Super Mario Galaxy 2 Wii

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1984 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2017
    10
    This is the best game of all time!

    Yes! It's that good!

    Why?

    +The idea of mario and yoshi going to a bunch of planets is amazing.

    +The way Bowser kidnaps Peach is fresh cuz we didn't see such a thing before,

    +This game has awesome boss fights.

    +Creative power-ups... That's all I need to say.

    + there are way more positives but do I need to say them all?
  2. Sep 3, 2017
    10
    I've only played this a couple of times and i never finished it but I came close but I can say it's amazing! The levels, the addition of Yoshi, the music, the bosses, the enemies, and much more! Phenomenal game!
  3. Jul 18, 2017
    10
    La secuela perfecta de un juego perfecto. No hay mucho que decir, es un juego increible, extenso, con uno jefes y modos de juego realmente difíciles, y una historia no muy profunda pero muy buena.
  4. Rgc
    Jul 4, 2017
    10
    I'm going to make it very brief, it's the best video game of mario and patlaformas since the super mario 64.
    Its innovation explains how amazing Nintendo is. The awesome gameplay in this game and the past, the new powers of Mario and the return of Yoshi. The soundtrack is perfect and beautiful.
    In the end, I do not say more since most, if not all, who see this will have played or seen
    I'm going to make it very brief, it's the best video game of mario and patlaformas since the super mario 64.
    Its innovation explains how amazing Nintendo is. The awesome gameplay in this game and the past, the new powers of Mario and the return of Yoshi. The soundtrack is perfect and beautiful.
    In the end, I do not say more since most, if not all, who see this will have played or seen some video.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2017
    10
    Galaxy 2 improves in many ways from its majestic predecessor. In this sequel, the galaxies are very creative, each one offering at least two challenging missions, as well as the hardest level in the series (The Perfect Run). The soundtrack is among Nintendo's greatest. The difficulty is decently high, but not frustrating most of the time, making the game more enjoyable. Unlocking the GreenGalaxy 2 improves in many ways from its majestic predecessor. In this sequel, the galaxies are very creative, each one offering at least two challenging missions, as well as the hardest level in the series (The Perfect Run). The soundtrack is among Nintendo's greatest. The difficulty is decently high, but not frustrating most of the time, making the game more enjoyable. Unlocking the Green Star challenge adds so much more to the game by making you collect all 120 green stars scattered across the universe. But like every game, SMG 2 has its flaws. The story isn't as developed as the one of the first game. In terms of mechanics, it adds nothing. And the final boss was just way too easy despite its epic atmosphere. But this flaws barely even affect Mario's greatest adventure. It's a very enjoyable experience every Mario fan must experience. But let me remark one thing: Super Mario Galaxy 2 was the end of Mario's legendary games, and started the franchise's downfall. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2017
    10
    This game takes every good about Super Mario Galaxy 1 and makes it better in pretty much every way it could. By far one of, if not the best game ever created.
  7. May 26, 2017
    10
    I remember the day I saw the ad for SMG2. I was planning to buy Brawl and Sonic Colors, but this made me instantly scarp both ideas and get this instead. And although I did get both games later, I never regret the decision of buying SMG2 that day. Fast forward seven years and I'm still playing this game and enjoying it like it's my first time. And it's right below SMG (which is myI remember the day I saw the ad for SMG2. I was planning to buy Brawl and Sonic Colors, but this made me instantly scarp both ideas and get this instead. And although I did get both games later, I never regret the decision of buying SMG2 that day. Fast forward seven years and I'm still playing this game and enjoying it like it's my first time. And it's right below SMG (which is my favorite game).

    Super Mario Galaxy 2 (SMG2 for short) did everything the first game perfected and somehow made it better. It took all the smooth platforming, the spin, the planets and gravity and galaxies and added more unique aspects like the flip switches, Rock Mario and Cloud Mario, new and creative enemies and new enemy AI, and best of all Yoshi. Yoshi would regularly feel like a buff to Mario due to his increase flutter jump, ability to take out enemies at a range and 1ups from eating fruits, but his vulnerable and slightly uncontrollable nature seem to keep the game's difficulty the same as with Mario.

