User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1850 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum,Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum, so a 10 is fair. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This very well could be the bet game on the Wii. It has amazing graphics, music, gameplay, control, and design. The ideas are very original and is a blast to play, albeit a little too easy to beat the main story. However, there is plenty to do afterwards. This game will have you coming back for more and more. PLAY IT.
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls workI can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls work well when used, it's reasonably easy, but not to say, Kirby levels it probably won't really challenge those who have played older Mario games (those are tough as nails). Anybody who has any sense will enjoy this game. Mario has increased in quality, which is something very special as I have not played a Mario game which does not deserve a score less than a nine out of ten. If you don't have it, buy it!!! Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    What the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classicWhat the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classic Mario tunes are back and the music is just great.This game is not great!THIS GAME IS MASTERFUL!A PERFECT 10! Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Since Super Mario 64 we didnĀ“t associate Mario to a perfect game until this game came out. Brilliant technically, really funny, new, fresh, and long. It will take you several months to get the 242 stars that the game has. Difficulty is high but reasonable, and every level surprise you in a different way.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry RhodanThis game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry Rhodan in Mario style! Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo e muito bom,por causa de sua dificudade,historia,etc... mas tem uns que dizem que e ruim esse jogo maravilhoso jogo de wii.
  8. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Pure perfection. That's all there is to be said. The power ups are amazing and really enhance the gameplay, and each level brings on something new, creative, and challenging. Super Mario Galaxy is a must have for anyone who has a wii, or anyone who appreciates video games, for that matter.
  9. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    I'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they stillI'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they still look friggin pretty. And if you hate on it because your too "hardcore" for mario or it's too "easy", then you are allergic to fun. Isn't that what games set out to do? Give you a fun game to play? Hell, I almost cried with joy when I first beat the game! And that's one of the beauty of the game itself. Does it have replay value? No, not really. But if you want to complete the full game, it'll take you a pretty long while anyway. What I'm trying to say, is if you have a Wii, then you're probably not going to get much more hardcore than this anyway. But, if it just happens that you have a Wii, then this is an absloute MUST HAVE. And I can't tell you how amazing the music is, either. It fits every location perfectly. I don't know what those developers were smoking, but whatever it is, I want some. Some people say that it gets a little too heavy at times (specifically boss fights), but here's two reasons or rather, objections to that. If it's too loud or whatever, there's probably a volume switch on your TV. Also, most of the time, I at least, am too immersed in the game to even notice the music. But if it wasn't there, then it would be empty and silent. The level design is fantastic, the music is pheonamonal, and the gameplay is near perfect. I'm just here to say, I REALLY FRICKING LOVE THIS GAME. If you have a Wii, about 20 bucks, and a craving for fun, then this is a MUST HAVE. Expand
  10. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    An all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'dAn all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'd expect from a Mario game the level design was perfect and so was the music and gameplay. The camera issues often plaguing 3D platformers were pretty much non-existent here. This thing was a delight to play. Visually, it's one of the stand-out games for the Wii (although slightly eclipsed by its successor in this particular field). The game just oozed originality and my excitement in playing it is one I haven't felt since I was a kid playing Mario 64. A magical, magical game. Expand
  11. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    This is the most outstanding game I've ever played. Mario has never done better than this.

    Pros
    -HD graphics
    -nice gameplay
    -fun bosses
    -challenging experience
    -nice story

    Cons
    (none)
  12. Jan 3, 2015
    10
    My favorite game of all time, no questions asked. The atmosphere, music, art design, game play, creativity, and level design are all the best I have ever experienced in a video game. Even the story is pretty deep for a Mario game, it almost reminds me of 2001: A Space Odyssey, maybe not to that level, but it is the closest a video game has ever come to it.
  13. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    Awesome game! One of the best games of all time! The graphics are amazing! The controls are perfect. The level designs are great. It also has great orchestraed music. Super Mario Galaxy is a must buy for everyone! You should get this and SMG2 together if you don't have either.
