User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 336 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 336

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KurtizW.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    Simple smooth clean colorful graphic with original 2D -> 3D concept...I love the slight RPG and puzzle solving element of the game...by far my fav Wii game for now!
  2. AndrewL.
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    I knew when buying it it wasnt the gamecube/n64 style it used to be and i was still disappointed. fingers are still crossed for a new turn based paper mario on the wii, however the gameplay is surprisingly fun, its a shame its so short though! paper mario games are usually so long, for such a visually simple game it should definitely have been expanded, a LOT. i often wish i never traded I knew when buying it it wasnt the gamecube/n64 style it used to be and i was still disappointed. fingers are still crossed for a new turn based paper mario on the wii, however the gameplay is surprisingly fun, its a shame its so short though! paper mario games are usually so long, for such a visually simple game it should definitely have been expanded, a LOT. i often wish i never traded it back but unfortunately immediately after beating it i felt like id never touch it again. after all there is a LOT of story based on mystery to plow through, once you already know the big secret (which was obvious within the 2nd or 3rd chapter) its just a lot of boring chatter to skip through. still, the game is a nice one to keep, i sure wish it was still in my collection, just for funsies. Expand
  3. AaronC.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    Stunning. I had to keep playing to find out what happens, not like FF7 where you didn't enjoy playing to find out, but you will be enjoying SPM.
  4. FojakV
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    Great game, innovative, engaging. The strory in the beginning is a bit slow. Decent graphics, good scheme control and continues the quality of any other Mario related games. Play it now !!
  5. JamalJ.
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    It rocks. Best game out for the Wii right now no question.
  6. May 25, 2011
    9
    It's really too bad this game gets overlooked, because this game is among the best titles you'll get for Wii. Sure, it lacks the traditional Paper Mario RPG elements, but the unique press-a-button-to-turn-2D-into-3D gameplay is innovative and great. Knock-your-socks-off dialogue is great.
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I feel we will never come across a game in general like super paper mario. going into some rooms thinking.... what? am i supposed to wait, but than realizing you have to flip into 3-D. and the final boss*spoiler alert* how dimentio just tries to kill count bleck is just awesome*spoilers end here*and i don't know which this game is.. more colorful or more dark? oh well but all in all, a great game. Expand
  8. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    There are games like Super Paper Mario that are terribly misjudged, just because the game is a Action RPG-Platformer means that the game is going to have bad quality, in fact, the game is one of the best Wii games and RPG of this gen.

    Let's start off with the gameplay, the factor that drew people away from the game, it is pretty good, despite not being the turn-based combat we all know
    There are games like Super Paper Mario that are terribly misjudged, just because the game is a Action RPG-Platformer means that the game is going to have bad quality, in fact, the game is one of the best Wii games and RPG of this gen.

    Let's start off with the gameplay, the factor that drew people away from the game, it is pretty good, despite not being the turn-based combat we all know and love, the platforming brings a breath of fresh air to the Paper Mario franchise, it may not be as good as the normal combat, but it is very fun and somewhat addictive, and the menu interface is overall pretty accesible and easy to use, the gameplay is overall good and fresh.

    The presentation, menus are slick and the humor is again there just better than ever, the dialogue is pretty funny, combined with the great story that includes plot twists, emotional moments and GREAT villains, the presentation is of high standards.

    The graphics, something i always liked about the Paper Mario franchise was the charming visual style it had, it's still there, the paper characters and very nice backgrounds in 2-D mode, in 3-D mode it still looks pretty nice just not as good as the 2-D mode because the backgrounds in 3-D mode are somewhat empty, overall the graphics are good.

    The music, simply fantastic, this game has some of the most underrated soundtracks of any game, and the soundtrack is absolutlely FANTASTIC, the songs fit every situation, level or bosss battle perfectly, this is honestly one of the best soundtracks i´ve heard from any video game, as such, it's a fantastic soundtrack as i mentioned twice before.

    The replay value is decent, there's some sidequests here and there and some above-average after game content to keep you playing some extra hours of this game, so you should not quit the game inmediately.

    Overall Super Paper Mario is a greatly underrated title, and you should give the game a try, trust me, stop whining about the gameplay and play the game for what it is, a fresh Paper Mario with nostalgic 2-D sidescrolling elements, overall my score for the game is: 9.2
    Expand
  9. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    This is one of, if not the best Mario games out there. It combines 2D platforming and RPG elements well. Its dialogue is quite long but can be very funny and very well written. There is tons of collectibles, unique and interesting enemies and fun boss fights. A must-have for any Mario fan.
  10. Mar 20, 2015
    8
    This game is great. A good start for the Paper Mario Series if ya missed out on the N64 Version. The graphics are okay. The "3D" walking thing is good. The story is awesome. The characters and design were awesome. Super Paper Mario is a VERY great game but I have not played it in AGES.
  11. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Here's my take on this game: The gameplay is fairly simple, but can get REALLY fun. I admit, it is a somewhat easy game, but that's not what compels you to keep playing. That's the story's job. This game has one of the most compelling stories I've ever seen in a video game, let alone a Mario game. It'll occasionally throw a curveball at you, be it a plot twist, character revelation, etc.Here's my take on this game: The gameplay is fairly simple, but can get REALLY fun. I admit, it is a somewhat easy game, but that's not what compels you to keep playing. That's the story's job. This game has one of the most compelling stories I've ever seen in a video game, let alone a Mario game. It'll occasionally throw a curveball at you, be it a plot twist, character revelation, etc. Despite being a Mario game, it can get surprisingly dark, especially in worlds 2, 5, and 6. Combined with beautiful artwork, good level design, and multiple ways of playing, this is a game that is an experience you won't want to miss. Unless you're, I don't know, a prick who hates creativity and a good story? Expand
  12. ToddS.
    Nov 4, 2008
    6
    Changing from 2D to 3D to solve puzzles is fun. I like the platforming element to this game. But all in all, there isn't enough RPG elements to it, and it has little to no replay value.
