Super Mario Galaxy 2 Wii

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1808 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 14, 2016
    10
    Here we go again for the sequel to Super Mario Galaxy. When you realize that video game sequels turn out to be better than most movies out there, you just realize that Super Mario Galaxy 2 is crowned to Super Mario Galaxy just as some sequel movies did with their predecessors.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I've briefly played "Super Mario Galaxy 2" and although it was brief, I still remember the epicness from the game. Not only does the game look clean and good, but the mechanism was simple and familiar. Mario couldn't look better in any other Mario games than this one. The brilliant, pure creativity of the product was also a blast. BUY IT!!!
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    I never played the 1st Super Mario Galaxy but the 2nd one is absolutely amazing. Smooth graphics, fun gameplay, and amazing design make this the best 3D Mario game yet!
  4. Jul 16, 2016
    10
    I love smg1 but the 2nd one is better cause it has better levels, more variety, good storyline, amazing platforming, graphics, and gameplay, This game is amazing.
  5. Sep 11, 2014
    10
    I'll never know if "Super Mario Galaxy 2" or "Super Mario Galaxy" is better because they're both absolutely amazing. It adds so much stuff from the first one that it definitely feels new and fresh. The graphics and music are better, the gameplay is still amazing, and, even better, it could have been just a cheap cash-in, but it rivals its predecessor in almost every way. If you loved theI'll never know if "Super Mario Galaxy 2" or "Super Mario Galaxy" is better because they're both absolutely amazing. It adds so much stuff from the first one that it definitely feels new and fresh. The graphics and music are better, the gameplay is still amazing, and, even better, it could have been just a cheap cash-in, but it rivals its predecessor in almost every way. If you loved the first one, you'll love this one even more. Expand
  6. May 15, 2016
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is good continue for Super Mario Galaxy . Super Mario Galaxy 2 even better than Super Mario Galaxy . In Super Mario Galaxy 2 graphics even better than graphics in Super Mario Galaxy and Super Mario Galaxy 2 has got very very very good storyline . This is amazing storyline and this game has got awesome gameplay . Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the best game on Mario Series andSuper Mario Galaxy 2 is good continue for Super Mario Galaxy . Super Mario Galaxy 2 even better than Super Mario Galaxy . In Super Mario Galaxy 2 graphics even better than graphics in Super Mario Galaxy and Super Mario Galaxy 2 has got very very very good storyline . This is amazing storyline and this game has got awesome gameplay . Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the best game on Mario Series and one of the best game on Wii . 9/10 . Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Nintendo breaks all norm as they release a sequel of a mario game on the same console (the last time they did this was on SNES). Regardless, for those who loved Mario Galaxy will enjoy this one even more, as it includes more old features that were left out on the original, as Yoshi returns, some nostalgic stages and music are back. Nintendo really outdone themselves in the graphics (whichNintendo breaks all norm as they release a sequel of a mario game on the same console (the last time they did this was on SNES). Regardless, for those who loved Mario Galaxy will enjoy this one even more, as it includes more old features that were left out on the original, as Yoshi returns, some nostalgic stages and music are back. Nintendo really outdone themselves in the graphics (which are HD quality like), Orchestral Music Score, and a even more improved gameplay structure. Expand
  8. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    This game is an improvement to the original in every way. Seriously, besides how short it was, this game is perfect. Great level design, perfect controls, breathtaking graphics, beautiful music. The boss fights are all creative and original. Everything in this game is imaginative, from the levels to the power-ups. A little bit more linear than one with its level selection, not that that'sThis game is an improvement to the original in every way. Seriously, besides how short it was, this game is perfect. Great level design, perfect controls, breathtaking graphics, beautiful music. The boss fights are all creative and original. Everything in this game is imaginative, from the levels to the power-ups. A little bit more linear than one with its level selection, not that that's a bad thing. If you are even slightly a platforming/Mario fan, this is a must own. The only reason not to play this game is if you really hate platforming games. Other than that, just try it out and see for yourself. Hopefully your experience will be just as good as mine. Expand
  9. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    The Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are the best games to be released on the Wii and are some of the best games to be released in the seventh generation of video game consoles. The originality in the level design is awesome and the fun that comes from the gameplay is unforgettable. There is more originally in some single levels of Galaxy than some entire games! The soundtrack of Galaxy isThe Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are the best games to be released on the Wii and are some of the best games to be released in the seventh generation of video game consoles. The originality in the level design is awesome and the fun that comes from the gameplay is unforgettable. There is more originally in some single levels of Galaxy than some entire games! The soundtrack of Galaxy is freaken wicked and the graphics are charmingly simple and well designed. The removal of the story makes SMG2 a better game that the first. Galaxy 2 near perfect and is one of the best single player games in years. Highly recommended!â Expand
  10. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    I was originally put off by this game due to the very boring first levels. However, it gets great in "harder" levels. However the difficulty in some levels is not a good difficulty, but rather due to the less than good controls. Also the multiplayer is very boring, and after playing multiplayer for a few levels, just decided to take the levels in turns in single player mode due to the onlyI was originally put off by this game due to the very boring first levels. However, it gets great in "harder" levels. However the difficulty in some levels is not a good difficulty, but rather due to the less than good controls. Also the multiplayer is very boring, and after playing multiplayer for a few levels, just decided to take the levels in turns in single player mode due to the only result of the multiplayer not being fun, but an ache in your arm after pointing at the screen for hours. Expand
  11. Jan 10, 2015
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy may have been the best game before 2010 but when Super Mario Galaxy 2 arrived...it defined the platforming genre...again.

    Super Mario Galaxy 2 lives up to all of my expectations of a fantastic platformer and a fantastic Mario game. I honestly think it's the best game ever made. That's truly all that needs to be said. I suppose I do need to elaborate though. There
    Super Mario Galaxy may have been the best game before 2010 but when Super Mario Galaxy 2 arrived...it defined the platforming genre...again.

    Super Mario Galaxy 2 lives up to all of my expectations of a fantastic platformer and a fantastic Mario game. I honestly think it's the best game ever made. That's truly all that needs to be said. I suppose I do need to elaborate though. There isn't a single bad level in the game. None of the levels are badly designed. They may be tough and they may test your skill and patience, but that's never the game's fault. The game is entirely based on skill and not luck.

    Galaxy 2's bosses are better than ever even if some of them are pretty much copied and pasted from the original game. The Bowser Jr. bosses really stand out from the rest. They are perhaps some of the most unique bosses in the Mario series. The Bowser bosses are a bit of a disappointment because they're essentially the same thing over and over again but the others more than make up for it.

    There's even more Power Stars to collect than ever before and that's a good thing. The new Prankster Comets provide much more replay value and add even more challenge to an already moderately difficult game. Prankster Comets can be timed challenges, changed-up bosses, and much more. They're a genius addition to the game that makes this one of the most repayable Mario games.

    Let's be honest: the Comet Observatory hub in the original Mario Galaxy was a bit confusing. The new Starship Mario hub is much simpler. Guests like Yoshi, star bunnies, and Gearmos can arrive on the ship and give you helpful tips. A new world map has been added that allows you to find the galaxies and individual levels much easier. Speaking of Yoshi, the green dino's back and thanks to the pointer controls, he's much easier to control. I'm looking forward to seeing Yoshi in more 3D platformers!

    Overall, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is a fantastic platformer and in my opinion, the best game ever made. Everything in it is amazing from the return of Yoshi to Starship Mario to Prankster Comets and much more!
    Expand
  12. Nov 12, 2015
    10
    Three Words: BEST. GAME. EVER!!!!!!

