The Conduit Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2009
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 258
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeT
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Great game. Controls work perfectly and are fully customizable as well as extremely precise, thus making the game require and reward those with skilled aiming and practice (making the multiplayer and single player much more satisfying). Graphics are very well done for a Wii game and could even be at 360/PS3 level if it were not for some bland textures and low resolutions in a few level Great game. Controls work perfectly and are fully customizable as well as extremely precise, thus making the game require and reward those with skilled aiming and practice (making the multiplayer and single player much more satisfying). Graphics are very well done for a Wii game and could even be at 360/PS3 level if it were not for some bland textures and low resolutions in a few level objects. But overall, it looks great and most people will be impressed. This game sounds great also with a nice sound track and gun fire sounds that feel realistic as well as good use of the Wii remote speaker. Weapon wise, this game has many fun to use weapons that are all very balanced and useful in different situations. You won't be dissapointed in this category at all. Storyline is somewhat cliched which may discourage some from enjoying it to it's fullest extent but it is still very well done and there are plenty of hidden messages in the levels that add a lot of depth to the story. Single Player is well done and serves it's purpose nicely as a run and gun shooter that has enough action to keep most fans busy for 3-4 play-throughs, assuming they go for all the secrets and difficulty levels. It lasts about 8 hours. The Multiplayer, on the other hand, is even better and is definitely the best on the Wii so far surpassing Super Smash Brothers Brawl mainly due to the little or no connection issues players have been experiencing. Although, without a fast connection some lag may occur during full rounds but it is never anything unplayable. There are plenty of game modes and weapon sets to keep players happy and overall it is a highly addicting experience (especially with the ranking system) that can, in my opinion, easily compete with some of the more popular online shooters out there (yes, even Halo 3). Overall, this game is excellent and has well lived up to its very high expectations and hype. Aside from a slightly cliched and short storyline, The Conduit shines with a fun campaign, highly addictive online that will keep players busy for a long time, and controls that separate it from many generic alien shooting games on the market today. I recommend this game to anyone who has a Wii, or to anyone who wants a good shooting game, or even to anyone who is just interested in what all the hype is about. Expand
  2. TimH
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    IGN and G4TV had horrible reviews. This game was very well made. The control system is very well done with tons of room for customization. The online mode in comparison to other wii games is outstanding. I never cared for online wii games before now. This game should hopefully influence other developers to do the same. I encourage Wii owners to give it an open minded try as opposed to IGN and G4TV had horrible reviews. This game was very well made. The control system is very well done with tons of room for customization. The online mode in comparison to other wii games is outstanding. I never cared for online wii games before now. This game should hopefully influence other developers to do the same. I encourage Wii owners to give it an open minded try as opposed to deciding the game is not worth your time because the story isn't extraordinarily original as if any story these days is. Expand
  3. carterk
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    The game is much more fun than the "critics" are suggesting. The gameplay may not be anything new but the controls are truly revolutionary and make this game really fun. The only thing I would have liked to improved upon is the big boss battles.
  4. kd
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Despite what all the reviews said, this game is extremely fun every second, and that's why I have a gaming system. For only $39, this is the best money I've spent, and recommend this title 100%. Best racer I've played.
  5. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    This game is good, i don't see why it got such a low score, the story is the same as other shooters, like Halo 3, the gameplay is in my opinion slightly better than killzone 2's gameplay, mainly cause i don't like charging and shooting, which makes that game easy. The Conduit online hacker problem doesn't bother me, cause there's hardly any hackers, from what i This game is good, i don't see why it got such a low score, the story is the same as other shooters, like Halo 3, the gameplay is in my opinion slightly better than killzone 2's gameplay, mainly cause i don't like charging and shooting, which makes that game easy. The Conduit online hacker problem doesn't bother me, cause there's hardly any hackers, from what i saw when i played it. Its worth it Expand
  6. MartinW
    Oct 31, 2009
    4
    I'm a single player gamer so the single gamer campaign is critical to me. Hence my score. The story was bland and the action very dated, Graphically at times it was just about superior to the original xbox, on very rare occasions but generally much weaker and to be honest 'Black' on the ps2 is more impressive most of the time.
