• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2009
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 252

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    I was very surprised with this game, the graphics are fantastic, this is definitely the best looking Wii game I've seen so far, the controls are fantastic and very responsive, the only problem I had were some very light issues with turning, and melee attacks could use some work, voice acting is good for most of the characters, although the main characters is pretty bland, and while the story does borrow from some other sources, it is still enjoyable, and the multiplayer is fantastic, this is one of the best games on the Wii, a must get for Wii owners. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    This is the game that I've played the most on my Wii, the online is completely addictive, this was my first online FPS and I've tried other but none come close to the excitement this game produced, the controls are customizable and allow for a unique personalised online experience. The single player has an good story as their are twists and betrayal and an ending asking for a follow-up. Since I got addicted to the online gameplay more than any other game i've played I've given it a high score. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Great Game, I picked up at Target for $15 dollars and was well worth it. Sitting back in my couch with my gun in one hand, and my grenade/nunchuk I manage to stop the immediate invasion. I found the story interesting and I like how they make the character sound like he is kicking their arses. Game ended short and seemed more like a trial run for the designers. Custom controls were a must and really made the game better. I understand The Conduit 2 is coming soon and I will dump the $50 to get it. Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    Played for around five minutes.
    Gave up.
    Difficult as **** to play.
    Graphics are strange, and from what I could remember, somewhat ****ty.
    Was addicting.
    If you are looking for a game that is so **** challenging and **** addicting, this game is recommended.
    If looking for a game to play casually, or just not freaking hard as hell,
    DON'T **** BUY THIS.
  5. Highlar
    Jun 29, 2009
    0
    The Conduit is just the kind of FPS game that Wii owners and players have been waiting for. The single player is challenging, with the last couple of levels feeling murderous (to me, who hasn't really been able to get into FPS games on console systems before). The AI could use a bit more fine tuning, but they do use cover, attempt to flank you, and cover each other when some try to charge at you. The game was repetitive in ways, but most FPS games that I have tried in the past seemed the same overall: you move forward, killing enemies, to reach the end of the level. I enjoyed the story, for the most part, and am interested in seeing it continue in a sequel. The graphics are great for the Wii. Enemies are detailed, but there aren't enough varieties of them. Also, the weapon details are some of the best I've seen yet. Some of the weapons are pretty imaginative, and can only be done on the Wii (shrieker comes to mind). The single player campaign isn't too long, but then comes the better part of the game: Multiplayer! Long matches or short, its great that everyone has a chance to vote on what they'd like to have as a match. I haven't been able to try Wii Speak, as I don't have it yet (and don't have any friends on the list anyway), but I hope to do so eventually. There are a good variety of matches (personal favorites are ASE Football and Bounty Hunter) to choose from, in both free for all and team play. Several different weapons sets are set up to choose from, as well as map and game type. My only gripe so far about multiplayer, is that too many people select the "Street" map for just about everything. Although, I will say that it is a small map that works GREAT for games of ASE Football with larger numbers. 10-12 people running around blasting each other trying to steal and hold onto the ASE is great, frantic fun. And I think that, to me, sums up The Conduit the most: The game is just fun! And isn't that what games are supposed to be about? Not necessarily flashy graphics...or awesome controls...or deep stories...but FUN. If it has all of the above, then so much the better, but as long as the fun shines through that's all that I need. Collapse
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. The best pure first-person shooter on the Wii. [July 2009, p.84]
  2. Nowhere near classic status, but this is a welcome companion to "Metroid Prime: Corruption." [July 2009, p.78]
  3. 86
    While the game does not turn the genre upside-down, it is innovative in certain areas -- for example, it features the most customizable, precise and enjoyable controls of any console shooter created, hands down.