The House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two grisly titles from the popular THE HOUSE OF THE DEAD series are being compiled into one action-packed horror shooter for the Wii. Both THE HOUSE OF THE DEAD 2 and III feature the original arcade experience, complete with branching storylines, over six ghoul-filled game modes and bonusTwo grisly titles from the popular THE HOUSE OF THE DEAD series are being compiled into one action-packed horror shooter for the Wii. Both THE HOUSE OF THE DEAD 2 and III feature the original arcade experience, complete with branching storylines, over six ghoul-filled game modes and bonus content. Re-live your glory days in the arcades and mow down packs of clawing, biting undead with the new rapid-fire Wii Zapper. Experience the popular arcade shooting action at home. Blast the undead with the quick trigger action of the Wii Zapper. Co-op gameplay. Grab a friend and destroy the undead together including Arcade mode and Original mode. Gory arcade graphics. THE HOUSE OF THE DEAD 2 & 3 RETURN retains the rich arcade graphics you love. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Although you can beat both games in a matter of hours, their pick up and play nature makes them worth revisiting several times. Sega should have included the original, but for $29.99, we'll let it slide.
  2. If pointing at the screen and shooting is missing in your life and you are craving a killing Zombie romp, these classics now available on the Nintendo Wii seem the perfect choice to fill this void.
  3. Nintendo Power
    70
    But if you enjoy a good light-gun game like I do, this is one house call that's hard to pass up. [Apr 2008, p.87]
  4. Games Master UK
    69
    Shooting zombies is always fun, but there are better horrors and shooters around. [May 2008, p.81]
  5. 60
    While both games show their age and are over very quickly, shooting gallery games are somewhat timeless in their simplicity. They're solid examples of the genre, and shooting zombies in the head is really its own reward.
  6. There's no doubting that this is the very best way to play either game outside of an arcade - mainly by virtue of the fantastic controls, and that you don't have to fork out for expensive extra hardware to play them.
  7. AceGamez
    40
    House of the Dead 2 is a frustrating game that's best forgotten and whilst House of the Dead 3 is definitely an improvement, it's still nowhere near as good as The Umbrella Chronicles.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    It's a perfect game for the Wii. I don't know the price (I hope it's low), but I don't understand becouse it takes only 66/100 from criticIt's a perfect game for the Wii. I don't know the price (I hope it's low), but I don't understand becouse it takes only 66/100 from critic reviews. Ok, it's an old game, it's a "simple" arcade game...but this is The House of the Dead; everyone knows this game..If you want to have this game in your living room (not a Pc version, where you shoot with the mouse), now you can! And you can "shoot the TV" . It's perfect for this console, and I think that anyone would enjoy this game, especially in 2 players mode. Expand
  2. MattS.
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    If you like the original arcade games (I do) then you will LOVE this... Well worth picking up as its only cheap and great for some zombie If you like the original arcade games (I do) then you will LOVE this... Well worth picking up as its only cheap and great for some zombie blasting fun. OK so its nothing original but if it ain't broke, don't fix it... Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2016
    9
    A great game for the Wii. This is an excellent port of 2 classic arcade titles. The controls work great, this is the closest you will get toA great game for the Wii. This is an excellent port of 2 classic arcade titles. The controls work great, this is the closest you will get to the actual arcade machine in the comfort of your living room without having to buy one. Expand
  4. ChrisL.
    Mar 13, 2008
    8
    HOTD2&3 doesn't bog down the gamers with complicated controls. Its straight forward action that is relentless on enemies. If you are HOTD2&3 doesn't bog down the gamers with complicated controls. Its straight forward action that is relentless on enemies. If you are wondering how long it is, I can guarantee you that it will take you longer then Umbrella Chronicles or Ghost Squad. Without a save option the game frustrates you however gives the sense of triumph once it is beaten. There are plenty of unlock ables (not sure if they last). This game could have used a few improvements. It's too bad Sega ported straight from Xbox but for $30 bucks its well worth it. Way more fun then Umbrella Chronicles with better controls and more action. If you are looking for the best light gun shooter on the then this is it. Expand
  5. BenihanaB.
    Mar 16, 2008
    8
    Love this game, great shooter...brings me back to the collage days when my wife and I used to play this game in the arcade. 2 games in 1. Love this game, great shooter...brings me back to the collage days when my wife and I used to play this game in the arcade. 2 games in 1. Great buy for only $30! Collapse
  6. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    This game won't have anyone glued to their Wiis for weeks straight, but this game is a good port of two arcade classics. You get options likeThis game won't have anyone glued to their Wiis for weeks straight, but this game is a good port of two arcade classics. You get options like difficulty levels, number of hits, and number of continues to change up the simple yet addictive gameplay, but it does feel like a couple of things could have been added to make the game more worthwhile. House of the Dead is a fun on rail shooter, however, especially when playing with someone else. Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    A lazy port of a decade old arcade game on a system loaded with vastly superior light gun games? No thank you. Quarter eating cheap shots,A lazy port of a decade old arcade game on a system loaded with vastly superior light gun games? No thank you. Quarter eating cheap shots, shooting offscreen, and mediocre graphics might have been acceptable in 2008, but here in the future you could be playing HotD:Overkill, DeadSpace, Ghost Squad, Umbrella Chronicles, etc.. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

86
15
#15 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
8
#8 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008