  14. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This is the best Wii game I have on my shelf( tied with smg2) because I just love how the levels or a.k.a. Galaxies are designed and my favourite character is Cosmic Mario or Luigi. This is an example of a flawless 10/10, and it is interesting or just love how you can get Rosalina for Mario Kart Wii, but I have never played as her. Though I got something accomplished or partly completed byThis is the best Wii game I have on my shelf( tied with smg2) because I just love how the levels or a.k.a. Galaxies are designed and my favourite character is Cosmic Mario or Luigi. This is an example of a flawless 10/10, and it is interesting or just love how you can get Rosalina for Mario Kart Wii, but I have never played as her. Though I got something accomplished or partly completed by unlocking her. You still have to race 50 times to unlock her but anyways, this game is a damn masterpiece( sorry, but once again, I'm kinda excited. No excuse. I hate dat!) you must get and beat it 100% Once and for all. Its easy,fun,enjoyable, and suited for both intense gamers like me or my Wii U friends(some) and Casual Gamers who try to have fun. Expand
  15. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are waterSuper Mario Galaxy is an excellent game. The graphics are amazing, and with 120 stars to collect, the game will definitely keep the player entertained for a long time. But what I like most about Super Mario Galaxy (and its sequel) is the wide variety of worlds. The idea of Mario traversing through space lets Nintendo keep its options open, so that each galaxy is unique. There are water galaxies, ice galaxies, fire galaxies, grassland galaxies, and much more. I do wish accessing the galaxies was easier, though. It takes forever to get to the higher observatories. Also, there are WAY too many Purple Coin missions. Things get slightly repetitive around the endgame. But altogether, Super Mario Galaxy is a very enjoyable experience that I would recommend to anyone and everyone. Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Mario galaxy was the only reason i bought a wii, so if you are a wii owner, you shouldn't , miss it. From the music, the level design, the gravity, etc, etc, this game is a MASTERPIECE.
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I briefly played "Super Mario Galaxy" in my cousin's house and all I can say is...BRILLIANT. The game looks amazing and well polished for a 2007 game (especially despite the fact that it was on the Wii) and its gameplay was also smooth and addictive for my taste. A epic must-play game.
  18. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    This game is the best game on the wii. Truly excellent graphics and gameplay. There is tons and tons of things to do and just keeps you coming back for more.
  19. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is easily the best game on the Wii. The graphics are impressive and the environments are varied. The gameplay and music are amazing. The motion controls were responsive and easy. This is a game for everyone.
  20. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This is brilliant. Fact. There is just so much to cherish, it's just an amazing game. The level design itself is in-genius, Miyamoto and his team have really stretched their imaginations with this game. There is just some amazing levels on offer which I think needs to be played. The orchestral music works like a dream, Kondo and his fellow composers must be credited, the tracks are justThis is brilliant. Fact. There is just so much to cherish, it's just an amazing game. The level design itself is in-genius, Miyamoto and his team have really stretched their imaginations with this game. There is just some amazing levels on offer which I think needs to be played. The orchestral music works like a dream, Kondo and his fellow composers must be credited, the tracks are just stunning, and really set the atmosphere really well, you've just got to love "Gusty Garden Galaxy" tune. Brilliant track. And that's not all, there are many other fine tunes. I must admit, for a Wii game, it's looks fabulous. Most games on the Wii don't show the graphical power like this. The only flaws are it's too short, easy and a hollow storyline. Still, that doesn't really affect it. Get it. Expand
  21. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    10.Sin duda, un muy buen juego. No defrauda técnicamente, la banda sonora es genial, tiene un control preciso y ajustado y una dificultad muy bien nivelada. Además es largo, te asegura unas 40 horas de juego completártelo. 242 estrellas difíciles pero posibles.