    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the sequal to Super Mario Galaxy 1 (released back in 2007) and fixes and improves just about everything from Galaxy Design to Adding Yoshi and many other great features. The graphics are really great for the Wii. The controls are perfect. The galaxies are cool and awesome, some are challenging. The gameplay is flawless. Super
    Three Words: BEST. GAME. EVER!!!!!!

    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the sequal to Super Mario Galaxy 1 (released back in 2007) and fixes and improves just about everything from Galaxy Design to Adding Yoshi and many other great features. The graphics are really great for the Wii. The controls are perfect. The galaxies are cool and awesome, some are challenging. The gameplay is flawless. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is also one of the first ever games on the Wii to complete it 100% and I got it in 2010 and been playing it since then. If you own a Wii, this game is one of the Top Priorities to get first along with Mario Kart Wii and Mario Party 8 or 9. And Super Smash Bros. Brawl. But in my opinion, they're all great games but NONE, and I mean not a SINGLE one is better than Galaxy 2. I totally recommend this game because it's very fun and amazing and if you hate SMG1 or 2, you are WAAAAAAAAY BEYOND silly as JB.
    Expand
  13. May 25, 2011
    10
    This game is outstanding. Beautiful graphics, a wonderful orchestral soundtrack, impossibly excellent gameplay, and memorable characters. 5 minutes in and I was amazed. Nintendo had pulled out all the stops for this. If you haven't played this game, you need to. Trust me, you'll thank me later.
  14. Dec 7, 2015
    8
    While most people say it improved on the first game, I didn't think it quite compared, although it did have a few nice additions, such as a better player 2, Yoshi, new power-ups and a more accessible playable Luigi. It's flaws? The storyline was a bit weak, and a lot of the game was familiar. But, it still is one of the greatest Wii games ever, and I would definitely recommend it to fansWhile most people say it improved on the first game, I didn't think it quite compared, although it did have a few nice additions, such as a better player 2, Yoshi, new power-ups and a more accessible playable Luigi. It's flaws? The storyline was a bit weak, and a lot of the game was familiar. But, it still is one of the greatest Wii games ever, and I would definitely recommend it to fans of Mario, space and of course, the first game. Expand
  15. Jan 19, 2015
    8
    This was a fun continuation to the super Mario galaxy franchise. But, it was nothing like the first

    Pros
    -fun gameplay
    -nice bosses

    Cons
    -Too hard sometimes
    -to complex

    I will definitely buy super Mario galaxy 3 if it comes out.
  16. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    I like the original more but this a great sequel to game everything that was Great in the first game is back and with more galaxy's, enemies, and power ups even if you haven't played the first game or a Mario game in general if you have a Wii then get this game.
  17. ERB
    Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is back with It's new game Super Mario Galaxy 2.This game pretty much improved upon the original.The graphics is the first thing.This game's graphics are beautiful than any other games I played in 2010.The world is beautiful and creative which is awesome.The game play comes second the game is fun and entertaining and rising as the best Mario game ever.The game is fun andSuper Mario Galaxy is back with It's new game Super Mario Galaxy 2.This game pretty much improved upon the original.The graphics is the first thing.This game's graphics are beautiful than any other games I played in 2010.The world is beautiful and creative which is awesome.The game play comes second the game is fun and entertaining and rising as the best Mario game ever.The game is fun and I just love this game and in my opinion there is no smart people in our planet who thinks that this game is boring which is not.The game is fun especially when you are playing with your friends.And I promise you guys you will have a great time with your friends if you play this game with them.The story line comes third.The story is really not interesting and memorable but the story is just ignored so It really does not matter.But who cares this game is entertaining and fun so the story doesn't really matter.The world in this game is beautiful and It is probably one of the best looking game in this generation.I love this game and It gets a 9/10 from me If the story line was good it should have got a 10/10 from me.This game is entertaining and I highly recommend you people to buy this game and try playing It.Have a great time and I hope I get many likes in my review. Expand
  18. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    After I saw this on E3, the first thing that came on my mind is that how the hell could they top Galaxy, one of the very best games on the Wii system? Consider my question irrelevant as Galaxy 2 is a complete and total superiority over Galaxy. Gameplay is completely improved with more variety, the level design is more creative, the orchestral music is more grandiose and epic and it is aAfter I saw this on E3, the first thing that came on my mind is that how the hell could they top Galaxy, one of the very best games on the Wii system? Consider my question irrelevant as Galaxy 2 is a complete and total superiority over Galaxy. Gameplay is completely improved with more variety, the level design is more creative, the orchestral music is more grandiose and epic and it is a more challenging, difficult game on its own. BUY IT NOW! Expand
  19. Jul 15, 2015
    10
    A good sequel that improves in almost every aspect from the first game. Of course visually the three years are obvious with better texture and light effects, definitely one of the best looking Wii game. But what really surprises me was all the innovations concerning the gameplay: first ,of course, it's the appearance of Yoshi that already brings some new game mechanics, but when I wasn'tA good sequel that improves in almost every aspect from the first game. Of course visually the three years are obvious with better texture and light effects, definitely one of the best looking Wii game. But what really surprises me was all the innovations concerning the gameplay: first ,of course, it's the appearance of Yoshi that already brings some new game mechanics, but when I wasn't expecting more, they also add more Power ups and mini games and simply new platforming mechanics.

    One of my biggest complaint about the first one was that the game was getting a bit repetitive at the end and they should have cut some levels, with Super Mario Galaxy 2 every level has its own identity, yet the game still last 15 hours more or less, good job Nintendo !

