User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1855 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum,Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum, so a 10 is fair. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This very well could be the bet game on the Wii. It has amazing graphics, music, gameplay, control, and design. The ideas are very original and is a blast to play, albeit a little too easy to beat the main story. However, there is plenty to do afterwards. This game will have you coming back for more and more. PLAY IT.
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls workI can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls work well when used, it's reasonably easy, but not to say, Kirby levels it probably won't really challenge those who have played older Mario games (those are tough as nails). Anybody who has any sense will enjoy this game. Mario has increased in quality, which is something very special as I have not played a Mario game which does not deserve a score less than a nine out of ten. If you don't have it, buy it!!! Expand
  4. MarkB.
    Jan 27, 2008
    8
    Definitely shows the power of the Wii, but as far as difficulty settings go, makes it too easy. I rarely die, and when I do, I easily pass the level on the next life. Love the graphics and gameplay, which are phenomenal, I just wish it was more difficult at times.
  5. KevinE.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Whoever gives this game a score in the red either hasn't played the game or is biased toward Mario. This is the best game of the year and I've played several of them. 3rd party developers I hope you're paying attention. This is how you make a great game on the Wii.
  6. MichaelF.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the game is stuffed to the brimming with pared down runs of perfect platforming and mind-bending physics. It undeniably excels at every little aspect of its being; platformers will never be the same. Expand
  7. DG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing game play...graphics...great overall!
  8. Bauermill
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Somehow this game blows away Super Mario 64 and possibly all other Mario games with it's graphics, gameplay, story, challenge, and straight up fun! A must have for anyone who owns a Wii. It gets my vote for game of the year.
  9. BradS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising the game so highly, it is definetely not deserving of being on th level of Ocarina of Time or SM64. Expand
  10. KristofferM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    An amazing game which undoubtedly will be remembered as an era-defining classic.
  11. Darkhorse
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around the galaxy enjoying the graphics. Expand
  12. LeeH.
    Mar 3, 2008
    7
    I thing this game is okay. Nothing more, nothing less. People make such a big deal saying it's awesome and unbeatable, but I think it's way over-rated. Some of the levels are extremely long and boring, whereas others couldn't be more fun. The controls are also awkward and different to get the handle of, but once you do, it's easy. I don't think this could be rated I thing this game is okay. Nothing more, nothing less. People make such a big deal saying it's awesome and unbeatable, but I think it's way over-rated. Some of the levels are extremely long and boring, whereas others couldn't be more fun. The controls are also awkward and different to get the handle of, but once you do, it's easy. I don't think this could be rated over a 7, but it's an alright game. Expand
  13. AnonymousMC
    Nov 18, 2007
    7
    It's a good game and fun for the wii. But how it has 98 average score, the highest at present on metacritic above the likes of Assassin's Creed (which has a better storyline, lightyears ahead in graphics even if Mario is cartoony and Call of Duty 4 etc i just do not understand.
  14. H.Jay
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome. I think that's my best Mario adventure yet. A must buy for all Wii owners.
  15. JackS.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Just awesome. Best game for the Wii so far.
  16. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    What the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classicWhat the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classic Mario tunes are back and the music is just great.This game is not great!THIS GAME IS MASTERFUL!A PERFECT 10! Expand
  17. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Since Super Mario 64 we didnĀ“t associate Mario to a perfect game until this game came out. Brilliant technically, really funny, new, fresh, and long. It will take you several months to get the 242 stars that the game has. Difficulty is high but reasonable, and every level surprise you in a different way.
  18. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry RhodanThis game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry Rhodan in Mario style! Expand
  19. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo e muito bom,por causa de sua dificudade,historia,etc... mas tem uns que dizem que e ruim esse jogo maravilhoso jogo de wii.
  20. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Pure perfection. That's all there is to be said. The power ups are amazing and really enhance the gameplay, and each level brings on something new, creative, and challenging. Super Mario Galaxy is a must have for anyone who has a wii, or anyone who appreciates video games, for that matter.
  21. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    I'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they stillI'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they still look friggin pretty. And if you hate on it because your too "hardcore" for mario or it's too "easy", then you are allergic to fun. Isn't that what games set out to do? Give you a fun game to play? Hell, I almost cried with joy when I first beat the game! And that's one of the beauty of the game itself. Does it have replay value? No, not really. But if you want to complete the full game, it'll take you a pretty long while anyway. What I'm trying to say, is if you have a Wii, then you're probably not going to get much more hardcore than this anyway. But, if it just happens that you have a Wii, then this is an absloute MUST HAVE. And I can't tell you how amazing the music is, either. It fits every location perfectly. I don't know what those developers were smoking, but whatever it is, I want some. Some people say that it gets a little too heavy at times (specifically boss fights), but here's two reasons or rather, objections to that. If it's too loud or whatever, there's probably a volume switch on your TV. Also, most of the time, I at least, am too immersed in the game to even notice the music. But if it wasn't there, then it would be empty and silent. The level design is fantastic, the music is pheonamonal, and the gameplay is near perfect. I'm just here to say, I REALLY FRICKING LOVE THIS GAME. If you have a Wii, about 20 bucks, and a craving for fun, then this is a MUST HAVE. Expand
  22. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    An all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'dAn all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'd expect from a Mario game the level design was perfect and so was the music and gameplay. The camera issues often plaguing 3D platformers were pretty much non-existent here. This thing was a delight to play. Visually, it's one of the stand-out games for the Wii (although slightly eclipsed by its successor in this particular field). The game just oozed originality and my excitement in playing it is one I haven't felt since I was a kid playing Mario 64. A magical, magical game. Expand
  23. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    This is the most outstanding game I've ever played. Mario has never done better than this.

