Super Mario Galaxy Wii

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2327 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisA.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Truly the best Mario game ever, and also a game that will go down in history as one of the best games ever made - like Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Brothers 3 before it. There simply are no flaws with this game, if you like Mario: you will love this game; if you love Mario, then this game is your nirvana.
  2. SAmuelM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    The ONLY two things wrong with this game are: 1> You can't control the camera very well 2> See number 1.
  3. DanA.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    I had been hyped for this game since day one. The best part about it is that no amount of hype can do it justice. This has exceeded my expectations for a Wii game, a Mario game, a 3D Platformer, and so much more. Super Mario Galaxy is by far the best game this year, superior to even God of War 2, Halo 3, Bioshock, and Call of Duty 4. It never fails to impress, and even with minor camera I had been hyped for this game since day one. The best part about it is that no amount of hype can do it justice. This has exceeded my expectations for a Wii game, a Mario game, a 3D Platformer, and so much more. Super Mario Galaxy is by far the best game this year, superior to even God of War 2, Halo 3, Bioshock, and Call of Duty 4. It never fails to impress, and even with minor camera flaws and a lack of an original story, it's as close to perfect as a game has been in a long time. Expand
  4. AlexD.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This is the reason to own a Wii, best game this decade.
  5. Caitiexobc8ox
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    This game was the best out of all the games I own for Wii. It's great graphics and exciting settings don't make you sick of it in an hour and makes Mario look like a whole new player.
  6. AndreaC.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    The best game of the year, without a doubt. Visionary, new, fresh. I love it.
  7. KevinG.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Debate will continue to rage over whether or not this game is "one of the best of all time" and worthy of some of the more extreme ratings out there (one prominent reviewer gave it an 11 out of 10). Having played the game, I must admit that it's one of the more fun and exciting experiences I've had in gaming in years. The variety of things to do and the execution in which Debate will continue to rage over whether or not this game is "one of the best of all time" and worthy of some of the more extreme ratings out there (one prominent reviewer gave it an 11 out of 10). Having played the game, I must admit that it's one of the more fun and exciting experiences I've had in gaming in years. The variety of things to do and the execution in which it's handled is impeccable. The music is playing in my head 24 hours a day, and the graphics are very, very good. I think what is causing many of the super-high reviews though, isn't so much the quality of the game but the fact that it reminds people of Super Mario 64. This is a game that people have wanted a proper sequel to for years, and other than the good-but-different Mario Sunshine, we haven't had a new 3-D mario game that could compare to the N64 original. I think a lot of these reviews are based in nostalgia more than anything else. Not that there's really anything wrong with that. Mario Galaxy is without a doubt a fantastic game, whether or not it deserves 11 points out of ten. Expand
  8. AnonymousMC
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Es realemente emocionante y unico, la experiencia que siente saltar de planeta en planeta, la movilidad, los colores y mario son fantasticos, y realmente en todo el juego siempre hay algo nuevo... cada galaxia es diferente y por cada una un poder diferente. realmente asombroso! no es el juego del año, es el juego de 10 años
  9. JorgeC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    I believe this is the overall the best Wii game out there in the market. Intense graphics compare to sunshine and other previous mario games. Same characters and same storyline doesn't ever get boring. I give this game a 10 beyond the galaxy.
  10. VN
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Mesmerising experience from the off. It blew me away straight away. And the sound is emphatic. Plus its not another first person shooter...
  11. DRaGMaReC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Es el mejor juego de Mario que se ha creado, en el catálogo de Wii solo es superado por Zelda Twilight Princess, un poco sencillo al principio pero conseguir las 120 estrellas no es tarea facil.
  12. TerranS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    The best platformer I have ever played- and that includes Mario 64. Galaxy does an excellent job of combining problem solving with skill, with a pace that calls on the player to constantly evaluate both. Its colorful visuals make excellent use of the Wii's graphical capabilities, and appeal to all ages of gamers. The audio can be a bit "kiddish" at times, but it's never The best platformer I have ever played- and that includes Mario 64. Galaxy does an excellent job of combining problem solving with skill, with a pace that calls on the player to constantly evaluate both. Its colorful visuals make excellent use of the Wii's graphical capabilities, and appeal to all ages of gamers. The audio can be a bit "kiddish" at times, but it's never overwhelming, and the excellent gameplay and graphics more than make up for that negligible "lapse". The only other complaint is the camera, but I haven't played a 3D platformer yet where I have not had some complaint about the camera, and overall Galaxy's works to strengthen the game's immersion factor, making it a little more acceptable. Overall, Galaxy offers the best platforming experience around, and the Wii only complements the experience with its spot-on controls (even Ray Surfing feels amazing) and upgraded graphics (I have yet to encounter a point in Mario Galaxy where I cared that the Wii has "inferior" graphics, because the graphical design in Mario Galaxy more than makes up for its technical "inferiority"). Expand
  13. Mario
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    First of all, I laugh at "Dante Peaks" pitiful effort at trying to make this game look bad. He is obviously a stupid PS3 or Xbox360 fanboy that hasn't even played the game and just wants to lower the score. He gave it a score of 1/10. Give me a break you idiot! This game is an absolute masterpiece. Easily the best game on the Wii. Bad camera angles, bad plot and very repetitive says First of all, I laugh at "Dante Peaks" pitiful effort at trying to make this game look bad. He is obviously a stupid PS3 or Xbox360 fanboy that hasn't even played the game and just wants to lower the score. He gave it a score of 1/10. Give me a break you idiot! This game is an absolute masterpiece. Easily the best game on the Wii. Bad camera angles, bad plot and very repetitive says Dante Peaks? Absolutely not. Graphics, sound/music, gameplay is absolutely amazing. If you have a Wii but not this game, go and get it! This game will go down in history as a very important and remarkable mario game just as Mario 64 did before it. Expand
  14. BrandonJ.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I feel like a child again. That is the best feeling anyone can ever get from a game. No other game has did this to me since... I was a kid. The music is breathtaking at some parts, like fighting Bowser, and the gameplay is amazing. It does take a little time to get used to, but when you do, you will be playing the best game on Wii, if not, one of the best games ever.
