Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I Wii

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 83
  2. Negative: 19 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oh yes... oh well, could be better, but could be much worse, if someone understands me... hm... i think that the game may have left much to be desired for some fans who are from a sonic or a little more of that, but I really liked the game! but... you know, relax! why is just the first episode, i think the harvest has yet to show a lot of this Sonic ! and... well, probably the Sonic 4 is basically equal to the versions of Micro$oft or COPY AND then I can talk about the Wii version, and the same in the other two talk, many fans did not like the PS3 for Sonic to be very heavy. I personally saw no problem with that, if the physics of Sonic 4 would equal that of Sonic 1 - & Kncukles, nobody would complain, and vice versa. I liked the soundtrack, but really, yes you can improve for the next ep.! despite being the same GAME! Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    Sonic 4 is a fantastic game kinda easy but don't believe what the users say on metacritic, they are full of crap, they are the same people that complained about sonics design and the 2.5D gameplay lol, it feels like sonic is back as Mario''s biggest rival again,

    but i still stand by what i say and think Sonic 4 should have been released as a standalone retail game
    Sonic 4 is a fantastic game kinda easy but don't believe what the users say on metacritic, they are full of crap, they are the same people that complained about sonics design and the 2.5D gameplay lol, it feels like sonic is back as Mario''s biggest rival again,

    but i still stand by what i say and think Sonic 4 should have been released as a standalone retail game just add more levels, boss battles, mini games and add more Characters like Tales, Knuckles and Shadow.. i say its kinda dumb making it a downloadable when 2D games is making a big return as a retail disk game DOWNLOAD IT NOW.. 1500 Nintendo points
    Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1

    Sonic the Hedgehog 4 manages to captivate tha feeling and type of game of the past Mega Drive 16 bit era. The game is the first one after Sonic and Knuckles to actually remind us that "sonic-ing" does not mean mindless running but a combination of running and stopping to do sone accurate jumping or clever platforming. These are elements that are found in the new sonic game. I love the music in some -but not all- levels. The soundtrack of the first level is very unique and within the spirit of sonic music. I also like the labyrinth zone music and oh- the bosses rhythm!

    The graphics of Sonic 4 have kept the spirit of the series and they do not try to do something "new". This is a good thing. They manage tyo captivate the classic artwork wothout exaggerations (that can be found in some soniv fan games). The graphics are hi-def colorful, clear, detailed, with some wellcoming sparse 3d use (see cards in Casino Zone) that is just enough and should not be overused.
    Sonic sprite is similar to the old good sonic. It is neither too childish (sonic advance) nor too angry. Personally I very much like the fast running effect of his legs and the faithful upgrade of the "almost falling", "look up-down" and die animations. Regarding the gameplay I would like to distinctly refer to the following parameters
    Controls: sonic accelerates slowly, this is not a problem. in fact I find it helpful when i want to make more accurate moves in platforming bits of the game. Once sonic starts running fast the experience is faithful to the classic sonic series. Sonic is not slow. Instead he is more controllable and it is a pitty that many reviewers disagree with this point. When running forward button should constantly be pressed and this is neither good nor bad. Actually I was used in holding forward button all time when sonic runs, so when I firstly played the game, I didn't even notice this issue. Finally the dash attack is a very welcome addition but what could be exluded is the supported forward moving while on air.

    Level design: the levels are finally what I would like to see in a 2d sonic. Not too fast not to cumbersome. They are also multipath and this add replay value to the game. What I certainly didn't like is the free level selection. The surprise "what's next" feeling is not there in sonic 4.

    Difficulty: way too easy. No reason for sooo many lives. Didn't SEGA notice this before the release. The replay of early levels 5-6 times is enough to collect 30 extra lives! The result is that the game can be completed in few hours. There are some tricky bits in some levels. They are so fun that I would certainly replay them from scratch once the Game Over appers. The final boss is tricky. But not so tricky if you get there with 30 extra lives. Other than this, it is a very fun final boss.

