User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1646 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I briefly played "Super Mario Galaxy" in my cousin's house and all I can say is...BRILLIANT. The game looks amazing and well polished for a 2007 game (especially despite the fact that it was on the Wii) and its gameplay was also smooth and addictive for my taste. A epic must-play game.
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    The main games in the Mario series have a long standing reputation as being amongst the best of their generation and Mario Galaxy is no exception. As the name suggests this new outing takes Mario away from the Mushroom kingdom and high into the stars above. Despite this the game still features a number of instantly recognizable enemies and power-ups while still having more than a few new tricks up its sleeve.

    Following a brief intro, in which Bowser yet again kidnaps Peach, Mario finds himself inside a giant space ship which acts as the games hub (much like the castle did in Mario 64). Access to different galaxies/levels gradually open up as you progress with each containing six or seven challenges of varying difficulty. Many of these levels are completely unique and the game never seems to run out of new ways to challenge and entertain the player. As you would expect the platforming itself is second to none and the controls quickly become second nature allowing for precision control. Every time you die you know it is your fault rather than the games.

    Perhaps wisely Super Mario Galaxy only makes limited use of the Wii's motion controls. Star bits, that help earn extra lives, can be collected by pointing while some boss fights require the player to deflect projectiles back at the enemy. All in all then this is an excellent addition to the Mario series and one of few games on the Nintendo Wii than can be enjoyed by both casual and hardcore gamers.
    Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    when it comes to platforming games mario has been king for along time . mario 64 is probubly the greatest of all time in that area. SMG not so much. its still a good game with some nice level desighn's . the controls are decent although it still leaves me wishing i could just use a damn game cube controllor over the wii's , the camera is dreadful for the most part since you are running around on small planets it does a sky view which just makes it feel kinda off and made me wish for the mario 64 camera (all be it not great was far better then this) its also kinda easy but most mario games are but not this easy . its still a fun game that captures for the most part the mario magic but it isnt as good as mario 64 or super mario 3 or world and just a hair better then sunshine . Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    A wonderful adventure awaits you in this awesome game. Mario still has his tricks on it, and Nintendo did one of the best games on their classic masterpiece. Since Mario 64 , i havent played any other cool game from the franchise ( I never played mario Sunchine) any way , the graphics are bright,colorful,intense, the gameplay is fine. Also , this really makes the true potential as for Mario Galaxy 2 , truly epic. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    The Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 are the best games to be released on the Wii and are some of the best games to be released in the seventh generation of video game consoles. The originality in the level design is awesome and the fun that comes from the gameplay is unforgettable. There is more originally in some single levels of Galaxy than some entire games! The soundtrack of Galaxy is freaken wicked and the graphics are charmingly simple and well designed. The only downer to Galaxy is the story which although is irrelevant to what Mario games are about should have been removed from the game altogether. I actually dont know many people who have played this game which is disappointing as it really is one of the best of the best. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    It's hard to explain why this game is good. Maybe it's the amazing level designs, the pick up and play nature, the phenomenal orchestrated music, or the outstanding charm of the game. These factors all seem to come together, creating one of the greatest games on Wii and one of the greatest games of this generation.

    Words alone cannot explain this game. You just have to play it yourself.
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Wholly original and infinetly fun. Perhaps one of the best games ever. I think I'm gonna buy it again. It controls like the best of all marios yet it's platforming is ultra complicated technically. But it controls so well that it all seems so simple.
  8. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This entire game can be summarized in three words: a true masterpiece. I enjoyed it's sequel a lot, but the plumber's first galaxy adventure is arguably even better. Gorgeous graphics and a sweeping, beautiful orchestral score heighten the sheer greatness. Sure, the story is ok (you know, Bowser kidnaps Peach; but this time, he wants to rule the universe), but no one really plays a Mario platformer for the story; they play it for nostalgia and creative, original gameplay. Not only is Super Mario Galaxy one of the best Wii games (up there with Super Smash Bros. Brawl and Super Paper Mario), it's also one of the greatest games ever to grace the video game market. Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    I remember when my cousin had the game and said I wouldn't like it he was wrong, very wrong not only is this my favorite Wii game along with Smash Bros but this is my favorite Mario game.
  10. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Nintendo brings back the Mario classic to the Nintendo Wii with Super Mario Galaxy! Super Mario Galaxy goes back to similar roots as Super Mario 64, distancing itself in terms of gameplay from Super Mario Sunshine, exploration has never been better. Although its different from Sunshine, the gameplay does have the same basic controls except the use of FLUDD, you have the wii mote to use to spin attack and to target falling star shards. Fans of the Mario series will surely enjoy this instant classic as the storyline is lighthearted, music score is one of the best ever made, gameplay is fluid, graphics are dream like! Expand
  11. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Whenever you are tired of the same genre that repeats itself and steadily drops in creativity, rely on Nintendo to make something the opposite of that. Galaxy is the most ambitious Mario game that Nintendo has ever made yet. Perfect controls as expected, ingenious level designs, jaw dropping graphics that rivals other games offered on the 360 or PS3 and amazing replay value. It's a bit easier than previous Mario games but you need this on your Wii collection. Expand
  12. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls work well when used, it's reasonably easy, but not to say, Kirby levels it probably won't really challenge those who have played older Mario games (those are tough as nails). Anybody who has any sense will enjoy this game. Mario has increased in quality, which is something very special as I have not played a Mario game which does not deserve a score less than a nine out of ten. If you don't have it, buy it!!! Expand
  13. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is without a doubt one of the greatest Mario games ever made. First off the story is really good, even for just a generic "Bowser kidnaps Peach", it does more with some cool themes and even a little bit of darkness to it, I also like the character, Rosalina, and later on in the game you will hear of a back story about her with I think is something I really like that they put in a Mario game. The Gameplay is pretty much near-flawless, it controls fine and there is some great levels and designs; speaking of designs, this game has some of the best graphics on the Wii, it almost looks HD! I also like that Luigi is in this game after his absence in SM64 and SMS, he was pretty fun to play. Overall SMG is one of the greatest Mario games and one of the greatest Wii games out there. An essential game to add to your Wii Library. Expand
  14. DME
    Aug 11, 2010
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is a mixed bag. It beats Super Mario Sunshine but still hasn't quite lived up to the same standard that Super Mario 64 set. Sometimes the game is fun and addicting but it also has it's moments of boredom.
    Graphics: 9/10 Nice visuals and effects
    Sound: 10/10 Everything sounds 100% Mario
    Story: 7/10 The princess gets kidnapped for the 3 billionth time.

