User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1517 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SuperRater
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Ever since the first super smash brothers came out for N64, i have been waiting for a Super Smash Brothers game that would really impress me. This one did! This came contains many of my favorite characters and some new ones that I really like playing as. With many ways to make the brawling fun, this game really delivered. But like many games this one isn't perfect. The online Ever since the first super smash brothers came out for N64, i have been waiting for a Super Smash Brothers game that would really impress me. This one did! This came contains many of my favorite characters and some new ones that I really like playing as. With many ways to make the brawling fun, this game really delivered. But like many games this one isn't perfect. The online multiplayer is a little dull with just jumping into a battle without being able to talk or add people to a friends list. But other than that this game has everything a long time super smash brothers player wants. The new final smashes and custombisable levels add a new twist to the game to. All in all this is a really good game that is defenitaly worth buying! Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    Fun as hell. If you loved Melee, you will adore this game. For some it might feel like a massive expansion pack but you just can't miss this. Completely balanced characters, easy to pick up controls and countless goodies and entertainment at its disposal. Get it.
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    If you have a Wii then you need to get this, it's easily one of, if not the best game on the system, it packs countless hours of gameplay do the extremely large amount of content, and it filled with tons of references to Nintendo's past, it's easy to pick up and play, and fun to play with family and friends, honestly I see no reason not to get this if you have a Wii, sure I've got a fewIf you have a Wii then you need to get this, it's easily one of, if not the best game on the system, it packs countless hours of gameplay do the extremely large amount of content, and it filled with tons of references to Nintendo's past, it's easy to pick up and play, and fun to play with family and friends, honestly I see no reason not to get this if you have a Wii, sure I've got a few minor issues and complaints with it, but when you think of the overall package and how it can literally keep you entertained for hundreds of hours all those flaws just seem to practically disappear, this is truly a must play title for any and all gamers, and stands out among all the other great Wii games as one of the best, it's an outstanding game. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    Because the Wii doesn't have too many hardcore games doesn't mean is death. Smash Bros put in shame the other companies console , and always will. Exaggerated combos and attacks are a joy too watch. The addition of cameos like Sonic and Snake aren't big bomb's but make good shape to the warriors.
  5. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Story mode is not that awesome, but its cool that they tried to make a story and all. Me and my friends got hooked on this game at college and had tons of fun. The multiplayer is the only thing worth spending hours upon hours playing.
  6. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    This is probably one of the best fighting games ever made and it improved a lot from the previous game in the series. With lots of new characters, new "abilities" and a new and very improved Adventure mode it certainly adds much new and interesting stuff to the game without changing the basic gameplay of cause. But what really makes this game so great is of cause the Brawl Mode and withThis is probably one of the best fighting games ever made and it improved a lot from the previous game in the series. With lots of new characters, new "abilities" and a new and very improved Adventure mode it certainly adds much new and interesting stuff to the game without changing the basic gameplay of cause. But what really makes this game so great is of cause the Brawl Mode and with all the characters and maps in this game it is certain that to matches of Brawl Mode will never be the same. They also added a new super attack for each character which really adds some excitement to the game and should you ever get bored with Brawl Mode you can also play Special Brawl which have been improved a lot since the last game. Even though this game is 4 years old it is still the game that i play the most on my wii and also one of my favorite games of all time. If it hadn't been for the poor online system and balance this would definetly be a 10/10, but it's still a fantastic game so i'm gonna give it 9/10. Expand
  7. DanteR.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Far more balanced than melee and I love playing online with my friends. Great game.
  8. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    This is single-handedly the best party game in existence. Forget Guitar Hero or Rock Band, forget Mario Party or Mario Kart, forget DDR. This game has the power to intoxicate anyone that plays. Friends of mine that don't even own a video game system pick up the Wii remote and get hooked on this game and we play for hours on end. The characters are unparalleled. Nintendo has and always willThis is single-handedly the best party game in existence. Forget Guitar Hero or Rock Band, forget Mario Party or Mario Kart, forget DDR. This game has the power to intoxicate anyone that plays. Friends of mine that don't even own a video game system pick up the Wii remote and get hooked on this game and we play for hours on end. The characters are unparalleled. Nintendo has and always will have the best characters to work with. The music is so much fun to listen to while playing. Every song will get stuck in your head or take you back to the glory days of gaming. The fighting mechanic, albeit simple, is perfect. It requires skill, but at the same time is approachable and condescends the normal frustrating and confusing properties of trying to pull of combos and special moves associated with other fighting games (ie. Street Fighter, Blazblue.) I just think this is great game that anyone can pick up have fun. There are plenty of modes to keep you busy in between visits from your buddies that want to play with you. Plus the nostalgia associated with the game, is worth marveling at, with classic characters, stages, music and all kinds of other things. By far the BEST game for the Wii. Expand
  9. PhillipM.
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    I'm quite confused as to who would dislike this game. I've seen so many comments with people bashing Nintendo and giving it a score of 0-2. First off, realize that this is any geek's dream to have Zelda fight Mario or have Marth (from Fire Emblem, if you were wondering) fight Star Fox. The control scheme is much improved over Melee, however I've got to take a point I'm quite confused as to who would dislike this game. I've seen so many comments with people bashing Nintendo and giving it a score of 0-2. First off, realize that this is any geek's dream to have Zelda fight Mario or have Marth (from Fire Emblem, if you were wondering) fight Star Fox. The control scheme is much improved over Melee, however I've got to take a point away for the not quite as good control with the Wii remote. A lot of the new aspects of the game, however, such as the finishing moves, are simply amazing. The game is not for the story of what happens, or even the moves or level design. No, what makes this fighting game so great is two little things: 1. Anyone can pick it up and play it. Yes, the game goes deep and you can really master a particular character, but the straight up moves that take about a minute to learn apply to all characters. 2. This game is about FUN. Nothing else. You get together with a bunch of friends and play the heck out of each other. Playing it alone is nice, yes, but fighting lifeless AI gets boring after a while. (Fortunately, the AI is competent enough to give you a challenge, even if you do have a good mastery of a character.) When picking up this game to play with friends, there's no intensity (unless you're playing with a bunch of hardcores) to win. It's a game to laugh and have fun with, and that's what a game is supposed to make you do. End of story. Expand
  10. Mr.Jackson
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Nobody does it like Nintendo, and no one saw it coming! With 'Brawl', the Big N flexes its Wiis muscles and pushes it to limits not yet seen. It also shows Sony and Microsoft that its system can run with their next gen systems. From the amazing graphics and soundtrack, to its user friendliness and blazing multiplaya play, it does for the Wii what 'Goldeneye' did for Nobody does it like Nintendo, and no one saw it coming! With 'Brawl', the Big N flexes its Wiis muscles and pushes it to limits not yet seen. It also shows Sony and Microsoft that its system can run with their next gen systems. From the amazing graphics and soundtrack, to its user friendliness and blazing multiplaya play, it does for the Wii what 'Goldeneye' did for N64. Simply put, its the ULTIMATE party game. Expand
  11. JesseS.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Great game :) As a multiplayer game it works nearly flawlessly (both online and with live people). Not much to gripe about unless you were expecting the Wiimote motion sensing to be used for controlling the game. I've had one slow down while playing online, but even while running slow it wasn't unplayable, just a bit annoying. It actually played a great deal like someone had Great game :) As a multiplayer game it works nearly flawlessly (both online and with live people). Not much to gripe about unless you were expecting the Wiimote motion sensing to be used for controlling the game. I've had one slow down while playing online, but even while running slow it wasn't unplayable, just a bit annoying. It actually played a great deal like someone had used the "clock" item (or whatever the thing is that slows down everyone but the person that uses it), except that all players were moving slow. But, out of 30+ games online, only one has had any problems, and it was only for about 15 seconds out of a 2 minute match. Also, the Adventure mode is actually fun and longer than I expected (my daughter and I have played for about 10 hours and are about 50% done on the easy setting). Expand
  12. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    I think this is the Best Wii game. I have played this the most and think this a great game to play with friends. It always plays different and is enjoyable almost every time. I would advise it to anyone that likes wii or likes fighting games. I love the game and hope to play it many more times.
