Super Mario Galaxy Wii

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2077 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum,Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum, so a 10 is fair. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This very well could be the bet game on the Wii. It has amazing graphics, music, gameplay, control, and design. The ideas are very original and is a blast to play, albeit a little too easy to beat the main story. However, there is plenty to do afterwards. This game will have you coming back for more and more. PLAY IT.
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls workI can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls work well when used, it's reasonably easy, but not to say, Kirby levels it probably won't really challenge those who have played older Mario games (those are tough as nails). Anybody who has any sense will enjoy this game. Mario has increased in quality, which is something very special as I have not played a Mario game which does not deserve a score less than a nine out of ten. If you don't have it, buy it!!! Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2015
    9
    Great great game, very nice graphics for a Wii game and a lovely universe that will please adults and children alike, lovely musics, a lot of innovative ideas concerning the gameplay, a lot of content (15 hours and a good use of the motion controller makes Super Mario Galaxy one of shiniest gem on the Wii.

    Now I have two complains about the game : at the end the game is getting
    Great great game, very nice graphics for a Wii game and a lovely universe that will please adults and children alike, lovely musics, a lot of innovative ideas concerning the gameplay, a lot of content (15 hours and a good use of the motion controller makes Super Mario Galaxy one of shiniest gem on the Wii.

    Now I have two complains about the game : at the end the game is getting repetitive and some levels could have been cut off the game; you can apply the second one to almost all the Nintendo games, the story is too simple, and I love stories in videogames so I wish they could work on that for their future games, a good story doesn't mean that the games is not accessible to children (aka Sony platforms game like Ratchet and Clank and Jak and Daxter), just give more purpose to the characters.

    But make no mistake, I loved this game and I'm looking forward to play its sequel, and it's a must have for every platform lover.
    Expand
  5. MarkB.
    Jan 27, 2008
    8
    Definitely shows the power of the Wii, but as far as difficulty settings go, makes it too easy. I rarely die, and when I do, I easily pass the level on the next life. Love the graphics and gameplay, which are phenomenal, I just wish it was more difficult at times.
  6. KevinE.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Whoever gives this game a score in the red either hasn't played the game or is biased toward Mario. This is the best game of the year and I've played several of them. 3rd party developers I hope you're paying attention. This is how you make a great game on the Wii.
  7. MichaelF.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the game is stuffed to the brimming with pared down runs of perfect platforming and mind-bending physics. It undeniably excels at every little aspect of its being; platformers will never be the same. Expand
  8. DG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing game play...graphics...great overall!
  9. Bauermill
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Somehow this game blows away Super Mario 64 and possibly all other Mario games with it's graphics, gameplay, story, challenge, and straight up fun! A must have for anyone who owns a Wii. It gets my vote for game of the year.
  10. BradS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising the game so highly, it is definetely not deserving of being on th level of Ocarina of Time or SM64. Expand
  11. KristofferM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    An amazing game which undoubtedly will be remembered as an era-defining classic.
  12. Darkhorse
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around the galaxy enjoying the graphics. Expand
  13. H.Jay
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome. I think that's my best Mario adventure yet. A must buy for all Wii owners.
  14. JackS.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Just awesome. Best game for the Wii so far.
  15. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    What the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classicWhat the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classic Mario tunes are back and the music is just great.This game is not great!THIS GAME IS MASTERFUL!A PERFECT 10! Expand
  16. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Since Super Mario 64 we didn´t associate Mario to a perfect game until this game came out. Brilliant technically, really funny, new, fresh, and long. It will take you several months to get the 242 stars that the game has. Difficulty is high but reasonable, and every level surprise you in a different way.
  17. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry RhodanThis game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry Rhodan in Mario style! Expand
  18. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    For those of you considering this game years after release, in 2015 it still stands up. The Wii-mote controls are tight and satisfying, the graphics don't look as pixilated as much as other Wii games do on current TV's, and the gameplay is joyful. This wonderful game invoked feelings of Mario 64 in many ways. However, while it is packed with content, many of the stars were rather easy toFor those of you considering this game years after release, in 2015 it still stands up. The Wii-mote controls are tight and satisfying, the graphics don't look as pixilated as much as other Wii games do on current TV's, and the gameplay is joyful. This wonderful game invoked feelings of Mario 64 in many ways. However, while it is packed with content, many of the stars were rather easy to collect. Nevertheless, this game will provide hours of fun, some memorable moments, and occasional challenges even in 2015. Expand
  19. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo e muito bom,por causa de sua dificudade,historia,etc... mas tem uns que dizem que e ruim esse jogo maravilhoso jogo de wii.
  20. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Pure perfection. That's all there is to be said. The power ups are amazing and really enhance the gameplay, and each level brings on something new, creative, and challenging. Super Mario Galaxy is a must have for anyone who has a wii, or anyone who appreciates video games, for that matter.
  21. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    I'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they stillI'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they still look friggin pretty. And if you hate on it because your too "hardcore" for mario or it's too "easy", then you are allergic to fun. Isn't that what games set out to do? Give you a fun game to play? Hell, I almost cried with joy when I first beat the game! And that's one of the beauty of the game itself. Does it have replay value? No, not really. But if you want to complete the full game, it'll take you a pretty long while anyway. What I'm trying to say, is if you have a Wii, then you're probably not going to get much more hardcore than this anyway. But, if it just happens that you have a Wii, then this is an absloute MUST HAVE. And I can't tell you how amazing the music is, either. It fits every location perfectly. I don't know what those developers were smoking, but whatever it is, I want some. Some people say that it gets a little too heavy at times (specifically boss fights), but here's two reasons or rather, objections to that. If it's too loud or whatever, there's probably a volume switch on your TV. Also, most of the time, I at least, am too immersed in the game to even notice the music. But if it wasn't there, then it would be empty and silent. The level design is fantastic, the music is pheonamonal, and the gameplay is near perfect. I'm just here to say, I REALLY FRICKING LOVE THIS GAME. If you have a Wii, about 20 bucks, and a craving for fun, then this is a MUST HAVE. Expand
  22. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    An all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'dAn all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'd expect from a Mario game the level design was perfect and so was the music and gameplay. The camera issues often plaguing 3D platformers were pretty much non-existent here. This thing was a delight to play. Visually, it's one of the stand-out games for the Wii (although slightly eclipsed by its successor in this particular field). The game just oozed originality and my excitement in playing it is one I haven't felt since I was a kid playing Mario 64. A magical, magical game. Expand
  23. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    This is the most outstanding game I've ever played. Mario has never done better than this.