    I'll still complain about the lack of a true worked story, but hey, it's not like all the Mario games have more or less the same one. Overall 9.5 rating, but to mark the improvement from the first one I'll give it a 10, great fun in a lovely and imaginative universe, must play for every platform lover.
    Expand
  20. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    A truly excellent Wii game that could have been harder for old school gamers. Galaxy 2 turned out to be just the right length and difficulty for anyone to have fun. You can even ride Yoshi and transform into many new forms. This could very well be the best 3d Mario game and goes right up there with N64, however not as classic as Mario 3. While not truly inspired, because it is a sequel,A truly excellent Wii game that could have been harder for old school gamers. Galaxy 2 turned out to be just the right length and difficulty for anyone to have fun. You can even ride Yoshi and transform into many new forms. This could very well be the best 3d Mario game and goes right up there with N64, however not as classic as Mario 3. While not truly inspired, because it is a sequel, this game was fun, addictive, and made some improvements. It is a very solid game that should please anyone of any age. If you like collecting stars to advance to the next level, buy it. Expand
  21. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    I would rather play New. Super Luigi U, as the challenge factor in this game is very high, but has graphics that look better than HD games like CoD Black Ops and Sonic the Hedgehog (both for Xbox 360 and ps3), really fun level design and a good storyline, despite having he whole "Peach is kidnapped again and bowser has gained a new foooorm D:!!!!!!" thing that all Mario games have. AI would rather play New. Super Luigi U, as the challenge factor in this game is very high, but has graphics that look better than HD games like CoD Black Ops and Sonic the Hedgehog (both for Xbox 360 and ps3), really fun level design and a good storyline, despite having he whole "Peach is kidnapped again and bowser has gained a new foooorm D:!!!!!!" thing that all Mario games have. A pleasing experience with the best graphics ever seen on a wii game, reccomended for Nintendo fans. Expand
  22. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Mario Galaxy 2 truly is the Jewel in the Wii's Crown. I was surprised to find that I enjoyed this game even more than the first one, I loved that game, even saying it was the best game on the Wii. This one is more streamlined, the levels are possibly more fun and the graphics are even better. The only thing the first one has over this is the story, but Mario games aren't amazing for thatMario Galaxy 2 truly is the Jewel in the Wii's Crown. I was surprised to find that I enjoyed this game even more than the first one, I loved that game, even saying it was the best game on the Wii. This one is more streamlined, the levels are possibly more fun and the graphics are even better. The only thing the first one has over this is the story, but Mario games aren't amazing for that anyway. This seriously is the best game on the Wii. Plus, it has Yoshi, which is always good. And the boss battles with Bowser this time are incredibly epic. Everything just works so smoothly and well, Nintendo obviously put a lot of work into this masterpiece. Best game of the generation easily. Expand
  23. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Like it's predecessor, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is another masterpiece created by the genius minds at Nintendo, however as much as I love this game, I think I may actually still like the first game better which may be saying a lot since a lot of people prefer this game over the first. I do love this game, I think there is some fantastic gameplay and levels. I also love that Yoshi is playableLike it's predecessor, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is another masterpiece created by the genius minds at Nintendo, however as much as I love this game, I think I may actually still like the first game better which may be saying a lot since a lot of people prefer this game over the first. I do love this game, I think there is some fantastic gameplay and levels. I also love that Yoshi is playable in this, he controls great and this is probably one of his best appearances in a Mario game. Cool atmospheres are also present, and so much fun stars and items to collect that won me over, causing me to give this game a perfect 10/10; but there is two small details about this game that didn't seem as strong in this game as it did in the first. First off, the story; too be honest I was not impressed by this game's story, it kind of felt like a dumbed-down version of SMG1's story; I liked that the first game's story seemed more sophisticated and had some dark themes, something that this sequel's imitation story falls short on. Another thing is that the levels did feel a tad bit liner when compared to the first, there were still extremely fun at times, but it felt almost more "straight-forward" than the first. Anyway, enough of the nit-picking, these are minor things to me, but they still make me prefer the first, but I still think this game has excellent gameplay, fun challenges, beautiful music (like the first) and an experience I'll never forget. SMG2 is another essential on the Wii. Expand
  24. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    This has to be one of the best games of all time. It is a totally awesome game! The level designs are awesome. The graphics are great for Wii. The power ups are fun to use. They even included Yoshi and I love him. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is even better than the first and you should definitely 100% buy it!
  25. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Do you know how hard it is for an already perfect game to be improved on? This game did, and it did it in spades. Everything that was perfect about Galaxy was improved in Galaxy 2. While this game is an improvement, and it does not have the charm the original Galaxy hard, but that does not stop it from being one of the best sequels to a game of all time, not by a landshot.
  26. May 31, 2012
    10
    Everything a game should be. Getting all the stars means 30 hours of constantly new, fun experience. From start to end you will never be bored. The difficulty is perfect, challenging but not in a broken way. The hardcore player will be immensely challenged before getting all the starts, but rarely frustrated because it's so fun. Anyone can enjoy this game. Why? Because it's near perfect,Everything a game should be. Getting all the stars means 30 hours of constantly new, fun experience. From start to end you will never be bored. The difficulty is perfect, challenging but not in a broken way. The hardcore player will be immensely challenged before getting all the starts, but rarely frustrated because it's so fun. Anyone can enjoy this game. Why? Because it's near perfect, it's a master piece, the level designs and ideas are incredible. Expand
  27. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    A content packed game, with a stunning soundtrack, stunning visuals and some of the most fun you will get on Wii. This is by far the best Wii game, few other titles, if any, come close to the imagination, playfullness or perfection that Galaxy 2 achieves.
  28. May 29, 2015
    10
    Takes everything from SMG and turns it up. The level designs, power ups, and difficulty have all been improved since the first title and make this one of the best Super Mario games and my favourite Wii game. The graphics are very good, the orchestral music adds excitement to the game, and the controls are spot on.

    The only thing I didn't enjoy, which somehow was one thing everyone
    Takes everything from SMG and turns it up. The level designs, power ups, and difficulty have all been improved since the first title and make this one of the best Super Mario games and my favourite Wii game. The graphics are very good, the orchestral music adds excitement to the game, and the controls are spot on.

    The only thing I didn't enjoy, which somehow was one thing everyone seemed to get excited about, is the map screen, which in itself serves its purpose well, but the fact you have to step on a switch to then zoom to the map slows down the flow of the game.

    There are so many levels this game will last you a lot longer than most SMB games of late, and you will have so much fun playing you will want to continue on to the end.
    Expand
  29. Mar 28, 2015
    10
    Two Thumbs Up and Lets Get Playing. I love this game. it is better than the 1st. the 2nd is more organized, more harder, and even has lots or secrets and puzzles. i love this game more than the 1st.
  30. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    Where do I even begin? This is an incredible game, which is even better than the original Super Mario Galaxy. And Super Mario Galaxy was absolutely amazing. The thing that makes galaxy 2 successful is that it takes all the creativity that made Galaxy a superb game and not only expands on it, but completely reinvents it. The basic goal of each level is the same- grab that power star. ButWhere do I even begin? This is an incredible game, which is even better than the original Super Mario Galaxy. And Super Mario Galaxy was absolutely amazing. The thing that makes galaxy 2 successful is that it takes all the creativity that made Galaxy a superb game and not only expands on it, but completely reinvents it. The basic goal of each level is the same- grab that power star. But Galaxy 2 throws in so many new elements as well as keeping the old ones.
    Each galaxy has a particular theme that is fully stretched to all its potential- such as the shiverburn galaxy, a mix of lava and ice, with bliss platforming so perfectly crafted. Then there's the Cosmic Cove galaxy, so damn pretty it's a shame the wii isn't HD. And then there's the chompworks galaxy, a sort of intergalactic chomp factory. Throughout the 49 galaxies, you'll meet interesting and eccentric characters, and run round planets, puzzles and enemies that are full of beauty and creativity. The storyline doesn't even matter- it's the characters in it that are important in Galaxy 2. They're funny, full of eccentricity and you always want more of them. Each galaxy has a unique concept that often could be made into an entirely new videogame! The gravity-defying mechanic of galaxy is used in a variety of interesting ways, and the camera rarely lets you down.
    The bosses are challenging and it's up to you to figure out how to defeat them.
    What makes galaxy 2 so incredible is a,so that galaxy's very few issues are addressed. There weren't many of them, but there were certainly fun. The first was getting to the levels: It was cumbersome and annoying trying to get round the observatory. Now, all the levels are in the same place, easily accessible.
    Another problem had been comet levels. These special twists appeared in galaxies and replaced all the levels until you completed it. In galaxy 2, it doesn't replace the levels, and the only way to unlock these extra levels is to collect the comet medals- one in each galaxy. They offer a superb challenge to completionists.
    Galaxy 2 also lets you know when you've passed a checkpoint, unlike galaxy, when you didn't know if you'd restart from the start of the level or halfway through. Galaxy 2 also doubles the amount of the stars to collect, thanks to a secret that will reveal 120 bonus stars.
    The graphics are also incredible and spectacular- it's a feast for the eyes- and the music is played by an orchestra, which really conveys both the loneliness and vadtness of space. The music and graphics both are simply beautiful.
    Gakaxy 2 is the sequel we all wanted.
    Expand
  31. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    I dont mean any offense, but if you think that this game with so much variety, ease of use, amazing sound, and lengthy gameplay time to get a bang out of your buck is anything less than as perfect as games can possibly get, then there is something wrong here.
  32. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = How did Nintendo manage to make a better game than Super Mario Galaxy?? Unbelievable!!
  33. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    The greatest Nintendo character of all time gets the best game series ever created in the form of Super Mario Galaxy.