  15. JeremyJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Reaffirms my faith in Nintendo's ability to make games of more quality and freshness than any other company. The game is, in a word (a very un-Mario word): epic. The only complaint I might have had was "too easy"...but if you think about it...how many people got to experience getting all 120 shines in Super Mario Sunshine, the exponentially harder 3D Mario game? I myself never Reaffirms my faith in Nintendo's ability to make games of more quality and freshness than any other company. The game is, in a word (a very un-Mario word): epic. The only complaint I might have had was "too easy"...but if you think about it...how many people got to experience getting all 120 shines in Super Mario Sunshine, the exponentially harder 3D Mario game? I myself never acheived that rating until Galaxy came along, and it's a great feeling. Besides, there's always that "little extra something" for getting all 120 stars that makes the game slightly more difficult asecond time around. Expand
  16. SpoodQ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    To the person who says it copied ratchett and clank : Excuse me? You do know Mario was a 3D platformer long before your little furries ever where, and if anything they are copying him, correct? Disregarding comments from people who should stop playing video games just right now, this game is almost perfect. Sheer brilliance. Excellent graphics, music, gameplay, and evironments. Even the To the person who says it copied ratchett and clank : Excuse me? You do know Mario was a 3D platformer long before your little furries ever where, and if anything they are copying him, correct? Disregarding comments from people who should stop playing video games just right now, this game is almost perfect. Sheer brilliance. Excellent graphics, music, gameplay, and evironments. Even the lack of cinematics and developed story can't keep me from rating this a 10! Expand
  17. TomM.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Great game, took 64's innovation and charm to heart, but yet still expanded and innovated upon it in more ways with planets, gravity, and new moves. An epic, must-own title for anyone who considers themselves a gamer.
  18. DavidK.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Excellent mario game, full of original gameplay, yet classic, music enemies, settings powerups and fun. amazingm yet undeniably far far to easy, no where near the challenge as MArio 64 was but i would say has more WOW factor, considering the controlls and gravity effects, and suprisingly excellent visuals
  19. Sami
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    Definitely the best 3D Mario adventure made, fixing several of it's predecessors' mistakes while refining on their strengths and innovating on fresh ground. It does have its faults, such as few game-freezing bugs, some tacked-on minigame stages that don't go well together with the rest of the game. However, when you try out a lot of ideas, their quality is bound to vary, Definitely the best 3D Mario adventure made, fixing several of it's predecessors' mistakes while refining on their strengths and innovating on fresh ground. It does have its faults, such as few game-freezing bugs, some tacked-on minigame stages that don't go well together with the rest of the game. However, when you try out a lot of ideas, their quality is bound to vary, and Galaxy does have plenty of good ideas such as the planetoid's gravity mechanic itself. A good game, well worth trying out and playing. Expand
  20. dcartist
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. Well deserving of a 10. Amazing control, lots of imagination... seamless. My only nitpick is with that very sad and haunting storybook that is a cliffhanger all the way through if you start reading it early. Having a sad lonely kid looking for his mom who has "left forever"... without a resolution until you finish more game... bad idea. Luckily the storybook is totally skippable.
  21. SteveM.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    I love video games, so I tend to get caught up in a game and give it a shining 10 for a review, out of passion, and then only in hindsight am I able to pick out the flaws. I need not worry about that regarding this game. This game is as perfect as games come. I enjoy the graphics and love the music, but seriously, that is all irrelevant...that's not why you should play this game. I love video games, so I tend to get caught up in a game and give it a shining 10 for a review, out of passion, and then only in hindsight am I able to pick out the flaws. I need not worry about that regarding this game. This game is as perfect as games come. I enjoy the graphics and love the music, but seriously, that is all irrelevant...that's not why you should play this game. Don't even play it because it's a "Mario" game. Play it for the genius level deisgn and gameplay...because that's what games are REALLY all about, and this game nails it. Expand
  22. AnonymousMC
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Ive been playing the Japanese version. An excellent game to say the least. The whole new galaxy approach to the Mario universe makes it interesting to play. Plus there are plenty of bosses and puzzles to keep it interesting. It is also a lengthy game with all sorts of unexpected levels. And though I am not completely sold on the Wii Remote for use with this kind of game, it'sIve been playing the Japanese version. An excellent game to say the least. The whole new galaxy approach to the Mario universe makes it interesting to play. Plus there are plenty of bosses and puzzles to keep it interesting. It is also a lengthy game with all sorts of unexpected levels. And though I am not completely sold on the Wii Remote for use with this kind of game, it's function does mix in well with the gameplay.The only draw backs are the visuals and lack of voice work. Though the levels are well designed, the game does not have crisp detailed 3D models. Also as is the case with most Nintendo party games, there is not enough spoken dialogue. This was a huge problem for me with Twilight Princess, but I find even with Mario, it takes away from the experience. Games that speak to you are just so much more involving. Regardless, I still give this game a well deserved 9. Expand
  23. Taurus
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    What an awesome, awesome game. A must-buy for all the Wii owners, and if you don't own a Wii, here's a great reason to buy one.