    Gameplay: 9/10 Fun with a few bland spots.
    Overall Score: 9/10 A nice addition to the Wii library.
    Expand
  15. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    Finally, a mario game that actually tries to be a little different! I like it when a franchise tries to be original, and this definitely helps. The mario franchise has been a hit 'n miss since 'Sunshine' but mario galaxy might just be the game that brings the franchise back up!
  16. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    With it's beautiful graphics, the orchestrated score, the influential gameplay, Super Mario Galaxy captures a sense of magic unseen in the Mario world recently.
  17. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    This is pretty much the only game that I sat for 3 straight days playing and beat. It was worth it though because at the time the Wii was temporary and I had to get this epic game in. Super Mario Galaxy is almost as magical as Mario 64, which means a whole hell of a lot. This game is not just for young kids, it is truly a challenging and downright fun game to play, one of the best the Wii has to offer. If you own a Wii I am sure you already played this game, if you haven't your missing out. Expand
  18. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    What can i say about the game that has not already been said? This game is a masterpiece in gaming and a landmark in modern gaming. Everything about Galaxy is perfect, just absolutely everything. I don't have a single complaint about this game. Get this is game if you don't have it.
  19. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Wow. Just wow. Nintendo know how to make a good mario game, that much is for certain. Super Mario Galaxy is a 3D platformer with a unique difference. Hence the name, Mario's in space. While you could easily dismiss this as a gimmick, that is exactly what it is not. First off, it means that everything looks gorgeous. The Wii isn't HD, so it's amazing Nintendo managed to pull this off (but it would be even better in HD, and that's why I'd like a remake for Wii U). Everywhere, it's cosmos, but that doesn't mean Nintendo have gone for one background and reused it- every galaxy is unique in everything, including looks. Next is music. It's amazing. Recorded by an orchestra, every piece conveys the atmosphere of the galaxy (and, oh, those atmospheres are things to treasure). So that's excellent presentation. Beautiful and always, always unique. But the most important thing that Galaxy introduces is planet-hopping. You can run right round a planet and come back to where you were before. While this seems pointless, in reality it brings a whole new dimension to the platforming, and is used in a variety of clever, different ways. Here's the clever thing: you always use a launch star, which is like a cannon except it's a star(don't ask) to get to another planet. And most levels consist of a few conxecutive planets.The set out of the game is essentially about forty galaxies, each holding a one to six levels, or 'scenarios'. The goal of each is to collect the star at the end. The way to actually reach each galaxy is a bit like Super Mario 64- levels are in different places in your hub, the observatory. Getting to them is annoying. It's not like you get lost- it's just boring getting to them. The good-for-nothing map of the observatory doesn't help either. So each galaxy has a particular theme, and it is always very imaginative. Even the routine desert galaxy is filled with surprises. A lot of the gakaxies have levels with boss fights, and a lot of the themes of the galaxies could be turned into entirely new games themselves. There are loads of new powerups, and they are always required to progress when they appear. So they're not so much power-ups as they are like items in zelda. There's the bee suit, to name just one. Each power gives you unique abilities which are always very cleverly and creatively implemented. Each galaxy usually has one or three normal levels, then maybe a hidden star in one of the levels, and one or two comet levels. Comet levels are special stars that come into galaxies you've cleared as you progress through the game. They give you a particular aim and are always very hard. The downside is when they arrive, they replace all the other levels in that galaxy until you've completed that comet level. There's a spin jump to assist you in Super Mario Galaxy, like a double jump. The camera is perfect, never wondering. My biggest problem is that although there are checkpoints, they're not marked, so you've no idea where you'll respawn if you die. There's also a mode where a second player can assist Mario by collecting star bits(in game currency) for them among other things, but this mode is too limited. Overall, Galaxy is a fantastic game and one of the best if not the best, refreshing plstforners around. Expand
  20. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = One of the greatest platformers of all-time!!
  21. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best video games of all time! This is how all mario platformers should be! My favorite mario game ever! There's no other game like this! Except the less than steller sequal, lol get it? I know you do
  22. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    A really beatuiful and innovative game, that reinvents the mario franchise once again. There was the original, then mario 64, and now, mario galaxy is the next revolutionary turn in the franchise. The games design is extremely creative and intuitive, the controls are perfect, and the game feels fresh and new. The graphics are also good, especially on the given hardware. This game is an amazing wii title, and one very easily reccomendable. Expand
  23. Jan 17, 2014
    9
    one of the most fun games that i have ever play on wii
    super mario galaxy is a must game that i enjoyed playing i love using luigi in both games once you beat game as mario however the mission are challenge but still fun
  24. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    The greatest Nintendo character of all time gets the best game series ever created in the form of Super Mario Galaxy.