  7. JoshuaR
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    Even though I've only had a short time with this game, it's been nothing more then impressive. The SP campaign is not what anyone would call ground breaking, but it is very enjoyable and I really enjoy the exploration aspect. While it is an extremely linear experience, the linearity of it all doesn't take away from the enjoyment this game provides. If you really just want Even though I've only had a short time with this game, it's been nothing more then impressive. The SP campaign is not what anyone would call ground breaking, but it is very enjoyable and I really enjoy the exploration aspect. While it is an extremely linear experience, the linearity of it all doesn't take away from the enjoyment this game provides. If you really just want to shoot aliens and experience the best controlling FPS on any console, this game delivers. I have yet to touch the multiplayer portion of this game, but I'm pretty certain that it won't disappoint. One can not forget that this game is on the Wii and that the system has been lacking terribly in the online market. Great game and definitely worth of a purchase. Expand
  8. TonyJ
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This game is, hands down, the best first person shooter and the best online game on the Wii. The controls are awesome, and the difficulty ranges from entry-level to hardcore. I am going to sink some serious time into this game!!
  9. RonW
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Yes, the Conduit may not be a step forward in game play, but it sure as hell is in controls. Undoubtedly the most configurable control set up to date on any system. Online is a smash and will keep you returning to play for months and months, don't be scared off by the relatively average single player length, the multiplayer is where it's all at.
  10. WesM
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    From a gameplay standpoint, The Conduit is great. The controls are easily the best seen on a console first-person shooter, the game provides a decent challenge without being unfair, and shooting things just feels right. A lot of reviewers don't seem to understand: The Conduit isn't trying to revolutionize. It's a love letter to the shooters of the past. It's meant to From a gameplay standpoint, The Conduit is great. The controls are easily the best seen on a console first-person shooter, the game provides a decent challenge without being unfair, and shooting things just feels right. A lot of reviewers don't seem to understand: The Conduit isn't trying to revolutionize. It's a love letter to the shooters of the past. It's meant to be the Wii's GoldenEye or Perfect Dark, not its Halo or Killzone. Is the game perfect? No, absolutely not. There are some glitches and the visuals, although from a technical standpoint about as good as it's going to get on Wii, are lacking due to their generic art direction. But if you're looking for a pure shooter that delivers where it counts the most--pure, unadulterated fun--then The Conduit will deliver in spades. Expand
  11. DerekS
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Great game. By far the only way FPS games should be played in the future. All other control methods (dual analogs, keyboard-and-mouse, etc) seem archaic and unnatural compared to this. Your arm might hurt by constantly holding the gun/controller while walking, and the camera might be shaky while doing so, but that's the way it's done in real life. At times, you'll want to Great game. By far the only way FPS games should be played in the future. All other control methods (dual analogs, keyboard-and-mouse, etc) seem archaic and unnatural compared to this. Your arm might hurt by constantly holding the gun/controller while walking, and the camera might be shaky while doing so, but that's the way it's done in real life. At times, you'll want to put your left and right hands closer together just to keep your gun and camera steady, which emulates how you naturally achieve the accuracy you want, and hence makes this game very interesting. Expand