    These games are so well crafted and fun that it might be the closest thing to a 'perfect rating' a game could ever get. Everything from the fantastic level design, worlds, characters and beautiful graphics to the breathtaking scope and Bosses makes this one of the very
    The greatest Nintendo character of all time gets the best game series ever created in the form of Super Mario Galaxy.

    These games are so well crafted and fun that it might be the closest thing to a 'perfect rating' a game could ever get. Everything from the fantastic level design, worlds, characters and beautiful graphics to the breathtaking scope and Bosses makes this one of the very best games of all time! It well deserves the attention it gets and as always, I can't wait for Nintendo's next instalment in the Mario franchise.
    Expand
  34. Jul 17, 2015
    9
    The first Galaxy game, but better in almost every way. I loved going around Space as one of my favourite video game characters! Definitely buy if you're still looking for games to play on your Wii.
  35. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    This is a very good game... just not a great one. Galaxy 2 bears so many similarities to the 2007 title that you can't help but feel that this feels more like an expansion pack instead of a full-blown sequel. Case in point, the very first sub-boss is identical to one boss from the first Galaxy, right down to the pattern to defeat it. Ultimately, this familiarity really works against theThis is a very good game... just not a great one. Galaxy 2 bears so many similarities to the 2007 title that you can't help but feel that this feels more like an expansion pack instead of a full-blown sequel. Case in point, the very first sub-boss is identical to one boss from the first Galaxy, right down to the pattern to defeat it. Ultimately, this familiarity really works against the game and holds it back from what it should have been. Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Words cannot describe the genius of this game. This game is a testament to the creative spirit of humanity. It's hard to fathom how a Mario game can achieve such technical, artistic, and gameplay perfection, yet this game does everything right. It's charming, jam-packed with content, and simple to learn but hard to master. Just when I though Galaxy 1 was perfect, Galaxy 2 supersedes it!Words cannot describe the genius of this game. This game is a testament to the creative spirit of humanity. It's hard to fathom how a Mario game can achieve such technical, artistic, and gameplay perfection, yet this game does everything right. It's charming, jam-packed with content, and simple to learn but hard to master. Just when I though Galaxy 1 was perfect, Galaxy 2 supersedes it! All other platformers, as good as they may be, pale in comparison. Expand
  37. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This game is easily one of the greatest video games ever made. It's just amazing! Let's start with the gameplay. The gameplay is top notch! It's so much fun and addicting that no one will ever want to put it down. It's a huge improvement over the first game (even though the gameplay for the first one was still great). This one includes Yoshi, and this is by far Yoshi's best game withThis game is easily one of the greatest video games ever made. It's just amazing! Let's start with the gameplay. The gameplay is top notch! It's so much fun and addicting that no one will ever want to put it down. It's a huge improvement over the first game (even though the gameplay for the first one was still great). This one includes Yoshi, and this is by far Yoshi's best game with Mario yet. The graphics are great too, especially by Wii standards. Every single detail of this game makes it look more like an X-Box 360. However, this game is nothing like anything on the 360, it's even better! While not my personal favorite game (Super Smash Bros. Brawl still beats it), it's still an incredible game. My description of this game, in the words of Sonic Colors, Good! Great! Awesome! Outstanding! Amazing!!!! Expand
  38. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Very attractive game for all gamers. Plenty of action with difficulties easy enough for the younger audience. Orchestrated music is probably the thing that really brings this game alive. The swing commands could have been more utilized, but overall, a great game.
  39. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    very good a all that, but very non linear, which is why i dont like the galaxys, despite liking sunshine an 64, but a great experience all round, oh and also, when someone says "LETS PLAY THIS!!!" you feel kinda down cause u think it sucks cause u dont know whatcha doin, but as soon as u play it you will experience the mighty power of the awesomeness of........
    ......
    ....and the power
    very good a all that, but very non linear, which is why i dont like the galaxys, despite liking sunshine an 64, but a great experience all round, oh and also, when someone says "LETS PLAY THIS!!!" you feel kinda down cause u think it sucks cause u dont know whatcha doin, but as soon as u play it you will experience the mighty power of the awesomeness of........
    ......



    ....and the power of the heavenly....



    .... and the huge awesomeness powerful ma.....



    .....and....



    go get out and buy if u see for 30 quid.
    use a pound to dollar converter!!!!