    These games are so well crafted and fun that it might be the closest thing to a 'perfect rating' a game could ever get. Everything from the fantastic level design, worlds, characters and beautiful graphics to the breathtaking scope and Bosses makes this one of the very
    best games of all time! It well deserves the attention it gets and as always, I can't wait for Nintendo's next instalment in the Mario franchise. Expand
  25. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Because of the extremely creative and fun level design, I'm giving this an 8 / 10. Otherwise I have never really been that much a fan of mario. For a wii game, the visuals are quite impressive aswell.
  26. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    Quite literally a perfect game that has no flaws, what else can I say? It has amazing controls that don't force wiimote waggle and allow for perfect platforming. The soundtrack is the best in a Mario game, i'll go ahead and say its the best in a Nintendo game. The graphics are pretty much on par with most 360/PS3 games in SD and the galaxies are all magical. One of my Favorite games of all time and definitely the best game on Wii! Expand
  27. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    this is better than thwe sequel in every way, and same graphics and stuff, and my fav space themed game...

    yeah... kay that was a dumb thing toi say...

    98%
  28. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    This was the first game on Wii that wowed me. Everything comes together beautifully: the controls, the music, the graphics, the unbelievable level design. A modern day masterpiece.
  29. Nov 14, 2010
    5
    This game is strictly mediocre. While it is okay for a while, it suffers from several large problems. The biggest problem is that, while it is a 3D platformer, it lacks exploration - the game is extremely linear, and most levels have to be completed in a single way. Worse, this game is inferior to previous titles in the series - Mario 64 had a lot of exploration in it, but this game lacks that exploration aspect. You can't randomly go for other stars, and the stars aren't clever in any way. The worlds are sadly less interesting than the Mario 64 equivalents.

    The much-vaunted planetary aspect SEEMS like it would be cool, but it almost always is actually a total letdown - almost all the planets with their gravity are lame, and only in a few places in the game can you actually do cool things with them, and I strongly suspect the team actually never intended for me to be able to do what is ACTUALLY fun with the gravity.

    The game is also extremely easy - many modern games are very easy, but this game is exceedingly so. Bafflingly, it still has a lives system, despite the fact that it is utterly irrelevant - you have effectively infinite lives, and yet they remain in the game for no good reason. Moreover, it is so easy you are never going to game over.

    The central staging area is also less enjoyable than what has been present in other games - in this game, the central staging area is like the levels, boring. In Mario 64, the castle was an interesting place to explore in its own right, being its own "level" of sorts with its own secrets, but the spaceship is just a boring place without interesting places to put its levels, and you progress through it in a very linear and not very interesting fashion.

    Perhaps the biggest letdown is the repetitive worlds - there is one world which shows up twice, and it was only okay the first time. The second time, it is simply tedious and uninteresting. Other sections of the game are a bit overly repetitive as well.

    While there are some fun areas in the game, most of it is just boring and not clever, and the game is actually worse than Mario 64, a game a decade older in the same series.

