• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    I bought this game for the Wii system about a month ago and forgot I had it. I found it last week in the bag and decided to put it in my system. I am TOTALLY satisfied with it!!! I was so surprised and impressed at the time of my weigh it to see that it's done exactly the way they do it on the show. I found myself getting nervous and then excited to see that I lost two pounds. I'veI bought this game for the Wii system about a month ago and forgot I had it. I found it last week in the bag and decided to put it in my system. I am TOTALLY satisfied with it!!! I was so surprised and impressed at the time of my weigh it to see that it's done exactly the way they do it on the show. I found myself getting nervous and then excited to see that I lost two pounds. I've decided that maybe I should eat better to see if how much I can lose on a diet and working out. I'd recommend this game to anyone!!!! Expand
  2. RobertG
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    I LOVE this show and I LOVE this game. I haven't had such a hard workout for ages. Bob and Jillian give really clear instructions too. The challenge games are fun too and the addition of Health Tips and recipes is great!
  3. JillU
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    This is the best workout game i have played on the Wii. You really sweat! Bob an Jillian have different styles of working with you (I like Bob better), and the added benefits of lifestyle aspects like recipes are perfect.
  4. WallyK
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Lets face it. No game as yet can watch your movements. This is as close as it comes. You have to be honest during game play or get a personal trainer to yell at you. Great workout, different intensity levels,easy to understand and easy on my knees. A problem with other workouts. I gave it a 9 only because I wish they had included some hand weight activity. (which you can do on your own) Lets face it. No game as yet can watch your movements. This is as close as it comes. You have to be honest during game play or get a personal trainer to yell at you. Great workout, different intensity levels,easy to understand and easy on my knees. A problem with other workouts. I gave it a 9 only because I wish they had included some hand weight activity. (which you can do on your own) Great game! Expand
  5. MeganO
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    I love this game, but I didn't give it a 10 because the warm-up is always the same and it doesn't have a lot of excersises to choose from. BUT I did give it an 8 because I did the Upper Body workout two days ago and I'm still feeling it in my abs and arms. It definitely does work, you just have to do it correctly and not be lazy!
  6. JamesM.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    I'm a huge fan of the show and now I'm a huge fan of the game. The Biggest Loser really delivers a punishing workout. The routines look as if they have been very carefully created to give you a properly balanced workout! I was really sweating - and now that I've been using this game properly for nearly a week I have even lost a few pounds too. I'll be following the 12 I'm a huge fan of the show and now I'm a huge fan of the game. The Biggest Loser really delivers a punishing workout. The routines look as if they have been very carefully created to give you a properly balanced workout! I was really sweating - and now that I've been using this game properly for nearly a week I have even lost a few pounds too. I'll be following the 12 week program and hopefully losing a lot of weight! It's very easy to use, the controls are really simple and most of all IT WORKS! Expand
  7. JL
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    The exercises are tough but not too hard on my knees/joints(a problem I had with both EA Active and My Fitness Coach). I really like how smooth the circuits are without having to use extra thigh straps/bands. I like this much better than EA Active. Like Anna, I also am skeptical of Jorge's review, I found the game to be very responsive, sometimes it did take me a few tries to figure The exercises are tough but not too hard on my knees/joints(a problem I had with both EA Active and My Fitness Coach). I really like how smooth the circuits are without having to use extra thigh straps/bands. I like this much better than EA Active. Like Anna, I also am skeptical of Jorge's review, I found the game to be very responsive, sometimes it did take me a few tries to figure out the speed and correct placements for an exercise but overall it works very well you just have to perfect your form/pace(which is not easy, but most things worth doing aren't exactly easy). I think that is true with any exercise/workout. I found the game to be easy to use, not too complicated(you can change your exercise schedule by clicking unlock schedule and moving the workouts to different days, and I figured that out without reading the instructions) I think there is a little room for improvement(like some of the recipes don't tell you how many servings they make--example: Quick Rice Pudding" in desserts) but overall it's a very motivating/beneficial game to me, it definitely feels like it is going to be the help I need to push me past a hard plateau I've been on for several weeks. Expand
  8. JorgeU
    Oct 8, 2009
    1