    but if u havnt got it, get the better, original game

    90%
    Expand
  40. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    To be honest, 10 out of 10 doesn't even come close to doing this game justice. Best Wii game and best platformer ever made, no question. Managed the impossible job of improving upon its predecessor.
  41. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    I cannot come close to explaining how good this game is, but i can say that it is one of the few games that actually deserves the constant 10s from user scores. The only other game that comes close to it's level is the original Super Mario Galaxy. If you own a Wii it is a crime not to have this game, if you do not have a Wii you need to get one just so you can play this game.
  42. Jun 20, 2015
    10
    This is the best game of all time. Just pure Mario fun, incredible gameplay, cool ideas, goes on forever. The graphics are the best in any video game. There is so much content in this game. This is definitely not the Super Mario Galaxy More or Super Mario Galaxy 1.5 you were expecting, it's something entirely new. I have so much nostalgia for this game and I still love it today. The cameraThis is the best game of all time. Just pure Mario fun, incredible gameplay, cool ideas, goes on forever. The graphics are the best in any video game. There is so much content in this game. This is definitely not the Super Mario Galaxy More or Super Mario Galaxy 1.5 you were expecting, it's something entirely new. I have so much nostalgia for this game and I still love it today. The camera system is more intelligent than the first game, and the multiplayer is a whole lot better. This music is fantastic, the story is great and the galaxies are creative and fun. And Yoshi is in this game! He is used in great ways and is fun to have around. A must-have for anybody. 10/10. Expand
  43. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    ai esta ele, o melhor jogo de plataforma do mundo. SUPER MARIO GALAXY 2, nossa curti muito esse jogo, ele tem tudo de bom. ótima história, telas criativas, ótimos poderes, linda trilha sonora, os melhores gráficos que eu já vi no wii. simplesmente excelente. Nintendo por favor. lance o 3 pro wii u.
  44. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    i still prefer sm64 and sunshine i completely agree with doubledeejay
    . still one ofthe greatest games for wii, a must have
  45. Apr 15, 2016
    9
    Over time, I've come to like this game. My original review was very negative. However, this game is rather enjoyable now. The graphics are amazing, even in 2016, the soundtrack has grown on me, and since Galaxy 1's difficulty was low, they made this one of the more challenging Mario games. The only thing I don't like about the game is how similar it is to Galaxy 1. But I still recommend itOver time, I've come to like this game. My original review was very negative. However, this game is rather enjoyable now. The graphics are amazing, even in 2016, the soundtrack has grown on me, and since Galaxy 1's difficulty was low, they made this one of the more challenging Mario games. The only thing I don't like about the game is how similar it is to Galaxy 1. But I still recommend it to hardcore Mario fans. Expand
  46. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    How many more dumb suits does nintendo have lined up??? I mean come on. A bee suit and a cloud suit and magical chili peppers that you feed yoshi which is a flying dinosaur! Its nothing but nonsense. Sorry mario. This series needs to cease!
  47. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Truly amazing. It would be hard to find a better game than this one. One of the hardest things a game developer can do is take a game, and make a sequel directly after the first one, and make it so much better. This game is the best platformer ever, and all other platformers will be compared to it from now on. This game is a must have for any gamer, hardcore or casual.
  48. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Mario is back once again in space for a brand new adventure, or is it? This second installment brings back the great gameplay of the first game but with new stages, storyline and a few new power ups and extras like the addition of Yoshi. The whole adventure is a fantastic fun experience that shows once again why Mario is again king of platforming, but the problem is that the game is not asMario is back once again in space for a brand new adventure, or is it? This second installment brings back the great gameplay of the first game but with new stages, storyline and a few new power ups and extras like the addition of Yoshi. The whole adventure is a fantastic fun experience that shows once again why Mario is again king of platforming, but the problem is that the game is not as exciting as it could be due to the fact that it still remains very similar to the first game, and in some aspects it does things a little worse and too simple, which are the storyline and the ship that takes you to the galaxies. And for those that say this is actually a harder sequel, I honestly felt it was in the same difficulty of the first game and even with certain bosses, easier. Still, if you loved the first Mario Galaxy and want some more, then you should definitely check this game out. Expand
  49. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Can't choose between this one and the first for which is Wii 's star game. This one is more of the same, but never has that been such a good thing. Play this.
  50. May 25, 2014
    9
    Nintendo hyped themselves by creating a whole new galaxy,the planets are great,the powers are great and it is one of the most re-playable and hard to complete puzzle games i have ever played
  51. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    The people that thought Mario Galaxy couldn't be topped were proved wrong with Mario Galaxy 2 now starring Yoshi, a spaceship in the shape of Mario's head, and the best power-ups any Mario game has ever seen yet. The levels are better than ever before, with standouts including any level that stars the ingenious Cloud Flower or our friendly dino pal Yoshi. Mario Galaxy 2 is not a cheapThe people that thought Mario Galaxy couldn't be topped were proved wrong with Mario Galaxy 2 now starring Yoshi, a spaceship in the shape of Mario's head, and the best power-ups any Mario game has ever seen yet. The levels are better than ever before, with standouts including any level that stars the ingenious Cloud Flower or our friendly dino pal Yoshi. Mario Galaxy 2 is not a cheap cash-in! Don't listen to those jealous PS3 and Xbox 360 owners! Expand
  52. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Even though the first time I played this game was in a store and I was kicked off in the first three minutes, it was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. I'm also a very tough scorer, might I add. The reason this game deserves a ten is because it included hugely imaginative galaxies, like the Flash Back galaxy, where you are in a haunted mansion and it flashes a quick burst ofEven though the first time I played this game was in a store and I was kicked off in the first three minutes, it was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. I'm also a very tough scorer, might I add. The reason this game deserves a ten is because it included hugely imaginative galaxies, like the Flash Back galaxy, where you are in a haunted mansion and it flashes a quick burst of light in time with the music. The music is great. It even has its own orchestra called "The Super Mario Galaxy Orchestra". FACT. For a Wii game, the graphics are really good. This game is nowhere near easy. There's so many stars to collect and the later galaxies are as tough as cremated steak but they reward you very well. Good luck beating this 100% in your first year. I did not get bored once in this game, and that is saying something. Of course, it does have similar bosses to the original and some often reappear but that did not bug me one single bit. Although I did kind of want to give it a lower score because of that, it's just impossible. It's that kind of game that makes you glad that you're a gamer. Expand
  53. Nov 12, 2015
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is arguably the best Mario game of all time and easily one of the best games ever made. It is overflowing with creativity and the platforming is to die for. It's silky smooth, fluid, fun and endlessly entertaining. It is a must-own.
  54. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    The best Wii title of 2010 and one of the best super Mario titles ever. Fans of Mario won't be disappointed. Colourful, fun and family friendly blend to make a almost perfect package.
  55. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Yoshi and Mario are back!! Very beautiful levels, some which appear to almost be in HD quality very crisp clear visuals. Game play mechanics all there just like the 1st Mario Galaxy and some added features that will make things easier such as level selection. Two new power upgrades which I loved: The Cloud suite and Rock suite very fun in certain levels which they are needed in. The bestYoshi and Mario are back!! Very beautiful levels, some which appear to almost be in HD quality very crisp clear visuals. Game play mechanics all there just like the 1st Mario Galaxy and some added features that will make things easier such as level selection. Two new power upgrades which I loved: The Cloud suite and Rock suite very fun in certain levels which they are needed in. The best part of this game which makes it close to being better than the 1st Galaxy is of course YOSHI! That's right the little green dinosaur is back and better than ever! Simple fun for the whole family to enjoy this game will keep you busy for a few months at least. Over all an excellent game that you will want to collect and revisit. Expand
  56. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    I got really excited when I first heard that Nintendo was going to make a sequel to Super Mario Galaxy. When I finally played this game, I really loved it. Score: 5/5.
  57. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Galaxy 2 is even better then the first! With cool new worlds and new insane power ups including rock mario and cloud mario, this game is by far better then the first. And yoshi's back! The only down side to this game is the co-op the second play should be able to be luigie. Overall i give it a 9.8
  58. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The story is pretty much the same for a Mario game, but that's fine. The graphics are outstanding, the galaxies are beautiful, the 3D gameplay is really, really awesome, and the characters are interesting, though not important. All the power-ups are really fun, as are the comet levels, though the comet levels are incredibly hard. There are seven worlds, each with about 12? levels. ThisThe story is pretty much the same for a Mario game, but that's fine. The graphics are outstanding, the galaxies are beautiful, the 3D gameplay is really, really awesome, and the characters are interesting, though not important. All the power-ups are really fun, as are the comet levels, though the comet levels are incredibly hard. There are seven worlds, each with about 12? levels. This game is really long, and has a ton of replayability, trying to get every star and every comet medal. This game is just an absolute joy, and possibly the best game in the WORLD! Expand
  59. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Super mario galaxy 2 brings all the positives from it's predecessor and expands on it. It starts again at the star festival and mario gets a letter from peach to watch the shooting stars while enjoying a slice of cake. But just before that disaster strikes as a huge bowser powered up by a grand star comes down and takes peach away. As soon as this happens you go through a tutorial you arrive on a little spaceship by lubba, a lovable purple luma. After discovering the young master luma is under your cap, he gives you his ship so you can fetch your special one while collecting power stars for the lumas. So this game is really similar to the first but as some differences. This game adds two amazing power ups to the series. Cloud Mario can spin to create clouds to stand on and jump higher and farther. Rock Mario can roll into a rock and hit enemies or surfaces with incredible force. The galaxies are to me a lot better than the first. While the first game had galaxies with more of an emphasis on space, galaxy 2 has more galaxies based on the series being more colorful and nice. The only gripes I have is that it's easy and the after game isn't all that. After collecting all 120 stars and defeating bowser again 120 more green stars are scattered in every level to go find. Some are in plain sight and some are pretty well hidden but it gets tedious collecting these stars. But those are pretty minor, overall galaxy 2 is a masterpiece of a game and needs to be played if you haven't Expand
  60. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    More of an expansion on the original then an entire new game in all.With that said, the original game was amazing game and so is this. The cloud suit is personally one of my favourite Mario suits of all time.
  61. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Absolutely spectacular! I love how they included some of the original music from the previous game, and even made more better music for the galaxies. I love how the graphics are perfect, rather than the original, and the puzzles are very original.
  62. May 30, 2011
    10
    I have had dreams about this game. It's that good. Every level offers so much creativity and vision; this really was a game made with love. The soundtrack is stunning, the visuals are gorgeous and the controls so so tight. This is one of my favourite games :)
  63. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    A delightful play that stays true to the spirit of Mario, this game is admirable in the sense that it focuses not on story or cinematography (although those are good things in their own right), it follows them to be Mario, not Zelda or Assassin's Creed. The game's only focus is being a good platformer and providing the player with a fun experience, even though it seems a little lackingA delightful play that stays true to the spirit of Mario, this game is admirable in the sense that it focuses not on story or cinematography (although those are good things in their own right), it follows them to be Mario, not Zelda or Assassin's Creed. The game's only focus is being a good platformer and providing the player with a fun experience, even though it seems a little lacking compared to the original galaxy. Expand
  64. May 30, 2016
    10
    This is the best game of all time!