    Pros
    -HD graphics
    -nice gameplay
    -fun bosses
    -challenging experience
    -nice story

    Cons
    (none)
  24. Jan 3, 2015
    10
    My favorite game of all time, no questions asked. The atmosphere, music, art design, game play, creativity, and level design are all the best I have ever experienced in a video game. Even the story is pretty deep for a Mario game, it almost reminds me of 2001: A Space Odyssey, maybe not to that level, but it is the closest a video game has ever come to it.
  25. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    Awesome game! One of the best games of all time! The graphics are amazing! The controls are perfect. The level designs are great. It also has great orchestraed music. Super Mario Galaxy is a must buy for everyone! You should get this and SMG2 together if you don't have either.
  26. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This is the best Wii game I have on my shelf( tied with smg2) because I just love how the levels or a.k.a. Galaxies are designed and my favourite character is Cosmic Mario or Luigi. This is an example of a flawless 10/10, and it is interesting or just love how you can get Rosalina for Mario Kart Wii, but I have never played as her. Though I got something accomplished or partly completed byThis is the best Wii game I have on my shelf( tied with smg2) because I just love how the levels or a.k.a. Galaxies are designed and my favourite character is Cosmic Mario or Luigi. This is an example of a flawless 10/10, and it is interesting or just love how you can get Rosalina for Mario Kart Wii, but I have never played as her. Though I got something accomplished or partly completed by unlocking her. You still have to race 50 times to unlock her but anyways, this game is a damn masterpiece( sorry, but once again, I'm kinda excited. No excuse. I hate dat!) you must get and beat it 100% Once and for all. Its easy,fun,enjoyable, and suited for both intense gamers like me or my Wii U friends(some) and Casual Gamers who try to have fun. Expand
  27. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are waterSuper Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are water galaxies, ice galaxies, fire galaxies, grassland galaxies, and much more. I do wish accessing the galaxies was easier, though. It takes forever to get to the higher observatories. Also, there are WAY too many Purple Coin missions. Things get slightly repetitive around the endgame. But altogether, Super Mario Galaxy is a very enjoyable experience that I would recommend to anyone and everyone. Expand
  28. JonathanA.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Wow. This game soars. A true experience, memorable and exhilarating, whether blasting off to a new planetoid to face some gravity-defying, mind-bending puzzle, to walking off a ledge only to find yourself on the other side and with a whole slew of new secrets and things to explore, to just twirling around in the hub-world and dancing with the luma-stars. Hehe. It brings out the kid in me. Wow. This game soars. A true experience, memorable and exhilarating, whether blasting off to a new planetoid to face some gravity-defying, mind-bending puzzle, to walking off a ledge only to find yourself on the other side and with a whole slew of new secrets and things to explore, to just twirling around in the hub-world and dancing with the luma-stars. Hehe. It brings out the kid in me. Mario, you're the man. Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Mario galaxy was the only reason i bought a wii, so if you are a wii owner, you shouldn't , miss it. From the music, the level design, the gravity, etc, etc, this game is a MASTERPIECE.
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I briefly played "Super Mario Galaxy" in my cousin's house and all I can say is...BRILLIANT. The game looks amazing and well polished for a 2007 game (especially despite the fact that it was on the Wii) and its gameplay was also smooth and addictive for my taste. A epic must-play game.
  31. DecepticonPom
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    I've always kinda thought that if you divide what you pay for a game by the number of hours you spend playing it until you either get bored or complete it, then that's the value for money factor. I paid AUD$80 and have spent days on this game and the end is still comfortably some way away. GREAT fun, great value, totally worth it.
  32. RobB.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    I'll start by saying I love Mario. I have owned, played, and finshed every Super Mario game since his days with Luigi on the NES. I even love the Mariokart series, so I may not be the most unbiased reviewer. I'll start by saying I love this game. The controls are great with very few exceptions. The visuals are Fantastic. And the game play is superb. I play my own game, I play I'll start by saying I love Mario. I have owned, played, and finshed every Super Mario game since his days with Luigi on the NES. I even love the Mariokart series, so I may not be the most unbiased reviewer. I'll start by saying I love this game. The controls are great with very few exceptions. The visuals are Fantastic. And the game play is superb. I play my own game, I play with my kids, I play this game with my wife. Buy it and you will not regret it. Expand
  33. JPH.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Awesome game play -- plenty challenging for an experienced gamer yet intuitive enough for a novice to enjoy. Another Mario hit from Nintendo.
  34. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    This game is the best game on the wii. Truly excellent graphics and gameplay. There is tons and tons of things to do and just keeps you coming back for more.
  35. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    The Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are the best games to be released on the Wii and are some of the best games to be released in the seventh generation of video game consoles. The originality in the level design is awesome and the fun that comes from the gameplay is unforgettable. There is more originally in some single levels of Galaxy than some entire games! The soundtrack of Galaxy isThe Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are the best games to be released on the Wii and are some of the best games to be released in the seventh generation of video game consoles. The originality in the level design is awesome and the fun that comes from the gameplay is unforgettable. There is more originally in some single levels of Galaxy than some entire games! The soundtrack of Galaxy is freaken wicked and the graphics are charmingly simple and well designed. The only downer to Galaxy is the story which although is irrelevant to what Mario games are about should have been removed from the game altogether. I actually dont know many people who have played this game which is disappointing as it really is one of the best of the best. Expand
