Super Paper Mario Wii

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 428 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 428
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobB
    Apr 6, 2009
    4
    Very blah. At first very charming but gets old very fast. It seemed fun to have the option to play as Peach, Luigi, and even Bowser but this is more or less a lie. Since ALL areas demand to be traversed both in 2D and 3D you
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    I remember when I was a kid that my favorite game on the Gamecube was Paper Mario The Ten Thousand year door and when I heard that there was a new Paper Mario game coming soon I got hyped more then for Super Smash Bros. Brawl. I couldn't wait but little did I know I was waiting for a huge kick in the balls. The game was basically New Super Mario Bros. RPG (infact I would have preferredI remember when I was a kid that my favorite game on the Gamecube was Paper Mario The Ten Thousand year door and when I heard that there was a new Paper Mario game coming soon I got hyped more then for Super Smash Bros. Brawl. I couldn't wait but little did I know I was waiting for a huge kick in the balls. The game was basically New Super Mario Bros. RPG (infact I would have preferred that title much more). With a boring storyline (that I can't imagine any kids understanding), graphics that are an insult to the Wii, terrible partners (I prefer one done well then 9 with no soul), Navi/Tippi, bad boss fights (excluding the first one), a main villain with no incentive (other then just take over the world), and some of the worst levels I've ever seen. Expand
  3. DonnaF.
    Jul 29, 2007
    1
    I am in my fifties and bought this for the exercise fun of the wii. If this is fun then we grown a generation of people with retarded development. Unbelievably boring, too many words. Big waste of money for the boomers who are looking to use their wiis and have a bit of sport. Smooth moves and wii sports are better. The 45 minute opening intro is absurd. Trash material. If I wanted to I am in my fifties and bought this for the exercise fun of the wii. If this is fun then we grown a generation of people with retarded development. Unbelievably boring, too many words. Big waste of money for the boomers who are looking to use their wiis and have a bit of sport. Smooth moves and wii sports are better. The 45 minute opening intro is absurd. Trash material. If I wanted to read I would have curled up with a book. Expand
  4. MartyM.
    Sep 15, 2007
    3
    I really wanted to like this game but what a let down. The artwork looks like it has been done by a 3 year old. I know its 'Paper' mario but its not as if it even looks like paper - it just looks rubbish. The story is dull and pointless with endless text to wade through. The 2D sidescrolling element of the game is its best feature although even this was done better on the SNES - I really wanted to like this game but what a let down. The artwork looks like it has been done by a 3 year old. I know its 'Paper' mario but its not as if it even looks like paper - it just looks rubbish. The story is dull and pointless with endless text to wade through. The 2D sidescrolling element of the game is its best feature although even this was done better on the SNES - so many of the 'classic' character functions are missing (ground pounds, flowers that allow mario to throw fireballs etc). The flip into 3D is again a let down as the 3D looks so poor and the novelty of it wears very quickly. Despite its claims, the flipping between 2D and 3D does little to enhance the game as its always the same everytime you get a bit stuck; "Damn Im stuck, Ill flip it into 3D.....oh there we go." I really was looking forward to this game but find it amazing anyone can give it anymore than a 5/10. Expand
  5. superwesman
    May 4, 2008
    1
    I found this game to be exceptionally tedious. I bought it because it was in the top 10 here at metacritic and was completely disappointed. Other games like metroid prime and mario galaxy are quite good and worthy of the high ranks. I don't see how this slipped through the cracks. The dialogue is mind numbing and there is a lot to be desired in terms of game play. Maybe little kids I found this game to be exceptionally tedious. I bought it because it was in the top 10 here at metacritic and was completely disappointed. Other games like metroid prime and mario galaxy are quite good and worthy of the high ranks. I don't see how this slipped through the cracks. The dialogue is mind numbing and there is a lot to be desired in terms of game play. Maybe little kids would enjoy it. Expand
  6. NospamNoSpam
    Apr 13, 2007
    3
    Elementary game play. Same tired familiar game play, same tired familiar characters, same tired familiar story. Mediocre graphics. A total bore.
  7. JoeL.
    Apr 17, 2007
    2
    Too easy, too much text, very little fighting, too short. paper mario 2 is my favorite game, this is not half as much fun.
  8. MaryaP.
    Jun 16, 2007
    4
    It's cute, don't get me wrong, but this game seems as though it's best suited for kids aged 5-7 who really like to read. I was reading for about 45 min. before seeing actual game play, which is pretty easy. It's a great game if you're buying for kids, the characters are cute and pretty witty, but I wouldn't recommend it for grown ups. I guess nothing can It's cute, don't get me wrong, but this game seems as though it's best suited for kids aged 5-7 who really like to read. I was reading for about 45 min. before seeing actual game play, which is pretty easy. It's a great game if you're buying for kids, the characters are cute and pretty witty, but I wouldn't recommend it for grown ups. I guess nothing can really compare to those old Mario games from back in the day. Collapse
  9. NeilB.
    Jun 16, 2007
    3
    Super Paper Mario is a terribly boring game. The gameplay, when you get to it, is reasonable enough, but there's always some idiotic conversation you have to scroll through (hint: 1+2 fast forwards each dialog; there seems to be no "shut the heck up" option for the game overall). Level design is ok, but nothing nearly as well thought out as New Super Mario Bros (DS). Pass on this Super Paper Mario is a terribly boring game. The gameplay, when you get to it, is reasonable enough, but there's always some idiotic conversation you have to scroll through (hint: 1+2 fast forwards each dialog; there seems to be no "shut the heck up" option for the game overall). Level design is ok, but nothing nearly as well thought out as New Super Mario Bros (DS). Pass on this one. Play Wii sports instead. Expand
  10. FredC.
    Jun 26, 2007
    3
    This game should only be for fans of Paper Mario : The Thousand Year Door, or rather BORE. This is a dull game in a RPG style that eschews strategy and gameplay for story. No talent required to play.