    To conclude, the game is a very good sequel to sonic and knuckles, and I consider it as an actual sequel. I would like to see the forthcoming episodes and I really want to see a retail edition with the whole game in the end, at a reasonable price! If I was to give detailed rankings to the game, the scores would be as follows:
    Graphics 8.5
    Sound 8
    Gameplay 9
    Replay Value 8
    Score 9

    If you have any questions regarding this review, you can email me at
    dimitriszikos@gmail.com
    Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    After the recent disappointments that had plagued the Sonic Franchise, Sega went back to the creator of the Sonic Advance/Rush game developer DIMPS to give Sonic fans a game that finally is worthy of the name Sonic. Before this humble reviewer placed his piece, notice that there are a lot of negative scores. This is either from Oldschool fans that were expecting an experience akin to theAfter the recent disappointments that had plagued the Sonic Franchise, Sega went back to the creator of the Sonic Advance/Rush game developer DIMPS to give Sonic fans a game that finally is worthy of the name Sonic. Before this humble reviewer placed his piece, notice that there are a lot of negative scores. This is either from Oldschool fans that were expecting an experience akin to the Genesis/Megadrive days, or Newschool fans that I might deem "Brain-drained" of logic and reason.

    Because seriously: A bad Sonic game by critics is a good Sonic game by users; A good sonic game by critics is a bad Sonic game by users? That is a serious let down and a disgrace to the word, "fanbase".

    The story is razor thin, akin to the razor thin plot points of the Genesis/Megadrive days. Eggman (Robotnik...), after losing to Sonic on Angel Island plots his revenge by bringing the old enemies of the genesis/megadrive days to kill Sonic. Sonic is not having any of that. It's not the story people mind, it's the actual gameplay

    For starters let's get one thing straight. Most of those complaining said a slew of complaints. Mostly in regards to Physics. After playing this game many times, I see nothing wrong with the physics. The usual complaint was Sonic wouldn't "roll fast on a slope" or "roll fast along the ground" and "would drop instantly". All these factors are because there is a strong gravity code in place and if the player is not holding a left or right direction in the pad, the old saying, "gravity brings you down" rings soundly. When you test this theory I have implemented, you will notice Sonic being able to go fast even in ball form and farther too.

    While physics is fine and dandy, the game has some minor glitches like Sonic running up a 90 degree wall with barely any speed, so one would hope this will be improved later down the line. The game also relies heavily on the homing implementation, which is fine but could be removed at some certain points. A minor complaint is that Dimps has a rather nasty habit of over-placing dash boards and springs. Some of them could be removed due to the fact that Sonic has good control and ability, and in the hands of an expert gamer, could easily be untapped. That doesn't make the game bad in the end. It's a great game and it gets challenging as one progresses through.

    As far as the extras are concern like graphics and music and the like, what the wii lacks in graphics, it makes up for it in terms of fluid gameplay and the music (save for mad gear world) fits despite the limited loop. It's the cheesy sounding music that makes us all feel nostalgic when playing the old games. While it nary holds a candle to the past music (3and K had Michael Jackson doing the tracks (nuff' said)), it's much better than hearing different variations of "Seven Rings in Hand" on almost EVERY menu/option/level end theme.