  13. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    one of the best fighting games ever it has all of the classic nintendo characters that we know and love the story mode isnt the best but its probably the best fighting game story ive ever played they have all the chalenge modes from the old game and new characters such as wario pit etc. the only problem with this game is the online matchmaking the only fights you can have are the standardone of the best fighting games ever it has all of the classic nintendo characters that we know and love the story mode isnt the best but its probably the best fighting game story ive ever played they have all the chalenge modes from the old game and new characters such as wario pit etc. the only problem with this game is the online matchmaking the only fights you can have are the standard 2:00 mintune fights other then that its amazing Expand
  14. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    One of the best game Nintendo ever made. While Melee was awesome, Brawl gives even more content to enjoy. I think it's one of the game i played the most in my whole life, especially with my brother ! Lots of fun is to expect, even without multiplayer. Can't wait for the next Smash bros !
  15. JonnyK.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    You really couldn't ask for much more from Nintendo, except maybe more third party characters or voice chat. other than those two flaws, the game is perfect. I've played the Japanese version and it blew my mind away.
  16. JohnS.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    It is nothing but an improvement, though not groundbreaking changes, there are no faults, only issue was the concept of "you and a friend teamed up online" meant you had to have a friend with another Wii who's 12 digit friend code you must have to do so, not your friend on your couch.
  17. MichaelH.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is completely different from Melee. All the people that complain about this game obviously are taking this game too seriously or too loosely. This game will keep you playing for years and years, what with the many modes, stages, and online. Heck, I'm only halfway through with the game right now! Ican't keep my hands( or my friends hands) off of Brawl! Super Smash Bros. Brawl is completely different from Melee. All the people that complain about this game obviously are taking this game too seriously or too loosely. This game will keep you playing for years and years, what with the many modes, stages, and online. Heck, I'm only halfway through with the game right now! Ican't keep my hands( or my friends hands) off of Brawl! It's just the great. So if you're reading this, ignore all the crap other idiots have been saying and just buy this game, it'll be worth your while. If you don't understand the game, go ask someone to explain or just don't buy the game and whine about it later. It's a fun fighting game, better than street fighter and soul caliber, imho, so try it out and people...(who gave the horrible reviews), go get a life and try to actually REVIEW the game for what it's worth. Much more than half of the people here agree that this is a good game, so I'm pretty sure Brawl is not a bad game, it is indeed near perfection. Expand
  18. DanielY.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    The multiplayer is as good as it gets with such in depth customiztion, to the character roster and arenas. With various game modes like events, classic mode, subspace emissary, etc it will occupy have endless replay value. Online, trophies and stickers plus much more this is a must buy for Wii owners.
  19. RajendraG.
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    THe best fan service ever. The music brought me way back to the dawn of gaming. Subspace emissary if filled with a ton of enjoyable cut scenes, and the trophy and sticker collection mini games will last me years to come. All this tacked on top of frantic and deep fighting game with online multi player. My only regrets are the fact the the waggle capabilities of the Wiimote were not used THe best fan service ever. The music brought me way back to the dawn of gaming. Subspace emissary if filled with a ton of enjoyable cut scenes, and the trophy and sticker collection mini games will last me years to come. All this tacked on top of frantic and deep fighting game with online multi player. My only regrets are the fact the the waggle capabilities of the Wiimote were not used at all, and the awful friend code system that makes the online so anonymous, you might as well be battling the CPU. Expand
  20. CaseyM.
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    Very fun, but disappointing that you can't play more than one player on wifi.
  21. FabianH.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    The people who rated it low are probably just jealous becous they couldnt get it becous its sold out. And yeah its true its almost the same but with new characters songs options and features. But if they change the gameplay too much it wouldnt be smash bros. anymore, it would just be another fighting game. Jay I know its not true that you have just as much fun with the original smash The people who rated it low are probably just jealous becous they couldnt get it becous its sold out. And yeah its true its almost the same but with new characters songs options and features. But if they change the gameplay too much it wouldnt be smash bros. anymore, it would just be another fighting game. Jay I know its not true that you have just as much fun with the original smash bros. becous it almost got no characters and much features of brawl are not in it like the stage builder. And the gameplay of brawl is faster than the other smash bros games. Expand
  22. ChristofferL.
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    WARNING, COMMENT MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!! I love the game, but the game is not perfect. The one problem is the stage builder. I was suspecting a advanced stage building, but instead it was reminding me of level building on a game boy color, having the same music looping over and over and I loose imagination about how the level should be constructed. What I want is being able to make stages WARNING, COMMENT MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!! I love the game, but the game is not perfect. The one problem is the stage builder. I was suspecting a advanced stage building, but instead it was reminding me of level building on a game boy color, having the same music looping over and over and I loose imagination about how the level should be constructed. What I want is being able to make stages similar to other pretty made stages like Brinstar, Yoshi's Island (both normal and melee), Summit, New Pork City and others by manipulating brushes, making triggers around the map and could make 3d animating backgrounds and you'll feel special when your project is done and the stage is impressive. Otherwise the stage builder the game is very replayable. I seriously love the tweaks of the characters and thier attacks. The adventure mode is okay but when you've done 50% of the game you think you're at 90% because you're in the socalled "Subspace Emissary". Graphics are brilliant and the animation is perfect, the lenght of enjoying the game is very long, but stage builder is bit of a joke, mostly because I love building stages as long you have the right tools to build a stage. I would give this game 94/100 if users had the ability to rate games between 0-100. Expand
  23. WhyNot?
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    First of all, let me say just one thing: Hardcore players and casual gamers may not both agree with my views. That being the case, here's my review for Super Smash Brothers Brawl. From the moment I first saw the preview for this game -- yep, almost three years ago -- I thought "Wow, this game might actually be better than Melee!". Fast-forward to getting the game two years later. My First of all, let me say just one thing: Hardcore players and casual gamers may not both agree with my views. That being the case, here's my review for Super Smash Brothers Brawl. From the moment I first saw the preview for this game -- yep, almost three years ago -- I thought "Wow, this game might actually be better than Melee!". Fast-forward to getting the game two years later. My first thoughts when I played it? "Holy crap. This IS better than Melee." The aspects that Melee had that made it such a great game are only made better by Brawl. With a new roster of characters (like Snake and Sonic), a slew of new stages (and the chance to create your own), and online capabilities, this may be the best Wii game yet. The single-player mode, for the most part, is lacking -- aside from the Subspace Emissary, I found no changes. But the one-player game isn't what I play Brawl for. It's the multiplayer. With 37 characters, matchups can be anywhere from classic (think Mario, Luigi and Peach versus Bowser) to downright hilarious. (Kirby, Pikachu, Sonic, and Mr. Game and Watch in a taunt match? Score!!) And what about the Wi-Fi capabilities? Although they are a tiny bit limited, it is nice to be able to face people who could be 12,000 miles away -- or just down the road -- without leaving your couch. Despite its minor flaws (load times, graphics could be a bit better), SSBB is definitely my first choice for games on the Wii. 97/100. Expand
  24. DustinWithrow
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Looks to live up to the fun and entertainment of its predisesors with more charicters, Solid Snake, and the new super attacks it looks to be just as fun as the SSBM. The last one is still by far the best Game Cube game out there and this one dosent look far off of that for the Wii. I cant wait to get my gruby little hands on this one:)
  25. Anonymous
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing game! The replay value is tremendous, as you will spend weeks trying to collect every last trophy, sticker, and achievement in the game. The variety of characters and stages is stupendous, and the Subspace Emissary adventure mode is a lot more in-depth and enjoyable than Melee's adventure mode. The graphics, animations, and environments are beautifully rendered and the music Amazing game! The replay value is tremendous, as you will spend weeks trying to collect every last trophy, sticker, and achievement in the game. The variety of characters and stages is stupendous, and the Subspace Emissary adventure mode is a lot more in-depth and enjoyable than Melee's adventure mode. The graphics, animations, and environments are beautifully rendered and the music selection is probably the best I have ever heard in any video game in my life. The only lacking part of this game is the online, which can be unreliable and laggy when playing with random people. However, this is only a minor setback to an otherwise spectacular game. Expand
  26. HankH
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    This is a very fun game if you have friends to play with. A lot like Melee, but w/ better graphics and more characters. If you are planning on playing by yourself, then you should not buy this game. The story mode, which is surprisingly fun only gives you about 10 hrs of game play. The online play is just awful. 11/10 w/ other people 7/10 by yourself This averages out to 9/10 overall.
  27. Watstone
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game in the series by a wide margin. I don't think I've ever played a game with this much content - and all the content is enjoyable, particularly the music. The music in some other games is awesome, but SSBBrawl's music is in another class, several notches above other games.