  13. Joe
    May 20, 2007
    5
    I feel exactly how Steve E. feels toward this game. There are some really boring parts in this game. Running in the wheel for 6 minutes was horrible, typing please 8 times to get a clue was annoying, then having the clue be a 30 step process that needs to be written down.........Also the ninja level..... I am currently on the 8th world and cant wait to beat it so i can sell it on ebay. I feel exactly how Steve E. feels toward this game. There are some really boring parts in this game. Running in the wheel for 6 minutes was horrible, typing please 8 times to get a clue was annoying, then having the clue be a 30 step process that needs to be written down.........Also the ninja level..... I am currently on the 8th world and cant wait to beat it so i can sell it on ebay. Painfully boring at parts and the game is too easy, big letdown and over hyped IMO After you beat it once why would you want to play this again?????? Super Mario RPG is 1000x better. Expand
  14. TotalJ.
    Oct 30, 2007
    6
    I gave this a shot because it's a Mario game and because the graphics and art style are appealing. The game itself is a tedious journey. I admit I didn't finish the game, probably didn't even get halfway. 2d and 3d? Big deal. This game has very little action or strategy. Rent it and see, but don't buy blind or you'll probably regret it.
  15. RobB
    Apr 6, 2009
    4
    Very blah. At first very charming but gets old very fast. It seemed fun to have the option to play as Peach, Luigi, and even Bowser but this is more or less a lie. Since ALL areas demand to be traversed both in 2D and 3D you
  16. GlenC.
    Jul 24, 2007
    6
    This game was a pain to get through. The gameplay was boring and frustrating for me, but admittedly I don't like rpg elements of most games. Some of the dialogue was pretty good (a lot of dialogue), and the visuals were very pretty. I can't complain about the control scheme except that I didn't see any of the style controls mentioned anywhere until after I beat the game. This game was a pain to get through. The gameplay was boring and frustrating for me, but admittedly I don't like rpg elements of most games. Some of the dialogue was pretty good (a lot of dialogue), and the visuals were very pretty. I can't complain about the control scheme except that I didn't see any of the style controls mentioned anywhere until after I beat the game. Probably my fault. I just didn't like this game all that much. It dragged on. Expand
  17. DonnaF.
    Jul 29, 2007
    1
    I am in my fifties and bought this for the exercise fun of the wii. If this is fun then we grown a generation of people with retarded development. Unbelievably boring, too many words. Big waste of money for the boomers who are looking to use their wiis and have a bit of sport. Smooth moves and wii sports are better. The 45 minute opening intro is absurd. Trash material. If I wanted to I am in my fifties and bought this for the exercise fun of the wii. If this is fun then we grown a generation of people with retarded development. Unbelievably boring, too many words. Big waste of money for the boomers who are looking to use their wiis and have a bit of sport. Smooth moves and wii sports are better. The 45 minute opening intro is absurd. Trash material. If I wanted to read I would have curled up with a book. Expand
  18. MartyM.
    Sep 15, 2007
    3
    I really wanted to like this game but what a let down. The artwork looks like it has been done by a 3 year old. I know its 'Paper' mario but its not as if it even looks like paper - it just looks rubbish. The story is dull and pointless with endless text to wade through. The 2D sidescrolling element of the game is its best feature although even this was done better on the SNES - I really wanted to like this game but what a let down. The artwork looks like it has been done by a 3 year old. I know its 'Paper' mario but its not as if it even looks like paper - it just looks rubbish. The story is dull and pointless with endless text to wade through. The 2D sidescrolling element of the game is its best feature although even this was done better on the SNES - so many of the 'classic' character functions are missing (ground pounds, flowers that allow mario to throw fireballs etc). The flip into 3D is again a let down as the 3D looks so poor and the novelty of it wears very quickly. Despite its claims, the flipping between 2D and 3D does little to enhance the game as its always the same everytime you get a bit stuck; "Damn Im stuck, Ill flip it into 3D.....oh there we go." I really was looking forward to this game but find it amazing anyone can give it anymore than a 5/10. Expand
  19. superwesman
    May 4, 2008
    1
    I found this game to be exceptionally tedious. I bought it because it was in the top 10 here at metacritic and was completely disappointed. Other games like metroid prime and mario galaxy are quite good and worthy of the high ranks. I don't see how this slipped through the cracks. The dialogue is mind numbing and there is a lot to be desired in terms of game play. Maybe little kids I found this game to be exceptionally tedious. I bought it because it was in the top 10 here at metacritic and was completely disappointed. Other games like metroid prime and mario galaxy are quite good and worthy of the high ranks. I don't see how this slipped through the cracks. The dialogue is mind numbing and there is a lot to be desired in terms of game play. Maybe little kids would enjoy it. Expand
  20. ForrestJ.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    This game is the best game ever. I love how it's rpg but you don't have to take turns attacking and defending, you can attack and avoid way easier than other and it's hilarious and will keep bordome away. One said you could beat it in a weekend, well I think he's a video game addict and got very little extra's cause it's a long funny and game that I think is This game is the best game ever. I love how it's rpg but you don't have to take turns attacking and defending, you can attack and avoid way easier than other and it's hilarious and will keep bordome away. One said you could beat it in a weekend, well I think he's a video game addict and got very little extra's cause it's a long funny and game that I think is the best game ever. Expand
  21. NospamNoSpam
    Apr 13, 2007
    3
    Elementary game play. Same tired familiar game play, same tired familiar characters, same tired familiar story. Mediocre graphics. A total bore.
  22. JoeL.
    Apr 17, 2007
    2
    Too easy, too much text, very little fighting, too short. paper mario 2 is my favorite game, this is not half as much fun.
  23. MaryaP.
    Jun 16, 2007
    4
    It's cute, don't get me wrong, but this game seems as though it's best suited for kids aged 5-7 who really like to read. I was reading for about 45 min. before seeing actual game play, which is pretty easy. It's a great game if you're buying for kids, the characters are cute and pretty witty, but I wouldn't recommend it for grown ups. I guess nothing can It's cute, don't get me wrong, but this game seems as though it's best suited for kids aged 5-7 who really like to read. I was reading for about 45 min. before seeing actual game play, which is pretty easy. It's a great game if you're buying for kids, the characters are cute and pretty witty, but I wouldn't recommend it for grown ups. I guess nothing can really compare to those old Mario games from back in the day. Expand
  24. NeilB.
    Jun 16, 2007
    3
    Super Paper Mario is a terribly boring game. The gameplay, when you get to it, is reasonable enough, but there's always some idiotic conversation you have to scroll through (hint: 1+2 fast forwards each dialog; there seems to be no "shut the heck up" option for the game overall). Level design is ok, but nothing nearly as well thought out as New Super Mario Bros (DS). Pass on this Super Paper Mario is a terribly boring game. The gameplay, when you get to it, is reasonable enough, but there's always some idiotic conversation you have to scroll through (hint: 1+2 fast forwards each dialog; there seems to be no "shut the heck up" option for the game overall). Level design is ok, but nothing nearly as well thought out as New Super Mario Bros (DS). Pass on this one. Play Wii sports instead. Expand
  25. FredC.
    Jun 26, 2007
    3
    This game should only be for fans of Paper Mario : The Thousand Year Door, or rather BORE. This is a dull game in a RPG style that eschews strategy and gameplay for story. No talent required to play.