  11. DonnaF.
    Jun 29, 2007
    1
    I am in my fifties and bought this for the exercise fun of the wii. If this is fun then we grown a generation of people with retarded development. Unbelievably boring, too many words. Big waste of money for the boomers who are looking to use their wiis and have a bit of sport. Smooth moves and wii sports are better. The 45 minute opening intro is absurd. Trash material. If I wanted to I am in my fifties and bought this for the exercise fun of the wii. If this is fun then we grown a generation of people with retarded development. Unbelievably boring, too many words. Big waste of money for the boomers who are looking to use their wiis and have a bit of sport. Smooth moves and wii sports are better. The 45 minute opening intro is absurd. Trash material. If I wanted to read I would have curled up with a book. Expand
  12. Aug 28, 2010
    2
    this game was horrible!!! it was just down right easy the 3D was the only thing cool about this game otherwise it was just plain easy and you would not want to play it again
  13. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    The game is funny, charming, consistently inventive, but the hybrid of sidescrolling platforming action on traditional RPG gameplay, in the end, feels horrible. This game goes against everything I was taught as a gamer. It takes away my beloved dash button.

    http://anti-gaming.tumblr.com/post/1306447517/paper-thin
  14. Oct 1, 2013
    0
    truly Nintendo has given up on the gaming industry. a game like paper mario should be ripped up and thrown in the trash. the 2d is okay I guess, but when you switch it to 3d you think something awesome is going to happen but nothing does. plus you slowly lose life in 3d. the worst and most overated game on the wii. no bowser are you fricken kidding me. i say rip paper mario up and throwtruly Nintendo has given up on the gaming industry. a game like paper mario should be ripped up and thrown in the trash. the 2d is okay I guess, but when you switch it to 3d you think something awesome is going to happen but nothing does. plus you slowly lose life in 3d. the worst and most overated game on the wii. no bowser are you fricken kidding me. i say rip paper mario up and throw him in the trash Kirby epic yarn Expand
  15. Aug 17, 2013
    3
    A very disappointing title to say the least. The ideas are really cool and fresh originally, but the game suffers far too much from mindless backtracking. There are many stages where you simply must wander the area finding the right door or switch to progress through the game. Even speedrunning on a second playthrough, where all of the backtracking is known does nothing to help the game'sA very disappointing title to say the least. The ideas are really cool and fresh originally, but the game suffers far too much from mindless backtracking. There are many stages where you simply must wander the area finding the right door or switch to progress through the game. Even speedrunning on a second playthrough, where all of the backtracking is known does nothing to help the game's abysmal pacing. Paper Mario the Thousand Year Door had many poor backtracking segments as well, but those were somewhat avoidable. Very cool ideas, and very good implementation are in it's favor but some of the worst level design I have every seen hold back what should have been a very fun and unique platformer. If you're a fan of the Paper Mario series (as I am) I would probably rent it or borrow it from a friend, but it's not worth buying, even used. Expand
  16. Jan 20, 2016
    4
    Thinking about the previous games of the franchise, i personally believe that Super Paper Mario could have been SO much better, if they only kept the battle system from the others, the game is now an puzzle game with some action here and there in the battles, still, it could be good like this, but there are still some things that annoy me, for instance, the fact that if you want to findThinking about the previous games of the franchise, i personally believe that Super Paper Mario could have been SO much better, if they only kept the battle system from the others, the game is now an puzzle game with some action here and there in the battles, still, it could be good like this, but there are still some things that annoy me, for instance, the fact that if you want to find everything in the map, you have to switch between 2D and 3D, and switching is something that takes 1 second, not a huge time, but it is still a long time to wait, that's if you're just checking the area, 1 second to go to 3D and 1 more to switch back to 2D. the game is good, but when i play it, it feels like i'm playing something like a fusion between Super Mario Bros and Paper Mario, it's totally not enjoyable for people that expected another game with similar mechanics to Paper Mario from gamecube and Nintendo64 Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    It feels and looks polished, considerate, and expensive. [Apr 2007, p.40]
  2. Anyone with half a heart will absolutely fall in love with the characters, the graphics, the dialogue, the old-school shout-outs to previous games, the little visual effects lingering in the skies of every world... the love just keeps plopping out of the speakers at an incredible rate. For every annoying, excessively long fetch quest or mundane puzzle, there's a huge, cutesy payoff that makes all the trouble worthwhile.
  3. 89
    It controls tightly and uses the Wii remote in a smart manner without stepping into forced territory. The new 2D-to-3D dynamic is built around clever and surprisingly complex puzzles that will challenge and impress you. And it all comes together to make Super Paper Mario a highly enjoyable title, whether you want to call it a platformer, an RPG, or something in-between.