    Speaking as a pro player of SSBMelee, I am extremely happy with the character
    Easily the best game in the series by a wide margin. I don't think I've ever played a game with this much content - and all the content is enjoyable, particularly the music. The music in some other games is awesome, but SSBBrawl's music is in another class, several notches above other games.

    Speaking as a pro player of SSBMelee, I am extremely happy with the character choices, new stages, stage builder, and the fact that many glitches and/or exploits have not survived the transition from Melee; Brawl breathes fresh air into an already magnificent franchise.
    Expand
  28. GioD.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    Absolutely worth the wait. Its IMPOSSIBLE to write about all the good that oozes from this title so i'll make it short and sweet. Not to take anything away from Smash Bros Melee, but Brawl COMPLETELY obliterates it, and to be honest many would have been pissed if it didnt. The fan service in this game is unreal. You can literally spend hours playing this and going "Oh did you see Absolutely worth the wait. Its IMPOSSIBLE to write about all the good that oozes from this title so i'll make it short and sweet. Not to take anything away from Smash Bros Melee, but Brawl COMPLETELY obliterates it, and to be honest many would have been pissed if it didnt. The fan service in this game is unreal. You can literally spend hours playing this and going "Oh did you see that!?", "No way did that just happen!!!", "Thats a remix of the Metroid Fusion song!", "Did that character really just help me!!!???", its unbelievable how much content, items, stages, characters, music, animation, detail, and modes are packed into this disc. UNBELIEVABLE. And in the same vein as people kept playing Melee on the gamecube long LONG after its initial release (not to mention it was the best selling game for the cube), there is absolutely no reason why Brawl wouldn't be in the same category. If you bought it already you know exactly what im talking about, and if you haven't...WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU WAITING FOR??? One of the best, if not THE BEST, multiplayer games in history. Expand
  29. TimB.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    First of all, I want to put down the grades of 5 and down. I read all of them and they are obviously made by people that don't appreciate the type of game this is. Second, my review: This game has obvious improvements over its predecessors- the graphics are great, even compared to PS3 and 360 games; there are more characters, and all are more or less balanced all but a couple of the First of all, I want to put down the grades of 5 and down. I read all of them and they are obviously made by people that don't appreciate the type of game this is. Second, my review: This game has obvious improvements over its predecessors- the graphics are great, even compared to PS3 and 360 games; there are more characters, and all are more or less balanced all but a couple of the stages are innovative, familiar, or simple enough to be fun for the type of gameplay that will be on them, and both the multiplayer and solo modes are well developed- probably the biggest improvement over Melee. My only qualm is that the controls are hard to get used to on the wiimote, but I have my old Gamecube controllers so I just choose to ignore that small problem. Expand
  30. CoolCanadian
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Crazychief and domingo don't know what they are talking about! Its a problem with there TV's! This game is the marking point for all nintendo games and an instant classic; it will go down with Melee and Ocarina of time! The graphics (when used with a proper tv and converter) are awesome, and the gameplay is huge! If u cant see your own HP dont attack the game! ITs your own Crazychief and domingo don't know what they are talking about! Its a problem with there TV's! This game is the marking point for all nintendo games and an instant classic; it will go down with Melee and Ocarina of time! The graphics (when used with a proper tv and converter) are awesome, and the gameplay is huge! If u cant see your own HP dont attack the game! ITs your own freaking TV! and No it is not the same as gamecube if you think the graphics are the exact same again; check your tv! The new inovation is great, and the gameplay is good! clearly these guys dont know what there talking about! Expand
  31. KevinR.
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    A great game that follows in the amazing tradition set forward by its predecessors, Super Smash Brothers Brawl exceeds in all fields except one: why are the stages still so dull and unexciting?
  32. Munkipo0
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Domingo and CrazyChief12 is the most stupidest guys ever.Just because you can't see your hp doesn't made a game a zero and of course the wiimote controls is weird. that why you use a gamecube controller for god sake. Also the game doesn't look like a gamecube game and the gameplay is fun not boring. New special ablitlties show how kick ass the game is. that a huge ton ofDomingo and CrazyChief12 is the most stupidest guys ever.Just because you can't see your hp doesn't made a game a zero and of course the wiimote controls is weird. that why you use a gamecube controller for god sake. Also the game doesn't look like a gamecube game and the gameplay is fun not boring. New special ablitlties show how kick ass the game is. that a huge ton of imagination in the game. Domingo have no imagination at all. Not Nintendo. That why Domingo give it a zero. Cause he have no imagination and he is a sony fanboy who is just jealous that the ps3 doesn't have a good game like that. Overall this is one of the best game ever and don't listen to faggot like Domingo and Crazychief112. Oh yeah you could see your hp in the game. Expand
  33. JosiahH
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    OK, first of all, whoever DOMINGO is can kiss off. you are obviously just some loser who sucked at the game and didn't like it for that reason ,or you just have no taste in video games. crazychief at least gave a reason why he didn't like the game. (A very bad reason but a reason all the same.) This was without a doubt ,the best wii game there is. The gameplay was amazing andOK, first of all, whoever DOMINGO is can kiss off. you are obviously just some loser who sucked at the game and didn't like it for that reason ,or you just have no taste in video games. crazychief at least gave a reason why he didn't like the game. (A very bad reason but a reason all the same.) This was without a doubt ,the best wii game there is. The gameplay was amazing and the... Lets just say that everything was amazing. There have been three games like this for the wii, Twilight princess, super mario galaxy, and super smash brothers. Smash brothers best quality was the variety in game modes, which was almost infinite. I usually think that everyone's opinion is worth hearing, but if you didn't like the game, you are wrong with no questions asked. Expand
  34. LiR.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    *CONTROLS: sweet as can be. No other game gives you this much choice on how you play your game as well as let you customize what every button does if you don't like the layout. No more excuses! *GRAPHICS: beautiful, those whining about it looking like the GC are the same who said Mario Sunshine looked like Mario 64... oh please! And you gotta watch those awesome cutscenes in the *CONTROLS: sweet as can be. No other game gives you this much choice on how you play your game as well as let you customize what every button does if you don't like the layout. No more excuses! *GRAPHICS: beautiful, those whining about it looking like the GC are the same who said Mario Sunshine looked like Mario 64... oh please! And you gotta watch those awesome cutscenes in the story mode. *VALUE: The sheer value packed into this awesome dual-layered DVD (the first and so far only on the Wii) and all the unlockables are mind blowing. With online matches, map-making and constant downloads for replays, photos, etc, this game has infinite replay value. *The game is pure fan-service and does very well to cater to legions of people who have at any point been fans of Nintendo. You're bound to find many things that make you remember your childhood and just see how much butt the game kicks as you get deeper into it. If you liked any of the Smash brothers, and even if you didn't GET IT NOW! Expand
  35. JohnP.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Recaptures the magic of the first two games, and then some. We had a big tournament of this game in the university bar after someone bought a Japanese Wii specifically for this. The new characters fit in well, the gameplay hasn't lost any snap or freshness and the sheer level of detail and ingenuity makes Brawl the best in the series so far.
  36. BryanM.
    Mar 25, 2008
    8
    Fantastic game. Musical score is by far one the best I've ever heard. Subspace Emissary, while boring and repetitive at time, is a fun fan-service for long time fans of Nintendo. Overwhelming amounts of unlockable characters, modes, trophies, stages, and other content. However, the gameplay is slowed down and the character list needs some work. Online suffers from the same issues as Fantastic game. Musical score is by far one the best I've ever heard. Subspace Emissary, while boring and repetitive at time, is a fun fan-service for long time fans of Nintendo. Overwhelming amounts of unlockable characters, modes, trophies, stages, and other content. However, the gameplay is slowed down and the character list needs some work. Online suffers from the same issues as every Nintendo game. (WHY?!?) Overall, if you have friends or are a fan of Nintendo this is a must buy other then that steer clear. Expand
  37. Derek
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    For those who complain that this isn't a total reinvention of the series, you're missing the point. Though you wouldn't guess from being a casual player, Melee was one of the more original and complex fighters out there. Rather than ruin near-perfection, they've simply expanded, updated, and subtly improved nearly every aspect of the game. Not to mention adding a more For those who complain that this isn't a total reinvention of the series, you're missing the point. Though you wouldn't guess from being a casual player, Melee was one of the more original and complex fighters out there. Rather than ruin near-perfection, they've simply expanded, updated, and subtly improved nearly every aspect of the game. Not to mention adding a more in depth adventure single player mode, online play, a mass of fan pleasing characters, a stage-builder, and essentially removing the presence of "clone" type character modeling (it's almost shocking how different each character feels). The character's are far better balanced this time around.... and Final Smash attacks are so much fun. This is the real deal people... more than worth the wait. Expand
  38. BudBlue
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The soundtrack alone is worth over $20, and I never even listen to music. I believe my only complaint is the airtight online-service. (Not being able to see names? Come on now! At least it's basically lag-free.) However, this is easily subsided by the fact that many many hours of offline play will go into this with friends and by myself. The replay value This game is simply amazing. The soundtrack alone is worth over $20, and I never even listen to music. I believe my only complaint is the airtight online-service. (Not being able to see names? Come on now! At least it's basically lag-free.) However, this is easily subsided by the fact that many many hours of offline play will go into this with friends and by myself. The replay value is endless... I still play SSB64 every once in a while. Expand
  39. R.B.
    Mar 6, 2008
    9
    Have been playing for a month, living in Japan. Unlike Melee it doesn't feature bilingual menus, which is no problem if you're playing in your native language. (I tend to believe, despite understanding the game in Japanese, that the game is much more rewarding in English.) Aside from this, the game is perfection. There's also a wonderful quasi-handicapping ability in Have been playing for a month, living in Japan. Unlike Melee it doesn't feature bilingual menus, which is no problem if you're playing in your native language. (I tend to believe, despite understanding the game in Japanese, that the game is much more rewarding in English.) Aside from this, the game is perfection. There's also a wonderful quasi-handicapping ability in choosing one controller over another. You can play the game through any number of ways you like on a classic controller, alone or in groups or online, and then play the exact same game using the Wiimote, or with the Wiimote and nunchuk, and the game feels totally alien. The weights and movements of characters are each slightly different from Melee, which means you're not just buying the same game over again -- you're rewarded more in the gameplay department for actually pulling off combos and making strategic movements. I do think there is much room for improvement still for the series, and suspect the next release will be made on a beefed up DVD-playable 12Gb storage Wii (or future console) and will allow you not only to choose your character, but the character's renderings from original sprites up through each Smash Bros version, with corresponding physics. Or options to allow those physics and gameplay styles. The level editor and online options justify the purchase, it comes with co-op adventure mode, team play, more characters than you will be able to remember even after spoiling yourself silly on the main website and wikipedia.. and it's a nonstop unlockfest that does not stop giving, no matter how casually you play. Just a really, really enjoyable game. It's the kind of excitement you feel not just because you're playing it, but because every moment is something you'll want to tell every detail about to friends who are not there witnessing it with you. You'll want to play the game over from scratch with an audience, take videos of everything, reset your save game to zero to do it again before you've even gotten far enough into it to know what's been unlocked. Expand
  40. MikePlowright
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    Anyone who doesn't vote this a 10 clearly just wants to make their Halo 3 have a higher score. This game is unbeatable. So much content, so much balance, so many moves to master. Keep in mind this is coming from a person who mains Yoshi, and even if he is considered to be the worst in the game I still believe this is the most balanced game out there.
  41. MikeB.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    Fun, but shallow, as usual. Most new characters are passable at best, and Wario at worst. However, the lengthy(Over eight hours!) Adventure Mode, Stage Editor and obscenely large soundtrack justify the package. Awesome for parties.
  42. TimothyF.
    Mar 14, 2008
    7
    Brawl doesn't impress the way Mario Galaxy and Zelda: Twilight do. SSE's bland level design makes the mode really tedious to go through, and the story seems thrown together. Coin Launcher is gimmicky and repetitive. The rest of the modes are largely the same old as in previous installments. I haven't gone online yet, but having played probably around 1000 Smash matches in Brawl doesn't impress the way Mario Galaxy and Zelda: Twilight do. SSE's bland level design makes the mode really tedious to go through, and the story seems thrown together. Coin Launcher is gimmicky and repetitive. The rest of the modes are largely the same old as in previous installments. I haven't gone online yet, but having played probably around 1000 Smash matches in Melee and 64, the concept just doesn't excite me that much any more. Expand
  43. JalexD.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    As far as Wii games go, this is second only to 'Twilight Princess' (though, you'll probably be playing this more because of the multiplayer) and even better than 'Super Mario Galaxy.'
  44. bradkeena
    Mar 16, 2008
    9
    alright, first of all, crazychief112, you are an idiot you were doing it wrong, hold the wiimote sideways ya dummy. Second of all, you can see your hp, if your playing stamina which is the only mode that has hp