    Pros
    -HD graphics
    -nice gameplay
    -fun bosses
    -challenging experience
    -nice story

    Cons
    (none)
  24. Jan 3, 2015
    10
    My favorite game of all time, no questions asked. The atmosphere, music, art design, game play, creativity, and level design are all the best I have ever experienced in a video game. Even the story is pretty deep for a Mario game, it almost reminds me of 2001: A Space Odyssey, maybe not to that level, but it is the closest a video game has ever come to it.
  25. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    Awesome game! One of the best games of all time! The graphics are amazing! The controls are perfect. The level designs are great. It also has great orchestraed music. Super Mario Galaxy is a must buy for everyone! You should get this and SMG2 together if you don't have either.
  26. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This is the best Wii game I have on my shelf( tied with smg2) because I just love how the levels or a.k.a. Galaxies are designed and my favourite character is Cosmic Mario or Luigi. This is an example of a flawless 10/10, and it is interesting or just love how you can get Rosalina for Mario Kart Wii, but I have never played as her. Though I got something accomplished or partly completed byThis is the best Wii game I have on my shelf( tied with smg2) because I just love how the levels or a.k.a. Galaxies are designed and my favourite character is Cosmic Mario or Luigi. This is an example of a flawless 10/10, and it is interesting or just love how you can get Rosalina for Mario Kart Wii, but I have never played as her. Though I got something accomplished or partly completed by unlocking her. You still have to race 50 times to unlock her but anyways, this game is a damn masterpiece( sorry, but once again, I'm kinda excited. No excuse. I hate dat!) you must get and beat it 100% Once and for all. Its easy,fun,enjoyable, and suited for both intense gamers like me or my Wii U friends(some) and Casual Gamers who try to have fun. Expand
  27. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are waterSuper Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are water galaxies, ice galaxies, fire galaxies, grassland galaxies, and much more. I do wish accessing the galaxies was easier, though. It takes forever to get to the higher observatories. Also, there are WAY too many Purple Coin missions. Things get slightly repetitive around the endgame. But altogether, Super Mario Galaxy is a very enjoyable experience that I would recommend to anyone and everyone. Expand
  28. JonathanA.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Wow. This game soars. A true experience, memorable and exhilarating, whether blasting off to a new planetoid to face some gravity-defying, mind-bending puzzle, to walking off a ledge only to find yourself on the other side and with a whole slew of new secrets and things to explore, to just twirling around in the hub-world and dancing with the luma-stars. Hehe. It brings out the kid in me. Wow. This game soars. A true experience, memorable and exhilarating, whether blasting off to a new planetoid to face some gravity-defying, mind-bending puzzle, to walking off a ledge only to find yourself on the other side and with a whole slew of new secrets and things to explore, to just twirling around in the hub-world and dancing with the luma-stars. Hehe. It brings out the kid in me. Mario, you're the man. Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Mario galaxy was the only reason i bought a wii, so if you are a wii owner, you shouldn't , miss it. From the music, the level design, the gravity, etc, etc, this game is a MASTERPIECE.
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I briefly played "Super Mario Galaxy" in my cousin's house and all I can say is...BRILLIANT. The game looks amazing and well polished for a 2007 game (especially despite the fact that it was on the Wii) and its gameplay was also smooth and addictive for my taste. A epic must-play game.
  31. Mar 9, 2011
    7
    It's definitely one of the better titles on the Wii, but it obviously lacks in some areas, such as polish, freedom, and re-playability. Unlike Super Mario 64, I feel like the game is linear, not letting you solve many problems on your own. While it is a fantastic attempt, it ABSOLUTELY does not deserve the flood of 100's critics game it, putting it higher than even Half-Life 2.
  32. DecepticonPom
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    I've always kinda thought that if you divide what you pay for a game by the number of hours you spend playing it until you either get bored or complete it, then that's the value for money factor. I paid AUD$80 and have spent days on this game and the end is still comfortably some way away. GREAT fun, great value, totally worth it.
  33. RobertC
    Nov 8, 2009
    7
    Mario Galaxy is a game that had many great ideas. Unfortunately, this game plays like a full priced set of gimmicks, from the controls all the way down to the platforming.
  34. RobB.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    I'll start by saying I love Mario. I have owned, played, and finshed every Super Mario game since his days with Luigi on the NES. I even love the Mariokart series, so I may not be the most unbiased reviewer. I'll start by saying I love this game. The controls are great with very few exceptions. The visuals are Fantastic. And the game play is superb. I play my own game, I play I'll start by saying I love Mario. I have owned, played, and finshed every Super Mario game since his days with Luigi on the NES. I even love the Mariokart series, so I may not be the most unbiased reviewer. I'll start by saying I love this game. The controls are great with very few exceptions. The visuals are Fantastic. And the game play is superb. I play my own game, I play with my kids, I play this game with my wife. Buy it and you will not regret it. Expand
  35. JPH.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Awesome game play -- plenty challenging for an experienced gamer yet intuitive enough for a novice to enjoy. Another Mario hit from Nintendo.