  12. DarrenZ.
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    This could very well be the most underrated game on the Wii. No, it doesn't revolutionize the FPS genre, but then it doesn't try to. What it does do is give us a well-designed and entertaining game that gets all the fundamentals right and does very little wrong. Presentation is top-notch, controls are tight and highly configurable, the single player is fun, fast-paced, and This could very well be the most underrated game on the Wii. No, it doesn't revolutionize the FPS genre, but then it doesn't try to. What it does do is give us a well-designed and entertaining game that gets all the fundamentals right and does very little wrong. Presentation is top-notch, controls are tight and highly configurable, the single player is fun, fast-paced, and compelling, and jumping online for some competitive multiplayer action couldn't be easier: literally a couple of clicks of the Wii Remote and you're playing. High Voltage Software may have stuck to the basics when designing The Conduit, but they delivered a solid product that is an absolute blast to play. I highly recommend it. Expand
  13. DarrenM
    Jun 27, 2009
    8
    The Conduit is finally out, and for those who have been looking forward to this game for a while now they can hope to find a like able character in a poorly presented and rather bad and clichéd storyline, but with engaging and fun gameplay that is full of unique weapons, levels, and a really good multiplayer experience that is also accompanied by a good amount of extra content and The Conduit is finally out, and for those who have been looking forward to this game for a while now they can hope to find a like able character in a poorly presented and rather bad and clichéd storyline, but with engaging and fun gameplay that is full of unique weapons, levels, and a really good multiplayer experience that is also accompanied by a good amount of extra content and graphically and artistically nice level designs and intense, but not memorable, music. Expand
  14. Highlar
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is just the kind of FPS game that Wii owners and players have been waiting for. The single player is challenging, with the last couple of levels feeling murderous (to me, who hasn't really been able to get into FPS games on console systems before). The AI could use a bit more fine tuning, but they do use cover, attempt to flank you, and cover each other when some try to The Conduit is just the kind of FPS game that Wii owners and players have been waiting for. The single player is challenging, with the last couple of levels feeling murderous (to me, who hasn't really been able to get into FPS games on console systems before). The AI could use a bit more fine tuning, but they do use cover, attempt to flank you, and cover each other when some try to charge at you. The game was repetitive in ways, but most FPS games that I have tried in the past seemed the same overall: you move forward, killing enemies, to reach the end of the level. I enjoyed the story, for the most part, and am interested in seeing it continue in a sequel. The graphics are great for the Wii. Enemies are detailed, but there aren't enough varieties of them. Also, the weapon details are some of the best I've seen yet. Some of the weapons are pretty imaginative, and can only be done on the Wii (shrieker comes to mind). The single player campaign isn't too long, but then comes the better part of the game: Multiplayer! Long matches or short, its great that everyone has a chance to vote on what they'd like to have as a match. I haven't been able to try Wii Speak, as I don't have it yet (and don't have any friends on the list anyway), but I hope to do so eventually. There are a good variety of matches (personal favorites are ASE Football and Bounty Hunter) to choose from, in both free for all and team play. Several different weapons sets are set up to choose from, as well as map and game type. My only gripe so far about multiplayer, is that too many people select the "Street" map for just about everything. Although, I will say that it is a small map that works GREAT for games of ASE Football with larger numbers. 10-12 people running around blasting each other trying to steal and hold onto the ASE is great, frantic fun. And I think that, to me, sums up The Conduit the most: The game is just fun! And isn't that what games are supposed to be about? Not necessarily flashy graphics...or awesome controls...or deep stories...but FUN. If it has all of the above, then so much the better, but as long as the fun shines through that's all that I need. Expand
  15. Mr.Ford
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is a good game but it can't be compared to other FPS's on other consoles, simply because that would be like comparing apples to oranges. It should be compared to other Wii shooters though and there, it can be said that The Conduit is one of the best Wii shooters. Not as good as MP3:C, of course. I think it will probably sell well enough to guarantee a sequel. Some The Conduit is a good game but it can't be compared to other FPS's on other consoles, simply because that would be like comparing apples to oranges. It should be compared to other Wii shooters though and there, it can be said that The Conduit is one of the best Wii shooters. Not as good as MP3:C, of course. I think it will probably sell well enough to guarantee a sequel. Some recommendations for the sequel: 1. Offline: * Improve enemy AI * Add Drop in/drop out local MP (2 players, so it doesn't hurt the frame rate). * Better story and voice acting * Some visual Improvements (backgrounds, lightning, more variety of enemies, etc) 2. Online: * More players/maps * Reduce lag * Ranking system * Improve visuals In the end regardless of the reviews, a game should be able to answer a simple question: is it fun? For The Conduit , the answer is yes. Expand
  16. ChuckB
    Jul 23, 2009
    4
    The writing and voice acting are horrible. You could play a drinking game. Every time the narrator says "some sort", take a drink. It looks like some sort of plasma weapon. It looks like some sort of alien shock trooper. It looks like some sort of deatomizer. And the voice acting! One of the actors is so old he can barely articulate his lines. It sounds like his dentures keep coming The writing and voice acting are horrible. You could play a drinking game. Every time the narrator says "some sort", take a drink. It looks like some sort of plasma weapon. It looks like some sort of alien shock trooper. It looks like some sort of deatomizer. And the voice acting! One of the actors is so old he can barely articulate his lines. It sounds like his dentures keep coming loose. The unintentional humour starts to grate after a few hours. This game would be a lot more fun if they didn't take themselves so seriously. Or if they had a decent script. Expand