    This game is greatly overrated. I'd recommend against purchasing it.
    Expand
  30. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This is not close to the plumber we fell in love with in super mario bros. He has strayed extremley far away from his original concept that its sad. This series may have the graphics but it lacks tht true mario gameplay we all used to love....... Sigh...:(
  31. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Super Mario Galaxy takes our favourite iconic plumber into to a whole different setting that captures a fairy tale atmosphere to the overall game experience. Super Mario Galaxy is a gorgeous looking platforming game with a captivating soundtrack and fun gameplay that will keep you playing this game 'til the stars come up at night. This game also introduce us to a new character named Rosalina (who is awesome by the way) with little star assistances that follows her around called the Lumas. If you wish to have a virtual game tell you a bed-time story, the game tells an okay origin story about Rosalina and the Lumas, which is quite unforgettable to those characters. The game does have a wonderful charm to this new concept for the Mario franchise, though some of the gameplay could have provided more challenges for the older gamers and fans of the series. For the most part, this game is easy once you get the hang of the controls, plus re-playing the same game as Luigi was a slight let down. You think you would expect new challenges when it comes to playing as Mario's taller younger brother. Super Mario Galaxy is no Super Mario 64, but it is still a great installment to the Super Mario franchise and a great title to be added to your Wii collection. You will not believe you eyes! Expand
  32. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    One of the best games on the Wii, beautiful, adventurous and a bright torch for the future of the Super Mario platform series. The control scheme takes some time to feel comfortable with. When you are comfortable, prepare for the gaming experience few games are able to deliver.
  33. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    An all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'd expect from a Mario game the level design was perfect and so was the music and gameplay. The camera issues often plaguing 3D platformers were pretty much non-existent here. This thing was a delight to play. Visually, it's one of the stand-out games for the Wii (although slightly eclipsed by its successor in this particular field). The game just oozed originality and my excitement in playing it is one I haven't felt since I was a kid playing Mario 64. A magical, magical game. Expand
  34. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Another amazing piece of platforming genius from Nintendo. Like most modern Mario games, it can be quite clinical at times. But for gameplay and fun, there's little better
  35. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    This is not as good galaxy 2 but it's still so awesome! I love this but I can see why people don't like this because of the gavity gimics but I like it. I can't wait for the next generation consols and mario game!
  36. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    It was hard to find reasons not to give Galaxy a 10, it's fun, inventive, pretty but unfortunately the level design can be incredibly frustrating. but that should not hold you back from purchasing this magnificent title.
  37. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    All I can say is this is a great game ...despite it's childish approach. "SUPER MARIO GALAAAAAXY" in an annoying pitchy voice at the startup screen just burns me with annoyance. However, the gameplay is great great great.
  38. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    The game is incredible with tons of levels, great gameplay, solid controls, surprisingly responsive motion controls, great bosses, average characters, a Luigi mode, and great new power ups this game is really the definitive game on the Wii (excluding cross over games).
  39. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    One of the best games on Wii and just one of the best games in general, the level design in Super Mario Galaxy is some of the best, if you are a platformer fan and have not played this game you are missing out on a true gem, Whilst getting the first 60 stars is pretty easy to do, getting the full 120 stars is challenging and will give you hours of playtime. The graphics are great despite being in SD, I never looked at the game and thought that it had to be in HD to look good, Nintendo knows how to optimize there hardware to look fantastic. If you have a Wii or Wii U then pick this up for one of the best designed games ever made. Expand
  40. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Super Mario Galaxy is a fantastic game, with fun new characters, exciting worlds, cool power-ups, and an amazing soundtrack, however, one thing I would love to see change is there be difficulty settings(If there are any, I could not see them), as I feel that some of the levels might be a bit too hard for someone who is not the best gamer or for someone who is a little kid. However, it does offer quite a bit for those who can only complete half of the galaxies, so, even if you aren't a great gamer and might have trouble with certain levels, it's still a game I recommend. Expand
  41. Jan 8, 2011
    8
    A highly polished, first-rate platformer with plenty of creative insanity and a wonderful orchestral score to back up the action. Mario's star hunt through dozens of mini-planets is a wild and diverse journey full of color, clever level design, and more than enough challenge, should the player go for everything the game has to offer. Simple boss fights, fairly short and linear stages, and Mario's traditionally slippery movement coupled with slightly awkward motion controls somewhat detract from the overall enjoyment but the experience is still overwhelmingly positive. Excellent effort from a plumber with 25 years of career under his belt already! Expand
  42. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    Anyone giving it a bad review, oh come on! You're either one of them COD fanboys, guys who don't even own a Nintendo System, trolls, you found the game too hard or you can't appreciate a game. If you don't like the plot, then you should probably read a book or something. Videogames obviously aren't your thing. This game doesn't even need a good plot, and I'd be upset if it was anything else. If it was something else, it won't work one bit and the game would be pointless. *Cough* (Sonic The Hedgehog) *Cough*. I mean, the Galaxies have variety, are very pretty, have a really good challenge and do not force you to complete the mission. The hub world is fun to walk around in. It stays true to its roots and throws its new ideas around. Oh, and if you're going to call it "Mario 64 in space", well, Halo Reach is Halo in Space. COD is pretty much always in Russia. Tetris is always well, Tetris. I only have one criticism though, and it's that running through to Bowser on your first go is too easy. While the galaxies are original, it gets repeated a lot. This isn't restricted to children. It's for everyone and the only people I see disliking this are technophobes, COD fanboys, people who only use videogames to do yoga, ride horses, etc. and politicians. Mario doesn't need a gun or killing Nazis to be awesome. Not quite perfect, but man is this game good. Own a Wii? Don't have this game? What is wrong with you? Expand
  43. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum, so a 10 is fair. Expand
  44. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    My personal favorite title for the Nintendo Wii console. Super Mario Galaxy has mechanics during the game play that will absorb all gravity like a black hole. The levels with the shooting stars, galaxy music that makes you feel like your a floating Mario out in space, and over all level designs that will pull you into the game like never before. This game revolutionized Platformers for all future generations. I loved it and collected all the stars even with Luigi. Fun fun and more fun! Highly Recommended!!! Expand
  45. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    The first time I ever laid my eyes on this awesome Mario game was back in 2007 on Halloween (No Joke).
    I am really surprised with this Mario game, I played it and loved it. Score: 4/5.
  46. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Probably one of the most imaginative and well designed games I have ever played, seemingly designed for children, but more than just a little fitting for anyone more mature. This game offers fantastic platforming segments, as well as interesting level design and a touching story on the side.

    The main story is, of course, rather more of the same; princess gets kidnapped, Mario goes to
    rescue her. But what sets this game apart from the others lies in the game mechanics; it sees you jumping from planet to planet, gathering star bits (seemingly the currency in the game) and navigating elaborate obstacles and challenges. This game is more than just jumping and dodging; some involve clever tactics, others require you to search the environment for clues.

    This game is also far from small; you must gather around 200 stars to fully accomplish the game, and not all of those will come easy to you, as is obvious in Mario galaxy's almost punishing bonus challenges, which appear in the form of "prankster comets". These offer special challenges to levels you have previously completed, such as only being able to take one hit of damage, or racing against time. Difficult, but certainly a welcome challenge.

    Overall, fantastic, very nearly flawless game. It is well deserving of a perfect score, and of all the great scores it seems to have attained from official critics. Nintendo does it again.
    Expand
  47. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is probably one of the best for the Mario series, the characters are really cool, the gameplay is absolutely stunning, and the graphics are out of this world. The game is really long, especially if you try t grab every green star in order to play as luigi. People always compare 3D Mario games to Mario 64, but this is where games are really compared. Expand
  48. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    i thought this game was good but not THAT good why did the critics give it such a high score? there are a load of other games that i think deserve a higher score and this game gets a 97?! lets be serious people. the are game that deserve this score like ratchet and clank or littlebigplanet really better games.
  49. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Super mario galaxy is an impressive game Mario's leap into space is an adventure like no other The graphics in this game are beautiful the best on wii .the soundtrack and level design is phenomenal and the gameplay is flawless You should buy it now as is one of the best games in history 9.7/10
  50. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    If you own a Wii and haven't played this, GO AND GET IT NOW, IT IS THAT GOOD.