    The game is superb, ridiculous depth and a bajillion million unlockables such as stages, trophies, charaters, and stickers make the game have very high replayability. Classic
    alright, first of all, crazychief112, you are an idiot you were doing it wrong, hold the wiimote sideways ya dummy. Second of all, you can see your hp, if your playing stamina which is the only mode that has hp

    The game is superb, ridiculous depth and a bajillion million unlockables such as stages, trophies, charaters, and stickers make the game have very high replayability.
    Classic mode is fun is always, but mutiplayer with friends is the main draw. But online play, as in all nintendo games is horrible. The subspace emissary is fairly enjoyable, but it is much better in coop. Great game, worth $100 dollars, but its only $50 :-) Only the second game on wii that ive loved
    Expand
  45. AaronG
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    Crazychef112 gave it a0:
    I give this game a zero because you can't even see your own HP, wtf. I think that even if this game had Master Chef it would get an 8. Only because his shooting is awesome. the controls feel wierd and when i kept pushing up on the wiimote my man kept moving left? Worst game ever.
    ^^^^^^Hasnt played the game. Dont listen to this numbnuts, hes still jerking
    Crazychef112 gave it a0:
    I give this game a zero because you can't even see your own HP, wtf. I think that even if this game had Master Chef it would get an 8. Only because his shooting is awesome. the controls feel wierd and when i kept pushing up on the wiimote my man kept moving left? Worst game ever.

    ^^^^^^Hasnt played the game.
    Dont listen to this numbnuts, hes still jerking off to halo despite its incredibly poor sequels. SSMB is the best game since mario 3. Its near perfect and anyone who doesnt realise that is an xbox lobing moron.^^^^case in point, master "chef" here
    Expand
  46. COlinWright
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    @ crazychef. First your an rtard. Your holding the remote wrong dumb ass. Its going to the left because your supposed to hold it sideways.
    okay back down to brawl. This game may be one pf the greatest fighting games of all time. The SSE may get a little annoying at times but is the perfect mesh of an actual "storyline" to a fighting game. It is cool to see a fighting game work in a
    @ crazychef. First your an rtard. Your holding the remote wrong dumb ass. Its going to the left because your supposed to hold it sideways.
    okay back down to brawl. This game may be one pf the greatest fighting games of all time. The SSE may get a little annoying at times but is the perfect mesh of an actual "storyline" to a fighting game. It is cool to see a fighting game work in a story. Online is almost lag-free.
    THe character selection is great (although im angry at the fact theres no Roy) And to all those saying Nintendo has no imagination, are you f---ing serious? I'm betting none of you played Galaxy. And if you don't like like final smashes, you can just turn them off. So stop pissing your pants over your own stupidity to not figure that out
    Expand
  47. JoakimN.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    THE PEOPLE WHO ARE DRAGGING THE SCORE OF THIS GAME DOWN (With user votes 6 or below) . Deserve a LIFETIME sentence in a supermax Prison. Its a CRIME to give this game less then maximum score
  48. KyleF.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    This game takes everything that made the other Super Smash Bros games amazing and does the unthinkable: makes it better. It's amazingly well balanced, gameplay is refined to a tee, I can't think of a better game.
  49. JoshS.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is so much better than the previous ones. It shows you don't have to change anything to make a game better.
  50. MartinW.
    Aug 22, 2008
    7
    A good game but fundamentally flawed in many areas. Online play and interface are absolutely awful and it's amazing that Nintendo actually released this game knowing full well that it would work so poorly online. Lots of options and if you like the Smash Bros series like myself, then you should enjoy this. Just don't expect anything new and innovative, this is a very good A good game but fundamentally flawed in many areas. Online play and interface are absolutely awful and it's amazing that Nintendo actually released this game knowing full well that it would work so poorly online. Lots of options and if you like the Smash Bros series like myself, then you should enjoy this. Just don't expect anything new and innovative, this is a very good expansion pack at best, as the characters, stages and game modes are more inventive and numerous. Music is absolutely excellent. Graphics are also very good but not as great as say Super Mario Galaxy, although the game is very fast and the frame rate very rarely dips. Cooperative play brings a refreshing change to some of the repetitive solo game modes. Great game nonetheless but as some people have said, you may feel that you probably bought this very game 5/6 years ago. A patch (if possible) by Nintendo could resolve many of the game's flaws. Expand
  51. EdF
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    First off, for all the people who said it's boring: you just have no friends. I've played this game nearly every day with my friends for at least an hour since it came out and I'm still addicted. Next, all you people who say that nothing has changed since the series started, tell me what should change. The thing is this isn't just a normal fighting game. Most of the First off, for all the people who said it's boring: you just have no friends. I've played this game nearly every day with my friends for at least an hour since it came out and I'm still addicted. Next, all you people who say that nothing has changed since the series started, tell me what should change. The thing is this isn't just a normal fighting game. Most of the things that could be added would just get it closer and closer to being your average crappy fighter that nobody even cares about. Asides from that they have tried their hardest to make as much additions as they could, but do any fighting games really change that much? *cough*SoulCalibur3-4almostnochange*cough* Also, all you people who say it's a button masher, you obviously just suck. If I tried to button mash with my friends, I wouldn't last 10 seconds. This is a great game that is deeper and more complex than most people give it credit for. The only problem isn't with the game, it's with the people that play it and jump to conclusions that either nothing has changed or that it's just another button masher. They are the real problem. Expand
  52. SamJ
    Mar 25, 2009
    10
    Chances are, so stupid 360/ps3 fanboys are gonna come on this and rate it 0 because it's Nintendo. Ignore those ones, the graphics are beautiful, the fighting is excellent, plenty of achievements to get and so many different strategies to use, not a crappy button mashing fighting game, you get punished for button mashing in this. It's definitely the best fighting game ever made, Chances are, so stupid 360/ps3 fanboys are gonna come on this and rate it 0 because it's Nintendo. Ignore those ones, the graphics are beautiful, the fighting is excellent, plenty of achievements to get and so many different strategies to use, not a crappy button mashing fighting game, you get punished for button mashing in this. It's definitely the best fighting game ever made, and you should definitely pick it up. Basically, the only reason not to like this game is if you hate Nintendo, or don't like fighting games. easy 10/10 Also, Mario beating sonic with a baseball bat--rofl. Expand
  53. JoradT
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Ray A you have to be a completely retarded stupid ass 360 fanboy to hate this game. None of your points were vaild at all. Everything you said was bullcrap. You are obviously a complete noob who played the game and spammed then complained that the game sucked. Well here's a real review of someone who was been playing the game and is still playing after nearly a year. Firstly graphics Ray A you have to be a completely retarded stupid ass 360 fanboy to hate this game. None of your points were vaild at all. Everything you said was bullcrap. You are obviously a complete noob who played the game and spammed then complained that the game sucked. Well here's a real review of someone who was been playing the game and is still playing after nearly a year. Firstly graphics wise it is amazing. All of the textures and animations are very crisp and you can really notice all of the changes (even the rather subtle ones) from Melee. Furthermore the backgrounds for each stage are very well done. Whether it's the castle in Bridge of Eldin or the sunset landscape in Final Destination, each has been done to a high standard. Now onto the soundtrack which really deserves top marks. Take a load of the best Nintendo tunes, remix them to sound even better, chuck in a few more kick ass tunes and you have a near perfect soundtrack. Now onto gameplay. The single player experience is pretty good. Subspace Emissary is pretty good (especially the boss fights) although it only lasts about 9-10 hours. There is also your typical Classic mode and an improved stadium where you can do Target Test, Home Run Contest, Event Matches and Boss Rush. However Super Smash Bros has never been about single player. The multiplayer is what really makes it shine and it by far has the bulkiest and probably the best multiplayer of all Wii games. Whether it's facing off against a CPU or beating the hell out of your mates there is always fun to be found. There are also a huge amount of stages as well as an awsome stage creator to make your own stages. It's quite spectacular how Sakurai (the creator) was able to fit all this in. There is so much more awsome stuff to discuss but I simply can't write it all. This is an absolute MUST BUY. If you have a Wii and don't have it, GET IT NOW. Expand
  54. DamianA
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    To all of you who gave this game a negative review, you clearly do not know the meaning of the word "Fun". Honestly, this is quite easily the greatest multiplayer game ever made for any system. For obvious reasons, the single player mode on Brawl is, for lack of a better word, lame, but the multiplayer mode more than makes up for that fact. The addition of the Final Smash is something To all of you who gave this game a negative review, you clearly do not know the meaning of the word "Fun". Honestly, this is quite easily the greatest multiplayer game ever made for any system. For obvious reasons, the single player mode on Brawl is, for lack of a better word, lame, but the multiplayer mode more than makes up for that fact. The addition of the Final Smash is something that all Smash fans have always wanted, but never knew it. If you want a single player game for the Wii, then you should definitely go for Super Mario Galaxy. However, for pure, unrestricted multiplayer fun (And endless hours of gameplay), Super Smash Bros. Brawl is without a doubt number one in that category. Expand
  55. TomP.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    Okay, I'd like to start this review off by saying Crazychief112, you must have the brain of a two year old, and the tastes of a dirt-eating semi retarted hamster. Okay, it's called a DAMAGE METER, shows how much damage you have.(obviously) Also, just because a game has Master *Cheif* (Not Chef) doesn't mean that it's gonna be excellent, when the lego Halo thatOkay, I'd like to start this review off by saying Crazychief112, you must have the brain of a two year old, and the tastes of a dirt-eating semi retarted hamster. Okay, it's called a DAMAGE METER, shows how much damage you have.(obviously) Also, just because a game has Master *Cheif* (Not Chef) doesn't mean that it's gonna be excellent, when the lego Halo that bungie's working on comes out, youcan go get it, I'll pass. Also it's not a shooting game! It's a fighter! and, you have the contols set to just the one wii controll, not even the nunchuk, so you have to tilt it over! (again, oviously) this game wasn't even built for these kinds of controls, or even the wii-mote in general, so anybody who gives this game a bad review because of controller issues, you can just be grouped in the same category as "cheify" over there. This game was built with either the classic controller or primarily the gamecube controller (My personal favorite, then again, I had been playing melee it's release up until this game came out.)