    Overall a great start and an excellent Wiiware title to download amongst the shovelware. Sonic is back, baby!
    Expand
  5. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    10
    What the f*ck? 6.5? Lemme guess; green eyes. The Sonic fanbase is sh*t, and this game's underrated score shows. This game is perfectly fine, it's very good.
  6. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    What's with all the hate for this game? I have replayed the Mega Drive classics many times over and Sonic 4 isn't much worse. Sure, maybe it's not quite as great, but it comes pretty damn close. I have no problem with the physics or the homing attack. It's not the same, but it does feel a lot like you're playing the Mega Drive games. The biggest difference, which I noticed as soon as IWhat's with all the hate for this game? I have replayed the Mega Drive classics many times over and Sonic 4 isn't much worse. Sure, maybe it's not quite as great, but it comes pretty damn close. I have no problem with the physics or the homing attack. It's not the same, but it does feel a lot like you're playing the Mega Drive games. The biggest difference, which I noticed as soon as I started playing, was that if you let go of the D-pad in mid-air after jumping, you fall straight down. But after that it never effected me. I never stopped holding down the D-pad in mid-air, and it felt normal. In fact, in a couple of places this feature comes in handy (like when doing speed-runs or precise platforming). So to me it played a lot like the Mega Drive games, but with a homing attack (which I really like BTW). The visuals, aside from being 2.5D HD, are very reminicent of the old games (Sonic's spines aside, but if you really care, get a life), the music is just like the Mega Drive games, and the sound effects are too. Sonic has returned... But I do have a slight niggle. This thing is 1200 MS points. A tad much for the ammount of content, but I feel it was worth it. If you've never played a 2D Sonic game, go play Sonic 2. If you like it, get the others and this. I feel it is a worthy entry to the series. Final verdict: 87% Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a great game. I'm glad that the game goes back to Sonic's roots. It plays almost like the classics and yes I said almost because the physics are a little different. Now different doesn't mean it's bad. It is a little weird to see Sonic sometimes walking on a slope and gravity can be on the floaty side. But even still It doesn't break the game at all.Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a great game. I'm glad that the game goes back to Sonic's roots. It plays almost like the classics and yes I said almost because the physics are a little different. Now different doesn't mean it's bad. It is a little weird to see Sonic sometimes walking on a slope and gravity can be on the floaty side. But even still It doesn't break the game at all. Infact it makes SuperSonic much more controlable than the Genesis games. Physics aside. The controls of the game are spot on. It's pretty much as you remembered it on the Genesis. The Spindash is useful once again and the homing attack is a welcomed addition to the 2D gameplay. Episode 1 only contains 4 zones with 3 acts each along with a boss act. Now that may sound short, But considering the amount of acts per zones and the length that some require. Episode 1 can arguably be the same length as Sonic The Hedgehog 3 (Alone). All the levels are based on zones from Sonic 1 & 2 with elements from Sonic 3. Splash Hill Zone is basicly Green Hill Zone with swinging ropes and a beautful sunset Act 3. Casino Street Zone is Casino Night Zone but more casino themed with slots in Act 1, Cards in Act 2, & Sonic 3's cannons in Act 3. Lost Labyrinth Zone is well the name speaks for itself but not as dangerous as the original with a unique act 2 with a torch and mine carts. Mad Gears Zone! Metropolis Zone anyone?. And finally Egg Station Zone which is an boss rush version of Death Egg Zone and that pretty much it. Graphicly, Sonic 4 is a very pretty game. All the enviroments look great and nostalgic. Same goes for the sound effects. 