    Yes! It's that good!

    Why?

    +The idea of mario and yoshi going to a bunch of planets is amazing.

    +The way Bowser kidnaps Peach is fresh cuz we didn't see such a thing before,

    +This game has awesome boss fights.

    +Creative costumes... That's all I need to say.

    + there are way more positives but do I need to say them all?
  65. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. It has all the features of Super Mario Galaxy 1 and still is so much better. It does not get repetitive compared to Super Mario Galaxy 1. I completed 1 and 2 100%. Both were awesome but Super Mario Galaxy 2 was a lot better. The levels are all different compared to 1 and power ups either return from 1 or are all new. Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 areOne of my favorite games of all time. It has all the features of Super Mario Galaxy 1 and still is so much better. It does not get repetitive compared to Super Mario Galaxy 1. I completed 1 and 2 100%. Both were awesome but Super Mario Galaxy 2 was a lot better. The levels are all different compared to 1 and power ups either return from 1 or are all new. Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are both awesome but 2 is so much better, Expand
  66. PMG
    Jan 12, 2014
    8
    This game... Is a mixed bag for me. It added Yoshi, a few new power ups for Mario and Yoshi... And that is about it. It is for me almost a rehash of the first one and it just doesn't feel as polished. It does have interesting level and boss design along with great music, but it is just soooooo easy in places. It's okay, but the game is almost just full price DLC.
  67. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    The 'expansion' pack of one of the greatest games for the Nintendo Wii, Super Mario Galaxy takes the same ideals of the previous installments while making improvements. The 'World Map' system is a great addition making it easy to access levels right away and not run around looking for the right observatory. Level design feels tight and offers a wonderful difficulty curve along with someThe 'expansion' pack of one of the greatest games for the Nintendo Wii, Super Mario Galaxy takes the same ideals of the previous installments while making improvements. The 'World Map' system is a great addition making it easy to access levels right away and not run around looking for the right observatory. Level design feels tight and offers a wonderful difficulty curve along with some 'tougher' stars for the pros. The addition of Yoshi works for some places, but I personally found that dinosaur to be annoying as per usual. The new power ups for Yoshi mixes it up, but it's still the same dumb looking dinosaur. Overall, a great game, but does feel like it's an extension/shuffle of the previous game. Expand
  68. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is an excellent game in all kinds of aspects, the gameplay is all perfect and responsive, the variety is impressive not only on the different gameplay mechanics encountered, but also on the environments and ideas implemented. Graphics are the best on Wii, even more polished than its predecessor`s superb engine and the animation is fluid. Best of all when talking aboutSuper Mario Galaxy 2 is an excellent game in all kinds of aspects, the gameplay is all perfect and responsive, the variety is impressive not only on the different gameplay mechanics encountered, but also on the environments and ideas implemented. Graphics are the best on Wii, even more polished than its predecessor`s superb engine and the animation is fluid. Best of all when talking about presentation is the overall soundtrack of the game with full orchestrated tunes that sound beautiful and suit perfectly on the different levels. Those are the basics of what makes this game great, but going into more detail the real reason for it to be a true masterpiece comes thanks to the overall brilliance implemented by Nintendo with the level designs. This are all incredibly creative, varied and best of all, almost every one has new mechanics and ideas to show, the first hour of this game has more new things than almost all other entire games. A lot of the levels are also very challenging, if there was something wrong with the original Super Mario Galaxy was that it was pretty easy as a whole, but this sequel fixed that, and as a result it is a much more balance and satisfactory game. Galaxy 2 is also much more streamlined for the better, the new hub is just a spaceship shape like Mario`s face, its very little and to access a level all is needed is press a button on the ship and a map with all the unlocked levels will unveil, there, it is as easy as point and clicking the desired level, its all very organize, so there`s no worries about starting the game after a break and dont knowing where to go. This design also makes the game a much more fluid experience since its easy and fast to go to any level, making sure to always be in the action and not traveling long distances from hub to hub to access different levels like in the original, this also makes the game all the more addicting.Galaxy 2 is also more Mario like, theres lots of references to past Mario games coming from tunes enemies and even some of the levels unlike the original which concentrated soley on the space theme most of the time. The implementation of Yoshi also expands on the game since controlling him is much more different and he has different abilities than Mario, the levels design specifically for him are really fun and approach very well those new mechanics that he introduces. Closing down, it is also fair to mention how huge this game really is with a total of 242 stars, those include the classic and basic 120 stars that consist of showing all the levels and ideas, classic Mario, but the other 120 is a very rewarding challenge that Nintendo included, if theres something to know about it is that it is extremely hard. Completing that challenge will unlock the last level with the two remaining stars which are as hard as they can be, but ultimately makes up for the most satisfactory completion of a game on recent memory. That would be an approximate of 30 hours depending on the skill, which is just truly perfect. Consider this game the ultimate Mario experience and the most fun of this generation, a perfect and reliable contender for Game of the Year 2010. Expand
  69. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Although it felt a little too much like a giant expansion pack, Super Mario Galaxy 2 had most of the things that made the first one great. Its a little annoying to have to have a certain amount of stars to progress, but the inclusion of Yoshi and plenty of other new ideas have more than made up for it. If you loved the first, play this game immediately. If you didn't, be warned that thisAlthough it felt a little too much like a giant expansion pack, Super Mario Galaxy 2 had most of the things that made the first one great. Its a little annoying to have to have a certain amount of stars to progress, but the inclusion of Yoshi and plenty of other new ideas have more than made up for it. If you loved the first, play this game immediately. If you didn't, be warned that this game is not much of an improvement over the still amazing original. Expand
  70. Aug 24, 2015
    10
    A very fun and awesome sequel to my favorite game of all time. I was very pleased when I first played this game. The graphics are still dazzling, the gameplay is good, the story is great, the galaxies and levels are still super creative and so fun to complete, and the music is still spectacular. There is so much more content in this game than the first Super Mario Galaxy. I love it. I justA very fun and awesome sequel to my favorite game of all time. I was very pleased when I first played this game. The graphics are still dazzling, the gameplay is good, the story is great, the galaxies and levels are still super creative and so fun to complete, and the music is still spectacular. There is so much more content in this game than the first Super Mario Galaxy. I love it. I just love this game. Expand
  71. May 3, 2013
    10
    This game is great and has all of the really good attributes of Super Mario Galaxy (see my review of Super Mario Galaxy). There are quite a few new things such as Cloud Mario, Rock Mario and Yoshi is new and has heaps of cool powers. Two player mode is really good. Some levels are really hard to complete.The game is like a mystery because there are secret stars you need to find.
  72. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    The graphics are so sharp. The gameplay is simply fun and awesome platforming 3D. More galaxies, with Yoshi, and great story. This sequel of Super Mario Galaxy must be in your hands!
  73. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    All my life, I've followed the Mario franchise as a loyal fan. Sure I may not be as big a fan of Mario as I am a Zelda fan, but Mario is still one of my favorite and most beloved video game characters ever. So naturally, I was definately looking forward to getting my hands on this monster of a Mario game. Wow, what a monster it was. Seriously, Mario Galaxy 2 has got to be the best MarioAll my life, I've followed the Mario franchise as a loyal fan. Sure I may not be as big a fan of Mario as I am a Zelda fan, but Mario is still one of my favorite and most beloved video game characters ever. So naturally, I was definately looking forward to getting my hands on this monster of a Mario game. Wow, what a monster it was. Seriously, Mario Galaxy 2 has got to be the best Mario game since Super Mario 64, which is my personal favorite Mario game, and also one of my most favorited games ever. I can't say for sure if Mario Galaxy 2 is better than Mario 64, it's actually a tough call, that's how amazing this game is. The little plummer dressed in red has shown with this game that he's still got it. Honestly, I can hardly find anything wrong with this game, it's nearly perfect. Some say it might actually be better than Ocarina of Time itself. Although I disagree with that, I still think that Mario Galaxy 2 is one of Nintendo's best titles. They really went all out with this game. I mean, Mario Galaxy 1 was a great game, it is still known as one of the Wii's best games. So the fact that Nintendo brought it out again and made it better? That is one heck of an accomplishment. Many elements go into play here, which include having to use gravity, just like you did in the first game. But this time, they added Yoshi. SON OF A......... FREAKIN YOSHI MAN!!!!! EPIC WIN!!!! I mean seriously, everybody loves Yoshi right? Also for you Luigi fans out there, yup, they added Luigi, AS A PLAYABLE CHARACTER! At certain levels, you can select to play as Luigi, which will give you bonuses in other levels. There are more levels, and more stars. Yup, Mario Galaxy 1 had 120 stars. Mario Galaxy 2 has 240 stars!! That might keep you busy for a while. :) Unlike the first game, the game is laid out more like the original Mario Bros games. You got world 1-1, 2-1, 3-1, ya know how it works. One cool thing is how your ship looks like Mario's head. Yet another epic win. :) As far as gameplay goes, it's pretty much flawless. The only issue I saw was how the pointer may sometimes have to be exactly on the star bits you collect to draw them in, making it a bit sensative, but most of the time, you won't even notice it. The other flaw I saw is the camera, which can be a little clunky at times, but hardly interferes with the game's overall greatness. Other than these flaws, the games completely great and alot of fun, and the 240 stars will take up alot of time. Some people may think that Mario's time has come, and that it's time for him to leave the building. I think that''s stupid. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is proof that as old as Mario is, he's still as great as he was 25 years ago. Mario's legacy has lived for a very long time, and I strongly believe that Mario is not even close to being done yet. Trust me, this game is considered one of the highest rated games of all time for a reason. If there is ever going to be a Super Mario Galaxy 3, count me in!! This game deserves no less than a perfect 10/10. I have also chosen Super Mario Galaxy 2 as my choice for 2010 Game of the Year. Mario my friend, you still got it. Expand