    ...Anyways. In my opinion this game isn't perfect, the characters, as many melee players may have noticed,ARE slower paced, which is actually somewhat nice or 1 on 1's. otherwise, but for 4 player action, it seems a tad akward. not a big complain really once you get used to it. also, don't judge the subspace emissary a representation of this game as a whole. iI's obviously meant for beating the crap out of your friends, at which, it's superb. In fact, it's easily my favorite fighting game since the last SSB because it's one of the simplest fighting games to learn (No large and tedious combo's and special moves to look up) but still incorporates a large amount of skill once you start getting better at the game. and all of the extra content is astounding, the subspace emmissary, the huge selection of music, (customisable for each stage in fact) the improvement of ceratin characters and character selection, the stage building, along with all of the already nice stages, the inclusion of online, (however poor), The cool final smashes, and the trophy game, (And LOADS of trophies) make this game absoloutely astounding.
    Some of my complaints though would have to be that I thought they should have added a frequency selection for each individual item, as there were way to many smash balls and other overpowered items, which made brawls, especially the four player ones, too erratic.also you should have had the option to go through an ethernet cable for online as well. For those of us without WI Fi, (I happen to currently be using some unknown neighbors internet connection for the game, quite laggy.) and that each character doesn't have an individual target test, the ___ man brawls are battling used character models, and the home run test is too easy with the force field, (All you have to do is throw the bat!) Still, all minor compaints compared to all of the prelisted extras.These make this game a 10, and more than enough to keep me playing Super Smash Bros. games for another 6 to 7 years.
    Expand
  56. PhillipV.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    I don't fully understand how this game could get anything but a 10. It was easily the best Super Smash Bros. game that I have played to date. The characters were all easy to use and the Sub Space Emessary was amazing. 10/10. Way to raise the bar Nintendo!
  57. josephh
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Good game but they could of made online better you should make a update for it that cost like 5 dollars
  58. anonymous
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    the only flaws are that stage editor sucked, classic mode is too predictable, there are only five target stages, online stinks, and there are no end of match bonuses. EVERYTHING else is good
  59. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    As a follow up to melee Brawl has expanded the super smash bros series .More songs more stages more characters more items Brawl improves on everything that melee did great one .more game modes Most of the single player modes of melee are now co-op multiplayer on brawl The graphics are impressive The only flaw is the online it lags and it sucks This is one of the best FIGHTING gamesAs a follow up to melee Brawl has expanded the super smash bros series .More songs more stages more characters more items Brawl improves on everything that melee did great one .more game modes Most of the single player modes of melee are now co-op multiplayer on brawl The graphics are impressive The only flaw is the online it lags and it sucks This is one of the best FIGHTING games in history Expand
  60. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    I've had this game since it was first released, and I love it to death.

    With fun gameplay, great graphics, and so many awards and challenges I haven't gotten them all in the 6 years I've had the game, it is the pinnacle of the Super Smash Bros. series. Brawl also has a fun story mode, which allows you to play through the Super Smash universe and save the world from Subspace. It also
    I've had this game since it was first released, and I love it to death.

    With fun gameplay, great graphics, and so many awards and challenges I haven't gotten them all in the 6 years I've had the game, it is the pinnacle of the Super Smash Bros. series. Brawl also has a fun story mode, which allows you to play through the Super Smash universe and save the world from Subspace.

    It also has tons of unlockable challenges and minigame-like quests, which have kept me busy and immersed. I love this game.
    Expand
  61. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    THE GOOD: This is a fighting game that simply gets everything right. The cast of characters are all fun to play as (except for olimar, who is kinda weak). The characters are all diverse and unique. That goes for even some of the characters who were clones in Super Smash Bros. Melee. The total this time is 35 and they added in some great new characters. Ike from Fire Emblem, Lucario fromTHE GOOD: This is a fighting game that simply gets everything right. The cast of characters are all fun to play as (except for olimar, who is kinda weak). The characters are all diverse and unique. That goes for even some of the characters who were clones in Super Smash Bros. Melee. The total this time is 35 and they added in some great new characters. Ike from Fire Emblem, Lucario from Pokemon, Toon Link from The Legend of Zelda, Pit from Kid Icarus, and many more. They even added in Sonic the Hedgehog and Solid Snake. It was a genius idea to add them in because 3rd party characters can create endless possibilities for the series. Visually, the game is beautiful. Many characters take on a more realistic look than they did in Melee. Stages are better than ever, and theres over 40 of them this time around! There is even a stage builder now, which allows you to get creative with your own battlefields.The new story mode, The Subspace Emissary, is a blast to play as well. There is the classic single player mode and 2-player vs modes, but also the special brawl which is more fun than ever. You can customize vs. matches further than ever. I mean, who doesn't want to play in crazy matches like "Super giant invisible whatever" fights? There are endless amounts of things to collect in the game, from stickers to trophies to cds. Decades of gaming history is in this title. The soundtrack is huge and fantastic! They even added in fighting online, which can be pretty fun too! The best thing about this game however, is that on top of its amazingly varied fighting gameplay, there is an insane amount of content in the whole package. The replay value is infinite. And its a game that can be fun both alone and with friends.

    THE BAD: The online can be a little laggy at times. Some great characters from Melee unfortunately didn't make it into brawl. They are Pichu, Mewtwo, Young Link, Dr. Mario, and Roy.