  24. MarkR.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    I got the same impression of "Hardcore Gamer Magazine". When I play this game I fell like a crafter had reachd its highest skill point. It is an awesome game, beautiful to look at, just great music and controls and fun all the way through. I highly recommend it.
  25. PALAFOXP
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy stands proudly as the second best game from Nintendo. Why? Because its excellent design, innovation, controls, and graphics. Some reviewers claim this is not the best Mario game yet, others just lower the score of the game by just saying the camera, and easy-level issues, but it's not enough. Although this game is not perfect, it really entertains. The soundtrack Super Mario Galaxy stands proudly as the second best game from Nintendo. Why? Because its excellent design, innovation, controls, and graphics. Some reviewers claim this is not the best Mario game yet, others just lower the score of the game by just saying the camera, and easy-level issues, but it's not enough. Although this game is not perfect, it really entertains. The soundtrack is just amazing, with orchestrated tunes and background sounds that perfectly fit each Galaxy. I give this game a 10, because this game really amazed me, and will amaze everyone who plays it 'till the end. Expand
  26. RickyQ.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    An amazing game which is somehow even more fun to play than Super Mario 64. It's too easy though.
  27. Bishman
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Now Super Mario Galaxy is the true sequel to Mario 64. It does everything Mario 64 does but better. Not only is the art direction amazing, Nintendo raises the bar on what you think a platform game can do. And it is simply fun. When I'm playing, I have to laugh and smile because this game is just too fun.
  28. BradleyG.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I have yet to find a flaw in this game. For those of you who feel it is not as "pretty" as compared to other games out today, take a look again. For how little power the Wii has as compared to its graphically massive competition, it does very well for itself. Also, when you're such a shallow gamer to put graphics in front of fun, then go play Lair for a third time keep you're I have yet to find a flaw in this game. For those of you who feel it is not as "pretty" as compared to other games out today, take a look again. For how little power the Wii has as compared to its graphically massive competition, it does very well for itself. Also, when you're such a shallow gamer to put graphics in front of fun, then go play Lair for a third time keep you're opinion to yourself. Expand
  29. LuisR.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This game is a Mario geek fantasy come true. I keep reading a lot of comparisons to Mario 64, and there are definitely similarities. One thing that definitely sets this apart from Mario 64 is the lack of repetition. Every star within each stage has it's own areas, so it doesn't feel like you're running around the same parts of the level trying to figure out how to get the This game is a Mario geek fantasy come true. I keep reading a lot of comparisons to Mario 64, and there are definitely similarities. One thing that definitely sets this apart from Mario 64 is the lack of repetition. Every star within each stage has it's own areas, so it doesn't feel like you're running around the same parts of the level trying to figure out how to get the star. It definitely made Mario 64 feel tedious for me at times, but I have been playing Mario Galaxy non-stop, and even after having defeated Bowser I'm having a blast trying to get the rest of the stars. Expand
  30. AnonymousMC
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This is very close to being my favorite single player game of all time (Shadow of the Colossus and HL2 are up there as well). I am ridiculously addicted - after getting 120 stars I didn't even take a break before starting again. The major appeal here is variety: There are a ton of different galaxies covering all the stock themes and more. But more than that, each star feels like it isThis is very close to being my favorite single player game of all time (Shadow of the Colossus and HL2 are up there as well). I am ridiculously addicted - after getting 120 stars I didn't even take a break before starting again. The major appeal here is variety: There are a ton of different galaxies covering all the stock themes and more. But more than that, each star feels like it is its own level, whereas in SM64 each star was a part of the overarching level. I can see why someone might like SM64's system better, but I actually greatly prefer Galaxy's. The only problem with Galaxy is that it's a little bit too easy. There were a few stars where I lost more than one life, but it would have been nicer if the difficulty consistently scaled up as you progressed. Sweet Sweet Galaxy (one of the first stars in the game) is probably one of the hardest, while some of the last galaxies were not difficult at all. But, that's an extremely minor gripe. Expand
  31. JulianM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Great overall game! I loved Mario 64 and this was just the substitute I needed! If you like Mario 64, pick this up! The use of the Wii Remote is also very fun. Great graphics. I reccommend you pick it up!
  32. TomS.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    The Wii may not be the best system, some may not even consider it a real game machine, but reguardless of that this is a game and a great one at that. Don't believe the hype over Halo 3 or Assassins Creed, Super Mario Galaxy is truly one of those rare games that makes you remember how gaming got to where it is today. Galaxy's uses the Wii controls the way they should be, The Wii may not be the best system, some may not even consider it a real game machine, but reguardless of that this is a game and a great one at that. Don't believe the hype over Halo 3 or Assassins Creed, Super Mario Galaxy is truly one of those rare games that makes you remember how gaming got to where it is today. Galaxy's uses the Wii controls the way they should be, minimally. This is not waggle a thon, not junk free ware like the other Wii games, this is a truly great game that anyone who owns a Wii should have. Expand
  33. TomD.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    I never give out 10's. This game is a ten and it is not a shooter like the four nominees at the VGA's. Pure bliss not a 3rd person shooter a platformer thru and thru. NES had Super Mario Bros. SNES Super Mario World N64 Super Mario 64 Gamecube had Sunshine sorry cube Wii has the defining game of this generation.
  34. AxewhipeS.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Great game for a great system. This game combines both 3D & some 2D like gameplay and adds new items & new ways to play into the mix. You need this game if you have a Wii.
  35. FGT
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Simply superb. The creativity and effort put into this game shows all the way through. Amazing how each world keeps throwing new awesome unexpected stuff at you.