  74. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Level design feels tight and offers a wonderful difficulty curve along with some 'tougher' stars for the pros. The addition of Yoshi works for some places, but I personally found that dinosaur to be annoying as per usual. The new power ups for Yoshi mixes it up, but it's still the same dumb looking dinosaur. Overall, a great game, but does feel like it's an extension/shuffle of the previous game.
  75. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is probably the nest game made for the Wii. Why you ask? Well, the graphics are incredible, the music is very catchy, and there are 242 stars to collect. The first galaxy game at 120! The galaxies are also easier to find because of the smaller, yet enjoyable hub world. If you own a Wii, this is a must have game.
  76. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Nintendo has topped themselves again. Redefined what a true 3D platformer should play like. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is simply the best game of 2010. Play it, enjoy it, love it. It is the masterpiece you've heard it to be. A modern classic. 10/10.
  77. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    This was a lot better and long lasting than the first and the galaxies are beautiful and well crafted as well as a majestic soundtrack. The storyline feels really repetitive of the first game but I easily ignored that and continued playing the game. its just that good
  78. Apr 27, 2016
    9
    Bueno para mi este es el mejor juego de wii.Me encanta lo de la camara y la jugabilidad son perfectas y que hablar de niveles y musica dios mio.Niveles variadisimos y musica espectacular
  79. Aug 16, 2010
    8
    Mario is back again in this new Galaxy game because peach has been kidnapped again, YAAY. I liked super Mario Galaxy 2 a lot, but I found the first one to be a lot better for a few reasons. In this game at times I had to change the camera angle which I never had to do in the first one, also in this game some motion control levels don't work as well as in galaxy 1, there are way too many 2dMario is back again in this new Galaxy game because peach has been kidnapped again, YAAY. I liked super Mario Galaxy 2 a lot, but I found the first one to be a lot better for a few reasons. In this game at times I had to change the camera angle which I never had to do in the first one, also in this game some motion control levels don't work as well as in galaxy 1, there are way too many 2d levels, and on top of all this long jumps are much harder to pull off then in the first. All these problems are here and are annoying but that is not to say the game is not good, the game is a blast to play both alone and with a friend in the upgraded co star multiplayer mode. Galaxy 2's levels are also still very varied and with great design, but they still are noticeably worse than the first Galaxy. If Galaxy 2 came out before Galaxy one I would have given it a better review, but the fact is Nintendo took a step back with this game. I don't dislike this game, I do still love it, but its worse than the first. Expand
  80. Oct 31, 2015
    10
    Simply amazing.... More powerups new enemies... fun game. When a game is so amazing and perfect , like the first mario galaxy was it;s very difficult to have a sequel in the same consol generation that equals it and it's even more difficult to make a game that surpasses it... Nintendo achieved both goals. A must buy if u own a WiiU and didn't own a wii before , like me
  81. Nov 15, 2015
    10
    esse foi simplesmente o melhor jogo da franquia mario que eu já joguei, o jogo é algo totalmente inovador, com uma jogabilidade que abusa dos controles do wii, a melhor história que eu já vi em um game do mario, apesar de dar pra jogar de 2 cada jogador tem uma função e isso deixou o jogo muito divertido, dando a cada jogador uma experiência diferente.
  82. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    SMG was already real damn good. But SMG2- my god is it amazing. Improved visuals, endlessly imaginitive level design, awesome new power-ups (especially Yoshi), and more stars then ever before- you`ll fall in love all over again.
  83. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Mario Galaxy 2 is one of those sequels that overcome the majesty of the first game. In a single word, is an evolution of a revolution. No doubt we are facing the final platform, the best of the generation and one of the best ever. All this magnificent game makes it a Must Heave the Wii without any question. Recommended for everyone, EVERYONE, especially those who hate Mario or those whoMario Galaxy 2 is one of those sequels that overcome the majesty of the first game. In a single word, is an evolution of a revolution. No doubt we are facing the final platform, the best of the generation and one of the best ever. All this magnificent game makes it a Must Heave the Wii without any question. Recommended for everyone, EVERYONE, especially those who hate Mario or those who doubt that deserves a ten out of ten.______________________________________ Mario Galaxy 2 es una de esas secuelas que superan la majestuosidad de su antesesor. En una sola palabra, es la evolucion de una revolucion. Sin duda estamos ante el mejor plataforma de la generacion y uno de los mejores de todos los tiempos, Toda esta magnificencia de juego lo convierte en un Must Heave de la Wii sin cuestión alguna. Recomendado para todo el mundo, PARA TODOS, en especial para aquellos que dudan que merezca un 10 de 10 Expand
  84. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Calling this the best Wii game, Nintendo game and Mario game are all under-statements. This is, in-fact, the best video game ever made. The game-play is solid along with its creativity. With its mesmerizing soundtrack, vivid graphics and clever level design - the Mario magic still lives. It's hard to imagine a game that could possibly be any better.
  85. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    While lacking the story of the first game, this one more than makes up for it with some of the best gameplay I've ever seen in a Mario game, especially with the always-welcome Yoshi.
  86. Mar 9, 2015
    10
    Love letter to Mario. A good amount of levels with some of the best gameplay diversity in the business. Great music from the hole series. An amazing post-game that unlocks multiple hidden stars for every level to make it perfect to put in once and a while. And really nothing can beat the pure joy that comes from playing this game.
    The few flaws are just nit-picking like the 4 lives you
    Love letter to Mario. A good amount of levels with some of the best gameplay diversity in the business. Great music from the hole series. An amazing post-game that unlocks multiple hidden stars for every level to make it perfect to put in once and a while. And really nothing can beat the pure joy that comes from playing this game.
    The few flaws are just nit-picking like the 4 lives you always begin with when you go into your game or the routine of getting the extra lives on your spaceship but all that goes away once you start any level as you get sucked in.
    Expand
  87. Apr 10, 2015
    8
    I absolutely loved the original Super Mario Galaxy and I was very excited to play its upcoming sequel. It turned out to be really great but also pretty disappointing in some ways. The soundtrack is pretty good with a lot of awesome tracks and some bland ones. They also brought in new power-ups like the cloud flower, rock mushroom, and Yoshi joins your galactic adventure too. These make upI absolutely loved the original Super Mario Galaxy and I was very excited to play its upcoming sequel. It turned out to be really great but also pretty disappointing in some ways. The soundtrack is pretty good with a lot of awesome tracks and some bland ones. They also brought in new power-ups like the cloud flower, rock mushroom, and Yoshi joins your galactic adventure too. These make up for really cool level designs. However, this game has one glaring weakness. It's way too easy. I really don't like how the game wants to hold your hand in this game because I already know how to do most of the stuff in the first game. I'm not saying that this game is perfect because it didn't even come close to the incredible original. This was still a great game overall. Expand
  88. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    I told myself that i would get every single star in this game cause i havent yet in the first one, and I spent about 30 hours playing this game. First of all it is extremely harder than the first one plus, I love how they put yoshi in this game. Nintendo's greatest game ever Besides Ocarina of time (Zelda) and maybe the first one.
  89. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    The definition of a perfect game. The culmination of Nintendo's game design skills in the decade's finest game. The gameplay is brilliant, and the creativity and enjoyment in levels is unrivaled. The second best game on Wii, second only to the legendary The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword.
    Truly a must-have for all Wii owners. A must-have for all people.
  90. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Many would believe it not possible to improve upon the original game, but sure enough Super Mario Galaxy 2 does. everything about this game is flawless, gameplay, music, controls, are all delightful. Nintendo shows that a sequel can be better than its predecessor in the most compelling way. One of my favorite games of all time. 10/10
  91. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Nintendo has matched the perfection of the original Super Mario Galaxy with this equally amazing game. With more power ups, the additions of Yoshi and Luigi, and some truly spectacular level design, Super Mario Galaxy is one hell of a game.
  92. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    Everything is perfect, the controls are spot on. The graphics are really cool, the bosses are somewhat challenging and gives the player a submersive experience. The levels are really colorful and bright with creativity. The story is really interesting and the power ups make the game so much fun. This game is a must buy for everyone who owns a wii, just perfect!
  93. Oct 31, 2015
    10
    Best game on the Wii and of last gen. People say they like it less than the original because is more of the same, and that is and is not true. Yes, it is the same concept but everything that I had a problem with the original was corrected and all that was good was perfected. My only complaint is that to beat the game 100%, to have the gold crown, you need 9,999 coins and is a lot ofBest game on the Wii and of last gen. People say they like it less than the original because is more of the same, and that is and is not true. Yes, it is the same concept but everything that I had a problem with the original was corrected and all that was good was perfected. My only complaint is that to beat the game 100%, to have the gold crown, you need 9,999 coins and is a lot of trouble that is not worth doing. Still amazing game, must buy. Expand
  94. Feb 7, 2016
    10
    This game,is the best game of the wii,and for good reason.the levels are fantastic.the replay value is phenomenal.yoshi.Old music maked a return in the game.in my opinion.this should have been the 25th anniversary.The galaxy are considered the best wii games,and galaxy is the best game of the wii
  95. May 13, 2016
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. It is truly amazing how the level design is and this game is so close to perfect that every game should play it. Any of the levels could compose the best part of any other game.
  96. May 15, 2016
    10
    And there we have wonderful siquel after awesome Super Mario Galaxy. I must say, this game can be better by first part, because where is map, how in SMB3 and much better levels. Actually and 1 and 2 parts - awesomes)) I don't know what still say)
  97. May 16, 2012
    10
    This is the best Wii game. No really, it is! If you own a Wii, your first priority should be this game. Sure, it may be a lot like the first one, but look at how many people buy CoD rehashes. I'm glad we still have games like this.
  98. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply a master piece. Building on Super Mario Galaxy, this game ties up loose ends such as Yoshi, harder levels, more creative worlds, and a longer replay value.