  26. DonnaF.
    Jun 29, 2007
    1
    I am in my fifties and bought this for the exercise fun of the wii. If this is fun then we grown a generation of people with retarded development. Unbelievably boring, too many words. Big waste of money for the boomers who are looking to use their wiis and have a bit of sport. Smooth moves and wii sports are better. The 45 minute opening intro is absurd. Trash material. If I wanted to I am in my fifties and bought this for the exercise fun of the wii. If this is fun then we grown a generation of people with retarded development. Unbelievably boring, too many words. Big waste of money for the boomers who are looking to use their wiis and have a bit of sport. Smooth moves and wii sports are better. The 45 minute opening intro is absurd. Trash material. If I wanted to read I would have curled up with a book. Expand
  27. Aug 28, 2010
    2
    this game was horrible!!! it was just down right easy the 3D was the only thing cool about this game otherwise it was just plain easy and you would not want to play it again
  28. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Hard game, good game like all Mario's games! A lot of time of play. Fantastic graphic!
    Hard game, good game like all Mario's games! A lot of time of play. Fantastic graphic! !
  29. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    The game is funny, charming, consistently inventive, but the hybrid of sidescrolling platforming action on traditional RPG gameplay, in the end, feels horrible. This game goes against everything I was taught as a gamer. It takes away my beloved dash button.

    http://anti-gaming.tumblr.com/post/1306447517/paper-thin
  30. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Another game I have yet to play, but I have seen the trailer and it does look fun. Better than the first 2 But of course I can't say until I've played it and know what it's truly like. But from reviews it seems fun.
  31. Jul 18, 2012
    7
    This was a fun and unique take on the Mario game concept. While I enjoyed playing it, the game's linear RPG storyline makes it unlikely you would want to play it more than once. The story is strange and funny (or at least tries to be), and the fact that you can switch from 1D to 3D added a cool dynamic to the gameplay. Over all, though, the pace was slow and the storyline was too goofy toThis was a fun and unique take on the Mario game concept. While I enjoyed playing it, the game's linear RPG storyline makes it unlikely you would want to play it more than once. The story is strange and funny (or at least tries to be), and the fact that you can switch from 1D to 3D added a cool dynamic to the gameplay. Over all, though, the pace was slow and the storyline was too goofy to really get me excited about playing. This would probably be very fun for its target audience, but older gamers might find it a bit simplistic and watered down. Expand
  32. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    This game certainly stands out in the Paper Mario series and even in the entire collection of available Wii games. If you liked the original and/or TTYD for it's RPG elements, this may or may not be a better game for you. Seeing as they changed most of the RPG elements (mostly the fighting style). Although, there is still a progressive story just like the first two. The biggest change,This game certainly stands out in the Paper Mario series and even in the entire collection of available Wii games. If you liked the original and/or TTYD for it's RPG elements, this may or may not be a better game for you. Seeing as they changed most of the RPG elements (mostly the fighting style). Although, there is still a progressive story just like the first two. The biggest change, like I already mentioned, is the battle system. Unlike the first two Paper Mario games, this one has no "getting into battle, choosing weapons" stuff. Basically, like most other Mario games, there is a simple way of defeating enemies. By stomping on them. Although, the game adds new features such as switching from a 2-D perspective to a 3-D perspective, which I found very unique. Pretty good graphics and pretty smooth gameplay included. In the end, the game might not be the best Paper Mario game in my opinion, but it certainly is worth a try, even if you are uncomfortable with the lack of RPG elements, because you might like it. I give it a 9/10. Expand
  33. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    Super Paper Mario is a wildly original and innovative addition to the paper mario library. The gameplay is kept fresh by changing the style of play entirely. Instead of a turn based battle system, mario now traverses 2d environments with the ability to flip into 3d to solve puzzles and find new areas, and the battles are now real time. The story has once again been improved. This gameSuper Paper Mario is a wildly original and innovative addition to the paper mario library. The gameplay is kept fresh by changing the style of play entirely. Instead of a turn based battle system, mario now traverses 2d environments with the ability to flip into 3d to solve puzzles and find new areas, and the battles are now real time. The story has once again been improved. This game features one of the darkest and best stories of any mario game. Other notable additions, without spoiling anything, is the inclusion of playing as characters besides mario. The party members are back, but unfortunately they are given little roles besides puzzle solving and have little personality. Despite all of these changes, this game does not match the greatness of its two prequels. The story is slow at times, the dialogue lengthy, and the gameplay can get repetitive later on. However, although this cannot compare to the near perfection of its two prequels, super paper mario is a great, fresh game that changes up the paper mario formula. Expand
  34. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    I remember when I was a kid that my favorite game on the Gamecube was Paper Mario The Ten Thousand year door and when I heard that there was a new Paper Mario game coming soon I got hyped more then for Super Smash Bros. Brawl. I couldn't wait but little did I know I was waiting for a huge kick in the balls. The game was basically New Super Mario Bros. RPG (infact I would have preferredI remember when I was a kid that my favorite game on the Gamecube was Paper Mario The Ten Thousand year door and when I heard that there was a new Paper Mario game coming soon I got hyped more then for Super Smash Bros. Brawl. I couldn't wait but little did I know I was waiting for a huge kick in the balls. The game was basically New Super Mario Bros. RPG (infact I would have preferred that title much more). With a boring storyline (that I can't imagine any kids understanding), graphics that are an insult to the Wii, terrible partners (I prefer one done well then 9 with no soul), Navi/Tippi, bad boss fights (excluding the first one), a main villain with no incentive (other then just take over the world), and some of the worst levels I've ever seen. Expand
  35. Oct 1, 2013
    0
    truly Nintendo has given up on the gaming industry. a game like paper mario should be ripped up and thrown in the trash. the 2d is okay I guess, but when you switch it to 3d you think something awesome is going to happen but nothing does. plus you slowly lose life in 3d. the worst and most overated game on the wii. no bowser are you fricken kidding me. i say rip paper mario up and throwtruly Nintendo has given up on the gaming industry. a game like paper mario should be ripped up and thrown in the trash. the 2d is okay I guess, but when you switch it to 3d you think something awesome is going to happen but nothing does. plus you slowly lose life in 3d. the worst and most overated game on the wii. no bowser are you fricken kidding me. i say rip paper mario up and throw him in the trash Kirby epic yarn Expand
  36. BlockHR
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    Once you get past the cutesiness and skip some of the admittedly stupid story scenes (although there are random LOLs in there) the gameplay is cracking, the effects are fresh and it makes perfect use of the wiimote (i.e. doesn't force it on you, just accentuates gameplay). great if you are going to explode before galaxy comes out. if you liked paper mario AT ALL this is by far the Once you get past the cutesiness and skip some of the admittedly stupid story scenes (although there are random LOLs in there) the gameplay is cracking, the effects are fresh and it makes perfect use of the wiimote (i.e. doesn't force it on you, just accentuates gameplay). great if you are going to explode before galaxy comes out. if you liked paper mario AT ALL this is by far the best wii game to come out yet Expand