  36. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is easily the best game on the Wii. The graphics are impressive and the environments are varied. The gameplay and music are amazing. The motion controls were responsive and easy. This is a game for everyone.
  37. PetriT.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    Great, long lasting quality entertainment.
  38. TopiI.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    TOO SHORT TOO EASY! Everything else is GREAT about this game. After couple of hours you think like "wtf? I saved princess but i have still 1000 stars to collect." Hope next mario comes soon cos sunshine was so good and whit sunshine mixed whit galaxy it would be the game of the year or bigger!
  39. John
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    The best game for Wii. Period. Fun to cotnrol, superb music. the best graphic for wii at this moment. buy it
  40. KingKong
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Who ever rated this game below 9/10, proves that they dont know much about video games, next to a freshy. This Game has it all! from best clarity and innovation to royal platformers; interms of visual, gameplay, competitiveness, simplicity, involvement and addictiveness. Mario is Fit for a KING of all games to this present and future, hands down.
  41. Thyzz
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Greatest game for the Wii in existence. I don't know why some people don't even give this a 10.
  42. LeeB.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Great game. This game is fun with one player and two players. With 120 stars (121 when you play as Luigi) this game will keep you busy and you will want to play it more than once. Ten stars all around.
  43. AndyH
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    This game ate my weekend. I started playing it on my housemate's Wii on Friday afternoon, the next thing I know I've got four stars left to go and it's 3AM the following Monday. I commend any game that can charm and immerse me so deeply I go over 48 hours without using the toilet and I don't notice.
  44. glotero
    Apr 4, 2009
    10
    Every aspect of this games is very well done. the gameplay is perfect, the level design is perfect and very interesting, graphics are great. in my opinion galaxy could easily fit as a good looking xbox 360 tittle. the only letdown is the story which is the same as always, but if you have been playing mario for the last 2 decates you know that this kind of games are not about exposition Every aspect of this games is very well done. the gameplay is perfect, the level design is perfect and very interesting, graphics are great. in my opinion galaxy could easily fit as a good looking xbox 360 tittle. the only letdown is the story which is the same as always, but if you have been playing mario for the last 2 decates you know that this kind of games are not about exposition they are about perfect and enjoyable gameplay. galaxy atmosphere is incredible enjoyable it really makes you feel like in space but with a marioish feel, each level is unique and memorable. super mario galaxy is the best game of this generation. gta4 is very overated. oh yes, the music of galaxy is great aswell! in my opinion the best soundtrack for a videogame, well competing with super smash bros brawl. Collapse
  45. Jamesb
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    As one of the only people I know to 100% complete the game, I know that this is one of the most fun, action packed games I have ever played. With 120 levels across around 40 different galaxies, this game has nearly everything a Mario fan could possibly want, and then some.
  46. PaulD.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    There's no point in explaining the awesomeness of this game. It's like trying to define perfection. To put it simply, the closest gaming has come to a religious experience. Yeahoo!!
  47. AaronP.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Great gameplay and a classic storyline. Mario's back!
  48. ClayA.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy presents, as the box says, an adventure of cosmic proportions. This could not be any more true, and Super Mario Galaxy is quite possibly the greatest game that has ever been made or ever will be. Do not miss out on a game you will not soon forget.
  49. D::D
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    apparently trolls don't know that MARIO isnt EVEN SUPPOSE TO HAVE A DAM SToryline how retarded can they be seriously people play mario for the gameplay. Well no duh its targeted for kids its not for hardcore fanatics
  50. DarPower1
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    i dont understand what people are talking about when they say that graphics are like gamecube. apparently not, compare ssbm to ssbb especially in scenic graphics and they'll understand how stupid they are. the atmospher of the plannets with the nice warm happy like style of the mini plannets especially at the gate level, the graphics are superb . i feel like people dont understand i dont understand what people are talking about when they say that graphics are like gamecube. apparently not, compare ssbm to ssbb especially in scenic graphics and they'll understand how stupid they are. the atmospher of the plannets with the nice warm happy like style of the mini plannets especially at the gate level, the graphics are superb . i feel like people dont understand that nintendo isnt trying to be realistic because if mario was on PS3 or FAILbox they will see how ugly that would look. the nice colors and non violent feeling (coming from a bond,Matrix,superman fan) makes the whole game dumb and halo 1-3 are overrated and copied Metroid for those fanatics that like FAILbox. Expand
  51. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Perfection. If there was a bible on game design this game should be on the cover. Perfect controls that make a good use of the unique features of the wii remote.
    Perfect level design that never felt like backtracking and was always compelling and challenging but without being frustrating nor extremely easy.
    Perfect art design and the best graphics on the system. Perfect music,
    Perfection. If there was a bible on game design this game should be on the cover. Perfect controls that make a good use of the unique features of the wii remote.
    Perfect level design that never felt like backtracking and was always compelling and challenging but without being frustrating nor extremely easy.
    Perfect art design and the best graphics on the system.
    Perfect music, orchestrated classic melodies from other Mario games.

