Sonic Unleashed Wii

Sonic Unleashed Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Having been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways neverHaving been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways never before seen. Both day and night play different, yet important, roles in Sonic's newest quest... as the sun sets, a new adventure awakens. By completing a wide variety of action-packed stages, spanning the seven broken continents of the world, gamers unleash Sonic’s amazing abilities to save the world, and himself! In addition to running at high speeds, which is highlighted in four new speed mechanics, combat fighting now becomes possible. New combat, movement, functional abilities and platforming are introduced to offer increased depth and variety. Sonic Unleashed offers a re-defined experience for fans and newcomers of the franchise alike by combing picturesque & detailed scenery, an expansive world with multiple paths to choose from and dynamic viewpoints for an immersive and renewed gaming atmosphere. Along with seamless 3D to classic 2D camera transitions, the game is built on a powerful, new proprietary "Hedgehog Engine," which introduces impressive lighting abilities and new technology tailor made for Sonic’s new speed capabilities. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    If you don't mind some fisticuffs mixed into your high-speed thrills, give Sonic Unleashed a shot. [Holiday 2008, p.80]
  2. Sonic Unleashed is both one of the best Sonic games we've ever played and one of the dullest. If you can put up with the werehog levels you'll love it.
  3. 75
    This has been an exercise in balance that has proved to be worth our while. While this game might not be up to much if you’re the owner of one of the hulking beasts that are Microsoft and Sony’s consoles, if you’re a Wii owner, don’t be put off by what you’ve read.
  4. Astounding day levels gives exactly what fans want.
  5. The Wii version has less annoying traits than the others and still retains all the usual mediocrity. The motion-control elements in the Werehog levels add an extra dimension to the action, and the hub worlds are entirely text-based and aren’t nearly as annoying. If you can stand the diminished graphics, the Wii version actually edges out the PS3 and 360 entries.
  6. The best praise that can be given to Sonic Unleashed is to call it a step in the right direction. Unfortunately, the game is heavily weighted towards its werewolf stages.
  7. 25
    Sega fails to make a good platformer -- pretty much everything Sonic Unleashed does has been done better in tons of other games.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 48
  2. Negative: 8 out of 48
  1. BenG
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Best Wii game and one of the best Sonic games to date. Better than I expected. Play it and see. To Tom C "The worst part about this game is Best Wii game and one of the best Sonic games to date. Better than I expected. Play it and see. To Tom C "The worst part about this game is the fact that the sonic sections are by far the greatest 3d sonic ever." How does that make sense? Yes Sonic Unleashed is one of the best and most important gaming experiences we've ever played, but the fact the game also includes werehog somehow undoes that? Where are people's values? If someone is to deducts points for the werehog it should be minimal, that is if you insist on deducting points at all, because if you do, it is misleading, and it implies we should be avoiding great gameplay just because the total package isn't consistent. Expand
  2. MarvinM
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    Honestly, at first I was hesitant about purchasing this game due to its low ratings. But after playing through it for a couple of hours, I Honestly, at first I was hesitant about purchasing this game due to its low ratings. But after playing through it for a couple of hours, I have to say, I certainly don't regret purchasing Sonic Unleashed. The night levels aren't as bad as you'd think; I think it's quite entertaining to bash those creatures around. Also, the game's got some great replay value because you can unlock many missions, some even entirely new stages. The graphics and music were also great, even for a console like the Wii. So if you're a Sonic fan, go ahead and buy it. If not, consider renting it and taking it for a spin (no pun intended). Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2017
    9
    This game is pretty good on the Wii version the only bad things i can say about it is 1. Forced motion controls on Night Stages 2. HOLOSKAThis game is pretty good on the Wii version the only bad things i can say about it is 1. Forced motion controls on Night Stages 2. HOLOSKA NIGHT STAGES 3. Egg Lancer is pretty unfair but the game has more redeeming qualities than things that hurt its score GOOD THINGS: 1. Final Boss is more fair 2. NO FORCES BUTTON MASHING/QUICK TIME EVENTS 3. Overworld is easier to navigate 4.Eggmanland isn't 20 MINUTES LONG 5.Takes effort to 100% 6. The game has a better live system than the PS3/360 Version 7. Pause sound isn't a Doorbell with all of those together is goes 7/3 good wins!!! so with my powers whatever I give thee 9/10 yay yay confetti!!! Expand
  4. May 6, 2015
    7
    Unwiished is surprisingly great to play yet every critic towards the wolfhog part is true.

    This needs two critics actually: Sonic
    Unwiished is surprisingly great to play yet every critic towards the wolfhog part is true.