    Perhaps the best fighting game ever. MUST OWN! BUY IT!
    Expand
  62. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This is easily the best fighting game of all time. With many characters and stages, and with a stage builder, the game rules! What more can you ask for?
  63. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Brawl is the best brawler i have ever played.All of the game are really amazing and it´s have a story mode.The story mode was really exited and real great.The characters of it are just awesome.It has the Nintendo Allstars,new guys,how Pit and Sonic and F***ing Solid Snake.Thats just awesome.Who comes of a so great idea? Whatever,the tracks in this game are realy good and theBrawl is the best brawler i have ever played.All of the game are really amazing and it´s have a story mode.The story mode was really exited and real great.The characters of it are just awesome.It has the Nintendo Allstars,new guys,how Pit and Sonic and F***ing Solid Snake.Thats just awesome.Who comes of a so great idea? Whatever,the tracks in this game are realy good and the stages,too.Nothing more to say. Expand
  64. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Hands down one of the best fighters of this generation. This game has so much to offer that you will be playing this game for nearly years (like me). The roster is great, the fighting is very easy to get into and its just so fun and addicting with your friends that you will be playing this game for hours that you won't know passed. The story mode is pretty good (again especially withHands down one of the best fighters of this generation. This game has so much to offer that you will be playing this game for nearly years (like me). The roster is great, the fighting is very easy to get into and its just so fun and addicting with your friends that you will be playing this game for hours that you won't know passed. The story mode is pretty good (again especially with friends) and the soundtrack is just a hall down nostalgia lane. The online mode is the only issue i have, but i don't play online almost at all, so it does not bother me that much. This game for me is borderline perfect. Expand
  65. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    The definitive Smash Bros so far (I'm expecting the Wii U version to top it though). Tons of characters, stages, items, and general madness make this an absolute riot in multiplayer and the single player is the best of any Smash Bros game yet too in my opinion. Only complaints for me are the character balance problems and some of the final smashes being far more useful than others. OtherThe definitive Smash Bros so far (I'm expecting the Wii U version to top it though). Tons of characters, stages, items, and general madness make this an absolute riot in multiplayer and the single player is the best of any Smash Bros game yet too in my opinion. Only complaints for me are the character balance problems and some of the final smashes being far more useful than others. Other than that this thing rocks and is one of the best local multiplayer games ever, not least because of the lack of need for split screens. Expand
  66. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Can't help but hate the new Pokémon appearing here; generational shift, I guess. I hear my poor Jigglypuff was severely weakened. I'll see for myself, if I ever get to unlock the darn thing. There was nothing more satisfying than having other players running for their lives in Melee whenever Jigglypuff started to float their way. They'd run, but never get far. She's just such a tantalizingCan't help but hate the new Pokémon appearing here; generational shift, I guess. I hear my poor Jigglypuff was severely weakened. I'll see for myself, if I ever get to unlock the darn thing. There was nothing more satisfying than having other players running for their lives in Melee whenever Jigglypuff started to float their way. They'd run, but never get far. She's just such a tantalizing target. "I can get in one little hit, can't I? Finally teach that jerk to chase me with Jigglypuff..." Float-dodge, parry, pound, jump, Air Rest! See you in Hell, Pikachu.

    Fights and fun:
    After you turn off the stupider items, brawl is amazing. I crank my handicap way up and my 3-year-old can play with me (meaning, I fight the wife or a CPU character, and the little one goes to town with Yoshi, putting everyone in eggs, flailing about at random, and giggling maniacally).

    Side note:
    Dear Nintendo: Having your Nintendog jump up on the screen while I'm fighting isn't cute, it's annoying. It makes me want to build a robot puppy-body so that I can upload the puppy AI and beat it with a rolled-up newspaper. Bad puppy!. Where was I? Oh, right. Fun! Fun! Fun! Most of the bad stuff has an option to turn it off. Refreshing!

    Levels:
    The levels feel smaller than in previous games, and I it's a pity that more old stages weren't brought forward into this iteration.I haven't engaged in level-building, but I expect it will help somewhat in remedying this, though the levels obviously won't have the soul and quirky events that mix things up in official levels.

    Characters:
    The characters are still stellar, adding more to the roster, but cutting a few in the process. I don't see why everyone couldn't have come to the party... Most of your old favourites are back, and everyone looks slick. Some, you'll like, and some, you'll hate. Everyone will find three or four favourites and use those to build a reputation among friends and family.

    Under-the-hood tinkering:
    I understand that some of what were termed "balance issues" (otherwise known in loftier circles as "Captain Falcon wins") have been corrected, and I'll grant that handling is a bit different from Melee, but overall, everything still feels about right. Some go on about the removal of the exploitable glitch that allowed a technique known as "wave-dashing", but I think this is good. Wave-dashing is dumb, and the fact that tournaments devolved into obsessive-compulsive mastering of this technique makes me glad I had nothing to do with that nonsense. It makes the game look and sound terrible when you're playing. What's wrong with you? Just go fight that little boy and those weird monsters like God intended; with fireballs and bad fashion sense.

    Story mode:
    Dumb, as always. It's just there to unlock characters anyhow, right?

    This is a phenomenal game. Get it. If the next one is a worthy successor, get that too. Not sure about the 3DS one. This is, at its core, a communal game; beyond just being social. Handheld gaming doesn't have the right atmosphere for that.
    Expand
  67. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    This game is fantastic. The story mode is fun, and has a great way of introducing new characters. There's all kinds of fantastic things to do and change on here, and it's the best fighting game I've played. In fact, I think this is my favorite game of all time. This game is truly amazing.

    If you don't have this game, I HIGHLY recommend getting it as soon as you can. You'll be glad you
    This game is fantastic. The story mode is fun, and has a great way of introducing new characters. There's all kinds of fantastic things to do and change on here, and it's the best fighting game I've played. In fact, I think this is my favorite game of all time. This game is truly amazing.