16 bit sounds never get old. The soundtrack is also pretty good. Most of the music fit the levels and some jingles are remixes from Sonic 1 and 3. But clearly some tracks are better than others. As with all 2D Sonic titles. The Chaos Emeralds are hidden inside special stages and once you collect them all. Super Sonic can be played in all levels which I am very happy to see coming back. Episode 1 is a great game as well as a nostalgic one. But I do think Sega went too far on nostalgia. I mean a nostalgia game is nice and it's about the right time for one, But in Episode 1 Nostalgia is all it is. Hardly any original content whats so ever. I had the same kind of issue with New Super Mario Bros Wii. last year. Going back to the roots of a franchise doesn't mean to rehash everything. Now the new twists and turns on the levels and bosses are creative but alot of them we have already seen in previous handheld titles. Time Attack is a nice feature and completing for best time and score on the leaderboards are cool. Theirs not much else to say about this game since this is only Episode 1. We only have a taste of what Sonic The Hedgehog 4 will be. Overall this is a great game but it's not by all means perfect. The physics are noticably different,The great overuse of nostalgia. Also Episode 1 lacks Tails and Knuckles. Come on Sega, I miss those guys. It's been almost 5 years since Sonic 06. No more Sonic solo games. We need them back. But with those flaws and nickpicks aside it's a great game and worthy of the name Sonic 4. And it's only the beginning... Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Do not listen to the idiots giving this game a bad review; they are obviously too upset with minor nitpicks ("THE PHYSICS AREN'T EXACTLY LIKE THEY WERE IN THE OLD TITLES THEREFORE THIS IS THE WORST GAYEM EVAR!!!11111!!11!1one"), and thus, they are not capable of formign a valid critique of the game. Sonic 4 is a fine title, and excels in the vast majority of what it touches upon. Sonic isDo not listen to the idiots giving this game a bad review; they are obviously too upset with minor nitpicks ("THE PHYSICS AREN'T EXACTLY LIKE THEY WERE IN THE OLD TITLES THEREFORE THIS IS THE WORST GAYEM EVAR!!!11111!!11!1one"), and thus, they are not capable of formign a valid critique of the game. Sonic 4 is a fine title, and excels in the vast majority of what it touches upon. Sonic is appropriately fast in this title (He is the same speed as he was in the original Sonic the Hedgehog), and for the first time in ages, a Sonic game actually has complex, branching level design (You--get this--don't just "press right" to win!). This game is, by and large, incredible. The level design is top-notch, the Sonic 1-esque special stages are challenging, and it's a blast to play. I do have a few nitpicks with the game; mainly, the controls are not as tight as in the classic Sonic games, extra lives are too easily come by, and I dislike how the game requires you to use the homing attack in certain situations, but again, these are all minor, minor issues, and the good far outweighs the bad. I almost cried after I played through a few of the levels. Sega finally listened, and gave us fans what we wanted. The Sonic I remember from so many afternoons as a child is finally back.â Collapse
  9. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    The graph's use the only thing that sites it apart from most of the games today it has kept it since the first was realised the control of the game is medium the quietly of the game over all to me and others are ever good and what makes it so easy to connect with the game is the story
  10. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    I grew up playing the Genesis games, and love them just as much today. When I first picked up the controller, my first thoughts were "oh no, that's changed" and "dang, that's different." but 10 minutes after I started I was really just nitpicking at the greatest Sonic game released in 16 years. It's a bit short, but it's everything you'd remember from the old days - with lots of nostalgicI grew up playing the Genesis games, and love them just as much today. When I first picked up the controller, my first thoughts were "oh no, that's changed" and "dang, that's different." but 10 minutes after I started I was really just nitpicking at the greatest Sonic game released in 16 years. It's a bit short, but it's everything you'd remember from the old days - with lots of nostalgic bits thrown in! My roommate and I both felt like we were back in the 90's. I give this game a 10/10 Expand
  11. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    Sonic returns to its classic roots in this excellent brand new game, despite that it copies many elements of sonic the hedgehog 2, it still makes up for it with new ones like the homing attack that works like a charm! The level design is great and unique all the way through, and it plays well both in consoles and on the Iphone as well. The only reason I can't give it the 9 score is becauseSonic returns to its classic roots in this excellent brand new game, despite that it copies many elements of sonic the hedgehog 2, it still makes up for it with new ones like the homing attack that works like a charm! The level design is great and unique all the way through, and it plays well both in consoles and on the Iphone as well. The only reason I can't give it the 9 score is because of being way too short, while I know it's an episode, is still too expensive considering that you can get the original games at a lower price but with a lot more levels. Expand