  36. ChrisC.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Utterly brilliant - a masterpiece. Definitely Nintendo's greatest work ever. With stunning graphics, beautiful artistic levels, controls that actually make sense and pure unlimited fun and challenge, Super Mario Galaxy is 2007's Game of the Year in my opinion. Everything we love about the Mario franchise and more.
  37. TimB.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best nintendo game I've ever played. The boards are challenging but not too difficult. The interaction between Mario, the enemies, and the boards is very entertaining. And I couldn't believe the number of levels and drastic differences between them. I can only hope that Super Smash Brothers is half as good as this game. If you buy only 1 game for the Wii... This is by far the best nintendo game I've ever played. The boards are challenging but not too difficult. The interaction between Mario, the enemies, and the boards is very entertaining. And I couldn't believe the number of levels and drastic differences between them. I can only hope that Super Smash Brothers is half as good as this game. If you buy only 1 game for the Wii... make it this one. Expand
  38. EthanG.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Well I give it a 9 because it gets boring or confusing at times. Plus no one wants to be the star. But I disagree with the critics I hate it when I die!
  39. CaseyY.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    The game is great fun but a bit easy. I feel old.
  40. WilliamT
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    A fantastic beast of a game that no Wii owner should be without. A certified platforming king.
  41. jimmyb
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing game with enough varied and cleverly thought-out content to keep many gamers happy for a considerable amount of time.
  42. FredericoF.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    This game is just impressive how it had to be. We have to be happy that we are living this year to play it at its release, because in 10 years we will be calling it of a classic that anybody will NEVER forget.
  43. JeremiahO.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Great game, could not put down the Wiimote. Not the greatest 2nd player setup but the GF enjoyed helping me find stars and what not. Now that it's been a few months I might go back and play it through with Luigi on my new 42" plasma.
  44. BowserK.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome on so many levels, it's not even funny! Those who are saying "It's not that great", and especially those who are trying to claim that it sucks, have no idea what they're talking about.
  45. JoshS.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    Loved the game. It was amazing and I really couldn't see anything wrong with it except the change in control when you go upside down and stuff.
  46. DylanS.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Nintendo did the smart thing - They noticed that a lot of people enjoyed the original Super Mario 64, and so basically remade it with a new story and better graphics. They included many of the attributes they loved about the previous Mario game, such as the aspect of flying for example. It also goes to show many people that Mario's still the king of Video Games and no time soon will Nintendo did the smart thing - They noticed that a lot of people enjoyed the original Super Mario 64, and so basically remade it with a new story and better graphics. They included many of the attributes they loved about the previous Mario game, such as the aspect of flying for example. It also goes to show many people that Mario's still the king of Video Games and no time soon will he be dethroned in the Video Game world. Expand
  47. SpenserW.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Simply put, this is the greatest game to come out in 2007. It has great graphics, an amazing new twist on the platforming genre, and a musical score that will judge all Nintendo games from this point on. A phenomenal game in every respect, and the only one that I have consistently gone back to play after I have beaten it.
  48. MattDa.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing well designed and totally enjoyable from start to finish. It mat fairly simple to get to 60 stars but to complete it to 120 stars will test anyone, yet even at it's difficulties it's still hugely enjoyable.
  49. BrandonH.
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    This game has a great blend of excitement and action. Any Nintendo gamer will love this game. I know I do.
  50. Eded
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever Created in the History of Man kind.
  51. mohakl
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    Most people like this game, a few people used the F word to describe the game and brung up that it's too ordinary like super mario 64. they said that even mario sunshine and mario 64 were better but they are wrong. this game is addicting, has a good "ordinary" storyline, and sensible controls. I seriously love this game and so do most people I know.
  52. AnonymousMC
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    This game features the ability to use gravity as you run from planet to planet. Levels are extremely and comets make the game more interesting. Anyone even a hard core gamer could enjoy this game, that is if thye have any taste for this type of game, but this is obviously the best part in the mario series, I feel sorry for anyone who does not enjoy this game as they probably have noThis game features the ability to use gravity as you run from planet to planet. Levels are extremely and comets make the game more interesting. Anyone even a hard core gamer could enjoy this game, that is if thye have any taste for this type of game, but this is obviously the best part in the mario series, I feel sorry for anyone who does not enjoy this game as they probably have no taste in video games Expand
  53. BenD
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Improves upon the formula in almost every way. The control scheme has been simplified, which sounds bad, but in reality, it gets rid of the extra attacks like punching and sliding that were rarely used anyway. The new attacks, spin jumps and shooting stars at foes with the WiiMote, work great and you'll find yourself using them more often than you'd think. Most of the stages Improves upon the formula in almost every way. The control scheme has been simplified, which sounds bad, but in reality, it gets rid of the extra attacks like punching and sliding that were rarely used anyway. The new attacks, spin jumps and shooting stars at foes with the WiiMote, work great and you'll find yourself using them more often than you'd think. Most of the stages feel more 2-dimensional in nature, giving the game a classic feel, but there are still a good number of stages that allow for more free roaming. There are a few moments, such as a few puzzles, that feel out of place in a Mario game, but they're fun, nonetheless. The gravity feature could be considered a mere gimmick by some, but even then, it's such a fun one, you'll hardly care. Even in more linear stages, you'll find yourself messing around and wasting time just because it's fun. The boss battles are great, but some feel too easy. In fact, the game on the whole isn't too difficult - that is, until you delve into the special missions that put fresh spins on already completed levels. Was that one boss too easy? Try beating him without getting hit once. The level of challenge also feels much more fair and balanced - unlike in the other two games, where I always found one or two stars that were insanely hard, but for all the wrong reasons. The graphics are great and really help set the mood for the area you're in. They're always colorful, and help make locales feel alive. The camera is one of the best automated ones I've seen, although it's still cumbersome at times. One feature of the game that cannot be overstated is the music. It's mostly orchestrated, and it's all amazing. A few times it feels a little overdramatic (yeah, it's a Bowser battle, but do we really need the choir?), but it fits in well. The story is... well, it's Mario. Who the heck cares? For what it's worth, though, the story is a little more detailed. Overall, I can't see why people dislike this game. There are times when I read reviews and I think "I disagree with your low score, but I understand it." But with SMG, I can't find a major fault in the whole experience. Unless you hate fun, in which case, this game is the bane of your existance. Expand
