Super Mario Galaxy Wii

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2327 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum,Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum, so a 10 is fair. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This very well could be the bet game on the Wii. It has amazing graphics, music, gameplay, control, and design. The ideas are very original and is a blast to play, albeit a little too easy to beat the main story. However, there is plenty to do afterwards. This game will have you coming back for more and more. PLAY IT.
  3. Jun 8, 2015
    9
    Great great game, very nice graphics for a Wii game and a lovely universe that will please adults and children alike, lovely musics, a lot of innovative ideas concerning the gameplay, a lot of content (15 hours and a good use of the motion controller makes Super Mario Galaxy one of shiniest gem on the Wii.

    Now I have two complains about the game : at the end the game is getting
    Great great game, very nice graphics for a Wii game and a lovely universe that will please adults and children alike, lovely musics, a lot of innovative ideas concerning the gameplay, a lot of content (15 hours and a good use of the motion controller makes Super Mario Galaxy one of shiniest gem on the Wii.

    Now I have two complains about the game : at the end the game is getting repetitive and some levels could have been cut off the game; you can apply the second one to almost all the Nintendo games, the story is too simple, and I love stories in videogames so I wish they could work on that for their future games, a good story doesn't mean that the games is not accessible to children (aka Sony platforms game like Ratchet and Clank and Jak and Daxter), just give more purpose to the characters.

    But make no mistake, I loved this game and I'm looking forward to play its sequel, and it's a must have for every platform lover.
    Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls workI can't really fault this game. It is seriously good. Mario was always a series that I enjoyed as a kid, but I never really got into properly. Until Galaxy. It is one of the best looking games out there (yes, that does include ALL consoles) and is a joy to play from start to finish. Yes it is more linear than Mario 64, but I think it's a better game because of it. The motion controls work well when used, it's reasonably easy, but not to say, Kirby levels it probably won't really challenge those who have played older Mario games (those are tough as nails). Anybody who has any sense will enjoy this game. Mario has increased in quality, which is something very special as I have not played a Mario game which does not deserve a score less than a nine out of ten. If you don't have it, buy it!!! Expand
  5. MarkB.
    Jan 27, 2008
    8
    Definitely shows the power of the Wii, but as far as difficulty settings go, makes it too easy. I rarely die, and when I do, I easily pass the level on the next life. Love the graphics and gameplay, which are phenomenal, I just wish it was more difficult at times.
  6. KevinE.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Whoever gives this game a score in the red either hasn't played the game or is biased toward Mario. This is the best game of the year and I've played several of them. 3rd party developers I hope you're paying attention. This is how you make a great game on the Wii.
  7. MichaelF.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the game is stuffed to the brimming with pared down runs of perfect platforming and mind-bending physics. It undeniably excels at every little aspect of its being; platformers will never be the same. Expand
  8. DG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing game play...graphics...great overall!
  9. Bauermill
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Somehow this game blows away Super Mario 64 and possibly all other Mario games with it's graphics, gameplay, story, challenge, and straight up fun! A must have for anyone who owns a Wii. It gets my vote for game of the year.
  10. BradS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising the game so highly, it is definetely not deserving of being on th level of Ocarina of Time or SM64. Expand
  11. KristofferM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    An amazing game which undoubtedly will be remembered as an era-defining classic.
  12. Darkhorse
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around the galaxy enjoying the graphics. Expand
  13. H.Jay
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome. I think that's my best Mario adventure yet. A must buy for all Wii owners.
  14. JackS.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Just awesome. Best game for the Wii so far.
  15. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    What the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classicWhat the **** is wrong with people giving a masterpiece below 8?!Are they retarded?!This game is just the best game ever!!(some people disagree because they are Zelda fanboys and didn't play this masterpiece).The gameplay uses traditional 3D epicness!Is just SM64 in space!And it fits like bread with butter!The graphics are flashy and colorful(just like most Mario games).Some classic Mario tunes are back and the music is just great.This game is not great!THIS GAME IS MASTERFUL!A PERFECT 10! Expand
  16. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I've been a gamer for a large portion of my life. I've played basically every single genre of video game at least once. I've mowed down demons in doom and scored hole in ones in Wii golf. With that as subtext for this review, I believe that I should get out of the way the fact that the original Super Mario Galaxy and it's sequel are tied for my personal favorite game of all time. That's anI've been a gamer for a large portion of my life. I've played basically every single genre of video game at least once. I've mowed down demons in doom and scored hole in ones in Wii golf. With that as subtext for this review, I believe that I should get out of the way the fact that the original Super Mario Galaxy and it's sequel are tied for my personal favorite game of all time. That's an incredibly forward statement, I know, but there are so few things I can even fathom to nit-pick out of the game that I won't even bother to try. The game-play is spectacular with controls so impossibly refined that Mario constantly feels like an extension of my own body, making even the seemingly impossible levels entirely plausible. Whilst the game starts out reasonably easy, Nintendo's mastery of well constructed difficulty curves begins to shine about a quarter of the way through. Often an after thought in games, the music of Super Mario Galaxy is not only one of it's best aspects, it is (in my opinion) the single greatest soundtrack to be found in a video game. Once again, I understand what that statement means, but seriously, have you heard this stuff? I'm not lying, if you haven't heard this games sound track, you have not lived yet. It's an amazing mix of stirring orchestrations and rhythmic compositions. I could gush over this game for absolutely ages, but unfortunately, I have to go and replay it again because I'm suffering from withdrawal. All I can say is if you haven't played this game, go out to your nearest game retailer, and buy it. If you don't have the system to play it, then go buy one of those to (you can buy a Wii for basically the same price as the game now after all those price drops). Go. Do it now. I'm serious, go. Expand
  17. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Since Super Mario 64 we didnĀ“t associate Mario to a perfect game until this game came out. Brilliant technically, really funny, new, fresh, and long. It will take you several months to get the 242 stars that the game has. Difficulty is high but reasonable, and every level surprise you in a different way.
  18. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry RhodanThis game is the grand masterpiece! Beautiful music and levels. Fantastic new Mario character: Princess Rosalina! This is the best game of all time besides Ocarina of Time! I wish, I'll be in one of these levels, because it's like dreaming... And chilling by these beautiful musics. It also features a emotional story about Rosalina's past. Finally a Mario game with story! It's Perry Rhodan in Mario style! Expand
  19. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    If you own a Wii and haven't played this, GO AND GET IT NOW, IT IS THAT GOOD.