    If you don't have this game, I HIGHLY recommend getting it as soon as you can. You'll be glad you did. It never gets boring, and you'll love it.
    Expand
  68. Aug 4, 2014
    8
    How to say all that's already been said? By repeating it. SMBB is an awesome game, a great fighter with some of the most interesting characters ever put on a game where you beat the hell out of your friends. It's a great game and it's better enjoyed with some good company.
  69. Sep 22, 2014
    9
    Since when has it been cool to hate on Smash Bros? Never. And it never will be. Still one of the most wildly fun games to play with friends over or even by yourself.
  70. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brilliant love playing this game with my brother, and I love the single player mode and the final boss with master hand, my favourite game of all time. Expand
  71. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    super smash bros brawl is the best game on the wii. with stunning animation,great game play and better replay value than almost any game.It is one of the most fun addictive games in recent memory
  72. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome. Fans of the series will enjoy this game. Although the competitive fans of the series will be negative about Brawl, this game is really good. This might be the best fighting game of all time. You can play as tons of Nintendo characters, and beat the living crap out of everyone. The character roster is amazing. Brawl also introduces an adventure mode, where you fightThis game is awesome. Fans of the series will enjoy this game. Although the competitive fans of the series will be negative about Brawl, this game is really good. This might be the best fighting game of all time. You can play as tons of Nintendo characters, and beat the living crap out of everyone. The character roster is amazing. Brawl also introduces an adventure mode, where you fight against Tabuu and subspace. It is really fun to see all your favorite Nintendo characters work together to fight evil. You will never get bored of this game. This also introduces new items including assist trophies and final smashes. I personally don't like items on, but if you really want to add chaos to your game, then go ahead. Assist trophies are even more nintendo characters joining in for a little bit to help you fight. Final smashes are great finishing moves. There are also stickers, which you can collect and use in adventure mode. There are more trophies, stages, and pokemon added. Overall, this game is worth getting. If I were you, get the game as soon as possible. I'm serious. Its that good. Expand
  73. SidoD.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. while the speed is slower, the mechanics are different which make it a different game than melee. this is a different game, but that is why its just awesome.
  74. DylanB.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    This game is by far the strongest and most well built game on the Wii. from the minute you pick it you are going to want to keep playing it. Its a all around amazing title that lives up to melee.
  75. JasonF.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    As a fan of all previous SSB games, I found this one to be as enjoyable as all of the others. I rate the graphics, music and content of the game very highly, but the inflexibility (in most cases) of the map maker and the lack of quality in the online "With Anyone" is what takes away my perfect score. Never the less, I'm a huge fan of the series and have been enjoying my copy of Brawl As a fan of all previous SSB games, I found this one to be as enjoyable as all of the others. I rate the graphics, music and content of the game very highly, but the inflexibility (in most cases) of the map maker and the lack of quality in the online "With Anyone" is what takes away my perfect score. Never the less, I'm a huge fan of the series and have been enjoying my copy of Brawl since day one. I only hope Nintendo updates the online play when playing "With Anyone". Two minute four person free for alls leave a lot of room for improvement and (less importantly) the map editor comes out with new parts/backgrounds/space. Expand
  76. PritenV.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    I am a pro of Melee (yes, that means a tourney player) and while I regret the loss of wavedashing and other advanced moves and techniques, I have no reason to fuss over it when Nintendo has delivered to us what is probably the best game it ever created, except for maybe Super Mario Bros. The nostalgia alone should force any reasonable fan to get this game-the Chronicle is a list of every I am a pro of Melee (yes, that means a tourney player) and while I regret the loss of wavedashing and other advanced moves and techniques, I have no reason to fuss over it when Nintendo has delivered to us what is probably the best game it ever created, except for maybe Super Mario Bros. The nostalgia alone should force any reasonable fan to get this game-the Chronicle is a list of every Nintendo game ever created! Unbelievable! This is easily the best game in the series and there can be no doubt: if you have a Wii, you need to have this game in your collection. Expand
  77. AndyO.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    A very great game. Ussualy ill expect zeros from people that live halo or ect. but im kinda shocked how people who played this jewel of a series. You need to find some good in this game. Im a big nintendo fan (even though i have been on the computer most of the time now), and the graphix and sound are very good. They kept the gameplay the same for the most part and added some nessecary A very great game. Ussualy ill expect zeros from people that live halo or ect. but im kinda shocked how people who played this jewel of a series. You need to find some good in this game. Im a big nintendo fan (even though i have been on the computer most of the time now), and the graphix and sound are very good. They kept the gameplay the same for the most part and added some nessecary features (the final smashes are just SWEET). The balance is perfect, all the extras make this game worth the buy. Dont get me started on the replayability, you will be playing this game in 5, 7, 10 years from now (exgaggeration, 4 or 5 seems reasonable). Sure... the thing is like a clone (but better!) but i think nintendo recognizes when a concept has reached its full potential. (if they can find another thing to raise the bar on this, they deserve a award) The only thing i think would need improvement is the online play (its kinda slopy, looks like it was made in a hurry) and the mapmaker (add some more depth!!!!). Expand
  78. LeonM.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Nintendo has done it again. Super Smash Bros. Brawl has done what it was promising to do for a while. After many delays it has finally come out, and to be honest, it doesn't get much better than this. The new levels are awesome, the music is awesome, the adventure mode is awesome, the new moves are awesome, the characters are awesome, ETC ETC. I simply cannot praise this game enough. Nintendo has done it again. Super Smash Bros. Brawl has done what it was promising to do for a while. After many delays it has finally come out, and to be honest, it doesn't get much better than this. The new levels are awesome, the music is awesome, the adventure mode is awesome, the new moves are awesome, the characters are awesome, ETC ETC. I simply cannot praise this game enough. Definitely worth the money. Expand
  79. TedAwesome
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    A nice selection of characters and stages Some great music A lot of unlockables Terrible, unnecessary loading times. Terrible online (With Anyone - the rest is Nintendo's fault) Wasted characters.
  80. ThomasR.
    Apr 9, 2008
    8
    Fairly good game, not everything i'd thought i'd be. Honestly, I don't see why it's so acclaimed. The graphics are great, the music is great, and the massive selection of characters is great, but it's still the same old fighting game. Character's final smash moves are simply breathtaking, yet Subspace Emissary is absolutely horrible with no apparent storyline Fairly good game, not everything i'd thought i'd be. Honestly, I don't see why it's so acclaimed. The graphics are great, the music is great, and the massive selection of characters is great, but it's still the same old fighting game. Character's final smash moves are simply breathtaking, yet Subspace Emissary is absolutely horrible with no apparent storyline whatsoever. All in all, this game deserves nothing more than an 8.5 which I rounded down to an 8. Expand
  81. JoshuaM.
    May 23, 2008
    8
    An awesome game, but there were some problems with play testing in that some of the old characters like link is pretty shit now whereas other new characters like pit and lucas are a bit overpowered. Still a really fun game to play
  82. JackH.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed Melee, so I like Brawl just as much, if not more. I'm glad that you can now create your own stages, and I only dislike 2 or 3 characters (thank god Pichu got left out). Online was a little disappointing, but overall it is one of the best games for the Wii.
  83. TomH.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Anyone who doest like this game because they just don't is a retard. and yes I'm talking about everyone who use the 5 immortal words 'i just don't like it'. i can understand people not liking the game its just when people cant be bothered to explain to everyone who reads it why they don't like it that is when the review becomes completely pointless and Anyone who doest like this game because they just don't is a retard. and yes I'm talking about everyone who use the 5 immortal words 'i just don't like it'. i can understand people not liking the game its just when people cant be bothered to explain to everyone who reads it why they don't like it that is when the review becomes completely pointless and unhelpful it is simply stating your opinion on something an opinion that people who don't know you don't care about all they care about is what the game is like not whether you like it or not. Expand
  84. JoshuaL.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    This game is really exciting. I have been playing this game since I got it and there are many things to do. Some of the modes were copied from melee and are similar but they improved it and made it better. The multiplayer is a blast with friends and some of the new items and rules make it more action packed and amazing. The graphics on the characters are well detailed but I don't This game is really exciting. I have been playing this game since I got it and there are many things to do. Some of the modes were copied from melee and are similar but they improved it and made it better. The multiplayer is a blast with friends and some of the new items and rules make it more action packed and amazing. The graphics on the characters are well detailed but I don't really mind about how good or bad the graphics are, I always play this game whenever I have a chance and I enjoy playing it all the time. Expand
  85. OwenM
    May 6, 2008
    7
    Brawl is a good game, but it doesn't bring anything really new to the table. While it has a vastly superior single player mode, the story itself is empty and really isn't worth the 7 hours or so to play through it. The speed of gameplay has been brought down. I don't think anyone is a fan of the random tripping either. It's a great game to buy if you don't already Brawl is a good game, but it doesn't bring anything really new to the table. While it has a vastly superior single player mode, the story itself is empty and really isn't worth the 7 hours or so to play through it. The speed of gameplay has been brought down. I don't think anyone is a fan of the random tripping either. It's a great game to buy if you don't already have Smash Bros Melee. Expand
  86. ManoelQ.
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    "Super Smash Bros. Brawl" is an intense game, which makes you play for hours without wanting to stop. The game is perfect in replay and fun manners, but it has long loading screens and the Solo Mode could be a little better.
  87. CianM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    I loved this game. I have about 50-70 hours racked up and still going. In response to everyone saying it's not different enough from Melee, well what do you want? There was little that could be improved and the vast majority of sequels don't do much to change the core gameplay. This takes any problems with Melee and chucks them out the window. Anyway let's just say I loved this game. I have about 50-70 hours racked up and still going. In response to everyone saying it's not different enough from Melee, well what do you want? There was little that could be improved and the vast majority of sequels don't do much to change the core gameplay. This takes any problems with Melee and chucks them out the window. Anyway let's just say it's an easy game to play but difficult to master Expand
  88. LanceC.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    The game is very fun. So fun tht it will keep your interest for many months ,or even years, to come. Although I don't believe any game can be perfect, since nothing is perfect, this game does stand up there. I do complain about the stale stage builder and Nintendo probably rushed with online gameplay. Subspace Emmissary is pretty fun for the first time, but then you will notice it The game is very fun. So fun tht it will keep your interest for many months ,or even years, to come. Although I don't believe any game can be perfect, since nothing is perfect, this game does stand up there. I do complain about the stale stage builder and Nintendo probably rushed with online gameplay. Subspace Emmissary is pretty fun for the first time, but then you will notice it sometimes get repetitive. I also think they should have kept some thing from melee, like not weakening some of the fighters, or slower speed. Overall, it is still very good and a must-have for the wii. Expand
  89. Brian
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    Truly the best of the series so far. Vastly imroved graphics, smash balls, and the new Subspace Emissary make this one of the best games on the Wii. No other game has had all my relatives on one HD TV and watch us Brawl till there is no tomorrow! A large amount of characters, items, stages, and modes keeps this game so fresh through out the days I play. Also, the challanges the game has Truly the best of the series so far. Vastly imroved graphics, smash balls, and the new Subspace Emissary make this one of the best games on the Wii. No other game has had all my relatives on one HD TV and watch us Brawl till there is no tomorrow! A large amount of characters, items, stages, and modes keeps this game so fresh through out the days I play. Also, the challanges the game has is the closest thing to Xbox 360's Achievements the Wii can get. The only downside to this is the online. When you play "With Anyone", it almost never gets me with another Brawler quick, and sometimes it disconnects. "With Friends" is slightly better, but sometimes it is very laggy. JUST BY THIS GAME!! Expand
  90. totlmstr
    Jul 3, 2008
    8
    It's not the absolute best game out there; I agree with the people who say "It can get boring after a while", as that it can. The two major downsides to the game is the low replayablity it has, and the fact that "Microsoft fanboys" (looks that way for most bad ratings, since a stupid person among them said that Halo 3 has more guns, etc.; how did that get there?) will rate it badly It's not the absolute best game out there; I agree with the people who say "It can get boring after a while", as that it can. The two major downsides to the game is the low replayablity it has, and the fact that "Microsoft fanboys" (looks that way for most bad ratings, since a stupid person among them said that Halo 3 has more guns, etc.; how did that get there?) will rate it badly for no apparant reason (Ex.: a guy in the reviews said "you can't even see your own HP", which is the reason to his low score; wow). Single-player, on the other hand, is the one thing that raises the bar for SSBB. SSE (one guy among the reviews said "Space Station Emassary," lol). It actually is the best thing in the game, but it only lasts for less than 5 hours if you want to finish quickly. Then again, raise the bar to Intense mode on it and you got a killer 'sub'-game (i.e., 2 games in one; perfect). Also, Intense mode on any game mode (Boss Battles, for example) makes any mode extremely challenging, but frustrating, and that makes me come back for more. AI is incredible, to say the least. On Level 9 AI in 4-Vs., Sonic, for example, is jawdroping. He seriously goes nuts on the stage, making him an excellent fighter to fight against. My personal favorite in the game is Lucario, since his attacks can be more powerful to a point where he's over-powered (300% and Last-place can instant-KO anyone over 50%). And you do not want to miss out on Snake's Codec messages: they're too hilarious. I believe it's the single-player that's better than the multi-, since there's not a lot of variation between the fighters (3 Fox Clones?!). If only Nintendo removed the clones in the game, or at least made the clones different from each other (Toon Link to have the Phantom Hourglass would've been great), then it would've gotten a higher score. Then again, who's the guy complaining about a 94-rated game: fanboys? Expand
  91. HugoZ
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    SSBB is just a great game. It's especially fun if you can get the wii's weird connection to work, and play online with friends or even total strangers. But the single player experience is definitely good too. But some of the requirements for new types to play take a bit too long. 200 special brawls to get new special settings for special brawl? However, this game is a game SSBB is just a great game. It's especially fun if you can get the wii's weird connection to work, and play online with friends or even total strangers. But the single player experience is definitely good too. But some of the requirements for new types to play take a bit too long. 200 special brawls to get new special settings for special brawl? However, this game is a game i'll remember, and if it had a good and clear tutorial, and not just a controls list, it would have made a score of 10. But I feel that it doesn't deserve a 10 rating because of a few flaws. But overall, it's the best game for the wii you can have, and it's a must for anyone who played the previous Super Smash Bros. games. Expand
  92. MattC
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This game repolishes and remasters the smash bros. series. For people that say nothing has changed or the game is horrible, you either haven't given it a chance or have no friends to play it with. Levels are 10x more interactive than in brawl, each character has a smash attack (not in any other games) Of COURSE it's going to be similiar to melee, its a SEQUEL. Halo 3 isn't This game repolishes and remasters the smash bros. series. For people that say nothing has changed or the game is horrible, you either haven't given it a chance or have no friends to play it with. Levels are 10x more interactive than in brawl, each character has a smash attack (not in any other games) Of COURSE it's going to be similiar to melee, its a SEQUEL. Halo 3 isn't a completely different game than Halo 2. It's just improved. Yes the online sucks and the stat screens are unorganized, but the playability of this game is incredible. I have played the game over 150 hours since it's come out and still play it with my friends to this day. A game that you can still play after almost 2 years, is WELL worth the money. Expand
  93. CodyT
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    This game.........is absolutely incredible! It has a good 60-80 hours of play time just to unlock everything, and then hundreds more hours of sheer replay value. The characters are all balanced, and insane amount of stages add to the fun. Wow. Just wow.
  94. Vetle
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    The Super Smash Bros. series made a new epoch inside fighting games, but also multiplayer generally. Brawl continues the trend and brings us a game wich will be played for the following 5 years. The game is simply made of the competetive play calibre. However, it was rather disappointing in some ways, for example the online play wich was haunted by massive lagg. And as we know, in Smash The Super Smash Bros. series made a new epoch inside fighting games, but also multiplayer generally. Brawl continues the trend and brings us a game wich will be played for the following 5 years. The game is simply made of the competetive play calibre. However, it was rather disappointing in some ways, for example the online play wich was haunted by massive lagg. And as we know, in Smash Bros. you have to be 100 percent precise at all time to win the match wich is kinda hard with this lagg haunting us. Nevertheless! Best fighting game evah and pwns ass! Woah! 10/10! Expand
  95. SamK
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    One of the deepest, most intuitive games ever created. No other game rewards you for playing as much as the Smash series does. Still no game like it, or more fun. I will be playing this game for hours a week every week until the next sequel comes out, as I did with Melee from 2001 to 2008.
  96. ApicalMeristem
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    Brawl is the funnest game I've had in ages, and it's far better than Melee and the original.