    Based upon the hit TV show, The Biggest Loser starts well with Bob Harper and Jillian Michael's fantastic personalities. Soon after you'll realize that their inclusion in the game can't cover up the fact that the presentation is too complicated and unfriendly. If you can make it past those hiccups, you'll find the most damning evidence of a game that didn't get a Based upon the hit TV show, The Biggest Loser starts well with Bob Harper and Jillian Michael's fantastic personalities. Soon after you'll realize that their inclusion in the game can't cover up the fact that the presentation is too complicated and unfriendly. If you can make it past those hiccups, you'll find the most damning evidence of a game that didn't get a lot of developer attention. The gameplay, essentially the way the game reacts with motion controls, is off. You'll do the exercises and the game doesn't register it at all, or it'll register some movement that I've never done. It's mostly because of the gameplay issues that I cannot recommend this game and give it the harsh low score it received. Expand
  9. AnnaA.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    I'm a huge fan of the show and have a lot of respect for what it has done to change people's lives. I picked up the game and am amazed at the intensity of the workout. The routines, recipes and lifestyle tips are really great and getting me to start up a long-overdue fitness regime. I am skeptical of Jorge's review--how would he have insight into the attention given to the I'm a huge fan of the show and have a lot of respect for what it has done to change people's lives. I picked up the game and am amazed at the intensity of the workout. The routines, recipes and lifestyle tips are really great and getting me to start up a long-overdue fitness regime. I am skeptical of Jorge's review--how would he have insight into the attention given to the game by the developer? Seems like a planted review. I had no issues with controls or the game's presentation. Expand
  10. TashaG
    Jan 21, 2010
    7
    This game has motivated me to move. I am an excercise avoider...and with it right there in the livingroom, I have no excuse. I also can do it with no sneakers on...which for some reason I really enjoy?! Jillian makes me mad, but Bob I love, the first few times he called me his "overweight lova" I had to stop and laugh. PROS: challenges are fun (and hard) workouts are diverse and not This game has motivated me to move. I am an excercise avoider...and with it right there in the livingroom, I have no excuse. I also can do it with no sneakers on...which for some reason I really enjoy?! Jillian makes me mad, but Bob I love, the first few times he called me his "overweight lova" I had to stop and laugh. PROS: challenges are fun (and hard) workouts are diverse and not boring options for 1,2 and 3 month work out schedule options for beginer, mod, and advanced workouts can change schedule around ahead of time can put in calories eaten daily gives feedback on calorie intake and workouts CONS: why can't my Mii be my character? I don't want to be Ali, nor do I want her weight loss to register at MY weigh in. A BIG disapointment for me. It does track my weight loss on a graph, but not when I step on the scale. Only one warm up and cool down routine is offered. Expand
  11. AngieL
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I am a fan of the show, but I wasn't planning on buying this game. It went on sale some local stores after the new year so I caved in and bought it. I am soooo GLAD I did! I am very impressed with this game! It has different levels so you don't have to worry if you are just starting out on an exercise routine. I do workout at a gym and also run, but after playing this (beginner I am a fan of the show, but I wasn't planning on buying this game. It went on sale some local stores after the new year so I caved in and bought it. I am soooo GLAD I did! I am very impressed with this game! It has different levels so you don't have to worry if you are just starting out on an exercise routine. I do workout at a gym and also run, but after playing this (beginner level on game - I might add) I used muscles that I didn't know I had!!!!! I would recommend this to anyone ! Expand
  12. SophieC
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME!!! I really enjoy doing the workouts! I love how you do the workouts a few times and go on to a new one. The workouts only last a few seconds each! I can tell you that that first workout was tough and I felt it for 2 days after. It was a good pain though, it meant that it's doing it's job. I haven't tried the recipes yet but that's coming. I give this I LOVE THIS GAME!!! I really enjoy doing the workouts! I love how you do the workouts a few times and go on to a new one. The workouts only last a few seconds each! I can tell you that that first workout was tough and I felt it for 2 days after. It was a good pain though, it meant that it's doing it's job. I haven't tried the recipes yet but that's coming. I give this game A+++++++++++++ Expand
  13. JulieD
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    I just bought this game last night. I went to GameStop and the sales guy tried to sell me the EA Fit one. He did not sell me enough. It was $20 more and I can go by the resistant bands at Wal-Mart for about $11-13. I love this! I was sweating my butt off. I am very excited and will keep everyone posted.
  14. miker
    Dec 23, 2009
    1
    didnt really do it for me. Not the best looking game and rushed and unpolished in places. A quick cash-in attempt on the license, could have been so much better if done right.
  15. KevinW
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME! the only reason why i didnt give it a ten is becuase there eyes are dead and weird. ( my fav part is the dreaded elimination, lol_ u guys did a great job of gettin people off there butts in the game and on your show!!!