    Best game of a generation.
    Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This is brilliant. Fact. There is just so much to cherish, it's just an amazing game. The level design itself is in-genius, Miyamoto and his team have really stretched their imaginations with this game. There is just some amazing levels on offer which I think needs to be played. The orchestral music works like a dream, Kondo and his fellow composers must be credited, the tracks are justThis is brilliant. Fact. There is just so much to cherish, it's just an amazing game. The level design itself is in-genius, Miyamoto and his team have really stretched their imaginations with this game. There is just some amazing levels on offer which I think needs to be played. The orchestral music works like a dream, Kondo and his fellow composers must be credited, the tracks are just stunning, and really set the atmosphere really well, you've just got to love "Gusty Garden Galaxy" tune. Brilliant track. And that's not all, there are many other fine tunes. I must admit, for a Wii game, it's looks fabulous. Most games on the Wii don't show the graphical power like this. The only flaws are it's too short, easy and a hollow storyline. Still, that doesn't really affect it. Get it. Expand
  53. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    10.Sin duda, un muy buen juego. No defrauda técnicamente, la banda sonora es genial, tiene un control preciso y ajustado y una dificultad muy bien nivelada. Además es largo, te asegura unas 40 horas de juego completártelo. 242 estrellas difíciles pero posibles.
  54. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    Fun Game. A new twist on the Mario games. really kind of fun but sm64 was the best of the series in my opinion. If you own a wii this is a must have though. Really unique and the graphics are really superb.
  55. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This entire game can be summarized in three words: a true masterpiece. I enjoyed it's sequel a lot, but the plumber's first galaxy adventure is arguably even better. Gorgeous graphics and a sweeping, beautiful orchestral score heighten the sheer greatness. Sure, the story is ok (you know, Bowser kidnaps Peach; but this time, he wants to rule the universe), but no one really plays a MarioThis entire game can be summarized in three words: a true masterpiece. I enjoyed it's sequel a lot, but the plumber's first galaxy adventure is arguably even better. Gorgeous graphics and a sweeping, beautiful orchestral score heighten the sheer greatness. Sure, the story is ok (you know, Bowser kidnaps Peach; but this time, he wants to rule the universe), but no one really plays a Mario platformer for the story; they play it for nostalgia and creative, original gameplay. Not only is Super Mario Galaxy one of the best Wii games (up there with Super Smash Bros. Brawl and Super Paper Mario), it's also one of the greatest games ever to grace the video game market. Expand
  56. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Its no Mario 64 opr Super Mario Bros but it is reall fun game, it has pretty good graphics for a wii game , it has some moments that are just ok and it is going around planets in space which is weird, but its mario and it is lots of fun
  57. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I gotta admit, some of these levels are easy, but that flaw is backed up with an amazing soundtrack, almost perfect graphics, and unique game play. The levels are highly unique, something that most games lack.
  58. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The controls became second nature and added extra effect to the game. Any body that didn't give this game 100/100/10/10 probably didn't beat the entire game. When I saw i could replay the game with Luigi I thought it would be stupid and pointless. That was not the case. It was a far different experience from Mario which made playing thru the game a second time just as fun as the first. TheThe controls became second nature and added extra effect to the game. Any body that didn't give this game 100/100/10/10 probably didn't beat the entire game. When I saw i could replay the game with Luigi I thought it would be stupid and pointless. That was not the case. It was a far different experience from Mario which made playing thru the game a second time just as fun as the first. The last bonus level was a good reward too. The only thing bad that comes from this game is I will probably never find a game that can offer as much thrill as this one. Expand
  59. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    This was the first game on Wii that wowed me. Everything comes together beautifully: the controls, the music, the graphics, the unbelievable level design. A modern day masterpiece.
  60. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    With it's beautiful graphics, the orchestrated score, the influential gameplay, Super Mario Galaxy captures a sense of magic unseen in the Mario world recently.
  61. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy has good graphics, and a memorable storyline that has changed the way we look at Mario more as a character. The only complaints I have are that the camera angles are abysmal, and some levels are more frustrating than challenging. All in all, it is a must-have game for the Wii.
  62. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is THE BEST GAME on the wii. it takes Super Mario Galaxy and does what no one thought it could. it made it even better. it fixes just about every one of the small problems i had with Galaxy 1 and fixes them. plus there are new additions such as a bag full of new power ups and of course Yoshi, the dinosaur that everybody loves. my biggest complaint about Galaxy 1 was thatSuper Mario Galaxy is THE BEST GAME on the wii. it takes Super Mario Galaxy and does what no one thought it could. it made it even better. it fixes just about every one of the small problems i had with Galaxy 1 and fixes them. plus there are new additions such as a bag full of new power ups and of course Yoshi, the dinosaur that everybody loves. my biggest complaint about Galaxy 1 was that many of the boss fights were the same. Galaxy 2's boss fights are much better, but the final boss is still too short, too easy, and just disappointing over all. the rest of the game is also quite easy except for the perfect run (god dammit that took me forever to beat) and also the number of save files you can create has been reduced from 6 in the original to 3 in this game. not a major problem it just might be an issue if you have a family of gamers. Now i know MANY gamers will skip this game simply because its on the wii. but please, play this game. you won't regret it. and it is well worth the $50. i've been wondering whether to give this game a 9/10 or a perfect 10/10. i was reluctant to give it a perfect score because there were a few microscopic problems existing. but then i realized that a perfect video game doesn't, and never will, exist. every game no matter how amazing will have small bugs. but even if a perfect game doesn't exist, Super Mario Galaxy 2 comes pretty damn close. Expand