    The game does have flaws, such as the dumb enemy AI sometimes and glitches of coins through the floor and whatnot, but the most notable are the new cosmic clones that are creative, but just poorly executed and don't feel right in some areas. Sometimes they're pointless, other times they make the game too hard. But the major complaint with them is the fact that there is no point to cosmic clones apart from creating an effect that we can't just go back and try again.

    Overall, this game is 10/10 no doubt.
    Expand
  8. May 18, 2017
    10
    Muy merecida secuela que supera en todo los aspectos al original. Con unos gráficos y ambientaciones mas típicas de juegos de Mario los niveles se disfrutan y ya el nivel final tiene una dificultad que no se espera de un juego de Mario pero se agradece. Le pongo un 96/100
  9. May 16, 2017
    10
    This game is the definition of a masterpiece. Just about everything in this game is perfect. The level design is the best I've ever seen for any platformer. The music is awe-inspiring and epic. But isn't afraid to be fun at the same time. And this game improves on everything from the last game. The hub world is also really memorable and I actually kind of like it more than the commitThis game is the definition of a masterpiece. Just about everything in this game is perfect. The level design is the best I've ever seen for any platformer. The music is awe-inspiring and epic. But isn't afraid to be fun at the same time. And this game improves on everything from the last game. The hub world is also really memorable and I actually kind of like it more than the commit observatory. This is a must play no matter who you are. PS the gameplay is also stunning and responsive. Expand
  10. Apr 17, 2017
    10
    This game fixed all the minor problems from the original to create a fresh experience that absolutely blew the first out of the water. With tons of fresh new galaxies and worlds to go to this game will keep anyone who was hooked on the original to turn it off and play this instead. This is by far and large the definitive greatest 3D Mario game ever, and Nintendo will be hard pressed toThis game fixed all the minor problems from the original to create a fresh experience that absolutely blew the first out of the water. With tons of fresh new galaxies and worlds to go to this game will keep anyone who was hooked on the original to turn it off and play this instead. This is by far and large the definitive greatest 3D Mario game ever, and Nintendo will be hard pressed to ever make a better one. Expand
  11. Apr 8, 2017
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is even better than the first one. It's the true pinnacle to all the 3D Mario games in general. It's one of the best video game sequels ever made. The story is a lot less epic but a lot more heartfelt and adventurous, excellent gameplay, solid controls, well-crafted graphics and designs, new power-ups to use, bringing back the addition of Yoshi but with new gameplaySuper Mario Galaxy 2 is even better than the first one. It's the true pinnacle to all the 3D Mario games in general. It's one of the best video game sequels ever made. The story is a lot less epic but a lot more heartfelt and adventurous, excellent gameplay, solid controls, well-crafted graphics and designs, new power-ups to use, bringing back the addition of Yoshi but with new gameplay mechanics, brilliant music and a perfectly balanced difficulty. If you love the first Mario Galaxy game so much, you would love this game even more. This is a must-own for your Nintendo Wii library. I gave it the same score as the first one, a 10 out of 10. Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2017
    10
    The bar was set even higher for the sequel to an already perfect game did Mario Galaxy 2 impress. YES IT DID! It added to the first game while staying true to the successor something many games can't accomplish. Everything felt improved from the first game. Galaxy 2 had better bosses and level design which is great because Galaxy 1's levels and bosses were great as well. Overall SuperThe bar was set even higher for the sequel to an already perfect game did Mario Galaxy 2 impress. YES IT DID! It added to the first game while staying true to the successor something many games can't accomplish. Everything felt improved from the first game. Galaxy 2 had better bosses and level design which is great because Galaxy 1's levels and bosses were great as well. Overall Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the best Mario game to ever be released and I don't know if it can be topped. Expand
