Super Mario Bros. 2 Wii

Super Mario Bros. 2 Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join Mario™, Luigi, Princess Toadstool and Toad in an incredible fantasy world on a quest to save the day. This time, they have little more than vegetables to defend themselves with. Pick up items and throw them at your adversaries to clear levels in seven massive worlds. Even enemiesJoin Mario™, Luigi, Princess Toadstool and Toad in an incredible fantasy world on a quest to save the day. This time, they have little more than vegetables to defend themselves with. Pick up items and throw them at your adversaries to clear levels in seven massive worlds. Even enemies can be picked up and tossed across the screen. Each character has a unique set of abilities: Luigi can jump higher and farther than any of the other characters, Toad can dig extremely fast and pull items out of the ground quicker than anyone and the princess is the only one who can jump and hover temporarily. This unique installment in the Mario series will keep you coming back for more. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    One of the best Mario games. Ignore all comments about Doki Doki Panic, as that doesn't make it a bad game. The ending is spoiled in theOne of the best Mario games. Ignore all comments about Doki Doki Panic, as that doesn't make it a bad game. The ending is spoiled in the manual, so that's kind of weird, but its not like it was an amazing ending anyway. Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    While some might not consider this a true mario game it is very fun and something new that actually works as this will have you playing forWhile some might not consider this a true mario game it is very fun and something new that actually works as this will have you playing for hours with it's gameplay, graphics, and secrets. Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    I'm going to say a bold statement: THIS IS THE BEST MARIO GAME OF THE FIRST THREE INSTALLMENTS. Yes, it took inspiration from Doki DokiI'm going to say a bold statement: THIS IS THE BEST MARIO GAME OF THE FIRST THREE INSTALLMENTS. Yes, it took inspiration from Doki Doki Panic, but is in fact the true sequel. Nintendo wanted a new mechanic, and it was the same as Doki Doki Panic, so they utilized the game engine and what not. This game is full of whimsy and of secrets. Need I say more? Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    I know, this may be the western version of Doki Doki Panic, but I can still call it a Mario game. A great one, at that. The level design wasI know, this may be the western version of Doki Doki Panic, but I can still call it a Mario game. A great one, at that. The level design was great, and it was simply a blast to play. Expand
  5. May 23, 2016
    9
    [Review based on the NES version of this game] May just be my least favorite from the original Super Mario Bros. games (Original to 3). In[Review based on the NES version of this game] May just be my least favorite from the original Super Mario Bros. games (Original to 3). In fact, Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels (the originally Japan-only sequel to Super Mario Bros.) is better than this. However, that doesn't mean that I don't like it. This is a game taken to the next level. It may rip off Doki Doki Panic, but that game still earns the same score if it's on Metacritic. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    Despite not being similar to the other Super Mario Bros games on NES, it's still fun, very fun. This is one of the best NES games ever made,Despite not being similar to the other Super Mario Bros games on NES, it's still fun, very fun. This is one of the best NES games ever made, the only other game so far that I like more then this on NES is Super Mario Bros 3. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2016
    5
    So Lost Levels was too hard for us Americans, and instead we received a reskin of a game from Japan known as Doki Doki Panic. This is SuperSo Lost Levels was too hard for us Americans, and instead we received a reskin of a game from Japan known as Doki Doki Panic. This is Super Mario Bros.2, but I'm going to refer to it as Super Mario USA., as I don't view this game as the true sequel to the original. I can't even call it a Mario game. This is not a beloved classic. This is the equivalent of a Sonic recolor on Devaintart. However, the game introduced a few core characters into the franchise, like Shy Guys and Bob-Ombs, so I'll give it a pass. It's a good game, but I hate it for not being the true sequel to the original. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.