  63. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    The game off the bat is spectacular. The beginning is very compelling, and through out the game you get wondoures surprises. The bosses are filled with adreneline and the game is addicting in general. I think this game had a lot of thought into it, and to this day I still play it. One word to explain this game? EPICC!!!!
  64. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Best game ever made!!!! Incredible level design, awesome music, and amazing power ups all enhance the fantastic gameplay! Super Mario Galaxy is the best game I have ever played and I dont think anything will ever top it!
  65. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    Mario blasts off into outer-space with Super Mario Galaxy! Letsa go solve puzzles by using gravity! The star system is back and better than ever! Now let's go blast off into space and get into the gravity-defying journey!
  66. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  67. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = One of the greatest platformers of all-time!!
  68. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    Mario galaxy is a near perfect game, the gameplay is perfect, the sound is perfect, the graphics are exactly the way I like them, and the controls are perfect. Sadly though the game has the same problem as every Mario game, bad story, bad multiplayer, and easy difficulty, but other then that it's a perfect game that anyone can enjoy. Mario galaxy is a game were no level is the same, andMario galaxy is a near perfect game, the gameplay is perfect, the sound is perfect, the graphics are exactly the way I like them, and the controls are perfect. Sadly though the game has the same problem as every Mario game, bad story, bad multiplayer, and easy difficulty, but other then that it's a perfect game that anyone can enjoy. Mario galaxy is a game were no level is the same, and all the level have there own hook. In some levels your a bee, and in other your swimming in squid infested water. I am also happy to report every level is fun, so for the 8 hours that it takes you to beat the game you'll enjoy every second of it. Like I said the game is 8 hours long but with great replay value you could play 30 hours like me. Expand
  69. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Amazing, that word poorly describes how wonderful this game really are. I start to play just now, 3 years past the launch and the game still is very fresh and not became old.
    I can't speak anymore. I gonna play!
  70. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    Anyone giving it a bad review, oh come on! You're either one of them COD fanboys, guys who don't even own a Nintendo System, trolls, you found the game too hard or you can't appreciate a game. If you don't like the plot, then you should probably read a book or something. Videogames obviously aren't your thing. This game doesn't even need a good plot, and I'd be upset if it was anythingAnyone giving it a bad review, oh come on! You're either one of them COD fanboys, guys who don't even own a Nintendo System, trolls, you found the game too hard or you can't appreciate a game. If you don't like the plot, then you should probably read a book or something. Videogames obviously aren't your thing. This game doesn't even need a good plot, and I'd be upset if it was anything else. If it was something else, it won't work one bit and the game would be pointless. *Cough* (Sonic The Hedgehog) *Cough*. I mean, the Galaxies have variety, are very pretty, have a really good challenge and do not force you to complete the mission. The hub world is fun to walk around in. It stays true to its roots and throws its new ideas around. Oh, and if you're going to call it "Mario 64 in space", well, Halo Reach is Halo in Space. COD is pretty much always in Russia. Tetris is always well, Tetris. I only have one criticism though, and it's that running through to Bowser on your first go is too easy. While the galaxies are original, it gets repeated a lot. This isn't restricted to children. It's for everyone and the only people I see disliking this are technophobes, COD fanboys, people who only use videogames to do yoga, ride horses, etc. and politicians. Mario doesn't need a gun or killing Nazis to be awesome. Not quite perfect, but man is this game good. Own a Wii? Don't have this game? What is wrong with you? Expand
  71. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is probably one of the best for the Mario series, the characters are really cool, the gameplay is absolutely stunning, and the graphics are out of this world. The game is really long, especially if you try t grab every green star in order to play as luigi. People always compare 3D Mario games to Mario 64, but this is where games are really compared. Expand
  72. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    Mario is back and with a story unlike any other Mario before. Super Mario Galaxy is exciting the second you start playing until the second you beat it. My only problems with Galaxy were predominately camera angles, length (to short), and repetitive level formats. Galaxy is still however an amazing game I would always recommend to someone. I personally loved the observatory andMario is back and with a story unlike any other Mario before. Super Mario Galaxy is exciting the second you start playing until the second you beat it. My only problems with Galaxy were predominately camera angles, length (to short), and repetitive level formats. Galaxy is still however an amazing game I would always recommend to someone. I personally loved the observatory and Rosaline's storybook. Expand
  73. RJV
    Oct 8, 2011
    10
    As far as the Wii goes, this is the second best game there is, the best being Galaxy 2, and it deserves that place. You can see the classic Mario in it, and there are loads of new stuff. The controls are pretty much perfect, and the only problems i have are accidentally activating the spin attack by shaking the Wii remote, and the Red-Star flying power-up has awful handling. After you beatAs far as the Wii goes, this is the second best game there is, the best being Galaxy 2, and it deserves that place. You can see the classic Mario in it, and there are loads of new stuff. The controls are pretty much perfect, and the only problems i have are accidentally activating the spin attack by shaking the Wii remote, and the Red-Star flying power-up has awful handling. After you beat the main story, which is easy, but if you quit a Mario-game after just completing the main story you're doing wrong, there is a lot of game-play afterwards. There some small flaws of course, but they are all fixed in galaxy 2, the best game ever. Expand
  74. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Wholly original and infinetly fun. Perhaps one of the best games ever. I think I'm gonna buy it again. It controls like the best of all marios yet it's platforming is ultra complicated technically. But it controls so well that it all seems so simple.
  75. Apr 27, 2012
    8
    This game was fun. I did beat it in a few months, but I enjoyed it. The bosses were great and the planets were cool. I also loved how Mario said thank you for playing my game at the end of the game.
  76. May 26, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game on Wii. It's one of the very few games which I can respect as a medium and even a piece of art, albeit as a video game.