    Simply put, a masterpiece.

    Music is amazing, graphics and controls as well.

    Every level feels unique and intriguing. It sucks you in.

    10 out of 10.
  51. Jun 7, 2011
    0
    Ok, I ask myself "Who the hell would rate this game high. I mean yeah i used to play it...(Mario that is) But then I turned 8 years old! The amount of games that are being sold is appalling (For Mario)
    This is so outrageous and stupid that I just can't rate it!
  52. Aug 7, 2011
    7
    This is easily the best platformer I have ever played. It feels like it raises the bar to a level that I would never need another platformer again. In all fairness, I am not a big fan of platform games so I don't spend a lot of time with the genre, but this is just one of those quality games that goes above and beyond traditional expectations of a particular genre. The only real problem I have with it is the label. Do we really need another Super Mario? Please Nintendo, call it anything you want and make the main character look like anyone else but please move on from Mario/Zelda/Metroid. These same game mechanics could easily be used with a new IP to freshen things up a bit. It's getting to the point where I can't bare to look at another one of these three brands unless it comes with a 90+ consensus review score to help me see past the same increasingly irritating main character. Expand
  53. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  54. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I gotta admit, some of these levels are easy, but that flaw is backed up with an amazing soundtrack, almost perfect graphics, and unique game play. The levels are highly unique, something that most games lack.
  55. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    The greatest space adventure video game I ever play.When all the light of the planetarium comes I feel a different feeling of the game;and it changes while I advanced it.A good plot and difficulty of the levels.
  56. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    A great game from the Mario Franchise. It's got different kinds of game play, and lumas are adorable. Especially hungry lumas. What I really like is that if you're friend or sibling wants to play you can both be involved because the second player can use a wiimote to get starbits, and hold things and enemies in place to help out player one. it's actually really fun collecting starbits and being able to hold things. You can even click on player one to make him jump, which can be used for evil, haha. Expand
  57. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    This game is the best game on the wii. Truly excellent graphics and gameplay. There is tons and tons of things to do and just keeps you coming back for more.
  58. Oct 27, 2011
    8
    Super Mario Galaxy is good but 2 is so much better. Super Mario Galaxy 2 also does not need an intro to 1. So if you can only play 1 or only want to to play one of the Super Mario Galaxy's. I would advise 2 over 1 any day. Don't get me wrong though, 1 is still awesome and deserves to be played but Super Mario Galaxy 2 is much better than 1.
  59. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This very well could be the bet game on the Wii. It has amazing graphics, music, gameplay, control, and design. The ideas are very original and is a blast to play, albeit a little too easy to beat the main story. However, there is plenty to do afterwards. This game will have you coming back for more and more. PLAY IT.
  60. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is quite simply, one of my favorite video games of all time. My expectations for this game were skyward, in fact, I sold my Gamecube to buy a Wii because I knew I couldn't just miss Mario's next adventure. So its easy to imagine the grateful feelings of excitement when the game shipped and I played it for the first time. It is so rare when I game comes and immediately fulfills all the powerful emotions running for it, but Galaxy fulfilled all I wanted for a next generation Mario back in 2007. It controlled beautifully, It looked beautifully, it sounded beautifully, everything, for a fact, was simply beautiful. But hexed of all the fanaticism that could have possibly propelled my enjoyment throughout my first play-through, the real meat for it to be so impossibly good, and the reason I consider it one of the best games of all time is its masterful creativeness. Galaxy´s levels are some of the most creative work Nintendo has ever done, and coming from a company which´s actual milestone is precisely that, "inventiveness", calling Galaxy a highlight is some serious praise. Galaxy squished all the ingredients that makes Mario games such memorable experiences, while at the same time being new and innovative with its whole gravitational effects. It was the best marriage of old and new, one that only exhibits a sense of perfection. Its only flaw may be that for its short story the game is merely easy, but those who tend to complete this mastery of game design will find plenty of challenge, and a highly entertaining game as well. This is a Nintendo masterpiece. Expand
  61. May 3, 2013
    10
    I spent heaps of hours playing this game because it is so imaginative and fun. The ship is really cool and there are heaps of stars to collect. You have to help Mario find Rosalina to win the game. What I really liked about it was the items like Bee Mario, a cool Star Mario, a Boo Mario and he has a cool trick where he can turn invisible and go through walls. There are also an Ice Mario and Fire Mario with a 20 second time limit. The Spring Mario that lets you jump really high. This made the game exciting. Expand
  62. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    The Super Mario Galaxy series is one of the best series there is on video game world.This is the first one and for me the less brilliant one.Compairing to the 2nd title this has less powerups and a little bit less of creativity.But is still one of the funniest games for the WiI excellent visuals, story and sound.this is a game for the new and old fans of the italian plumber cause its innovative and it brings back the greatest Mario we can get 3D. Expand
  63. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    Mario is back and with a story unlike any other Mario before. Super Mario Galaxy is exciting the second you start playing until the second you beat it. My only problems with Galaxy were predominately camera angles, length (to short), and repetitive level formats. Galaxy is still however an amazing game I would always recommend to someone. I personally loved the observatory and Rosaline's storybook. Expand
  64. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    What happened in here? This game is so wrong, too few levels and when they are easy, literally, THEY ARE VERY EASY, but they want them to be hard... OMG THEY ARE VERY, VERY HARD. And the game has many incoherences. The design of the planets are wonderful, I admit that, but when I play in them, I get dizzy. The good thing is that the new power and hilarious, and makes the game fun.
  65. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The controls became second nature and added extra effect to the game. Any body that didn't give this game 100/100/10/10 probably didn't beat the entire game. When I saw i could replay the game with Luigi I thought it would be stupid and pointless. That was not the case. It was a far different experience from Mario which made playing thru the game a second time just as fun as the first. The last bonus level was a good reward too. The only thing bad that comes from this game is I will probably never find a game that can offer as much thrill as this one. Expand
  66. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    The visuals are astonishing and well fitted for the Wii. The game is fun and satisfying and the environment is divers but not anything new to the Mario franchise. Other then this, the number one problem is the insanely easy difficulty. You will need no guide or any particular skill to beat this game. Which is a downer for the more game advanced people. But it is still worth buying just to see the wonders of Mario in 3D. Expand
  67. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy has good graphics, and a memorable storyline that has changed the way we look at Mario more as a character. The only complaints I have are that the camera angles are abysmal, and some levels are more frustrating than challenging. All in all, it is a must-have game for the Wii.
  68. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Where do I start with this?

