• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The House of the Dead: Overkill charges you with mowing down waves of infected, blood-thirsty zombies in a last-ditch effort to survive Bayou City and uncover the horrific truth behind the origins of The House of the Dead. A pulp-style take on the classic SEGA light-gun shoot 'em up franchise. Back when the famous Agent G was still fresh out of the academy, he teamed up with hard-boiled bad-ass Agent Washington to investigate stories of mysterious disappearances in small-town Louisiana. Little did they know what blood-soaked mutant horror would await them in the streets and swamps of Bayou City. Pulp Funk Horror - Zombie cool, one of the most popular shooter classics injected with a whole new retro b-movie look. An utterly in-your-face zombie-dismembering blast. Non-stop light-gun style action on Wii, blow apart zombies for high-score thrills. Co-op action on Wii. Bring a friend and play the game as intended in your own buddy action movie as two of the meanest mofos in video gaming. Relentless, gore-drenched, over-the-top action - Only the coolest, most cold-hearted agent’s going to keep his head against the zombie flood. Use "Slow-Mofo Time" to make the perfect head-popping shot and "Evil Eye" to spot moments of opportunity that’ll send the whole environment up in flames. Wiimote reactions. Get knee-deep in the dead with motion-sensitive Wii-controls. Shuck a shotgun and when the zombies get too close, pistol whip jaws off or cave some heads in with the stock of your pump-action - all in stomach-churning close-up. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. The game is clichéd, entertaining and best of all a blast to play which has truly moved this franchise to the next level.
  2. This is the perfect evolution for a series that needed a new direction. The always fun gameplay hasn’t been altered at all, but the style is a very definite change for the better. Veterans of the series may find the more casual friendly focus of the main story mode to be a bit off-putting, but patience will pay off, as the more hardcore focused Director’s Cut is every bit as satisfying as the previous House of the Dead games and twice as ridiculous, which is by no means a bad thing.
  3. This third-party on-rails shooter really nails the genre. The Grindhouse look and feel melds well with the House of the Dead franchise.
  4. Possibly, the greatest grindhouse game ever. Great sense of humour, a lot of gore and, technically, one of the best games available on the Wii. Unfortunately, it's very short, as always is the case with on-rails shooters. But, overall, it's a unique experience, and an incredible arcade game.
  5. One of the Wii's greatest guilty pleasures. With buckets of gore and language that would make a sailor blush, Overkill definitely earns its M rating. But pumping zombies full of hot lead has rarely been so much fun. [Mar 2009, p.87]
  6. The House of the Dead: Overkill isn't an epic adventure, and it actually lacks a fair bit of polish - purposely or otherwise. However, it's just the breath of putrid air the Wii needed, and in many ways it speaks to exactly what the system is all about: short bursts of great entertainment.
  7. An amazingly funny game. It’s not actually good, but it manages to fail in such a stylish, over-the-top way that it’s endearing all the same. Although you’ll probably have no real desire to replay the game ever again upon completion, it’s a hoot the first time through and is absolutely worth a rental.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Critics said it's good. Other critics said it'd **** good. GRAPHICS: It is like bringing the arcade game home, watching it bang a grind house film, then marveling at the abomination they produce 9/10. ADVENTURE: This story is **** brilliant.... as brilliant as it needs to be. 10/10 MECHANICS: So solid it'll rip your **** balls off.10/10 EXTRAS: Tell your friend he ain't ever seen this kind of crazy **** before and strap in for a few hours of Arcade on rails shooter classic minus all the damn quarters. 10/10 This game is what it is and it is all the **** way. If you like shooting zombies, cheesy horror, funk, and shooting zombies you will love this game! Expand
  2. DANGCUCU
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    awesome arcade shooter! it would have been nice to add an option to switch the language & gore as in Gears 2 or Alien Hominid. yet it's named overkill for a reason. great arcade shooter. couldn't stop playing until my daughter & wife got home & i had to turn it off... Expand
  3. DJH
    May 27, 2009
    10
    I can't believe that this game doesn't rate higher! It's fabulous, and easily among the best and most entertaining FPS on the Wii. Yes, it's profane, but it's funny, isn't it? Expand