    Anyone who says it's just Melee with a few more features is ignorant and likely hasn't actually touche it or given it a chance. It's got immense replay value to last for years, and Smash actually has a great single player mode this time. It's the absolutely best
    Brawl is the funnest game I've had in ages, and it's far better than Melee and the original.

    Anyone who says it's just Melee with a few more features is ignorant and likely hasn't actually touche it or given it a chance. It's got immense replay value to last for years, and Smash actually has a great single player mode this time.

    It's the absolutely best looking game on the Wii right now. Everything is completely smooth, real time, crisp and surprisingly detailed.

    With 287 music tracks, over 600 trophies, over 600 stickers, 35-40 (depending on how you take transformations) characters, and a myriad of modes to play with, Brawl will be sure to enthrall players for years to come. Brawl has surpassed my own expectations, and it'll like surpass yours too.
    Expand
  97. KevinG.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    While the game is mixed graphically, it's clearly a step up from the GameCube game, but not by as much as most would have thought; although, the sheer amount of content in the game and the amount of new content in the game, all of which is enjoyable, really adds to the entire gameplay experience. Most games just add things to make a game longer and usually force you to complete While the game is mixed graphically, it's clearly a step up from the GameCube game, but not by as much as most would have thought; although, the sheer amount of content in the game and the amount of new content in the game, all of which is enjoyable, really adds to the entire gameplay experience. Most games just add things to make a game longer and usually force you to complete useless tasks so you can say you spent that money of yours properly because of the time you spent in the game. The worst part is, it's obvious Sakurai doesn't favor the Wiimote at all. Being a veteran Smash player w/ over 9600 hours in Melee and quite a few in the first game, I can clearly state that the Wiimote/Nunchuck combo is already the favorite of mine. My complaint lies in Sakurai's hatred of the Wiimote and most developer's candid use of it. It was used well in Resident Evil 4, Zelda: Twilight Princess, and Super Mario Galaxy to name a few yet, Super Smash Bros. Brawl doesn't even have pointer functionality. I found myself constantly moving the pointer as well as the analog stick to point at objects on the screen, even when realizing I was doing it because it is so natural to point at things with the controller. I quit playing Melee for the last couple years because of the controls becoming boring as I was hitting the limits of the controller itself. I still thing Brawl is fun and that's really all that matters, but could it have hurt to at least play around w/ some innovative Wiimote functionality? Adding in waggle for smash attacks is the same as allowing smash attacks on the C-Stick; it just makes players claim it is cheating thus making it unusable unless you play alone or with beginners. But much of the game was improved and the balancing is even far better than the last game which only had balance problems because of glitch exploits, at least from my experience. The AI has improved greatly so much so that it's smart and not just so inhuman where you would pull off a fully charged blaster special attack using Samus and the AI would immediately block or dodge it as if it was reading the button presses in your mind. It wasn't always like that, but 90% of the time it was. It's good to know that Brawl at least lets playing with the AI not get boring even though they added in online play. Bonus mode was also exempt from this game as well as more Solo modes and variations of them. It would've added more to the single-player experience most players have who do not play online. This game deserves a 10 for fun, but a 0 for innovation. I don't think it's fair to grade a game on it's failure to innovate, but in this day and age, especially on the Wii, use the Wiimote and use it well just as only a handful of Wii games have. I guess I would have to say then, it's better to not include something you couldn't get right, but at least include what you could have (pointer functionality in the menus). Expand
  98. DavidP.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    While it isn't an amazing technical achievement in the least, if you're just looking for a fun game, especially to play with friends, Nintendo has truly created a masterpiece in Brawl.
  99. JasonH.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    As far as Super smash bros is concerned this is by far the best yet, as far as fighting games are concerned you can not get more crazy fun and action than this game and ass far as Wii games are concerned this game is a must own. The fighting system is more balanced than previous iterations by making the heaver characters resilient to flinching from small hits, the single player/co op game As far as Super smash bros is concerned this is by far the best yet, as far as fighting games are concerned you can not get more crazy fun and action than this game and ass far as Wii games are concerned this game is a must own. The fighting system is more balanced than previous iterations by making the heaver characters resilient to flinching from small hits, the single player/co op game is perhaps the longest and most engrossing in the fighting game genre full of cgi and crazy bosses and the stickers even allow you to make your characters stronger in a semi rpg fashion. There is online multiplayer and even a level builder not to mention a wide variety of unlockable songs stages characters and trophies. This is a dream to any Nintendo fan or Wii owner ever. Expand
  100. StaceyG.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    Great game...done nothing but play it since we got it. The unlockables seem to have no end, and we have just as much fun playing co-op as we do single player.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Brawl is easily the most fun I’ve had on a Wii, and could be the most fun I’ve had with a game in ages. It’s just that good. There is just so much to do, and so many different and refreshing things added that it would be a crime not to at least take a look.
  2. Rarely has any title delivered so much amazing action, such a wide variety of modes, and so many hours of value. It doesn't get any better than this. [Mar 2008, p.82]
  3. It’s obvious that developer Game Arts have put a painstaking amount of effort into creating this game and every time we play it we’re discovering new Nintendo references which bring back a rush of nostalgia. Brawl’s chaotic multiplayer sessions are some of the best to be had on the system, plus there are plenty of challenges and modes to amuse those ‘friend-impaired’ individuals out there as well. It’s a no-brainer, every serious Nintendo fan out there should score themselves a copy of this game, invite some friends/victims around, and have a smashing good time.