  37. SamJ.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    This game just has great gameplay. Two thumbs up!
  38. SteveE.
    Apr 22, 2007
    6
    My wife loves this game, but me, not so much. I love, absolutely love, the old 2D Mario games. But this game is slow-paced and unexciting. There's a painful amount of lengthy dialog and backtracking. Two examples: having to run in a hamster wheel for 6 minutes or walk in a totally blank (white) level in one direction for 4 minutes. It's pointless, and you can't skip it. The My wife loves this game, but me, not so much. I love, absolutely love, the old 2D Mario games. But this game is slow-paced and unexciting. There's a painful amount of lengthy dialog and backtracking. Two examples: having to run in a hamster wheel for 6 minutes or walk in a totally blank (white) level in one direction for 4 minutes. It's pointless, and you can't skip it. The gameplay is fun when it's there, even though it mostly amounts to looking for keys to locked doors. I miss being able to hit a "run" button like all of the earlier Marios. Mario only moves at "walk" pace. He can't pick up shells now without the help of a Pixl, either. Where's the fun in that? This is the worst Mario game I've ever played, but it's still a Mario game. It's fun at times, just not constantly fun like earlier games. Expand
  39. DavidD.
    Jun 10, 2007
    7
    A very neat game. It still has the humour from te previous Paper Mario's, but it lacks the RPG element. The flipping between 2-D and 3-D is fun for a while, but it wears of fairly quick. If you are a fan of the series, it is worth a play through. The game is pretty straight forward and pretty easy. Rent it first too see if you like it or wait till it drops in price.
  40. GregK.
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    Another Nintendo classic. An interesting blend of platforming and rpg. I have to disagree with some of the others, the level design is excellent. Switching between 2d and 3d is a brilliant innovation. I just wish you could do it with more than just Mario. All in all a must have for wii owners and Mario fans alike.
  41. AnonymousMC
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    A brilliant game which, like the others in the series, I aim to beat multiple times. So far, its a a hard choice between this and Twilight Princess for the best game on the Wii so far. This game rocks! From its poor, yet, somehow, hilarious puns, to stunning art nouveau visuals ( Look at the trees ^^), joined with innovative yet simple gameplay design! I love it!
  42. Ian
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    A great game. It plays like the super mario bros of old but has rpg elements like the older paper mario games. its really enjoyable. and I actually like the dialogue which is really funny (although it did stretch on). the problem is that the game, although fun, is far too easy for hardcore gamers to last more then a weak and a half and the game was originally for the gamecube, so it A great game. It plays like the super mario bros of old but has rpg elements like the older paper mario games. its really enjoyable. and I actually like the dialogue which is really funny (although it did stretch on). the problem is that the game, although fun, is far too easy for hardcore gamers to last more then a weak and a half and the game was originally for the gamecube, so it didn't really fully take advantage of the wii's motion features. Expand
  43. SimonG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    6
    Here I am, commenting the fourth best game on the Wii according to all the critics. First, I think Super Mario Bros is by far the best 2D platformer series ever, period. Second, I don
  44. JulianA.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. I love the way you can switch between 2-D and 3-D. I also love the creepiness of the Void, and the switch blocks. It has so many cool features and levels, I love it!
  45. WayneKerr
    Apr 10, 2009
    9
    i like all mario games
    this one had way too much dialogue but everything else is fun. the ending was annoying but apparently you can get tippi back by collecting all the catch cards. then you get a pixl who takes you to where tippi and count bleck are. Im trying it now :)
  46. JoshC.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    I picked this up cheap (£20) because it was on offer. I would happily have paid almost double that. The gameplay, graphics, story (what i've seen of it) and concept are all superb. And above all else, this a game that is just so gleeful in what it does it's impossible not to love it, I waited to pick it up because i was unsure of what to expect, I shouldn't have and I picked this up cheap (£20) because it was on offer. I would happily have paid almost double that. The gameplay, graphics, story (what i've seen of it) and concept are all superb. And above all else, this a game that is just so gleeful in what it does it's impossible not to love it, I waited to pick it up because i was unsure of what to expect, I shouldn't have and neither should anyone else. Expand
  47. TomP.
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Really fun game. One of the best on the Wii. If you love the gameplay of the older mario games, you should check this one out.
  48. MikeK.
    Apr 17, 2007
    8
    Great old school gameplay. Tons of unskippable text and repetitive fetch quests keep it from being perfect.
  49. KevinC.
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Great game. In my oppinion, out of all of the Wii games so far, it is only bested by Zelda (and maybe Wii Sports, but that's a different genre all-together). It is fun and addicting. My only comlaint is that at times the dialogue gets a little long-winded.
  50. A.D.Olson
    Apr 20, 2007
    7
    A very, very basic game, with a boring storyline that's overdone. The platforming is not challenging in any way, shape, or form, and the only RPG elements that were left in were the annoying ones such as stupid run here, run there, talk to someone, and read more than you read through all of high school. The flipping to 3D is more annoying than anything else, and the presentation A very, very basic game, with a boring storyline that's overdone. The platforming is not challenging in any way, shape, or form, and the only RPG elements that were left in were the annoying ones such as stupid run here, run there, talk to someone, and read more than you read through all of high school. The flipping to 3D is more annoying than anything else, and the presentation loses a lot of polish when you're using component cables, in comparison to the 2D look and feel. All is not lost, however, as there are a few throwbacks to classic games and other Nintendo fanboyish things, and for that I gave it a few bonus points. I hope that there is a RUN ability in the next Mario game that Nintendo bothers to push out to us (or better yet, make a new IP rather than continually re-using Mario). Expand
  51. KDep
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Why are you reading this? You're wasting valuable SPM playing time... Seriously it's that good. I can't recommend this game enough, especially coming from an old NES fan. There's a lot of nostalgia in this game for the older gamers and lots of new and fun stuff as well. Music is great, learning curve is excellent and the game is funny and exciting. Go and get it - NOW!
