Super Mario Galaxy 2 Wii

Super Mario Galaxy 2 Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1928 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Mario Galaxy 2, the sequel to the galaxy-hopping original game, includes the gravity-defying, physics-based exploration from the first game, but is loaded with entirely new galaxies and features to challenge players. On some stages, Mario can pair up with his dinosaur buddy Yoshi andSuper Mario Galaxy 2, the sequel to the galaxy-hopping original game, includes the gravity-defying, physics-based exploration from the first game, but is loaded with entirely new galaxies and features to challenge players. On some stages, Mario can pair up with his dinosaur buddy Yoshi and use his tongue to grab items and spit them back at enemies. Players can also have fun with new items such as a drill that lets our hero tunnel through solid rock. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Improves on the first game and charms every bone of our game-loving bodies. With platforming and visual design of astronomical proportions, this is the best game for Wii so far.
  2. 100
    No matter which side of the gaming coin you come from, this whole new universe of planets is the most inventive, exuberant and, yes, fun set of challenges and diversions yet seen in the platform game genre. It miraculously outclasses a game that many believed could not be bettered, and once again leaves us wondering just how close Nintendo's bar has come to reaching its theoretical peak.
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    If you loved the first Super Mario Galaxy, you will adore the sequel.
  4. This the best Mario game Nintendo has released. Pure addiction.
  5. If you loved Galaxy you'll adore this. Yet another dazzling high-water mark in Mario's career. [June 2010, p.75]
  6. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is a big step up from an already great predecessor. It may not be perfect but it comes ever so close to it.
  7. 90
    Simultaneously more and less than its predecessor. It expands and elaborates on the gameplay in unpredictable ways, but the last one felt like a bigger, more complete adventure. That said, better core gameplay with less window dressing is infinitely preferable to the reverse.

See all 87 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 267
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    This game is outstanding. Beautiful graphics, a wonderful orchestral soundtrack, impossibly excellent gameplay, and memorable characters. 5This game is outstanding. Beautiful graphics, a wonderful orchestral soundtrack, impossibly excellent gameplay, and memorable characters. 5 minutes in and I was amazed. Nintendo had pulled out all the stops for this. If you haven't played this game, you need to. Trust me, you'll thank me later. Expand
  2. S.Kumar
    May 24, 2010
    10
    I barely even played this game and I was simply amazed. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of I barely even played this game and I was simply amazed. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of incredible beauty. I won't spoil the details, but this probably has the best graphics to date on the Wii and the gameplay brings me back to my childhood when simplicity was fun. In short: Graphics: 10- The best you'll see Sound: 10- Classic Mario Music Gamplay: 10- Amazing Story: 9.75- It may be an original Mario story, but its just Bowser taking Peach Overall: 10 Final Verdict: If you're reading this and you own a Wii, you better buy this game. This is the second best game ever created by Nintendo EAD, just behind The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, and is the best game on the Wii to date. As stated by IGN, its "Masterful". Expand
  3. May 3, 2013
    10
    This game is great and has all of the really good attributes of Super Mario Galaxy (see my review of Super Mario Galaxy). There are quite aThis game is great and has all of the really good attributes of Super Mario Galaxy (see my review of Super Mario Galaxy). There are quite a few new things such as Cloud Mario, Rock Mario and Yoshi is new and has heaps of cool powers. Two player mode is really good. Some levels are really hard to complete.The game is like a mystery because there are secret stars you need to find. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2017
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is even better than the first one. It's the true pinnacle to all the 3D Mario games in general. It's one of the bestSuper Mario Galaxy 2 is even better than the first one. It's the true pinnacle to all the 3D Mario games in general. It's one of the best video game sequels ever made. The story is a lot less epic but a lot more heartfelt and adventurous, excellent gameplay, solid controls, well-crafted graphics and designs, new power-ups to use, bringing back the addition of Yoshi but with new gameplay mechanics, brilliant music and a perfectly balanced difficulty. If you love the first Mario Galaxy game so much, you would love this game even more. This is a must-own for your Nintendo Wii library. I gave it the same score as the first one, a 10 out of 10. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is simply an amazing game that will continue to be remembered and cherished by gamers from the future. It will beSuper Mario Galaxy 2 is simply an amazing game that will continue to be remembered and cherished by gamers from the future. It will be remembered as the icon for the seventh generation of gaming. But what makes it this great? It's the advancement of knowledge and experience that the century-old Nintendo has. It may have taken mankind hundreds and hundreds of years to find out that the Earth wasn't round. But it took Nintendo just a few decades to find out that games didn't need to have flat surfaces. What we loved about the original is here, up-to-date graphics, extreme detail, orchestrated soundtracks but no
    voice acting. What really makes this a legend, is the gameplay, which we'll look into, right now.

    Sphere walking, gravity-defying, launching from planet-to-planet, name them all, they are all flawless on every level. It's what builds this game. The controls are fluid, the story is fast-paced and the fun-loving Lumas of space and Toads of the the Mushroom Kingdom will make the gameplay experience memorable.

    It's the culmination of 25 years that evolved Mario from a plumber fixing the sewers, to a hero of the Mushroom Kingdom and also, the hero gaming. It was he that saved video gaming after the crash of 1983 and prevented the collapse of the then-young video gaming industry. Believe what you see, it's Mario.
    Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    I like the original more but this a great sequel to game everything that was Great in the first game is back and with more galaxy's, enemies,I like the original more but this a great sequel to game everything that was Great in the first game is back and with more galaxy's, enemies, and power ups even if you haven't played the first game or a Mario game in general if you have a Wii then get this game. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2015
    0
    Even though there's a number 2 following the name, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is pratically the same game of Mario Galaxy 1 but now with Yoshi. I'dEven though there's a number 2 following the name, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is pratically the same game of Mario Galaxy 1 but now with Yoshi. I'd say to my friends "It's such like of a DLC or expansion pack for mario galaxy 1". Shame on you nintnedo Expand

See all 267 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Super Mario Galaxy 2: Inside the Reviews

    Super Mario Galaxy 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 22, 2010
    There is a new contender for best Wii game of all time. The sequel "Super Mario Galaxy 2" hits stores this weekend, and it has critics raving. Find out what makes Mario's latest adventure so good.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010