  4. JeremyM.
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    Overview: HOTD:OK is an on the rails light gun shooter. It features 3 player profile save slots, Three mini-games playable by 2 - 4 players right off the bat. These include a save the civilian game, a kill as many waves of zombies as possible game, and a target like shooting game. The game also features unlockable content, and a gun calibration mode in options. The basic modes of play are: Story mode, which is somewhat of a casual gamer mode easy for 1 - 2 players to jump into, with unlimited continues, and weapon upgrades. Directors cut which features a three continue limit and takes on more zombies and differing routes in the game, also with weapons upgrades - separate from story mode. Upon completion of Story and Directors cut you unlock duel wield mode allowing 2 players to duel wield 2 wiimotes. I thought that was a good addition because you could actually play the game with 4 people then, and even complete with teams for better scores. The game has a heavy focus on keeping a combo of shots with no misses ( unlike umbrella chronicles focus on destroying objects, collecting files, and head shots, etc. ) Pros: Great graphics and video effects, easy to jump into with an atmosphere of the Planet Terror movie. Over the top blood and gore with dismemberment. None of the hit a button at the right time or you die cut scenes of Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles. Cons: The Game Does have noticeable hiccups, which can effect the combos you are trying to pull off (see above). There are a lot of F-bombs in the cut scenes. It doesn't bother me that much, but I have to know who is around if I take my system on the road to someones house that has children. NOTE: THIS GAME IS MATURE FOR A REASON! Expand
  5. TimO
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    I've always loved the House Of The Dead arcade games, and have the HOTD III for the XBox (includes 2 as a reward for playing through 3). A great Wii gun game was needed because of a limitation of LCD and Plasma TV's -traditional light guns won't work on them! The language has been mentioned over and over again, and while I'm not offended by it, I do find it a bit overdone, which ultimately makes it lose it's impact. There are some other great one-liners in the game. Anyone familiar with the arcade versions of HOTD knows about the weird dialog of Agent G. I always attributed it to the Japanese language not translating directly to English, and it gave it a very cheesy charm. They tried to copy it in HOTD:Overkill and haven't quite got it. Agent G is far too talkative. Not a big deal, just noticeable for fans of the game. There are three playability cons I've found with this title, which is why I gave it a 9 rather than a 10. I'm not really counting the last one, as it might be totally correctable. Interestingly, all of them relate to the hardware itself rather than the game. First, while the Wii remote is a savior for those of us looking for a gun game that will work on flat panel TV's, its accuracy is a bit soft compared to the old corded guns made for traditional tube displays. Second, the Wii definitely shows its horsepower weakness with this title. While some of the stuff is superb, like the 70's looking intro's and loading screens, the frame rate drops often and noticeably when things get busy. The final thing is that they've tried to make the game dark, but I find it extremely dark using the standard Wii RCA cable connection. There are area's where I couldn't even tell what I was pointing at, relying on the crosshair turning red over an enemy as an indication to fire. My TV is nice and bright with all other games, but it just seems too dark to be an intentional decision. Perhaps I'll pick up a component cable and see if it makes things a bit more visible. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    No other game I have played so far is as funny as this one. Everything that's in this game is fun, and it's quite rare for me to like every single character in a video game. Expand
  7. smiteboy
    Aug 24, 2009
    4
    Okay, this game has a great concept. But it's execution is pathetic. Played through it in about 3 hours and that's including the way too long cut-scenes. I guess the developers think themselves clever writers. Way too talky and the dialog will drive you nuts. Graphics are barely PS2 quality and the boss battles are laughable. Would be an okay game about 4 years ago. I understand that they were inspired by low-budget movies. But what they ended up with is a low-budget game. No serious gamer would be interested. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews