The Bigs Wii

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisV.
    Jul 11, 2007
    7
    Although it's really shallow and most of the control needs work, some parts of this game border on genius and this is a great taste of what is to come on Wii. Pitching has an intuitive control that really brings you into the game, and I really hope they develop it further. Batting is too easy and should take swing location into account. Throwing the ball is horrible ... you will Although it's really shallow and most of the control needs work, some parts of this game border on genius and this is a great taste of what is to come on Wii. Pitching has an intuitive control that really brings you into the game, and I really hope they develop it further. Batting is too easy and should take swing location into account. Throwing the ball is horrible ... you will revert to the old standby of just pushing the direction on the command cross. If they had combined that with a throwing motion on the remote, fielding would have been a completely different story. The worst part of the game is actually the home runs ... both the automatic ones, and the regular ones which the outfielders always seem to be able to reach. Expand
  2. JimP.
    Jul 4, 2007
    7
    I have to give this game a 7 out of 10, although I enjoy the game, in some areas on the Wii it lacks in a bunch of things.
  3. PeterK.
    Jul 9, 2007
    6
    This game had the potential to be great. The pitching is fun and intuitive. You actually have to snap your wrist to throw a curveball. That said, 2kSports has clearly gotten lazy, maybe as a result of their not having any competition (exclusive mlb license). The rosters are horrificially outdated already. You can't change the way the game is played at all (no real options, an option This game had the potential to be great. The pitching is fun and intuitive. You actually have to snap your wrist to throw a curveball. That said, 2kSports has clearly gotten lazy, maybe as a result of their not having any competition (exclusive mlb license). The rosters are horrificially outdated already. You can't change the way the game is played at all (no real options, an option to increase the number of points needed for an automatic home run would be nice). What really hurts this game though is how unintuitive fielding and baserunning are. There is no autoslide option, and slides are often not recognized by the Wii. Too bad. I hope future developers take notes on this game, in terms of making improvements for the future. Expand
  4. SteveB.
    Jul 9, 2007
    5
    While the pitching is really well done, the batting is slightly less intuitive and responsive. On the other hand the fielding and base running is absolutely terrible.
  5. JasonM.
    Jul 6, 2007
    6
    This game is alright. The controls are terrible for fielding and baserunning. There is no computer assistance so if you have more than one base runner it makes things very difficult. For being an arcade style game I thought it would be very easy to pick up and play, but the controls are just too confusing for this style of game. Its worth a rent it you need to play a baseball game, but I This game is alright. The controls are terrible for fielding and baserunning. There is no computer assistance so if you have more than one base runner it makes things very difficult. For being an arcade style game I thought it would be very easy to pick up and play, but the controls are just too confusing for this style of game. Its worth a rent it you need to play a baseball game, but I would just wait until next year when a baseball simulator comes to the wii. Expand
  6. PhillipK.
    Aug 21, 2007
    5
    It's an okay game but has bad graphics and you have to use the nunchuck and the wii-mote to swing the bat which makes un-realistic unlike the baseball in wii sports where you use only the wii-mote.
  7. MatthewM
    Mar 13, 2009
    5
    It was fun for about the first hour or two, but then its appeal was much less. It also over uses the slow-motion moves and has the focussed to much on super human abilities instead of realism. I ended up taking it back because I never played it anymore.

Awards & Rankings

#49 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#47 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 70
    "Decent." There are a few serious issues within the design, such as a laggy swing recognition and some wonky, forced fielding motion controls, but it’s still a respectable MLB experience for Wii gamers, and a solid first effort from 2K Sports on Nintendo’s new system.
  2. Big strikeouts and even bigger homers make The BIGS a fun arcade baseball game, flaws and all.
  3. Nintendo Power
    60
    Unfortunately, the first big foray into baseball sims on the Wii strikes out in many ways. [Aug 2007, p.83]