    The levels each have their own fun twist, and the graphics are lush. The soundtrack is truly awe-inspiring, with grand orchestra melodies to electro-bops. Although some levels are fairly straight-forward, most give a
    Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game on Wii. It's one of the very few games which I can respect as a medium and even a piece of art, albeit as a video game.

    The levels each have their own fun twist, and the graphics are lush. The soundtrack is truly awe-inspiring, with grand orchestra melodies to electro-bops.

    Although some levels are fairly straight-forward, most give a sense of achievement for completing them.

    Galaxy is certainly "King of the Platformers", and this game serves greatly for long-time Mario fans. Pick this up along with Super Mario Galaxy 2 for some of the most fantastic games ever created.
    Expand
  77. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Mario rules the gaming world and this is a reminder of it. Ignore what trolls say this game is amazing and not buying it would be a crime for any true gamer.
  78. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    All I can say is this is a great game ...despite it's childish approach. "SUPER MARIO GALAAAAAXY" in an annoying pitchy voice at the startup screen just burns me with annoyance. However, the gameplay is great great great.
  79. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    tl;dr: This game has excellent graphics, gameplay, and music. One of the best for the wii.
    ____________________________Borg's Super Mario Galaxy Review__________________________
    So here it is, Super Mario Galaxy. Metacritic's 2007 game of the year. Does it hold a candle to it's reception? Let's see. ________________________________________________________________________________ Graphics:
    tl;dr: This game has excellent graphics, gameplay, and music. One of the best for the wii.
    ____________________________Borg's Super Mario Galaxy Review__________________________

    So here it is, Super Mario Galaxy. Metacritic's 2007 game of the year. Does it hold a candle to it's reception? Let's see.
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Graphics: Super Mario Galaxy, despite being on the graphically weakest console of this generation, couldn't be aesthetically improved much. The models are extremely smooth, and the textures don't stretch too often. The water, sheen, lighting, among other graphical elements, all look very well done, making Mario Galaxy one of the best (if not the best) looking games on the Wii.
    ______________________________________________________________________________
    Sound: The soundtrack for Mario Galaxy is orchestrated, and every single level is brought to life by the epic, fitting music. It synergizes perfectly with the graphics and gameplay elements taking place on the screen. Certainly one of Koji Kondo's best works.
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Gameplay: Here's where we get down to the most important element; the gameplay. Super Mario Galaxy's gameplay is nothing less than perfect. You're not bombarded with a slew of glitches ( if there any glitches at all) and the difficulty level is very well perfect, also. Let me explain.. There are several ways of beating the game. You can simply get the minimum 60 stars and beat bowser. There are 120 different missions in the game, so you have alot of variety. But for the hardcore gamers, one can complete all 120 missions, unlock "Super Luigi Galaxy", get all 121 stars in that mode, and then get the last star from the special mission in mario's mode. So much for hardcore gamers to do, and enough for casuals.
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Replayability: See "Gameplay"