  36. Jasonh.
    Jun 12, 2009
    6
    So I didn't like this game. Before I get my head bitten off by a bunch of fanboys, I'd like to point out that I absolutely loved mario 64 and hell, even Mario Sunshine. Mario 64 had awesome powerups, worlds that were incredible and unique (the clock world, the cavern world, the big and small world...) and exploring these areas was half the fun. Galaxy almost entirely strips away So I didn't like this game. Before I get my head bitten off by a bunch of fanboys, I'd like to point out that I absolutely loved mario 64 and hell, even Mario Sunshine. Mario 64 had awesome powerups, worlds that were incredible and unique (the clock world, the cavern world, the big and small world...) and exploring these areas was half the fun. Galaxy almost entirely strips away the fun of exploration. Everything about this game is so straightforward. Nearly every power up is only placed under certain circumstances to be used in a certain way. To give an example, you'll only get the fireflower (yeah the brought it back, but it sucks) when you need to burn a couple of torches. You'll only get the spring suit when you must bounce to higher areas. Gone are the days when you could get a flying cap to sail around the stage, or a fireflower to just burn some enemies. The worlds are also not nearly as immersive, partially do to the linear gameply, but can also be attributed to the fact that most of them can be entirely walked around in a minute. They're that small, and lack cohesion as many of the worlds are actually a series of smaller planets. Expand
  37. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    This game is the best game on the wii. Truly excellent graphics and gameplay. There is tons and tons of things to do and just keeps you coming back for more.
  38. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    The Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are the best games to be released on the Wii and are some of the best games to be released in the seventh generation of video game consoles. The originality in the level design is awesome and the fun that comes from the gameplay is unforgettable. There is more originally in some single levels of Galaxy than some entire games! The soundtrack of Galaxy isThe Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are the best games to be released on the Wii and are some of the best games to be released in the seventh generation of video game consoles. The originality in the level design is awesome and the fun that comes from the gameplay is unforgettable. There is more originally in some single levels of Galaxy than some entire games! The soundtrack of Galaxy is freaken wicked and the graphics are charmingly simple and well designed. The only downer to Galaxy is the story which although is irrelevant to what Mario games are about should have been removed from the game altogether. I actually dont know many people who have played this game which is disappointing as it really is one of the best of the best. Expand
  39. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is easily the best game on the Wii. The graphics are impressive and the environments are varied. The gameplay and music are amazing. The motion controls were responsive and easy. This is a game for everyone.
  40. Feb 25, 2011
    7
    While at least somewhat impressive on all fronts, Galaxy suffers from repetition, extreme linearity and lack of details. Controlling Mario is a little messy with strange tacked-on IR pointing (which, on the other hand, brings about some welcome multitasking), some minor jumping and falling stickiness and not too smooth underwater controls. Did complete and enjoy. Inferior to Mario 64,While at least somewhat impressive on all fronts, Galaxy suffers from repetition, extreme linearity and lack of details. Controlling Mario is a little messy with strange tacked-on IR pointing (which, on the other hand, brings about some welcome multitasking), some minor jumping and falling stickiness and not too smooth underwater controls. Did complete and enjoy. Inferior to Mario 64, Sunshine and Galaxy 2. Expand
  41. YerkK.
    Jul 9, 2008
    7
    I will agree with everyone that the game looks nice and really has the mario fairytale gloom radiating from it.. but I also want to point out the less than average qualities the game offers, as I feel those are ignored or underrated. - the unique functionality of the wii-mote is hardly used - Coop mode is crap. Ok, it's actually more of a spectator mode, but that leaves the I will agree with everyone that the game looks nice and really has the mario fairytale gloom radiating from it.. but I also want to point out the less than average qualities the game offers, as I feel those are ignored or underrated. - the unique functionality of the wii-mote is hardly used - Coop mode is crap. Ok, it's actually more of a spectator mode, but that leaves the multiplayer component to be near non-existent. - Graphics aren't exactly edge-breaking. They're nice enough though and create a fairy-tale atmosphere. - There's too much restrictions for the sake of balancing. It's much like a linear platform game without giving the players real room to be creative, there's usually only one way to beat the game. - It's rather repetitive. The gameplay might be rather innovating, but the rest of the game is old. There are also a lot of positive points, but they're easy enough to find... My main concern is the very limited usage of the wii functions, which leaves me to conclude a good 7 is high enough for this game. Expand
  42. js
    Mar 31, 2009
    5
    I have got to say that this game is really overrated, if you like a simple platformer I guess youd like it, but it is not an absolute classic. for gods sake, mario is the single most overrated character of all time! He hardly ever speaks, has no personality, never interacts or does anything anyone could ever relate to. Really look at him honestly without the hype and marketing and ask I have got to say that this game is really overrated, if you like a simple platformer I guess youd like it, but it is not an absolute classic. for gods sake, mario is the single most overrated character of all time! He hardly ever speaks, has no personality, never interacts or does anything anyone could ever relate to. Really look at him honestly without the hype and marketing and ask yourself, is he really the greatest character. I expect a lot of people will reflexively say hes great but maybe a few will see what I mean. And I dont hate mario compulsively either but M64 is still the best one and I would rather play that anyday. This game is overly simplified and immensely repetitive. If you like that whatever but I want more in a game, especially something so damn overrated. Think If any other character tried this same game would it even get a 50? cmon! and you may call me a Wii hater and PS fanboy for this but I would rather play the original ratchet and clank over again than this anyday. Expand
  43. PetriT.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    Great, long lasting quality entertainment.
  44. DaveH.
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    It's great fun at first and the level designs are clever. But I found the controls clunky and the gameplay too simplistic to withstand even its modest length before it gets repetitive (which is less than halfway through). There again, this has always been the way I've felt about Mario games, having being grown up with Sonic games and I probably shouldn't knock it too much It's great fun at first and the level designs are clever. But I found the controls clunky and the gameplay too simplistic to withstand even its modest length before it gets repetitive (which is less than halfway through). There again, this has always been the way I've felt about Mario games, having being grown up with Sonic games and I probably shouldn't knock it too much as Mario Galaxy better than 99% percent of platformers around these days, ESPECIALLY the new Sonic. The soundtrack is also very good and the Luma creatures are nothing short of adorable. However, I maintain that this game does nothing to bring platform gaming into the seventh-generation and its shortcomings are probably a symptom of the the datedness of the said genre. The last platform games I honestly enjoyed were Sonic Adventure 1 and 2 and Rayman 2. Expand
  45. TopiI.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    TOO SHORT TOO EASY! Everything else is GREAT about this game. After couple of hours you think like "wtf? I saved princess but i have still 1000 stars to collect." Hope next mario comes soon cos sunshine was so good and whit sunshine mixed whit galaxy it would be the game of the year or bigger!
