• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2009
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 254

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. YosefM
    Nov 14, 2009
    7
    I thought the campaign mode was alright and interesting enough to play with, but the online gameplay--decent at best. I give huge props to HVS for putting effort into the game, and revolutionizing customizable controls, wii speak support and pretty graphics on a first person shooter--however, I feel like HVS focused TOO MUCH on innovative stuff, and less on overall gameplay. Online mode I thought the campaign mode was alright and interesting enough to play with, but the online gameplay--decent at best. I give huge props to HVS for putting effort into the game, and revolutionizing customizable controls, wii speak support and pretty graphics on a first person shooter--however, I feel like HVS focused TOO MUCH on innovative stuff, and less on overall gameplay. Online mode has a lot of glitches--especially concerning respawn glitches, also the art design of the maps are nothing special.. If anything.. It's just boring, because they're mostly symmetrical for the most part. Also I could have sworn HVS promised a party system--but it never ended up being in the final retail version. Other small things such as not being able to play private matches with yourself to test out maps, like MOH:H2 and WaW Wii really bugged me. Expand
  2. AlanD
    Jul 17, 2009
    7
    Very solid, but a bit of a letdown. I give it the slight edge over COD:WaW for the larger variety of options for multiplayer. However, great as the MP is, it can be very buggy at times. More than the usual online gaming hiccups. Game-lobby waiting time can be painfully slow sometimes. Nothing worse than waiting for 5 minutes to get into a match and then have a freezeup that requires a Very solid, but a bit of a letdown. I give it the slight edge over COD:WaW for the larger variety of options for multiplayer. However, great as the MP is, it can be very buggy at times. More than the usual online gaming hiccups. Game-lobby waiting time can be painfully slow sometimes. Nothing worse than waiting for 5 minutes to get into a match and then have a freezeup that requires a restart! Finally, I don't think the developers did a very good job in crafting XP advancement for the various MP scenarios. You don't get much of a team bonus at all when winning a team death match, for example. In this COD:WaW really showed its pedigree and thought. These are all negative things--but I do think that if you only have a Wii, the Conduit is worth picking up if you like FPS's. If you manage to avoid the glitches (and I guess this has the potential to get better through fixes), MP is quite awesome. It's frustrating though because with a little more care this could have been a singular experience on the Wii. Let's hope that if they make a Conduit 2 they work hard to solve all of these problems. The Wii deserves its own version of Goldeneye. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    I bought this game for £13.50 which is a good price for what i got. The pros are it has good graphics, fast paced gameplay, nice selection of weapons. There are some serious difficulty spikes in the game though, so be warned one section in particular had me losing lives endlessly even on normal difficulty. I dont mind a challenge but this was ridiculous. this aside a good gameI bought this game for £13.50 which is a good price for what i got. The pros are it has good graphics, fast paced gameplay, nice selection of weapons. There are some serious difficulty spikes in the game though, so be warned one section in particular had me losing lives endlessly even on normal difficulty. I dont mind a challenge but this was ridiculous. this aside a good game that was very entertaining and worth the asking price. Overall a 7. Expand
  4. Steven
    Oct 10, 2009
    6
    Well seeing the mixed reviews of this game, it seemes to be based on your preferences for a fps. The graphics and the amount of customization on this game is fantastic, but that is really the best part of the game. This game would flop if it was on the 360 or PS3, as their is much better games for those systems, but sadly this is a really good game by the wii's standards. So really Well seeing the mixed reviews of this game, it seemes to be based on your preferences for a fps. The graphics and the amount of customization on this game is fantastic, but that is really the best part of the game. This game would flop if it was on the 360 or PS3, as their is much better games for those systems, but sadly this is a really good game by the wii's standards. So really your review is based what level of games you have played prior to this game. Expand
