User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2404 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DiegoM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. The level desing and art direction of this game are unmatched, fantastic visuals. Beautiful orchestrated music, and superb gameplay make from Mario Galaxy the best game of this decade in my humble opinion.
  2. ChrisA.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Truly the best Mario game ever, and also a game that will go down in history as one of the best games ever made - like Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Brothers 3 before it. There simply are no flaws with this game, if you like Mario: you will love this game; if you love Mario, then this game is your nirvana.
  3. SAmuelM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    The ONLY two things wrong with this game are: 1> You can't control the camera very well 2> See number 1.
  4. DanA.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    I had been hyped for this game since day one. The best part about it is that no amount of hype can do it justice. This has exceeded my expectations for a Wii game, a Mario game, a 3D Platformer, and so much more. Super Mario Galaxy is by far the best game this year, superior to even God of War 2, Halo 3, Bioshock, and Call of Duty 4. It never fails to impress, and even with minor camera I had been hyped for this game since day one. The best part about it is that no amount of hype can do it justice. This has exceeded my expectations for a Wii game, a Mario game, a 3D Platformer, and so much more. Super Mario Galaxy is by far the best game this year, superior to even God of War 2, Halo 3, Bioshock, and Call of Duty 4. It never fails to impress, and even with minor camera flaws and a lack of an original story, it's as close to perfect as a game has been in a long time. Expand
  5. AlexD.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This is the reason to own a Wii, best game this decade.
  6. Caitiexobc8ox
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    This game was the best out of all the games I own for Wii. It's great graphics and exciting settings don't make you sick of it in an hour and makes Mario look like a whole new player.
  7. AndreaC.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    The best game of the year, without a doubt. Visionary, new, fresh. I love it.
  8. KevinG.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Debate will continue to rage over whether or not this game is "one of the best of all time" and worthy of some of the more extreme ratings out there (one prominent reviewer gave it an 11 out of 10). Having played the game, I must admit that it's one of the more fun and exciting experiences I've had in gaming in years. The variety of things to do and the execution in which Debate will continue to rage over whether or not this game is "one of the best of all time" and worthy of some of the more extreme ratings out there (one prominent reviewer gave it an 11 out of 10). Having played the game, I must admit that it's one of the more fun and exciting experiences I've had in gaming in years. The variety of things to do and the execution in which it's handled is impeccable. The music is playing in my head 24 hours a day, and the graphics are very, very good. I think what is causing many of the super-high reviews though, isn't so much the quality of the game but the fact that it reminds people of Super Mario 64. This is a game that people have wanted a proper sequel to for years, and other than the good-but-different Mario Sunshine, we haven't had a new 3-D mario game that could compare to the N64 original. I think a lot of these reviews are based in nostalgia more than anything else. Not that there's really anything wrong with that. Mario Galaxy is without a doubt a fantastic game, whether or not it deserves 11 points out of ten. Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Es realemente emocionante y unico, la experiencia que siente saltar de planeta en planeta, la movilidad, los colores y mario son fantasticos, y realmente en todo el juego siempre hay algo nuevo... cada galaxia es diferente y por cada una un poder diferente. realmente asombroso! no es el juego del año, es el juego de 10 años
  10. JorgeC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    I believe this is the overall the best Wii game out there in the market. Intense graphics compare to sunshine and other previous mario games. Same characters and same storyline doesn't ever get boring. I give this game a 10 beyond the galaxy.
  11. VN
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Mesmerising experience from the off. It blew me away straight away. And the sound is emphatic. Plus its not another first person shooter...
  12. DRaGMaReC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Es el mejor juego de Mario que se ha creado, en el catálogo de Wii solo es superado por Zelda Twilight Princess, un poco sencillo al principio pero conseguir las 120 estrellas no es tarea facil.