  52. TroyB.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    This is the best Paper Mario game yet, and a very unique game incorporating so many different elements from very different but equally classic genres, making it an instant classic in my opinion. Easily the sleeper hit of the season!
  53. AshleyA.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    Excellent and so much mario and friends fun, the pixls are awesome too! best wii game i have played yet..
  54. JoeB.
    May 6, 2007
    9
    this is a fun and exciting game. there is alot of talking at some parts but still a nessesity for your wii
  55. AndrewG.
    May 9, 2007
    7
    SPM's presentation is beautiful and nostalgic, but the gameplay is pretty boring. There are maybe 3 parts of the game (other than the pits of 100 trials) where the platforming is interesting. The 2D/3D mechanic is an extremely cool idea, but was not implemented particularly well. It becomes tedious because you have to constantly switch to 3D in order to make sure that you aren't SPM's presentation is beautiful and nostalgic, but the gameplay is pretty boring. There are maybe 3 parts of the game (other than the pits of 100 trials) where the platforming is interesting. The 2D/3D mechanic is an extremely cool idea, but was not implemented particularly well. It becomes tedious because you have to constantly switch to 3D in order to make sure that you aren't missing any secrets. In addition, while the writing is very funny, and some of the story elements of the chapters are well developed, it is really tiresome to be constantly reading. The worst part, in fact, is the beginning of the game because it takes way too long for the action to start. To top it off, the game is incredibly easy - the bosses, in particular, are complete jokes. If it weren't for the pits of 100 trials, the cool art style, and the (mostly gimmicky, but still interesting) 2D/3D mechanic, I would not recommend SPM. As it is though, I definitely recommend buying the game, even though it sadly failed to meet my expectations. Expand
  56. Lolrandomname
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    Awesome game! Yes, it's a bit slow in parts, but most of it was fun. And there is admittedly maybe a BIT too much text, but most of it is funny. Simply an awesome game, with a nice mix of rpg and platforming elements. Btw, to the people scoring this low: "I like going online and complaining about games I haven't played."
  57. NathanB.
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    This first world is a little boring, and there is too much talking throughout- but overall it is a breath of life into a world platform games that continue to use the same formulas. With game play that lasts nearly 30 hours, and tons of side projects- you won't be disappointed.
  58. ScottH.
    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    Gameplay is solid but switching between characters is interuptive.
  59. JesseS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Not perfect, but a lot of fun. Great level design. Occasionally a bit wordy. And, yeah, there are a few parts that seem needlessly repetitive (Hamster wheel and "please" task, I'm looking at you). But, overall, we've had a blast playing it.
  60. KenA.
    Jul 17, 2007
    8
    The game is fun for the right player, just like any other game out there. For those that are complaining about it, you likely didn't research the game before buying it. That's your fault, not NIntendos.
  61. CameronS.
    Jul 20, 2007
    7
    A great addition to the Mario series, but the childish jokes and EXTREMELY long and boring cutscenes make it a game that nobody over 10 would enjoy thouroughly.
  62. ZackeryM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    This game has an exelent plot and it's fun, Ive beat it 7 times.
  63. DanW.
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    This is easily one of the best offerings for the Wii. The art is amazing, the story will keep you interested, and the gameplay is addictive and completely original. I will admit that a few of the stages are tedious and you should certainly be allowed to skip dialogue if you wish, but most of the stages are excellently designed and the dialogue is hilarious so you should only really wish This is easily one of the best offerings for the Wii. The art is amazing, the story will keep you interested, and the gameplay is addictive and completely original. I will admit that a few of the stages are tedious and you should certainly be allowed to skip dialogue if you wish, but most of the stages are excellently designed and the dialogue is hilarious so you should only really wish to skip it if you are replaying a section of the game. The RPG elements are toned down from previous entries in the series especially compared to Super Mario RPG from which the idea for the series originated. Most people will not complain about this due to the fact that RPGs are more of a niche genre, but it will be somewhat dissapointing to those fans who have followed the series from the beginning. Collapse
  64. Bowie
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Sheer, sheer brilliance! What a worthy way to while away a whole week! I couldn't decide between 9 and 10, but since fellow reviewer Marty M. (3/10) hasn't ACTUALLY played the game (his description shows he didn't even make it to the third Pure Heart -- there IS ground-pounding in this game!), I thought I'd balance his inaccurate grading by giving Super Paper Mario a Sheer, sheer brilliance! What a worthy way to while away a whole week! I couldn't decide between 9 and 10, but since fellow reviewer Marty M. (3/10) hasn't ACTUALLY played the game (his description shows he didn't even make it to the third Pure Heart -- there IS ground-pounding in this game!), I thought I'd balance his inaccurate grading by giving Super Paper Mario a full 10. It deserves it through and through, though. Thoroughly engrossing adventure. Expand
  65. VechaK.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Really loved this game. those who complain about it having 'too many' rpg elements...why are you playing this game? Stick to the traditional mario for you 'fast paced' action while those of us who enjoy at least a little story in our game enjoy the game for what it is...Mario with RPG elements. Even My girlfriend who doesn't like rpgs enjoyed this game. So Really loved this game. those who complain about it having 'too many' rpg elements...why are you playing this game? Stick to the traditional mario for you 'fast paced' action while those of us who enjoy at least a little story in our game enjoy the game for what it is...Mario with RPG elements. Even My girlfriend who doesn't like rpgs enjoyed this game. So don't see the problem with those who think the rpg elements found in this game are so horrible. 10 for rpg/mario fans 5 for Traditional Mario fans. Expand
  66. RyanO.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Great game, good retro feel. Tricky puzzles to figure out. an My 9 year old loves it Was never that big fan of mario but this has changed it around Flippin fantastic.
  67. SkyeL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    The game is simply amazing there is nothing about I don't like. I love the story line and how you can flip from 2-D to 3-D and how you can play peach and bowser and so much more. Nintendo I give you a whole ten this is your best game ever.
  68. JoshS.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Great game. The story was pretty good and the gameplay was unique(if it wasn't, then it was to me). The only problem was that some places were too simple and the bosses were easy if you had the right item. It WASN'T as good as Paper Mario 2.
