User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 57
  2. Negative: 8 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Let's put it simply: This is a collection of the greatest games of all time. If you've played these games before, you obviously know what you're getting into. If you haven't, you're in for the best platforming that has ever graced a console. Yes, these games are all available on the Wii Shop Channel, but the packaging of this product is exceptional. While I haven't listened to the soundtrack CD, I looked through the Mario history art book and was mesmerized by the amount of detail and polish of the booklet. The outer packaging made out of sturdy paper with a velcro flap on the cover. Inside of the box are two dvd cases: one for the actual game compilation and another for the soundtrack cd and artbook. If you've ever been a fan of the Super Mario Series, this is absolutely worth owning. These are some of the best games ever released and they look and play incredibly well on the Wii, despite being a 17 year old compilation. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    7
    I really want to give this a higher score than what I have, but the truth is, the value of this package cannot be determined by the game itself, in fact If the game is the only factor you are interested in, you may want to reconsider. The extras are nice, you get packaging that just screams collectable as well as a CD with some meoralbe tracks and an art book which is very cool for the collector, however the game it self would better present itself as the bonus with the rest of the package. Why I say this is that the game disc is probably less than 1% used.

    Most older gamers should remember Super mario all stars on the SNES a remake of Super mario 1-3 + the first us release of the japanese Super mario bros two dubbed here in the us as "The Lost Levels" Later on a special edition of this cartridge dubed Super Mario All Stars + World was released including a very slightly updated version of mario world (only difference being a new sprite for luigi instead of the original palate swap in the original release of SMW). Unfortunately, this disc only includes the original Mario all stars, no mario world in sight. Also unless you consider the ability to use the wii remote nes style instead of a classic or gc controller an improvement, there is no enhancement to be seen in this Port. Now, is this a bad collection, NO, this is to date still one of the best examples of what a compilation should be and it was done on the SNES, this is a brilliant collection of some of the best games ever. The problem however the price, at the time of release nintendo is asking a hefty $30.00 for this package that for all intents and purposes could have and should have been released on the VC for $8.00 like every other SNES game. What nintendo has done is capitalize on the demand for the title and taken full advantage of the market. Unfortunately this underhanded tactic will work, it got me, and will get most other fans as well, but those on the fence about purchasing this collection you are warned, if you want it, you know you do and there are no actual problems with the port.
    Collapse
  3. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    The Game has aged like a fine wine. Beautiful and it will always be one of the Finest Compilations in the history of Entertainment, not just Video Games.
  4. Dec 26, 2010
    0
    A money grab and nothing more. This is an inferior copy of "Super Mario All-Stars + Super Mario World". The Mario Bros. franchise contains some of the best and most ground breaking games of all time, but I'm rating this particular package for the Nintendo Wii which is what you're supposed to do when you rate this package, as opposed to "Wow Super Mario Bros. 3 is amazing!!! zomg 10/10". With the capacity of the disc they could have squeezed in many other titles. Super Mario RPG, Mario is Missing, Mario 64 and many more could have been added to make this product an excellent successor to the older versions of Super Mario All Stars. Instead all you get is the oldest version of Super Mario All Stars ported for the Wii. If you want to be a sucker and waste your money on this and come on metacritic spamming 10s for this ripoff please feel free. Say that my review wasn't helpful, I don't mind at all. It just indicates that you aren't intelligent enough to realize that a superior version of this game can be emulated in less than a minute. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    0
    Don't waste your money in this game. Is really disappointment because Nintendo don't make any effort. just copy the cartridge of the snes on this dvd.
  6. Dec 23, 2010
    6
    Not a bad release for the price, but disappointing considering this is supposed to be a celebration of 25 years of Mario. For people who have not played these games, it's probably not a bad purchase at all. For the rest of us who've played Mario from the 8-bit & 16-bit days through to the present, this is a lazy cash-in (and a slap in the face) that barely offers the value of Super Mario All Stars released on the SNES a little over 17 years ago!

    I personally would have preferred this had more extensive extras and a more complete set of games. I'd have been happy to pay more for a collection along those line, but as it stands I already own these games on multiple platforms and this collection is where I personally draw the line. I could have tolerated this set had the games received a new coat of paint and the extras had some care put into them.

    Overall, this is a mediocre collection of several superb games. I can only recommend this to hardcore Mario fans or people who have never experienced these games before.
    Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Pretty cool, this games is wonderful! Outstanding! You buy this game and you no regrets. Really guys, buy this game, all best games of Mario 2D, in one CD! It's Amazing!
  8. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Four of the greatest games ever released brought together on one disc. The beginning of the Super Mario Bros. franchise is revived on the Wii. Jump into this time machine and prepare to save a princess.
  9. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    Gameplay is what counts in this limited edition re-release of the first four Mario classics. As soon as you are running, jumping, and finding secrets you will know this is where platforming perfection originated. Happy 25th Mario...maybe your 30th will give us the next four games! And I will surely buy it!
  10. Dec 28, 2010
    6
    I'm in mixed here. How you rate this game depends on you yourself. You can either look at it as four of the best platformers in one package and then some, or, a overpriced VC scam with nothing to separate from it's 17 year old cousin. The package is disappointing for 25 years of one of the most iconic franchises in gaming. So much more could've been included. Ten tracks to represent Mario over 25 years is pathetic and many classic tunes are missed (*cough*Gusty Garden*cough*). And I don't see any problems with adding Super Mario World, imo, the best 8/16 bit Mario platformer, or SMW2: Yoshi's Island, especially since there's been no Virtual Console release. This and much more. For those who don't have online or Virtual Console on their Wii and haven't played these games, I'd recommend it. But, if you have played these games, no matter how much you enjoy playing Mario or these four, timeless games, you will not escape the feeling of how shallow the package you payed £20 for that could've been cheaper or much bigger and better. Expand
  11. JSN
    Dec 26, 2010
    4
    As the IGN review said, this is essentially the original SNES All-Stars repackaged. It comes off as horribly lazy, greedy, and opportunistic rather than a true celebration of Nintendo's most famous character. Why couldn't they have added the SNES Mario games? All of the essential non-3D Mario games would have been included. Nothing was updated to take advantage of the Wii, and even the on-screen controls show the original SNES controller! I love these games, but I refuse to purchase this as it only encourages them to continue ripping their customers off. There's no way this release as a whole deserves 10 points. The games are all worth 9-10 points, but considering all I mentioned before, this release does not deserve such a high score. You're only rewarding bad behavior from Nintendo. Expand
  12. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, re-released with great packaging and Collector's items. These 5 (Yes, 5, "Super Mario Bros", "Super Mario Bros. 2", "Super Mario Bros. 3", "Super Mario Bros. The Lost Levels" and "Mario Bros", they don't list Mario Bros. in the packaging for some reason) games are perfection, and it's simple as that. For $30 you get 4 of the greatest games of all time, the games that inspired today's games. Some people say it's not worth it because you can just either buy the original SNES Super Mario All-Stars on eBay, or buy them all on the Wii Shop Channel, but the fact is, you can't. The original SNES Super Mario All-Stars on eBay with box and manuals, usually goes for 40 to 50 dollars. And these games aren't on the Wii Shop Channel, these games are remastered versions for the SNES, they are remakes of the original games. Nintendo re-made these games back in the day as Super Mario All-Stars for the SNES, and those 4 games are not on the Wii Shop Channel. Also, I want to mention that if you buy the original versions of these games separately on the Wii Shop Channel, it'll cost you $19 and that's not including tax. In addition to the games, however, you get a superb collector's box, with gold embroidery and great design, a CD featuring a song from each of Mario's console games to date, and a booklet showcasing Mario's history, it really is a great package. So, basically, you're paying an extra $11 for a great box, a soundtrack CD, better graphics, and a collector's booket. Is it worth it to you? It definitely is for me, I don't regret it one bit and I'm very proud of have it. In conclusion, I want to mention that anyone who reviews this badly, is both arrogant and a hypocrite, because everyone should agree that these games defined gaming. Expand
  13. May 26, 2011
    10
    All of Mario's greatest adventures with a CD soundtrack from almost all of the main series AND history book? THAT, my friend, is a deal you will not find anywhere else.
  14. Mar 2, 2013
    7
    "Move along, nothing NEW to see here"! A truly great game, but the price it was introduced at was a joke. It should have been 10 dollars or so.