  12. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make very long stages since sonic moves through them so quickly and still keep them enjoyable. The physics just don't bother me, If you play a sonic game how it's meant to be by racing through the levels quickly you won't have time to notice imperfections inThis game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make very long stages since sonic moves through them so quickly and still keep them enjoyable. The physics just don't bother me, If you play a sonic game how it's meant to be by racing through the levels quickly you won't have time to notice imperfections in physics. I agree the magic of the original sonic games still isn't here but It's a damn good effort and I will always welcome more games like this over 3d sonic adventures. Please give me more 2d sonic games and more chances to earn chaos emeralds! Expand
  13. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    With Sonic the Hedgehog 4, Sega and Sonic Team play it safe; but how safe is too safe? that is what each fan ultimately has to answer for themselves. Let's get the ugly out of the way first, I will in no way try to disagree about the wonky physics in this game and am like many others disapointed in that aspect of the game but the problem is, people are burning this game at the steakWith Sonic the Hedgehog 4, Sega and Sonic Team play it safe; but how safe is too safe? that is what each fan ultimately has to answer for themselves. Let's get the ugly out of the way first, I will in no way try to disagree about the wonky physics in this game and am like many others disapointed in that aspect of the game but the problem is, people are burning this game at the steak because it doesn't run exactly like the originals, the thing is, you can still do everything that you could before, sometimes however it just needs to be done in a different way. Once you figure this out, you have a new classic in front of you. The graphics are great and the music sounds much like a nod to the genesis classics, everything is also set up just as the old gen titles. When I say play it safe though, many fans will be split on one thing, this game should perhaps not Sonic 4 as much as "New Sonic the Hedgehog" as while the level designs themselves are new, the ideas and backgrounds behind them are riped right out of sonic the hedgehog 1 and 2, even the bosses are remakes of four bosses from S1&2 (some argue that zone 3's is new but it's really a new take on the final boss in Sonic 1 if you look at them side by side. In the end, if you are nostalgic or just want a new sonic than you can't go wrong. On a final note, for those having a hard time deciding on the console to buy this for here are some things to consider about the Wii version inparticular. For one the graphics are not nearly as sharp on an HD set as the 360 and ps3 version but if your buying it for the wii you're prepared for this. One thing that does stand out however is that due to size restrictions on the wii ware version of the game the Music is in lower quality and sounds much like midi chiptune music than the beutiful arrangments from the 360/ps3 and even I phone releases (which given the choice all three consoles are better obviously unless you must have it on the go ). The result however, may even be a selling pt to diehard fans giving a nod to the wii version as the result of these lower quality arrangements is something that sounds quite different and I'd go as far as to say it gives it a more retro 16 bit vibe, very cool or very bad depending on who you are. In the end, if you want a hard copy of the originals play the originals, if you can overlook the physics however, you have no reason not to give sonic 4 a try. If you love the demo then you'll like what the rest of the game has to offer, and thanks to the return of the chaos emeralds and super sonic anywhere, the replay value more than warrants the $15.00 price tag. Expand
  14. Jan 21, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is nothing to say............................................................................................................................... Expand
  15. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    It's a good remember of these classical sonic, I feel like playing Sonic and Sonic 2.