  5. GregB.
    Oct 11, 2009
    6
    This game should have been great, customizable controls, best graphics on the system, and 12 person online multiplayer. The single player is good, but by the 3 level it just gets to repetitive. The Conduit can be extremely frustrating, with most levels you having to face an endless wave of enemies until you destroy the portals or eggs there coming from. There are some boss fights, but This game should have been great, customizable controls, best graphics on the system, and 12 person online multiplayer. The single player is good, but by the 3 level it just gets to repetitive. The Conduit can be extremely frustrating, with most levels you having to face an endless wave of enemies until you destroy the portals or eggs there coming from. There are some boss fights, but they suck and are underwhelming. The first time you see one of these huge aliens you expect a great battle, but they don't even fire at you, the only damage you'll take is ammo lose. Online play is usually lag free and there are plenty of people, but there is nothing to keep you playing. All you earn by playing is a new medal next to your name. Overall it should have been a much better game than it was, I would wait for Call of Duty Reflex or just get WaW. Expand
  6. JohnF
    Oct 12, 2009
    6
    Let me preface by saying I'm not a hardcore FPS fan. I'm just a casual to moderate video game player. GRAPHICS: Prior to The Conduit's release, the graphics was one of the major talking points. Having beat the game, I'm not impressed. Compared to Metroid Prime 3, Mario Galaxy, Zelda TP, The Conduit ultilizes basic models with a few added textures and particle effects. Let me preface by saying I'm not a hardcore FPS fan. I'm just a casual to moderate video game player. GRAPHICS: Prior to The Conduit's release, the graphics was one of the major talking points. Having beat the game, I'm not impressed. Compared to Metroid Prime 3, Mario Galaxy, Zelda TP, The Conduit ultilizes basic models with a few added textures and particle effects. It's nothing to write home about. GAMEPLAY: The controls are solid and fully customizable which is great because the default controller layout can be awkward. Puzzles and aside tasks are practically nonexistant, so thankfully the shooting/combat controls are flawless, because that's practically the only thing you'll be doing in this game. Online-multiplayer has a good amount to offer, it's just nothing special. The maps aren't compelling enough to keep things fresh over time. PRESENTATION: The story primarily plays out in text and voice dialogs between missions. Perfect Dark and GoldenEye still blow this game out of the water. By 2009 standards, text/voice boxes don't cut it. The level design is one of the worst I've ever seen in a game. They reuse rooms constantly, often immediately after each other. There is little variety in weapons and enemies-- and by little, I mean you'll be seeing the same 7-9 enemies for the entire game, likewise with the weapons. The music is a mind-numbing 10 second techo look. The story ends very VERY abruptly and you don't feel like you've gotten anywhere between the first and final level. Expand
  7. SeanA
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    The Conduit, undeniable the best and only FPS on the Wii worth spending some time with. That said... it didn't have a whole lot to compete with. The Conduit sets a new benchmark on the Wii for graphics, it is certainly one of the best looking games for the console. However, the graphics are very much sub par for current generation shooters and the frame rate still suffers at times The Conduit, undeniable the best and only FPS on the Wii worth spending some time with. That said... it didn't have a whole lot to compete with. The Conduit sets a new benchmark on the Wii for graphics, it is certainly one of the best looking games for the console. However, the graphics are very much sub par for current generation shooters and the frame rate still suffers at times indicating that the game is squeezing all it can out of the Wii. In terms of gameplay, its your typical linear shooter. Lots of enemies, very little variation among them and the AI is quite lacking. Movement feels very sluggish and the game as a whole is quite slow paced. Controls are spot on and honestly it is probably the first game on the Wii to ever actually show that the Wii mote is a capable controller, not just a gimmick. If you play on multiple platforms, The Conduit is an entirely forgettable below average FPS. If you play exclusively on the Wii, The Conduit will probably be the highlight of your console's lifespan, so pick it up. Multiplayer is functional and can be fun. However, the core mechanics of the game are not solid enough, nor do they provide a particularly big skill ceiling and as a result The Conduit certainly won't be used in major leagues. Conclusion: My score is based on "The Conduit vs. All shooters", not "The Conduit vs. Wii shooters". The bar for shooters has been set much higher in many other games. Expand
  8. RyanR.
    Jul 13, 2009
    6
    Single player was ok it held my intrest "for the 6 hours it took me to beat it." That aside i bought it for the online play. All I can say is I've wasted 50 bux. The online is very very glitchy. Freezes at random"other people are having the same problems as me so its not an isolated problem. This game pretty much will fade into history as quietly as it entered. High voltage F'n Single player was ok it held my intrest "for the 6 hours it took me to beat it." That aside i bought it for the online play. All I can say is I've wasted 50 bux. The online is very very glitchy. Freezes at random"other people are having the same problems as me so its not an isolated problem. This game pretty much will fade into history as quietly as it entered. High voltage F'n sux!. O and IGN you r crazy for rating it so well. Its obvious ign and high voltage are in bed with each other. Considering almost all new conduit news origanated from ign. Scratch my back and ill give your substandard game a better score then wow. By the way the only thing that saved it from getting a 5 was the amazing controls and options. Go by COD:wow you wont regret it. Expand