  17. AdamH.
    Jul 23, 2009
    8
    Ah, the conduit. i found this to be a very enjoyable experience. The campain is rather dull in a sense. Its extremely tedious at times. and the strange fluxuation in difficulty gives it a certain unpredictable vibe at times. the story may not seem like much but the real story is told through all the hidden messages and radio broadcast scattered through out the game. most reviews simply Ah, the conduit. i found this to be a very enjoyable experience. The campain is rather dull in a sense. Its extremely tedious at times. and the strange fluxuation in difficulty gives it a certain unpredictable vibe at times. the story may not seem like much but the real story is told through all the hidden messages and radio broadcast scattered through out the game. most reviews simply look at the most obvious parts of the game and say "cliche" but its takes some digging to really appreciate the story to any degree. a fair use of symbolism is used as well. If they had presented it in a less cryptic way it may be much more entertaining but sadly they went all out for the multiplayer leaving the campain short and the story with a feeling of being wasted when it had so much potential. hopefully in the inevitable sequal they will capitalize more on how deep the story really is. and if you dont think the story is deep just listen to the radios scattered around every level then find all the hidden messages. then google everything you find. it will make sense (mostly). so from the campain bland level design, repetative enemy types, and lost potential in the story subtract from the score. the multiplayer would be the big draw here. no other wii game has a multiplayer this good. 12 player frag fest can cure any disease. the online play will vary depending on youre connection. most reported glitches are the fault of poor connection such as spawing in an orange/brown/white/ bare room/wall is the fault of connection. laggers are a big problem too. if someone does manage to get connected and they have an awful connection then they will probably win. through the simple fact that you can kill them 20 times over but the damage will take so long to register that they could kill you,youre team mate, your friends, and your grandma before they die hackers are a major problem as well. i cant imagine who would have the audacity to hack the best online game for the wii but they should be strung up high for it. level design for multiplayer is a little bit better than the campain but the weapon sets are poorly balanced. the explosive set gives you the rocket launcher as a defualt weapon. so now as soon as the game starts an earthquake ensues. the multiplayer is this games strength. but it isnt perfect. a poor connection will leave you covered in glitches and getting disconnected constantly. laggers and hackers also hurt it but thats not the fault of the developers. but if you get in a full group of players and you and everyone else has a good connection and there are no hackers then you will be in heaven with this multiplayer. controls are simply the best. if there is something you dont like then simply change it. anything at all. it can be changed/tweaked/adjusted/lowered/increased/altered or anything else you can think of. the graphics are uneven. the character models look great, the weapons look great, the A.S.E looks great. but the enviroments are very blocky and bland. although bump-mapping is absolutly everywhere. so all in all a very enjoyable game. the MP is the best on wii and i think in the sequal we could see alot more done with it. the campain is short with a deep but hard to reach back story. enviroments are bland and the number of character models is small but they look really good. weapons are just what you think "point and shoot" certain ones do have interesting effects. one bounces off of walls, another follows your cursor, and there are some others. all in all great game. Expand
  18. RobertD
    Jul 24, 2009
    3
    The Wii is ill suited to point and shoot FPS games. The game is fine when you are running down halls and all the enemies are in front of you (which is the way it works for the first few levels), but it falls apart when you get out in the open and enemies can surround you. If you move too quickly and the pointer goes off the screen, your view gets "stuck" looking at a cloud, or the ground The Wii is ill suited to point and shoot FPS games. The game is fine when you are running down halls and all the enemies are in front of you (which is the way it works for the first few levels), but it falls apart when you get out in the open and enemies can surround you. If you move too quickly and the pointer goes off the screen, your view gets "stuck" looking at a cloud, or the ground or something. The enemies show no mercy and you're usually dead before you can get the pointer reoriented. After a few hours of not getting past a level because of this, I ejected the disk, deleted the game file and sent the game back to the rental store where it came from. I never want to see this again unless they port it to the PC or somewhere that FPSs work. I tried to get different options, lighting conditions, etc. etc. Nothing worked. It is too much frustration for a generic FPS. Rent it if you want to try it. Expand
  19. hooko
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. Reviewers don't know what they're talking about. They're taking points off subconciously BECUASE its a third party wii game (omg no way!)