    This game is amazing and really has to be seen to be believed. I was initially sceptical about the whole planets/space theme, but my god does it work.

    Each level or "galaxy" is broken down into several islands/floating planet things, with each having their own obstacles to negotiate. The key to this game though, is that generally speaking, you can go
    "under" the level as well across it as you normally would. This is extremely difficult to describe and has to be seen to really understand it. This key feature introduces a whole new dimension to the game, and gives it staggering potential for level design. It is very weird at first with the controls and camera leaving you unsure initially, but it doesn't take long at all to get used to them.

    The other thing about this game that really stands out is it's visuals. This game is absolutely gorgeous, and I was playing it without the HD component cable! As is typical of a mario game, the colours are so rich and everything looks perfectly designed. The music as well, is typical mario, and effortlessly combines the feel of 16-bit gaming with grandiose, scene-perfect music.

    Finally, the controls are extremely intuitive and are pretty much the same as Mario 64 & Sunshine. This helps, as the game is different enough as it is with all the gravity/camera shifting to deal with.

    Another plus point, is that the controls aren't over "Wii'd". What I mean by this is that on Super Monkey Ball, everything is controlled "Wii-style". For instance, to scroll through the menus you need to tilt the remote left and right. JUST SET IT UP TO USE THE D-PAD! Not everything needs to be incorporated into the remote! Thankfully, Mario Galaxy keeps things simple and uses these useful features where appropriate, rather than for everything. Like Resident Evil 4, the nunchuk and remote combo works effortlessly without over-complicating anything.

    Bottom line is, why are you reading this? Go out there and buy this now!
    Expand
  69. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    Mario galaxy is a near perfect game, the gameplay is perfect, the sound is perfect, the graphics are exactly the way I like them, and the controls are perfect. Sadly though the game has the same problem as every Mario game, bad story, bad multiplayer, and easy difficulty, but other then that it's a perfect game that anyone can enjoy. Mario galaxy is a game were no level is the same, and all the level have there own hook. In some levels your a bee, and in other your swimming in squid infested water. I am also happy to report every level is fun, so for the 8 hours that it takes you to beat the game you'll enjoy every second of it. Like I said the game is 8 hours long but with great replay value you could play 30 hours like me. Expand
  70. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    What the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classic Mario tunes are back and the music is just great.This game is not great!THIS GAME IS MASTERFUL!A PERFECT 10! Expand
  71. PMG
    Jan 31, 2014
    10
    This game is easy, but to me it still is the best WII game. With so many big and interesting levels, bosses like King fin, Boulder geist and Bowser, the sweet power ups, Rosalina and the comet observatory all help to make this my favorite Mario game ever.
  72. Nov 15, 2010
    6
    Super Mario Galaxy will be fun for younger players but if you grew up with Super Mario 64 you know very well that this is just a rip off of older better games. Nintendo needs to do something new instead of recycling old ideas.
  73. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Sorry how I posted a half finished review. I meant to click check spelling because I misspelled exalted. But I wasn't paying attention and clicked submit. So let's pick up where I left off. .

    is and how complex is her backstory. You can actually read exactly what happened to her once you access the library in the hub. And also, the game is a technical masterpiece for not only its
    stellar animation, but for its super catchy tunes, notably the Gusty Garden Galaxy. And replay value is very strong in this title. You'll find yourself doing things as crazy and exciting as finding different colored stars to doing things as simple and fun as collecting coins and reading mail from Princess Peach. So that's all my good stuff with the title. Now let's get the bad over with: you'll be pleased to know there's hardly anything that's bad.

    The Bad:

    Well, there's 2 nit-picks that I have with the title: One is that I wish there was bonus content within the levels.(Stuff besides stars, star BITS, coins 1-ups, etc. Not that it won't keep you occupied)And two is that the hub world is pretty empty besides a few toads and lumas. But hey, hub worlds aren't the main focus of the game. My ideas aside, Super Mario Galaxy still rocks.