  13. Mar 25, 2017
    10
    Even though I didn't like this game as much as the first Mario Galaxy, it Blew me away! (Get it? Gusty garden?) beautiful graphics for a wii game, awesome soundtrack, anti- gravity mechanics, good story, great gameplay, and the overall ideal concept of the game made me ADORE it so much, great game, Nintendo, 10/10!!
  14. Dec 19, 2016
    10
    My first game of mario, the best of ever, never I have play a one of this on my life and when I played I was feeling happy for inside, I am remember the bosses in each world. I want other mario Which this
  15. Dec 11, 2016
    10
    It's a masterpiece from every points! A must play for every Wii/Wii u owner! The game is gorgeous and got alot of variety in terms of level design. Technically speaking, It's look damn good too ( even in 2016!). there is alot of great idea in the levels that make them fun. the orchestral music is superb! I love it! A sequel that doesn't change too much, but add more to the experience. NotIt's a masterpiece from every points! A must play for every Wii/Wii u owner! The game is gorgeous and got alot of variety in terms of level design. Technically speaking, It's look damn good too ( even in 2016!). there is alot of great idea in the levels that make them fun. the orchestral music is superb! I love it! A sequel that doesn't change too much, but add more to the experience. Not too hard to finish the main stars, but very hard to 100%. A lot of content as well. Very good replayability. Expand
  16. Sep 20, 2016
    9
    Basically Super Mario Galaxy 1.5. It doesn't mean the game isn't fantastic, though, since it improves on the formula that made the first game one of the best videogames of all time.
  17. Aug 30, 2016
    10
    I almost can't find the words to describe this game. It has spectacular level design, top-notch gameplay, and hours upon hours of fun to be had. Improving on the original in every conceivable way, from the graphics to the addition of Yoshi, this is the best Wii game out there, and my personal favourite Mario game. I would certainly recommend this for Wii owners and or for the VirtualI almost can't find the words to describe this game. It has spectacular level design, top-notch gameplay, and hours upon hours of fun to be had. Improving on the original in every conceivable way, from the graphics to the addition of Yoshi, this is the best Wii game out there, and my personal favourite Mario game. I would certainly recommend this for Wii owners and or for the Virtual Console on the Wii U. Expand
  18. Jul 16, 2016
    10
    I love smg1 but the 2nd one is better cause it has better levels, more variety, good storyline, amazing platforming, graphics, and gameplay, This game is amazing.
  19. Jul 2, 2016
    10
    The last time I played this game was 6 years ago bak in 2010. I was only 7, but I could still tell that this game was a masterpiece. Beautiful orchestral soundtrack that's unforgettable, gameplay that felt like a dream, and environments that made you know you were playing a Nintendo game. I looked back on my profile for the first time since 2010, and I'd discovered I had 100% competed theThe last time I played this game was 6 years ago bak in 2010. I was only 7, but I could still tell that this game was a masterpiece. Beautiful orchestral soundtrack that's unforgettable, gameplay that felt like a dream, and environments that made you know you were playing a Nintendo game. I looked back on my profile for the first time since 2010, and I'd discovered I had 100% competed the game, all collectables found. You know why I achieved that seemingly impossible feat at 7? Because the game keeps you coming back for more, no matter your age. If you haven't already, do yourself a massive favour and play this game. Expand
  20. Jun 25, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is basically Super Mario Galaxy with Yoshi,a few new power-ups, and twice as many stars to collect.But it was still insanely fun and well worth the price.However,the green stars hold it back from being better than the original,since they were just hidden away in every galaxy in the game.You're not really accomplishing anything new,and it felt a lot like excessive padding. Expand
  21. Jun 3, 2016
    10
    + Immersive as hell
    + Somehow even better gameplay than the first.
    + Great visuals again
    + Even more inventive in it's designs
    + Soundtrack is masterful
    + Sense of Adventure
    + Motion control used much more effectively this time around