    The reason Im not giving this 10/10 is that Im judging it as a new game. The original is 10+/10! I dont see the new Wii and Wii U instalments every becoming classics. The games included here however, will last forever. Would be cool with an "HD"
    remake that clears up the pixels a bit. It looks fantastic, but peoples TV:s are much bigger now than when it first came out That would have made it worth the extra bucks! Expand
  15. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    READ THIS FIRST. IF YOU HAVE ALREADY PLAYED SUPER MARIO ALL-STARS INSIDE OUT THEN SKIP THE FIRST THREE QUARTERS. IF YOU HAVEN'T THEN KEEP READING. THANK YOU. Still here? Good! Now think back to your childhood. You had an awesome S.N.E.S. in your house and had an awesome game package called Super Mario All-Stars. A nice looking 16 bit rehash of the four games that made Mario famous that eventually led to Super Mario World which is one of the best platformers of all time. The best one of the package was Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels. It was new and one tough cookie to beat and it even had "FOR EXPERT PLAYERS" on the Japanese package. It's the true sequel to the very first Super Mario Bros. and was better than the Super Mario Bros. 2 the Americans and Europeans got because it was only originally released in Japan. All the cool kids of the block talking about it and talking about who would beat the game first. But let's not leave out the other games. The Super Mario trilogy I like to call it. We all know the very first Mario Bros. game. One of the best selling games of all time and the game that pretty much started the whole gaming genre on.....well everything! An awesome game that nearly the whole world has played. Brilliant addition. Now the second Mario Bros. game is actually known as the "black sheep" of the Mario family to many people but to me it's actually not that bad at all. It's different but here's why. There was a Japan only game for the Famicon (the Japanese N.E.S.) called Doki Doki Panic. It was the first version of Super Mario Bros. 2 and played exactly like it. had the same music, graphics, bosses and enemies. Then Shigeru Miyamoto though that the Japanese Super Mario Bros. 2 (which was The Lost Levels) was too hard for European and American gamers so he rehashed Doki Doki Panic and the result was just Super Mario Bros. 2. It plays differently so here's how. You pick enemies and vegetables off the ground and throw them at other enemies for them to die. The enemies are nicely detailed and the Birdo bosses are awesome! You go throw different world and places defeating a boss at the end of each one and then you finally get to Wart a gigantic toad like king that controls all the enemies and Birdos. And Mouser's his top henchman. Defeat him and then you get the scores of each character. You could be four characters in the game now and they're Mario, Luigi, Peach and Toad. They have different stats and abilities. That's all I have to say about Super Mario Bros. 2. And at the end of the game you find out that it's all just Mario's crazy dream! Kind of funny to tell you the truth! Now to the final and best Mario game of the lot. Super Mario Bros. 3. Officially the best platforming game of all time. It introduced new Enemies, Power Ups and had the best music of the series. There was 8 worlds and at the end of each you had to fight one of Bowser's offspring. The last one was Bowser himself. The worlds and places were brilliantly made and I think are the best. One of my favourite games. Now this is 2010. Nintendo have announced a 25th Anniversary Edition of Super Mario All-Stars. You think it's going to bring back all the memories it should do and still stay the same in their 16 bit glory. And this lovely packaged game does just that. Nothing more, nothing less. The game isn't by itself though. As well as the box you get the game and the instruction manual in there's another one. A history box which is titled "Super Mario History 1985-2010". In it is a Soundtrack CD which contains one song from each main console game of Mario from the very fist Super Mario Bros. to Super Mario Galaxy 2. Then there is a history booklet based on Mario and it has some splendid, unseen artwork and quotes from Miyamoto and other people on each Mario game. All of this game package has KICKASS written all over it. Apart form one tiny flaw. The effort. No offense to Nintendo when I say this but you could have put much more effort in this. You could have included Super Mario World at least! Or Super Mario Kart! Or even a graphical update! AT LEAST!?! But then yet again those are very minor things and the reason I'm giving this game a 9/10 is because the games in it are still the awesome ones you remember. The booklet and CD are cool from core Mario fans to hardcore Mario fans. Overall a splendid way to celebrate Mario's 25th birthday! Bye now! Expand
  16. Dec 24, 2010
    8
    Let's get a few things straight. Reviewers like Fluggy and byvek judge this product harshly for being EXACTLY AS THE PRODUCT IS DESCRIBED. I cannot stress the word â
  17. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    I don't know what to say about this one. It's a collection of some of the greatest games in history, but it's just a lazy port of the superior SNES game. The graphics have not been updated and they never bothered to throw in Super Mario World in it. I simply cannot score this game. Yes, it includes classic games, but then again, Mario needs a better 25th birthday. Oh well, here's an eight.