  69. ScottM.
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    Alright, lets face it, Super Paper Mario is a great game. But the thing about it is that it doesn't have the RPG battling style like the two previous Paper Mario games did. But it really wasn't all that bad. Like the previous Paper Mario games, you can complete it in less than 24 hours. The story is Fantastic. Especially the chemistry between Timpani and Blumiere. And the fact Alright, lets face it, Super Paper Mario is a great game. But the thing about it is that it doesn't have the RPG battling style like the two previous Paper Mario games did. But it really wasn't all that bad. Like the previous Paper Mario games, you can complete it in less than 24 hours. The story is Fantastic. Especially the chemistry between Timpani and Blumiere. And the fact that Count Bleck really wasn't all that evil, it was just his past that made him think that way. And they put enough detail about that by doing something a little less noticable: The fact that Count Bleck never Punished his minions. The worst thing was probably when O'Chunks had to sing that song 1,000 times, but it was Nastasia that issued that punishment, not the Count. As for partners, you have the pixls. At first they're pretty cool, but then you start to miss the original partners like the goombas, koopas, etc. Another problem is when you start to travel to Flopside. Its not that bad, but its like, first you come out of the door on the to of Flipside Tower, then you go down two floors, then you go throught the Mirror Hall, then you get to Flopside. The you go to wherever the Heart Pillar is, then the door opens back where you started, so you have to retrace your steps. I believe that starts in Chapter 5. So for three chapters, you have to do that. So much dialogue, but if your used to the other games in the series, you should be fine. Some of the stuff that they say is actually pretty funny. I decide to rate this an 8. Expand
  70. TitaniumDragon
    Jan 26, 2009
    8
    A solid platformer, calling it an RPG would be strange. It isn't an RPG in any sense. It is a platformer, and a pretty decent one; the 2D-3D flip is pretty cool, and the Pixls add in some neat elements for interacting with levels. The game, while fun, has its flaws. Firstly, it is far too easy. I know the standards for difficulty have dropped, but the game is much too easy and really A solid platformer, calling it an RPG would be strange. It isn't an RPG in any sense. It is a platformer, and a pretty decent one; the 2D-3D flip is pretty cool, and the Pixls add in some neat elements for interacting with levels. The game, while fun, has its flaws. Firstly, it is far too easy. I know the standards for difficulty have dropped, but the game is much too easy and really needed its difficulty cranked up a couple notches, as you really would be hard-pressed to die given the amount of coins and healing items the game rains upon you like manna from heaven. There are other segments where you have to spend good portions of time backtracking, which is always boring. Secondly, there are parts where there is some monotony. World two has a section where you have to run in a hampster wheel for about five minutes to get some money to escape from an area. Any time I go to get some rubber bands to hold down one button on my controller and go do something else, the game has failed. Its really unfun and there's nothing necessary about the sequence; had it taken thirty seconds (or been a cutscene with text) it would have been fine, but it wasn't and it really just felt awful and immersion breaking (not to mention monotonous). Thirdly, the game has some secrets with no real "giveaways". The only way to find some secrets is to jump down every single hole in the entire game (which I'm doing). While you have so many HP it doesn't really matter, its a bit of stupid tedium which could have been easily done away with by using the actual useful Wiimote function (pointing at the screen) reveal that, hey, that hole is a secret! Fourth, the Wiimote felt pretty tacked on. Pointing was a fine mechanic, but shaking the Wiimote was just stupid. The story is pretty funny, which really does help out the game; it wouldn't be this high if the story wasn't as amusing as it is. Overall, a solid game, but marred by some amount of tedium and monotony. Expand
  71. SM
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    The 3rd game in the Paper Mario series is easily the most unique Mario gme there is. This game has enough side stuff to make the game fun. The uniqness of this game is very original witht things such as evil luigi and the fact that mario gets blown up!
  72. Rick
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    So much text (becomes boring), also is not as too fun as previous Super Mario Bros 2 or 3.
  73. BrendanS.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This game is a good brain teaser. It really gets you thinking and with 3D AND 2D, well, you can't get much better than that!
  74. PaulD.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    Unlike the original Paper Mario, for the N64, this is more of a platformer than rpg. That either can be a good thing or not depending on your disposition. Personally, I found the mixture of elements entertaining, even though I crave a real wii rpg experience. The characters and story were funny and kept me interested enough to play till the end credits. Francis the nerdy chameleon is Unlike the original Paper Mario, for the N64, this is more of a platformer than rpg. That either can be a good thing or not depending on your disposition. Personally, I found the mixture of elements entertaining, even though I crave a real wii rpg experience. The characters and story were funny and kept me interested enough to play till the end credits. Francis the nerdy chameleon is unforgettable! The artwork was charming and is a nice departure from the all-polygon formula. The only drawback is that you can beat this game in a weekend, which is too short for the moolah. Expand
  75. SarahK.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    I like this game because you get into all different levels and you can flip in 3-D. You can find Princess Peach. It's really fun.
  76. WallyF.
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    I'm just over ten hours into this game. It is everthing I hoped it would be, and then some. It's funny... the GameDaily review says that the 2D->3D switching makes the game too easy. Quite the opposite. The player is forced to remember where everything is in the level and how that switch will effect various elements. (For example, a shell that, in 2D mode, bounces back and forth I'm just over ten hours into this game. It is everthing I hoped it would be, and then some. It's funny... the GameDaily review says that the 2D->3D switching makes the game too easy. Quite the opposite. The player is forced to remember where everything is in the level and how that switch will effect various elements. (For example, a shell that, in 2D mode, bounces back and forth between two barriers suddenly runs the entire length of the level when you switch to 3D.) The paradigm switches often have a head-trip feel to them. The only thing that keeps this from being a "10" to me is the dialogue. It's hilarious (just wait till you meet Count Bleck!), but there's entirely too much of it. At the beginning of the game, you have to wade through what feels like 20 minutes of cut-scenes just to start playing. And you don't want to quickly skip through any of it, because as I said, it's very endearing dialogue. Expand
  77. KareemA.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I can simply say that this is the best Wii game after The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess. It's a must get title... Buy one...Buy them all...*echoes*
  78. KenH.
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Amazing game! A breath of fresh air to the 2d gaming world. We need more games like this on all consoles.