    It's easier and shorter, casual gamers can play Sonic 4 Ep. 1 without problems.
  16. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Fantastic reboot o the older games. Good music, great gameplay and graphics, and a fantastic new reboot to the classic gaming sonic and am excited for the next addition in the series
  17. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    Likely inspired by Nintendo's return to the traditional 2D Mario games with New Super Mario Bros., and a constant demand for Sonic to return to the good old days, Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I takes us back to 2D platforming levels inspired by the Genesis classics. While it definitely takes aesthetic inspiration from the old games, this is an entirely new Sonic adventure.

    In a lot of
    Likely inspired by Nintendo's return to the traditional 2D Mario games with New Super Mario Bros., and a constant demand for Sonic to return to the good old days, Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I takes us back to 2D platforming levels inspired by the Genesis classics. While it definitely takes aesthetic inspiration from the old games, this is an entirely new Sonic adventure.

    In a lot of ways, this game does its job. It looks crisp and sounds beautiful. The levels are fun to play through. Instead of just being run-and-done like the 2D Sonic Advance games that also tried to harken back the old days, Episode I is more sophisticated with frequent puzzles and environment interaction thrown in the mix that feel reminiscent of Sonic 3. Emerald collecting is just as difficult as I remember, if not more difficult, and the final boss fight is a worthy battle that rivals the classics. Only by collecting all of the Chaos Emeralds can you become Super Sonic and see the real ending to the game. To collect them, as in the first Sonic game, you have to finish seven levels with fifty rings or more.

    The game does have some speed bumps. The most immediate issue I had with the game was Sonic himself. The problem is he doesn't keep his momentum unless you continuously hold the trigger down. Letting go causes him to stop dead in his tracks. This can result in some awkward situations if you’re used to the momentum of previous games. Curiously, it’s unique to Episode I. I went ahead and checked Episode II, and Sonic’s old school momentum returns for the sequel. I eventually found myself adapted to it, but I believe it made some areas more difficult than necessary as a consequence.

    The special zones later on I often found more frustrating than a fun challenge, too. Now, it’s possible(and probable) that I just suck, but I’m just certain the bumper placement was done by someone with serious issues. I have heard complaints that the final boss is an unfair challenge, but what about those bumpers? Entire passageways are filled with them, and if you happen to hit one there's no telling when you will get your beloved Sonic back.

    Despite it's problems, Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I will always hold a special place in my heart. The levels are grand in scale. The final boss took me me forever. The special zones are the definition of brutal. The soundtrack has stuck with me, and the unique gameplay elements, good or bad, make it even more memorable. I could feel that there was love put into the game, and effort was made to give it some balls. I truly enjoyed my time with it, and believe it is a must play for any Sonic fan.
    Expand
  18. Oct 14, 2010
    0
    Do not listen to the idiots giving this game a bad review; they are obviously too upset with minor nitpicks ("THE PHYSICS AREN'T EXACTLY LIKE THEY WERE IN THE OLD TITLES THEREFORE THIS IS THE WORST GAYEM EVAR!!!11111!!11!1one"), and thus, they are not capable of formign a valid critique of the game. Sonic 4 is a fine title, and excels in the vast majority of what it touches upon. Sonic isDo not listen to the idiots giving this game a bad review; they are obviously too upset with minor nitpicks ("THE PHYSICS AREN'T EXACTLY LIKE THEY WERE IN THE OLD TITLES THEREFORE THIS IS THE WORST GAYEM EVAR!!!11111!!11!1one"), and thus, they are not capable of formign a valid critique of the game. Sonic 4 is a fine title, and excels in the vast majority of what it touches upon. Sonic is appropriately fast in this title (He is the same speed as he was in the original Sonic the Hedgehog), and for the first time in ages, a Sonic game actually has complex, branching level design (You--get this--don't just "press right" to win!). This game is, by and large, incredible. The level design is top-notch, the Sonic 1-esque special stages are challenging, and it's a blast to play. I do have a few nitpicks with the game; mainly, the controls are not as tight as in the classic Sonic games, extra lives are too easily come by, and I dislike how the game requires you to use the homing attack in certain situations, but again, these are all minor, minor issues, and the good far outweighs the bad. I almost cried after I played through a few of the levels. Sega finally listened, and gave us fans what we wanted. The Sonic I remember from so many afternoons as a child is finally back.â Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#45 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    88
    No just a rehash, but a brilliant game in itself. Sonic reigns once more. [Issue#232, p.88]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 25, 2010
    100
    Purer and cheaper than Sonic Colours, this is a great reboot for 2D Sonic. [Issue#56, p.74]
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    That's what Sonic 4 is all about: trying to be new while recapturing those fleeting moments of brilliance from the old Genesis titles.