  18. Jul 15, 2011
    3
    Such a great lineup of games should not be disappointing. Well, I couldn't be more disappointed in this title. This was a chance for Nintendo to let Mario's history really shine, and what did they do? They slap a 15 year old collection of even older games on a disc and ask you pay too much for it. There are four things Nintendo could have easily done to make this one of the best deals in video game history. 1. The game is the exact same as the SMAS on the Super Nintendo (you can find it on E-bay for cheap). No updated graphics, no extra games (this is inexcusable, considering the plethora of Mario games out there), no creator interviews or "making of" featurette. Nothing. 2. The booklet barely scratches the surface of available material. One sentence blurbs from the creators? Lazy. 3. The "soundtrack" only has ONE song from each game?! That's not a soundtrack, that's a "sampler platter". 4. The packaging is dull and uninspired. Would it have been so hard to make the game stand out on the shelf a little? It is, after all, supposed to be the glorious celebration of gaming's most iconic franchise. Nintendo could have swung for the fence on this one. A HUGE collection of Mario games (NES all the way up to N64), an entire disc of special features (developer interviews, fearutettes, maybe even a couple of episodes of the cartoon), a REAL soundtrack, all packaged in a collectors tin? EVERYONE would have bought one. If the very people who created this pop culture juggernaut won't take pride in it, why should we? Expand
  19. Aug 28, 2011
    6
    I can't deny that the core games (Mario 1,2,3 and the lost levels) are some of the best retro games that you will ever play on any console. You can't deny that. Sadly, it's not really worth around £25. All of the 4 games, including Lost Levels are on the VC, and considering that NES games cost £3.50 each, to get all 4 of the games on that will cost you exactly £14. Charging at least an extra £10 is so un-fair on people who have recently re-played the games on the VC anyway. While the CD and booklet add slightly more worth, as well as it all being in a lovely box and disc, it's still hard to recommend unless you haven't played them and don't have your Wii online. Expand
  20. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    may have a big price for a snes game, but since i never played the nes/snes games on either of those consoles (though played on vc) ima give it a 94%, considering its like 20 years old
  21. Oct 30, 2011
    7
    This game was fantastic... when I bought it for my Super NES back in 1993. Absolutely nothing has changed, except it's on a Wii disc. Granted, all three Super Mario Bros. titles we grew up with are outstanding, and the "Lost Levels" offers an absurdly difficult challenge to pros, but it just feels like Nintendo was very lazy with this release. An inclusion of Super Mario World or maybe a few minor graphical enhancements would have been nice. Bottom line, every Wii owner should own copies of Super Mario Bros. 1, 2 and 3, whether here or on Virtual Console; the VC versions are cheaper and more faithful to the originals and get the nod here. Expand
  22. May 14, 2012
    7
    Super Mario All-Stars was among the best games ever released on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, representing the staggering achievements of the Mario Bros.' exploits on the 8-bit NES. It was a thing of beauty, and improved upon the Mario games that were already nearly-perfect when they were initially released -- Super Mario Bros., SMB 2, SMB 3 and the previously Japan-only SMB "Lost Levels". Twenty-five years after the first Mario adventure, Nintendo saw fit to re-release Super Mario All-Stars for Wii -- with no improvements whatever. This is a no-frills direct port of the original collection; an SNES ROM burned on to a Wii disc. Nintendo owed Mario and his millions of fans something far better than this to celebrate a quarter-century of gaming's biggest icon. Super Mario All-Stars: 25th Anniversary Edition is worth getting if you absolutely loved the SNES cart and no longer have the console, but Mario purists are better off just downloading the four games included here on the Wii Virtual Console. Expand
  23. Jul 23, 2013
    4
    Absolute waste of money. It's a SNES game on the Wii. Why would I pay £30 on a game that I could get for £5, they don't include anything new in the game, hell, they don't even give you Super Mario All Stars Mario World, it's just the original version of Super Mario All Stars. Don't recommend it at all. You could buy a Super Nintendo and Mario All Stars cheaper than this terrible Wii port.