  54. MeganS
    Apr 25, 2009
    9
    I'm impressed! Nintendo worked really hard on this game. I'm a big fan of Mario. There are tons of interesting things in the game like the planets and the short videos. It was a was good idea to add some new characters like Rosalina. I even liked the music, thanks to the Mario Galaxy Orchestra. Mario's new powers were helpful in some of the galaxies. I have to say this is I'm impressed! Nintendo worked really hard on this game. I'm a big fan of Mario. There are tons of interesting things in the game like the planets and the short videos. It was a was good idea to add some new characters like Rosalina. I even liked the music, thanks to the Mario Galaxy Orchestra. Mario's new powers were helpful in some of the galaxies. I have to say this is one of the best Mario games in the series. I think most people should enjoy this videogame! Expand
  55. TitaniumDragon
    May 19, 2009
    8
    While a solid 3D platformer overall, in many ways I felt this was inferior to Super Mario 64, and, let's face it, it really IS Super Mario 64 with a new coat of paint, new levels, and a few other things. Like Super Mario 64, you run around 3D worlds looking for stars. Unlike Super Mario 64, there isn't much "looking" - where the stars are is obvious, and the levels are far, far While a solid 3D platformer overall, in many ways I felt this was inferior to Super Mario 64, and, let's face it, it really IS Super Mario 64 with a new coat of paint, new levels, and a few other things. Like Super Mario 64, you run around 3D worlds looking for stars. Unlike Super Mario 64, there isn't much "looking" - where the stars are is obvious, and the levels are far, far more linear than those of its predecessor. This is a major strike against the game, as part of the fun of Super Mario 64 was the exploration. While it was neat how much the levels changed, it really wasn't neat how linear the levels were, and the "hidden stars" were not hidden at all, save in the sense of not being able to look at them on the initial screen (which was, in fact, worse than Super Mario 64, where the title of each star would give you a hint as to where it was - in this game, they show you, but they won't show you some stars, both destroying the mystery AND upping the annoyance factor... well, it would, if the stars weren't really obvious, anyway). The loss of the castle was the biggest bit of lameness - the central staging area to go to the worlds was very lame, as there were no stars hidden there at all, unlike the very cool castle from Super Mario 64. The other issues with this game were its controls and its camera. The controls were pretty similar to those of Super Mario 64, and were mostly fine. The exception, however, came in conjunction with the camera. Down should be down, and yet, oftentimes, you are walking on the walls or ceiling relative to the camera, as well as in various other awkward positions. This is incredibly annoying, as suddenly your controls are reversed or otherwise strange. If you're running around a round planet, how about having the camera follow me? The loss of camera control in many sections of the game is also annoying. The biggest upside of the game were the comets - they put a twist on the worlds. Unfortunately, many of these were just repeats. Overall, the game had a lot of repetitive elements in it - one world is just a mirrored, palette-swapped version of an earlier one, and several stars are not new stars but rather old ones you have to redo either in a limited amount of time or with only one hit point. The game was fun, but it had some issues which made it worse than Mario 64. If you liked Mario 64, you'll enjoy this, but it just isn't up to the level of its predecessor. Expand
  56. ThierryK
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine for the Gamecube was a great game, but it lacked a bit of that "old Mario magic" which made Super Mario 64 a timeless classic. Now comes Super Mario Galaxy, and the magic is back. All the important things about the game's perfected controls and audiovisual representation has been told, but what truly makes this game a classic of the ages, is the combination of Super Mario Sunshine for the Gamecube was a great game, but it lacked a bit of that "old Mario magic" which made Super Mario 64 a timeless classic. Now comes Super Mario Galaxy, and the magic is back. All the important things about the game's perfected controls and audiovisual representation has been told, but what truly makes this game a classic of the ages, is the combination of everything that happens in the players FEELINGS when playing it. This is what only a few games can achieve, and the mediocre disney- type fooling around Ratchet & Clank is really not among those, even it is basically a "good" game. With Super Mario galaxy, only three games has affected my feelings such a way: Zelda: Ocarina of time and Twilight princess, and Final Fantasy VII. To be in league with these magnificent games speaks for itself: Mario's adventure in space is one of the best games ever made. Expand
  57. FanofBowser
    Jul 28, 2009
    10
    So Kay N... Saying that the gameplay is mediocre is because you probably had difficulties to get through some levels (very frustating, poor you). If you're not a fan of Mario and just wanna show how Ratchet n' Clank overpass this game, then go away. I found the atmosphere of Ratchet n' Clank gloomy, and the characters aren't likeable. Mario hasn't powerful guns So Kay N... Saying that the gameplay is mediocre is because you probably had difficulties to get through some levels (very frustating, poor you). If you're not a fan of Mario and just wanna show how Ratchet n' Clank overpass this game, then go away. I found the atmosphere of Ratchet n' Clank gloomy, and the characters aren't likeable. Mario hasn't powerful guns and do not live in a robotic environment in the future. Why do Mario is more popular and well-known than Ratchet or Clank? Wait... it's because everybody loved at least one game from him! The ambiance is quite better too. Just passed away the story of Rosalina and transform Lumas into Violent robots and maybe you'll be satisfied. My cousin got Ratchet n' Clank, he's a real fan of that and he only had Sony stuff. I made him play Super Mario Galaxy and then he loves this game as much as Ratchet! And it's not the same thing than Ratchet... Less elements have been taken from Ratchet. Gravity is new, they're not cities on every planet and no vessels. It's probably far from Ratchet although the action takes place in space. The music is also... better. More rythmic, more epic. See how my cousin told the chorus in Bowser Battle was so epic. Expand
  58. OceanMan
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    Everything about the game is amazing. The gameplay, sound, graphics, etc. It still has no match for Super Mario 64, but might be better than Super Mario Sunshine. It is the most epic experience in any Mario game and has a lot of elements from Mario 64 such as gameplay and some of the songs from Mario 64 have orchestrated versions on Galaxy.