    Simply put, a masterpiece.

    Music is amazing, graphics and controls as well.

    Every level feels unique and intriguing. It sucks you in.

    10 out of 10.
  20. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is one of the greatest Mario games period. It does everything that a Mario game should do, but does it tremendously. The platforming is challenging but still accessible to new comers and the level design oozes with creativity. One second you could be surfing with penguins and the next you are fighting against a giant robot. The motion controls are used just as muchSuper Mario Galaxy is one of the greatest Mario games period. It does everything that a Mario game should do, but does it tremendously. The platforming is challenging but still accessible to new comers and the level design oozes with creativity. One second you could be surfing with penguins and the next you are fighting against a giant robot. The motion controls are used just as much as they should be. They are primarily used for firing star bits and doing spins. The game is huge with 120 stars to collect and a second game where you play as Luigi. No level feels poorly designed and considering how many levels there are, that is saying a lot. The story is your standard Peach get captured adventure. However, what makes this story different is the character of Rosalina who has a very interesting backstory. The graphics look very polished and the soundtrack is incredible. However, what makes this game great is one thing, the fun factor. When it comes down to it, what makes a game is the gameplay and how much fun it's and Galaxy delivers in spades. If you haven't played this game yes, there is no excuse. It is one of the highest rated games of all time for a reason. Expand
  21. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    For those of you considering this game years after release, in 2015 it still stands up. The Wii-mote controls are tight and satisfying, the graphics don't look as pixilated as much as other Wii games do on current TV's, and the gameplay is joyful. This wonderful game invoked feelings of Mario 64 in many ways. However, while it is packed with content, many of the stars were rather easy toFor those of you considering this game years after release, in 2015 it still stands up. The Wii-mote controls are tight and satisfying, the graphics don't look as pixilated as much as other Wii games do on current TV's, and the gameplay is joyful. This wonderful game invoked feelings of Mario 64 in many ways. However, while it is packed with content, many of the stars were rather easy to collect. Nevertheless, this game will provide hours of fun, some memorable moments, and occasional challenges even in 2015. Expand
  22. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo e muito bom,por causa de sua dificudade,historia,etc... mas tem uns que dizem que e ruim esse jogo maravilhoso jogo de wii.
  23. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Pure perfection. That's all there is to be said. The power ups are amazing and really enhance the gameplay, and each level brings on something new, creative, and challenging. Super Mario Galaxy is a must have for anyone who has a wii, or anyone who appreciates video games, for that matter.
  24. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    I'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they stillI'm just going to start off by saying, this game is freaking amazing. The only people that have any reason not to like it are people who think anything without perfect graphics is bad. And even though the graphics aren't that great, if Nintendo gave it super amazing graphics, would it even feel like a mario game? No, no it wouldn't! And even though the graphics aren't insane, they still look friggin pretty. And if you hate on it because your too "hardcore" for mario or it's too "easy", then you are allergic to fun. Isn't that what games set out to do? Give you a fun game to play? Hell, I almost cried with joy when I first beat the game! And that's one of the beauty of the game itself. Does it have replay value? No, not really. But if you want to complete the full game, it'll take you a pretty