The Conduit Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2009
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 256
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinW
    Oct 31, 2009
    4
    I'm a single player gamer so the single gamer campaign is critical to me. Hence my score. The story was bland and the action very dated, Graphically at times it was just about superior to the original xbox, on very rare occasions but generally much weaker and to be honest 'Black' on the ps2 is more impressive most of the time.
  2. ChuckB
    Jul 23, 2009
    4
    The writing and voice acting are horrible. You could play a drinking game. Every time the narrator says "some sort", take a drink. It looks like some sort of plasma weapon. It looks like some sort of alien shock trooper. It looks like some sort of deatomizer. And the voice acting! One of the actors is so old he can barely articulate his lines. It sounds like his dentures keep coming The writing and voice acting are horrible. You could play a drinking game. Every time the narrator says "some sort", take a drink. It looks like some sort of plasma weapon. It looks like some sort of alien shock trooper. It looks like some sort of deatomizer. And the voice acting! One of the actors is so old he can barely articulate his lines. It sounds like his dentures keep coming loose. The unintentional humour starts to grate after a few hours. This game would be a lot more fun if they didn't take themselves so seriously. Or if they had a decent script. Expand
  3. JacobC
    Jul 29, 2009
    4
    There's no reason why an FPS should be this sub par on the Wii. I played a version of Quake on the Wii, and it handled fantastically, so I don't see why a company with 13 years of technological advancements can't even make a standard "vanilla" FPS on the wii.
  4. RobertD
    Jul 24, 2009
    3
    The Wii is ill suited to point and shoot FPS games. The game is fine when you are running down halls and all the enemies are in front of you (which is the way it works for the first few levels), but it falls apart when you get out in the open and enemies can surround you. If you move too quickly and the pointer goes off the screen, your view gets "stuck" looking at a cloud, or the ground The Wii is ill suited to point and shoot FPS games. The game is fine when you are running down halls and all the enemies are in front of you (which is the way it works for the first few levels), but it falls apart when you get out in the open and enemies can surround you. If you move too quickly and the pointer goes off the screen, your view gets "stuck" looking at a cloud, or the ground or something. The enemies show no mercy and you're usually dead before you can get the pointer reoriented. After a few hours of not getting past a level because of this, I ejected the disk, deleted the game file and sent the game back to the rental store where it came from. I never want to see this again unless they port it to the PC or somewhere that FPSs work. I tried to get different options, lighting conditions, etc. etc. Nothing worked. It is too much frustration for a generic FPS. Rent it if you want to try it. Expand
  5. DarylW
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    4 words can describe this "FPS". It sucks really bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If any readers have a ps3 or 360 get world at war, or the new wolfenstein. Those are great games. This is absolute garbage. I returned it the day after I bought it, and lost money on the trade in F$%K the conduit!!!
  6. BrentN
    Jun 24, 2009
    2
    So dissapointed, will be ebaying today (bought yesterday). The controls are customizable, the rest of the game is awful. The single player levels are all boring and repetitive, the enemy ai is god awful, and its the first fps story i have seen worse than killzone 2. The online is expectantly a cluster F of awful wii speak, friend codes, and insane lag The graphics are worse than most So dissapointed, will be ebaying today (bought yesterday). The controls are customizable, the rest of the game is awful. The single player levels are all boring and repetitive, the enemy ai is god awful, and its the first fps story i have seen worse than killzone 2. The online is expectantly a cluster F of awful wii speak, friend codes, and insane lag The graphics are worse than most gamecube games, and the bland art style makes this even more obvious. All in all, if this game came out in 2005 on the gamecube and without awful tacked on moition control/light gun style aiming it may have been DECENT, but now? Not even worth the 10$ it will cost when it hits the bargain bin. Expand
  7. PotaterManPazza
    Jul 2, 2009
    0
    Generic characters and graphics, bad sound, bad MP, bad story, mediocre controls. It's one of those games that people say is "good for the wii", because if it were on any other console it would belong in the bargain bin, as it would be smashed by any mildly good FPS.
  8. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    This game was terrible. Felt like as i was playing nothing, lifeless and boring. Controls, while customizable, are still bad, and making the game so graphics focused was a HORRIBLE decision on High Voltage's part. The game actually looks bad, because there's no stylization whatsoever, and realism just isn't for the Wii. And the plot. My god, the plot has to be the worst i've seen in aThis game was terrible. Felt like as i was playing nothing, lifeless and boring. Controls, while customizable, are still bad, and making the game so graphics focused was a HORRIBLE decision on High Voltage's part. The game actually looks bad, because there's no stylization whatsoever, and realism just isn't for the Wii. And the plot. My god, the plot has to be the worst i've seen in a current generation game. It's like they didn't even bother to make a decent singleplayer. Multiplayer is also broken due to cheaters.
    Pass this one up, isn't worth it at all.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#29 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    The best pure first-person shooter on the Wii. [July 2009, p.84]
  2. Nowhere near classic status, but this is a welcome companion to "Metroid Prime: Corruption." [July 2009, p.78]
  3. 86
    While the game does not turn the genre upside-down, it is innovative in certain areas -- for example, it features the most customizable, precise and enjoyable controls of any console shooter created, hands down.