  79. [Anonymous]
    May 15, 2007
    9
    Best...level...design...EVER! i've never played a mario platformer before {sue me}, so i didn't really have a standard for judgement, but my god, the levels are designed so FREAK'n well it's crazy. The 2d 3d parts can be so brilliant in some parts. The vertical tree level was especially amazing.
  80. AdamO.
    Aug 31, 2007
    9
    It's been a long time since we got a Paper Mario game. Finally, the wait is over. If you're expecting an expansive RPG experience, this game isn't for you. But if you're in the mood for some top-notch platforming, then come along and play this great game. With past Paper Mario games, there was tons of humor and dialogue, and Intelligent Systems delivers. A little too It's been a long time since we got a Paper Mario game. Finally, the wait is over. If you're expecting an expansive RPG experience, this game isn't for you. But if you're in the mood for some top-notch platforming, then come along and play this great game. With past Paper Mario games, there was tons of humor and dialogue, and Intelligent Systems delivers. A little too much dialogue hurts though. That's the biggest problem with this game, but let's get to the positives. The gameplay is reminiscent of classic Mario games, and the ability to play as Bowser, Peach, and Luigi, with the use of "pixls", revolutionizes this classic fun. However, the biggest change is the ability to change from 2-D to 3-D, which is always fun and stays fresh. While the game isn't that hard (none of the past titles were either), you'll likely want to try and get through the Pit of 100 trials, and get catch cards. Replay value and loads of dialogue are the games biggest problems, but otherwise the game is a mind-blowing take on the classic Mario formula, and the game makes you laugh out loud. Easily one the best games on Wii. Expand
  81. NoahC.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This is one of those games that I thought I would hate but I absolutely love Super Paper Mario the only negative is that it has little to no replay value.
  82. Katieg
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    Reaallllly a relief after Paper Mario 2. That was a load of crap. SPM isn't quite as good as the first one, but the way they mapped it all out looks nice. A few of the classic moves are missing from your immediate use, but usually a pixl or switching characters does the same thing. There are a lot of different things, some parts that are a bit tricky [I had to use a walkthrough in, Reaallllly a relief after Paper Mario 2. That was a load of crap. SPM isn't quite as good as the first one, but the way they mapped it all out looks nice. A few of the classic moves are missing from your immediate use, but usually a pixl or switching characters does the same thing. There are a lot of different things, some parts that are a bit tricky [I had to use a walkthrough in, what is it, 8-2? Where you have to move the pipe] But overall it's a very entertaining game. Expand
  83. Chris
    Jun 23, 2008
    8
    Good game and great new concept. I liked the creativity of the 2D to 3D and it was used well, but wasn't near as good as Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door.
  84. MellieH
    Jul 22, 2008
    9
    This is a great game I would recomend it to ages between 6-14 because you have to be able to read and I haven't olayed any of the other Mario Bros. games, but compared to my other wii games this one is one of my favorite.
  85. DanielK.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I have just played the game all the way through and I love it. There is way more depth to it than I thought there would be. Hidden Jokes, Easter Eggs. I have never seen a sequel completely change from the previous games, and even more than that pull it off to where it is even better. Content: 10, Creativity: 10, Visual 10
  86. RoverT.
    Dec 27, 2008
    9
    A very good game. The large amount of strategy and puzzles involved prevent it from being too easy. A great story line that doesn't let you stop without finding out what happens. The only drawbacks are that it doesn't use the Wii's motion senor to it's fullest and the cut away scenes last quite long.
  87. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    The game is not a Mario RPG... it really is something original. The game has lot's of charm, has clever puzzles and is often hilarious. BUT there are parts when I was wondering, "What were the developers thinking?!". Seriously, for every amazing part, such as a castle for dorks, video game hell & an amazing space shoot-out, there is a dumb, bland sequence. Literally, there is a part whereThe game is not a Mario RPG... it really is something original. The game has lot's of charm, has clever puzzles and is often hilarious. BUT there are parts when I was wondering, "What were the developers thinking?!". Seriously, for every amazing part, such as a castle for dorks, video game hell & an amazing space shoot-out, there is a dumb, bland sequence. Literally, there is a part where you run right in a blank white space for 5 minutes... WTF? Good for a rental, but if you want classic platforming, get Kirby, Donkey Kong or New Super Mario Bros Expand
  88. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The Paper Mario series has long been the benchmark of video game creativity. the 2D to 3D puzzles in Super Paper Mario are sometimes pure devious, the music is among the most catchy ever, it plays like a dream, and although it's not at good as it's GameCube cousin, it is easily one of the best Wii games that will ever be made.
  89. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    I have to be honest; the plot is better than Super Mario Galaxy. Although it's quite repetitive and get's a bit boring after a while, that didn't stop me from finishing the game from beginning to end. Even though it's pretty good, that doesn't explain some of the confusion you may have in the game, but it does not really hurt it too much.
  90. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    I Love this game, when it comes the the entire series, i just cannot get enough of it.
    i know the whole Paper mario 64 inside out and now i know this one well as well tho i think it should have stayed turn based it was well seeing mario... well turn super
    this was a good callaboration with new and old
    Nice job "Intelligent Systems"!!!
  91. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    Don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but sometimes it feels like your just running around in circles! Want a good Mario game on Wii? Pick this if you want but if you are looking for the best Mario game on Wii, Galaxy 2 is for you then!
  92. Apr 17, 2011
    8
    I did enjoy the game, quite a lot, but I have played and beaten both the original Paper Mario and Thousand Year Door and I much say they were much better. Better story, combat, depth and replay value. They dropped the really nice action command RPG game-play and replaced it with a fairly oversimplified action game. The 2D - 3D element was fairly cool but became too predictable and didn'tI did enjoy the game, quite a lot, but I have played and beaten both the original Paper Mario and Thousand Year Door and I much say they were much better. Better story, combat, depth and replay value. They dropped the really nice action command RPG game-play and replaced it with a fairly oversimplified action game. The 2D - 3D element was fairly cool but became too predictable and didn't provide much proper challenge, but there were bits that did give me some good entertainment through some clever puzzles and interesting level designs and I have to say that it is a good game, just in hindsight I found myself thinking all the way through - this could've worked better as a continuation to TYD... now I'm not afraid of change, but there were elements of Thousand Year Door that could've been done better that they could have applied to this game. What instead we got was a good game - but really, feels like a missed opportunity to be a great game. Expand
  93. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    The Paper Mario series by Intelligent Systems is a series of games dating back to the N64, Intelligent Systems took the reins of the Mario RPG series after Square made Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars, the games have always had colorful characters, interesting locations and worlds and witty writing. Super Paper Mario takes away the turn base format from previous titles for moreThe Paper Mario series by Intelligent Systems is a series of games dating back to the N64, Intelligent Systems took the reins of the Mario RPG series after Square made Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars, the games have always had colorful characters, interesting locations and worlds and witty writing. Super Paper Mario takes away the turn base format from previous titles for more of a plate former feel and action while still keeping the health and moves. While the new take on the series does feel fresh, the way the abilities and character switching completely wrenches the experience. To have to change from one character who can bomb to one that can hammer just gets annoying after a short time. At times it felt that the game was rushed, and rushed bad. The entire use of the mirror town of Flopside is completely under used and felt like a last second addition. In fact, this game lacks a lot of polish the previous games of the series had. Sure the other ones had a few slow chapters, but this one really gets to you.