  24. Jul 23, 2013
    5
    Usually, Nintendo are known for their shameless quality titles. But sometimes, they can be lazy. And what better time to be lazy than on Mario's 25th anniversary? Sure, how can I say I didn't enjoy playing through some of the best games of all time, but they should have released a new game. Super Mario All Stars is here on the Wii to celebrate Mario's anniversary. Fantastic! But what is it? It's a port of a game that came out in 1993. Come again? But that's it: a port of a 15-year-old game. And guess what? This 15-year-old game was actually a collection of 4 classic mario games. Couldn't Nintendo actually release a new game? Why did they chose to re-release a past-generation game, WITH GAMES FROM GENERATIONS BEFORE THAT, on a seventh-generation console? Super Mario Bros, Super Mario Bros The Lost Levels, Super Mario USA, and Super Mario Bros 3 are the games on this ridiculously-priced port. I could tell you how good they are and how much I enjoyed them, but then you know that already, don't you? All these games are available seperately on virtual console (for a lower collective price). So this is a rip-off. Oh, and this version comes with a CD with some of the most annoying, generic sounds in the world, and a history booklet with one-line interviews. I like the four games available in Super Mario All-stars, but it's highly priced and it's a port of a game that came out years ago. Other than nostalgia, there is nothing to save this port, ehich isn't even a remake. To add insult to injury, it doesn't even contain Mario World, the best 2D platformer ever made. If you're looking to play these four games, look no further than the wii's virtual console. Expand
  25. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    Great to own, and that's about it. Super Mario All-Stars 25th Anniversary Edition brings NOTHING new to the table in terms of the game. On the outside a cool artbook and CD! Big thumbs up for those tiny extra's. Now in terms of this one DVD disc... A Super Nintendo rom... That's it! It's not even revamped or updated in any way to push the 25th Anniversary... Just a SNES rom. is it fun? Yes! It's classic in every way and it's as fun as when you played it in the 90's too! Is it worth the money? Well, seeing as I have it (and not selling it at this point) i'd say yes, but only to those who want to feel like they own a Mario landmark in their game collection; otherwise, it's just not worth going the extra mile for. It's a shame Nintendo took this route for Mario on his big year. The Year Of Luigi is getting the much bigger treatment! Expand
  26. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    All I have to say is that Mario still remains one of my favorite video game series of all time. Super Mario All-Stars: 25th Anniversary Collection never disappoints. Score: 4/5.
  27. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    I really want to give this a higher score than what I have, but the truth is, the value of this package cannot be determined by the game itself, in fact If the game is the only factor you are interested in, you may want to reconsider. The extras are nice, you get packaging that just screams collectable as well as a CD with some meoralbe tracks and an art book which is very cool for the collector, however the game it self would better present itself as the bonus with the rest of the package. Why I say this is that the game disc is probably less than 1% used.

    Most older gamers should remember Super mario all stars on the SNES a remake of Super mario 1-3 + the first us release of the japanese Super mario bros two dubbed here in the us as "The Lost Levels" Later on a special edition of this cartridge dubed Super Mario All Stars + World was released including a very slightly updated version of mario world (only difference being a new sprite for luigi instead of the original palate swap in the original release of SMW). Unfortunately, this disc only includes the original Mario all stars, no mario world in sight. Also unless you consider the ability to use the wii remote nes style instead of a classic or gc controller an improvement, there is no enhancement to be seen in this Port. Now, is this a bad collection, NO, this is to date still one of the best examples of what a compilation should be and it was done on the SNES, this is a brilliant collection of some of the best games ever. The problem however the price, at the time of release nintendo is asking a hefty $30.00 for this package that for all intents and purposes could have and should have been released on the VC for $8.00 like every other SNES game. What nintendo has done is capitalize on the demand for the title and taken full advantage of the market. Unfortunately this underhanded tactic will work, it got me, and will get most other fans as well, but those on the fence about purchasing this collection you are warned, if you want it, you know you do and there are no actual problems with the port.
    Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    85
    For a very low price you will be able to get four classic games that will make the older gamers very nostalgic. The old Mario games are as great as ever, even after almost 25 years.
  2. Jan 28, 2011
    80
    Contains some of the best platform games in history. Nuff said.
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    50
    No surprise : Super Mario All-Stars - 25th Anniversary Edition aims to the biggest fans of Mario, who are keen to buy and play games that they've already finished some years ago, just for a few more goodies.