  46. John
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    The best game for Wii. Period. Fun to cotnrol, superb music. the best graphic for wii at this moment. buy it
  47. KingKong
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Who ever rated this game below 9/10, proves that they dont know much about video games, next to a freshy. This Game has it all! from best clarity and innovation to royal platformers; interms of visual, gameplay, competitiveness, simplicity, involvement and addictiveness. Mario is Fit for a KING of all games to this present and future, hands down.
  48. Thyzz
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Greatest game for the Wii in existence. I don't know why some people don't even give this a 10.
  49. LeeB.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Great game. This game is fun with one player and two players. With 120 stars (121 when you play as Luigi) this game will keep you busy and you will want to play it more than once. Ten stars all around.
  50. AndyH
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    This game ate my weekend. I started playing it on my housemate's Wii on Friday afternoon, the next thing I know I've got four stars left to go and it's 3AM the following Monday. I commend any game that can charm and immerse me so deeply I go over 48 hours without using the toilet and I don't notice.
  51. glotero
    Apr 4, 2009
    10
    Every aspect of this games is very well done. the gameplay is perfect, the level design is perfect and very interesting, graphics are great. in my opinion galaxy could easily fit as a good looking xbox 360 tittle. the only letdown is the story which is the same as always, but if you have been playing mario for the last 2 decates you know that this kind of games are not about exposition Every aspect of this games is very well done. the gameplay is perfect, the level design is perfect and very interesting, graphics are great. in my opinion galaxy could easily fit as a good looking xbox 360 tittle. the only letdown is the story which is the same as always, but if you have been playing mario for the last 2 decates you know that this kind of games are not about exposition they are about perfect and enjoyable gameplay. galaxy atmosphere is incredible enjoyable it really makes you feel like in space but with a marioish feel, each level is unique and memorable. super mario galaxy is the best game of this generation. gta4 is very overated. oh yes, the music of galaxy is great aswell! in my opinion the best soundtrack for a videogame, well competing with super smash bros brawl. Expand
  52. Jamesb
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    As one of the only people I know to 100% complete the game, I know that this is one of the most fun, action packed games I have ever played. With 120 levels across around 40 different galaxies, this game has nearly everything a Mario fan could possibly want, and then some.
  53. PaulD.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    There's no point in explaining the awesomeness of this game. It's like trying to define perfection. To put it simply, the closest gaming has come to a religious experience. Yeahoo!!
  54. AaronP.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Great gameplay and a classic storyline. Mario's back!
  55. ClayA.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy presents, as the box says, an adventure of cosmic proportions. This could not be any more true, and Super Mario Galaxy is quite possibly the greatest game that has ever been made or ever will be. Do not miss out on a game you will not soon forget.
  56. D::D
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    apparently trolls don't know that MARIO isnt EVEN SUPPOSE TO HAVE A DAM SToryline how retarded can they be seriously people play mario for the gameplay. Well no duh its targeted for kids its not for hardcore fanatics
  57. DarPower1
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    i dont understand what people are talking about when they say that graphics are like gamecube. apparently not, compare ssbm to ssbb especially in scenic graphics and they'll understand how stupid they are. the atmospher of the plannets with the nice warm happy like style of the mini plannets especially at the gate level, the graphics are superb . i feel like people dont understand i dont understand what people are talking about when they say that graphics are like gamecube. apparently not, compare ssbm to ssbb especially in scenic graphics and they'll understand how stupid they are. the atmospher of the plannets with the nice warm happy like style of the mini plannets especially at the gate level, the graphics are superb . i feel like people dont understand that nintendo isnt trying to be realistic because if mario was on PS3 or FAILbox they will see how ugly that would look. the nice colors and non violent feeling (coming from a bond,Matrix,superman fan) makes the whole game dumb and halo 1-3 are overrated and copied Metroid for those fanatics that like FAILbox. Expand
  58. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This is brilliant. Fact. There is just so much to cherish, it's just an amazing game. The level design itself is in-genius, Miyamoto and his team have really stretched their imaginations with this game. There is just some amazing levels on offer which I think needs to be played. The orchestral music works like a dream, Kondo and his fellow composers must be credited, the tracks are justThis is brilliant. Fact. There is just so much to cherish, it's just an amazing game. The level design itself is in-genius, Miyamoto and his team have really stretched their imaginations with this game. There is just some amazing levels on offer which I think needs to be played. The orchestral music works like a dream, Kondo and his fellow composers must be credited, the tracks are just stunning, and really set the atmosphere really well, you've just got to love "Gusty Garden Galaxy" tune. Brilliant track. And that's not all, there are many other fine tunes. I must admit, for a Wii game, it's looks fabulous. Most games on the Wii don't show the graphical power like this. The only flaws are it's too short, easy and a hollow storyline. Still, that doesn't really affect it. Get it. Expand
  59. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    10.Sin duda, un muy buen juego. No defrauda técnicamente, la banda sonora es genial, tiene un control preciso y ajustado y una dificultad muy bien nivelada. Además es largo, te asegura unas 40 horas de juego completártelo. 242 estrellas difíciles pero posibles.