long while anyway. What I'm trying to say, is if you have a Wii, then you're probably not going to get much more hardcore than this anyway. But, if it just happens that you have a Wii, then this is an absloute MUST HAVE. And I can't tell you how amazing the music is, either. It fits every location perfectly. I don't know what those developers were smoking, but whatever it is, I want some. Some people say that it gets a little too heavy at times (specifically boss fights), but here's two reasons or rather, objections to that. If it's too loud or whatever, there's probably a volume switch on your TV. Also, most of the time, I at least, am too immersed in the game to even notice the music. But if it wasn't there, then it would be empty and silent. The level design is fantastic, the music is pheonamonal, and the gameplay is near perfect. I'm just here to say, I REALLY FRICKING LOVE THIS GAME. If you have a Wii, about 20 bucks, and a craving for fun, then this is a MUST HAVE. Expand
  25. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    Great Game! It was my first Wii game that I played, I absolutely love it, it's a ton of fun! I think everyone should buy it! really good graphics! really good storyline for a Mario game ( not bashing Mario story writers)
  26. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    Favorite game of all time finished it 13 times and still can't get enough also it is a huge leap for Nintendo now all we need is super mario galaxy 3 to save the wii u
  27. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    An all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'dAn all-time favourite of mine and tied as my favourite Mario game with it's sequel. Super Mario Galaxy was the funnest time I had on the Wii in single-player. Running around planets upside-down and being fired out of volcanoes with a quick shake of the Wii remote for the first time are some gaming moments that'll stick with me forever. This game was just full of 'wow' moments. As you'd expect from a Mario game the level design was perfect and so was the music and gameplay. The camera issues often plaguing 3D platformers were pretty much non-existent here. This thing was a delight to play. Visually, it's one of the stand-out games for the Wii (although slightly eclipsed by its successor in this particular field). The game just oozed originality and my excitement in playing it is one I haven't felt since I was a kid playing Mario 64. A magical, magical game. Expand
  28. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    This is the most outstanding game I've ever played. Mario has never done better than this.

    Pros
    -HD graphics
    -nice gameplay
    -fun bosses
    -challenging experience
    -nice story

    Cons
    (none)
  29. Apr 8, 2017
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy is a true pinnacle of 3D Mario games. Even more than Mario 64 and Sunshine. With an epic storyline, amazing graphics, highly imaginative designs, excellent gameplay, a lot of missions and challenges to beat, creative power-ups, solid controls and breathtaking musical soundtrack by Mahito Yokota and Koji Kondo. If you played 3D Mario games before and if you ever own aSuper Mario Galaxy is a true pinnacle of 3D Mario games. Even more than Mario 64 and Sunshine. With an epic storyline, amazing graphics, highly imaginative designs, excellent gameplay, a lot of missions and challenges to beat, creative power-ups, solid controls and breathtaking musical soundtrack by Mahito Yokota and Koji Kondo. If you played 3D Mario games before and if you ever own a Nintendo Wii, this is a must-own for your collection. I gave it a 10 out of 10. Expand
  30. Jan 3, 2015
    10
    My favorite game of all time, no questions asked. The atmosphere, music, art design, game play, creativity, and level design are all the best I have ever experienced in a video game. Even the story is pretty deep for a Mario game, it almost reminds me of 2001: A Space Odyssey, maybe not to that level, but it is the closest a video game has ever come to it.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. games(TM)
    90
    Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.