    The Ugly:

    None! :D

    So overall, I really love this one. There is no such thing as a perfect game (I just stated my flaws)and that's understandable, but for what it is, came pretty close. My original score is 9.6/10, but since this STUPID thing doesn't have midpoints, I'll be nice and give it a perfect 10.
    Expand
  74. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is easily the best game on the Wii. The graphics are impressive and the environments are varied. The gameplay and music are amazing. The motion controls were responsive and easy. This is a game for everyone.
  75. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    let me start this off by saying that super mario galaxy is one of the best games of all time, it just might be the best game of all time and it is without a doubt the best mario game ever. now the story is basic, bowser wants peach so he takes here into space. and the gameplay, it's amazing, you control mario on an incredible adventure through space and you'll go through all kinds of galaxies that are very different from each other, the galaxies are the levels of this game. and the objective of the game is like super mario sunshine, find the shine sprite, however in this game you're finding power stars which are like shine sprites. when you start the game you are greeted with one of the best cutscenes in any video game ever. then you go on an adventure that mario and you will never forget. there are over 40 galaxies to explore in this game, and they are so great, one of my favorite galaxies is the honeyhive galaxy, this galaxy has you trying to protect the bees from their enemies the manabugs, and another galaxy called the ghostly galaxy is like luigi's mansion all over again, only this time you play as mario and you have to find luigi in a haunted mansion. and probably my all time favorite galaxy the one made out of toys, you also platform on a gaint 8-bit mario, that is probably to this day the best level in any super mario game to this day. the controls are also great and you use the wii remote to point at the screen and collect star bits, star bits are to super mario galaxy, what blue coins are super mario sunshine, if you collect enough of them you can unlock extra levels. and the music in this game is BEAUTIFUL. the orchestra that played this music is great, yes i said that an orchestra played music for a super mario game. this is one of the best games i have ever played, the best game on the wii, the best game of 2007, and the best mario game. this game is a masterpeice and i HIGHLY recomend this to anyone. this game gets a 10 out of 10 score perfect not one thing is wrong with this game. Expand
  76. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    I remember getting my pre-order copy of this game. I was so excited to play it and it was definitely worth 50 dollars. the game is super mario 64 in space, although it was a bit short. One of the greatest experiences i've had in my life.
  77. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are water galaxies, ice galaxies, fire galaxies, grassland galaxies, and much more. I do wish accessing the galaxies was easier, though. It takes forever to get to the higher observatories. Also, there are WAY too many Purple Coin missions. Things get slightly repetitive around the endgame. But altogether, Super Mario Galaxy is a very enjoyable experience that I would recommend to anyone and everyone. Expand
  78. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    An absolute masterpiece of a platformer. Complete with mind-bending jumps, beautiful worlds, and amazing gameplay. A camera issue here and there as well as a very large hub that can make going from galaxy to galaxy a little tedious shouldn't be enough to distract the player from the adventure at hand. A must have title for Wii owners. 9/10
  79. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Pure perfection. That's all there is to be said. The power ups are amazing and really enhance the gameplay, and each level brings on something new, creative, and challenging. Super Mario Galaxy is a must have for anyone who has a wii, or anyone who appreciates video games, for that matter.
  80. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    This game is probably one of the best single player Wii games on the market. I have not tried SMG2 yet, but despite the useless secrets of the game, this game has perfect difficulty, amazing level design truly more innovative compared to generic maps like Halo (seriously), and it has a consistent storyline even if it requires saving Princess Peach over and over again from previous (and future) games. This game proves that you do not need HQ graphics or complex gameplay to really have a good time. Expand
  81. Mar 2, 2013
    4
    The space where it was possible to move always seemed to be very small. Almost felt like a converted 2d game. Constantly dealing with gravity wasnt a great move either, it kind of ruined the experience. I wasnt a great fan of the motion control either, felt very duckt taped and gimmicky. The art style left nothing to complain about, lovely colourful environments. The setting in space didnt really appeal to me, it didnt have the Mario feeling to it. The green grass, castles and trees is just much more fitting. The graphics left much to wish for, but it wasnt much they could do with that hardware. It does look significantly better on dolphin emulator with upscaling and some minor graphic tweaks. An OK game, but Id rather see a full blown remake of Mario 64 with 1080p resolution.

    Its not a bad game, but its the Galaxy instalment is by far the worst in the series. I was a sceptic to Mario Sunshine when it came, but after playing this I realize how much better it was. Its obvious that the new and younger crowd loved this game. I hope that they some day get the chance to play Mario 64 and see how much better it can be.
    Expand
  82. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Visually stunning graphics combined with a great soundtrack make this a very beautiful game to look at. Admittedly, this game is "Super Mario 64" in space, but that's not necessarily a negative thing.
  83. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This is brilliant. Fact. There is just so much to cherish, it's just an amazing game. The level design itself is in-genius, Miyamoto and his team have really stretched their imaginations with this game. There is just some amazing levels on offer which I think needs to be played. The orchestral music works like a dream, Kondo and his fellow composers must be credited, the tracks are just stunning, and really set the atmosphere really well, you've just got to love "Gusty Garden Galaxy" tune. Brilliant track. And that's not all, there are many other fine tunes. I must admit, for a Wii game, it's looks fabulous. Most games on the Wii don't show the graphical power like this. The only flaws are it's too short, easy and a hollow storyline. Still, that doesn't really affect it. Get it. Expand
  84. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    Not the best Mario game, but still fantastic. The gameplay is the same as previous 3D Mario's with additional perks, but that's not a bad thing. The graphics are fantastic for an early Wii game and playing it doesn't feel like a chore. However, the most spectacular part about it is the level design. The creators really got inventive when it came to all the different, beautiful levels. The gravity places a whole new experience never seen before in a Mario game. Expand
  85. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    My all time favorite. I remember my joy of when I got my Wii on Christmas day 2007, and then just a few hours later when the rest of my family came over I unwrapped this masterpiece. It became my entire childhood and to this day I have never played a game that had come any where close to matching it. It was probably one of the saddest days of my life when stupid me broke the disc, I was traumatized for days.