  60. Aug 7, 2011
    7
    This is easily the best platformer I have ever played. It feels like it raises the bar to a level that I would never need another platformer again. In all fairness, I am not a big fan of platform games so I don't spend a lot of time with the genre, but this is just one of those quality games that goes above and beyond traditional expectations of a particular genre. The only real problem IThis is easily the best platformer I have ever played. It feels like it raises the bar to a level that I would never need another platformer again. In all fairness, I am not a big fan of platform games so I don't spend a lot of time with the genre, but this is just one of those quality games that goes above and beyond traditional expectations of a particular genre. The only real problem I have with it is the label. Do we really need another Super Mario? Please Nintendo, call it anything you want and make the main character look like anyone else but please move on from Mario/Zelda/Metroid. These same game mechanics could easily be used with a new IP to freshen things up a bit. It's getting to the point where I can't bare to look at another one of these three brands unless it comes with a 90+ consensus review score to help me see past the same increasingly irritating main character. Expand
  61. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This entire game can be summarized in three words: a true masterpiece. I enjoyed it's sequel a lot, but the plumber's first galaxy adventure is arguably even better. Gorgeous graphics and a sweeping, beautiful orchestral score heighten the sheer greatness. Sure, the story is ok (you know, Bowser kidnaps Peach; but this time, he wants to rule the universe), but no one really plays a MarioThis entire game can be summarized in three words: a true masterpiece. I enjoyed it's sequel a lot, but the plumber's first galaxy adventure is arguably even better. Gorgeous graphics and a sweeping, beautiful orchestral score heighten the sheer greatness. Sure, the story is ok (you know, Bowser kidnaps Peach; but this time, he wants to rule the universe), but no one really plays a Mario platformer for the story; they play it for nostalgia and creative, original gameplay. Not only is Super Mario Galaxy one of the best Wii games (up there with Super Smash Bros. Brawl and Super Paper Mario), it's also one of the greatest games ever to grace the video game market. Expand
  62. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Its no Mario 64 opr Super Mario Bros but it is reall fun game, it has pretty good graphics for a wii game , it has some moments that are just ok and it is going around planets in space which is weird, but its mario and it is lots of fun
  63. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I gotta admit, some of these levels are easy, but that flaw is backed up with an amazing soundtrack, almost perfect graphics, and unique game play. The levels are highly unique, something that most games lack.
  64. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    This was the first game on Wii that wowed me. Everything comes together beautifully: the controls, the music, the graphics, the unbelievable level design. A modern day masterpiece.
  65. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy has good graphics, and a memorable storyline that has changed the way we look at Mario more as a character. The only complaints I have are that the camera angles are abysmal, and some levels are more frustrating than challenging. All in all, it is a must-have game for the Wii.
  66. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is THE BEST GAME on the wii. it takes Super Mario Galaxy and does what no one thought it could. it made it even better. it fixes just about every one of the small problems i had with Galaxy 1 and fixes them. plus there are new additions such as a bag full of new power ups and of course Yoshi, the dinosaur that everybody loves. my biggest complaint about Galaxy 1 was thatSuper Mario Galaxy is THE BEST GAME on the wii. it takes Super Mario Galaxy and does what no one thought it could. it made it even better. it fixes just about every one of the small problems i had with Galaxy 1 and fixes them. plus there are new additions such as a bag full of new power ups and of course Yoshi, the dinosaur that everybody loves. my biggest complaint about Galaxy 1 was that many of the boss fights were the same. Galaxy 2's boss fights are much better, but the final boss is still too short, too easy, and just disappointing over all. the rest of the game is also quite easy except for the perfect run (god dammit that took me forever to beat) and also the number of save files you can create has been reduced from 6 in the original to 3 in this game. not a major problem it just might be an issue if you have a family of gamers. Now i know MANY gamers will skip this game simply because its on the wii. but please, play this game. you won't regret it. and it is well worth the $50. i've been wondering whether to give this game a 9/10 or a perfect 10/10. i was reluctant to give it a perfect score because there were a few microscopic problems existing. but then i realized that a perfect video game doesn't, and never will, exist. every game no matter how amazing will have small bugs. but even if a perfect game doesn't exist, Super Mario Galaxy 2 comes pretty damn close. Expand
  67. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    The game off the bat is spectacular. The beginning is very compelling, and through out the game you get wondoures surprises. The bosses are filled with adreneline and the game is addicting in general. I think this game had a lot of thought into it, and to this day I still play it. One word to explain this game? EPICC!!!!
  68. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Best game ever made!!!! Incredible level design, awesome music, and amazing power ups all enhance the fantastic gameplay! Super Mario Galaxy is the best game I have ever played and I dont think anything will ever top it!
  69. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    Mario blasts off into outer-space with Super Mario Galaxy! Letsa go solve puzzles by using gravity! The star system is back and better than ever! Now let's go blast off into space and get into the gravity-defying journey!