    Get this game now., You won't be disappointed. You want a good review, read IGN's or the user reviews from FELLOW GAMERS who played and loved this game.
  20. DouglasC
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    This really is a great game! The controls are spot on, the graphics are great. I cannot believe the amount of detail that went into the characters and modeling. The story is fine, too. I think some reviewers are just copy and pasting their reviews to make their lives easier. There is a lot of Background to the story, you just have to search for it. The difficulty is great, as you can see This really is a great game! The controls are spot on, the graphics are great. I cannot believe the amount of detail that went into the characters and modeling. The story is fine, too. I think some reviewers are just copy and pasting their reviews to make their lives easier. There is a lot of Background to the story, you just have to search for it. The difficulty is great, as you can see the AI change at different difficulty levels. It can be as easy or challenging as you want. The weapons are also a lot of fun. I keep thinking I have found my "Favorite weapon", and then another pops up that I like! Buy this game, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  21. RussellF
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is great. Note that I didn't add 'for a Wii game' at the end of that sentence. I look at all of these low scores in confusion; what happened to these people that they couldn't enjoy the game as much as I did? The most common complaint seems to be the story of the game. I partially agree with this sentiment: the story that is presented to you is very The Conduit is great. Note that I didn't add 'for a Wii game' at the end of that sentence. I look at all of these low scores in confusion; what happened to these people that they couldn't enjoy the game as much as I did? The most common complaint seems to be the story of the game. I partially agree with this sentiment: the story that is presented to you is very mediocre. That is not all there is to the story, however. The main theme of the game is conspiracy and secrets. Thus the more interesting parts of the tale are told through the secret messages on the walls located by the ASE, and the radio chatter heard as you walk through levels. The story they tell is very deep, involving an alien race known as the Annunaki, Sumerian and Greek mythology, and American history. It's a lot in information to discover and work through, so if you are interested in hearing more of the story, you can go the this URL (NOTE: There are spoilers involved, so I'd recommend finishing the game before checking it out): http://uk.gamespot.com/wii/action/theconduit/show_msgs.php?topic_id=m-1-50295705&pid=947068&page=0 Another common complaint seems to be that the enemy AI is lacking. I've heard from many review sources that the best strategy is to "run 'n gun" through the whole game. I would only recommend this strategy if you intend to lure your enemies into a false sense of security, or kill them by making them laugh so hard that they choke. Though on some occasions faulty, the AI is smart enough to take cover, flank you, and swarm you with their numbers as the situation calls. Yes, one or two guys do occasionally get stuck, but as a whole the enemy AI is formidable, especially in the higher difficulty settings. The graphics are a mixed bag: some of the effects are excellent, even early 360 worthy. On the other hand, some textures are blurry and muddy. The character models look great, but the enviornments are bland, and in the case of the horizon laughable. Still, the graphics are decent enough to not pull you out of the experience. The game sounds great. Voices of the main characters are believeable and good, the weapons have strong bangs and electric whirs as necessary and the enemies scream and yell "THERE HE IS!" with just enough vigor to take seriously. All the way down here, and I still havent mentioned the control. This has the best control of any console FPS bar none. Every aspect is customizable, making for a great, custom tailored experience. If you have any problems at all, you can change the controls and see their effect on your play in realtime. This system will be the benchmark for FPS control on Wii, and rightly so. Online games are a snap to sign on to. The guys at High Voltage have studied the other popular online FPSs well. The system