  9. JacobF.
    Sep 12, 2009
    6
    Sadly, the technology behind this game is far superior to the game itself. For a game on the Wii, the graphical capability is incredible. But even that is marred, as there are many textures, which are often blurry, due to their low quality and resolution. The level design is often bland, and often very similar to the corridor you just passed through. It reminds me of when you're Sadly, the technology behind this game is far superior to the game itself. For a game on the Wii, the graphical capability is incredible. But even that is marred, as there are many textures, which are often blurry, due to their low quality and resolution. The level design is often bland, and often very similar to the corridor you just passed through. It reminds me of when you're following the Monitor of the Index in Halo. You run around, shooting baddies, and then run into a room that looks almost identical to the one you were just in. It occasionally lags, and the gameplay is just repetition. You run here, shoot a couple aliens and conspirators, run here, shoot a couple more... The gameplay works, but it's just so darn boring and repetitive. The story is kind of lousy. It's way too short, and it's a basic story that has been done over and over again. The government is conspiring against the American people, with a secret organization that is claiming aliens are invading, while actually covering up the fact that they're the ones making these creatures, all to gain the trust of the people and the president, and then gain control. Similar things have been done before. The sounds are pretty good, and are one of the good points of the game. The voice acting is okay, the sounds are pretty good, and I didn't see an enormous amount of downsides. Might be a little simplistic and poorly written, but that's the fault of the script writers and sound directors. The controls and user interface are great, since you can customize them anyway you want. The multiplayer, in my opinion, is not good. It wasn't fun, and many times I couldn't even get on. It isn't the fault of my internet connection, because I have a very reliable 20 MB connection. In online games, I often have one of the lowest ping times. But I would try to get online, or join a game, and the console would just freeze. I would have to shut off the console to be able to do anything again. A couple times I joined a game, I could hear the people around me running around and shooting everyone, but my screen would be black with the HUD on it, and I wasn't able to do anything. I couldn't go to the Wii Menu with the Home button. A little picture of a crossed out home button would appear, and I would be stuck unless I turned off the console or waited for the game to end. Overall, this game makes a good rental, but don't waste your money to buy this game, unless all you have is a Wii, and need a shooter. The breakdown: The graphical capabilities are good. But the artistic quality is not. A point docked. The story is bland and unoriginal. A point docked. The gameplay is boring and repetitive. A point docked. Terrible multiplayer. A point docked. Good voice acting, but somewhat counteracted, and therefore made mediocre, by the boring script and poor directing. No points docked, but definitely not to be praised. The sounds effects are pretty good. No points docked. So, all in all, it gets a 6. Mediocre, with little imagination and work put into it. Good rental, but not a good buy. Maybe High Voltage Software's next games will be better, as they don't have to build a new engine. Expand
  10. Sep 16, 2011
    6
    First of all, lemme say that I like first-person shooter; I just don't go fanboy over them. The Conduit suffers from a very cumbersome control scheme and wildy uneven difficulty. One mission will have you breeze throught it, and then the next you hit a brick wall. The graphics are gorgeous, but the blood looks like spray-paint. The Conduit isn't bad but it's not good either.
  11. RandyG
    Jul 6, 2009
    5
    I'll say that The Conduit is a good stepping stone for developers for the Wii. It has good graphics and I like the customizable controls. But this game really let me down, I was expecting so much more. The multiplayer is just stupid! The one who wins is the one with the best internet connection, the charracters are slow, and there is no way you can have any kind of aiming, just shoot I'll say that The Conduit is a good stepping stone for developers for the Wii. It has good graphics and I like the customizable controls. But this game really let me down, I was expecting so much more. The multiplayer is just stupid! The one who wins is the one with the best internet connection, the charracters are slow, and there is no way you can have any kind of aiming, just shoot as much crap that way as you can and hope something hits someone. I've got pretty good aim on Call of Duty WaW so i'll stick with that, return The Conduit, and wait for another COD to come out on the Wii. Expand
  12. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    Really disappointing. I was hoping for a really decent FPS game on the Wii and I thought The Conduit would do it for me. I was very wrong. Though the graphics are kind of nice to look at and the controls are easy and very customisable, the overall gameplay and story is repetitive as hell. Enemies always look the same every time, the story is forgettable and boring and the overallReally disappointing. I was hoping for a really decent FPS game on the Wii and I thought The Conduit would do it for me. I was very wrong. Though the graphics are kind of nice to look at and the controls are easy and very customisable, the overall gameplay and story is repetitive as hell. Enemies always look the same every time, the story is forgettable and boring and the overall experience is just too easy to pass up. The multiplayer is the only redeeming factor but that doesn't save the fact that it is a completely mediocre game. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. The best pure first-person shooter on the Wii. [July 2009, p.84]
  2. Nowhere near classic status, but this is a welcome companion to "Metroid Prime: Corruption." [July 2009, p.78]
  3. 86
    While the game does not turn the genre upside-down, it is innovative in certain areas -- for example, it features the most customizable, precise and enjoyable controls of any console shooter created, hands down.