    This needs two critics actually:

    Sonic Unwiished:
    -Gotta learn the levels by heart to get your S ranks
    -It's fun
    -It's really fun
    -It's fast, colourful, different, with good control, good music, good visuals(in HD version it's AWESOME visuals, games that came out five years after still looked no better than Unleashed HD)
    -It's exhilarating to go through the levels at that speed, with your reflexes and memory constantly tested, lots of branching pathways and a simple yet all-around fun boost mechanic

    -It's a little bit too "gotta memorise this to win"
    -It's a railway game where you just boost and the game directs you
    -Little too "videogame-y" for a modern game, the mechanics in this could've existed back in SNES days almost, you'd think a modern 3D game could do slightly better than that
    -Bosses are ok but even more videogamey and not that interesting, complex or realistic, they're just sort of there

    Wolfhog Unwiished:
    -Eh
    -Meh
    -Ugh
    -Eh for the generally boring combat
    -Meh for levels that are too slow, and thus far too long in comparison with the much more fun daytime running levels
    -Ugh for the clunky, uninteresting wolfhog platforming where you get auto-grab ledges, your running speed is slow and slippery, your walking speed is Sonic the Snailhog, and it's just generally a very slow, boring, extremely skippable part of the game.

    Combat is a poor God of War ripoff, the challenge is mostly weak, you'll usually just rinse and repeat the same 2 or 3 combos throughout the entire game (left right left, left right strong), the powerups aren't worth the sidequests or just the effort, it generally is an acceptable game but you just will never play it except to get it done with so you can go back to the daytime stages. The combat is not nearly as bad as the ridiculously slow platforming that can completely make you wanna quit the game, but both together comprise the majority of the time you'll spend on Sonic Unwiished/Unleashed.

    On the side note, the few characters, story and world this game introduces happen to do the job just fine. A few cliches, taken lightly, a few quirks, and a decent plot make for a mundane but agreeable story. I played through all of it and hated none, though I'll hardly recall this in years from now.

    The control is fine in the daytime stages and apart from the platforming in wolfhog form, Super Sonic was a huge pain to control. You don't play him long though.

    Music is very nice as usual, visuals are quite nice for a wii game and as a whole, I find the entire game to be an extremely good memory.

    It's probably because I played all Sonics in a marathon, and after the slow, painful descent from the great Sonic Adventure to sh*tty Adventure 2, mildly sh*tty Heroes, really sh*tty Shadow and Sonic 06, having a game that was competently made with no glitches, good control and fun level design, even if it was a pretty simplistic game design, was already a godsend.

    But besides the fact that this is an overall competent game, I think I just like Unwiished for being a fresh new thing. 06 was such an unmitigated disaster that we got an entire introspection by Sonic Team to redo Sonic. Even if he boost mechanic was gimmicky and led to simple game design, it was new, it was fresh, it was revolutionary even, and it started a new age of Sonic that greatly improved with the latter Boost games, Colours and Generations.

    The slight shame is that Sonic Team did not just introspect the gameplay, they introspected on their writing capabilities too. And the verdict was quite cruel: they could never write a good story(ever, there isn't one Sonic story that isn't stupid or outright jarring out of all the previous games, when they had a story anyway), so they decided to go with the most classic, unoriginal ripoff story. Made me think of Zelda even, go around the world, find the stones/pendants(in this case Emeralds) and move on to the next Temple.

    Still, i'll remember Unleashed as one of the few 3D Sonic games that I'd gladly replay, even if only partly. It goes into the good 3D sonic games with problems, along with Adventure and Heroes. It's much more competent than these but also a lot more bland.
    Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    6
    There are really fun levels and really cool music themes and cool bosses to beat. The goal is to get all the chaos animals and beat Dark Gaia.There are really fun levels and really cool music themes and cool bosses to beat. The goal is to get all the chaos animals and beat Dark Gaia. He is massive. The disappointing part of the game was that it was hard to find out how to go to the next level. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    5
    when you are playing with Sonic, the game is OK. But when you transform into a wolf, it's boring compared to sonic gameplay in the day time.when you are playing with Sonic, the game is OK. But when you transform into a wolf, it's boring compared to sonic gameplay in the day time. The game isn't that fun, but is a little bit enjoyable, but there are way better sonic games out there. Collapse
  7. Jan 31, 2015
    0
    Who the hell thought it will be a good idea to make this game?There is no real challenge, the graphics are not so good even for the wii andWho the hell thought it will be a good idea to make this game?There is no real challenge, the graphics are not so good even for the wii and the game lags as **** Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.

Awards & Rankings

88
6
#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
19
#19 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008