    If you can trudge along then you'll enjoy it, if not then you'll be annoyed out of playing this game.
    Expand
  94. Dec 30, 2012
    7
    Meh. The gameplay is bad now, you still level up but there is no turn battle, and instead of partners you get pixels who have like one use. The replay value is even worse and the chapters weren't that good. Get the first two, this is good for about 1 or 2 playthroughs, still fun, but isn't comparable to the originals.
  95. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    Gameplay is very easy, but very varied. 2d/3d worlds are fun and controls very intuitive. There's a great variety of weapons, personalities, mini-games, and game mechanics. There are way more mysteries in the game for any one reasonable person to find in a play-through, and that makes trying new tactics in the game very fun. Dialogue is superior to most Wii games, fwiw - with plenty of witGameplay is very easy, but very varied. 2d/3d worlds are fun and controls very intuitive. There's a great variety of weapons, personalities, mini-games, and game mechanics. There are way more mysteries in the game for any one reasonable person to find in a play-through, and that makes trying new tactics in the game very fun. Dialogue is superior to most Wii games, fwiw - with plenty of wit and unexpected personality. Character depth should have been developed more, but there was enough to empathize with characters. Definitely agree with others on that "Hamster Wheel" section of the game -- and there are quite a few other examples of drawing the game out for no reason other than to frustrate the player and waste his/her time without enjoyment. Puzzles aren't too difficult, but sometimes needed objects are placed in bizarre areas forcing you to go through everything five times for a couple hours, then realize you needed to go further back in a way which doesn't seem to make sense. There's excellent variety to the atmospheres created in the game. Some parts of the game just feel unbalanced -- there are rewards for tediously hunting treasure, finding recipes, and playing mini-games, but they don't make any significant impact on gameplay, while spending an hour in a type of gladiator pit breaks the game, making the character uber-powerful. SPM has the typical Mario problem of pits which give no indication of if they're useful or not supposed to be jumped in -- a very bizarre skinner box technique. Overall, a very fun game, and the only Wii game of over ten which I actually played to the end. Expand
  96. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Super Paper Mario is an outstanding game but not quite up to the standards set by its two predecessors. The game's charming visuals are beautiful and colorful but not nearly as impressive as Paper Mario The Thousand year Door for GameCube, and the game's 3-D sections aren't really all that impressive either. The audio is wonderful, cheesy video game sound effects, and wonderful fittingSuper Paper Mario is an outstanding game but not quite up to the standards set by its two predecessors. The game's charming visuals are beautiful and colorful but not nearly as impressive as Paper Mario The Thousand year Door for GameCube, and the game's 3-D sections aren't really all that impressive either. The audio is wonderful, cheesy video game sound effects, and wonderful fitting music. The game is a good length, but could've been longer, and thankfully has tons of sidequests to perform. The gameplay isn't nearly as good as the other Paper Mario games and actually completely different. Super Paper Mario focuses on platforming rather than RPG, and therefore loses some of the Paper Mario charm. Turn based battles are missed and take away from the game's gameplay. The story is great and will keep you into the game for quite a while. Super Paper Mario may not be as good as the two games that started the franchise, but it is still a must buy. Plus, the box art is simply amazing!

    Pros: Fantastic audio, colorful graphics, engaging story, good length, good level designs
    Cons: No turn based battles, partners aren't fun, 2D to 3D is creative, but falls flat

    Total Score: 9.0
    Expand
  97. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    I was disappointed at the lack of the previous paper mario combat style but the familiar mario 2D style was interesting. compared to previous Mario rpg's the story isn't that great, while good it didn't live up to Paper mario: The thousand year door. overall it's a good game, and a great addition to the wii's library.
  98. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Super Paper Mario features slightly faster and different gameplay than the previous Paper Mario games That is not a bad thing at all. It is not turn based like the others, , and the graphics look great.
  99. May 15, 2012
    7
    +Different playable characters, +Different ways to approach classic Mario combat, +Re-playable levels, +A Mario story where Bowser isn't the antagonist. -Complete removal of the RPG system from the past 2 Paper Mario games, -Using the "Score" as an EXP system is sort of redundant. Although this game is different from the last two, I enjoyed it. Nintendo/IS should have named this game+Different playable characters, +Different ways to approach classic Mario combat, +Re-playable levels, +A Mario story where Bowser isn't the antagonist. -Complete removal of the RPG system from the past 2 Paper Mario games, -Using the "Score" as an EXP system is sort of redundant. Although this game is different from the last two, I enjoyed it. Nintendo/IS should have named this game something else to avoid confusion from avid Mario RPG fans. Expand
  100. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    En su tiempo me encontré lo bastante ansioso y emocionado por esperar y obtener este título, jugándome en contra mi afición por muchas de las series de Nintendo. Al principio, me gustó mucho pero me fuí dando cuenta que es un juego que promete mucho pero que no te llena al final de todo. Si es uno para pasar el rato.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. It feels and looks polished, considerate, and expensive. [Apr 2007, p.40]
  2. Anyone with half a heart will absolutely fall in love with the characters, the graphics, the dialogue, the old-school shout-outs to previous games, the little visual effects lingering in the skies of every world... the love just keeps plopping out of the speakers at an incredible rate. For every annoying, excessively long fetch quest or mundane puzzle, there's a huge, cutesy payoff that makes all the trouble worthwhile.
  3. 89
    It controls tightly and uses the Wii remote in a smart manner without stepping into forced territory. The new 2D-to-3D dynamic is built around clever and surprisingly complex puzzles that will challenge and impress you. And it all comes together to make Super Paper Mario a highly enjoyable title, whether you want to call it a platformer, an RPG, or something in-between.