    Just like the first game, this game is just bounding with rich and visual colors. This is definitely the best looking Wii game so far. Again accompanied by an orchestra, comes another amazing soundtrack packed with very
    Simply a master piece. Building on Super Mario Galaxy, this game ties up loose ends such as Yoshi, harder levels, more creative worlds, and a longer replay value.

    Just like the first game, this game is just bounding with rich and visual colors. This is definitely the best looking Wii game so far.

    Again accompanied by an orchestra, comes another amazing soundtrack packed with very memorable tunes.

    Of course, gameplay is done ever better with more challenging stages and the inclusion of Yoshi is just too hard to pass up.

    A definite buy for all Wii owners, this game is a master piece for all to play.
    Expand
  99. May 5, 2013
    10
    I'm not a huge Mario fan, but it's impossible for me to not give this a 10, it was just so expertly made that it was so much fun to play. It also has a crazy amount of extra content after you beat the final boss.
  100. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 manages to keep us entertained throughout the whole game with fun and interesting puzzles, hours of gameplay, and a convenient and familiar map to navigate to the level quickly. The only complaints I have are that the plot and storyline feels weak and incomplete, (Why are we going into space again?) And the challenges near and at the end of the game feel too hard toSuper Mario Galaxy 2 manages to keep us entertained throughout the whole game with fun and interesting puzzles, hours of gameplay, and a convenient and familiar map to navigate to the level quickly. The only complaints I have are that the plot and storyline feels weak and incomplete, (Why are we going into space again?) And the challenges near and at the end of the game feel too hard to the point that it's frustrating. SMG 2 feels a little bit like SMG 1 recycled, but all the new additions to the game such as Yoshi and the new things that can happen when you spin, make this a must-have for even those who own SMG 1 Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    If you loved the first Super Mario Galaxy, you will adore the sequel.
  2. While Super Mario Galaxy 2 could easily have been a cheap cash-in with a few lackluster additional levels, it manages to be something more. It expands on the gameplay of Super Mario Galaxy and adds enough new twists and turns to feel like a full-fledged sequel.
  3. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is largely more of the same, and that helps make it a phenomenal experience. Nintendo didn't reinvent the formula. Instead, it took what fans loved about the prequel and then jazzed everything up with never before seen galaxies, planets and a more streamlined user interface.