    This game proved with its graphics that 480p can be gorgeous and that HD doesn't matter. Its incredible controls cannot be matched by any other. The music puts you to tears every time and unlike most titles, the soundtrack is worth buying. This game here is what made me a gamer.

    This game here showed me the beautiful light of Nintendo. And I will treasure this game for the rest of my life. Just a few months ago I got a new copy of the game and pulled all nighters playing it and felt emotions I will probably never feel again. I will never get over my feelings for this masterpiece that we have all experienced.
    Expand
  86. May 24, 2014
    10
    This game is just a diamond but not rare to find. My relationship with this game is amazing from this was my first Mario actually my first Nintendo game and is why I'm still a fan and still love Mario. The game design is like something you would see in movie that won best picture. The music oh my days the music, not only the best soundtrack for Mario but probably the greatest music I've ever herd.to bring it all down this game wait not game, Masterpiece is why you should get a wii, why I love Mario, and why I love video games I give this a Giant ten. Thank you Mario and Thank you Nintendo Expand
  87. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Its no Mario 64 opr Super Mario Bros but it is reall fun game, it has pretty good graphics for a wii game , it has some moments that are just ok and it is going around planets in space which is weird, but its mario and it is lots of fun
  88. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Mario's definitive adventure on the Nintendo Wii is a gem. The story in Super Mario Galaxy is very simple yet sort of compelling. The controls in the game are flawless as you leap and bound all over the universe. The concept of walking on a spherical object and eventually walking upside down is great. The level design in this game is astonishing. You could say that the gameplay possibilities are endless. For me at least, the only problem with the game was that after you beat the main boss, I was not compelled to collect any more stars, although the additional galaxies were some of the expertly crafted ones. This is the first Mario game to have an orchestral score, and I gotta say its amazing. It adds so much to the wonderment of the great beyond you play in. If I were to give a proper score to this game it would be a 9.6. Expand
  89. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Mario rules the gaming world and this is a reminder of it. Ignore what trolls say this game is amazing and not buying it would be a crime for any true gamer.
  90. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is perfection in gaming, delivered as only Nintendo know how. Music, graphics, and the ever-changing gameplay make this game very hard to stop playing. There is plenty of fanboy service with characters and old tunes revamped. There is nothing you could do to make this a better game. It is sheer perfection, and thoroughly deserving of my 10 rating. There are complaints that it is too easy, and certain boss fights are WAY too easy, but this does not detract from the game at all. Those complaints are dealt with in SMG2 anyways. Expand
  91. May 16, 2012
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is one of the best games on the Wii. The gamplay, sound, and design is excellent and replayability is high. Sure, there are some problems but still is a wonderful game!! I give it a 95.
  92. Jul 19, 2013
    0
    Lamest game ever I should have never bought this game.
  93. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    The greatest game of all time is what people, and it's easy to see why. With a never-thought of-gameplay, beautiful visuals that makes HD games look bland, and Bowser at his cruelest, this is game is a must have for any generations.
  94. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    This is by far one of the most amazing experiences on the Wii! At first, being a Mario fan, I thought this game looked a little too strange and would mess up what I always loved, but I'm happy to say that it offered another level of innovation and fun!

    It adds a new theme to that fun Mario atmosphere that we always loved! This is by far one of the best games on the Wii.
  95. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    Super Mario Galaxy came out in 2007. To this day, I still am playing this game. As a Mario fan, this game took what I love and made it better. A great game that to this day, still holds its value! 8/10
  96. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    Great Game! It was my first Wii game that I played, I absolutely love it, it's a ton of fun! I think everyone should buy it! really good graphics! really good storyline for a Mario game ( not bashing Mario story writers)
  97. May 18, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time. The soundtrack is amazing, the graphics are impressive, the fun is big, originality is huge and the controls are perfect.
  98. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Since Super Mario 64 we didnĀ“t associate Mario to a perfect game until this game came out. Brilliant technically, really funny, new, fresh, and long. It will take you several months to get the 242 stars that the game has. Difficulty is high but reasonable, and every level surprise you in a different way.
  99. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is one of the greatest Mario games period. It does everything that a Mario game should do, but does it tremendously. The platforming is challenging but still accessible to new comers and the level design oozes with creativity. One second you could be surfing with penguins and the next you are fighting against a giant robot. The motion controls are used just as much as they should be. They are primarily used for firing star bits and doing spins. The game is huge with 120 stars to collect and a second game where you play as Luigi. No level feels poorly designed and considering how many levels there are, that is saying a lot. The story is your standard Peach get captured adventure. However, what makes this story different is the character of Rosalina who has a very interesting backstory. The graphics look very polished and the soundtrack is incredible. However, what makes this game great is one thing, the fun factor. When it comes down to it, what makes a game is the gameplay and how much fun it's and Galaxy delivers in spades. If you haven't played this game yes, there is no excuse. It is one of the highest rated games of all time for a reason. Expand
  100. RJV
    Oct 8, 2011
    10
    As far as the Wii goes, this is the second best game there is, the best being Galaxy 2, and it deserves that place. You can see the classic Mario in it, and there are loads of new stuff. The controls are pretty much perfect, and the only problems i have are accidentally activating the spin attack by shaking the Wii remote, and the Red-Star flying power-up has awful handling. After you beat the main story, which is easy, but if you quit a Mario-game after just completing the main story you're doing wrong, there is a lot of game-play afterwards. There some small flaws of course, but they are all fixed in galaxy 2, the best game ever. Expand
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.