Super Paper Mario Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The newest chapter of the Paper Mario story isn't just out of this world ... it's out of this dimension. What at first glance appears to be a 2-D sidescroller ripped straight from the pages of the Paper Mario universe soon turns into a 3-D action-adventure that defies all video game logic.The newest chapter of the Paper Mario story isn't just out of this world ... it's out of this dimension. What at first glance appears to be a 2-D sidescroller ripped straight from the pages of the Paper Mario universe soon turns into a 3-D action-adventure that defies all video game logic. Fusing 2-D and 3-D perspectives, not to mention RPG and platformer elements, the game slips back and forth between dimensions. The action sprawls across eight worlds filled with traps, puzzles, bizarre mysteries and items that often draw themselves out of thin air. Oh, and just because Mario's in the title doesn't mean he's the only star – players also get to play as Peach and Bowser. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Probably the perfect game for those that enjoyed New Super Mario Bros. and don't mind reading a bit too much as it has an actual story and cutscenes...This game is so engaging that you won't quit without finishing the game and finding out what happens at the end.
  2. 90
    Besides the excellent story and dialogue localization, tight controls and new gameplay elements, the art direction is top-o-the line.
  3. Constantly switching between dimensions and characters may turn off those who wanted a more straightforward adventure. On the other hand, the writing, wit, and humor are some of the best stuff that Nintendo has ever come up with.
  4. With Super Paper Mario, Intelligent Systems has crafted a game that will appeal to fans of both the platforming and RPG genres.
  5. The game has lots of extras like "catch cards" and “recipes” to make new items, so it definitely has a high replayability factor.
  6. Super Paper Mario does a nice job of bringing the Paper Mario series to the Wii.
  7. 70
    When push leads inexorably to shove, there are probably two good games here. The problem is that you have to play them both at the same time. Those of us that would have preferred a pure platformer, or indeed a pure RPG experience, will suffer the most. Those that are happy to live with the combination will find a compelling experience, with well written dialogue, innovative play dynamics and bucket loads of Nintendo charm.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 116
  2. Negative: 15 out of 116
  1. KareemA.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I can simply say that this is the best Wii game after The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess. It's a must get title... Buy one...Buy I can simply say that this is the best Wii game after The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess. It's a must get title... Buy one...Buy them all...*echoes* Expand
  2. SkyeL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    The game is simply amazing there is nothing about I don't like. I love the story line and how you can flip from 2-D to 3-D and how you The game is simply amazing there is nothing about I don't like. I love the story line and how you can flip from 2-D to 3-D and how you can play peach and bowser and so much more. Nintendo I give you a whole ten this is your best game ever. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Here's my take on this game: The gameplay is fairly simple, but can get REALLY fun. I admit, it is a somewhat easy game, but that's not whatHere's my take on this game: The gameplay is fairly simple, but can get REALLY fun. I admit, it is a somewhat easy game, but that's not what compels you to keep playing. That's the story's job. This game has one of the most compelling stories I've ever seen in a video game, let alone a Mario game. It'll occasionally throw a curveball at you, be it a plot twist, character revelation, etc. Despite being a Mario game, it can get surprisingly dark, especially in worlds 2, 5, and 6. Combined with beautiful artwork, good level design, and multiple ways of playing, this is a game that is an experience you won't want to miss. Unless you're, I don't know, a prick who hates creativity and a good story? Expand
  4. Lolrandomname
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    Awesome game! Yes, it's a bit slow in parts, but most of it was fun. And there is admittedly maybe a BIT too much text, but most of it Awesome game! Yes, it's a bit slow in parts, but most of it was fun. And there is admittedly maybe a BIT too much text, but most of it is funny. Simply an awesome game, with a nice mix of rpg and platforming elements. Btw, to the people scoring this low: "I like going online and complaining about games I haven't played." Expand
  5. TitaniumDragon
    Jan 26, 2009
    8
    A solid platformer, calling it an RPG would be strange. It isn't an RPG in any sense. It is a platformer, and a pretty decent one; the A solid platformer, calling it an RPG would be strange. It isn't an RPG in any sense. It is a platformer, and a pretty decent one; the 2D-3D flip is pretty cool, and the Pixls add in some neat elements for interacting with levels. The game, while fun, has its flaws. Firstly, it is far too easy. I know the standards for difficulty have dropped, but the game is much too easy and really needed its difficulty cranked up a couple notches, as you really would be hard-pressed to die given the amount of coins and healing items the game rains upon you like manna from heaven. There are other segments where you have to spend good portions of time backtracking, which is always boring. Secondly, there are parts where there is some monotony. World two has a section where you have to run in a hampster wheel for about five minutes to get some money to escape from an area. Any time I go to get some rubber bands to hold down one button on my controller and go do something else, the game has failed. Its really unfun and there's nothing necessary about the sequence; had it taken thirty seconds (or been a cutscene with text) it would have been fine, but it wasn't and it really just felt awful and immersion breaking (not to mention monotonous). Thirdly, the game has some secrets with no real "giveaways". The only way to find some secrets is to jump down every single hole in the entire game (which I'm doing). While you have so many HP it doesn't really matter, its a bit of stupid tedium which could have been easily done away with by using the actual useful Wiimote function (pointing at the screen) reveal that, hey, that hole is a secret! Fourth, the Wiimote felt pretty tacked on. Pointing was a fine mechanic, but shaking the Wiimote was just stupid. The story is pretty funny, which really does help out the game; it wouldn't be this high if the story wasn't as amusing as it is. Overall, a solid game, but marred by some amount of tedium and monotony. Expand
  6. Rick
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    So much text (becomes boring), also is not as too fun as previous Super Mario Bros 2 or 3.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    I remember when I was a kid that my favorite game on the Gamecube was Paper Mario The Ten Thousand year door and when I heard that there was aI remember when I was a kid that my favorite game on the Gamecube was Paper Mario The Ten Thousand year door and when I heard that there was a new Paper Mario game coming soon I got hyped more then for Super Smash Bros. Brawl. I couldn't wait but little did I know I was waiting for a huge kick in the balls. The game was basically New Super Mario Bros. RPG (infact I would have preferred that title much more). With a boring storyline (that I can't imagine any kids understanding), graphics that are an insult to the Wii, terrible partners (I prefer one done well then 9 with no soul), Navi/Tippi, bad boss fights (excluding the first one), a main villain with no incentive (other then just take over the world), and some of the worst levels I've ever seen. Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.