is simple, you only need to point and click, and you're online. In addition, The Conduit is the second game to utilize the Wii Speak peripheral. I've yet to use it (I lack one), but from what I've heard it works well. Friend codes rear their ugly head again, but you don't need them to play online. The Conduit can connect you to national and worldwide matches without those finicky numbers. The only issue with the multiplayer is the fact that there is no local multiplayer. So if you were interested in playing against your friend who is sitting right next to you, you're out of luck. The Conduit is a fun time. The story is deep for those who look for it, the graphics are nice, the gameplay is awe inspiring, and the multiplayer is the best on the console. If you own only a Wii buy this game. If you own any other console, at least give it a rent before trashing it on the nearest forum. Expand
  22. MattN
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    Oh, The Conduit, where do I start? First off, great effort, High Voltage. Very connected to the community and a job well done for your first non-shovelware title. Now to the big things. The game controls extremely well, with very few slip ups. As most of you know the game's controls can be mapped to a huge extent (only minor exceptions). The voice acting is great, and the graphics Oh, The Conduit, where do I start? First off, great effort, High Voltage. Very connected to the community and a job well done for your first non-shovelware title. Now to the big things. The game controls extremely well, with very few slip ups. As most of you know the game's controls can be mapped to a huge extent (only minor exceptions). The voice acting is great, and the graphics and combat are very inspired. The realism style works well here. And all you nay sayers, honestly, I don't see what there is to say nay about. There are no huge minuses besides the lackluster story and somewhat linear story. I've seen comments such as, "the Wii isn't suited for an FPS," and, "It's good...for a Wii game." Heck, I've even seen, "This game sucks and so does the Wii." Honestly, me and millions of other Wii owners are ready to usher in a new era of FPS controls. Dual analog is done, and for motion controls, this game is flawless. Well done, High Voltage! Expand
  23. YosefM
    Nov 14, 2009
    7
    I thought the campaign mode was alright and interesting enough to play with, but the online gameplay--decent at best. I give huge props to HVS for putting effort into the game, and revolutionizing customizable controls, wii speak support and pretty graphics on a first person shooter--however, I feel like HVS focused TOO MUCH on innovative stuff, and less on overall gameplay. Online mode I thought the campaign mode was alright and interesting enough to play with, but the online gameplay--decent at best. I give huge props to HVS for putting effort into the game, and revolutionizing customizable controls, wii speak support and pretty graphics on a first person shooter--however, I feel like HVS focused TOO MUCH on innovative stuff, and less on overall gameplay. Online mode has a lot of glitches--especially concerning respawn glitches, also the art design of the maps are nothing special.. If anything.. It's just boring, because they're mostly symmetrical for the most part. Also I could have sworn HVS promised a party system--but it never ended up being in the final retail version. Other small things such as not being able to play private matches with yourself to test out maps, like MOH:H2 and WaW Wii really bugged me. Expand
  24. Steven
    Oct 10, 2009
    6
    Well seeing the mixed reviews of this game, it seemes to be based on your preferences for a fps. The graphics and the amount of customization on this game is fantastic, but that is really the best part of the game. This game would flop if it was on the 360 or PS3, as their is much better games for those systems, but sadly this is a really good game by the wii's standards. So really Well seeing the mixed reviews of this game, it seemes to be based on your preferences for a fps. The graphics and the amount of customization on this game is fantastic, but that is really the best part of the game. This game would flop if it was on the 360 or PS3, as their is much better games for those systems, but sadly this is a really good game by the wii's standards. So really your review is based what level of games you have played prior to this game. Expand
