Super Mario Bros. 3 Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Mario Bros. 3 brings Nintendo's popular platformer series back to the familiar gameplay and story of the first installment, while adding plenty of new elements. The game also introduced one of the strangest power-ups in the entire series: Kuribo's Shoe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Such a classic. Although I also love the first Super Mario Bros., this comes in as my very favorite of the old-school Super Mario Bros. games.Such a classic. Although I also love the first Super Mario Bros., this comes in as my very favorite of the old-school Super Mario Bros. games. The raccoon suit, hammer brothers suit, all the variety in the levels . . . not to mention how cool the airship levels are. Just a great game from beginning to end. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Bros 3 is often debated to be the BEST video game of the 8-bit generation! It's a timeless masterpiece, full of innovation,Super Mario Bros 3 is often debated to be the BEST video game of the 8-bit generation! It's a timeless masterpiece, full of innovation, surprises and will be fun forever. Mario 3 is one of the first games I will recommend to retro gamers and will forever be remember as one of the greatest video games ever made. Amen. Collapse
  3. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    Super Mario Bros 3 is the essential NES game, taking everything that made the original a classic. If Super Mario Bros. is the Godfather ofSuper Mario Bros 3 is the essential NES game, taking everything that made the original a classic. If Super Mario Bros. is the Godfather of gaming, this is the Godfather Part II. Expand
  4. May 26, 2011
    10
    Mario at his greatest, this game dominated the NES era and still dominates today. Top-notch graphics, silly power-ups, and great challengesMario at his greatest, this game dominated the NES era and still dominates today. Top-notch graphics, silly power-ups, and great challenges make this game a masterpiece. I love you, Miyamoto. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    This was a great game; a true classic that even has a TV Show cartoon. The gameplay is awesome. The graphics are good for the 80's and 90's.This was a great game; a true classic that even has a TV Show cartoon. The gameplay is awesome. The graphics are good for the 80's and 90's. The koopaling battles are fun. The controls are good. This game is my favourite NES game and is wourth 500 Wii points or $5 USD ON THE Nintendo รจ Shop and it is definitely wourth buying. I went to wourld 8 in LITERALLY 3 minutes on the 3DS. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    I consider this the best 2D Mario game. The mechanics, the level design, the clever enemy and obstacle placement, the item storing system, theI consider this the best 2D Mario game. The mechanics, the level design, the clever enemy and obstacle placement, the item storing system, the interesting themes to each world, everything about this game is the best you will see in a 2D Mario. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    Although I appreciate SMB 3's place in gaming history, the Wii Shop port of this classic NES title is surprisingly poor. Come on NOA! SolidAlthough I appreciate SMB 3's place in gaming history, the Wii Shop port of this classic NES title is surprisingly poor. Come on NOA! Solid controls and for the most part good ol' 8-bit graphics... but there are glitches off to the right of the screen and there is a solid (and ugly) permanent line off to the left. These glitches were not present in the original. One of the best games of all time, until now. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.