  70. TedA.
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    It's by far the best looking game on Wii. Best gameplay? No way. It's incredibly easy and won't take you long to complete it (even the 'special' 2nd run through). The camera is dreadful; sure it's nice not bother having to adjust it constantly but it seems to find the most ridiculous places to settle down at - mostly with a huge ledge just out of sight. The It's by far the best looking game on Wii. Best gameplay? No way. It's incredibly easy and won't take you long to complete it (even the 'special' 2nd run through). The camera is dreadful; sure it's nice not bother having to adjust it constantly but it seems to find the most ridiculous places to settle down at - mostly with a huge ledge just out of sight. The controls are nice, but the Spin Attack seems to be an easy way for Nintendo to add a new level of simplicity. Whatever happened to Mario jumping on his enemies? If you have a Wii by all means rent it (you'll probably complete it in 3 days). If you have another console, ignore this. Oh and let me say - I prefered Sunshine a lot more. The hub world in Galaxy is terribly dull compared to Sunshine and SM64. The levels are linear and small compared to Sunshine/SM64's wide areas to run around in. 6.9/10. Expand
  71. TamaraT.
    Nov 20, 2007
    6
    After speaking to various people who all played the game, they all commented on how amazing the idea of a spherical level is, and said thats what made the game great. The idea of a round level with interesting gravity is nice, but Ratchet and Clank did that; many years ago. After playing, i found that the WiiMote, as usual, is used poorly, and the game overall looks pretty but didnt have After speaking to various people who all played the game, they all commented on how amazing the idea of a spherical level is, and said thats what made the game great. The idea of a round level with interesting gravity is nice, but Ratchet and Clank did that; many years ago. After playing, i found that the WiiMote, as usual, is used poorly, and the game overall looks pretty but didnt have enough other than looks and childish style to keep me amused. Its great that its a new Mario game, but the reason the ratings are high is for the that Mario is a main character. Expand
  72. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  73. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = One of the greatest platformers of all-time!!
  74. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    What happened in here? This game is so wrong, too few levels and when they are easy, literally, THEY ARE VERY EASY, but they want them to be hard... OMG THEY ARE VERY, VERY HARD. And the game has many incoherences. The design of the planets are wonderful, I admit that, but when I play in them, I get dizzy. The good thing is that the new power and hilarious, and makes the game fun.
  75. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    Mario galaxy is a near perfect game, the gameplay is perfect, the sound is perfect, the graphics are exactly the way I like them, and the controls are perfect. Sadly though the game has the same problem as every Mario game, bad story, bad multiplayer, and easy difficulty, but other then that it's a perfect game that anyone can enjoy. Mario galaxy is a game were no level is the same, andMario galaxy is a near perfect game, the gameplay is perfect, the sound is perfect, the graphics are exactly the way I like them, and the controls are perfect. Sadly though the game has the same problem as every Mario game, bad story, bad multiplayer, and easy difficulty, but other then that it's a perfect game that anyone can enjoy. Mario galaxy is a game were no level is the same, and all the level have there own hook. In some levels your a bee, and in other your swimming in squid infested water. I am also happy to report every level is fun, so for the 8 hours that it takes you to beat the game you'll enjoy every second of it. Like I said the game is 8 hours long but with great replay value you could play 30 hours like me. Expand
  76. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Amazing, that word poorly describes how wonderful this game really are. I start to play just now, 3 years past the launch and the game still is very fresh and not became old.
    I can't speak anymore. I gonna play!
  77. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    Anyone giving it a bad review, oh come on! You're either one of them COD fanboys, guys who don't even own a Nintendo System, trolls, you found the game too hard or you can't appreciate a game. If you don't like the plot, then you should probably read a book or something. Videogames obviously aren't your thing. This game doesn't even need a good plot, and I'd be upset if it was anythingAnyone giving it a bad review, oh come on! You're either one of them COD fanboys, guys who don't even own a Nintendo System, trolls, you found the game too hard or you can't appreciate a game. If you don't like the plot, then you should probably read a book or something. Videogames obviously aren't your thing. This game doesn't even need a good plot, and I'd be upset if it was anything else. If it was something else, it won't work one bit and the game would be pointless. *Cough* (Sonic The Hedgehog) *Cough*. I mean, the Galaxies have variety, are very pretty, have a really good challenge and do not force you to complete the mission. The hub world is fun to walk around in. It stays true to its roots and throws its new ideas around. Oh, and if you're going to call it "Mario 64 in space", well, Halo Reach is Halo in Space. COD is pretty much always in Russia. Tetris is always well, Tetris. I only have one criticism though, and it's that running through to Bowser on your first go is too easy. While the galaxies are original, it gets repeated a lot. This isn't restricted to children. It's for everyone and the only people I see disliking this are technophobes, COD fanboys, people who only use videogames to do yoga, ride horses, etc. and politicians. Mario doesn't need a gun or killing Nazis to be awesome. Not quite perfect, but man is this game good. Own a Wii? Don't have this game? What is wrong with you? Expand
  78. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is probably one of the best for the Mario series, the characters are really cool, the gameplay is absolutely stunning, and the graphics are out of this world. The game is really long, especially if you try t grab every green star in order to play as luigi. People always compare 3D Mario games to Mario 64, but this is where games are really compared. Expand
  79. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    Mario is back and with a story unlike any other Mario before. Super Mario Galaxy is exciting the second you start playing until the second you beat it. My only problems with Galaxy were predominately camera angles, length (to short), and repetitive level formats. Galaxy is still however an amazing game I would always recommend to someone. I personally loved the observatory andMario is back and with a story unlike any other Mario before. Super Mario Galaxy is exciting the second you start playing until the second you beat it. My only problems with Galaxy were predominately camera angles, length (to short), and repetitive level formats. Galaxy is still however an amazing game I would always recommend to someone. I personally loved the observatory and Rosaline's storybook. Expand
  80. RJV
    Oct 8, 2011
    10
    As far as the Wii goes, this is the second best game there is, the best being Galaxy 2, and it deserves that place. You can see the classic Mario in it, and there are loads of new stuff. The controls are pretty much perfect, and the only problems i have are accidentally activating the spin attack by shaking the Wii remote, and the Red-Star flying power-up has awful handling. After you beatAs far as the Wii goes, this is the second best game there is, the best being Galaxy 2, and it deserves that place. You can see the classic Mario in it, and there are loads of new stuff. The controls are pretty much perfect, and the only problems i have are accidentally activating the spin attack by shaking the Wii remote, and the Red-Star flying power-up has awful handling. After you beat the main story, which is easy, but if you quit a Mario-game after just completing the main story you're doing wrong, there is a lot of game-play afterwards. There some small flaws of course, but they are all fixed in galaxy 2, the best game ever. Expand
  81. TaharulI.
    Apr 3, 2008
    6
    It was so easy. The ending is poor. Never have i been so disappointed in a mario game. I lent it to my relatives and they got bored with it in a day.