  59. AnonymousMC
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    Just Brilliant! I have to admit i first thought this game sucked as hell and they raped Mario because they tooked all of his atacks away , the only thing you can do is spin around and my first thought of the music was just BAH and putted it so quick as possible out. And i played super mario 64 and Super mario sunshine(And found all of his stars in both games, yeah!) where you have lots ofJust Brilliant! I have to admit i first thought this game sucked as hell and they raped Mario because they tooked all of his atacks away , the only thing you can do is spin around and my first thought of the music was just BAH and putted it so quick as possible out. And i played super mario 64 and Super mario sunshine(And found all of his stars in both games, yeah!) where you have lots of attacks and further so you can understand my reaction about this change.. But then i picked it up again and play it further and further and when you get used to the sound it sounds pretty well though. And the game itself is also a much better then my first impression, you have maybe less attacks but sooo more power ups those who are so much fun by the way. And i'm happy that the controls are the same or even better then the other mario games, it's just so much fun to jump around with mario and explore each galaxy! And then the special remote not to forget, it's veeeery handy and well done and a nice adjective to the game. Whole the game together it's just again a very nice Mario game and to my opnion, those are the best games! So i've got a new favorite game<3 Expand
  60. BrianA.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    By far the best Wii game, and likely the best game this year. It's so fresh, so fun, and so beautiful looking - a truly shinning star to show off the Wii.
  61. KenD.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    This is a game I've been waiting for for over 10 years and it more than lives up to the hype and anticipation.
  62. EricM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Truly remarkable. The inventiveness in each and every level is just stunning. It's just a great breath of fresh air in a holiday season crammed with shooters. It's certainly the best Wii game in my opinion, and shows just what this system is capable of.
  63. HaruhiS.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Time to wipe the dust off your Wii. Super Mario Galaxy is easily the best game on the platform so far. The gameplay is intriguing and there are many elements in the game that is simply dazzling and leaves you bewildered. It uses the most out of the graphics the Wii can play and the control scheme is amazing. It blew away all my expectations and I ended up cleaning my drool on the floor. Time to wipe the dust off your Wii. Super Mario Galaxy is easily the best game on the platform so far. The gameplay is intriguing and there are many elements in the game that is simply dazzling and leaves you bewildered. It uses the most out of the graphics the Wii can play and the control scheme is amazing. It blew away all my expectations and I ended up cleaning my drool on the floor. The SOS Brigade has definitely loved this game and I recommend it to everyone. Expand
  64. Jacob
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Wow, this game is so fun. I really love it. On some levels you have music from SMB 3 that makes you feel really nostalgic. The controls are great and the grapics too and what can I say? The best game I ever played I think.
  65. Aaron
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Easily the best game out on the Wii and likely to retain the title until Smash Bros or Mario Kart Wii come out. Fun, exciting, easy to follow, great graphics, wonderful soundtrack, the controls are unbelievable. Get the game now because it will be one that people will be talking about and comparing to for the rest of the Wii's existence.
  66. MaxP.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Passes every litmus test for excellence on the books. Slights on perceived flaws is like faulting Citizen Kane for leaving an unnecessary scene on the cutting room floor. Unequivocably fantastic, and, along with iconic entries like Zelda and Tetris, contender for best game... of all time.
  67. TP
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Pure Joy. Demonstrates how Powerful Gaming can be.
  68. MattR.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This game is the ultimate in fun. It is fun just doing the most mundane tasks in this game. Fun= great game.
  69. MichaelG.
    Nov 14, 2007
    8
    Everyone needs to calm down about this game. It's a very good game, but I wouldn't sacrifice the family pet to get a copy. A quality title, but GROSSLY overhyped.
  70. DougC.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Nintendo's finest work since Ocarina of Time, in fact the industries most polish brilliance in almost a decade. Keep up the good work Nintendo.
  71. JacobN.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This game is downright amazing! I ws hoping for something like Mario 64 and this has more than raised the bar. Even more fun than Twilight Princess Wii has done it again! 2007 Game of the Year.
  72. S.ea
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is easily the best game on the Wii and is the most fun I've had on the console so far. Gameplay-wise it trumps Super Mario 64, which is an incredible feat. The creativity in level design is absolutely incredible, and the incredibly responsive controls make it a dream to play. Absolutely necessary, and worth buying a Wii for.