    - Great visuals in 480i again
  22. May 15, 2016
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is good continue for Super Mario Galaxy . Super Mario Galaxy 2 even better than Super Mario Galaxy . In Super Mario Galaxy 2 graphics even better than graphics in Super Mario Galaxy and Super Mario Galaxy 2 has got very very very good storyline . This is amazing storyline and this game has got awesome gameplay . Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the best game on Mario Series andSuper Mario Galaxy 2 is good continue for Super Mario Galaxy . Super Mario Galaxy 2 even better than Super Mario Galaxy . In Super Mario Galaxy 2 graphics even better than graphics in Super Mario Galaxy and Super Mario Galaxy 2 has got very very very good storyline . This is amazing storyline and this game has got awesome gameplay . Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the best game on Mario Series and one of the best game on Wii . 9/10 . Expand
  23. May 15, 2016
    10
    Старая добрая Super Mario Galaxy. Новые, всё так же красивые локации, немного новых пауэр апов и конечно же Yoshi делают игру очень разнообразной! Конечно же здесь реже используется стратегия разбивания стекла с помощью пули Билла и некоторые другие интересные плюшки первой части - но это нисколько не портит игру. Поиграть должен каждый!Старая добрая Super Mario Galaxy. Новые, всё так же красивые локации, немного новых пауэр апов и конечно же Yoshi делают игру очень разнообразной! Конечно же здесь реже используется стратегия разбивания стекла с помощью пули Билла и некоторые другие интересные плюшки первой части - но это нисколько не портит игру. Поиграть должен каждый!
  24. May 15, 2016
    10
    And there we have wonderful siquel after awesome Super Mario Galaxy. I must say, this game can be better by first part, because where is map, how in SMB3 and much better levels. Actually and 1 and 2 parts - awesomes)) I don't know what still say)
  25. May 13, 2016
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. It is truly amazing how the level design is and this game is so close to perfect that every game should play it. Any of the levels could compose the best part of any other game.
  26. May 10, 2016
    10
    this game is awesome too, graphics are exellent, music too, level design, but the story isnt better than the first super mario galaxy, the powerups are better, 100% recommended
  27. May 3, 2016
    8
    This game is lots of fun for kids and adults to play! The fact it is mostly single-player have pros and cons to them, but it is still amazing! The game-play is fun and unique, and the amount of times you want to repeat the levels in the galaxies is endless! The graphics were amazing, and game looked fresh. The type of music you hear in hear make it feel like virtual reality, and theThis game is lots of fun for kids and adults to play! The fact it is mostly single-player have pros and cons to them, but it is still amazing! The game-play is fun and unique, and the amount of times you want to repeat the levels in the galaxies is endless! The graphics were amazing, and game looked fresh. The type of music you hear in hear make it feel like virtual reality, and the immense detail put into every level is astonishing! The game is long, but not too lengthy, allowing you to play it over again! All-in-all, a phenomenal game! Expand
  28. Apr 27, 2016
    10
    Bueno para mi este es el mejor juego de wii.Me encanta lo de la camara y la jugabilidad son perfectas y que hablar de niveles y musica dios mio.Niveles variadisimos y musica espectacular
  29. Apr 15, 2016
    9
    Over time, I've come to like this game. My original review was very negative. However, this game is rather enjoyable now. The graphics are amazing, even in 2016, the soundtrack has grown on me, and since Galaxy 1's difficulty was low, they made this one of the more challenging Mario games. The only thing I don't like about the game is how similar it is to Galaxy 1. But I still recommend itOver time, I've come to like this game. My original review was very negative. However, this game is rather enjoyable now. The graphics are amazing, even in 2016, the soundtrack has grown on me, and since Galaxy 1's difficulty was low, they made this one of the more challenging Mario games. The only thing I don't like about the game is how similar it is to Galaxy 1. But I still recommend it to hardcore Mario fans. Expand
  30. Apr 9, 2016
    10
    This game should be a Nintendo Selects. The 3D is less dizzying and the main theme is majestic. Super Mario 2 is one of the best games for Wii, and this game should really deserve a sequel in the Nintendo NX.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    If you loved the first Super Mario Galaxy, you will adore the sequel.
  2. While Super Mario Galaxy 2 could easily have been a cheap cash-in with a few lackluster additional levels, it manages to be something more. It expands on the gameplay of Super Mario Galaxy and adds enough new twists and turns to feel like a full-fledged sequel.
  3. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is largely more of the same, and that helps make it a phenomenal experience. Nintendo didn't reinvent the formula. Instead, it took what fans loved about the prequel and then jazzed everything up with never before seen galaxies, planets and a more streamlined user interface.