Super Mario Galaxy 2 Wii

Super Mario Galaxy 2 Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1797 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Mario Galaxy 2, the sequel to the galaxy-hopping original game, includes the gravity-defying, physics-based exploration from the first game, but is loaded with entirely new galaxies and features to challenge players. On some stages, Mario can pair up with his dinosaur buddy Yoshi andSuper Mario Galaxy 2, the sequel to the galaxy-hopping original game, includes the gravity-defying, physics-based exploration from the first game, but is loaded with entirely new galaxies and features to challenge players. On some stages, Mario can pair up with his dinosaur buddy Yoshi and use his tongue to grab items and spit them back at enemies. Players can also have fun with new items such as a drill that lets our hero tunnel through solid rock. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Improves on the first game and charms every bone of our game-loving bodies. With platforming and visual design of astronomical proportions, this is the best game for Wii so far.
  2. 100
    No matter which side of the gaming coin you come from, this whole new universe of planets is the most inventive, exuberant and, yes, fun set of challenges and diversions yet seen in the platform game genre. It miraculously outclasses a game that many believed could not be bettered, and once again leaves us wondering just how close Nintendo's bar has come to reaching its theoretical peak.
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    If you loved the first Super Mario Galaxy, you will adore the sequel.
  4. This the best Mario game Nintendo has released. Pure addiction.
  5. If you loved Galaxy you'll adore this. Yet another dazzling high-water mark in Mario's career. [June 2010, p.75]
  6. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is a big step up from an already great predecessor. It may not be perfect but it comes ever so close to it.
  7. 90
    Simultaneously more and less than its predecessor. It expands and elaborates on the gameplay in unpredictable ways, but the last one felt like a bigger, more complete adventure. That said, better core gameplay with less window dressing is infinitely preferable to the reverse.

See all 87 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 255
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Nothing to say about this game! Absolutely perfect in every aspect of it. The graphics are satisfying and great for the Wii's graphicsNothing to say about this game! Absolutely perfect in every aspect of it. The graphics are satisfying and great for the Wii's graphics capabilities, the sounds are great and amazing, the atmosphere, environment and character designs are perfect and outstanding. They really had a great job with this game. One of the masterpieces of Wii's Games. Buy this game and I swear, it is very worth it. You would really love and appreciate this game Expand
  2. S.Kumar
    May 24, 2010
    10
    I barely even played this game and I was simply amazed. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of I barely even played this game and I was simply amazed. Even after ten minutes, Nintendo EAD's masterpiece pulls you into a universe of incredible beauty. I won't spoil the details, but this probably has the best graphics to date on the Wii and the gameplay brings me back to my childhood when simplicity was fun. In short: Graphics: 10- The best you'll see Sound: 10- Classic Mario Music Gamplay: 10- Amazing Story: 9.75- It may be an original Mario story, but its just Bowser taking Peach Overall: 10 Final Verdict: If you're reading this and you own a Wii, you better buy this game. This is the second best game ever created by Nintendo EAD, just behind The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, and is the best game on the Wii to date. As stated by IGN, its "Masterful". Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    I cannot come close to explaining how good this game is, but i can say that it is one of the few games that actually deserves the constant 10sI cannot come close to explaining how good this game is, but i can say that it is one of the few games that actually deserves the constant 10s from user scores. The only other game that comes close to it's level is the original Super Mario Galaxy. If you own a Wii it is a crime not to have this game, if you do not have a Wii you need to get one just so you can play this game. Expand
  4. May 15, 2016
    10
    And there we have wonderful siquel after awesome Super Mario Galaxy. I must say, this game can be better by first part, because where is map,And there we have wonderful siquel after awesome Super Mario Galaxy. I must say, this game can be better by first part, because where is map, how in SMB3 and much better levels. Actually and 1 and 2 parts - awesomes)) I don't know what still say) Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Mario Galaxy 2 is one of those sequels that overcome the majesty of the first game. In a single word, is an evolution of a revolution. NoMario Galaxy 2 is one of those sequels that overcome the majesty of the first game. In a single word, is an evolution of a revolution. No doubt we are facing the final platform, the best of the generation and one of the best ever. All this magnificent game makes it a Must Heave the Wii without any question. Recommended for everyone, EVERYONE, especially those who hate Mario or those who doubt that deserves a ten out of ten.______________________________________ Mario Galaxy 2 es una de esas secuelas que superan la majestuosidad de su antesesor. En una sola palabra, es la evolucion de una revolucion. Sin duda estamos ante el mejor plataforma de la generacion y uno de los mejores de todos los tiempos, Toda esta magnificencia de juego lo convierte en un Must Heave de la Wii sin cuestión alguna. Recomendado para todo el mundo, PARA TODOS, en especial para aquellos que dudan que merezca un 10 de 10 Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    I would rather play New. Super Luigi U, as the challenge factor in this game is very high, but has graphics that look better than HD gamesI would rather play New. Super Luigi U, as the challenge factor in this game is very high, but has graphics that look better than HD games like CoD Black Ops and Sonic the Hedgehog (both for Xbox 360 and ps3), really fun level design and a good storyline, despite having he whole "Peach is kidnapped again and bowser has gained a new foooorm D:!!!!!!" thing that all Mario games have. A pleasing experience with the best graphics ever seen on a wii game, reccomended for Nintendo fans. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2015
    0
    Even though there's a number 2 following the name, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is pratically the same game of Mario Galaxy 1 but now with Yoshi. I'dEven though there's a number 2 following the name, Super Mario Galaxy 2 is pratically the same game of Mario Galaxy 1 but now with Yoshi. I'd say to my friends "It's such like of a DLC or expansion pack for mario galaxy 1". Shame on you nintnedo Expand

See all 255 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Super Mario Galaxy 2: Inside the Reviews

    Super Mario Galaxy 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 22, 2010
    There is a new contender for best Wii game of all time. The sequel "Super Mario Galaxy 2" hits stores this weekend, and it has critics raving. Find out what makes Mario's latest adventure so good.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010