    Overall: Super Mario Galaxy is one of the best Wii games, and should be in every Wii owners collection.
    10/10
    Expand
  80. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This is not close to the plumber we fell in love with in super mario bros. He has strayed extremley far away from his original concept that its sad. This series may have the graphics but it lacks tht true mario gameplay we all used to love....... Sigh...:(
  81. Dec 31, 2014
    10
    Nintendo siempre innovando, y este super mario es un soplo de aire fresco a tanto shotter de hoy en día, mario siempre será grande, y este juego es fabuloso, una obra maestra que nadie debe perderse, bonito y divertido, siempre mario
  82. RayC
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    Awesome game If your under the age of 6, but for those who are older, the game has some instances when you want to skip the babyish story but can't, because you don't have the option. And avoid the library at all cost.
  83. JeddyB.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Perfection.
  84. BrianU
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    Very fun to play.
  85. PatR
    Nov 27, 2009
    9
    This is actually a 9.5, because of how dizzy and confusing some of the levels are. But yes, it is indeed exactly what all of the people here are making it out to be, although it may not be a good idea to have a huge meal before playing. And to Andrew M - Alright, I know everyone has their opinions, but I can't believe you put "Abysmal story". If you're looking for a brilliant This is actually a 9.5, because of how dizzy and confusing some of the levels are. But yes, it is indeed exactly what all of the people here are making it out to be, although it may not be a good idea to have a huge meal before playing. And to Andrew M - Alright, I know everyone has their opinions, but I can't believe you put "Abysmal story". If you're looking for a brilliant plot, why are you playing a Mario game? What is wrong with you? Expand
  86. christianr
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    This is a great game only deserving the best can't wait for the second
  87. GarrettT
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is simply flawless. The amount of polish and design in this game is extraordinary, and certainly one of the best games to ever hit a console.
  88. HiltsyWiltsy
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    If you enjoy video games you
  89. JonBrown
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    If this game were a chick i would be all over it.
  90. jessed
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    this game was 2nd best game ive ever played on the wii the first being smash bros.brawl.
  91. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is quite simply, one of my favorite video games of all time. My expectations for this game were skyward, in fact, I sold my Gamecube to buy a Wii because I knew I couldn't just miss Mario's next adventure. So its easy to imagine the grateful feelings of excitement when the game shipped and I played it for the first time. It is so rare when I game comes and immediatelySuper Mario Galaxy is quite simply, one of my favorite video games of all time. My expectations for this game were skyward, in fact, I sold my Gamecube to buy a Wii because I knew I couldn't just miss Mario's next adventure. So its easy to imagine the grateful feelings of excitement when the game shipped and I played it for the first time. It is so rare when I game comes and immediately fulfills all the powerful emotions running for it, but Galaxy fulfilled all I wanted for a next generation Mario back in 2007. It controlled beautifully, It looked beautifully, it sounded beautifully, everything, for a fact, was simply beautiful. But hexed of all the fanaticism that could have possibly propelled my enjoyment throughout my first play-through, the real meat for it to be so impossibly good, and the reason I consider it one of the best games of all time is its masterful creativeness. Galaxy´s levels are some of the most creative work Nintendo has ever done, and coming from a company which´s actual milestone is precisely that, "inventiveness", calling Galaxy a highlight is some serious praise. Galaxy squished all the ingredients that makes Mario games such memorable experiences, while at the same time being new and innovative with its whole gravitational effects. It was the best marriage of old and new, one that only exhibits a sense of perfection. Its only flaw may be that for its short story the game is merely easy, but those who tend to complete this mastery of game design will find plenty of challenge, and a highly entertaining game as well. This is a Nintendo masterpiece. Expand
  92. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Whenever you are tired of the same genre that repeats itself and steadily drops in creativity, rely on Nintendo to make something the opposite of that. Galaxy is the most ambitious Mario game that Nintendo has ever made yet. Perfect controls as expected, ingenious level designs, jaw dropping graphics that rivals other games offered on the 360 or PS3 and amazing replay value. It's a bitWhenever you are tired of the same genre that repeats itself and steadily drops in creativity, rely on Nintendo to make something the opposite of that. Galaxy is the most ambitious Mario game that Nintendo has ever made yet. Perfect controls as expected, ingenious level designs, jaw dropping graphics that rivals other games offered on the 360 or PS3 and amazing replay value. It's a bit easier than previous Mario games but you need this on your Wii collection. Expand
  93. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    It was hard to find reasons not to give Galaxy a 10, it's fun, inventive, pretty but unfortunately the level design can be incredibly frustrating. but that should not hold you back from purchasing this magnificent title.
  94. Oct 27, 2011
    8
    Super Mario Galaxy is good but 2 is so much better. Super Mario Galaxy 2 also does not need an intro to 1. So if you can only play 1 or only want to to play one of the Super Mario Galaxy's. I would advise 2 over 1 any day. Don't get me wrong though, 1 is still awesome and deserves to be played but Super Mario Galaxy 2 is much better than 1.
  95. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    This game is probably one of the best single player Wii games on the market. I have not tried SMG2 yet, but despite the useless secrets of the game, this game has perfect difficulty, amazing level design truly more innovative compared to generic maps like Halo (seriously), and it has a consistent storyline even if it requires saving Princess Peach over and over again from previous (andThis game is probably one of the best single player Wii games on the market. I have not tried SMG2 yet, but despite the useless secrets of the game, this game has perfect difficulty, amazing level design truly more innovative compared to generic maps like Halo (seriously), and it has a consistent storyline even if it requires saving Princess Peach over and over again from previous (and future) games. This game proves that you do not need HQ graphics or complex gameplay to really have a good time. Expand
  96. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy, released way back in 2007 to much critical acclaim. As I will detail, this is a must-by for any Wii owner.

    Plot As is the case with most Mario games, the story element isn't heavily emphasized, but it is much more present in Galaxy. The game begins with Mario being invited by Princess Peach to the castle to celebrate the once-a-century Star Festival. Upon arrival,
    Super Mario Galaxy, released way back in 2007 to much critical acclaim. As I will detail, this is a must-by for any Wii owner.


