone in this game, and why couldn't they just make sonic 4 one game instead of making it episodic, but it just might be trying to be like sonic 3 and sonic and knuckles which were two separate games that make one game together. i just wish that sonic 4 ep 1 and 2 had lock on technology like sonic and knuckles so that we can play through all of sonic 4 ep 1 and 2 as one game, wouldn't that be great. but all in all sonic 4 has great graphics, great zones, memorable remakes, great music especially the final boss theme, and great gameplay, there's no story other than sonic having to stop dr eggman it's as simple as that and that's the way i like it. Expand
  9. Nov 12, 2014
    7
    This game wad first released in 2010, at almost the same time as Sonic Colors. I often compare the two, and consistently conclude that Sonic Colors is far superior. However, this does not mean that the game is unenjoyable.

    The graphics are fine for a Wii game. The backgrounds are generally nice, and there are few graphic glitches or lag/framerate issues. However, Sonic's running
    This game wad first released in 2010, at almost the same time as Sonic Colors. I often compare the two, and consistently conclude that Sonic Colors is far superior. However, this does not mean that the game is unenjoyable.

    The graphics are fine for a Wii game. The backgrounds are generally nice, and there are few graphic glitches or lag/framerate issues. However, Sonic's running animation is less then spectacular, to say the least.

    The music is stellar. While not the greatest Sonic music I've ever heard, it has a Sonic feel to it. Nothing stands out, and it may be forgotten, but the music is entertaining for your initial play through.

    Gameplay is a plus. Sonic has both his spin dash and his homing attack, which I enjoyed immensely. The bonus stages are fun as well. However, the physics harken back to Sonic 2006 at points and the rehashed bosses failed to excite me. The final boss was quite challenging and enjoyable, however.

    This is a game I would recommend purchasing while you still can. It's not the best Sonic game, but older fans will enjoy the call backs to the Genesis era and younger fans will love the new style.
    Expand
  10. Oct 17, 2010
    0
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a great game. I'm glad that the game goes back to Sonic's roots. It plays almost like the classics and yes I said almost because the physics are a little different. Now different doesn't mean it's bad. It is a little weird to see Sonic sometimes walking on a slope and gravity can be on the floaty side. But even still It doesn't break the game at all.Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a great game. I'm glad that the game goes back to Sonic's roots. It plays almost like the classics and yes I said almost because the physics are a little different. Now different doesn't mean it's bad. It is a little weird to see Sonic sometimes walking on a slope and gravity can be on the floaty side. But even still It doesn't break the game at all. Infact it makes SuperSonic much more controlable than the Genesis games. Physics aside. The controls of the game are spot on. It's pretty much as you remembered it on the Genesis. The Spindash is useful once again and the homing attack is a welcomed addition to the 2D gameplay. Episode 1 only contains 4 zones with 3 acts each along with a boss act. Now that may sound short, But considering the amount of acts per zones and the length that some require. Episode 1 can arguably be the same length as Sonic The Hedgehog 3 (Alone). All the levels are based on zones from Sonic 1 & 2 with elements from Sonic 3. Splash Hill Zone is basicly Green Hill Zone with swinging ropes and a beautful sunset Act 3. Casino Street Zone is Casino Night Zone but more casino themed with slots in Act 1, Cards in Act 2, & Sonic 3's cannons in Act 3. Lost Labyrinth Zone is well the name speaks for itself but not as dangerous as the original with a unique act 2 with a torch and mine carts. Mad Gears Zone! Metropolis Zone anyone?. And finally Egg Station Zone which is an boss rush version of Death Egg Zone and that pretty much it. Graphicly, Sonic 4 is a very pretty game. All the enviroments look great and nostalgic. Same goes for the sound effects. 16 bit sounds never get old. The soundtrack is also pretty good. Most of the music fit the levels and some jingles are remixes from Sonic 1 and 3. But clearly some tracks are better than others. As with all 2D Sonic titles. The Chaos Emeralds are hidden inside special stages and once you collect them all. Super Sonic can be played in all levels which I am very happy to see coming back. Episode 1 is a great game as well as a nostalgic one. But I do think Sega went too far on nostalgia. I mean a nostalgia game is nice and it's about the right time for one, But in Episode 1 Nostalgia is all it is. Hardly any original content whats so ever. I had the same kind of issue with New Super Mario Bros Wii. last year. Going back to the roots of a franchise doesn't mean to rehash everything. Now the new twists and turns on the levels and bosses are creative but alot of them we have already seen in previous handheld titles. Time Attack is a nice feature and completing for best time and score on the leaderboards are cool. Theirs not much else to say about this game since this is only Episode 1. We only have a taste of what Sonic The Hedgehog 4 will be. Overall this is a great game but it's not by all means perfect. The physics are noticably different,The great overuse of nostalgia. Also Episode 1 lacks Tails and Knuckles. Come on Sega, I miss those guys. It's been almost 5 years since Sonic 06. No more Sonic solo games. We need them back. But with those flaws and nickpicks aside it's a great game and worthy of the name Sonic 4. And it's only the beginning... Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#52 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    88
    No just a rehash, but a brilliant game in itself. Sonic reigns once more. [Issue#232, p.88]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 25, 2010
    100
    Purer and cheaper than Sonic Colours, this is a great reboot for 2D Sonic. [Issue#56, p.74]
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    That's what Sonic 4 is all about: trying to be new while recapturing those fleeting moments of brilliance from the old Genesis titles.