  13. TerranS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    The best platformer I have ever played- and that includes Mario 64. Galaxy does an excellent job of combining problem solving with skill, with a pace that calls on the player to constantly evaluate both. Its colorful visuals make excellent use of the Wii's graphical capabilities, and appeal to all ages of gamers. The audio can be a bit "kiddish" at times, but it's never The best platformer I have ever played- and that includes Mario 64. Galaxy does an excellent job of combining problem solving with skill, with a pace that calls on the player to constantly evaluate both. Its colorful visuals make excellent use of the Wii's graphical capabilities, and appeal to all ages of gamers. The audio can be a bit "kiddish" at times, but it's never overwhelming, and the excellent gameplay and graphics more than make up for that negligible "lapse". The only other complaint is the camera, but I haven't played a 3D platformer yet where I have not had some complaint about the camera, and overall Galaxy's works to strengthen the game's immersion factor, making it a little more acceptable. Overall, Galaxy offers the best platforming experience around, and the Wii only complements the experience with its spot-on controls (even Ray Surfing feels amazing) and upgraded graphics (I have yet to encounter a point in Mario Galaxy where I cared that the Wii has "inferior" graphics, because the graphical design in Mario Galaxy more than makes up for its technical "inferiority"). Expand
  14. Mario
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    First of all, I laugh at "Dante Peaks" pitiful effort at trying to make this game look bad. He is obviously a stupid PS3 or Xbox360 fanboy that hasn't even played the game and just wants to lower the score. He gave it a score of 1/10. Give me a break you idiot! This game is an absolute masterpiece. Easily the best game on the Wii. Bad camera angles, bad plot and very repetitive says First of all, I laugh at "Dante Peaks" pitiful effort at trying to make this game look bad. He is obviously a stupid PS3 or Xbox360 fanboy that hasn't even played the game and just wants to lower the score. He gave it a score of 1/10. Give me a break you idiot! This game is an absolute masterpiece. Easily the best game on the Wii. Bad camera angles, bad plot and very repetitive says Dante Peaks? Absolutely not. Graphics, sound/music, gameplay is absolutely amazing. If you have a Wii but not this game, go and get it! This game will go down in history as a very important and remarkable mario game just as Mario 64 did before it. Expand
  15. BrandonJ.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I feel like a child again. That is the best feeling anyone can ever get from a game. No other game has did this to me since... I was a kid. The music is breathtaking at some parts, like fighting Bowser, and the gameplay is amazing. It does take a little time to get used to, but when you do, you will be playing the best game on Wii, if not, one of the best games ever.
  16. JeremyJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Reaffirms my faith in Nintendo's ability to make games of more quality and freshness than any other company. The game is, in a word (a very un-Mario word): epic. The only complaint I might have had was "too easy"...but if you think about it...how many people got to experience getting all 120 shines in Super Mario Sunshine, the exponentially harder 3D Mario game? I myself never Reaffirms my faith in Nintendo's ability to make games of more quality and freshness than any other company. The game is, in a word (a very un-Mario word): epic. The only complaint I might have had was "too easy"...but if you think about it...how many people got to experience getting all 120 shines in Super Mario Sunshine, the exponentially harder 3D Mario game? I myself never acheived that rating until Galaxy came along, and it's a great feeling. Besides, there's always that "little extra something" for getting all 120 stars that makes the game slightly more difficult asecond time around. Expand
  17. SpoodQ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    To the person who says it copied ratchett and clank : Excuse me? You do know Mario was a 3D platformer long before your little furries ever where, and if anything they are copying him, correct? Disregarding comments from people who should stop playing video games just right now, this game is almost perfect. Sheer brilliance. Excellent graphics, music, gameplay, and evironments. Even the To the person who says it copied ratchett and clank : Excuse me? You do know Mario was a 3D platformer long before your little furries ever where, and if anything they are copying him, correct? Disregarding comments from people who should stop playing video games just right now, this game is almost perfect. Sheer brilliance. Excellent graphics, music, gameplay, and evironments. Even the lack of cinematics and developed story can't keep me from rating this a 10! Expand
  18. TomM.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Great game, took 64's innovation and charm to heart, but yet still expanded and innovated upon it in more ways with planets, gravity, and new moves. An epic, must-own title for anyone who considers themselves a gamer.
  19. DavidK.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Excellent mario game, full of original gameplay, yet classic, music enemies, settings powerups and fun. amazingm yet undeniably far far to easy, no where near the challenge as MArio 64 was but i would say has more WOW factor, considering the controlls and gravity effects, and suprisingly excellent visuals
  20. Sami
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    Definitely the best 3D Mario adventure made, fixing several of it's predecessors' mistakes while refining on their strengths and innovating on fresh ground. It does have its faults, such as few game-freezing bugs, some tacked-on minigame stages that don't go well together with the rest of the game. However, when you try out a lot of ideas, their quality is bound to vary, Definitely the best 3D Mario adventure made, fixing several of it's predecessors' mistakes while refining on their strengths and innovating on fresh ground. It does have its faults, such as few game-freezing bugs, some tacked-on minigame stages that don't go well together with the rest of the game. However, when you try out a lot of ideas, their quality is bound to vary, and Galaxy does have plenty of good ideas such as the planetoid's gravity mechanic itself. A good game, well worth trying out and playing. Expand
  21. dcartist
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. Well deserving of a 10. Amazing control, lots of imagination... seamless. My only nitpick is with that very sad and haunting storybook that is a cliffhanger all the way through if you start reading it early. Having a sad lonely kid looking for his mom who has "left forever"... without a resolution until you finish more game... bad idea. Luckily the storybook is totally skippable.