    Plot

    As is the case with most Mario games, the story element isn't heavily emphasized, but it is much more present in Galaxy. The game begins with Mario being invited by Princess Peach to the castle to celebrate the once-a-century Star Festival. Upon arrival, you are presented with a scene of joy: Star Bits raining down from the sky, which are then happily picked up by Toads. As you near the castle, the illusion of happiness is shattered as Bowser shows up once again and warps Peach and her castle into orbit. Mario attempts to rescue her, but is foiled by one of Bowser's Magikoopa henchman. Mario later awakens on a small planetoid, on which he meets Rosalina, who then bestows upon Mario the "Spin" ability. She then tells Mario that Bowser has stolen the Power Stars that power her Comet Observatory, rendering it immobile. With his new found power, Mario sets off to restore the Observatory's power and rescue the Princess!


    Gameplay and Controls

    The gameplay and controls for Mario games generally do not vary much, so you know what to expect. However, there are a few new additions to both though. Controls:
    [center]
    A-Jump
    Z-Crouch
    Control Pad-Camera
    B-Shoot a Star Bit
    Shake Wii Remote/Nunchuk-Spin attack
    C-reset camera position
    Pointer-Gather Star Bits, activate Pull Stars, etc.


    Some of the newer elements unique to Galaxy include Mario's new Spin ability, which is essentially his melee attack. Its other uses include extending the distance of his jump and activating Launch Stars, among other things. The next new feature is quite interesting; unlike in past Mario games, falling off of the edge of the level doesn't always spell the end for our plumber. Many planets have their own gravitational pull, allowing you to circumnavigate their entire body. This allows for many new and interesting gameplay scenarios which definitely add to the game's appeal. As you would have expected, Galaxy introduces several new power-ups, each bringing its own new additions to the classic Super Mario gameplay. You will find no slouching in this well crafted department.


    Graphics and Sound

    These are always a great highlight of Mario titles. Their ability to push the limits of their system's and present us with both a graphical and musical feast. Galaxy's graphics are among the best of the Wii, showcasing many brilliant landscapes, textures and particle effects. Never once are you disappointed by an area that could have been improved. In compliment to this, the soundtrack is also incredible. There are many great orchestrated pieces, as well as the return of many enhanced retro themes, such as an iconic piece from Super Mario Bros. 3. The music is a joy to listen to and makes an already great game even better. I found the Toy Time Galaxy theme to be particularly memorable.


    As you can see, Super Mario Galaxy is one of the best games on the Nintendo Wii, nay, ever. Its additions to the classic Mario formula, and that which remains as before, make this a truly special and nearly perfect game. Upon buying this masterpiece, you shall not be disappointed.
    Expand
  97. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    The best game on wii. Mario's space adventure is Very fun. Basic 3-d platforming is mixed with Beautiful graphics and great puzzles . His quest to save you-know-who is easy, yet long, just the way it should be. Rarley did it feel frustrating, just enjoyable. How ever, trying to get all 200 is f------- impossible. A great game from start to end.
  98. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    A wonderful adventure awaits you in this awesome game. Mario still has his tricks on it, and Nintendo did one of the best games on their classic masterpiece. Since Mario 64 , i havent played any other cool game from the franchise ( I never played mario Sunchine) any way , the graphics are bright,colorful,intense, the gameplay is fine. Also , this really makes the true potential as forA wonderful adventure awaits you in this awesome game. Mario still has his tricks on it, and Nintendo did one of the best games on their classic masterpiece. Since Mario 64 , i havent played any other cool game from the franchise ( I never played mario Sunchine) any way , the graphics are bright,colorful,intense, the gameplay is fine. Also , this really makes the true potential as for Mario Galaxy 2 , truly epic. Expand
  99. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Great game! It hjas some average and easy levels. Fun for kids of all ages. I do wish it would get harder towards later in the game. Like ones that make me stumped.
  100. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    The main games in the Mario series have a long standing reputation as being amongst the best of their generation and Mario Galaxy is no exception. As the name suggests this new outing takes Mario away from the Mushroom kingdom and high into the stars above. Despite this the game still features a number of instantly recognizable enemies and power-ups while still having more than a few newThe main games in the Mario series have a long standing reputation as being amongst the best of their generation and Mario Galaxy is no exception. As the name suggests this new outing takes Mario away from the Mushroom kingdom and high into the stars above. Despite this the game still features a number of instantly recognizable enemies and power-ups while still having more than a few new tricks up its sleeve.

    Following a brief intro, in which Bowser yet again kidnaps Peach, Mario finds himself inside a giant space ship which acts as the games hub (much like the castle did in Mario 64). Access to different galaxies/levels gradually open up as you progress with each containing six or seven challenges of varying difficulty. Many of these levels are completely unique and the game never seems to run out of new ways to challenge and entertain the player. As you would expect the platforming itself is second to none and the controls quickly become second nature allowing for precision control. Every time you die you know it is your fault rather than the games.

    Perhaps wisely Super Mario Galaxy only makes limited use of the Wii's motion controls. Star bits, that help earn extra lives, can be collected by pointing while some boss fights require the player to deflect projectiles back at the enemy. All in all then this is an excellent addition to the Mario series and one of few games on the Nintendo Wii than can be enjoyed by both casual and hardcore gamers.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. games(TM)
    90
    Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.