  16. FrankE
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    This game literally ROCKS my sports socks right off! IN the most AWESOME way! It combines the AWESOME tv show "THE BIGGEST LOSER" with the AWESOME power of a rockingly AWESOME workout. I thought it would be EASY! How wrong I was. I set myself up on the high difficulty level, because I am AWESOME at EXERCISE and then worked through an AWESOME 74 minute workout. Let me tell you, by the end This game literally ROCKS my sports socks right off! IN the most AWESOME way! It combines the AWESOME tv show "THE BIGGEST LOSER" with the AWESOME power of a rockingly AWESOME workout. I thought it would be EASY! How wrong I was. I set myself up on the high difficulty level, because I am AWESOME at EXERCISE and then worked through an AWESOME 74 minute workout. Let me tell you, by the end of my workout I felt like Jillian and pushed me through a mincer. Still - I felt AWESOME! for doing the exercises! There are also some really AWESOME recipes and health tips from the totally AWESOME Bob and Jillian along with some great suggestions on ways for losing weight and keeping it off! AWESOME! I LOVE this AWESOME game and I give it 10/10. This game is much better than Jillian Michaels Fitness Ultimatum 2010 - I guess that just shows you what you can accomplish with two AWESOME trainers. Pay no attention to Jorge. He is obviously not AWESOME! AWESOME! Expand
  17. EmmaR
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    okay, this game is awesome.! My sister was a little heavy and she lost 10 pounds using the game. it works , !
  18. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    I started this program 8 months ago. I lost 70 pounds in 7 months. I love that the workouts get more difficult each week and really do give you a workout. I also love that you are held accountable for your workouts by losing points each week if you don't complete them. I have noticed a few cases where my movements did not register. One exercise in particular that never registers, butI started this program 8 months ago. I lost 70 pounds in 7 months. I love that the workouts get more difficult each week and really do give you a workout. I also love that you are held accountable for your workouts by losing points each week if you don't complete them. I have noticed a few cases where my movements did not register. One exercise in particular that never registers, but overall not an issue. The only other issue I have found is the inconsistency of the weekly challenge. I have done some where I broke records most rounds and still got "0" credit for it which is frustrating. But 72 lbs. lost from a size 16 to a 4 are results that can't be argued with! Expand
  19. May 29, 2011
    0
    I would really enjoy this ... except it doesn't always work ... and like a lot of people I don't deal well with frustration. It really hurts when you're running and kicking your ass off and the damned machine isn't registering the work you're doing. Espeially when the program keeps telling you to put the remote in your left/right pocket ... what pocket?!? And any workout clothes that doI would really enjoy this ... except it doesn't always work ... and like a lot of people I don't deal well with frustration. It really hurts when you're running and kicking your ass off and the damned machine isn't registering the work you're doing. Espeially when the program keeps telling you to put the remote in your left/right pocket ... what pocket?!? And any workout clothes that do have pockets ... they're so small that the remote falls out anyway. The workouts are good ... the controller sucks huge! I've actually gotten so frustrated that I'm tempted to throw it off my 11th floor balcony ... what's the point of keeping score ... I may as well end up with a 0 score ... but get a decent workout anyway ... Expand
  20. Jun 26, 2011
    6
    I wanted to comment on the comments I have been reading as well. I do believe that you will sweat more with this game than others (and I also have the EA Active as well). After 18 mins of yoga, I could feel the drips sliding down my face whereas I wouldn't have experienced tha with the other games (well perhaps Just Dance). I have to agree whole heartedly with Frustrated when they speakI wanted to comment on the comments I have been reading as well. I do believe that you will sweat more with this game than others (and I also have the EA Active as well). After 18 mins of yoga, I could feel the drips sliding down my face whereas I wouldn't have experienced tha with the other games (well perhaps Just Dance). I have to agree whole heartedly with Frustrated when they speak about pockets. I was in the Yoga routine and they said to put it in my pocket (this was the same for the Light Cycle) and not knowing what to do I held the wii remote against my leg as if it were in a pocket. Well that works for the Light Cycle, but not for the hip reflexes they want you to do in Yoga so I just sat on the floor and mimicked the movement with my arm. I've heard some say it doesn't register the movements, but I found it did with me (it's just that I'm use to getting more feedback from the amount of things I"m doing). I gave it a 6 mostly because I look at everything from presentation, usability, entertainment, selection, and fitness routines. Overall, I think I will end up dropping the game and going back to Wii Fit/ Fit Plus if the other routines are not very fun. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. The harder players work out the better the avatars will look at the end of their program. This is a neat extra incentive to continue to play this game.
  2. One might be quick to pass a title like this off as an attempt to cash in on a popular TV show. Heck, we see it all the time. There is real value here though....The game is an extension of the show in that it provides a new way of enabling people to lose weight and this deserves praise.
  3. Fans of the show will enjoy this title immensely, while others can still get a lot out of the content offered here, especially if their only exposure to exercise is Wii Fit.