  25. GregB.
    Oct 11, 2009
    6
    This game should have been great, customizable controls, best graphics on the system, and 12 person online multiplayer. The single player is good, but by the 3 level it just gets to repetitive. The Conduit can be extremely frustrating, with most levels you having to face an endless wave of enemies until you destroy the portals or eggs there coming from. There are some boss fights, but This game should have been great, customizable controls, best graphics on the system, and 12 person online multiplayer. The single player is good, but by the 3 level it just gets to repetitive. The Conduit can be extremely frustrating, with most levels you having to face an endless wave of enemies until you destroy the portals or eggs there coming from. There are some boss fights, but they suck and are underwhelming. The first time you see one of these huge aliens you expect a great battle, but they don't even fire at you, the only damage you'll take is ammo lose. Online play is usually lag free and there are plenty of people, but there is nothing to keep you playing. All you earn by playing is a new medal next to your name. Overall it should have been a much better game than it was, I would wait for Call of Duty Reflex or just get WaW. Expand
  26. JohnF
    Oct 12, 2009
    6
    Let me preface by saying I'm not a hardcore FPS fan. I'm just a casual to moderate video game player. GRAPHICS: Prior to The Conduit's release, the graphics was one of the major talking points. Having beat the game, I'm not impressed. Compared to Metroid Prime 3, Mario Galaxy, Zelda TP, The Conduit ultilizes basic models with a few added textures and particle effects. Let me preface by saying I'm not a hardcore FPS fan. I'm just a casual to moderate video game player. GRAPHICS: Prior to The Conduit's release, the graphics was one of the major talking points. Having beat the game, I'm not impressed. Compared to Metroid Prime 3, Mario Galaxy, Zelda TP, The Conduit ultilizes basic models with a few added textures and particle effects. It's nothing to write home about. GAMEPLAY: The controls are solid and fully customizable which is great because the default controller layout can be awkward. Puzzles and aside tasks are practically nonexistant, so thankfully the shooting/combat controls are flawless, because that's practically the only thing you'll be doing in this game. Online-multiplayer has a good amount to offer, it's just nothing special. The maps aren't compelling enough to keep things fresh over time. PRESENTATION: The story primarily plays out in text and voice dialogs between missions. Perfect Dark and GoldenEye still blow this game out of the water. By 2009 standards, text/voice boxes don't cut it. The level design is one of the worst I've ever seen in a game. They reuse rooms constantly, often immediately after each other. There is little variety in weapons and enemies-- and by little, I mean you'll be seeing the same 7-9 enemies for the entire game, likewise with the weapons. The music is a mind-numbing 10 second techo look. The story ends very VERY abruptly and you don't feel like you've gotten anywhere between the first and final level. Expand
  27. WESB
    Dec 13, 2009
    8
    The fully customizable controls get a 10 from me and it's nice to have online but this is a diamond in the rough. Generic story which doesn't develop as fully as it could've and no destructible environments are some disappointments. While this isn't the only game that does this i'm always annoyed when you get your new wii game and discover it's trapped on The fully customizable controls get a 10 from me and it's nice to have online but this is a diamond in the rough. Generic story which doesn't develop as fully as it could've and no destructible environments are some disappointments. While this isn't the only game that does this i'm always annoyed when you get your new wii game and discover it's trapped on your wii...try to play it on another wii system and get ready to start over. Smash brawl,smash up,mario kart and this game are just some of the offenders. In the end it's nintendo who treats us like thieves for legitimately buying their games. It's like thanks for buying our game...potential thief and virtuial console games are also stuck on the wii of purchase unlike 360 and ps-3 where you can put your dl content on more than 1 system. For those controller layout and custom game options including placement of health,weapon status and even the bounding box size the conduit is truely a diamond in the rough and worth purchasing hopeing the game gets a 2nd chance to improve on weak area's in this game. Expand
  28. sebk
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This game just shows what the wii can do when devs acually try. I own a xbox 360, and love it, but this acually made me pick up my wii 'mote for a while -easily the best fps on wii (yes better then metroid).
  29. StevenN
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Although the single player mode is slightly derrivitive, the online multiplayer is the real hook.us This is the game wii owners have been waiting for!
  30. StephenW
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Definitly a must buy for Wii owners. On any other system the visuals would stop this from getting a 9 but on the wii they are fantastic. The gameplay is spot on and the sound does the job. It's not perfect but it's a very good way to spend $50 on some Wii software.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#33 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    The best pure first-person shooter on the Wii. [July 2009, p.84]
  2. Nowhere near classic status, but this is a welcome companion to "Metroid Prime: Corruption." [July 2009, p.78]
  3. 86
    While the game does not turn the genre upside-down, it is innovative in certain areas -- for example, it features the most customizable, precise and enjoyable controls of any console shooter created, hands down.