  22. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This entire game can be summarized in three words: a true masterpiece. I enjoyed it's sequel a lot, but the plumber's first galaxy adventure is arguably even better. Gorgeous graphics and a sweeping, beautiful orchestral score heighten the sheer greatness. Sure, the story is ok (you know, Bowser kidnaps Peach; but this time, he wants to rule the universe), but no one really plays a MarioThis entire game can be summarized in three words: a true masterpiece. I enjoyed it's sequel a lot, but the plumber's first galaxy adventure is arguably even better. Gorgeous graphics and a sweeping, beautiful orchestral score heighten the sheer greatness. Sure, the story is ok (you know, Bowser kidnaps Peach; but this time, he wants to rule the universe), but no one really plays a Mario platformer for the story; they play it for nostalgia and creative, original gameplay. Not only is Super Mario Galaxy one of the best Wii games (up there with Super Smash Bros. Brawl and Super Paper Mario), it's also one of the greatest games ever to grace the video game market. Expand
  23. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Its no Mario 64 opr Super Mario Bros but it is reall fun game, it has pretty good graphics for a wii game , it has some moments that are just ok and it is going around planets in space which is weird, but its mario and it is lots of fun
  24. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I gotta admit, some of these levels are easy, but that flaw is backed up with an amazing soundtrack, almost perfect graphics, and unique game play. The levels are highly unique, something that most games lack.
  25. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    This was the first game on Wii that wowed me. Everything comes together beautifully: the controls, the music, the graphics, the unbelievable level design. A modern day masterpiece.
  26. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy has good graphics, and a memorable storyline that has changed the way we look at Mario more as a character. The only complaints I have are that the camera angles are abysmal, and some levels are more frustrating than challenging. All in all, it is a must-have game for the Wii.
  27. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is THE BEST GAME on the wii. it takes Super Mario Galaxy and does what no one thought it could. it made it even better. it fixes just about every one of the small problems i had with Galaxy 1 and fixes them. plus there are new additions such as a bag full of new power ups and of course Yoshi, the dinosaur that everybody loves. my biggest complaint about Galaxy 1 was thatSuper Mario Galaxy is THE BEST GAME on the wii. it takes Super Mario Galaxy and does what no one thought it could. it made it even better. it fixes just about every one of the small problems i had with Galaxy 1 and fixes them. plus there are new additions such as a bag full of new power ups and of course Yoshi, the dinosaur that everybody loves. my biggest complaint about Galaxy 1 was that many of the boss fights were the same. Galaxy 2's boss fights are much better, but the final boss is still too short, too easy, and just disappointing over all. the rest of the game is also quite easy except for the perfect run (god dammit that took me forever to beat) and also the number of save files you can create has been reduced from 6 in the original to 3 in this game. not a major problem it just might be an issue if you have a family of gamers. Now i know MANY gamers will skip this game simply because its on the wii. but please, play this game. you won't regret it. and it is well worth the $50. i've been wondering whether to give this game a 9/10 or a perfect 10/10. i was reluctant to give it a perfect score because there were a few microscopic problems existing. but then i realized that a perfect video game doesn't, and never will, exist. every game no matter how amazing will have small bugs. but even if a perfect game doesn't exist, Super Mario Galaxy 2 comes pretty damn close. Expand
  28. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    The game off the bat is spectacular. The beginning is very compelling, and through out the game you get wondoures surprises. The bosses are filled with adreneline and the game is addicting in general. I think this game had a lot of thought into it, and to this day I still play it. One word to explain this game? EPICC!!!!
  29. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Best game ever made!!!! Incredible level design, awesome music, and amazing power ups all enhance the fantastic gameplay! Super Mario Galaxy is the best game I have ever played and I dont think anything will ever top it!
  30. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    Mario blasts off into outer-space with Super Mario Galaxy! Letsa go solve puzzles by using gravity! The star system is back and better than ever! Now let's go blast off into space and get into the gravity-defying journey!
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.