  82. WilliamC
    Mar 26, 2008
    6
    Its a good game but not great at all!!It doesn't deserve the first place!!Its really repetitive and really NOT addictive!!BORIN sometimes!! really ordinary.
  83. DorS.
    May 5, 2008
    5
    Boring game, even didn't finish it because its so boring.
  84. KayN.
    Jun 14, 2009
    5
    I'm not sure why but I REALLY found it hard to get enjoyment out of this game, a lot of aspects just stopped me. First the mediocre gameplay is what got me, I experienced severe cases of boredom doing silly tasks such as launching yourself onto planets or flinging yourself towards shiny objects, while interactive, it is hard to find enjoyment out of tasks you are doing. What's I'm not sure why but I REALLY found it hard to get enjoyment out of this game, a lot of aspects just stopped me. First the mediocre gameplay is what got me, I experienced severe cases of boredom doing silly tasks such as launching yourself onto planets or flinging yourself towards shiny objects, while interactive, it is hard to find enjoyment out of tasks you are doing. What's worse is these tasks become repetitive over time, it's basically the same thing. You often have to re-visit annoying planets to perform different tasks. The action in this game is fairly basic, honestly I can't see much difference from 64 and Sunshine, maybe a less annoying combat system, instead of spin and crush have something unique, Mario is being re-used in the same way he just jumps on things. This isn't a big problem, the main aspect of this game is platforming, and the controls are sensitive, one wrong move and you've missed your target completely, this will happen countless times because the controls are messed up pretty bad. Now sometimes a good story can drive pretty mediocre gameplay, but sadly no, Galaxy is as every Mario game has been: Save the Princess. This lackluster creativity for a story is what makes the game worse. Most things in this game are pretty childish. There was some enjoyment but I was forcing myself through the game to see if it would improve. Mario Galaxy has to be one of the most overrated games in history, while most people give it perfect scores, they ignore the basic problems of this game, how it is just Mario 64 with space themes, how the controls fail or how the levels become tedious. People also forget Ratchet and Clank has used alot of the formulas that Nintendo have implemented in this game and Ratchet and Clank remains the superior title, mainly because you play as characters you actually like and it has a story that isn't for 6 year olds. When it comes to platforming, stick to some Naughty Dog titles and DON'T follow the reviews. There is no guaranteed enjoyment in this game. Only if you are a die hard SM64 fan that wants to see the same stuff re-used. Expand
  85. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Wholly original and infinetly fun. Perhaps one of the best games ever. I think I'm gonna buy it again. It controls like the best of all marios yet it's platforming is ultra complicated technically. But it controls so well that it all seems so simple.
  86. VitorB
    Jul 25, 2009
    6
    64 was so much better, the new power ups s*ck, you can only use the power ups for a couple of seconds and u only use the fire flower to light up some torches. Is it only me or these new levels don't say "Mario" at all, it's like your almost not playin Mario anymore, even sunshine was better 64 was way better than galaxy hands down they ruined the Mario World with this Galaxy 64 was so much better, the new power ups s*ck, you can only use the power ups for a couple of seconds and u only use the fire flower to light up some torches. Is it only me or these new levels don't say "Mario" at all, it's like your almost not playin Mario anymore, even sunshine was better 64 was way better than galaxy hands down they ruined the Mario World with this Galaxy Theme, starts instead of coins, nooo that's so wrong! Expand
  87. Apr 27, 2012
    8
    This game was fun. I did beat it in a few months, but I enjoyed it. The bosses were great and the planets were cool. I also loved how Mario said thank you for playing my game at the end of the game.
  88. May 26, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game on Wii. It's one of the very few games which I can respect as a medium and even a piece of art, albeit as a video game.

    The levels each have their own fun twist, and the graphics are lush. The soundtrack is truly awe-inspiring, with grand orchestra melodies to electro-bops. Although some levels are fairly straight-forward, most give a
    Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game on Wii. It's one of the very few games which I can respect as a medium and even a piece of art, albeit as a video game.

    The levels each have their own fun twist, and the graphics are lush. The soundtrack is truly awe-inspiring, with grand orchestra melodies to electro-bops.

    Although some levels are fairly straight-forward, most give a sense of achievement for completing them.

    Galaxy is certainly "King of the Platformers", and this game serves greatly for long-time Mario fans. Pick this up along with Super Mario Galaxy 2 for some of the most fantastic games ever created.
    Expand
  89. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Mario rules the gaming world and this is a reminder of it. Ignore what trolls say this game is amazing and not buying it would be a crime for any true gamer.
  90. MattS.
    Oct 11, 2008
    0
    This game is a complete waste of time - the graphics are o.k., but they make no difference to an uninspired platformer such as Galaxy. Do yourslef a favour and go buy Mario 64 - it's exactly the same as this.
