Super Mario Galaxy 2 Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1600 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Mario Galaxy 2, the sequel to the galaxy-hopping original game, includes the gravity-defying, physics-based exploration from the first game, but is loaded with entirely new galaxies and features to challenge players. On some stages, Mario can pair up with his dinosaur buddy Yoshi andSuper Mario Galaxy 2, the sequel to the galaxy-hopping original game, includes the gravity-defying, physics-based exploration from the first game, but is loaded with entirely new galaxies and features to challenge players. On some stages, Mario can pair up with his dinosaur buddy Yoshi and use his tongue to grab items and spit them back at enemies. Players can also have fun with new items such as a drill that lets our hero tunnel through solid rock. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Improves on the first game and charms every bone of our game-loving bodies. With platforming and visual design of astronomical proportions, this is the best game for Wii so far.
  2. 100
    No matter which side of the gaming coin you come from, this whole new universe of planets is the most inventive, exuberant and, yes, fun set of challenges and diversions yet seen in the platform game genre. It miraculously outclasses a game that many believed could not be bettered, and once again leaves us wondering just how close Nintendo's bar has come to reaching its theoretical peak.
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    If you loved the first Super Mario Galaxy, you will adore the sequel.
  4. This the best Mario game Nintendo has released. Pure addiction.
  5. If you loved Galaxy you'll adore this. Yet another dazzling high-water mark in Mario's career. [June 2010, p.75]
  6. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is a big step up from an already great predecessor. It may not be perfect but it comes ever so close to it.
  7. 90
    Simultaneously more and less than its predecessor. It expands and elaborates on the gameplay in unpredictable ways, but the last one felt like a bigger, more complete adventure. That said, better core gameplay with less window dressing is infinitely preferable to the reverse.

See all 87 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 215
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ez nagyon jó játék minden benne van ami van szóval ez jó nagyon Jà Expand
  2. S.Kumar
    May 24, 2010
    10
    I barely even played this game and I was simply amazed. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of I barely even played this game and I was simply amazed. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of incredible beauty. I won't spoil the details, but this probably has the best graphics to date on the Wii and the gameplay brings me back to my childhood when simplicity was fun. In short: Graphics: 10- The best you'll see Sound: 10- Classic Mario Music Gamplay: 10- Amazing Story: 9.75- It may be an original Mario story, but its just Bowser taking Peach Overall: 10 Final Verdict: If you're reading this and you own a Wii, you better buy this game. This is the second best game ever created by Nintendo EAD, just behind The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, and is the best game on the Wii to date. As stated by IGN, its "Masterful". Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    This game feels like it should have been DLC. there is just a severe lack of new content here, if you played the first game then there's noThis game feels like it should have been DLC. there is just a severe lack of new content here, if you played the first game then there's no reason to buy this game. Expand
  4. CodyD.
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is easily a contender for game of the year and may be the best game this generation. While the game may lack story (its Super Mario Galaxy is easily a contender for game of the year and may be the best game this generation. While the game may lack story (its your general Bowser captures Peach, Mario saves her deal), it more than makes up with it in graphics, gameplay, level design, sound, and difficulty. The graphics in SMG2 can only be described with one word: amazing. Not "amazing for a Wii game," just amazing. Coming from someone who owns a PS3 and a Wii, I can say that this game could easily stand toe to toe with many HD games on the PS3, the graphics are just that good. The backgrounds have an amazing amount of detail and the characters are all animated extremely well. The gameplay in SMG2 is the true deciding factor, however. The game plays even better than SMG1 and the controls feel even tighter and very responsive. Yoshi controls with ease and the new suits are a very fun addition to a winning formula. The level design is not only some of the best work Nintendo has ever produced, but some of the best work ever made. The gravity feels as accurate as ever and the levels keep you on your toes. While some reviewers complained the game was "too hard," I couldn't disagree more. The difficulty in SMG2 feels perfectly balanced and very rewarding. Some areas will have you yelling with frustration, but the rewards at the end are always there. The music in SMG2 is also very well done, with many large orchestral tunes that set the mood extremely well. All in all, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is the epitome of the platformer genre and easily an early front runner for 2010 GotY. This is a game that should be played by any self-respecting gamer who enjoys a great game with a decent challenge. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Truly amazing. It would be hard to find a better game than this one. One of the hardest things a game developer can do is take a game, andTruly amazing. It would be hard to find a better game than this one. One of the hardest things a game developer can do is take a game, and make a sequel directly after the first one, and make it so much better. This game is the best platformer ever, and all other platformers will be compared to it from now on. This game is a must have for any gamer, hardcore or casual. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Once upon a time, I was a kid. And I stayed up all night, on May 23, 2010, waiting for more information on the game. I wasn't disappointed.Once upon a time, I was a kid. And I stayed up all night, on May 23, 2010, waiting for more information on the game. I wasn't disappointed. The game was just as beautiful as the first, but with some of our favorite old content added (Yoshi, for one), yet still adding new ideas the scene. Amazing music, and while the graphics were not eye-popping, they were still great. I feel like this was Nintendo's last good Mario game everything since then has been the same cookie-cutter 2D game (even Super Mario 3D Land was like it) and you really got a sense of exploration. What's the gimmick in this galaxy? What's the next planet? What's behind that hill or tree? This is what we're missing in the new games. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2015
    0
    Crazy controls that doesnt work well, same history and same game pratically. Total lack of innovation compared to the first game. NintendoCrazy controls that doesnt work well, same history and same game pratically. Total lack of innovation compared to the first game. Nintendo thinks that people doesnt notice that. fanboys go crazy Expand

See all 215 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Super Mario Galaxy 2: Inside the Reviews

    Super Mario Galaxy 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 22, 2010
    There is a new contender for best Wii game of all time. The sequel "Super Mario Galaxy 2" hits stores this weekend, and it has critics raving. Find out what makes Mario's latest adventure so good.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.