  22. SteveM.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    I love video games, so I tend to get caught up in a game and give it a shining 10 for a review, out of passion, and then only in hindsight am I able to pick out the flaws. I need not worry about that regarding this game. This game is as perfect as games come. I enjoy the graphics and love the music, but seriously, that is all irrelevant...that's not why you should play this game. I love video games, so I tend to get caught up in a game and give it a shining 10 for a review, out of passion, and then only in hindsight am I able to pick out the flaws. I need not worry about that regarding this game. This game is as perfect as games come. I enjoy the graphics and love the music, but seriously, that is all irrelevant...that's not why you should play this game. Don't even play it because it's a "Mario" game. Play it for the genius level deisgn and gameplay...because that's what games are REALLY all about, and this game nails it. Expand
  23. AnonymousMC
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Ive been playing the Japanese version. An excellent game to say the least. The whole new galaxy approach to the Mario universe makes it interesting to play. Plus there are plenty of bosses and puzzles to keep it interesting. It is also a lengthy game with all sorts of unexpected levels. And though I am not completely sold on the Wii Remote for use with this kind of game, it'sIve been playing the Japanese version. An excellent game to say the least. The whole new galaxy approach to the Mario universe makes it interesting to play. Plus there are plenty of bosses and puzzles to keep it interesting. It is also a lengthy game with all sorts of unexpected levels. And though I am not completely sold on the Wii Remote for use with this kind of game, it's function does mix in well with the gameplay.The only draw backs are the visuals and lack of voice work. Though the levels are well designed, the game does not have crisp detailed 3D models. Also as is the case with most Nintendo party games, there is not enough spoken dialogue. This was a huge problem for me with Twilight Princess, but I find even with Mario, it takes away from the experience. Games that speak to you are just so much more involving. Regardless, I still give this game a well deserved 9. Expand
  24. Taurus
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    What an awesome, awesome game. A must-buy for all the Wii owners, and if you don't own a Wii, here's a great reason to buy one.
  25. MarkR.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    I got the same impression of "Hardcore Gamer Magazine". When I play this game I fell like a crafter had reachd its highest skill point. It is an awesome game, beautiful to look at, just great music and controls and fun all the way through. I highly recommend it.
  26. PALAFOXP
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy stands proudly as the second best game from Nintendo. Why? Because its excellent design, innovation, controls, and graphics. Some reviewers claim this is not the best Mario game yet, others just lower the score of the game by just saying the camera, and easy-level issues, but it's not enough. Although this game is not perfect, it really entertains. The soundtrack Super Mario Galaxy stands proudly as the second best game from Nintendo. Why? Because its excellent design, innovation, controls, and graphics. Some reviewers claim this is not the best Mario game yet, others just lower the score of the game by just saying the camera, and easy-level issues, but it's not enough. Although this game is not perfect, it really entertains. The soundtrack is just amazing, with orchestrated tunes and background sounds that perfectly fit each Galaxy. I give this game a 10, because this game really amazed me, and will amaze everyone who plays it 'till the end. Expand
  27. RickyQ.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    An amazing game which is somehow even more fun to play than Super Mario 64. It's too easy though.
  28. Bishman
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Now Super Mario Galaxy is the true sequel to Mario 64. It does everything Mario 64 does but better. Not only is the art direction amazing, Nintendo raises the bar on what you think a platform game can do. And it is simply fun. When I'm playing, I have to laugh and smile because this game is just too fun.
  29. BradleyG.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I have yet to find a flaw in this game. For those of you who feel it is not as "pretty" as compared to other games out today, take a look again. For how little power the Wii has as compared to its graphically massive competition, it does very well for itself. Also, when you're such a shallow gamer to put graphics in front of fun, then go play Lair for a third time keep you're I have yet to find a flaw in this game. For those of you who feel it is not as "pretty" as compared to other games out today, take a look again. For how little power the Wii has as compared to its graphically massive competition, it does very well for itself. Also, when you're such a shallow gamer to put graphics in front of fun, then go play Lair for a third time keep you're opinion to yourself. Expand
  30. LuisR.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This game is a Mario geek fantasy come true. I keep reading a lot of comparisons to Mario 64, and there are definitely similarities. One thing that definitely sets this apart from Mario 64 is the lack of repetition. Every star within each stage has it's own areas, so it doesn't feel like you're running around the same parts of the level trying to figure out how to get the This game is a Mario geek fantasy come true. I keep reading a lot of comparisons to Mario 64, and there are definitely similarities. One thing that definitely sets this apart from Mario 64 is the lack of repetition. Every star within each stage has it's own areas, so it doesn't feel like you're running around the same parts of the level trying to figure out how to get the star. It definitely made Mario 64 feel tedious for me at times, but I have been playing Mario Galaxy non-stop, and even after having defeated Bowser I'm having a blast trying to get the rest of the stars. Expand

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. games(TM)
    90
    Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.