User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 2 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    To give this game any less than a 10 is to hate any video game you're are playing today. There would be no more gaming industry if it wasn't for Super Mario Bros. Classic formula and still challenging, even to this day. True gamers must pay homage.
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    This is it. The game that saved the video game industry after the Crash of 1983. What makes it so great is its formula. The object was not to get the highest score anymore, but instead to beat the final boss and save the princess. The music is classic and the challenge is up there (especially on World 8-2, 8-3, and 8-4). It is a good enough game to want to make you get better and better atThis is it. The game that saved the video game industry after the Crash of 1983. What makes it so great is its formula. The object was not to get the highest score anymore, but instead to beat the final boss and save the princess. The music is classic and the challenge is up there (especially on World 8-2, 8-3, and 8-4). It is a good enough game to want to make you get better and better at it until you beat it, and then makes you want to go through again bettering yourself every time. The payoff of finally rescuing the princess is great as is the entire experience before then. It is even more fun with two players! Overall, classic NES title that could be picked up for a buck fifty and definitely worth so much more! Expand
  3. May 26, 2011
    10
    The game that started it all. A great game good for anyone who is up for a challenge. Warp zones, secret areas, and fireworks touch this classic nicely.
  4. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    If you were to ask me what the best video game of all time is, I would have to say SUPER MARIO BROS. The game play, creativity, innovation, play control, power ups and fun atmosphere are timeless and as fun today as they were when released. Super Mario Bros will go down in history as masterpiece.
  5. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Great game. Some aspects are missing like going to the left of the screen, at this point you can only go to the right side of the screen. Some animations are kinda slow on my Wii too. But overall a very nice game. Hope they fix those issues on next updates.
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    I feel like it's a crime if I don't award Super Mario Bros a perfect 1010. It is by far the most revolutionary game of all time. Simply because there would be no video games today without this NES classic. We should also take notice that this game is a heck of a lot of fun. In 1985, Super Mario Bros started the long running side scrolling trend that would dominate the NES library. StompingI feel like it's a crime if I don't award Super Mario Bros a perfect 1010. It is by far the most revolutionary game of all time. Simply because there would be no video games today without this NES classic. We should also take notice that this game is a heck of a lot of fun. In 1985, Super Mario Bros started the long running side scrolling trend that would dominate the NES library. Stomping on famous enemies, the secrets, the adventurous feel, and the clever level designs were only a hint on why Super Mario Bros is a masterpiece. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    We all know Super Mario Bros. (Hopefully) And just like many people say, it is definitely one of the best NES games out there... Wait, one of the best games since the beginning of the video game industry. Very fun and addicting, indeed. Although the game is short (Just like most NES games) it still has a very high replay value. Especially multiplayer mode. Playing as Mario or Luigi with aWe all know Super Mario Bros. (Hopefully) And just like many people say, it is definitely one of the best NES games out there... Wait, one of the best games since the beginning of the video game industry. Very fun and addicting, indeed. Although the game is short (Just like most NES games) it still has a very high replay value. Especially multiplayer mode. Playing as Mario or Luigi with a friend, you won't get bored easily. All in all, a really good game for any casual or hardcore gamer. 9 out of 10 from me. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    This version of Super Mario Bros. captures the reasons why this game has a big impact on the industry. It feels and plays just like the original, with a few exceptions.
  9. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    It's amazing how well this game holds up -- and how challenging it can still be to newcomers, more than a quarter-century after its NES release. If you're too young to remember playing this in its original format, or if you just never bothered, you owe it to yourself to experience this classic. I give it an 8 out of 10 based on how it compares to modern games; the graphics of course areIt's amazing how well this game holds up -- and how challenging it can still be to newcomers, more than a quarter-century after its NES release. If you're too young to remember playing this in its original format, or if you just never bothered, you owe it to yourself to experience this classic. I give it an 8 out of 10 based on how it compares to modern games; the graphics of course are blocky, pixelated and of a limited color palette, the variety is a bit limited, and the ending is weak, but the play control is still the gold standard for every single video game that followed. Recommended. Expand
  10. May 17, 2012
    8
    Super Mario Bros. is a legendary game and one of the best for the NES. The game is not as great as it was 27 years ago, but the game has aged OK and it's still enjoyable.
  11. Feb 20, 2015
    9
    There was before Super Mario Bros., and there was after Super Mario Bros. This game is so much fun. Jump on Goombahs and Koopas. Much fun to have with pipes bloopers and king koopa himself. Save your girl.
  12. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    It's addicting and fun although out of all the Super Mario trilogy games on NES this is my least favorite although it's as i said still fun and hold up pretty well.
  13. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Super Mario Bros. isn't just some simple to play plat-former, it's more than that, it's history. Do you love later Super Mario games, do you love The Legend of Zelda series, do you love other series like Animal Crossing, Metroid, Pokemon, Sonic the Hedgehog, Rayman, Kirby, and many countless other beloved franchises, well all those games have one thing in common, they all just might oweSuper Mario Bros. isn't just some simple to play plat-former, it's more than that, it's history. Do you love later Super Mario games, do you love The Legend of Zelda series, do you love other series like Animal Crossing, Metroid, Pokemon, Sonic the Hedgehog, Rayman, Kirby, and many countless other beloved franchises, well all those games have one thing in common, they all just might owe their existence to Super Mario Brothers on the NES. With this game causing that big of an impact on the gaming industry, how can I not give Super Mario Brothers a perfect 10/10? Expand
  14. May 24, 2014
    10
    Wow ok I just fond my old wii today and I saw super Mario bros on it so I never played it before so I started it for some reason I feel in love with it I already herd about it so I had to rate it and god this game is why video games exist because it saved the crash of 83 so yeah pretty remarkable I give this a ten

There are no critic reviews yet.