  73. AndrewG.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This game is probably the finest example of how a platformer should be like. The graphics are easily comparable to some games on the Ps3 and Xbox360, and the controls and little innovations are great. 10/10
  74. HusZ.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    The game is unbelievably fun from the second you start it. All the stages are made with extreme care and flawless level design. The idea of manipulating gravity around several planets in different galaxies is genius, as it makes the game extremely fun to play, and really adds a new edge to the game. The graphics are absolutely brilliant, the soft environment glowing and the rim lighting The game is unbelievably fun from the second you start it. All the stages are made with extreme care and flawless level design. The idea of manipulating gravity around several planets in different galaxies is genius, as it makes the game extremely fun to play, and really adds a new edge to the game. The graphics are absolutely brilliant, the soft environment glowing and the rim lighting on the characters looks surreal in a beautiful way. If you have a Wii you must, I repeat MUST buy this game! Expand
  75. SamG.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Every level they add a new style of game play. Great artistic design, amazing soundtrack, and great fun.
  76. :D
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Who better to dethrone Link, from his high chair atop gaming, with Ocarina of Time, than Mario?
  77. BrockJ.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    The BEST Mario game that I have ever played, bar none. Smooth controls, great storyline, awesome side galaxies, great music.... EVERYTHING! If you are a fan of Mario, Nintendo or video games.... pick this game up.
  78. Eric
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Galaxy is one of the first games in years to recapture the magic of gaming. Soaring through space, you feel as giddy as Mario sounds. Games like this show us that you don't need a submachine gun or the ability to hijack cars in order to enjoy yourself immensely.
  79. RobertD.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Surprising and wonderous and most of all, fun. Mario Sunchine and Luigi's Mansion just weren't very fun. With all the vacuuming and hosing stuff down, I was scared that Nintendo had run out of ideas. This game prooves me wrong. At times the play mechanics verge on the chaotic but everything works flawlessly. This game is a return to form for the franchise. It makes me wish I Surprising and wonderous and most of all, fun. Mario Sunchine and Luigi's Mansion just weren't very fun. With all the vacuuming and hosing stuff down, I was scared that Nintendo had run out of ideas. This game prooves me wrong. At times the play mechanics verge on the chaotic but everything works flawlessly. This game is a return to form for the franchise. It makes me wish I didn't have to work for a couple of weeks. I can't wait to complete it and play it again. Expand
  80. Jason
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I'm only one level into the game, but it is very fun. I was very impressed by the use of the Wii controls and the gameplay innovations will literally put a smile to your face with their genious. the game isn't perfect so far, and I'd say it is a little overrated, but I only have 4 stars (lol) and I know this game can only get better. Must own for the Wii.
  81. BenS.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    I am sometimes prone to hyperbole, but I think I'm ok when I say that this is the best game I can remember playing. The level design is completely revolutionary, the controls fantastic, and the visuals stunning. Anyway, discussing what's good about this game would take too long, so I'll talk about what's bad. Here are my two complaints: 1.) Sometimes the camera can be I am sometimes prone to hyperbole, but I think I'm ok when I say that this is the best game I can remember playing. The level design is completely revolutionary, the controls fantastic, and the visuals stunning. Anyway, discussing what's good about this game would take too long, so I'll talk about what's bad. Here are my two complaints: 1.) Sometimes the camera can be a little problematic. 2.) I would have liked just a little more Wiimote-specific motions. All in all, it's not truly a 10, but closer to 10 than it is to 9. Expand
  82. CarlosA.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    This game is just so damn fun that it would be horrible if you don't try it.
  83. DarM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    No matter what you compare Mario Galaxy too, It is the best game of the year and the best game on Wii, and best game in the universe.
  84. Mark
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Absolutely epic game. Graphics - magnificent. Gameplay and Controls - Superd. Havent got one negative thing about this game at all. Best game of all time!
  85. JaredC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Magical and amazing. Super Mario Galaxy is one of the best games I've played for the Nintendo Wii so far. Its adventure is non-stop and totally exciting. The music reminds me of Magic Kingdom in Walt Disney World and it just shook my heart to hear it again. At first when your watching the beginning 5 minute prologue, its makes you think that it's going to be an all right game Magical and amazing. Super Mario Galaxy is one of the best games I've played for the Nintendo Wii so far. Its adventure is non-stop and totally exciting. The music reminds me of Magic Kingdom in Walt Disney World and it just shook my heart to hear it again. At first when your watching the beginning 5 minute prologue, its makes you think that it's going to be an all right game but definitely doesn't deserve a metascore 98. But once you start actually playing after you play baby games with the little star people, the game from there on is just the most exciting thing out there. You'll get hooked for at lest 4 hrs straight. You keep on unlocking new really really cool and memorizong galaxies and gathering more starts, the fun never stops. Each galaxy will give you an unforgettable memory like Spyro or Crash. Including when you fly from planet to planet. They each have there own little assignment to either kill a boss or some bad guys to get to the next planet. The music never stops, and the game never stops. Its totally a game to buy for Nintendo Wii. Nothing stands before it. Its just one hell of a game. No doudt about it. Just buy it, because of you rent it. Your gonna want to buy it and its going to spoil the whole game for you. Just buy it and you'll be surprised. Best game of the year, or maybe even decade. Expand
  86. Deepblue
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    A truly stunning game in every way. I was expecting a good game as usual from the Super Mario series, but I got much more than that. What I got was a game that takes all the platforming rules and throws them into the sea. The game is centered around gravity and being able to fly from one sphere to another and experiment is just good ol' fun. The powerups in this game are possibly the A truly stunning game in every way. I was expecting a good game as usual from the Super Mario series, but I got much more than that. What I got was a game that takes all the platforming rules and throws them into the sea. The game is centered around gravity and being able to fly from one sphere to another and experiment is just good ol' fun. The powerups in this game are possibly the best in any Mario game to date. The level design is pure brilliance, and the game is also gorgeous to look at. I rarely give any game a 10. This is only the second game that I have honored with such a score (Resident Evil 4 being the other), but it is well deserving. If you don't have this game in your Wii collection. Your collection looks ugly. Expand
  87. EricJ.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Wonderful!
  88. RyanW.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    If you want to know what all the fuss is about, in a nutshell: SMG is a Mario game that 1) features the most creative and fresh-feeling gameplay of any Mario game to date, 2) features the best controls of any Mario game to date, and 3) delivers a nostalgic throwback to every Mario game to date.