  91. NotmuchFun
    Aug 7, 2009
    6
    Oh god, this game has no business at the top of the wii games list. All Galaxy is, is a watered down version of mario 64 with several gimmicks. While 64's worlds were wide open, with the option of obtaining several stars in one go (which may or may not include the mission star) Galaxy's worlds are extremely linear. Power ups are only given when necessary and quickly disapear Oh god, this game has no business at the top of the wii games list. All Galaxy is, is a watered down version of mario 64 with several gimmicks. While 64's worlds were wide open, with the option of obtaining several stars in one go (which may or may not include the mission star) Galaxy's worlds are extremely linear. Power ups are only given when necessary and quickly disapear afterwards. Everything in this game is stifled, and the amount of freedom that can be enjoyed is scant. Even camera control is severely limited, and I often couldn't even see if i was positioned to squish a goomba. Expand
  92. MarlonB.
    Oct 16, 2008
    1
    "sigh" Mario has lost his edge. I would definitly say that mario is better in 2d. jumping on enemies, no life bar, not as many dumb power-ups that ruin the gamplay, 2d were his glory days. plus this game is targeted for children... LAME!!!
  93. [Anonymous]
    Dec 9, 2007
    2
    Galaxy uses play mechanics from a 10 year old game and graphics from a 5 year old game, and doesn't even have a great storyline to salvage it from the depths of un-originality. It was nice, but won't be deserving of any Game of the Year awards, even if it wins them.
  94. PolH.
    Jan 20, 2009
    6
    I do miss the old platformers...this game was extremely easy for me, and it is obvious that it was created for children. But why are we surprised? The wii is obviously for non-gamers, and taking this under consideration, this is a decent game. If you are a gamer this game is not for you, and neither is the console.
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    tl;dr: This game has excellent graphics, gameplay, and music. One of the best for the wii.
    ____________________________Borg's Super Mario Galaxy Review__________________________
    So here it is, Super Mario Galaxy. Metacritic's 2007 game of the year. Does it hold a candle to it's reception? Let's see. ________________________________________________________________________________ Graphics:
    tl;dr: This game has excellent graphics, gameplay, and music. One of the best for the wii.
    ____________________________Borg's Super Mario Galaxy Review__________________________

    So here it is, Super Mario Galaxy. Metacritic's 2007 game of the year. Does it hold a candle to it's reception? Let's see.
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Graphics: Super Mario Galaxy, despite being on the graphically weakest console of this generation, couldn't be aesthetically improved much. The models are extremely smooth, and the textures don't stretch too often. The water, sheen, lighting, among other graphical elements, all look very well done, making Mario Galaxy one of the best (if not the best) looking games on the Wii.
    ______________________________________________________________________________
    Sound: The soundtrack for Mario Galaxy is orchestrated, and every single level is brought to life by the epic, fitting music. It synergizes perfectly with the graphics and gameplay elements taking place on the screen. Certainly one of Koji Kondo's best works.
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Gameplay: Here's where we get down to the most important element; the gameplay. Super Mario Galaxy's gameplay is nothing less than perfect. You're not bombarded with a slew of glitches ( if there any glitches at all) and the difficulty level is very well perfect, also. Let me explain.. There are several ways of beating the game. You can simply get the minimum 60 stars and beat bowser. There are 120 different missions in the game, so you have alot of variety. But for the hardcore gamers, one can complete all 120 missions, unlock "Super Luigi Galaxy", get all 121 stars in that mode, and then get the last star from the special mission in mario's mode. So much for hardcore gamers to do, and enough for casuals.
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Replayability: See "Gameplay"

    Overall: Super Mario Galaxy is one of the best Wii games, and should be in every Wii owners collection.
    10/10
    Expand
  96. ja
    Mar 4, 2008
    0
    The game exudes the why bother playiing appeal from the moment you turn on and the story is garbage
  97. AndrewM
    Aug 29, 2009
    2
    Boring gameplay, abysmal story, , unnecessary prophecies and gimmicks, oh, and Mario fans are going to attack people that don't like the new Mario games? This game has it all!
  98. wetweg
    Apr 12, 2008
    0
    This game is sucky and overrated.
  99. Mar 2, 2013
    4
    The space where it was possible to move always seemed to be very small. Almost felt like a converted 2d game. Constantly dealing with gravity wasnt a great move either, it kind of ruined the experience. I wasnt a great fan of the motion control either, felt very duckt taped and gimmicky. The art style left nothing to complain about, lovely colourful environments. The setting in space didntThe space where it was possible to move always seemed to be very small. Almost felt like a converted 2d game. Constantly dealing with gravity wasnt a great move either, it kind of ruined the experience. I wasnt a great fan of the motion control either, felt very duckt taped and gimmicky. The art style left nothing to complain about, lovely colourful environments. The setting in space didnt really appeal to me, it didnt have the Mario feeling to it. The green grass, castles and trees is just much more fitting. The graphics left much to wish for, but it wasnt much they could do with that hardware. It does look significantly better on dolphin emulator with upscaling and some minor graphic tweaks. An OK game, but Id rather see a full blown remake of Mario 64 with 1080p resolution.

    Its not a bad game, but its the Galaxy instalment is by far the worst in the series. I was a sceptic to Mario Sunshine when it came, but after playing this I realize how much better it was. Its obvious that the new and younger crowd loved this game. I hope that they some day get the chance to play Mario 64 and see how much better it can be.
    Expand
  100. JamesK.
    Jan 2, 2008
    4
    Great to look at, might be amazing for younger players. Anyone 20+ will get bored along the way. When is Nintendo going to try something different? Mario 64 in space is not original.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.