  89. JamesW.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I've battered Halo 3, I'm loving CoD4, but now those games have to take a back seat. Suddenly we have a game to play that is one thing above all: fun. Glorious amounts of fun. So much fun that I don't want to finish it. I want to squeeze every ounce of colourful play out of it by collecting every single star at my own leisure. Nintendo, thank you for giving us what you do I've battered Halo 3, I'm loving CoD4, but now those games have to take a back seat. Suddenly we have a game to play that is one thing above all: fun. Glorious amounts of fun. So much fun that I don't want to finish it. I want to squeeze every ounce of colourful play out of it by collecting every single star at my own leisure. Nintendo, thank you for giving us what you do best, and exceeding what you have done so brilliantly in the past. Expand
  90. LoganT.
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    It's a fun game but sometimes rpetitive, and every once in a while, it has some unforgiving camera and controls. I don't think it lives uo to all the hype it's getting but it's still a good game. It may be because I'm not that big a Mario fan.
  91. Kevin
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This game is really amazing. It is truly one of the best games I have ever played, and it blows 64 and Sunshine away. It's tied with SMW for best Mario game if you ask me, and definitely one of the best games ever made. I thought BioShock had Game of the Year in it's hands, but no, this is DEFINITELY the best game of 2007, and perhaps the best game of all time.
  92. JamesF.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Not just the best game on the Wii, one of the best games ever made, just amazing.
  93. Sepiroth
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Pretty much the epitemy of gaming right here. It truly is terrific. There has been more then enough times where something will happen or a you would do a move or hit an item, and what happens next will leave you saying "cool!!". And even though the story doesn't make much sense for a Mario game, who cares. Most people don't play Super Mario for a story, other then you what you Pretty much the epitemy of gaming right here. It truly is terrific. There has been more then enough times where something will happen or a you would do a move or hit an item, and what happens next will leave you saying "cool!!". And even though the story doesn't make much sense for a Mario game, who cares. Most people don't play Super Mario for a story, other then you what you have got to do... Go save the princess. Expand
  94. WaelA.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    After 25 years of hardcore gaming experience I stand confused about which is the best game i've ever played; Super Mario Galaxy or The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time/ Twilight Princess. And that's saying alot. Absolutely Perfect Game 10/10
  95. Ogamagoga
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Perfect gameplay, great fun. With this is one Wii is the perfect gift for winter holidays!
  96. AlexS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    One of those rare experiences that I immediately went back and replayed previous levels. For however many thousands of games are released, there are just a select few (like, really, two or three) that impress with fun, originality, and slickness. Well, this is one of those games, and I'm finally glad I own a Wii. Where Legend of Zelda was as it always is, only with a wolf, Galaxy is One of those rare experiences that I immediately went back and replayed previous levels. For however many thousands of games are released, there are just a select few (like, really, two or three) that impress with fun, originality, and slickness. Well, this is one of those games, and I'm finally glad I own a Wii. Where Legend of Zelda was as it always is, only with a wolf, Galaxy is leap forward conceptually. Expand
  97. PeterD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I honestly feel sorry for the users who gave this game scores in the red. They are truly missing out on a shining spectacle of everything that is right with video games.
  98. TonyG.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing, it is so fast paced.
  99. BrainsM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is stupendous. I almost start crying when I have to put down the controller, even for a few minutes. It's incredibly addictive, controls well, has the best level designs in gaming, has a deliciously orchestrated soundtrack, and (finally) raises the bar for graphics on Wii. This all coming from one who didn't like Mario 64. I know I'm a bad person. But I think this This game is stupendous. I almost start crying when I have to put down the controller, even for a few minutes. It's incredibly addictive, controls well, has the best level designs in gaming, has a deliciously orchestrated soundtrack, and (finally) raises the bar for graphics on Wii. This all coming from one who didn't like Mario 64. I know I'm a bad person. But I think this is so much better. Expand
  100. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game comes in the context of games like Halo 3, and Call of Duty 4. FPS's dominating the online arena. Excellent games in their own right. But suddenly, with just a few stars under your belt you realise what is happening to you. You are having fun. The joy which this game gives you reminds you why Nintendo is the company is, and through its ups and downs has retained aThis game comes in the context of games like Halo 3, and Call of Duty 4. FPS's dominating the online arena. Excellent games in their own right. But suddenly, with just a few stars under your belt you realise what is happening to you. You are having fun. The joy which this game gives you reminds you why Nintendo is the company is, and through its ups and downs has retained a legion of fans. Yet you need be no fan to enjoy this, for this is an experience so joyful, so beautiful, so entertaining, that even after the dust settles in the current round of 'console wars', years from now, this will be remembered as an all time classic. A game so brilliant that you just don't want it to end. Where can the Super Mario series go from here? Who knows, but right now, believe: you are living a legend. Expand

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. games(TM)
    90
    Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.